About The Exchange Pub + Kitchen

118 W Main Street
New Albany, IN 47150
View Larger Map

Housed in a historic Italianate style building which was constructed in 1875, The Exchange pub + kitchen is owner Ian Hall’s take on a warm & casual neighborhood gastropub. Featuring a 15 seat bar, 120 seat dining room, 16 seat outdoor cafe, & a 50 seat private dining space, The Exchange pub + kitchen offers many different dining options. Executive Chef Robert Temple's rotating seasonal menus are the focus of The Exchange pub + kitchen. Locally sourced products & scratch ingredients are the emphasis of the kitchen. Guests will enjoy views of the open kitchen as the chefs showcase their culinary skills. The bar program is highlighted by American craft breweries with 12 rotating draught selections and 12 by the bottle options. The bar staff creates cocktails made from house-made syrups, bitters and premium spirits. The wine portfolio focuses on smaller boutique wines, giving guests the chance to indulge in something new & exciting. The food & beverage menus rotate seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 948-6501

Website:
http://exchangeforfood.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Friday & Saturday evening from 7pm-10pm

Executive Chef:
Robert Temple

Private Party Facilities:
A special occasion calls for a memorable space. The Stables above The Exchange is a completely private entertaining space that can accommodate up to 35 seated guests or 50 guests for standing receptions. Named after the original building, Shrader Stable and Livery, the room features original wainscoting, arched windows, exposed brick, a private bar and restroom, A/V ready 60” LCD television, and wonderful views of the Sherman Minton Bridge. It is the ideal location for daytime and evening events, wine tastings, holiday parties, and cocktail receptions, one that your won’t forget. Wonderful atmosphere, superior service and amazing menus all come together to help create your distinctive event. Whether it’s an intimate dinner for six, an elegant celebration for 30, a cocktail event for 50 or even taking over our restaurant, our private dining coordinator can assist you in hosting your next private event.

Private Party Contact:
Nikki Hall: (502) 338-2944

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Exchange Pub + Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Fun (13)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Casual (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Great Beer (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Romantic (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Live Music (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Private Room (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

I was not pleased with the service and it was quite loud and sort of bright. The food was good tho, the presentation was notable for sure. It wasn't a bad experience, just think front of house could use a little attention.

Tags: Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I dine in various establishments with many different types of menus. I think this place would be a great place for a beer night or for a decent lunch. I was underwhelmed by the menu choices at dinner time, and felt hard-pressed to choose something that I was interested in trying. I think they need to work on their menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

As usual the Exchange lived up to expectations. Our server Kyle was awesome, the goat cheese fritters were nommy and we got to watch some great NCAA basketball. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have eaten here a few times, so let me just say, on a normal day, the food and service has been good. I choose The Exchange to make reservations on Valentine's Day this year for a couple reasons . 1. We needed to celebrate two birthdays, one of which is my teenage son, who took his girlfriend, and they are both picky eaters. Reason #1 I chose this restaurant, it is classy, yet the menu is edible. 2. My brother was proposing to his girlfriend. Again, classy enough to propose, yet food teenagers (i.e. the birthday boy) would eat and be able to afford! I was in contact with the restaurant to plan all of the details of the birthdays/engagement. At no point did they tell me that we would be charges $60 per person and have a limited menu to select from, as in a soup or salad, four entrées that were not even regular menu items, and two deserts. There were 6 of us in all, and there was not one thing on the menu that even sounded good to any of us. Being 7pm on Valentine's Day, we couldn't just leave and go somewhere else. We were all very disappointed but tried to make the best of it, for we knew what the plan was for the end of the night. To top it off, they would not let anyone make any substitution's to their dinner but, after we ordered the waitress came back three separate times to tell us that they had ran out of something we ordered and that we would once again have to pick another menu item that we didn't want. When our food came, it was worse than expected. Again, not wanting to complain because of the proposal, we kept quiet to not ruin the evening. I just wish we would have known about the different menu and the mandatory $60, we could have been able to make different plans that would have suited everyone in our party. However, I would like to say that our waitress was great and the proposal was wonderful. The birthday boy on the other hand, his first "fancy" date, didn't go so great. Thank goodness we are good sports and will plan better for our next outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went on Vday with reservations at 7pm. They were doing a price fixed menu @ 60 per person. Over priced but I went with it. Sat at table @ 7:15pm and was notified they ran out of an entree and dessert option. This was a let down given the time of day it was. I hope this isn't a sign of things to expect from them in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner and the appetizer was delightful. My wife loved the Basil Gimlets and the beer selection was great. Dessert was so good too!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of my favorite date night spots! I especially love sitting outside in the warmer weather.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in New Albany. On our most recent visit we brought two New York choreographers to enjoy The Exchange. We started off with the GOAT CHEESE FRITTERS and instantly they realized why we had boasted about this restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Very good food and unique tastey cocktails. One of my wife's fav places to eat and relax.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Never disappointed by the Exchange - our go to favorite

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is a nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

En Fuego cocktail and steak frites were great. Ribs were just okay. Beer cheese was good. Service was pretty bad. Our waiter was friendly but barely came by our table. Even when we would make direct eye contact he would just walk on by our table. We were almost laughing because it seemed like he was intentionally avoiding our table. Very strange. We put in a drink order with a random waitress because our waiter was MIA for a good 15-20 minutes. I would go back but would not want to be waited on by the same guy again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We love The Exchange! Food and service is always great. Our server Kenzie was attentive and awesome!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 19, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat in downtown New Alany, IN. Food is always good and fresh! Service is always friendly, and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great place for a lunch meeting or just dining with friends. Seasonal beers, cocktails and food menu. Just an overall good place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I had a bad experience tonight. They have my table away when I had a reservation and made us wait 30 minutes before seating us. Our food took a very long time to come out and when it did, it was cold. Our waitress forgot to put one of our drinks on the check and came back, after we had already paid, and made us open the tab back up to pay again. I have been here several times before and had great experiences. Just not a great one this tome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food was excellent-well prepared and good presentation.

The restaurant was cold. We almost put our jackets back on. It was cold last time we went too.

Way too pricey!!

The atmosphere was nice but not a good value. We likely won't go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve reservation.

So very happy they had their regular menu with a few added items for this holiday.

Service was good.

Food was excellent.

Recommend the Steak & Frites

Overall - very good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good overall; one of us didn't get our salad and the NY Strip was a little chewy. We really like it here and will go back no doubt, but won't get the NY Strip again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beef Wellington might be a nice addition to your next menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We've been to The Exchange a few times. Food is good but not great. However, their cocktails are awesome and the real reason we end up coming back. The En Fuego is the best.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We loved our dining experience. We had a group of 4 and all us us want to return. Our server was excellent. The food was creative, delicious and locally purchased. Nothing pretentious here-just quality food, great atmosphere, friendly staff and easy to get to from Louisville.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

No problem with taste or service but the serving size was pathetic! 4 small scallops and a small serving of rice which barely filled a third of a small dinner plate was not what I expected for $26.00. Very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Everything we had was great. The s'mores creme brulee was a great finishing touch!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Food was terrific as usual. The goat cheese fritters are a must, I could eat a whole order myself. We were seated in the front section, which is an outdoor seating area that is closed off during the winter. While I love sitting out there in the summer, it was drafty and cold, and there were no other tables for us. Our server tried to be attentive but had too many tables I think, we had to ask a couple of times for silverware, and an order of brussels sprouts (also delish) got forgotten. Not all was lost, I took them home, but it didn't seem like the usual top-notch service you get at the Exchange. My out-of-town colleagues enjoyed themselves, but I was disappointed as this was my recommendation and I didn't feel the experience was typical.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Business Meals, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wonderful food, as usual. We had friends who were there for the first time and loved everything about the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Decent food, but overpriced for what you get. 6 oz steak and some fries was $21. Go here if you like to drink overpriced alcohol (which they have a wide selection of).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

No question. No doubt. The Exchange is our favorite spot in New Albany!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was my first time here, I really enjoyed the vibe and the food. We ordered a few salads and sides and shared, everything was great. Will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Eaten here many times and it's always excellent. Great for date night!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Live Sports, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, People Watching, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our son and daughter in law visiting from the Indianapolis area were very pleased with the menu, entrees, and the ambiance of the surroundings.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Awesome dining. Great drinks, wonderful food, delightful server. Just the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Hi! Only thing wrong they had us down for 11 am instead of 12 noon. Somebody fiddled when they should have faddled when they entered wrong time. No biggie. Food and service 5 stars!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Fantastic food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Enjoyed the menu selections.... Goat cheese appetizers and Caprese salad were very tasty!!

Also had steak frites and Exchange burger that we enjoyed.

Will be back soon.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food at The Exchange is OUTSTANDING! We shared the goat cheese appetizers and they are amazing! For dinner, I had the salmon (which was nice and flaky) with risotto and green beans and it had a great flavor. Our service was slow for a Saturday night and they weren't especially busy when we arrived. Other than it taking a little longer for dinner, I would recommend eating here anytime; their food is phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Friendly efficient service and yummy food. We enjoyed the pork wings and goat cheese fritters immensely and the soak and smoke chicken was very good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was wonderful! I had the salmon which was perfectly cooked. All of the dishes I tried at our table were delicious

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Absolutely one of my favorite restaurants in New Albany! I've been here numerous times, and the service & food are always on point. They also have the BEST Old Fashioned around! Location is perfect, and the new(ish) outdoor patio is a great addition to an already wonderful establishment. I've brought many of my out-of-town family & friends here as well, and I've never had one person tell me anything other than "awesome"! Highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Steak frites and lobster pasta! Beer cheese, Miller Lite.. can't go wrong!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 7, 2016

An easy place to take your family as there is something on the menu to please anyone. The beer roasted chicken was juicy and delicious. The burgers are tasty and served on a pretzel bun with or without some yummy toppings. The steak and frites are presented in a novel way and a can't go wrong entree. The pork chop and the fish sandwich were big hits with our party as well. Oh yeah, the Parmesan and garlic frites are killer!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We all thought the food was great, our waiter was very good, stopping by to let us know about any delays.

Lobster pasta was really good, and the catfish special was interesting mix of flavor.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Good food and excellent service. Food was well seasoned. Service was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and for the price a good value. The only concern was it was very very loud so conversation was hampered. We would go back and have visited this place several times

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Server was great and good was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We love the exchange. Seems we are there about once/week!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Second visit just as good as the first. Food is awesome. My only complaint is the noise. Why do restaurants remove all fabric that could absorb some noise? I know you want us to leave so you can turn the tables, but if we could actually hear one another we would stay and continue ordering.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great experience every time we are here, love the Steak Frites. Usually get the beer cheese for appetizer which is excellent and the last couple times we have gotten "The Brownie" for dessert and the caramel ice-cream goes perfect with the brownie.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.