Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About The Exchange Pub + Kitchen

Housed in a historic Italianate style building which was constructed in 1875, The Exchange pub + kitchen is owner Ian Hall’s take on a warm & casual neighborhood gastropub. Featuring a 15 seat bar, 120 seat dining room, 16 seat outdoor cafe, & a 50 seat private dining space, The Exchange pub + kitchen offers many different dining options. Executive Chef Robert Temple's rotating seasonal menus are the focus of The Exchange pub + kitchen. Locally sourced products & scratch ingredients are the emphasis of the kitchen. Guests will enjoy views of the open kitchen as the chefs showcase their culinary skills. The bar program is highlighted by American craft breweries with 12 rotating draught selections and 12 by the bottle options. The bar staff creates cocktails made from house-made syrups, bitters and premium spirits. The wine portfolio focuses on smaller boutique wines, giving guests the chance to indulge in something new & exciting. The food & beverage menus rotate seasonally.

118 W Main Street
New Albany, IN 47150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Midday: Monday - Friday 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Saturday 11:00am-11:00pm, bar open til 11:30pm Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 948-6501

Website:
http://exchangeforfood.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Friday & Saturday evening from 7pm-10pm

Executive Chef:
Robert Temple

Private Party Facilities:
A special occasion calls for a memorable space. The Stables above The Exchange is a completely private entertaining space that can accommodate up to 35 seated guests or 50 guests for standing receptions. Named after the original building, Shrader Stable and Livery, the room features original wainscoting, arched windows, exposed brick, a private bar and restroom, A/V ready 60” LCD television, and wonderful views of the Sherman Minton Bridge. It is the ideal location for daytime and evening events, wine tastings, holiday parties, and cocktail receptions, one that your won’t forget. Wonderful atmosphere, superior service and amazing menus all come together to help create your distinctive event. Whether it’s an intimate dinner for six, an elegant celebration for 30, a cocktail event for 50 or even taking over our restaurant, our private dining coordinator can assist you in hosting your next private event.

Private Party Contact:
Nikki Hall: (502) 338-2944

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Exchange Pub + Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Casual (18)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Fun (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Live Music (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great Beer (11)
Romantic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Business Meals (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
People Watching (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Historic (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Live Sports (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

I had the special shrimp with a red pepper sauce over a homemade pasta. The flavor was really good, but the pasta wasn't cooked properly and it brought the dish down. Overall still tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Pleasantly surprised with this place. I had read on Trip Advisor that it was pricey, but that's just not true. The food was delicious, and reasonably priced. Our server was very helpful, and she knew a lot about the menu selections. The only complaint I had was that we were seated in a booth where the seat was much too low for the table height. I had the Exchange Burger, and it was the second best burger I've ever had. My wife was thrilled with her meal of a She Crab Soup and a really nice salad. She said her Old Fashion was the best she's ever had.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great Beer, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Fun Atmosphere! Great Brews! Farm to Table type menu... everything we ordered was very tasty. I had the shrimp and grits and it was the right amount of "comfort food" to "not too heavy / glutinous". Hubby had the special of the day... Flounder on a bed of blue corn polenta... very nicely executed and fun to look at since the blue corn polenta came out blue!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Love the new seasonal items and changes made to the menu. Great beer and awesome Old Fashioned.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food was good but the service was awful; had to ask for refills on ice tea several times and it was so hot I needed two additional classes of ice which I had to ask another waiter for because mine was not available. The food took a very long time to get out and the soup was not hot it was warm. The salads were great but overpriced, the cornbread was excellent.
I would recommend for dinner when you have more time to relax; but for a business lunch it took far too much time and the service staff were far too unresponsive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always a great time. Food, drinks, atmosphere, everything is always on point. Our usual server TJ is so attentive and never fails us in his suggestions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Hot Spot, People Watching, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is one of our favorite dinner spots. The food, atmosphere and service are all fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great evening at The Exchange. Had the opportunity to meet the new GM - Jamie and experienced excellent service from Arin. Looking forward to our next time at The Exchange. The new menu has some great offerings as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Very good food and excellent service but it is very noisy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I visited the exchange about 2 years ago and remember the food being delicious. A group of us went there recently and we were not impressed with the food or the service. We like the atmosphere of the restaurant. Hope they improve their dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The best restaurant in southern Indiana! Blackened scallops were to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

From the outstanding host greeting you at the door, to the service, to the delicious, creative food...everything was perfect. Red pepper hummus, fish & chips, the Exchange burger and salmon...followed by warm chocolate chip cookies with creamy bourbon sauce.....yum!!! can't wait to go back! Are you hungry yet?????

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Healthy, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always a great experience. Tiffany did a wonderful job and was a pleasure. Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Awesome as always.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Good food. Limited entrees. Scallops were excellent. Risotto was too creamy. Small portions for price. Staff friendly.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great covered outdoor dining experience for our group of 7. We ordered the fried goat cheese along with roasted Brussels sprouts for our appetizers. Wow!! Both were fabulous! Steak and frites were prepared perfectly while my sister raved about her scallops. The fish and chips never disappoints. We topped it off with a brownie and ice cream that we fought over and had to order another. The only tiny negative was the red velvet cake which didn't resemble anything we expected and was just ok. Great service made the evening even more fun.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Live Music, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was a great space with a creative menu. There was live music while we were there but it wasn't overpoweringly loud. The creative cocktails were delicious and there were many things on the menu I was interested in ordering. They also had several unique salads to choose from, along with the more traditional comfort food. My only complaint is that is was a little pricey. There was a great outdoor space, but when I arrived around 9pm there were signs saying outdoor seating was no longer open. This was a shame as it was a gorgeous evening. Not sure if this is a town ordinance, but it would be nice to be able to sit outside later in the evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Live Music, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wonderful experience. So happy to have this amazing restaurant in New Albany!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Loved the look of restaurant, however, the presentation and temperature of the scallops entree was poor.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our service was fantastic. 3 of us had the burger, everyone said it was really good. My salmon and black rice was overlooked. We shared the brownie and ice cream, delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent food & Service. Great for watching a game or for just having dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We go to the Exchange about every other month. The menu is limited, but we very much enjoy the food. Just a nice place for dinner with friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The only problem we had was with the hostess. Although they were nice, they messed up and gave our table away. We (a party of 6) got there between 7:30-7:45pm for an 8:15pm reservation. I checked in at the hostess desk and she got my name. She told me it would be closer to 8:15pm before they could seat us. We sat down and waited right in front of them in the seating area in front of the hostess desk. Did not leave! 2 of us did go to the bar to get a drink, but the other 4 stayed there right in front of the hostess until we came back from the bar. She did not tell me that they would TEXT me when our table was ready! I happen to look at my phone close to 8:15pm and they had texted me about 7:49pm and said our table was ready. WE WERE ALL SITTING RIGHT THERE IN FRONT OF THE HOSTESS AND SHE NEVER CALLED OUR NAME! If she did, no one in our group heard it and I had just checked in a few minutes before that, so you would think she would remember who we were! I went up to the hostess after I saw the text and told her that I did not see her text earlier (and did not know they were going to text me) and they had given our table away, so we had to wait on another group to get up. It was 8:45pm before we were seated. We couldn't sit in the bar area because we had a child with us and it's 21 and over only. Everyone was pretty frustrated that the hostess did not TELL us our table was ready instead of TEXTING it. Or at least tell me when I check in to watch my phone for a text! This was the first time some of our friends had dined there, so of course they weren't happy about that. Our food was good and our waitress was GREAT though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We loved everything about this place. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable. The live music was great and wasn't intrusive. The goat cheese fritters were life-changing!!! Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food and atmosphere are absolutely phenomenal! Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very noisy -hard to hear others at table. Food was rxcellent. Really enjoyed the 502 restaurant week menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Catching up with old college friends, and The Exchange was the perfect spot. Great food, stellar service, spot on drinks, and a great night. Emily took wonderful care of us, and was patient thru our meal as we recollected and caught up 13 years in 2 1/2 hours.

Thank you very much, looking forward to dining with you all again!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I was not pleased with the service and it was quite loud and sort of bright. The food was good tho, the presentation was notable for sure. It wasn't a bad experience, just think front of house could use a little attention.

Tags: Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I dine in various establishments with many different types of menus. I think this place would be a great place for a beer night or for a decent lunch. I was underwhelmed by the menu choices at dinner time, and felt hard-pressed to choose something that I was interested in trying. I think they need to work on their menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

As usual the Exchange lived up to expectations. Our server Kyle was awesome, the goat cheese fritters were nommy and we got to watch some great NCAA basketball. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have eaten here a few times, so let me just say, on a normal day, the food and service has been good. I choose The Exchange to make reservations on Valentine's Day this year for a couple reasons . 1. We needed to celebrate two birthdays, one of which is my teenage son, who took his girlfriend, and they are both picky eaters. Reason #1 I chose this restaurant, it is classy, yet the menu is edible. 2. My brother was proposing to his girlfriend. Again, classy enough to propose, yet food teenagers (i.e. the birthday boy) would eat and be able to afford! I was in contact with the restaurant to plan all of the details of the birthdays/engagement. At no point did they tell me that we would be charges $60 per person and have a limited menu to select from, as in a soup or salad, four entrées that were not even regular menu items, and two deserts. There were 6 of us in all, and there was not one thing on the menu that even sounded good to any of us. Being 7pm on Valentine's Day, we couldn't just leave and go somewhere else. We were all very disappointed but tried to make the best of it, for we knew what the plan was for the end of the night. To top it off, they would not let anyone make any substitution's to their dinner but, after we ordered the waitress came back three separate times to tell us that they had ran out of something we ordered and that we would once again have to pick another menu item that we didn't want. When our food came, it was worse than expected. Again, not wanting to complain because of the proposal, we kept quiet to not ruin the evening. I just wish we would have known about the different menu and the mandatory $60, we could have been able to make different plans that would have suited everyone in our party. However, I would like to say that our waitress was great and the proposal was wonderful. The birthday boy on the other hand, his first "fancy" date, didn't go so great. Thank goodness we are good sports and will plan better for our next outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went on Vday with reservations at 7pm. They were doing a price fixed menu @ 60 per person. Over priced but I went with it. Sat at table @ 7:15pm and was notified they ran out of an entree and dessert option. This was a let down given the time of day it was. I hope this isn't a sign of things to expect from them in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner and the appetizer was delightful. My wife loved the Basil Gimlets and the beer selection was great. Dessert was so good too!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of my favorite date night spots! I especially love sitting outside in the warmer weather.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in New Albany. On our most recent visit we brought two New York choreographers to enjoy The Exchange. We started off with the GOAT CHEESE FRITTERS and instantly they realized why we had boasted about this restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Very good food and unique tastey cocktails. One of my wife's fav places to eat and relax.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Never disappointed by the Exchange - our go to favorite

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is a nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

En Fuego cocktail and steak frites were great. Ribs were just okay. Beer cheese was good. Service was pretty bad. Our waiter was friendly but barely came by our table. Even when we would make direct eye contact he would just walk on by our table. We were almost laughing because it seemed like he was intentionally avoiding our table. Very strange. We put in a drink order with a random waitress because our waiter was MIA for a good 15-20 minutes. I would go back but would not want to be waited on by the same guy again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.