Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About The Exchange Pub + Kitchen

Housed in a historic Italianate style building which was constructed in 1875, The Exchange pub + kitchen is owner Ian Hall’s take on a warm & casual neighborhood gastropub. Featuring a 15 seat bar, 120 seat dining room, 16 seat outdoor cafe, & a 50 seat private dining space, The Exchange pub + kitchen offers many different dining options. Executive Chef Robert Temple's rotating seasonal menus are the focus of The Exchange pub + kitchen. Locally sourced products & scratch ingredients are the emphasis of the kitchen. Guests will enjoy views of the open kitchen as the chefs showcase their culinary skills. The bar program is highlighted by American craft breweries with 12 rotating draught selections and 12 by the bottle options. The bar staff creates cocktails made from house-made syrups, bitters and premium spirits. The wine portfolio focuses on smaller boutique wines, giving guests the chance to indulge in something new & exciting. The food & beverage menus rotate seasonally.

118 W Main Street
New Albany, IN 47150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Midday: Monday - Friday 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Saturday 11:00am-11:00pm, bar open til 11:30pm Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 948-6501

Website:
http://exchangeforfood.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Friday & Saturday evening from 7pm-10pm

Executive Chef:
Robert Temple

Private Party Facilities:
A special occasion calls for a memorable space. The Stables above The Exchange is a completely private entertaining space that can accommodate up to 35 seated guests or 50 guests for standing receptions. Named after the original building, Shrader Stable and Livery, the room features original wainscoting, arched windows, exposed brick, a private bar and restroom, A/V ready 60” LCD television, and wonderful views of the Sherman Minton Bridge. It is the ideal location for daytime and evening events, wine tastings, holiday parties, and cocktail receptions, one that your won’t forget. Wonderful atmosphere, superior service and amazing menus all come together to help create your distinctive event. Whether it’s an intimate dinner for six, an elegant celebration for 30, a cocktail event for 50 or even taking over our restaurant, our private dining coordinator can assist you in hosting your next private event.

Private Party Contact:
Nikki Hall: (502) 338-2944

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Exchange Pub + Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Romantic (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Cozy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Live Music (5)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Claire was our waitress and she was so gracious and helpful. Please give her a pat on the back, she is truly a great representative for The Exchange. Loved the laid back feel and outdoor ambiance, although I credit the Good Lord for the fabulous weather. Enjoyed wine and of course "Salt of the Earth" my go-to cocktail there. Will visit you often. thanks Ian for bringing The Exchange to downtown New Albany!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Friends traveling through the are so we needed a place to visit and share a lunch. the Exchange provided the correct levels of selection, price, service, and ambiance. A very great experience has had by all of us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Best Old Fashion in town! Service was excellent. Will be returning for more

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Watermelon Tuna Ceviche was amazing and cocktails were good. Service was slow and disengaged.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Really good food and service. I had the shrimp and grits, my husband had the scallops, both delicious. Waiter was very attentive. My favorite restaurant in New Albany.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Had a great time at The Exchange celebrating with my wife! Our server, Gordan, was excellent and kept us laughing the whole time. Excellent service! Great food! Will be back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Beautiful restaurant in a historic building with plenty of comfortable outdoor dining options including cushioned seating around fire pits and a fun outdoor bar.
Delicious handcrafted cocktails and a variety of menu options make this a great place to take a date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Always an awesome experience with amazing food and great service.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great night out! Good food, good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our server (Jacob) ensured we had a great experience by being very knowledgeable about the menu, giving recommendations, and checking in with us periodically. He also gave a recommendation to try the Salt of the Earth sangria, which was amazing! We didn't have to wait long for our food, which was very tasty! Great atmosphere for a date night!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Way too expensive. Our bill. For a salad and sandwich, dessert and 3 drinks was 96.00. Good but totally not worth cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Have been twice now and I will return soon.
I enjoy being in historic buildings.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Party of seven 8:30 reservations on a Wednesday night table was outside at a bar height top. Sat us early which was great. Our family eats here 1-3 times per month. Friends in town from Montana so we suggested going here because they are able to accommodate my wife's food sensitivities and I hate paying tolls!! Wow menu items are getting more expensive every time they reprint the menu. I mistakingly ordered the $19 Ramen bowl and should have known better. (Kudos to the profit margin on that entree 10 cent packet of noodles, half a dozen pieces of spooky chicken, a sliced jalapeno pepper and I didn't see any carrots or radishes but managed to find 3-4 sliced brussel sprouts = $19??) Service was slow & sub par, two of us asked for water 3 times and it never came. Beers were empty and they are usually out of half the beers on the chalkboard. My daughter ordered a "regular"grilled cheese. The $12 entree blueberry, brie grilled cheese came out instead. chips were good! The staff quickly said they would order a regular grilled cheese...30 minutes later it never came. They took it off the bill, but my daughter never got her food and went home with leftover beer cheese and a couple pretzel loaves. So, beer cheese...I thought it was usually served hot? or at least warm? Not at the exchange. I took home the leftover and microwaved it the next day for lunch and it was delicious. If you order beer cheese from here ask for them to microwave it before they bring it out. Exchange is a beautiful restaurant inside and out with usually pretty good service. They initially set the pace for dining in New Albany but it seems like a red headed stepchild since Brooklyn & the Butcher opened.
oh yeah, They won't sub the sides so beware.

Tags: Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My husband and I met friends for dinner. We had a good dinner with prompt and friendly service. Our only complaint was a sub-par version of a basic cocktail. The tonic was flat in the vodka tonic and the drink only boasted a whiff of vodka and lime.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Amazing food and service! Goat cheese fritters are so good. They don't have anything bad here. Fried chicken was good too!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Music was far too loud and even asking that the volume be turned down - and it was - it was still too loud and the four of us were shouting through the entire meal and we even had trouble communicating with our server at times. I do not like the characterization in the previous set of questions that the volume was energetic, it was troublesome, annoying and did not create a good overall impression of the place. Also, not very accessible... too many high bar chairs, stairs and narrow passage ways.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The Exchange has a great outdoor area with and without cover. Dog friendly. They have table seating as well as lounge seating. Food and drinks were great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great time with family at The Exchange today! Our server (Jacob - outside bar tender) was awesome. You could tell he loves what he does!!! And a great 'No Name'!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Visited many times but service was awful
Saturday evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Love the decor. Food choices were unique but now way out there. Drinks weak for a high cost.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I was disappointed when we arrived, a few minutes early, for our reservation ad they said we would be at a high top table outside. When we told them that we already had reservations and we'd prefer inside seating, the hostess seemed put out even though there were clearly several open tables. She said "you'll have to be out of here by 8 pm since we have other reservations coming in then. Not sure why they took our reservation in the first place if they would be that put out seating us. This was our 20th Anniversary and a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had a wonderful time, thank you for making my nieces birthday so special!

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Casual, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

My new favorite restaurant! The food is fresh and amazing! From the appetizer to dessert. Our service was excellent too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I had chosen this restaurant for our monthly dinner out with three other couples. It was my turn this month and I was anxious for our friends to check it out as I had been before and really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Everyone loved it! We were seated promptly, everyone's dinner choices were delicious and our server was very friendly and attentive. It was a very enjoyable evening, and you have six new fans now! Thanks Exchange!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I had the special shrimp with a red pepper sauce over a homemade pasta. The flavor was really good, but the pasta wasn't cooked properly and it brought the dish down. Overall still tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Pleasantly surprised with this place. I had read on Trip Advisor that it was pricey, but that's just not true. The food was delicious, and reasonably priced. Our server was very helpful, and she knew a lot about the menu selections. The only complaint I had was that we were seated in a booth where the seat was much too low for the table height. I had the Exchange Burger, and it was the second best burger I've ever had. My wife was thrilled with her meal of a She Crab Soup and a really nice salad. She said her Old Fashion was the best she's ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Fun Atmosphere! Great Brews! Farm to Table type menu... everything we ordered was very tasty. I had the shrimp and grits and it was the right amount of "comfort food" to "not too heavy / glutinous". Hubby had the special of the day... Flounder on a bed of blue corn polenta... very nicely executed and fun to look at since the blue corn polenta came out blue!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Love the new seasonal items and changes made to the menu. Great beer and awesome Old Fashioned.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food was good but the service was awful; had to ask for refills on ice tea several times and it was so hot I needed two additional classes of ice which I had to ask another waiter for because mine was not available. The food took a very long time to get out and the soup was not hot it was warm. The salads were great but overpriced, the cornbread was excellent.
I would recommend for dinner when you have more time to relax; but for a business lunch it took far too much time and the service staff were far too unresponsive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always a great time. Food, drinks, atmosphere, everything is always on point. Our usual server TJ is so attentive and never fails us in his suggestions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Hot Spot, People Watching, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is one of our favorite dinner spots. The food, atmosphere and service are all fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great evening at The Exchange. Had the opportunity to meet the new GM - Jamie and experienced excellent service from Arin. Looking forward to our next time at The Exchange. The new menu has some great offerings as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Very good food and excellent service but it is very noisy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I visited the exchange about 2 years ago and remember the food being delicious. A group of us went there recently and we were not impressed with the food or the service. We like the atmosphere of the restaurant. Hope they improve their dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The best restaurant in southern Indiana! Blackened scallops were to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

From the outstanding host greeting you at the door, to the service, to the delicious, creative food...everything was perfect. Red pepper hummus, fish & chips, the Exchange burger and salmon...followed by warm chocolate chip cookies with creamy bourbon sauce.....yum!!! can't wait to go back! Are you hungry yet?????

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always a great experience. Tiffany did a wonderful job and was a pleasure. Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Awesome as always.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Good food. Limited entrees. Scallops were excellent. Risotto was too creamy. Small portions for price. Staff friendly.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great covered outdoor dining experience for our group of 7. We ordered the fried goat cheese along with roasted Brussels sprouts for our appetizers. Wow!! Both were fabulous! Steak and frites were prepared perfectly while my sister raved about her scallops. The fish and chips never disappoints. We topped it off with a brownie and ice cream that we fought over and had to order another. The only tiny negative was the red velvet cake which didn't resemble anything we expected and was just ok. Great service made the evening even more fun.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Live Music, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.