About The Elkridge Furnace Inn

For parties of five and over please call for reservations.

The Elkridge Furnace Inn holds a unique niche in Maryland history. Nestled on the Patapsco River, the Inn was first established as a tavern in 1744. Today, The Elkridge Furnace Inn houses an elegant restaurant with an intimate setting with working fire places in almost every room, lit from fall to early spring. Private parties welcome.

5745 Furnace Avenue
Elkridge, MD 21075
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 379-9336

Website:
http://www.elkridgefurnaceinn.com/

Catering:
The Elkridge Furnace Inn is delighted to deliver its fine quality food and exceptional service to the location that suites you best, home, office, or other rental site. We believe that any planned event should reflect the personality of the planner or host company. To this end we are delighted to custom design a menu focused around your corporate or personal taste or theme.

Parking Details:
Gravel parking lot, please use caution. Located to the left of the facility.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Wecker

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Elkridge Furnace Inn hosts a number of special events from afternoon teas, to cooking classes for children and adults, to wine tastings, murder mysteries, and special entertainment dinners. Please visit our web-site for an updated calendar of events.

Specials

Now Accepting Thanksgiving TO-GO Orders

Special valid Sep 19, 2017 - Nov 20, 2017 all week from 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Now Accepting Thanksgiving TO-GO Orders

Special valid Sep 19, 2017 - Nov 20, 2017 all week from 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Place your order today for our Thanksgiving TO-GO menus. See Menu for Details! All Orders must be received and Paid For by Monday November 20th and will be delivered (or available for pick up) with heating instructions on Wednesday November 22nd. Excludes Tax and Tip. Pricing subject to 6% Sales tax. Delivery available starting at $25 w/in 5 miles. Special valid Sep 19, 2017 - Nov 20, 2017 all week from 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Join us for seating from 1:00 - 6:00 pm on Thursday for Three ($50) or Four ($59) Courses Including Seasonal Soups, Appetizers, Salads, Traditional Entree Offerings and Dessert. Tax & Service additional

Or Order Thanksgiving TO GO for Pick Up or Delivery on Wednesday (heating instructions included)

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Escape the typical meeting hotel ballroom or restaurant backroom and experience the Elkridge Furnace Inn where you'll find a unique and elegant setting for your upcoming celebration. Meals will be served in a private dining room, prepared by our award winning chef and his culinary team.

The Elkridge Furnace Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Romantic (40)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Local Ingredients (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Worth the Drive (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Seasonal (21)
Cozy (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Authentic (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Organic (11)
Scenic View (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Healthy (8)
Business Meals (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Casual (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1670 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

My wife and I celebrated our 23rd anniversary at Elkridge Furnace Inn. I always try to find some place special for our anniversary every year, and believe me we have been to some very special ones. This place ranks right up there with the best of them. My wife ordered the delmonico steak, and the flavor, the seasoning and the doneness of the steak were immaculate. I seriously thought about hijacking her steak, but the soft shell crabs I ordered were quite delicious as well. Staff was very pleasant, attentive, yet not overly done to where you wish they would just leave you alone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

An outstanding meal with excellent service. Expect to spend, but it is a special meal.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was outstanding, as is the ambiance. Our waiter was very knowledgeable but lacked a tad in the niceness arena. Any time I travel to Baltimore, this place will be on my list of go-to's just for the meal & atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My family and I came to the Elkridge Furnace Inn to celebrate my mother in law's birthday. We had a party of 10 and had a nice private room. But it was all downhill from there. On an otherwise very slow night at the restaurant it took 15 minutes to get cocktails. Our server was not well versed in the menu and had to read from his chest sheet. He dropped lots of utensils all over the place and seemed appalled that we asked for white rolls for the kids. The meals are very pricey and just not special at all. I had brisket which was dry. I also tried my husband's steak and my son's pasta. All were sub par. The desserts were equally disappointing with the creme brule having an overly intense coffee flavor. So disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Awesome experience! Can't wait to go back. Very authentic local feel

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We celebrated a birthday dinner here on a weekday, and dinner was delicious. One of us had the trout, which was a special, and the other the brisket. We shared a salad. The bread basket has a nice selection of rolls. We really enjoyed the food. The only drawback is a limited by the glass wine list (not one sparkling wine is offered). Desserts were brought to the table to entice us, but we were too full.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Their brunch, which is what we had, is a great deal for $29 per person. Many and varied menu options to choose from. And the amount of food is generous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food is conaistently great and the service impecable. The menu changes frequently so there is alwats something new to try.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The best the Elkridge Furnace Inn has going for is its ambiance. The food was good, not awesome. For those prices, and we often eat high-end, you'd expect awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This is a great restaurant. Quiet and Quaint ambiance, the menu is very creative and the food is excellent. The host and manager was welcoming. The wait staff attentive, the trout grenobloise was perfectly cooked and perhaps a little over sauced, but moist, meaty, and flavorful. The wine list has something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Entire meal was wonderful! We were celebrating our anniversary and they gave us champagne and were checked on by Chef Daniel and his wife Donna. We felt very spoiled and very satisfied! I would highly recommend!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My wife and I went here for her birthday. She is a vegitarian so I thought the farm to table Idea would appeal to her(which it did). Every thing was great. The service was exceptional. The only thing was I wish they had more than one vegetarian man course. But my wife was happy ordering more than one appetizer and a big salad. She was very satisfied as was eye. She didn't the only reason for a 4 on the food was she didn't like one of her appetizers. But they were very accommodating about it. Taking it off our bill and trying to make the rest of the meal right. Not only did the manager come out but the head chef also. We will definitely be coming back to the Elkridge Furnace Inn. This is one of our new favorites!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The Elkridge Furnace Inn is a charming country restaurant close to BWI Airport. The menu is superb, the service impeccable. While expensive, it is a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We were married at the EIF 3 years ago and every year since we go and have dinner there to celebrate. The menu is always seasonal and a lot of the herbs and veggies are grown on the property. The chef is so creative and does an amazing job with local ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This is out favorite restaurant of all time. The food here is fantastic and the ambience is a treasure. The service has never failed. It was the perfect birthday lunch for me to take my girl.

Tags: Organic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fantastic food and very friendly and attentive wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We have had dinner more then a few times. First time for Sunday Brunch. Very good, even though I could have eaten more, the portion was just right. Hope to get back soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We both ordered the Soft Shell Crabs Almondine. Two good sized crabs were served with a slightly heavy sauce which I did not expect almondine to be. It was too salty for my taste. I was only able to eat one, but my husband finished his. Service and atmosphere were excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The Elkridge Furnace Inn is one our favorite restaurants. It is quiet and folks are able to have conversations and enjoy one another. The food is always top rated.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Excellent service and outstanding food. Special touches to the dishes to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We've been to the Elkridge Furnace Inn on several occasions--special birthdays, anniversaries. Service is welcoming and attentive; the chef came out to say hello. Food is well-prepared, with a good balance of flavors and textures. Crab cakes are almost all lump meat, hardly any filler; the rich sweet smoothness of the crab set off by the crispy bite of fried fennel. Creative but not over the top.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Chef Dan and staff always provide excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My wife and I have eaten here before (Valentine's Day) and everything was outstanding. The service, food, etc, was great. This time we went for my wife's birthday and had 2 guests with us. The waiter was arrogant and sometimes just downright obnoxious. The food was terrible. My son ordered the soft shell crab which was nearly impossible to eat. I had the special ribeye steak, and although cooked to my liking, was almost impossible to cut. The surface of the steak was so hard I would have needed a hard chisel to cut through it. The bill was over #300 including tip for the four of us and none of us really left the restaurant satisfied with our food or the experience. I hope this was just one of those bad nights because normally I would have recommended it to others. Now I'm not so sure I would do that.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Charming, historic building. Delicious meal and cocktails. Very friendly, professional staff.
We'll definitely visit again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Organic, Seasonal, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

have enjoyed many meals at Elkridge Furnace Inn over 25 years. attended many Gourmond
events as well, great food and always attentive by owner/chef Dan. Staff is just excellent..
Roy & Pat Ruhe

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was our first visit to Elkridge Furnace Inn, and it will definitely not be our last! My husband and I both enjoyed our meals - I had the French Onion soup and filet mignon with the tomato risotto - everything was excellently prepared with wonderful flavor. My husband had the stacked Caesar (we're still trying to figure out why they call it "stacked" since nothing was stacked at all) and the lamb chops - which he said were delicious. The historical atmosphere of the Inn was very romantic and we look forward to many other visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I took my husband here for his birthday and it was perfect. He enjoyed every aspect of it - from the free glass of champagne, to the perfectly cooked steak, and the delicious chocolate espresso crème brulée. The service was excellent and all of the food was perfectly seasoned and cooked. The cuisine is French and having been born in France, I can tell you the food did not disappoint. The ingredients were very local where possible which follows the tradition of regions of France. The conversations were pretty quiet except for one group, but the restaurant is set up in a converted mansion so the waiter was able to close doors to make it quieter. We will absolutely be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food, service and ambiance were excellent, but the prices reflect the excellence. This is an excellent place to celebrate special occasions such as (29th) wedding anniversaries, her birthday (or his, but hers especially.) We will be back soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Delicious meal worth highly attentive wait staff. I love eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Elkridge Furnace is a beautiful old home with elegant dining rooms on both levels. The service is impeccable. The food is outstanding. The chef visited our table twice to ask how we were enjoying the meal. My husband I love to go there during the summer, when the garden is full of fresh vegetables and also during the December holiday season.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was overpriced. My wife's salmon was overcooked, her cappuccino was minuscule, and my Greek omelet had mostly spinach in it, very little feta and that was dry crumbled cheese, and very few tomatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

As always, everything was amazing. We had the Howard County Restaurant Week special and it was a very good value. My wife said the lamb was the best she's ever had and the key lime cheesecake was delicious. The service was personal and top notch. Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This was the second time in two weeks that we had dinner at Elkridge Furnace Inn. The first time we brought out of town family and last Friday we took our son and daughter-in-law for their first anniversary celebration. We chose the Inn both times because we wanted a delicious meal with excellent service in beautiful surroundings. Both meals were outstanding and memorable! Perfect! Will be back soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

A good friend and I ate here to check out new places during restaurant week. Normally I'm not into fancier places but this place is so beautiful and the food is to die for!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Incredible food and service! Timothy and Joshua were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary tonight. Not only was the service impeccable as usual, but we were treated to complimentary champagne and specially decorated dessert plates. Elkridge Furnace Inn is our favorite restaurant, and we look forward to celebrating our most beloved events here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Calves liver appetizer is the best. I have had all the soups and they are very good. The entree was so-so. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 21, 2017

What a wonderful evening! Meeting the owner was a special treat! Absolutely wonderful staff. Will definitely plan another special night out at the Elkridge Furnance Inn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

If you are looking for a romantic restaurant that also has great food and great service, then this is it. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.