About The Elkridge Furnace Inn

5745 Furnace Avenue
Elkridge, MD 21075
View Larger Map

For parties of five and over please call for reservations.

The Elkridge Furnace Inn holds a unique niche in Maryland history. Nestled on the Patapsco River, the Inn was first established as a tavern in 1744. Today, The Elkridge Furnace Inn houses an elegant restaurant with an intimate setting with working fire places in almost every room, lit from fall to early spring. Private parties welcome.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 379-9336

Website:
http://www.elkridgefurnaceinn.com/

Catering:
The Elkridge Furnace Inn is delighted to deliver its fine quality food and exceptional service to the location that suites you best, home, office, or other rental site. We believe that any planned event should reflect the personality of the planner or host company. To this end we are delighted to custom design a menu focused around your corporate or personal taste or theme.

Parking Details:
Gravel parking lot, please use caution. Located to the left of the facility.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Wecker

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Elkridge Furnace Inn hosts a number of special events from afternoon teas, to cooking classes for children and adults, to wine tastings, murder mysteries, and special entertainment dinners. Please visit our web-site for an updated calendar of events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Escape the typical meeting hotel ballroom or restaurant backroom and experience the Elkridge Furnace Inn where you'll find a unique and elegant setting for your upcoming celebration. Meals will be served in a private dining room, prepared by our award winning chef and his culinary team.

The Elkridge Furnace Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (69)
Special Occasion (64)
Romantic (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Quiet Conversation (53)
Good for a Date (48)
Fireplace (43)
Cozy (40)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Worth the Drive (35)
Notable Wine List (35)
Local Ingredients (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Authentic (22)
Seasonal (18)
Great for Brunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Scenic View (14)
Private Room (11)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Organic (9)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

My second time there, and still an amazing meal: Desserts are beyond amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Housed in an 18th century mansion, the Elkridge Furnace Inn is a rarity . The cuisine is excellent and the service is attentive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Exceptional service, exceptional food, local ingredients. Wine pairings at each course was fun. Fixed price menu was a good way to try the place without running up the bill excessively. I will definitely return again this year to enjoy more of the menu. My wife enjoyed it too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

GREAT find!!! Will absolutely be back for dinner! I was especially pleased with their extensive gluten free options & acomodations

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Sunday brunch at the Inn is very nice! A 3 course menu with a lot of choices, juices, and pastries. Very nice!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very beautiful restaurant and excellent service, but the food was just okay - not bad but not good. The sauces and flavorings were pretty bland. I would order something simple like steak or crab cakes if I went back.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Overall, a comfortable dining experience. Service was attentive, though our waiter didn't seem fully comfortable with the menu. He was also either the bartender as well, or they didn't have a dedicated bartender that night (probably the latter, as I had to tell him how to make my cocktail). Food was decent overall, nothing struck me as exceptional, but nothing was below-average either. One disappointment: my duck entree was served a bit tepid (I did not send it back, as I decided I'd rather eat my duck on the cooler side than risk having it reheated & ending up overcooked). The decor is decidedly old-school; it fits the theme of the restaurant, but might feel a bit dated to some. A strong plus (for me) was that the decor virtually eliminated background noise, making dinner conversation a much more pleasant experience than is often found at modern/upscale establishments. All-in-all, a pleasant experience, though not really one to write home about.

Disclaimer: our night out ended up falling on the "Day Without Immigrants" protest/worker strike, which may (or may not) have affected service that day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was ok. My dish was cold when it came out and I generally found the food overly complicated for what the dishes required.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have visited The Elkridge Furnace Inn for years and many times over the years, but this was our first Valentine's Day experience. That being said, I'm sure Tim's service must have been off that night because he is likely not used to a full room in his care, but it was very off that night. He approached our table in good time, about ten minutes after having been seated, to ask if we knew what we'd like to drink, and as we hadn't perused the menu yet, we told him that we weren't quite ready. He then just never came back. He literally entered and exited the room for over 25 minutes ignoring us completely, chatting the other tables, bringing their food and drinks. It was really bad. I then had to almost yell , "Excuse me!" to get his attention to come take our drink and food order, and I do believe he was actually startled, as I think he forgot we were even there. The rest of the evening, he was very abrupt with us and came and went without any conversation or commentary. It was actually weird and uncomfotable. My recommendation would be either more wait staff on busy occasions, or bring in a team with more care and concern for the dining clientelle. That all being said, Jake, our busboy, was phenomenal, caring and attentive. Kudos to him for filling in where Tim fell short.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time dining there although we have wanted to go on many previous occasions. Service was excellent as was the food. Since we were there for Valentines Day, we did not have the opportunity to order from the main menu as the evening featured a pirce fixe menu. We definitely will go back.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The best dish that I had was the Canard a L'Orange Confit which was an appetizer and the duck was very moist and tender and flavorful.

The potatoes of the St Jacques entree were not shaped or browned in the oven as the dish requires. The seafood was good but I do not remember a sauce and there should have been a sauce.

The Cosmopolitan from the bar was perfect. The 2011 Chateau Bellegrave Medoc red wine 🍷 was very very good. The cappuccino was good but the froth was too stiff and too tall. The froth was 1.5 inches high. It shouldn't be more than 1/2 an inch high.

The ambience was very very nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Average at best. Overpriced for value. Wasn't that special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was excellent and the ambiance was delightful. The fresh grown vegetables were delicious. However, the waiter did not know the day's menu and made several mistakes in his recommendations. He also did not appear to know the wine list very well. I would definitely recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was great except the server for the first floor dining area was too loud and rather "full of himself" in how he spoke. We could hear way too many details of every conversation he had with every table on the whole floor. He meant well - but it was rather annoying.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We visited the Inn a couple of years ago for brunch, so we returned for my boyfriend's birthday dinner. It was fairly busy (they called to ask us to come earlier than our reservation). We were seated immediately, but the service thereafter was a bit slow. It took more than a few minutes for our server to come over to give us menus and then probably another 10 minutes before we placed our order. We arrived at 7:15 and left at 9:30. We probably waited almost an hour for our entrees. It took maybe 20 minutes for bread to come out, but there was no butter and nobody to ask, so we went without and left the bread, which was a shame because it looked good. The appetizer came out fairly quickly.

The meals and cocktails were fantastic. I had the duck; my boyfriend had the porkloin as entrees. For dessert, I had the white chocolate pomegranate creme brulee and my boyfriend had this wonderful raspberry mango panna cotta w/ mango sorbet.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Expensive but great place for that special date. The food was exelent and deserts were good as well.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Historic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

They have amazing food. They have a real gluten free menu, not just salad. We had our wedding here last summer because od this and they were able to do the whole thing gluten free, from the crab cakes to the cupcakes.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Top Notch. The Sunday brunch is great value. The Elkridge Furnace Inn never disappoints.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Though we've dined at Elkridge Furnace before it had been a while since our last visit. The menu changes seasonally and has plenty to choose from. We were delighted to bring some friends with us for a double date. Ambience is romantic fine dining with historical charm. They have a reputable wine selection. The staff is most polite and helpful with the mâitre d' offering history of the building and good wine pairings for the meal. We had an exquisite time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service were amazing, cocktails were delicious, and ingredients are locally sourced. A fantastic experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Location was interesting. Quality of the food and service was not very good. Cost was 2x high for the mediocre dinner. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Perfect service with great seasonal food, as always!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My wife I had a wonderful time there recently. It is our favorite restaurant by far.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 8, 2017

From the minute we walked in the door we were greeted with a friendly face, Ali , who also turned out to be the manager and sommelier...all of these duties he did flawlessly. Our waiter and helper were excellent at keep up in food, water and wine. All in all a terrific experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always excellent food and service with an unique but interesting menu. A bit overpriced in my opinion, compared to other nearby top shelf restaurants, but definitely a premium restaurant. You won't regret dining there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent experience! One of the best chefs in the area. You can't beat this dinning experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We love the Elkridge Furnace Inn so much that we've been going their for our Anniversary every year for seven years and plan to continue this tradition as long as they exist at this caliber of service and food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Early Valentines Day

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 1, 2017

First time: So good, I have to go back. The creme brulet was insane: It almost brought a tear to my eye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Menus change by the season. Osso bucco and lamb chop were cooked just right. A romantic, historic place, our small dining room featured a fire in the fireplace. Servers were attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went to the Eldridge Furnace Inn yesterday for brunch to celebrate the birthdays of my husband and son. This is the second year to do this and were hoping to make it a tradition, but we will never go back again because the service was atrocious. I would like to list all the reasons for our displeasure:

  1. The host asked every group if they were celebrating an occasion except for us. When the waiter came to our table I informed him that we were celebrating 2 birthdays. Most restaurants of this caliber would be interested in knowing whose birthdays we were celebrating or making some sort of fuss over it, but our waiter obviously had no interest in doing so.

  2. It took 40 minutes to receive the first bite of any food after putting in our order. We should have at least been given the basket of pastries with such a long wait, but we couldn't get it without asking for it apparently. And we had no opportunity to ask for it until the appetizers were finally delivered. The waiter poured us each about 1/4 cup of coffee and then disappeared and never refilled until we asked for it. Waiting 40 minutes for an appetizer with no food and no coffee pretty much did us in.

  3. Once the food came it was good for the most part, but I ordered the crab cake eggs benedict. I'm only being so picky because of the horrible service, but one of the eggs didn't have a yolk. How hard is it if you mess up a poached egg to put in another one so the customer can have the entire egg?

  4. We were in the restaurant for well over 2 hours for brunch, most of it waiting and waiting and waiting. I don't know if the kitchen was especially slow or the management is horrible or if just our waiter was incompetent, but whatever was the cause is inexcusable.

  5. This is actually our 4th visit there for brunch, with just 2 of them for birthdays. We used to really like this establishment, so it's a shame that they have gotten so bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

They always take care of you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The ambience of this place is great. It's basically a restaurant in an old house. Working fireplace in some of the rooms. Definitely gives off that romantic feel for a date night without the kids. They were definitely understaffed when we went. Our server tried the best he could. Our meal took a while. We were in no rush, but if we were trying to do a normal dinner and get out approach, we would not have been pleased. The noise level I feel was just due to a noisy 6 person table next to us. They were a tad obnoxious which is not the restaurant's fault.

The bread was fine. The French onion soup was good. A slightly different take on it. My husband got the game hen and was pleased. I got the pork loin and was not too impressed. For $24 an entrée, I am not a complainer. I probably would have said the food was fine. When we are talking almost $40 an entrée with the cheapest bottle of wine at $32, then my expectations are higher. If I am paying this amount of money, then things should be on point. My pork was dry, even my husband commented on the dryness. It came with a cornbread stuffing with bacon and gruyere in the pork. Hardly tasted cheese and bacon was not present in the flavors. Again, for the price, feel that this should meet all the marks. The chef and manager come to every table. Especially when the chef says he's been doing this for 40 years, I don't have the personality to tell him the meat was super dry. Our dessert was good, but ice cream and a cookie for $10. Our wine was good. Most bottles are more in the $50-$100 range. They seem to pride themselves on wine selection. So, I was a tad surprised when our red wine was served room temperature instead of the appropriate chilled temperature for a red, typically 60-64 degrees Fahrenheit.

This was a special occasion for us. We knew the prices going in, but also thought those prices should match the quality of food. Otherwise, you are just overcharging for the heck of it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I celebrated my birthday here with friends. The ambiance was just perfect. Everything was just perfect. The service was great and the food is delicious. The chef came out of the kitchen to speak to us. It was a wonderful evening to spend with friends.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is a delightful old mansion with a unique menu. We've been going for several years and were therefore very disappointed to encounter an experience where we were denied an advertised special because the person who wrote the email describing the details and the restaurant staff were not on the same page.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is a special occasion restaurant because of it's cost. The food is definitely worth the cost, but not a place we could afford every week. This restaurant has a wonderful ambiance for romantic occasions, quiet small rooms with fireplaces. Not a place for children. Historic site right on the Patapsco River in Elkridge. The food is consistently superior as well as the service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent food and outstanding service. A little pricey, so I'd go again for a "special" occasion, not everyday dining.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were thrilled to find this restaurant on Open Table when in the BWI Airport area for one evening. Friendly, casually formal and efficient welcome and service. The bouillabaisse and veal oscar were delicious. We took a gamble on a wine recommendation and tried a rose by the bottle--2010 vintage, dry, complex and perfect accompaniment to our meals. I live in the Boston area where there are many wonderful restaurants of course. The food and ambiance made this a special evening when all we expected was dinner! I'll be back if I'm ever in the area again.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My wife, young daughter, and I recently dined at the Furnace Inn. We were pleasantly greeted by the host, Jake, immediately upon entering and he accommodated us with a nice table in the front room. Benjamin was our waiter and he was extremely pleasant, well-informed, and did an outstanding job making sure our dining experience was memorable. Steven was our bus boy and he was also extremely pleasant and did a fine job keeping our bread basket full, charging our water glasses, and clearing our table for each course. And Nick was the bartender and he made great mixed drinks and suggested some delicious wines to complement our meal. Chef Dan's seasonal menus are always delicious! For starters, my wife had the Waldorf salad and escargot while I had the borscht and lobster pot pie. For entrees, my wife had the veal scallopini and I had the roast duck. And for desert, my wife had the berry cobbler and I had a glass of port and the artisanal cheese plate. Everything was fresh and delicious, as always! I highly recommend dining at the Furnace Inn!

Tags: Historic, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Organic, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

French onion soup was awful. New York strip was very good but the cheese plate was a huge disappointment. We will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great food and service. Ambiance was perfect for intimate dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, People Watching, Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The entire experience from beginning to end was wonderful. Every member of the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The food was incredible! I eat gluten-free, and their gluten-free menu is one of the best in the area with regard to fine dining. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

A charming and historic place, it is always a special place for meals.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very nice menu but a little pricey. The setting is nice but the tables seemed a little to close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Just the usual outstanding experience. We've visited Furnace Inn many times, and it's always at the top of the list and worth the trip. Affable and knowledgeable wait staff, fabulous sommelier and wine list (best wine pricing around), always imaginative menu selections -- and the venue can accommodate any group from intimate anniversary to business dinner. We've recommended it on numerous occasions and never failed to receive enthusiastic "local gem" and foodie feedback.

This visit was a business meal for eight, lasted four hours that went by in a flash, and felt like we were home. Our visitors from Seattle were extremely impressed, and that's saying something given the dining options in that city. Memorable time spent perusing the extensive wine selections, with admirable assist from Ali, their sommelier.

And, since the restaurant is located on one of the local biking routes, they always have roadside water available for riders in the summer. Have to love that neighborhood feel and commitment!

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Brought my wife here to celebrate her 67th birthday. The pastry chef, chef, and staff were more than accommodating. They made the evening special for both of us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 12, 2017

A great place to celebrate a special occasion in a quiet, very quaint setting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Terrific food and wait staff. Chef came to the table to see how we enjoyed our meal. Very impressed and will definitely return at the first chance I get!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

High-quality food. Good variety of options for a fixe prix Sunday brunch menu. Well-priced brunch for such a unique and high-end cuisine. Absolutely excellent attention by the staff.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.