About The Elkridge Furnace Inn

For parties of five and over please call for reservations.

The Elkridge Furnace Inn holds a unique niche in Maryland history. Nestled on the Patapsco River, the Inn was first established as a tavern in 1744. Today, The Elkridge Furnace Inn houses an elegant restaurant with an intimate setting with working fire places in almost every room, lit from fall to early spring. Private parties welcome.

5745 Furnace Avenue
Elkridge, MD 21075
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 379-9336

Website:
http://www.elkridgefurnaceinn.com/

Catering:
The Elkridge Furnace Inn is delighted to deliver its fine quality food and exceptional service to the location that suites you best, home, office, or other rental site. We believe that any planned event should reflect the personality of the planner or host company. To this end we are delighted to custom design a menu focused around your corporate or personal taste or theme.

Parking Details:
Gravel parking lot, please use caution. Located to the left of the facility.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Wecker

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Elkridge Furnace Inn hosts a number of special events from afternoon teas, to cooking classes for children and adults, to wine tastings, murder mysteries, and special entertainment dinners. Please visit our web-site for an updated calendar of events.

Specials

$30 - Braised Pork Shank with Spring Vegetables

Specials

$30 - Braised Pork Shank with Spring Vegetables
Details

Braised Pork Shank and "trotter" sauce with a brie stuffed potato croquette and spring vegetables. Features local, organic pork and vegetables

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 10 People

Starts: April 15, 2017

Ends: October 15, 2017

Availability: Sun 4:00PM-5:30PM
Tue-Sat 4:00PM-5:30PM 8:15PM-9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Escape the typical meeting hotel ballroom or restaurant backroom and experience the Elkridge Furnace Inn where you'll find a unique and elegant setting for your upcoming celebration. Meals will be served in a private dining room, prepared by our award winning chef and his culinary team.

The Elkridge Furnace Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (58)
Historic (56)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Good for a Date (43)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Local Ingredients (39)
Fireplace (34)
Cozy (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Authentic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Seasonal (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Scenic View (11)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Private Room (10)
Healthy (8)
Organic (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1602 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

love the Elkridge Furnace Inn. Chef Wecker always outdoes himself. The food is always amazing. The dessert choices were also amazing (Janelle) also creates fabulous desserts. The servers are also always very nice, polite, and are just excellent people. The place is lovely. We loved getting married there and have returned several times for special occasions. Thank you!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant is charming, and its grounds beautiful. We enjoyed a quiet, special, anniversary family dinner - completely unaware of the wedding reception being held in another part of the restaurant. An excellent and unexpected menu, great wines. The scallops and tuna were especially excellent. About 25 min. from downtown Baltimore. An excellent choice for anyone staying at a BWI hotel! A wonderful menu, chef and maitre-d'.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My parents and I went to The Elkridge Furnace Inn for Mother's Day Brunch. The brunch itself and the majority of the tables were set up in the wedding tent, which I wasn't expecting but it turned out very nice. The weather was beautiful that day so that helped since parts of the tents were open. The food was absolutely amazing, notably the ham, turkey, and New York strip on the carving station. Literally the best ham I've ever had! They make everything in house and that is very apparent. Chef Wecker even took the time to walk around and greet everyone as they were eating. The grounds are also beautiful and provided a great place for Mother's Day pics. Overall, a wonderful experience!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had reservations for the 1st seating Mother's Day. Many people were waiting at 10, but seating didn't start until 10:15+. There was confusion among the hosts about who was going where, disagreement and even bickering between them. Finally got shown to our table, for her to only realize she had no idea where we were going. First we went in the tent, then to the house, through several rooms while she hunted for our table #. Then she finally determined we actually WERE in the tent, so back outside we went, dragging our two young children along. Finally found our table to see that it was too large for our party of 4, so they stuck us at a table set for only 3 (although the table legs made it comfortable only for 2) and we waited for a high chair for our toddler. We waited a while before we were able to place our drink order, and then we had to ask 3 times for m it. We were done eating before our kids got their milk. A manager came by to pretend to ask us how things were going, and then started to run off cooing, "I'm glad things are going so well!" (he never gave us a chance to speak). I told him that actually we were still waiting for milk for the kids, and he made a nonsensical excuse about how they had to go all the way back and get lids, bla, bla, bla. We FINALLY got their milk which were half filled Solo- style cups with NO LIDS or straws. I ordered a mimosa (extra, by the way, even though it's a $50 pp brunch), but no one ever followed up to see if I'd like another. Coffee refills were hard to get, too, with the first being a surprise shot, and the server pouring and then splashing hot coffee on my arm without even announcing his presence at my shoulder before sloppily pouring away (I was looking the other way). The other time I had to ask for a refill several times. The food was very good, ambiance lovely, but the service was borderline terrible. The check asked you to fill in the tip (LOL) before running your card, but they brought no pen. Sigh.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My wife and I had a great time, Brandon, our waiter was exceptional and even remembered that we had come for dinner 3 weeks ago.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food as always is exceptional. Service is great. Jake recommended the berry cobbler which was out of this world- delicious. Brian is very nice and well informed about the different food, history of the place.

My husband and I went out on a date to celebrate life.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It's always memorable when you spend time at EFI. From quiet dinners near a fire, to holiday teas with Dickens readings, to wedding ceremonies at ceremony point and receptions in the garden house, you really can't be disappointed. Chef Wecker is very approachable and will tell you about his menus as he visits with guests. He has a deft hand with herbs and seasonings, and makes great use of the produce he grows on the breath-taking property. Try some of the dishes that feature game, like the stuffed rabbit; it's delicious. The staff is very attentive without being annoying and always make diners feel comfortable and welcome.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We enjoyed our Sunday evening dinner of crab cakes & veal chop. Both were very tasty and wll prepared. There was a wedding reception ongoing behind the restaurant but it didn't interfere with the serenity of the evening. Our waiter was receptive to making a change in the sides. The entire wait staff was attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A favorite of ours for special occasions. Birthdays/Anniversary. Great historic setting from Civil War era. Food and service worthy of fine dining.

Ambiance is good, but glasswork on chandelier needed cleaning and water in flower vase needed changing. Just slight distractions. Otherwise top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I love this place. The food and the service is exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Everything was delicious and fresh. The service was stellar. I can't wait to eat there again.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Our service was great our server Hillary was amazing!! Best anniversary dinner ever .! Can't wait til we go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our dining experience was awesome! Food was beyond delicious, service was spot-on, atmosphere was romantic!! Perfect in every way and I can't wait to go back and bring the family!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A wonderful experience, excellent food and service, a lovely setting. This is our second visit and we will be back many times for special times with family and friends. We all raved about the food and wine at a quiet table in a lovey comfortable room and our servers were efficient and engaging. Well worth the price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is a place for special occasions. The food and service are outstanding but the prices are very high. The staff was very attentive and my wife and I both enjoyed our pre five choices. That said, it's not the type of place we go to regularly, but it will remain our list for anniversaries and very special moments.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Whenever I'm in the Baltimore area I try to plan my trip around visiting this place. The service is excellent and the food is always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had a fabulous dinner here. All the little details made it even more special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The service was impeccable. The food was so good and well presented. We went for lunch and plan to return for dinner sometime.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Very welcoming, all staff from bus to wait staff were fantastic. Food and wine was excellent. Highly recommend this place

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 18, 2017

absolutely awful dinner. we had to send everything back. bread was stale and chewy, butter had no flavor, a seafood soup had no seafood, the escargot were dry, and the mixed grill entree was hard, chewy and flavorless. won't be returning. we did tell the staff and they didn't charge us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 18, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating an anniversary so we tried the Elkridge Furnace Inn. We had known about the restaurant for a number of years but had heard mixed things so never really made an effort to go. When we arrived, I knew almost right away the place was special. It's nestled right off the banks of the Patapsco River (part of it's history) in a tranquil wooded spot. Originally, the building served as a tavern/inn during the 18th century when tobacco was transported along the river within it's proximity.
Inside, the dining rooms are numerous and intimate preserving the look and feel of building's 18th century heritage. We were escorted to our table by the restaurant's manager who in addition to relating the offerings on the menu, talked a bit about the history of the place. He also noted that all the meats & vegetables were organic. The vegetables themselves mostly grown in greenhouses on the premises . As you can imagine in a place such as that (upscale), the menu items are a bit pricey - entree's averaging around $40. It was well worth it though. I had pan-seared scallops mixed with a rice pilaf and home spring vegetables. The scallops alone might have been the best I've ever had.
Our waiter was very friendly, attentive and well versed on everything on the menu. Towards the end of our dinner the chef, Daniel Wecker came out to chat with diners which I appreciated.
If you are looking for something different, intimate and appreciate a 'farm to table' paradigm then I'd highly recommend the Elkridge Furnace Inn.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Had a great time, the food was excellent. Very accommodating to our 17mo old.

Love the local food and amazing dish selection. Will defiantly be coming back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Historic, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Still excellent, fresh ingredients, gluten free menu available, great wine list, and superior service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It's an amazing place and I go there often especially for special occasions. The food is amazing and the place itself so authentic and cozy. It's a historic site with beatif grounds. It's family owned and the chef is the owner. Food is always amazing so is the service. Hillary is just the best!

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Organic, Private Room, Historic, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We stumbled on this just looking to find a place close to the airport hotel at BWI for flying home the next morning but it was a wonderful dining experience. Mainly chose it also for the historic location but it far exceeded our expectations and we hope to go again next time we travel to the Baltimore area. The food was top notch as was the service and the lovely quiet atmosphere. I will recommend it to all my friends and hope we can go again soon. A real treat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As always excellent food, service with a very friendly atmosphere. Thanks again.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The whole package -- great food, ambience and service. The cost was on the high end, but definitely not over-priced....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Wonderful food, expensive, but very good. Started off with free Prosecco can't beat that. :) Extensive wine list and very attentive sommelier.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This restaurant does NOT live up to its hype. The food was uneven - average at best. Definitely overpriced for what we received. The server was a pretentious jerk, and disappeared - as did the busser - for long stretches at a time. A very disappointing experience, and we will not go back.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service overall was good. Decor outdated. Portions too big and heavy. Part of my entree was cold when it arrrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food and staff are exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Reunion with friends

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Anniversary dinner with adult children. The restaurant surprised us all with a champagne toast. The food is local farm to table. we were seated at a romantic table next to the fire place. The menu is diverse, delicious and flexible. Service is impeccable and attentive. Our drinks and portion sizes are generous. food is well presented and delicious. Terrific experience and we will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Seasonal, Scenic View, Healthy, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We love this restaurant! We had a lovely brunch as a belated anniversary celebration. The menu is excellent. The food is beautifully prepared and presented, and the staff is attentive. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I enjoyed the historic ambiance of the Furnance Inn. The food was delicious and we received excellent service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The restaurant is one of the most historic settings in all of Maryland, and the decor was remarkable. The service was on one hand highly attentive, but on the other hand rather slow. Parties that came in after us received their food before us. We weren't in a rush so it wasn't a big deal, but not optimal. The food, however, was unremarkable. By no means bad, but definitely not spectacular. The cheese plate was ok, if somewhat uninspired. The mushroom salad was good, but the bacon garnish was cut so thick that it was excessively chewy. While the flavor was great, the texture didn't complement the rest of the dish. The duck breast I had came out slightly overcooked, but yet on the cool side. So I wonder if there had been some hold up in the kitchen? The experience was ok, but for the price, I expected better. I'd be willing to try the place again

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My wife and I went to Elkridge Furnace Inn for the first time. We arrived around 5:00 and there was only one other family in the restaurant. All the food is prepared from scratch and they even butcher the meat on premises. The service was on point without being over the top. The food was excellent. My pork tenderloin was prepared perfectly. The price point is a little on the high side, but well worth it. Will be returning some time in the future.

Tags: Healthy, Private Room, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Inconsistent, yet again...I try and be a fan of the place, but they just can't nail the whole meal (see my other reviews of the EFI). There is something off in that kitchen. Every visit there is always one plate that is sent back for something else or tossed. This time i had the braised short rib, cream of tomato soup with tarragon, the game hen, and ice cream bar trio. The short rib is awesome! It's tender and the heat from the harissa work perfectly with the squash apricot chutney and almonds. The cream of tomato soup with tarragon was divine. It had these nice little chunks of grana padano in it, whose high salt content slowly bled into the soup. The game hen, conversely, was atrocious. It was so dry. The waiter took a look and apologised. Embarrassing! The blood orange and cognac were over-reduced. It was like a thick maple syrup consistency. Worse still, the sides of chutney, cippolinis and carrots were lukewarm at best, and tasted like they were microwaved yesterday. In a previous review a couple years ago I praised the dish. Not this time. I got rid of it immediately and went to dessert. The ice cream bars are delicious! The pastry chef, whom i believe is the owners daughter, has got it goin' on! The desserts never fail. Coffee is killer too! Service was excellent and accommodations were made due to the game hen. I tipped my waiter thirty percent. Unfortunately though, after seven years in Elkridge and four to five times as many dinners, I will be hard pressed to return. I always thought of the EFI as a treat, because it is not expensive as far as my tastes go, but i can't justify the value. The Elkridge Furnace Inn is average, at best... and when it comes to french cooking, which they claim to represent along with American style, average aint good enough... Consistency and value equal excellent cookery and fine dining. When I eat out, I want both. After this visit, i think that for me, there are better places to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Extremely attentive staff, knowledgeable. Food was absolutely amazing. Great local seasonal ingredients. 10/10! Awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Enjoyed a very good dinner. Great atmosphere. Excellent drinks.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.