About The Earle

121 West Washington
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

An award winning Ann Arbor institution since 1977, The Earle serves a rotating menu of fine Italian and French cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Selections include lamb chops, veal, beef tenderloin, salmon, duck breast, sea scallops and more. Live jazz plays Tuesday through Saturday in the dining room, while the wine bar offers lighter fare, twenty wines by the glass and Ann Arbor's best Happy Hour. The Earle's nationally recognized wine list (Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence) offers over 1,400 selections. Three private rooms are available and accommodate groups from 6 to 48.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:45 - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ashley

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 994-0211

Website:
http://www.theearle.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday we have solo performers (piano or guitar) that play from 8pm until 10pm. On Friday and Saturday we have a soft jazz trio (usually piano, bass and drums). The trio plays from 8:30pm until close. No cover anytime.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available nearby as follows: 1) Large public surface lot that occupies the entire city block, bounded by Huron, First, Washington and Ashley. Entrances are on Ashley (northbound) and First (southbound). This lot is "kitty-corner" from our entrance on Washington St. 2) City parking structure on East Washington (1 1/2 blocks east of The Earle) 3) City structure (very large and always has space) on North Ashley (2 blocks north of The Earle) 4) Street (no meters after 6PM)

Executive Chef:
Shelley Caughey Adams

Private Party Facilities:
The Earle offers three separate private dining rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Zoe Cowan: (734) 994-0211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Earle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (68)
Special Occasion (56)
Notable Wine List (56)
See All
Romantic (50)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Live Music (40)
Cozy (40)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Worth the Drive (29)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Business Meals (20)
Happy Hour (20)
Authentic (20)
Historic (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Casual (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Seasonal (9)
People Watching (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Family Style (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1850 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyable meal. Delicious food served too quickly for my liking. Friendly staff but not add attentive as they used to be - maybe it was just this one night. Great menu, good for anyone looking for a treat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

We used a Groupon that gave us $30 off of food and drink. We split the tortellini appetizer, each had a diner salad, and split the Coquilles St. Jacques main course. We could have split the salad too because we ended up bringing home some food. If you love wine, they have the most amazing wine list.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Live Music, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

This is our favorite place. It is our usual for special occasions.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Hair in my GF's pasta. Don't go here. Many other great choices in Ann Arbor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The Earle wins on consistency. Food a slight notch down from their usual high standard as it was very busy. Service was still excellent, despite a full restaurant. Steve's wine selections are always outstanding. Our go to restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, People Watching, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Earle, is a must stop for anyone heading in the direction or visiting Ann Arbor. The food and service was exquisite, it's a great place for friends, romantic evenings and they have a great wine bar with live music.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was delicious, but our service was lackluster at best. It was Valentine's night, so I understand it was packed; however, our waiter lacked interest and made several mistakes. He clearly put in the wrong entree for one of us, then after it was fixed proceeded to charge us for both on the bill. He was unfazed by any of this. Nonetheless, the food was great, so I would take my chances again.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I came here for Valentine's Day and was underwhelmed. To begin, for being a high end restaurant, noticeably lacking as white linens and quality table ware. The prices are not outrageously high, but high enough to make it more of a special occasion type of place. The service was good, though wait times were increased because of Valentine's. the drinks were very good, though again, presentation is lacking for one of Ann Arbor's most expensive restaurants. I ordered the sirloin and I thought it had great flavor. My date was underwhelmed with her salmon. The Earle offered complimentary sorbet for my date, as it was her birthday as well (convenient, I know) and it was mediocre at best. Overall, a good experience but with lacking presentation and prices that rival Chop House, it's difficult to justify a return visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a really great evening on Valentine's Day here. The food was amazing (duck)! We had a wonderful bottle of wine and the sommelier was very knowledgable and friendly. There was even a live performer paying acoustic. Great night! Thanks for everything! Will be back son.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wife and I went for Valentine's Day dinner and were very pleased. The food was excellent, the service was great, and we were surprised it wasn't more expensive. Overall a great experience and we will be going again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our go-to anniversary place. Never fails, always delicious. Scallops, scallops, scallops!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Earle was just the type of restaurant we were looking for. It was very personable witha special environment. The staff was very attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We came the night before Valentine's Day, everything was great... but, too often we are shoved into the wine bar overflow... I would really like to sit at one of the booths, next time I'll request it... LOVE THIS PLACE!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A five star dining experience. The duck and lamb chops entrees were amazing and cook to perfection. Very impressed by the entire staff. Customer service is mind blowing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great find! Lived in town all my life and went there for the first time. Always escaped my mind to go there but I was pleasantly surprised with the service and menu. A little on the pricey side but great for the special occassion. The only unfortunate part is that they don't have live music on Sundays and they close earlier than other restaurants on that day.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It's everything you want in a French restaurant. Top off the great food with some service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Pretty crowded on a Saturday night. Reservations were at 8:10. Arrived early and was seated by 8:00, but didn't get our food until just after 9:15. I understand part of that was the volume of people there, but still a long wait for a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice place with very good food, great appetizers, and a good happy hour. The live music (jazz guitar and piano) adds quite a bit to the environment, as well, and it's one of the few (only?) places in town with live music.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good. My wife's salmon was very good. But my ribeye was just good. For the price I was expecting a bit more.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The husband and I went here to celebrate Valentine's Day. It was our first night out in months and months. The Earle is a place I will come to again and again. It has a fantastic menu, a fantastic environment, and the staff that helped us were not only attentive and knowledgeable, but had a sense of humor as well. Beyond all of this, the food was outstanding, from appetizer to dessert. This was a lovely place to celebrate a night out with my husband.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Earle has consistently great food, served hot as it comes out of the kitchen. If you are pressed for time stick with fast food, but everything on the menu here is worth relaxing and waiting for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Earle is a go to place for us to celebrate special occasions. The food and service are always amazing. It is so nice to have dinner at a place where you can have a quiet conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent good and service. Lovely setting and we enjoyed the jazz guitar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great spot, wonderful ambiance, excellent service, fantastic wine list

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had 13 people, and everyone loved this place. It's our 2nd time with this group and probably be back soon.

Thank you.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food, wine and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It had been awhile since I visited the Earle. Service was excellent and the food was very good. For wine afficiando, it looked like you could find any number of excellent choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great atmosphere for a winter dinner: cozy booths underground with a piano playing in the background. Great wine list, ranging from very reasonable to high end. Service was excellent and the food was tasty. Just be prepared for a very traditional style of food prep with heavy, rich sauces that can leave you reaching for a digestive aid in the middle of the night.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Awesome food and service and Steve's help with wine selections is greatly appreciated. The only disappointment was the under cooked or not completely set crème brûlée

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic and consistently good food, great wine list with talented sommelier (Steve) with right level of service, even during a busy evening. The Earle is doing a great job with delighting their customers.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The Earle is one of my longstanding favorites. Wonderful homemade pastas, great seasonal menu, great favorites. Lovely wine list and lovely desserts.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was extremely slow and not attentive at all. Our water glasses were empty before anyone took our drink orders. I had the delmonico steak which was over cooked and definitely not the cut you'd expect for $35. My wife had the Shrimp Pesto Pasta which was WAY over seasoned. We both had about half of our meal and didn't bother to take the leftovers. The best part was the calamari app which is fried, but the light batter was nice. Very Disappointed and will not be returning.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Enjoyed the atmosphere, food, and live jazz music. The courses were spaced apart perfectly. We were able to enjoy our food and drinks without feeling rushed. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. Already making plans for another date night at The Earle in the near future.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Absolutely outstanding food - the best meal I have had in Ann Arbor to date. Great ambiance, loved the live music (not too loud!), and just cant stop thinking about that meal. Yum!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

A pleasant evening with delicious food, live listenable jazz and good friends

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was excellent. The location of the table did not make for a peaceful, relaxing dinner after a long week of working. The service was a little slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I've been to the Earle a lot since I moved to Ann Arbor from NYC .I have never been disappointed with the food. Everything is cooked to perfection although I must confess I don't eat red meat so I won't speak to that. Their sauces, desserts, vegetables even their cocktails are good though not artisanal. It's a solid bet for your "old reliable" restaurant. Good food and good service are always in style and that is probably why the Earle has continued to thrive while trendy places open and close seemingly overnight . I went during restaurant week and I was surprised that the portions and the choices were as good as the regular menu items. I can't say that for some restaurants I went to during the same week. The only problem is that the tables are arranged rather close to each other due to the design of the building. There is a sort of "pit" in the middle of the room where the musicians play and there seems to be some wasted space. Still if you want a romantic dinner, you can request a booth so that you won't feel like you are on display. Altogether a great place that won't disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was amazing, one of the best meals I have ever eaten. The Bean soup was amazing, I cleaned the bowl with the bread basket they gave us. The Duck was just astounding. I loved ever second of my meal.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Have been going here for yrs. Usually sit in bar. Due to restaurant week we sat in dining room. Their bread and duck are the best. Great wine list with good affordable wines. Chocolate cake to die for. My only complaint is the basement interior. After all these years and hundreds of meals it needs a major face lift.

Tags: Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The Earle is trying to be a nice, higher-end restaurant in a college town full of amazing restaurants, but they don't stack up. Everything was a little off and ok-not-great. The food was fine, the wine list was large (although I don't know enough about wines to say if it's a good list), and the servers were friendly. It took forever to get served and the lighting across the restaurant was very inconsistent. It was also pretty loud and the decor/tables/chairs were dated and a little tacky. I wouldn't come back here again, especially for the price, but I wasn't running for the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great service, great food!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had a business gathering during Restaurant Week. Service was slow due to this. Food was good. Duck was excellent! We also enjoyed our cocktails and the wine options!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Casual, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We went for Ann Arbor Restaurant week.... very good!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Healthy, Business Meals, Organic, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Duck breast (4/5) - Heard so much about it and was so glad it's on the restaurant week menu. It comes with two large pieces of duck breast (great for its value) with brussel sprouts and parsnip-potato puree (pretty much a mashed potato). In general, it was good. I liked the sweet and savory of the dish. The problem is that the duck kind of chewy, which is surprising because it was perfectly medium rare. I really did enjoy the flavor, but for such a fancy restaurant I don't think the duck should be so chewy.

Flourless chocolate cake (4/5) - Good, not superb. It's very dense, will be plenty even to share. Glad it was on the restaurant week menu, otherwise not sure if it's worthwhile.

The bread was mediocre, and disappointed that it was served completely cold given how fancy the restaurant was. Service was good. I think this restaurant is worth a try during restaurant week, but not worthwhile for its price tag outside of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Food was very good! Will return for sure!! I ate the Restaurant Week menu so not sure about the actual menu, but bet is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The interior is so pretty and nice. I love the vibe and the ambiance. However, food itself is not that tasty - appetizers and desserts are good but entrees are just okay (and compared to the price, they are ...). But it was a great experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was great, as always! The waiter we had this time left a lot to be desired; worse person we have had in years! Everyone else was very nice. Couldn't tell if he was having an off day or if he always lacks that much.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.