Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About The Earle

An award winning Ann Arbor institution since 1977, The Earle serves a rotating menu of fine Italian and French cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Selections include lamb chops, veal, beef tenderloin, salmon, duck breast, sea scallops and more. Live jazz plays Tuesday through Saturday in the dining room, while the wine bar offers lighter fare, twenty wines by the glass and Ann Arbor's best Happy Hour. The Earle's nationally recognized wine list (Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence) offers over 1,400 selections. Three private rooms are available and accommodate groups from 6 to 48.

121 West Washington
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:45 - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays during the summer

Cross Street:
Ashley

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 994-0211

Website:
http://www.theearle.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday we have solo performers (piano or guitar) that play from 8pm until 10pm.
On Friday and Saturday we have a soft jazz trio (usually piano, bass and drums). The trio plays from 8:30pm until close. No cover anytime.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available nearby:
1) Large public surface lot that occupies the entire city block, bounded by Huron, First, Washington and Ashley. Entrances are on Ashley (northbound) and First (southbound). This lot is "kitty-corner" from our entrance.
2) City parking structure on E. Washington (1 1/2 blocks east of The Earle)
3) City structure (very large and always has space) on North Ashley (2 blocks north of The Earle)
4) Street (no meters after 6PM)

Executive Chef:
Shelley Caughey Adams

Private Party Facilities:
The Earle offers three separate private dining rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Zoe Cowan: (734) 994-0211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Earle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Notable Wine List (51)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
See All
Good for a Date (46)
Romantic (43)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Cozy (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Live Music (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Authentic (18)
Business Meals (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Casual (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fun (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1988 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and nice atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Enjoyed our special occasion anniversary dinner this time as much as the many others. Great wine selection, pleasant atmosphere and good service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a 7:30 pm reservation on a football Saturday and it took about 15 to 20 minutes to get seated when we arrived 5 minutes early. We got a cocktail while waiting and although it was not crowded at the bar, it took 15 minutes to get our drinks and longer for a glass of water. After being seated, everything was excellent. Our waiter, Josh, was clever and appropriately observant. The food came out in a timely fashion and the cuisine was wonderful. Chicken Saltimbocca was flavorful and tender. The Duck Breast was excellent. Sea Scallops could have been the best I've ever had.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

First time here. Excellent experience, always skeptical when everyone recommends something but the duck breast was truly exceptional, rest of the meals were equally good, special mention to the salmon and scallops. The servers were tremendous Cara and Kate(?).

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Drinks, food and service were all fantastic, great ambience as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The service was terrible and the food is not good enough to warrant the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

The escargot was divine. The sommelier was helpful and the wine he suggested was outstanding. Our first time here and we will definitely be back. We had the veal (perfection) and the filet with Roquefort sauce. Food and service were exceptional. Cozy and romantic for our celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

On there website they showed white table cloth and when I got there it was a little rustic for my 1st anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The Earle has the best service ever, always on point, and the Sommelier is well educated on all wines, and always helpful. The Delmonico Steak is my usual choice, and really the best steak in ANN ARBOR, and especially for the price point, it is so reasonable. The pastas are just lovely choices. The tortellini appetizer and the french onion soup are favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was my first visit to the The Earle and it certainly won't be the last . The ambiance is perfect. The live music as well as the genre of music which was playing prior was so enjoyable .
Food was spectacular ! Looking forward to my next night out in the Wine Bar.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Casual, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Incredibly, I had never been to the Earle despite the fact that it has been going strong for 40 years. I had heard about its extensive wine list. I had heard less about its French and Italian cuisine (can that really be a thing?). It lived up to it reputation. The ambiance is great in a dimly lit cavern kind of way. The food is very good, reasonably priced, and varied in the French and Italian choices. Nonetheless, it is not a foodie destination. There are a few places in town with better food, but none with its unique and fun atmosphere. There has to be a reason for its longevity.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Good wine list and food. Nice place to celebrate a great Michigan victory.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 2, 2017

All was well except our service could have been a bit more upbeat and friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

One of the most enjoyable dining experiences I've had in years.
The staff couldn't have been more professional.
The meal was wonderful along with the ambiance.
Will return often.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great time at The Earle. While it is in a basement the food and the service were outstanding. It just takes a minute to adjust to busy AA but when you get the to The Earle is is all relaxation and chillin out. our waiters were great. we had the duck and the chicken which were extremely flavorful and prepared perfectly. A really nice dinner and with an easy noise level a great conversation

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We have NEVER been disappointed by this Ann Arbor gem, and the wine selection is incomparable. Service is spot-on and food fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Live Music, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent food, beyond traditional. Excellent seasoning, surprising and normal people portions. Impressive wine list. Great service. Beautiful place, very romantic with a great, really great jazz band, playing at the absolutely right volume. You could clearly listen to the music and enjoying talking to your partner.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The Earle always pleases! Our group of four had salmon in puff pastry, pesto chicken, rustic pasta and baked vegetarian phyllo. Each of us was delighted. This is my all-time favorite restaurant in A2; it's a classic.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Excellent birthday present.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food is all very rich. But overall good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Went to Earle's for my anniversary and had an awesome time the food was great the service was awesome if there was one thing that I would have appreciated more and that's the fact that there was more live music . There was a guitar player but I prefer piano and if it had been mentioned in advertising that either piano or guitar on specific days I would pick the date for piano because I rather listen to piano. However I would recommend this restaurant to my family and friends

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Best restaurant in Ann Arbor. Outstanding food every time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great restaurant. We more than satisfied our very selective guests, who gave a rave review. Very impressed with food and presentation. Wine list might be too extensive but wine steward was very knowledgeable. Wish we did not live so far away; but will be back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 14, 2017

For any kind of special occasion or for a great meal, we always think of The Earle.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Outstanding flavors, excellent service and divine atmosphere make The Earle a mainstay of fine dining in Ann Arbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Best meal I have ever had. I got the lamb and I never tasted anything so good. Best anniversary dinner choice. Very romantic for the occasion.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Happy hour is incredible. Have returned with family (adult kids) several times. Something for everyone. Varied and extensive choices for cocktails, wine, beer. Happy hour specials are generous (mussels!). Whitefish special is great and option to order off the main dining room menu much appreciated as well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The staff was amazing along with the food. Steve is always great at picking out wine.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had not been to the Earle for many years but decided to try it again for a special dinner. At this time of year when everyone wants to be outside it's strange to go to an underground caverns and the Earle looks just the same as it has for the past 30 years. Good food and a large wine selection. Not very crowded on this Saturday night and nice to have some live music at the piano.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was a very nice meal, not rushed and the food was so good. I would not hesitate to return in the future.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I had a wonderful birthday dinner and the staff was very accommodating to our table of 10. As always the ambiance, service, music, food & drinks were A+! I am looking forward to my next visit to the Earle! Thank you for a great night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food, as always, was excellent, as was the service (especially Dwayne). The brandy old fashions were among the best we have ever enjoyed. The variety of food offered was good-there should be something on the menu for everyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Live Music, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Happy Hour, Authentic, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Service was lacking. We had two servers because they work in pairs but sadly we still had to wait to order, for refills and sat for 20 minutes with empty glasses for our bill. Food was just ok

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The Earle is an Ann Arbor institution. The menu is not cheap, but your meal will be worth every cent. If you enjoy wine, the wine selection is outstanding. They also have a nice list of wines by the glass. The menu features mostly French cuisine with some Italian dishes. If you enjoy goat cheese, instead of a more traditional salad, order the goat cheese appetizer. It is rolled in sesame seeds and baked. It is plated on greens with a walnut vinaigrette. Continuing a cheese theme, the Gorgonzola salad is also tasty and comes with plenty of the cheese. In terms of main courses, we tried two new ones (for us): A beef tenderloin which was finished with cream and Roquefort, and veal scallops in a light wine sauce. Both main courses were delicious. I'd love to write about the desserts, but we were too full to try them.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great wine list, great food, great location. Don't get to AA often but took out of state relatives on a tour of the campus and they enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Always a most enjoyable time with great food & wine selection..... wonderful experience!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

great spot. good wine selection. Service was OK, but maybe could have been better to match the food and ambiance. I like the total experience.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This place was truly amazing. Everything from the atmosphere, to the quality of food, to the service was top notch. The wine selection is unbelievable and worth the trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The Earle does not disappoint. Good country French and Italian food with lots to choose from. We enjoyed a birthday meal and the wide variety of wine that they had to offer. We often think of this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.