Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About The Earle

An award winning Ann Arbor institution since 1977, The Earle serves a rotating menu of fine Italian and French cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Selections include lamb chops, veal, beef tenderloin, salmon, duck breast, sea scallops and more. Live jazz plays Tuesday through Saturday in the dining room, while the wine bar offers lighter fare, twenty wines by the glass and Ann Arbor's best Happy Hour. The Earle's nationally recognized wine list (Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence) offers over 1,400 selections. Three private rooms are available and accommodate groups from 6 to 48.

121 West Washington
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:45 - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ashley

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 994-0211

Website:
http://www.theearle.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday we have solo performers (piano or guitar) that play from 8pm until 10pm. On Friday and Saturday we have a soft jazz trio (usually piano, bass and drums). The trio plays from 8:30pm until close. No cover anytime.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available nearby as follows: 1) Large public surface lot that occupies the entire city block, bounded by Huron, First, Washington and Ashley. Entrances are on Ashley (northbound) and First (southbound). This lot is "kitty-corner" from our entrance on Washington St. 2) City parking structure on East Washington (1 1/2 blocks east of The Earle) 3) City structure (very large and always has space) on North Ashley (2 blocks north of The Earle) 4) Street (no meters after 6PM)

Executive Chef:
Shelley Caughey Adams

Private Party Facilities:
The Earle offers three separate private dining rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Zoe Cowan: (734) 994-0211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Earle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (74)
Special Occasion (74)
Good for a Date (72)
See All
Romantic (62)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Cozy (44)
Live Music (38)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Worth the Drive (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Business Meals (27)
Happy Hour (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Authentic (22)
Casual (16)
Historic (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (13)
Private Room (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Healthy (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1924 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Love the food, ambiance, and music. The service was excellent too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food and service were both wonderful. We were not rushed and had time to enjoy our meal at our own pace.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent restaurant for a formal occasion. Great staff, good French items on the menu - well worth visiting

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day and the entire experience was wonderful. The food and wine selection was very good and appealed to our whole group. Service was excellent and the noise level was nice because we could talk at a normal level. Will continue to return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day, and there were 4 of us at the table. Everybody else had duck, but I had salmon. Creme brûléewas wonderful.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Vegan, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Outstanding service and food was excellent...little pricey but overall very good

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were in the back room at a huge table and there were just three of us. I would have preferred being in the main area to be able to enjoy the music.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The ambiance is great. Basement (or wine cellar) level but well lit and well decorated. Somewhat overpriced for the quality. My wife asked about wines and the waitress recommended the most expensive glass.

Three different young couples on prom dates came in, were seated, looked at the menu (prices?) and left.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Earle is such a delightful spot to dine. The food and wine selections are terrific. The food excellently prepared. At times, I felt I needed service when it was not visible.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Place always does a great job, never a let down. Amazing relaxed meal in a very nice atmosphere. Long live The Earle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

First time here. Will be back. A post grad dinner. Food delicious

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Historic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Earle never disappoints...excellent food, an incredible wine selection, great service, delivered in a quiet dining room with great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My food was not good. I think they ran out of roquefort cheese and used butter instead. When my dish began to cool, the sauce mixture thickened and a weird film formed. It was inedible, and I couldn't eat the second half of my meal. Also, my steak was rare instead of medium rare and still cold inside. It also wasn't rested. When I indicated there was a problem, our waiter said he would look into it but disappeared and never returned to our table. I have had great experiences in the past, and my date's food was great, but I was not impressed by my last visit. Not sure I will be returning again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Easy to get a reservation on short notice. Staff very accommodating when we needed to add a party. Food was ok, but quite expensive compared to other options at equal quality. Service staff was not pushy, so we did not feel rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Last minute reservation and it was perfect. Excellent food, service and totally satisfying experience. Thanks for making our daughter's post graduation ceremony a celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Graduation dinner couldn't have been more perfect with their exquisite menu and a beautiful dining area.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was our first visit to the restaurant and we were celebrating a special occasion. The dining room is beautiful. The wait staff was exceptional and the chef and pastry chef our outstanding because the meals and desserts were spectacular and presentation of all dishes from drinks to desserts were top-notch! Thank you for a great and memorable dining experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent ambiance, wine selection and food - thumbs up!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The Earle is a large restaurant in a stone building with nice ambiance. We were seated on the porch, which was warm enough, but lacked the nice atmosphere. It was U of Michigan graduation weekend, so every restaurant in Ann Arbor was packed. We were seated 30 minutes late for our reservation. Food that came out cold was gracefully replaced and one meal was free.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Very good restaurant and good value. Excellent service and staff

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

What a wonderful meal at The Earle! I had the best French Soup ever, and the sauce on the lamb chops was so flavorful - to die for! We had excellent service from Joleen and very much enjoyed the live jazz trio. Will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The service was not good and the food was just ok. Great wine menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Ann Arbor and one of our favorites anywhere. We have been dining here for many years and still love it. We have also used this restaurant for private parties in their private rooms. The food is always excellent and although the menu may be a little "gourmet" for some people, there are plenty of ordinary choices on the menu as well. It is well run with excellent staff who never rush you even at busy times. It is a little expensive but not outlandish for this type of restaurant. A wonderful spot to enjoy a great meal. Love it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Although the food was good, the menu could have included a few more dishes. There was a large group dining at the same time so it hard to hear the entertainment. The restaurant was very well lighted, maybe a little much. My overall my dining experience was very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Yet another heavenly dinner. Can't stop going to this place for special occasions. Super tasty food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The entire experience is consistent from one visit to the next. Ordering meats cooked to 'chef's preference' never fails if you like beef rare/medium rare. Good food, service and ambiance. This is NOT fast food. Plan on spending an hour and a half.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Good French and Italian cuisine, upscale but relaxed. Mostly an older crowd. Like everywhere in Ann Arbor, overpriced. Maybe a place for students to bring their parents when they're in town and footing the bill.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I have been dining at The Earle for over 15 years and I think it is my favorite restaurant in Ann Arbor! The food and service are always great! Also the atmosphere is relaxing and they have live music that really tops it all off.

We went after a Michigan baseball game and had a really nice dinner at The Earle! Try it out if you have the chance - you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I thought the menu didn't have a lot of variety to it. I have been many times, but this was the first time in about a year. Disappointed with the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Like this place. Very quite. Good menu. Remarkable service.

Tags: Wood Oven, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Outstanding, As usual. I have never had a bad experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

waited 40 minutes for salad two come out. And 1 hour and 20 minutes for food to come out for 2 people. Was not worth the drive and the wait to eat something. Ruined the night plans since we waited more than two hours. Table behind came before us and they were still waiting. Not worth it in my opinion. Food was good but not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Disappointed given all the positive reviews. Very nice, friendly, hardworking staff the only plus. Very noisy (jazz combo plus a large party group in the "quiet" room we moved to); very long wait for our food (45+ minutes; they gave us free appetizers to try to make amends, which was kind), tired/dingy decor, and below average food. Past its prime. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

What an amazing restaurant. We visited here some time ago and are so sorry we haven't returned more recently! It was fantastic from the ambiance, to the wonderful wait staff, extensive menu, wonderful food and presentation, extensive and wonderful wine list, great bar, lovely dining room nicely updated...and the use of corks in their decor was amazing! Excellent experience from beginning to end! Loved the escargot, shrimp on spinach appetizers, the salmon and duck as entrees. Thank you so much!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Every dish was most tasty and we enjoyed it all. Service was great, too. Music was not overpowering.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We went to The Earle for our 22nd Wedding Anniversary. Everything was wonderful! The Food!!! The Staff!!! We even got a candle in our dessert to mark our anniversary. A little pricey, but so delicious. We recommend for everyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The new vegetarian option of eggplant and polenta was yummy! And The Earle in general was great as always!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 4, 2017

This was our second visit to the Earle and we truly enjoyed our evening. We went for my husband's birthday and loved that we were not rushed through our courses or our meal - we got to relax, talk, enjoy our wine and the excellent food. Everyone was friendly and gracious. We are already looking forward to going back.

It was my fault that I did not request one of the lovely tables nestled along the back wall among the corks when I made our reservation - if going for a special occasion, I highly recommend asking for one of those, they are just a little more private, quiet and cozy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The four of us left the restaurant very satisfied and full

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.