About The Earle

121 West Washington
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

An award winning Ann Arbor institution since 1977, The Earle serves a rotating menu of fine Italian and French cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Selections include lamb chops, veal, beef tenderloin, salmon, duck breast, sea scallops and more. Live jazz plays Tuesday through Saturday in the dining room, while the wine bar offers lighter fare, twenty wines by the glass and Ann Arbor's best Happy Hour. The Earle's nationally recognized wine list (Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence) offers over 1,400 selections. Three private rooms are available and accommodate groups from 6 to 48.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:45 - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ashley

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 994-0211

Website:
http://www.theearle.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday we have solo performers (piano or guitar) that play from 8pm until 10pm. On Friday and Saturday we have a soft jazz trio (usually piano, bass and drums). The trio plays from 8:30pm until close. No cover anytime.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available nearby as follows: 1) Large public surface lot that occupies the entire city block, bounded by Huron, First, Washington and Ashley. Entrances are on Ashley (northbound) and First (southbound). This lot is "kitty-corner" from our entrance on Washington St. 2) City parking structure on East Washington (1 1/2 blocks east of The Earle) 3) City structure (very large and always has space) on North Ashley (2 blocks north of The Earle) 4) Street (no meters after 6PM)

Executive Chef:
Shelley Caughey Adams

Private Party Facilities:
The Earle offers three separate private dining rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Zoe Cowan: (734) 994-0211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Earle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (66)
Special Occasion (58)
Notable Wine List (56)
See All
Romantic (48)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Cozy (40)
Live Music (40)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Authentic (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Business Meals (20)
Happy Hour (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Historic (19)
Comfort Food (16)
Casual (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (12)
People Watching (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Seasonal (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Family Style (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Fireplace (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1843 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Earle wins on consistency. Food a sl ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

The Earle wins on consistency. Food a slight notch down from their usual high standard as it was very busy. Service was still excellent, despite a full restaurant. Steve's wine selections are always outstanding. Our go to restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, People Watching, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Earle, is a must stop for anyone hea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

The Earle, is a must stop for anyone heading in the direction or visiting Ann Arbor. The food and service was exquisite, it's a great place for friends, romantic evenings and they have a great wine bar with live music.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, but our service ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious, but our service was lackluster at best. It was Valentine's night, so I understand it was packed; however, our waiter lacked interest and made several mistakes. He clearly put in the wrong entree for one of us, then after it was fixed proceeded to charge us for both on the bill. He was unfazed by any of this. Nonetheless, the food was great, so I would take my chances again.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Had a really great evening on Valentine' ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a really great evening on Valentine's Day here. The food was amazing (duck)! We had a wonderful bottle of wine and the sommelier was very knowledgable and friendly. There was even a live performer paying acoustic. Great night! Thanks for everything! Will be back son.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife and I went for Valentine's Day dinn ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Wife and I went for Valentine's Day dinner and were very pleased. The food was excellent, the service was great, and we were surprised it wasn't more expensive. Overall a great experience and we will be going again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go-to anniversary place. Never fails ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Our go-to anniversary place. Never fails, always delicious. Scallops, scallops, scallops!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Earle was just the type of restauran ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

The Earle was just the type of restaurant we were looking for. It was very personable witha special environment. The staff was very attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A five star dining experience. The duck ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A five star dining experience. The duck and lamb chops entrees were amazing and cook to perfection. Very impressed by the entire staff. Customer service is mind blowing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's everything you want in a French res ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It's everything you want in a French restaurant. Top off the great food with some service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty crowded on a Saturday night. Re ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Pretty crowded on a Saturday night. Reservations were at 8:10. Arrived early and was seated by 8:00, but didn't get our food until just after 9:15. I understand part of that was the volume of people there, but still a long wait for a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Nice place with very good food, great ap ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice place with very good food, great appetizers, and a good happy hour. The live music (jazz guitar and piano) adds quite a bit to the environment, as well, and it's one of the few (only?) places in town with live music.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good. My wife's salmon was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good. My wife's salmon was very good. But my ribeye was just good. For the price I was expecting a bit more.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The husband and I went here to celebrate ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The husband and I went here to celebrate Valentine's Day. It was our first night out in months and months. The Earle is a place I will come to again and again. It has a fantastic menu, a fantastic environment, and the staff that helped us were not only attentive and knowledgeable, but had a sense of humor as well. Beyond all of this, the food was outstanding, from appetizer to dessert. This was a lovely place to celebrate a night out with my husband.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, great service.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Earle has consistently great food, s ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Earle has consistently great food, served hot as it comes out of the kitchen. If you are pressed for time stick with fast food, but everything on the menu here is worth relaxing and waiting for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Earle is a go to place for us to cel ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Earle is a go to place for us to celebrate special occasions. The food and service are always amazing. It is so nice to have dinner at a place where you can have a quiet conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent good and service. Lovely setti ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent good and service. Lovely setting and we enjoyed the jazz guitar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot, wonderful ambiance, excellen ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great spot, wonderful ambiance, excellent service, fantastic wine list

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had 13 people, and everyone loved thi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had 13 people, and everyone loved this place. It's our 2nd time with this group and probably be back soon.

Thank you.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent restaurant.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, wine and service were excellent!

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food, wine and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It had been awhile since I visited the E ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It had been awhile since I visited the Earle. Service was excellent and the food was very good. For wine afficiando, it looked like you could find any number of excellent choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere for a winter dinner: co ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great atmosphere for a winter dinner: cozy booths underground with a piano playing in the background. Great wine list, ranging from very reasonable to high end. Service was excellent and the food was tasty. Just be prepared for a very traditional style of food prep with heavy, rich sauces that can leave you reaching for a digestive aid in the middle of the night.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food and service and Steve's hel ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Awesome food and service and Steve's help with wine selections is greatly appreciated. The only disappointment was the under cooked or not completely set crème brûlée

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic and consistently good food, gr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic and consistently good food, great wine list with talented sommelier (Steve) with right level of service, even during a busy evening. The Earle is doing a great job with delighting their customers.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Earle is one of my longstanding favo ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The Earle is one of my longstanding favorites. Wonderful homemade pastas, great seasonal menu, great favorites. Lovely wine list and lovely desserts.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was extremely slow and not atten ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was extremely slow and not attentive at all. Our water glasses were empty before anyone took our drink orders. I had the delmonico steak which was over cooked and definitely not the cut you'd expect for $35. My wife had the Shrimp Pesto Pasta which was WAY over seasoned. We both had about half of our meal and didn't bother to take the leftovers. The best part was the calamari app which is fried, but the light batter was nice. Very Disappointed and will not be returning.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Enjoyed the atmosphere, food, and live j ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Enjoyed the atmosphere, food, and live jazz music. The courses were spaced apart perfectly. We were able to enjoy our food and drinks without feeling rushed. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. Already making plans for another date night at The Earle in the near future.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding food - the best m ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Absolutely outstanding food - the best meal I have had in Ann Arbor to date. Great ambiance, loved the live music (not too loud!), and just cant stop thinking about that meal. Yum!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A pleasant evening with delicious food, ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

A pleasant evening with delicious food, live listenable jazz and good friends

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The location of ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was excellent. The location of the table did not make for a peaceful, relaxing dinner after a long week of working. The service was a little slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

I've been to the Earle a lot since I mov ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I've been to the Earle a lot since I moved to Ann Arbor from NYC .I have never been disappointed with the food. Everything is cooked to perfection although I must confess I don't eat red meat so I won't speak to that. Their sauces, desserts, vegetables even their cocktails are good though not artisanal. It's a solid bet for your "old reliable" restaurant. Good food and good service are always in style and that is probably why the Earle has continued to thrive while trendy places open and close seemingly overnight . I went during restaurant week and I was surprised that the portions and the choices were as good as the regular menu items. I can't say that for some restaurants I went to during the same week. The only problem is that the tables are arranged rather close to each other due to the design of the building. There is a sort of "pit" in the middle of the room where the musicians play and there seems to be some wasted space. Still if you want a romantic dinner, you can request a booth so that you won't feel like you are on display. Altogether a great place that won't disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was amazing, one of the best me ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was amazing, one of the best meals I have ever eaten. The Bean soup was amazing, I cleaned the bowl with the bread basket they gave us. The Duck was just astounding. I loved ever second of my meal.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Have been going here for yrs. Usually si ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Have been going here for yrs. Usually sit in bar. Due to restaurant week we sat in dining room. Their bread and duck are the best. Great wine list with good affordable wines. Chocolate cake to die for. My only complaint is the basement interior. After all these years and hundreds of meals it needs a major face lift.

Tags: Bar Seating, , Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The Earle is trying to be a nice, higher ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The Earle is trying to be a nice, higher-end restaurant in a college town full of amazing restaurants, but they don't stack up. Everything was a little off and ok-not-great. The food was fine, the wine list was large (although I don't know enough about wines to say if it's a good list), and the servers were friendly. It took forever to get served and the lighting across the restaurant was very inconsistent. It was also pretty loud and the decor/tables/chairs were dated and a little tacky. I wouldn't come back here again, especially for the price, but I wasn't running for the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great service, great food!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great service, great food!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a business gathering during Resta ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had a business gathering during Restaurant Week. Service was slow due to this. Food was good. Duck was excellent! We also enjoyed our cocktails and the wine options!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Casual, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We went for Ann Arbor Restaurant week... ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We went for Ann Arbor Restaurant week.... very good!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Healthy, Business Meals, Organic, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Duck breast (4/5) - Heard so much about ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Duck breast (4/5) - Heard so much about it and was so glad it's on the restaurant week menu. It comes with two large pieces of duck breast (great for its value) with brussel sprouts and parsnip-potato puree (pretty much a mashed potato). In general, it was good. I liked the sweet and savory of the dish. The problem is that the duck kind of chewy, which is surprising because it was perfectly medium rare. I really did enjoy the flavor, but for such a fancy restaurant I don't think the duck should be so chewy.

Flourless chocolate cake (4/5) - Good, not superb. It's very dense, will be plenty even to share. Glad it was on the restaurant week menu, otherwise not sure if it's worthwhile.

The bread was mediocre, and disappointed that it was served completely cold given how fancy the restaurant was. Service was good. I think this restaurant is worth a try during restaurant week, but not worthwhile for its price tag outside of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.