Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About The Earle

An award winning Ann Arbor institution since 1977, The Earle serves a rotating menu of fine Italian and French cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Selections include lamb chops, veal, beef tenderloin, salmon, duck breast, sea scallops and more. Live jazz plays Tuesday through Saturday in the dining room, while the wine bar offers lighter fare, twenty wines by the glass and Ann Arbor's best Happy Hour. The Earle's nationally recognized wine list (Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence) offers over 1,400 selections. Three private rooms are available and accommodate groups from 6 to 48.

121 West Washington
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:45 - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays during the summer

Cross Street:
Ashley

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 994-0211

Website:
http://www.theearle.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday we have solo performers (piano or guitar) that play from 8pm until 10pm.
On Friday and Saturday we have a soft jazz trio (usually piano, bass and drums). The trio plays from 8:30pm until close. No cover anytime.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available nearby:
1) Large public surface lot that occupies the entire city block, bounded by Huron, First, Washington and Ashley. Entrances are on Ashley (northbound) and First (southbound). This lot is "kitty-corner" from our entrance.
2) City parking structure on E. Washington (1 1/2 blocks east of The Earle)
3) City structure (very large and always has space) on North Ashley (2 blocks north of The Earle)
4) Street (no meters after 6PM)

Executive Chef:
Shelley Caughey Adams

Private Party Facilities:
The Earle offers three separate private dining rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Zoe Cowan: (734) 994-0211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Earle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Notable Wine List (51)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Romantic (41)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Cozy (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Live Music (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Authentic (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Business Meals (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Casual (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Healthy (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great Beer (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
2008 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Not crowded but service very slow.
Menu less choices than I remembered .

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

This is absolutely my favorite high end restaurant in Ann Arbor! The duck is so tender and perfectly done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

The Earle is truly a great restaurant. The duck was the best I've ever had. The service was 1st class. The cozy ambiance in a quiet booth was wonderful. Way too many good restaurants have horrible acoustics, TVs and music competing with the crowd noise. The Earle is the way fine dining used to be and still is at this location. On Mondays no live music just soft piano music. Also great discount on your birthday and a free dessert! Also a $10 gift card for our next visit! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Authentic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Have been to the Earle numerous times. Filet is always a top and wise choice. Portions are smaller than previous visits. Whitefish was watery tasting, not as good as previous visits.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

At first we we’re considered by the outside appearance of the building, but once we entered the restaurant we were pleasantly surprised. The live jazz band was playing and the ambiance was nice. Once seated we had a waitress that didn’t want to serve us but someone else was sent over and she was great. The Delmonico steak was delicious as well as the Salmon. We ordered crab cakes and French onion soup for our appetizers and they were delicious as well. I would recommend The Earle for a date.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My table was not ready when we got there. We were expected to wait. I did not want to wait and we were seated in the bar area in a back room. Our server was nice and offered to sell us a bottle of wine. She then sent over a man who didn't appear to work at the restaurant and was winding his watch when he walked up to our table. I asked him if I could help him. He asked us if we wanted to buy a bottle of wine, ( I think he was supposed to be a wine connoisseur). He was dressed poorly and by no mean did I think he would have been an employee. We then asked if we could just purchase wine by the glass. We then waited about 10 minutes for the wine to be brought to the table and we left the restaurant.
At one time I believed this was a 4-5 star restaurant. It was about 6 months ago the last time I was there and had an excellent experience. A lot has changed since then. The patrons were the same a person would see at a local Applebee's and so was the menu. I was so disappointed that I brought a date to this restaurant. Between the table not being ready, the poorly dresses patrons and staff, along with poor service.
The Earle is no longer a high end restaurant. It simply a restaurant and nothing more. I will not return in the future.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Went to The Earle to celebrate a birthday (on actual birthday). We had put "birthday" in the special occasion on the Open Table reservation. When we arrived, we were told if you dine with them on your birthday, you get 50% off food for table of two. Yes! Used that gift to up our wine purchase. Cuisine has choices for every palate. We'll be back, before next birthday, but definitely on actual birth dates when we can!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Went for dinner but started in the bar with glasses of wine and their mussels Happy Hour special ($3.75). With a Groupon-type deal, the meal was very affordable with excellent service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Haven't been to The Earle for a couple of years and all 4 of us were blown away by the food, service, ambiance. Every course was excellent, from the appetizers we shared--the bruschetta and the roasted garlic--to our entrees--grilled salmon, scallops, whitefish--to dessert--tiramisu. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Amazing food, service and atmosphere! Definitely will be visiting again during our next trip to Ann Arbor!

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We had a very pleasant dinner in the quieter part of the restaurant. Food was very good and an excellent and extensive wine list in all price categories. Would definitely go back when in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The Earle deserves its many accolades for ambience, service, and delicious food. Especially appreciated were the seasonal salads, both salmon offerings, and extensive wine(-by-the-glass) list. Whether for a special birthday or a nice night out for dinner, we are always satisfied.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I love the Earle. Fabulous wine list and the sommelier always has great suggestions. Last Saturday night I tried the Coqulle St. Jacques. OMG — fabulous. The panzenilla salad was scrumptious. I was watching my calories so I passed on all of their wonderful appetizers and desserts. The restaurant is so welcoming and attractive and Maybe Best ofAll you can carry on a conversation while dining.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

The Earl was an excellent choice for my birthday dinner. From the minute we walked in the friendly greeting, the excellent service, and the delicious dinner entree. The pomegranate martinis were excellent. I had a wonderful evening. Plan to return soon to bring other friends and family.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 29, 2017

I love this place! It's my go to restaurant for any occasion! I love it for a birthday dinner or a romantic dinner with my husband! I don't need to leave Ann Arbor to find a fantastic restaurant! The Earle is the best and it's right in my town!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Healthy, Live Music, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Excellent food and wine list. It was our first time there and we didn't know what to expect. It would have been nice if the wait staff told us how they work we had a waiter for drinks and desert and then a different once for the service. The waiter for the drinks did not stick around to ask his opinion so we took a shot in the dark for the wine. Thankfully it was fantastic, but it would have been nice to actually know what it tasted like before we picked it. Food definitely made up for the being service. Live the atmosphere!

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 27, 2017

So disappointed by our experience at the Earle. It was clear they were understaffed, and it greatly impacted our experience. We were never greeted by a server, instead we have different servers coming to the table frantically asking what we needed. The menu was never presented to us, we had many questions that were never answered, and felt like a nuance the whole time. Also, we went expecting some live music and after about 5 minutes of warming up, the musician left for the night so the restaurant was silent and it felt like we were eating in someones basement in a make shift restaurant.

Once we finally received our food (2 hours after we were sat), it was also disappointing. Overall, the food was salty and cold. The prices would be reasonable if the dishes lived up to their descriptions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The Earle has been great since its inception 35+ years ago. And we got to witness a down-on-one-knee proposal with a ring - which the lady happily accepted. :-)

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Love the Earle! We have coming here for at least 30 years. Love the panzanella salad, Salmon en croute, veal scallopini and the pasta dishes. Mostly wine bar but main room for special occasions such as wife birthday this past Saturday.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Great food and nice atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Enjoyed our special occasion anniversary dinner this time as much as the many others. Great wine selection, pleasant atmosphere and good service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a 7:30 pm reservation on a football Saturday and it took about 15 to 20 minutes to get seated when we arrived 5 minutes early. We got a cocktail while waiting and although it was not crowded at the bar, it took 15 minutes to get our drinks and longer for a glass of water. After being seated, everything was excellent. Our waiter, Josh, was clever and appropriately observant. The food came out in a timely fashion and the cuisine was wonderful. Chicken Saltimbocca was flavorful and tender. The Duck Breast was excellent. Sea Scallops could have been the best I've ever had.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

First time here. Excellent experience, always skeptical when everyone recommends something but the duck breast was truly exceptional, rest of the meals were equally good, special mention to the salmon and scallops. The servers were tremendous Cara and Kate(?).

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Drinks, food and service were all fantastic, great ambience as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The service was terrible and the food is not good enough to warrant the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

The escargot was divine. The sommelier was helpful and the wine he suggested was outstanding. Our first time here and we will definitely be back. We had the veal (perfection) and the filet with Roquefort sauce. Food and service were exceptional. Cozy and romantic for our celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

On there website they showed white table cloth and when I got there it was a little rustic for my 1st anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The Earle has the best service ever, always on point, and the Sommelier is well educated on all wines, and always helpful. The Delmonico Steak is my usual choice, and really the best steak in ANN ARBOR, and especially for the price point, it is so reasonable. The pastas are just lovely choices. The tortellini appetizer and the french onion soup are favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was my first visit to the The Earle and it certainly won't be the last . The ambiance is perfect. The live music as well as the genre of music which was playing prior was so enjoyable .
Food was spectacular ! Looking forward to my next night out in the Wine Bar.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Casual, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Incredibly, I had never been to the Earle despite the fact that it has been going strong for 40 years. I had heard about its extensive wine list. I had heard less about its French and Italian cuisine (can that really be a thing?). It lived up to it reputation. The ambiance is great in a dimly lit cavern kind of way. The food is very good, reasonably priced, and varied in the French and Italian choices. Nonetheless, it is not a foodie destination. There are a few places in town with better food, but none with its unique and fun atmosphere. There has to be a reason for its longevity.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Good wine list and food. Nice place to celebrate a great Michigan victory.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 2, 2017

All was well except our service could have been a bit more upbeat and friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

One of the most enjoyable dining experiences I've had in years.
The staff couldn't have been more professional.
The meal was wonderful along with the ambiance.
Will return often.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great time at The Earle. While it is in a basement the food and the service were outstanding. It just takes a minute to adjust to busy AA but when you get the to The Earle is is all relaxation and chillin out. our waiters were great. we had the duck and the chicken which were extremely flavorful and prepared perfectly. A really nice dinner and with an easy noise level a great conversation

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We have NEVER been disappointed by this Ann Arbor gem, and the wine selection is incomparable. Service is spot-on and food fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Live Music, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent food, beyond traditional. Excellent seasoning, surprising and normal people portions. Impressive wine list. Great service. Beautiful place, very romantic with a great, really great jazz band, playing at the absolutely right volume. You could clearly listen to the music and enjoying talking to your partner.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The Earle always pleases! Our group of four had salmon in puff pastry, pesto chicken, rustic pasta and baked vegetarian phyllo. Each of us was delighted. This is my all-time favorite restaurant in A2; it's a classic.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Excellent birthday present.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.