About The Del-Bar

800 Wisconsin Dells Parkway
Lake Delton, WI 53940
View Larger Map

Del-Bar “the best steaks in town since 1943.” Passionate, fairly priced wine list. Cocktail lounge. Prime Steaks, Jumbo seafood, Fresh fish, Sandwiches and more. The perfect place to hold small meetings, casual affairs, and great dinner parties.

The Del-Bar was establish in 1943 as a Roadside Steakhouse by Jim and Alice Wimmer and today is still family owned and operated by Jeff and Jane Wimmer. The "Prairie style" ambiance, renovations and expansions are by James Dresser, an important protégé of Frank Lloyd Wright.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday 4:30pm - 8:15pm, Dinner Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
E Hiawatha Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1861

Website:
http://www.del-bar.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Uptagraw

Private Party Facilities:
Copper Room maximum100 guests for sit down dinner.
70 for private meeting w/presentation Screen, projector, microphone & wifi.
Garden Room maximum 30 guests for sit down dinner.
18 guests for meeting w/presentation. Screen projector & wifi.
Wine room maximum 24 for sit down dinner.
Patio maximum 20 for sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Jane or Jeanette: (608) 253-1861

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Del-Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Romantic (22)
Cozy (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Business Meals (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Historic (14)
Fireplace (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (9)
Authentic (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
People Watching (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Scenic View (3)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
799 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful. Everything I expected. Great Wisconsin Supper Club in the middle of Wisconsin Dells?!?!

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I come to the Del Bar every year for my birthday. This visit wasn't as stellar as previous visits. The bartender snapped at us because she was busy, then proceeded to mix my drink wrong. I was scared to ask her to re-mix it with the proper ingredients. Our waitress was busy with a large table of prom/winter formal kids, so our service was absent-minded and slow. Hopefully next year will be better!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

An elegant and wonderful place. A tradition every time I go through the Dells.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I would not recommend this place to anyone. It is way over priced! My steak was not done correctly neither was my boyfriends and his 20 oz steak was the size of my 12oz steak. You feel like your in a conference room tables placed all over in no order. Uncomfortable chairs, cheap tapestries on the table for how much you pay you should at least have a more secluded comfortable place and better food. Will never be visiting this restaurant again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a terrific Valentine's Day dinner. We were seated immediately upon arrival and despite the restaurant being very full we were served immediately and all three courses were served in what felt the proper amount of time. Our steaks were cooked to perfection and the service was outstanding. We would definitely recommend for special occasions as the price was very reasonable.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We chose this knowing that it would be more expensive than we usually are willing to spend. It was worth the extra dollars and the food was excellent and I was exceptionally pleased with our decision.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food and attentive server. Requested a table by the fireplace and our request was honored.

Wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our server was awesome, can't remember her name, but she had worked there for a long time. Food was good! Had a great time with husband, sister and brother-in-law.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Monika is a great rest. owner/server. Food was just what we needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Made a reservation in advance and showed up 45 minutes early to have a couple drinks in the bar. It took a half an hour to get a drink. The bartenders were completely overwhelmed with a medium size crowd. We were seated pretty close to our reservation time only to sit and wait 20 minutes or more before getting water and menus. All in all, the service was slow and inattentive. The food was pretty close to what we have come to expect at the expensive Del Bar but service on this visit fell way short. Too bad. This place used to be top notch. The prices are still up there but the quality is lacking. We will give it another chance as always. It seems to be hit or miss here anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service great food, was my 1st time there and my date and I enjoyed the food.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A little more expensive than I anticipated from reading the other reviews, but as this was a rare date night with my wife, well worth the extra. I would also add that cheaper options were available but we both chose dinner entrees. Delicious food, hast ambiance, exceptional service.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I can't leave much of a rating here as they didn't honor the reservation we made using this. We waited about and hour and 30 minutes then left to eat somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome staff, I had Oysters Rockefeller that was GREAT!!!, Bone in Rib Eye was very good side of Mushrooms (sliced) I expected whole but oh well they were fine. Wife had the fish fry (too greasy for her) Soup & Salad was good, we had Brandy Old Fashions (a bit pricey) Recommend reservations and expect to pay a premium $$$ not for a budget minded. The overall experience was good. Will go back in the future.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I have been to the Del Bar many times and always have a wonderful experience. The food is consistently good and a fine example of the Wisconsin supper club finest.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Everything was wonderful except for the welcome. Don't count on Open Table for making reservations. They had no record and didn't seem to care that we made reservations weeks in advance. We were seated 45 minutes late and watched other couples who came in after us be seated first. Once we were seated our service and food was amazing. Call before you go if booking through this App.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Usually overall great place. Last time we had ordered steak medium and it was rare. Never offered to remake it, just to cook it more which dried it out. Then after not eatting but 2 small bites, we get a bill for about $150.00 Never even offered to not charge us for the steak we didn't eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great food - everything we tried (flat iron steak, ribeye, shrimp, salads) was great. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Authentic, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I just love supper clubs and this is a very consistent one to go to.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was fabulous- both steaks and salmon. As well as the service. Great night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Just what you imagine when you think of Wisconsin Supper Club.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Historic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I've previously eaten at Del Bar in Wisconsin Dells, and they continue to deliver a great dining experience. So, the day after New Years Eve we booked our table through Open Table, and cashed in on my $20 gift that I had accumulated. Architecture has a Frank Lloyd Wright feel, and there's a warmth and coziness to the room. The fresh croutons, and rolls presented prior to the salad course helped to take the edge off our hunger. I ordered a glass of Prairie Fume. My Caesar Salad (an upgrade) had a refreshing, creamy, lemony vinaigrette and was sprinkled with parmesan cheese (I forgot to ask for anchovies). My husband had the house salad with a Thousand Island dressing that was made in-house. He had selected Sea Scallops and hash browns, while I asked for their charred Salmon which was done to perfection, also came with a side of cranberry/wild rice. No room for dessert. Our server was delightful, and very accommodating (helping to secure the $20 gift redemption). If you are in the Dells area, book a table because, here, they really do raise the bar.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a group of 4 eat out on New Years Eve. We have all been here before and had very good experiences in the past. This one was also a great time. Except for my friend who ordered Salmon and it was a bit under cooked and I ordered King Crab and mine were a bit dry compared to the last time I was in and they were perfect. Of course I understand consistency of perfection is hard to accomplish with so many people in and out the door. And That is OK the crab was served with drawn butter and that made everything alright alright alright! I will be back and I will recommend The Del Bar to others.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were there for New Years Eve seated on time service was awesome and so was the food have been here many times and never been disappointed highly recommend

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The steaks and seafood have always been delicious here. The prices are reasonable given the quality of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always good food. We had to wait an hour from our reservation time to be seated. Other than that it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Love, love, love The Del-Bar! Service was excellent, as always. Steaks and fish ordered by the group were perfectly-cooked and delicious. Make reservations if you're going on a Friday or Saturday night; when we arrived at 5:30, there were numerous tables available - but when we left at 7:00, there was an hour wait. That said: It's worth the wait.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Historic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was fabulous. The service was amazing. We loved the after dinner drinks. We will be back. Thank you.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Awesome place, great atmosphere and great food. Reminded me of a traditional Wisconsin Supper Club.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very good dinner date night out. Comfortable dress up or down.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food, exceptional server and lovely atmosphere combined to make our dining memorable and the celebration special!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual, Romantic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. Our server was prompt and attentive and tge food was perfect. Well worth every penny.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great food! Love the oysters and escargot. The service was impeccable. I would dine there more frequently if we lived closer.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Disabled Access, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I had a lovely night there, i have been there before and things have not changed which is a good thing. My husband was a little disappointed in the shrimp but overall the did was good other than the sweetness in the rice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was amazing as always!! It is pricy. Would go again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The Best place we have been to in years. The food was excellent. So glad for the gift certificate that we received to be able to come there.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Celebrated our family holiday get together and birthday, staff is extremely accommodating, food was excellent, cocktails outstanding, overall supper club ambiance brought back many fond memories

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 14, 2016

As expected the food was fabulous. I had the scottish salmon and hubby had the walleye and both were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Once again, the Del Bar did not disappoint! We were celebrating an 85th birthday with family members (to include 5 yr. old twins). As usual the service was attentive but not overbearing. Four of us (2 couples) ordered the escargot to share--shear heaven! Small squares of puff pastry sit atop large snails floating in their herb-y garlic butter--too die for, IMHO. My salmon entree was terrific (apart from being too large--half coming home!), and I highly recommend upgrading to the Oscar Style. The chunks of white crab meat were huge, plentiful, and sweet. Better than almost anything that we encountered when we lived in Maryland--now that says a lot!! I had substituted a vegetable for my potato choice, but I was enjoying my dinner so much that I didn't notice that it hadn't turned up. However, the staff did, so they boxed it up for me and allowed me to have a free dessert to compensate--how nice. The twins liked their pizzas: in fact everyone was very enthusiastic about their choices. My free dessert was an outstanding mango/raspberry creamsicle: a scoop of intensely flavored mango sorbet on one end with one of raspberry on the other and a scoop of a vanilla bean gelato in between, all topped with minimal whipped cream and a drizzle of white chocolate--extremely otherworldly! Can't wait for another occasion to go back :-)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Steak was wonderful one of the best I have ever have. The king crab was good a bit fishy but was still very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fantastic steaks and seafood, excellent service, great old fashions and a warm and friendly atmosphere made it a perfect evening for the two of us. The Del-Bar gets 5 stars in our book. We will return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Del-Bar has become our favorite restaurant in Wisconsin Dells. Always good food and reasonable pricing for the area. Not cheap but you get what you pay for. This was the only time where we had "spotty" service so I will chalk this one up to one of those bad nights that servers sometimes have. Great bar area with seasoned bartenders that know how to poor a good drink.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service and food was very good. Salad was fresh, cheese curds were solid and the Friday fish fry was very good. Our table preferred the fried over the baked. Atmosphere was nice and dining room was quiet. Decor

Was dated but was not completely irrelevant. My one and only complaint was the drink prices. My father in law and I thought the old fashions were phenomenal until we got the check. Through the course of our dining experience he had six old fashions. Apparently at the axel bar Korbel is considered a premium alcohol= $9.25 each. In the end our six old fashions equaled our food bill. I'm a man of principal and for this reason alone I will not be back and try the numerous other restaurants in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything was delicious! From the excellent escargot and oysters Rockefeller, to the shrimp, walleye, steak, and pork chop, our party of eight enjoyed it all. We decided to check out The Del-Bar on a whim and we were not disappointed. We'll definitely be back the next time we visit the Dells! It's a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

A neighborhood must when we visit our daughter in Uptown Square neighborhood. Desserts are phenomenal-the food just as phenomenal. Love it here anytime, but especially in summer when we can comfortably enjoy the outdoor dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Been going there for 15 years and have never had a bad experience.

Love the Dell-Bar

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We love the Del-Bar. Great seafood and steaks. The ambiance is very comfortable and welcoming.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great place for an intimate dinner or a large group gathering. Excellent menu, terrific wine list...one of our all-time favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Best fish fry! Hashbrowns are excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.