Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About The Del-Bar

Del-Bar “the best steaks in town since 1943.” Passionate, fairly priced wine list. Cocktail lounge. Prime Steaks, Jumbo seafood, Fresh fish, Sandwiches and more. The perfect place to hold small meetings, casual affairs, and great dinner parties.

The Del-Bar was establish in 1943 as a Roadside Steakhouse by Jim and Alice Wimmer and today is still family owned and operated by Jeff and Jane Wimmer. The "Prairie style" ambiance, renovations and expansions are by James Dresser, an important protégé of Frank Lloyd Wright.

800 Wisconsin Dells Parkway
Lake Delton, WI 53940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday 4:30pm - 8:15pm, Dinner Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
E Hiawatha Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1861

Website:
http://www.del-bar.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Uptagraw

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We welcome groups of five to 105. Book your next business event or relax with associates & friends. Enjoy exceptional service with generous smiles. Three private dining rooms. Customized menu and perfect arrangements for business or pleasure.

The Del-Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Romantic (30)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Cozy (20)
Fun (20)
Casual (20)
Business Meals (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Authentic (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great Beer (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
930 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

I had heard great things but expectations were not met. Sexist policy where a male patron was denied service due to a sleeveless shirt but many female patrons were allowed to stay and dine. Food was bland; didn't know it was possible to make a flavorless filet but both filets arrived completely tasteless. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I highly recommend the seared scallops, the spinach salad with hot bacon vinaigrette and the fresh hot bread.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Very good service even with a party going on in the bar area. Food excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food and service was very good but they never applied the happy hour prices.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Love this place. Always a great experience from the wait staff to the food... truly enjoy it. Been coming here for like six years now and always make sure we have the Del Bar on our list of must go to restaurants in the Dells.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Delicious food, great atmosphere, outstanding service - a true Wisconsin supper club.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We don't get to the dells very often but when we do the Del Bar is the ONLY place we go for dinner. It is such a treat and always great! We love it here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Anniversary dinner and the restaurant gave us 2 complimentary glasses of champagne which was very nice. We ordered dinner and it was presented nicely and her sea scallops were the best ever but that's were it ended.

I ordered a $45 ribeye steak Wisconsin style and it showed up without the bacon and blue cheese topping. The waitress fixed that by bringing it out on a separate plate and if that was the only issue I would have given better rating. I ordered my steak middle-well and it was plated medium-rare.

My biggest complaint would be is that I paid $40 for a ribeye steak that I could have gotten at Ponderosa for less than half the cost.

I wish it had been a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Quality wasn't what is has been in the past. The oysters Rockefeller, rice side and roasted chicken (specifically the veloute sauce) lacked flavor. The pan fried walleye's coating was too heavy and lacked flavor as well. If this was my first visit I would not return but I have eaten here many times and know that the steak and prime rib is good so I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We have heard many wonderful things about The Del-Bar and finally had the chance to stop in. It was definitely worth the visit. The food and service was great! We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Bone in ribeye is spectacular! Blows away Ishnala.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We were at the Dells for a vacation. This is an outstanding restaurant of the highest quality. The menu was fabulous with great choices. The service was impeccable. Our needs were anticipated and met throughout the meal. The food was excellent. We had the chicken breast, strip steak and salmon. All were delicious. We loved the salads and there was a nice cracker basket preceding the dinner rolls basket. Of course we had to try dessert, and the smaller portions available were perfect. We loved the key lime pie. Overall our group of 4 was totally satisfied and we will definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I've been to The Dell Bar many times and this time is like all the rest....Fantastic! The location is perfect, the décor is inviting and the food and service is always top-notch. I can't image a trip to the Wisconsin Dells without a visit to The Dell Bar.

I highly recommend it to all who want to enjoy a nice night out with friends, or those who are looking for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a wonderful waitress.

The food was good, but we both got very ill about 3:00 AM, we think it may have been the escargot, we were sick for hours, it was very unpleasant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a really great meal at Del-Bar. The service was friendly and efficient and the food was really tasty. Sure, it's a little expensive, but I think it was worth it. The menu is extensive and they have a pretty good wine list. If you want a nicer meal in the Dells this is definitely the place to go.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

BEST PLACE EVER!!!!! EVERY TIME!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great food,great service and a real value for the experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This is our favorite Wisconsin Dells restaurant... We make a point to go there whenever we are in the Dells... The tempura shrimp is a favorite along with the spinach salad... They also have wonderful veggie options; brussel sprout, broccoli, and butternut squash... Highly recommend!

Tags: Great Beer, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The happy hour is a good value and the staff are friendly.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Del Bar never disappoints...best martinis in Wisconsin

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Went in with high expectations and they were all met! The excargot was very good, even while we were hesistant.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Always great value during happy hour and food is very good.

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 24, 2017

First visit to this restaurant which was a very a pleasant experience. Wisconsin Dells is a very busy town with all it's summer tourist attractions so finding such a great restaurant in the middle of all the hustle was great.

Prime steak, fresh sea food and many homemade desserts make up an excellent restaurant. Special things at this restaurant: excellent selection of small plates and their mini-desserts. After eating a terrific dinner it's nice to finish the meal with a small tasty dessert.

One thing that needs their attention is the quality of the coffee lattes they serve and this is the only item that needs attention.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Have been to Del Bar at least a dozen times over the years. This time, the food was not as superb as it's always been. Service continues to be perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food and service were good but this place is really about the ambiance and that's where it delivers. You will definitely pay a little more than what you probably deem appropriate for what you get, but again, the experience is worth it - at least once. Also, they serve the best Old Fashioned I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were not aware of the "dress code" my husband was wearing a tank top. They made us purchase a tshirt that said $3 they charged me $5 for it. We should have left at that point but proceeded with dinner. Our server was very nice but the food was less than mediocre and really expensive. All 4 guests at the table were not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

I would eat here again, it was very clean, great service,food,seating, are waiter was very hands on, polite and friendly,
This place is great for a date night,anniversary or family gathering, we were able to enjoy our conversation without loud voices,

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great steaks and great service, terrific hash browns and delicious dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Meal was very good, I had a great experience, definitely coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Had a great time on my 50th Birthday. Staff was engaging yet professional. Food was truly top notch. Would recommend and plan to return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Spicy shrimp tasted great but husbands ribeye was not the best cut of meat for the price. Service was efficient but impersonal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The del bar was excellent. Although a bit pricey, you get fantastic tasting food. I had the oysters Rockefeller which were scrumptious. For my main meal I had the ribeye with sweet potato fries. Very juicy and delicious. My wife had the filet and she loved it. The service was prompt and pleasant. Overall it is a very nice dining experience

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was very good. our waitress, Jenny, was OUTSTANDING. The entire dining room staff was very good as well. It had been a while since my wife and I had been to the Del-Bar. We enjoyed it then and it has not changed. It is still one of the best places for dinner in the Dels.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This is a "must stop" on our annual trip from Minnesota to Illinois. Food, drinks and service were better than ever this year. Best authentic supper club experience in the upper Midwest!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

It was Amazing food very good size portions and I'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Dinner for 6 was awesome! Their walleye is YHE BEST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Have been coming here since the 1970's as a kid! Love the supper club atmosphere! Food always great! Brought my Daughter , who is 25 now, she loved it! We will be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Was pleasantly surprised to find a pleasant quiet restaurant in the Dells.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

As supper clubs, go this is a gem! We had a table for 8 and a terrific waitress! Everyone's food was delicious. We will go back!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food, great service. Wonderful place to go. Party of 6 we all ordered something different. We all were happy with our choices.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.