Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About The Del-Bar

Del-Bar “the best steaks in town since 1943.” Passionate, fairly priced wine list. Cocktail lounge. Prime Steaks, Jumbo seafood, Fresh fish, Sandwiches and more. The perfect place to hold small meetings, casual affairs, and great dinner parties.

The Del-Bar was establish in 1943 as a Roadside Steakhouse by Jim and Alice Wimmer and today is still family owned and operated by Jeff and Jane Wimmer. The "Prairie style" ambiance, renovations and expansions are by James Dresser, an important protégé of Frank Lloyd Wright.

800 Wisconsin Dells Parkway
Lake Delton, WI 53940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday 4:30pm - 8:15pm, Dinner Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
E Hiawatha Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1861

Website:
http://www.del-bar.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Uptagraw

Private Party Facilities:
Copper Room maximum100 guests for sit down dinner.
70 for private meeting w/presentation Screen, projector, microphone & wifi.
Garden Room maximum 30 guests for sit down dinner.
18 guests for meeting w/presentation. Screen projector & wifi.
Wine room maximum 24 for sit down dinner.
Patio maximum 20 for sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Jane or Jeanette: (608) 253-1861

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Del-Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (46)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Romantic (33)
Worth the Drive (30)
Bar Seating (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Cozy (21)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Authentic (17)
Casual (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fireplace (15)
Historic (13)
Business Meals (12)
Fun (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Private Room (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Scenic View (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Family Style (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (2)
Tapas (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
840 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Our food was very good but the drinks were way overpriced! The service was okay, nothing over the top. We were given a very nice spot in the restaurant but I was disappointed at the lack of acknowledgement for our occasion. We were celebrating a birthday and anniversary and had to ask for a dessert. We would return but would not be ordering any drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to the Del Bar for our 5 Year Wedding Anniversary - it was the perfect spot to pick - everyone was so friendly there and the food was amazing!! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. Was a very busy night with several events in the area, our service and quality of food was top notch as usual and did not suffer.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Amazing food! Loved the service! Great place for a great meal! High end but worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great bar, great bartenders, most comfortable bar stools, excellent menu and great wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our group of seven gathered for Mother's Day as a central destination from Madison, Wisconsin Rapids, Minneapolis and Madison. Service and dinner ( Great Choice of Mother's Day Specials) was wonderful and we lingered a long time over coffee, desserts to share and conversation. We were a lively, engaged group and never felt overlooked or hurried by the staff. We had an excellent time. Thank you, Del-Bar!

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always excellent, we dine there on special occasions!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Historic, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Healthy, Happy Hour, Private Room, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Amazing food, excellent service, best dining experience in a long time! Worth every penny. Will be back for sure!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great walleye

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great meal. Everyone's dinner was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Del Bar is a classic. Great food, a wonderful atmosphere and terrific staff. Not to be missed!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Birthday dinner with my spouse; enjoyed a relaxed environment, with our courses staged well for our enjoyment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Always an excellent choice. Service was outstanding. Food fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Every aspect.. Food, drinks, service and bartenders excellent as always...

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My date and I had his birthday dinner there. One of the best Ribeye Boneless piece of meat I've ever eaten, cooked medium rare with great seasonings, seared to a nice crispy perfection. My date also had a really good lobster tail. The only down fall of this experience for our first time being at the Del-Bar was that our waiter didn't take our order for a good 40 minuets with no soft bread and got our table mixed up with another table and didn't even come clear our table after our meal another waiter had to come clear it up. I also specially ordered him a slice of cake to celebrate his birthday and when the cake arrived it was tipped over with no candle on it even though I saw a family get a cake with a candle on their cake lit and everything. Anyways the overall experience at this place was good other than our waiter. Hopefully when we come back next time we'd get a better waiter. Overall I really enjoyed our time there and the food was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Funny story-or not. Arrived for my 7:45 reservation, hostess said she already seated us.
No, I'm right here. Long story short, another hostess took us past a couple of lovely tables (we were only 2 people) and attempted to seat us in a "hallway" type area next to a table of 15 men and a service area. I asked for a different table, as it was incredibly warm there as well, she was adamant there was none. When we asked about a table we walked past she told us that was reserved. Hmmm, curious, we have a reservation.... No attempt to honor my reservation, no apology offered, we were willing to wait for another table to open. 2 people left, a male server came up to this woman to let her know, she, in front of us, argued that was a 4-top that she needed, and we couldn't have that table. We told her we would be leaving, no attempt was made to make us comfortable in the bar, no accommodation at all. She was just so rude. As we were leaving she said she needed to check one more table. Within minutes she returned and said no, there were no other tables. We told her this was ridiculous and while we were walking out, she said, come back another time. We replied no, we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 24, 2017

As always it was the most wonderful 4 days of dining. Our servers, especially Bonnie are top notch and make you feel at home. Hi to Caron also. It's the best restaurant in the Dells area. I not forget my buddy Kelly (Charlene)....most atttentive hostess. Everyone there is so very nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Vegan, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Live Sports, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Special place, great, friendly service. In and out easy without a rush, early dinner time was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great value and great food. Daily happy hour is added plus with very good appetizers at reasonable prices along with cocktails.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food. Food service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We arrived 30 minutes early as my family was hungry and for a minute I thought we were going to be assigned to wait it out in the bar with an 11 year old. BUT! A young woman hostess thought of an idea and indeed we were ushered in to the main dining area. It was 6:00; we were given a table for 10 with a lovely banquet back booth. The 5 of us enjoyed a variety of apps, including the best fried cheese curds ever. Husband and DIl adored the blue point oysters and fresh tuna. Son, grandson and I sampled the ginger and wasabi but no the raw bites....and enjoyed those curds. Waitress was great. Meal was well paced. Fish fry And other meals were just right and grandson had his first lobster tail which he pronounced really delicious. Son loved his cheesecake. We all agreed it was a relaxed and wonderful experience. Skip the lemon drop martini..over the top too much sweet lemon and I am a citrus lover. It was about the same bill as our last year dinner at the Double Cut, but we all preferred the ambiance at Del Bar. Next year it's back here on the Easter weekend list. Well try harder to be on time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Very nice ambience finally found somewhere grown up and decent to eat in the Dells. But definitely kid friendly as well.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The seafood Alfredo was highly exceptional. I'd go there again just for that! The crab cakes were tasty and tender.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

First time visiting the restaurant, the atmosphere was inviting and romantic. I went with friends. I got a steak which was delicious. The mojitos we ordered were not great at all. They were too sour and then it was remade and they were full of club soda. The waitress was nice enough to take them off considering we didn't drink them at all. It wasn't the best meal I've ever had and the prices were moderate. Not sure if I would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We are locals and have been dining at the Del Bar for at least 40 years. I can honestly say that we've never had a bad experience there. The service is always excellent as it was for us last Saturday night. The food, drinks and dessert were worth the price. My only criticism is that the dining room we were in was very noisy. I guess rude customers can't be avoided.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I love the Dell Bar. They have great steaks! This is usually what we eat at the Dell Bar. My only complaint is: With the price charged I am a little surprised that the plate couldn't have some small veggie of color on that large plate. Our steak and baked potato did not look worth the $37 cost of the steak when the presentation could have been enhanced with 50 cents worth of veggies.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Came here based on reviews from Open Table. Asked for Bonnie in special requests but got Darla- What a wonderful server! She was friendly, professional and informed. Couldn't habe been a more efficient server!
Askef for Makers Mark Manhattan's which were perfect.
Darla made great recommendations for Blue Point Oysters- those plus the Kamamoto's were awesome - pleasantly surprised!! No fishy smell whatsoever and sweet, briny taste.
My husband had 6oz filet-delicious! I had the scallops -also very good. My daughters enjoyed some kids menu items plus some cheese curds appetizer and they were satisfied and liked the Izzy soda selection.
My husband and I enjoyed after dinner drinks -Bailey's on the rocks and a nice Tawny port. Extensive wine selection and supperclub atmosphere.
We would compare to dining experience in Chicago area 👍.
We'll be back if we return to the Dell's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Enjoyed it, walleye was great. Like the ambience. Would be great if they had a piano player. Would really make it special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Wonderful supper club. Great menu. Excellent wine selections. Staff was friendly and so attentive. Relaxing and full of energy. Well done!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food and service!!! Best filet in town. Our server was very attentive and accomodating!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We went on Friday for the seafood. The fish fry melted like butter. The walleye was perfect and the scallops were to die for. Very fresh and cooked to perfection. We were a large group and a the service was excellent. Very accommodating and fast but not at all rushed. Exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Incredibly tasty meals - all seven of us ordered different meals and appetizers and each was fantastic. Also the wait staff was top rate attentive and friendly. We will be returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Cozy, Tapas, Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We were seated promptly. Our waitress was very pleasant. However, my steak was done rare. I sent it back. The steak then came out charred on the outside but still medium rare on the inside. I ended up sending it back. They did take it off my bill. I ended up splitting my boyfriends meal with him. I had ordered my steak medium well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Had a good meal, staff was friendly, dessert was larger than expected, drinks and food were served in a timely but not rushed manor. Open flame candle on the table, which i like. Very interesting fresh flowers placed around the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had an awesome time. Bonnie was our waitress and she was fabulous as always. One of our all time favorite restaurants anywhere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We try and visit the Del Bar a couple times a year. Historic Wisconsin supper club with a great following. Employees are long term. Food quality is good -- appetizers were outstanding! We all ordered the Friday fish special. The baked fish was well received by my companions. The deep fried unfortunately was over battered and very greasy. Desserts are excellent!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 9, 2017

A cool throwback supper club in a 60s vibe. First time. Absolutely loved it. Will be back! Only problem is that they didn't get our reservation from open table, but luckily they fit us in.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was excellent but it's over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Happy hour appetizers were fantastic. Sashimi and shrimp cocktail are always a winner. Great wine list. Steakhouse wedge salad and bone in ribeye are my faves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.