Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

About The Dawson

The gathering place in Fulton River District, The Dawson features globally-inspired American cuisine and libations, that highlight the season's best offerings and diverse, yet approachable, ingredients and flavors. Known for its passion for creating inventive and award-winning cocktails and house made liquor infusions and syrups, the team at The Dawson specializes in libations with whimsical touches.

Acclaimed items and guest favorites include: Chicken-fried Lobster Tail, Bone-in Ribeye, Dawson Burger, Mac & Cheese, Bloody Mary, and featured Fish Tacos.

A nod to the contiguous Dawson Brothers Fireplace Plant of late 19th century Chicago, The Dawson's interior design draws inspiration from the history of the neighborhood and the industrial innovation of that era and offers an artfully stripped-down aesthetic, highlighting natural and reclaimed materials in unexpected ways throughout the establishment.

730 West Grand Ave
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm (Kitchen 10:00pm)
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday: 4:30pm - Midnight (Kitchen 11:00pm)
Friday: 4:00pm - 1:30am (Kitchen Midnight)
Saturday: 10:30am - 1:30am (Kitchen Midnight)
Sunday: 10:30am - 11:00pm (Kitchen 10:00pm)

BRUNCH:
10:30am - 3:00pm Saturday and Sunday

Cross Street:
Grand Avenue and Halsted Street at the Grand/Halsted/Milwaukee intersection

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 243-8955

Website:
http://www.the-dawson.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available nightly and all day on Sunday. Limited metered street parking is available.

Public Transit:
CTA Blue Line - Grand Avenue stop
CTA Bus - Grand Avenue/Halsted Street stop
CTA Bus - Milwaukee Avenue / Halsted Street stop
CTA Bus - Halsted Street / Grand Avenue stop

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Events Manager
The Dawson
312-372-4001
events@the-dawson.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Dawson is the gathering place in Fulton River District for globally-inspired American cuisine, award-winning libations and inviting decor. Featuring multiple spaces on two levels, including an expansive courtyard, The Dawson offers many options and is an event host's dream location.

The Dawson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (63)
Good for a Date (51)
Handcrafted Cocktails (44)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Fun (40)
Good for Groups (39)
Special Occasion (38)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Hot Spot (26)
Romantic (25)
Great for Brunch (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Happy Hour (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Casual (20)
People Watching (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Late-night Find (15)
Cozy (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Authentic (8)
Live Music (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Seasonal (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great Beer (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tapas (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
935 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was a bit over buttered and under seasoned. Service was great and the desserts were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great brunch out! Our toddler loved it, too. The staff was accommodating to him without taking away from any other guest's experience. We were comfortable and well fed! Loved the chorizo hash; the mole on the enchiladas was a little too sweet for us; great Bloody Marys; the granola and yogurt was perfect for our 16 month old. Nice setting - would love to go back when it's warm so we can try the patio.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

went here for brunch with my little sister - ordered the brussels hash - pretty good but nothing wow, steak huevos rancheros - good, and my sister got the mac and cheese that she loved. the tea came in a cool mug and it was incredible. great service/location/prices for what we received.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I paid $23 for 10-12 tortellini. The food tasted good but definitely wouldn’t spend that much for that little again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Amazing services! Delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Very nice atmosphere, great food, and outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

From the hosts to the service to the food to the atmosphere, everything at the Dawson was pretty amazing and we'll definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Ate at The Dawson for a celebratory dinner after finishing the Chicago Marathon. The food was really good; the octopus was my favorite! Our waitress was awesome; she recommended a really good bourbon cocktail (No Man's Fool) that I enjoyed. Overall, I would highly recommend this place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Good food, nice outdoor dining area, leans toward pricey side. We shared 3 small plates and one entree. The desert put us over the top. Limited pricey wine list. Good service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I visited The Dawson for a late Saturday dinner and I really enjoyed this establishment! I would recommend the mussels, Mac and cheese and mashed potatoes. Delicious food, focused menu, chill but romantic ambiance and phenomenal service. I will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fun times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Eat and drink before you go....

I take my husband out for brunch every Sunday and so always on the lookout for new places to add to our Sunday rotation. One of our favorite restaurant groups own Gage, Acanto and Beacon Tavern so when a friend mentioned there was another restaurant to their credit I knew it would be next on the list.
I made a reservation and in the note, (as I always do if its a first timer) asked for a charming table. We arrived and were quickly seated in a corner by the window overlooking the patio---just lovely!
We commented (to each other) why such a pretty place was basically empty at primetime Sunday brunch-
PS:
We arrived around 12:45 and Dawson never had more than a handful of people the entire time (2 hrs.)we were there.
We were greeted by a lovely server (don't know her name) and ordered drinks (a mimosa for my husband and a glass of chardonnay for me)-given menu's and at that point very happy.
The drinks are expensive by all standards but that's Chicago-some of that expense is compensated for (in the other restaurants in this group) by a very generous pour and so we expected the same at Dawson. Not so- I had about an inch and half of wine in my glass of $16 +.
By now, we are ready to order and our charming waitress has left for the day and now we have Alla. I ordered the avocado/burrata dish and my husband made up an american breakfast from the selections on the menu. The food was unremarkable and actually not enough.
We did order another round of drinks but then asked Alla about the pour as it compared to Gage, Acanto's.....8oz pour and she just looked at me and said- yeah, they do that we don't, we pour 5oz.
From that moment on, we became invisible to her. At some point she did bring the check and we we're ready to go.
Chicago has a long list of restaurants to try---you gotta kiss a lot of frogs before you find those places deserving of your return. Dawson is a frog, we'll not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The Dawson is amazing and the service is fantastic!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Loved this place! Beautiful outdoor patio. Impressive whiskey selection. Great food. Friendly staff. Will be back again! Thank you!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Don't let the facade on Grand Ave fool you - a beautiful garden, candlelit inside dining room and excellent food and drinks awaits inside! There's something for everyone - fish, meat, veg in fresh, seasonal preparations. The roasted whole fish is fantastic. Vegan salad loved by non vegans. Always delicious, never disappoints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Loved the chicken fried lobster - definitely a must order. Also recommend sharing the red fish taco plate for the table - as we were sharing several plates overall the tacos were great for splitting among 4 people. We weren't super fans of the meat plate - some of the cuts were pretty fatty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Food and atmosphere were great. Fun drinks and a very nice outdoor patio. Definitely would come back. The lively environment made it a fun gathering for our birthday dinner. Street parking can be difficult on the weekends but at least there's valet for $12.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Had a beautiful dinner date on the patio. Despite it's location, you don't feel like you're in the middle of the city sitting outside and the vibe is fun. We enjoyed our food and service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Went for our first dinner after getting married. Great food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 18, 2017

I went here with two friends/colleagues from out of town. The overall experience was great. We sat on the outdoor patio which was lovely. They have a good cocktail and wine list. We started wish an order of mussels and fries for the table which was a great start. My friend and I were going to share the fish of the day (branzino) but our waiter said it really was more for 1, so we ordered the fish and the mixed grill. Turns out, we totally could have shared the fish! The fish was served whole and grilled with an arugula salad - both the fish and salad were absolutely delicious. The mixed grill was too heavy on different types of sausage (it could have used a mini lamb chop or some other meat other than sausage). The third person in our party had the salmon, which he thoroughly enjoyed. My only source of disappointment was that we definitely could have shared the branzino, and at 42$ for the plate, it would have made much more sense to do so. Otherwise, great service, good food and lovely atmosphere. Would recommend this place!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Burger was ordered medium, came out red and almost uncooked in middle, very bland. Fries were stale and not good. Chorizo breakfast dish was good. Bloody Mary was watery and sweet. Service was slow. Not great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Love this restaurant! Food and service is outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food. Great service. Excellent cocktail and wine menu.
Must get the fried chicken breaded lobster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I have been here a few times before, but this time made me not want to return. It was a nice night, so we decided to sit out on the patio. There was such a strong smell of smoke coming from the fire, that we actually thought there was a building on fire nearby. Made it hard to breathe. That aside, I ordered a diet coke to drink. I cannot stand when the price of soft drinks is not listed on the menu. If you can list cocktail prices, you can tell me what I am going to pay for a diet coke. Turns out it was $3 for an 8oz bottle. For $3 I want as many refills as possible. I was also charged that damn sugar tax. For $3, you can eat the $0.09 in tax that Cook County is charging you. Passing that along to me is an option, not a requirement. And it's offensive when you charge me so much for so little.
I ordered the fried chicken. I asked if I could get two breasts instead of one. I was told yes, that I would get two breasts and two legs and no thighs since I really do not like thighs, What I received for the $23 cost, were the four smallest pieces of fried chicken I have ever seen in my life. I mean they were basically chicken nuggets. The funny thing is that the waitress raved about the chicken being the best thing on the menu. That does not speak well for the rest of the menu then. I also was served two thighs and not two legs, and the waitress just said "oh well, that's what the chef did." This was the most expensive fried chicken I have ever had, the order was wrong and it was not even good. My girlfriend ordered the hanger steak that came out cold, with no steak knife, and was difficult to cut.
This place does have okay drinks, but do yourself a favor and explore some other options in the area if you want to have a good meal. There are a ton nearby with better food for less money. If you just want to sit outside and have a cocktail, then the Dawson could be an option for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wonderful evening with great food and a fantastic waitress! Will definitely go back soon!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was great, service was good, and the cocktails were superb

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great dinner with my niece at The Dawson. Shared the meatballs , bacon wrapped dates and tomato salad which were all delish! Also started with the octopus which was on the small side and not as tasty as the other starters. Creative cocktail list. Gorgeous outdoor space, if the weather permits. I had the halibut which was outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Casual, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The mussels appetizer was soooo good! Worth the $19! Service was excellent we had Samantha taking care of us. We never needed anything she was always there and timed the courses out perfectly! Both the halibut and scallops entrees were delicious, large portions. The sauce on the scallops was very very spicy it was a bit much for me and I like spicy. It was served in a little jug on the side and poured over my entree by the man that delivered the food. I should have stopped him and tasted it before he poured it. Now I know for next time. Won't stop me from returning. Very loud, not the time for quiet intimate conversation if that's what you're looking for. Will definitely return to try other dishes next time we are in Chicago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Nice neighborhood spot in the Riverwest/West Town area, especially when you can access the Beer Garden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We always like the Dawson. My sister and brother in law were in town so I took them. They enjoyed. The cocktails are always great. The owner stopped by and bought us a drink which was nice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I absolutely love this restaurant. The outdoor patio is one of Chicago's best. The waiters are helpful when you need them and non-intrusive when you don't . I've eaten here several times this summer and the food is always great. Love the halibut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Once we got a table it was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great atmosphere, and i love the spaciousness and the bathrooms being located downstairs away from dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The patio was wonderful! Beautiful landscape and lights

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Love this place; but don't love it more than I do so I can always get a table. I'd be delighted to see one more sweet option on brunch menu such as bourbon banana pancakes or the like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We lived the Dawson. The good was fabulous and the atmosphere fantastic. The staff were so accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Loved the patio, loved the food, loved the service. Shared a terrific heirloom tomato salad, lam meatball appetizer, excellent cavatelli with pork ragu, hanger steak with chimichurri and polenta, and a decadent chocolate peanut butter dessert. Great drinks, attentive service. Not cheap but large portions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Service was a 3 (nothing really stood out but certainly not great) food was excellent, a five for sure. Great little night on the patio with a bottle of wine.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our party of three all thought the food and service was amazing! Kind and attentive service. The best mussels I've eaten! Loved the outdoor rustic/industrial decor. Upscale, but very comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.