Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

About The Dawson

The gathering place where River West meets River North, The Dawson features globally-inspired American cuisine and libations, that highlight the season's best offerings and diverse, yet approachable, ingredients and flavors. Known for its passion for creating inventive and award-winning cocktails and house made liquor infusions and syrups, the team at The Dawson specializes in libations with whimsical touches.

Acclaimed items and guest favorites include: Chicken-fried Lobster Tail, Bone-in Ribeye, Dawson Burger, Mac & Cheese, Bloody Mary, and featured Fish Tacos.

A nod to the contiguous Dawson Brothers Fireplace Plant of late 19th century Chicago, The Dawson's interior design draws inspiration from the history of the neighborhood and the industrial innovation of that era and offers an artfully stripped-down aesthetic, highlighting natural and reclaimed materials in unexpected ways throughout the establishment.

730 West Grand Ave
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm (Kitchen 10:00pm)
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday: 4:30pm - Midnight (Kitchen 11:00pm)
FRIDAY: 4:00pm - 1:30am (Kitchen Midnight)
Saturday: 10:30am - 1:30am (Kitchen Midnight)
Sunday: 10:30am - 11:00pm (Kitchen 10:00am)


BRUNCH:
10:30am - 3:00pm Saturday and Sunday

HAPPY HOUR
4:30pm - 6:00pm Monday through Thursday
4:00pm - 6:00pm Friday

Cross Street:
Grand Avenue and Halsted Street at the Grand/Halsted/Milwaukee intersection

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 243-8955

Website:
http://www.the-dawson.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available nightly and all day on Sunday. Limited metered street parking is available.

Public Transit:
CTA Blue Line - Grand Avenue stop
CTA Bus - Grand Avenue/Halsted Street stop
CTA Bus - Milwaukee Avenue / Halsted Street stop
CTA Bus - Halsted Street / Grand Avenue stop

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Michele Lee Kaminski
Private Events Manager
The Dawson
P: 312-372-4001
D: 312-459-9414
mkaminski@the-dawson.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We are passionate about the food, beverage, and hospitality we provide and look forward to collaborating with you, our guest, to make your event memorable!

The Dawson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Groups (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fun (30)
Casual (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Modern Decor (26)
Romantic (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Great for Brunch (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Cozy (21)
Happy Hour (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
People Watching (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Notable Wine List (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Seasonal (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Great Beer (10)
Fireplace (9)
Scenic View (8)
Authentic (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Business Meals (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Tapas (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
812 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Very pretty space. Great menu. We sat inside because the weather wasn't nice enough to enjoy their lovely terrace. The service was a little too oppressive. We were there post-lunch and pre-dinner, ordering several bottles of wine but not a lot of food. The waitstaff were positively hounding us the entire time to order more food, which was uncomfortable to the point that we ended up leaving. I understand a server has to sell to make money, but we were ordering plenty of alcohol so the tab was definitely running up and the place wasn't close to full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

What a surprise! Wasn't expecting everything to be so amazing! I heard good things about the menu and now can totally agree . Great food with a twist.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great service. The burrata and mussels were absolutely delicious. The tuna was ok, not our favorite of the night. Our waitress had a large party, but she tried her best to make sure we weren't forgotten. A for her efforts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Waitress was stoned I think

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lovely outdoor patio. Perfect for summer brunches. The crab dip is an absolute must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day and we as a family have never been to The Dawson.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The hostesses were very accommodating and nice. The atmosphere was really nice for a sunday brunch and they have a great patio. Really liked the setting. The food was, as expected, ok-ish and overpriced. They seem to have really good drinks though, i had the Lady of the Manor and really liked it. They have an extensive menus of great-looking cocktails that i passed on because no one else at my table was drinking and they were expensive. The server did his job, but all of us felt that he wasn't exactly thrilled to be serving us, my mom even suggested that it was because they don't speak much English. Not really complaining, just a vibe all of us got

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother day brunch and it was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

AMAZING DINNER AND BRUNCH. STAFF IS THE BEST! Always a great time when coming here you never disappoint. Everyone from the host, sever, manager, and barbacks are insanely sweet and friendly!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The Dawson never disappoints. I love this place!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went there to see a friend visiting from Florida. It was Sunday Brunch and we sat on the patio. It was fantastic!! Great food and service! Did not feel rushed at all.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Would recommend to anyone!!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I enjoyed the intimate ambiance of the Dawson. Service was well-timed and friendly. The cocktails were delightful!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Saturday brunch, celebrating a birthday and early Mother's Day with group of 5, ages 25 - 88. Two ordered smoked salmon, two ordered the avocado toast, one the kale salad and we all loved our meals. The Warm Brown Butter Sundae is a must have! A happy, lively environment with great service. Hostess, server, busser, manager all very friendly. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Awesome restaurant with great food and whiskey drinks !

A Little noisy inside

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 4, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The service was perfect, our server gave great suggestions as to what to order. The ambience is modern, yet warm. The food was absolutely delicious. We had mussels, ceviche, and pork ragu. And we enjoyed it all very much. Well done. Great experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Enjoyed our meal and atmosphere! Brown butter sundae is worth saving room for!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Fun spot for brunch! Hope to come back at sit on the patio on a nice day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I came here with a friend of mine for a Friday night.

The drinks were good. Ambiance is great...

Food was decent.

Cost is outrageous. We ordered two drinks, and a few apps and shelled out $70.00 each.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The food is always good. The lasts time, my wife and I were there, we both had salmon. It was outstanding!
My Manhattan was just right.
The server seemed just a bit puzzled that we wanted to finish our cocktails before we ordered, though she was polite about it.
The music is always too loud for us, but we are old and old fashioned.
A good spot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Awesome food, service and ambiance! Great outdoor seating area with fireplace and bar.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always wonderful. Excellent food and service. The manager Kevin is always super pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The whole fish was good, but the menu is somewhat limited. I had heard they had an interesting cocktail menu, but again 1 choice for each type of alcohol, and not all that interesting. But, the staff was very attentive and a manager stopped by to check on us, so service is quite good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Beautiful place, good service but definitely overpriced.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food is excellent, however, very overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I have been having our anniversary dinner here since I married my wife, everything about it is awesome from the food to the hospitality thank you we will continue goin as it shares great memories with us

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Loved it! Fabulous outdoor space, creative menu and super friendly staff. Had a lovely Easter brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I went to The Dawson for my birthday brunch and it was lovely. The food was phenomenal and the ambience was perfect!

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great ambiance, patio is perfect, I want to go back in the evening to experience it with the lights on. Overal decor is great and makes for perfect atmosphere. The brunch menu is good too, fries were to die for and are big enough for two to share. Will definitely go back!!!
Great service and the host was very pleasant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Awesome atmosphere, creative, delicious food and the best music (90s hip hop) pumping through. We had a great time and the service was impeccable. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Hostess was kind. Bartender was and artist. Server (Monica) was extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Overall the experience was great and it the wait staff was slammed so our service was slow

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The good was incredible. The only thing disappointing was that the lamb that I wanted was sold out and it was only 730 pm so i had to settle for the pork ... but it was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went for brunch on Saturday. Hostess was terrible- it was busy bust she was rude and condescending. Everything else was amazing! Loved the food and our server was fantastic!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great spot. Three of us shared a main course and several small plates. Service was a bit slow but we weren't in a rush!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

For a place with such great reviews I was extremely letdown.

The waitress was rude- we asked for separate checks and she huffed and puffed like it was such a huge deal. This happens at diners typically, but never a restaurant with such a positive reputation.

We order the duck enchiladas, bealt sandwich, salmon and kale salad- all of which were mediocre. Drink selection was alright- nothing creative or crazy yummy.

I prolly won't come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Chicken fried lobster is super good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Went to the Dawson for my birthday and the upcoming birth of his first child. I had mentioned this when I made the reservation and when we were seated, the server treated us with glasses of Prosecco. We had appetizers, entrees, and dessert and all were very good. I had the whole daily fish which was wild caught Chesapeake Bay striped bass (I asked for specifics before I ordered) and it was the best fish I have had in a long time. It is wood grilled until crispy outside but was moist and tender inside.

The only negative we experienced was that the music was extremely loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Brunch reservation @ 1145 on a Sunday. We were inside but the patio looks great come spring. Hostess was very polite and accommodating. Had a drink at the bar, good Irish coffee and berry whiskey . Great ambiance. Busy but not packed. Noise level was fine for conversation. Recommend the Bacon Flight to share, good for 4 persons. Chorizo Hash was hearty with just enough jalapeño. Service was very good. Would highly recommend to friends and family for lunch/dinner and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food was not great. I had the mac and cheese and the bacon wrapped dates. My gfs had the burgers and salad. No one was really thrilled about their meal. The restaurant looked fantastic and the ambiance was great but I could definitely go somewhere else and get a much better meal for the money spent here. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.