About The Dawson

Awarded a Bib Gourmand in 2014 and 2015, The Dawson is a casual neighborhood hangout features an energetic series of bi-level indoor and outdoor spaces. Each unique area is approachable, yet versatile in offerings, as well as experience. The menu presents a new American cuisine characterized by simple flavors with a farm-driven Midwestern sensibility. The beverage program of house made sodas, cocktails, craft beers and wines creatively complements our menu. A nod to the contiguous Dawson Brothers Fireplace Plant of late 19th century Chicago, The Dawson's interior design draws inspiration from the history of the neighborhood and the industrial innovation of that era and offers an artfully stripped-down aesthetic, highlighting natural and reclaimed materials in unexpected ways throughout the restaurant.
offers an artfully stripped-down aesthetic, highlighting natural and reclaimed materials in unexpected ways throughout the restaurant.

730 West Grand Ave
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
4:30PM - 10PM MONDAY (BAR UNTIL 11PM)
4:30PM - 11PM TUESDAY - THURSDAY (BAR UNTIL 12AM)
4:00PM - 12AM FRIDAY AND SATURDAY (BAR UNTIL 1:30AM)
4:00PM - 10PM SUNDAY (BAR UNTIL 11PM)

BRUNCH HOURS:
10:30AM - 3:00PM SATURDAY AND SUNDAY

HAPPY HOUR AND A HALF:
4:30PM - 6:00PM

Cross Street:
Grand/Milwaukee/Halsted

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 243-8955

Website:
http://www.the-dawson.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking and Valet.

Public Transit:
Grand Blue Line across the street

Additional:
Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Michele Lee Kaminski
Private Events Manager
The Dawson
P: 312-372-4001
D: 312-459-9414
mkaminski@the-dawson.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We are passionate about the food, beverage, and hospitality we provide and look forward to collaborating with you, our guest, to make your event memorable!

The Dawson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (43)
Good for Groups (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Fun (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Modern Decor (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Cozy (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Casual (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Romantic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
People Watching (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Seasonal (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great Beer (6)
Fireplace (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
752 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I like places that are a little pretenti ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 3 days ago

I like places that are a little pretentious, but not condescending. Our waitress made our experience the latter in the worst possible way. But the drinks were great, and the food was good even though the blue cheese in the bacon wrapped dates was a bit overpowering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Valentine's day

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentine's day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good but not great restaurant. I enjoyed ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good but not great restaurant. I enjoyed my food and time at the Dawson and would recommend it to others interested. Not the best place in Chicago, but definitely worth the time to visit. Menu isn't the most intriguing but the food tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The managers came by often and even sat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The managers came by often and even sat with us and comped us dessert, great waitress as well!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Authentic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my boyfriends birthday, our waitr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was my boyfriends birthday, our waitress was so sneaky and helped me surprise him with a candle and everything when he was in the bathroom! Also, she suggested an Oyster special that was fantastic after she overheard us taking about how much we love going to find new oyster bars.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here for dinner and brunch previous ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Been here for dinner and brunch previously and the food was great! However, I was disappointed in their drinks. They were out of ingredients for the chocolate martini. The margarita I ordered with salt- arrived without salt, and had more sugar/syrup sweetness than a high quality nonnonsense traditional Margarita. For a place that boasts about cocktail skills I was a little underwhelmed. Server was very pleasant

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was great, cocktails were unique ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was great, cocktails were unique, ceviche was awesome, pork shank came highly recommended by the server, but I found it to be just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place! Never disappointed! We ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love this place! Never disappointed! We both ordered the steak. His was a little overdone, but still quite tasty. I had the hanger steak and ate the whole thing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the staff- so attentive and so kin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Loved the staff- so attentive and so kind!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What a bright and lovely spot for brunch ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

What a bright and lovely spot for brunch! And I will definitely return in the summer to check out the beautiful patio. I liked everything about this place -- the food, service and ambiance were all just what we were looking for.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place was great I have been there w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This place was great I have been there with my husband a Saturday night and the vibe, music & stafff are excellent. I went yesterday for my birthday brunch with my girls and we had a ball. The food was good we were able to experience restaurant week brunch which was great. We had a great time! I will be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, , Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time and it was Restaur ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was our first time and it was Restaurant Week. It was our opportunity to try the food and Dawson did not fail us. Delicious flavors that tickled the tastebuds! We all fully enjoyed and our waitress was quite attentive. We shall be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lot of fun and the food was gre ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a lot of fun and the food was great. A number of interesting options for a group of 8 that had varying tastes. It was not the quietest place, but that was fine by us as we were probably the ones making the most noise. Interesting, tasty food choices, good service. I would definitely go back when I am in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasant dining experience with f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A very pleasant dining experience with friends. Great and friendly service. Tried the fried lobster for the appetizer and it was delicious. Will visit again

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, but an odd visit. The service ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Good food, but an odd visit. The service seemed...pushy. We got drinks we didn't order - and were charged for them. I think she thought she knew better than we did, but she did not. Probably won't head back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Went for restaurant week brunch. Food wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went for restaurant week brunch. Food was excellent, and portions were big. Can't wait to come back in the summer to experience the great looking outdoor patio.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, , Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything we had (fried lobster w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Loved everything we had (fried lobster was amazing) and had a great time at the bar after dinner. So glad I finally got to try it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I decided to take advantag ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My friend and I decided to take advantage of Restaurant Week to dine at the Dawson. Due to unforeseen circumstances we were going to be 15 minutes late so I called the restaurant to let them know. I spoke to Michael Sepulveda, who was incredibly nice, understanding, and accommodating.

The food was amazing, which was to be expected, but nice that it held up to (and surpassed) our expectations. The service, however, completely blew us out of the water. It's very rare to find an establishment that not only has great food but spectacular service as well. At no point in time did our glasses of water get down to halfway, and our empty plates were removed instantly. The entire staff (that we encountered) was very friendly and personable. Michael had even come by our table (we were seated upstairs) to check on us towards the end of our meal.

We will definitely be going back, much sooner rather than later.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fabulous. Our server brou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was fabulous. Our server brought over a round of champagne for our table because we were celebrating a birthday. I was also impressed that the chef made a delicious vegan meal for me that was not on the menu. We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for date night and group gat ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great place for date night and group gathering. Loved their Chicago Restaurant Week menu and their cocktails: Beautiful Insane and Sin of Passion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went for Restaurant Week and found a gem ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went for Restaurant Week and found a gem. Service was outstanding, very attentive but not at all annoying. Food was fresh, unique and delicious. Planning on returning, especially during the warmer months to par take in the outside patio, looked amazing!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, , Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding service and food!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Outstanding service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great decor, wonderful food and cocktail ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great decor, wonderful food and cocktails. The scene is just right. The wait staff and management very extremely helpful, knowledgeable and went out of their way to make our visit great.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Romantic, Healthy, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food in beautiful surroundings ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent food in beautiful surroundings. I'm looking forward to going back :).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great mixologists! Stylish, fun place. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great mixologists! Stylish, fun place. Good food, great menu!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic everything. The chocolate chee ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Fantastic everything. The chocolate cheesecake was insanely amazing. Tortellini came second.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First impression - very loud, second imp ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 22, 2017

First impression - very loud, second impression loud and very dark. Service was excellent but having a conversation was very tiring after a while as the music was too loud and to be honest awful, not appropriate for a dinner setting. Did not linger.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Waiter was great. Server seemed new. She ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Waiter was great. Server seemed new. She kept reaching over us and even dropped a plate once. Wine was sour. Food was good but overpriced. Nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Very friendly engaging staff. Food was c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very friendly engaging staff. Food was creative and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First winter experience at the Dawson. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

First winter experience at the Dawson. Not as lively as the summer crowd and setting however my fiancée loved the salmon. The drinks were great as well. Overall, I wished there was a more energetic crowd present.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Genuinely couldn't have been any better. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Genuinely couldn't have been any better. We went for a birthday on Sunday and the service was just amazing. We forget our servers name but she was great and so was the manager!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every single dish was outstanding! The f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Every single dish was outstanding! The flavors were unique, the dishes were perfectly seasoned and prepared. We had the chorizo fondue, beet & burrata salad, chicken tiki marsala, friend lobster, king salmon, apple crisp, chocolate bread pudding & coffee. I know, it's a lot of food. But we wanted to try everything! We will be back for sure!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, good food!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great service, good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to The Dawson for Sunday brunch ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went to The Dawson for Sunday brunch and it was incredible. The decor is trendy with great rustic industrial vibes. We ordered the chorizo hash and avocado toast and were very impressed. The mimosas could have been stronger but all and all, we are looking forward to coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Overall food was okay but not great. Des ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall food was okay but not great. Desserts were not that good and not worth the calories. Drinks were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food and the waitstaff were both exc ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food and the waitstaff were both excellent. We even had a two year old with us and she was treated with care and respect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the future, people who are making res ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

In the future, people who are making reservations for New Years Eve should be informed that there will be a different menu that night that differs from the usual menu available. We were unfortunately caught off guard when we were seated with the change in menu which contained a limited amount of options to order. If we would have known this, we would not have chosen to go here for NYE.

Tags: Modern Decor
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome Dawson

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome Dawson

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was exceptional! The mussels ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The service was exceptional! The mussels were delicious as were the other appetizers we tried-entrees also incredible - great to have more than one vegan option to keep everyone happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the Dawson

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I love the Dawson

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.