Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About The Compound Restaurant

Mark Kiffin, celebrated chef, owner, and author of the Compound Restaurant, has won the James Beard Foundation award as one of America's Best Chefs. The Compound is Santa Fe's premier restaurant with Chef Kiffin's acclaimed seasonal Contemporary American cuisine derived from Santa Fe's rich heritage of regional and Mediterranean influences. The New York Times, Gourmet magazine, The Wall Street Journal and Wine Spectator have all selected the Compound as Santa Fe's favorite. Equally impressive is the attentive, highly knowledgeable and friendly staff.
Chef Kiffin's menus focus on the exclusive changes in seasons such as hearty braised dishes in the fall and winter using apples, pears and cider from local harvests, osso bucco and porcini risotto while in spring and summer feature fresh local vegetables and naturally raised organic lamb and delectable strawberries.

653 Canyon Rd
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm - 9:00pm (Summer Hours: 5:30 - 10:30)

Cross Street:
Paseo de Peralta

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-4353

Website:
http://www.compoundrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample parking behind the restaurant and seasonal valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Mark Kiffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The picturesque gardens and elegant dining rooms of this historic place have been the backdrop to many special moments for our guests. Every event is brought to life through detailed planning for events with 10 to 250 guests.

The Compound Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (68)
Fit for Foodies (65)
Creative Cuisine (60)
See All
Good for a Date (53)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Great for Lunch (46)
Notable Wine List (46)
Romantic (46)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Local Ingredients (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Authentic (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Business Meals (21)
Seasonal (20)
Cozy (19)
Healthy (17)
Fun (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Casual (11)
Hot Spot (11)
People Watching (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Organic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1776 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Best dining experience in Santa Fe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Hopefully it was just a bad night for the Conpound. Expensive bottle of Chardonnay served way too cold. Bread delivered to the table long after the dipping sauce had been removed. Meal delivered very late, so much so that the onion rings the restaurant is noted for were cold. Yet the entries were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

A very cozy restaurant, excellent service! The tomato soup, roasted vegetables, chanterelles and scallop appetizers were delicious and well prepared. The duck breast was good, a little overdone and skin not crispy, the halibut good - not memorable, the salmon was good but the dressing a bit dry, the dish might benefit from more sauce. The service is excellent! We were given an opportunity to sample several wines before choosing. We would come back to this Santa Fe location

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

We loved the Compound and the lunch menu they offered. The wine selection was great! The best part was that we did not have to “dress” up. The location being so close to Canyon Road was definitely a plus.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Disappointing, over priced for over salted lamp, very small portion for duck, left hungry, pork chop was the best of 4 meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Service very poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Birthday for a girlfriend...food was delivered a little slower than usual but very delicious 🤓🤓🤓🤓

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We tried The Compound for lunch because we had heard good things about the restaurant. It did not disappoint. The restaurant is located in what used to be a home and is cozy but very comfortable. The service was excellent and the food and cocktails were also delicious. Off street parking was available. We plan to go again and experience dinner at The Compound.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The food and service were both excellent, overcoming some past history of occassional spotty service. However, we gave the waiter a $50 Open Table gift card to use against the bill when we ordered, which both of us promptly forgot and was not applied to my bill. I have called the restaurant twice, left a voice mail with one manager, and emailed the assistant manager Charles once about this to make arrangements to preserve the gift card for another time. It has now been several days but no one has bothered to return either my phone call or respond to my email. So - where is the gift card I gave the waiter? Did someone else use it?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Food always excellent. Service great. Love going there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I have heard such great things about The Compound. I have heard the food is excellent, which it was, but we had quite a few problems with the service as soon as we arrived. We ordered a red and white bottle of wine. The waiter brought the cooler to our table. Then brought the bottle of white. He put that into the cooler and left. After about 5+ minutes, one of the members looked up and said is anyone going to pour our wine? Waiter showed up and she said "is anyone going to pour our wine?" He looked around and left. He came back with the bottle of red and started opening the bottle. Her date looked at him and said, "we'd like you to pour the white wine first."
Oh yay, the white wine was still in the cooler..... The service went on from there the entire evening. Don't know when i'll be going back, which is too bad; the food was excellent!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Perhaps the best meal I've had in SF. Pricey. Fabulous service. Gorgeous place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The Compound has put on a fine dining experience for me over my last four visits. The professionalism exhibited by the staff is exceptional. My wife and guests had a great time. Thank you Compound.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 27, 2017

The ambiance, the service, the food was, as always, excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Food was excellent in quality, always imaginative (some items more successful than others, but that's individual taste), and service great, as always. New dessert--white chocolate ice cream with dried fruits and mulled cider sauce--was fabulous!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 27, 2017

I just got into town and needed a bite, luckily I'd made a reservation and Chef Mark Kiffe-in's The Compound restaurant up on Canyon Road. I met a friend and we decided on starters/appetizers and wine here and elsewhere this evening. I had the sweet breads and foie gras with cepes, cayenne and Spanish sherry and paired it with a Pinot Noir, absolutely delicious and temporarily satisfied my foie gras cravings. My friend had the tuna tartar with walnut toast, preserved lemon and black cavier paired with a Cabernet Sauvignon, again fresh and delicious. The Compound is simply outstanding in every aspect, service, ambience, flavors and freshness of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Our evening was the highlight of our stay on Santa Fe. The service was impeccable, the food was sublime. This is truly one of the best restaurants I have dined at in the world. Congratulations to the Chef and his wonderful staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

A wonderful restaurant and dining experience. Warm reception, great food, so professional and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The Compound was a very nice experience. It was one of my favorite restaurants during our six night stay in Santa Fe. The food was delicious, the service was attentive, and the ambience was a little up scale.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on September 23, 2017

One of the best restaurants we've had the privilege of enjoying a meal in the Santa Fe area. Their wait staff is unsurpassed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

We Texans always love coming back to The Compound. The food was impeccable and service was perfect, as always.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Food was great, service extremly slow. We have been there many times and have never been disappointed in the food. We had to wait about 20 minutes for our waiter to come to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We had lunch outside in the garden and it was perfection for two! Delicious wagy burger and the best onion rings ever. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Heard great things about The Compound but, the place looked worn down and for an older, dull crowd. Ladies room, clean--- but in desperate need of repair; just even painting the bathroom's entrance door would improve it.i Entire place needs aesthetic renovation. However, food was excellent and service was superb; dull atmosphere didn't sustain cost of meal; very overpriced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Lamb entree, at $46 was very disappointing. Tasted more like a Hormel pork tenderloin... just salty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Very crowed for lunch today but we enjoyed it. Food is always excellent and love the decor. Just too bad it was so noisy. But we'll always go back to one of our favorite places in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We had a nice quiet table for our 49th wedding anniversary dinner. The food was outstanding. Service was spot on. We will be back and it doesn't need to be a special occasion!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Best food we've eaten in Santa Fe by far. We travel to Santa Fe every year from Denver for a week and how we have missed eating at The Compound is beyond me. But now that we've found it it won't happen again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

The mutual opinion of the four of us was:
delicious food, excellent service, comfortable and very nice ambiance.
Thank you for a great expirience. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Have been going to the bar for years but just made my last visit. Not much on the menu really appealed to me so I ordered the Pastrami sandwich and it was dreadful.
Between the young couple making out and the old people talking too loud, it was a real waste of an evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Lunch at The Compound in the garden is one of the joys of summer in Santa Fe. Wonderful food, service and elegant yet casual atmosphere. Thanks!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Consistently excellent. We have been going to this restaurant for over 40 years. It never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Our service was the best, the weather perfect and food was stellar! Great decor too, way to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Lunch at the Compound is one of the best things about summer in Santa Fe. I love the tables out in the garden. The food and service are tops! Thanks!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The Compound may be worth a visit for the chicken schnitzel and service, as both were very good. But so many other aspects of our meal were a disappointment, it's hard to know if it was a bad Sunday night in the kitchen or if The Compound is undeserving of its reputation as one of Santa Fe's best restaurants. The wild mushroom special in beurre blanc sauce tasted nothing like mushrooms. Had I been blindfolded, I wouldn't have been able to identify the dish as mushrooms based on texture or taste. The Alaskan halibut was very overcooked and an unacceptable waste of good fish. For the prices charged, the food should be better at The Compound.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Sweet corn soup and halibut are fabulous. Pork chop was excellent also. Ambience in dining room very nice. Best restaurant in Santa Fe for lunch or dinner. Definitely would go back anytime we are in Santa Fe Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2017

In town for anniversary, thought we'd return to the spot of one of our first dates. Food was very good (asparagus salad, goat cheese soufflé, halibut, and lamb)--would recommend to anyone. However, cocktails were a big disappointment on flavor, preparation, and style, and the service was extremely slow and clumsy. The host and busser were very professional and thoughtful, and are excluded from that assessment. I'm certainly not one to accuse people of anything, but the person who seemed to be the manager (in a suit, brought champagne) seemed to have a very bad cold (or something?) and was not shy about wiping his nose in front of tables. Not cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing food and service. Such a great menu with use of fresh vegetables in season. Amazing crab corn bisque!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food excellent, this is our favorite restaurant in Santa Fe (though we certainly haven't tried them all). Pleasant ambience, quiet. Wait staff was EXTREMELY inattentive for the first 45 minutes (and it wasn't that crowded), but this has not been our usual experience, and maybe someone was just having a bad day.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was wonderful!! Best food yet in Santa Fe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.