Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About The Compound Restaurant

Mark Kiffin, celebrated chef, owner, and author of the Compound Restaurant, has won the James Beard Foundation award as one of America's Best Chefs. The Compound is Santa Fe's premier restaurant with Chef Kiffin's acclaimed seasonal Contemporary American cuisine derived from Santa Fe's rich heritage of regional and Mediterranean influences. The New York Times, Gourmet magazine, The Wall Street Journal and Wine Spectator have all selected the Compound as Santa Fe's favorite. Equally impressive is the attentive, highly knowledgeable and friendly staff.
Chef Kiffin's menus focus on the exclusive changes in seasons such as hearty braised dishes in the fall and winter using apples, pears and cider from local harvests, osso bucco and porcini risotto while in spring and summer feature fresh local vegetables and naturally raised organic lamb and delectable strawberries.

653 Canyon Rd
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm - 9:00pm (Summer Hours: 5:30 - 10:30)

Cross Street:
Paseo de Peralta

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-4353

Website:
http://www.compoundrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample parking behind the restaurant and seasonal valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Mark Kiffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The picturesque gardens and elegant dining rooms of this historic place have been the backdrop to many special moments for our guests. Every event is brought to life through detailed planning for events with 10 to 250 guests.

The Compound Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Romantic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Cozy (17)
Historic (16)
Local Ingredients (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Business Meals (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Casual (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Scenic View (3)
Organic (3)
Vegan (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Fireplace (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding servcie and excellent food as always. The Compound never fails to deliver a great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a wonderful dining experience. The food was fabulous as well as the service. It was a particularly delicious spring menu. The spring pea soup was devine.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

They seated us next to a patio door. Then, they allowed a party to use the patio even though it was cold out and they left the doors oped. We were freezing. Upon our insistence, they moved us to another table. But, it was still cold and was placed in the pathway of the staff coming and going to the kitchen.

The broccolini dish was so spicy that it was inedible.

The host and waiter did apologize. They should have comped the meal. We were SO glad to get out of there. This is a very fine restaurant and we had a very bad experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The Compound is as good as it always was which is outstanding!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Delicious dinner wit very good service. The tuna tartare & the octopus appetizers were outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The attitude seems to have gotten very prissy. Which is surprising.
The food was good but one guest who ordered the duck and found it hard to chew
had it come back just re cooked instead of a new duck as a replacement.
not the way to do it.
The compound is a beautiful place that i have gone to for decades.
Sorry to see it now becoming making its self above its audience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had an enjoyable time with my wife and my mother on Mother's day.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. Outstanding menu with a good bar selection.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The Compound is my favorite special occasion restaurant. At lunch time, don't miss the chicken schnitzel or the amazing hamburger plate. This time I tried the stacked salad, which I'll skip next time .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Wonderful food. I was with my daughter and we seemed to be lower priority service than other tables nearby.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Upscale dining with excellent service and food. We had the halibut and the duck and both were excellent choices. Our two servers were helpful, attentive, and professional at all times.

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I eat out multiple times a week due to job and travel. Best dining experience all year. Great food for a foodie while still approachable and not losing what the ingredients are supposed to taste like.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Honeymoon romantic dinner was amazing. Ask for a cozy booth in the back room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Really enjoyed it, food was great, good service, ample parking, all good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Compound caters to the rich. The men at the table next to us were real estate developers from Texas; they got 2 waiters and lots of attention. We were two women. We had one waiter who was often distracted by the "important" folks at the next table. This classist attitude means that it's not a "democratic" place where anyone can expect the best service, and it is obvious to anyone dining who is important and who isn't. Still, the food was great and the service was at least average. I imagine that the outdoor experience is more open.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We really enjoyed " The Compaund Restaurant"
I requested the patio and they honored my request.
My husband wears a cochlear implant and the patio was the perfect place to be since it was very pleasant and quiet
The service was excellent and also the food.
I had a butter lettuce and tomato salad.
It was very nice and it had the perfect amount of dressing.
I split the main course the " Chicken Schnitzel" with a butter and caper sauce. Very delightful and abundant.
I left some of it even after splitting the portion.
We liked it so much we are going back for dinner tonight.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Visiting Santa Fe and this was highly recommended by hotel staff. Very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Excellent meal and service. The halibut was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It was good. It was nice. It was pleasant. Just not that "wow" factor we had hoped it would be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Wait staff efficient and friendly. A very comfortable atmosphere. Food was delicious and plated well. A nice selection of wines to complement the meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The food & presentation were good, however the food was over salted. The next time we will ask for them not to add salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything was excellent: food and service. It's a great restaurant for those who appreciate fine dining. One of the very few places in Santa Fe where most people dress for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a fabulous Easter brunch! The food was amazing as was the service. The patio dining is very enjoyable, not over crowded like some Santa Fe restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

You are made to feel like an insider.Preparationscare just original enough with excellent never frozen fish.A quiet elegance dominates.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was delicious. The deserts were out of this world and the setting was beautiful. We dined outside and could not have picked a better location for Easter Brunch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Dined at the bar for our anniversary (#26). The bar is propbably the bestsingle spot to dine at in Santa Fe. No absence of interesting people to talk to. Food was really, really good. My wife had the caesar salad and the scallops, I had a greek salad and burger. For us its great food. The entire dinner menu was also available. Everything was top notch, my burger was med rare and had a nice crunch, before melting into a rich juicy interior. Probably my only complaint would be the fries had too much salt (should've gotten the onion rings). In the past I've felt deserts were problematic at the Compound. This evening we split their version of strwberry shortcake. Ig was outstanding. Light, multiple textures, beautifully presented. Made me a believer in their pastry chef.
We had a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Almost everything was Excellent!!! Just one problem. The ladies' bathroom could be updated. A broken toilet seat was unsafe.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 10, 2017

A James Beard award winning chef has created a wonderful lunch menu full of unique soups, salads, sandwiches and entrees.
I will be back for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Business/friend dinner, 4 adults, 1 teenager. The stars reflect an overall excellent meal with two glitches amongst the dinners. One person was non-plussed by the octopus, didn't like the preperation or the presentation. I was put off by dessert. First, I asked the waiter if the carrot cake, described as a buttercream layered with carrot cake was more carrot cake or buttercream. He didn't seem to understand the wuestion and finally, exasperated said its carrot cake. Not really, its buttercream with a little carrot cake. There are layers, cc/butter cream/cc/bc/cc/bc. The cake component was tiny and lacking in flavor and moisture. (The desert is a 3" dia round, which was very cold). An accompaying scoop of ice cream was great. Upon clearing the waiter asked me about the desert I said it was all right, he looked at my plate and said something to the effect that "it couldn't have been too bad as I ate everything." Little swarms.

That said my wife and I love the Compound and will return there later this week for our anniversary (dinner at the bar). Dinner at the bar is one of Santa Fe's dining delights.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Elegant and sophisticated with inspired salads and seafood that isn't frozen.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I always wanted to go to The Compound for a special occasion on many previous trips to Santa Fe. For a special birthday, the service and presentation were superb. The tuna tartare was first-rate and the spring snap and English peas with house-made ricotta was delicious. My guests had salmon, guinea hen, and pork and everyone enjoyed their meal. I thought the mushroom mac 'n cheese was okay but wouldn't order it again. The service is spot-on , attentive in the right way, and cheerful. Would go back and try other dishes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 2, 2017

An upscale fine dining experience. The entrees - we had pork and salmon - were delicious, and service was very good. The restaurant is tucked away from the main road (hence the name) - we sat upstairs, as there was a large wedding party downstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Outstanding...world class restaurant. Lucky to have such a great Chef and kitchen in Santa Fe. Front of house staff was really friendly and upbeat. Thank you for such a lovely night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great as usual. One of the best restaurants in Santa Fe.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great meal with friends! I was looking forward to ordering the Lobster Carbonara, but it was no longer on the menu. Our waiter checked with the chef and prepared it for 2 of us. The chef also came to our table and thanked us for coming and allowing him to prepare a special dish. We were also seated in John Wayne's favorite table! We closed the place down!
Incredible service, food and wine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food was delicious and service was exceptional! Next time we're in town we'll be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We had a lovely 25th anniversary lunch at the Compound. The food was exceptional, highly recommend the crabcake and my husband loved the chicken schnitzel. The butter lettuce and tomato salad was quite fresh and the vinaigrette was the perfect dressing. Service was a bit sluggish but it was busier then anticipated. Would highly recommend the Compound for anyone looking for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Always up to outstanding standards. Shaun, our server, did and outstanding job! He should be promoted if he wants it.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Modern Decor, Vegan, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Everything was excellent. Fine dining for those who appreciate an upscale atmosphere with a creative menu. Well dressed diners and aqn elegant experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.