About The Compound Restaurant

653 Canyon Rd
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Mark Kiffin, celebrated chef, owner, and author of the Compound Restaurant, has won the James Beard Foundation award as one of America's Best Chefs. The Compound is Santa Fe's premier restaurant with Chef Kiffin's acclaimed seasonal Contemporary American cuisine derived from Santa Fe's rich heritage of regional and Mediterranean influences. The New York Times, Gourmet magazine, The Wall Street Journal and Wine Spectator have all selected the Compound as Santa Fe's favorite. Equally impressive is the attentive, highly knowledgeable and friendly staff.
Chef Kiffin's menus focus on the exclusive changes in seasons such as hearty braised dishes in the fall and winter using apples, pears and cider from local harvests, osso bucco and porcini risotto while in spring and summer feature fresh local vegetables and naturally raised organic lamb and delectable strawberries.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm - 9:00pm (Summer Hours: 5:30 - 10:30)

Cross Street:
Paseo de Peralta

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-4353

Website:
http://www.compoundrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample parking behind the restaurant and seasonal valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Mark Kiffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The picturesque gardens and elegant dining rooms of this historic place have been the backdrop to many special moments for our guests. Every event is brought to life through detailed planning for events with 10 to 250 guests.

The Compound Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Romantic (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Cozy (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Historic (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Authentic (12)
Business Meals (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fireplace (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Organic (3)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good. However for $22.00 I expected ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

Very good. However for $22.00 I expected a little more crab and lobster in the salad. Just a few small chunks in the salad and a small claw on top.

Not very good on the Gluten Free. No bun for the burger and no bread.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was excellent. My husband had t ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent. My husband had the inhouse made pastrami sandwich with onion rings and slaw and I had the beef short ribs with mashed potatoes and green beans. We then shared the torn spice cake dessert with cinnamon ice cream (also inhouse made I believe). The service was also very good, attentive but unobtrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lunch for Valentine's day. After my firs ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Lunch for Valentine's day. After my first bite of chicken schnitzel, I realized this was going to be a cravable item.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have an excellent meal at the C ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

I always have an excellent meal at the Compound regardless of the occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time here, and make n ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our first time here, and make no mistake, the experience was solid enough: the wait staff was wonderful: soon after being seated, the restaurant experienced a rush, they never made the increase in diners our problem. For that I thank them profusely.

The largest miss for me was the cost of our meal--the meal and the cost were not commensurate, which was a large detractor from my overall experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Always a good choice for lunch. Have the ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a good choice for lunch. Have the pastrami sandwich. It is great with the homemade chips.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was a bit slow, took a while for ...

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was a bit slow, took a while for drink order and then for things to happen. Service nor attention not seem appropriate for this type of restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Best of the WEST! Don't miss this place ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Best of the WEST! Don't miss this place when you are in Santa Fe...The pear leek soup is the best thing you will consume in you life!

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Wonderful. Outstanding service. T ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always Wonderful. Outstanding service. The burgers are the best anywhere. We've traveled the world and can't find a better burger. Not what most folks go there for, or even think of when they got to the Compound, but it's hidden on their bar menu. Not cheap, but it's made with wagyu beef, so the value and quality is there. The onion strings are to die for. Again, not what folks go there for, but you must try them... and I don't normally eat burgers or fried foods... but this is my exception.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was wonderful and the food wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our server was wonderful and the food was great. I was with good friends. The day was beautiful, so it was an overall lovely luncheon experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual a great meal, and an wonderful ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 3, 2017

As usual a great meal, and an wonderful Manhattan. every thing is delicious but it is hard to not order the schnitzel.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful lunch. Really good food, nice ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Wonderful lunch. Really good food, nice wine list, very attentive staff.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a favorite in Santa Fe and never ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Always a favorite in Santa Fe and never disappointed! Delicious food and incredible service!

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing. This was our second trip ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Disappointing. This was our second trip to the Compound and the two experiences could not have been more different. On this trip, we arrived for our noon lunch reservation and there at that time was only one other couple in the restaurant. The host started to seat us right next to the other couple in close proximity, so I asked if we could be seated a bit further away for privacy. Despite every other table being empty, they refused. Then we ordered an appetizer to share and two entrees. In about 15 minutes the entrees arrived, and the appetizer was totally forgotten. They offered to take our food back and bring the appetizer, but knowing that our dishes would most likely sit under a heat lamp while we ate our salad, i asked that they just skip it. It was my husband's birthday which I had made the restaurant aware of and they didn't even acknowledge it. On top of all this, the food was pretty greasy and salty. Won't be heading back there any time soon. There are lots of other great restaurants in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The Compound is a staple in Santa Fe. It ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The Compound is a staple in Santa Fe. It's certainly pleasant, but it's hardly extraordinary; Luminaria or Inn of the Anasazi and certainly Restaurant Martin, for instance, are just as good and maybe better, especially if you consider value for the price ($47 for lobster pasta with not much lobster -- or pasta, for that matter!). We found the Compound rather stuffy and pretentious; our lead waiter was indifferent toward our table, leaving other staff to tend to us. I guess the Compound is worthwhile once for the experience (this was our second visit), but the aforementioned restaurants are better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

The chicken schnitzel with lemon caper b ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The chicken schnitzel with lemon caper butter is a standout. The house made pastrami is wonderfully smoky. It was a great lunch and we look forward to trying out the dinner menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food in this restaurant is always go ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food in this restaurant is always good! The wait staff is as good as any restaurant in the country! Hats off to them. And hats off to the chef.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overpriced for quality and employees sho ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Overpriced for quality and employees should be trained regarding courtesy to customers

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Delicious and excellently served, we had ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Delicious and excellently served, we had a wonderful experience where our conversation and the magic at the table was given space and respect. There was no sense of rushing, we were allowed to enjoy our fabulous food, wine and company for as long as we liked. A true pleasure.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was less than lukewarm and borderl ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Staff was less than lukewarm and borderlined on rude. Food was unremarkable. I have waited several years to visit this restaurant. A total disappointment. Cynthia

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The lobster, lamb and filet were all ver ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The lobster, lamb and filet were all very good. Our waiter was attentive without rushing us. Always come here when in Santa Fe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was great! Our waiter Will was v ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was great! Our waiter Will was very knowledgeable and helpful. The food is very good

I just think the restaurant could use an update

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

I've heard about The Compound for years ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I've heard about The Compound for years and finally had a chance to eat at this legendary place. Like the simple elegance of the ambiance; the authentic, direct style of food -- a high piled nice salad, a well prepared piece of fish, a lovely cup of tea served properly, with a pot and hot water. Good bread, nice entree, good service. I look forward to visiting The Compound again.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although it was the most expensive item ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Although it was the most expensive item on the menu, the lobster was very poorly prepared and probably not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Good food with some flair added to more ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food with some flair added to more traditional dishes, attractive decor and arrangement of rooms. But, it got noisy and ended up being somewhat expensive compared to other equivalent quality restaurants in the region.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual lunch time at the Compound is g ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 26, 2016

As usual lunch time at the Compound is great, even when your the first ones. This is really a must do in Santa Fe and the wagyu burger is great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As we sat down, the hostess said that ou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

As we sat down, the hostess said that our table has another booking that evening but enjoy - strike 1. Our waiter failed to inform us that that were specials, we had to ask - strike 2. My appetizer was served with an ingredient i specifically asked to not be included. The waiter served it to me anyways. I had to return it and wait for another one - strike 3. Overall the service and food was mediocre at best. We had high expectations and were disappointed. Last time dining at The Compound

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Culinary art. The beef tenderloin was t ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Culinary art. The beef tenderloin was the best cut of beef ever, and the waiter said it was grass feed, which hardly seems possible. The hollandaise sauce and potatoes and peppers were exceptionally prepared. The gingerbread and chocolate loaf were the best desserts we've had. This makes the 3rd time in a row that your restaurant has performed exceptionally well and improved each time. Where's top for you? Can hardly wait for our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent! Sommeli ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food and service were excellent! Sommelier Brook was fantastic, very well informed & responsive, and willing to discuss wine pairing options at length. He understood us well and was able to offer great options to complement our dinner. The entire staff made us feel welcome and took really good care of us, kept our glasses full and very attentive to our needs. The overall experience was exceptional and enjoyable. Coat check was very nice - great fine dinning experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a fantastic dining experience! T ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always a fantastic dining experience! The beef tenderloin the best we've eaten. Freddy took the best care of us ... a real special Christmas treat! Many thanks and Happy Birthday Chef Kiffin! 🎄

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was some of the best in NM. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was some of the best in NM. The location is great and they were wonderfully accomodating with my grandparents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From time we walked in to the time we le ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

From time we walked in to the time we left it was a great experience.

Food was fabulous and cooked perfectly.

Everyone who worked there could not of been more helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent food, good service, lov ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always excellent food, good service, lovely location, parking. What ele can one hope for in Santa Fe?

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We've dined with the Compound since 1960 ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We've dined with the Compound since 1960's. Always a treat. Never fails.

Tags: Historic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend from out of town treated me to ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 13, 2016

A friend from out of town treated me to dinner at the Compound on Monday, and what a treat it was. The food was fantastic--everything from the wild mushroom polenta to the beef tenderloin was thoughtfully prepared and beautifully presented. And the wait staff was fun and informative. I love the quiet, understated elegance of the restaurant, and will definitely return. The Compound has certainly earned its reputation as one of Santa Fe's best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was horrible. Noise level so lo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was horrible. Noise level so loud you could not hear conversations at your table and food was average at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

My only complaint was the seat cushion o ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My only complaint was the seat cushion on the banco where I was sat was so crushed down on the front edge of the cushion that it made it difficult to sit there and not slip forward. I did mention this to the hostess as we were leaving, Cord Martin

Tags: , Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality food and presentation. Aging amb ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Quality food and presentation. Aging ambiance. Service fair.

Dinner prices lofty even for Canyon Road Sant Fe.

$100 per person with moderately priced wine and dessert.

I often pay less than that in San Francisco , New York, Paris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful, Santa Fe style location - a m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Beautiful, Santa Fe style location - a mix of classic and contemporary; this elegant, well appointed establishment is one of the best in the city. Our food was excellent and the staff was very friendly and attentive. Don't miss!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Our seating was not. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was great. Our seating was not. Was celebrating a special occasion and our seating was awkward, between a busy aisle with a table that faced toward the aisle, not towards your company. I wish we would have changed tables. The service was Ok, waiter forgot about something I asked for and had to ask another server several

Times. Would recommend to try at least once. Was expecting a better experience for the price I paid.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.