Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 2.52mi
  4. Distance: 2.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 2.52mi
  4. Distance: 2.59mi

About The Commons

Located in the heart of the Woodinville Wine District, The Commons is a neighborhood gathering place serving a wide range of seasonal comfort food and drinks in an inviting and informal setting.

14481 Woodinville-Redmond Road NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday, 8am to 9pm
Friday, 8am to 10pm
Saturday, 8am to 10pm
Sunday 8am to 9pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3pm to 6pm

Cross Street:
NE 145th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 892-7012

Website:
http://www.thecommonscafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders may be picked up at any of our restaurant locations and delivery is available throughout the Puget Sound. We recommend placing all orders with a 48 hours’ notice to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in front of the restaurant in the Hollywood Vineyards shopping plaza lot.

Additional parking is available one block south, and turn west at the roundabout.

Executive Chef:
Rocky Windsor

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Commons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (37)
Great for Brunch (35)
Comfort Food (33)
See All
Great for Lunch (31)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Fun (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Local Ingredients (17)
Kid-friendly (17)
Cozy (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Family Style (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Modern Decor (10)
People Watching (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (7)
Seasonal (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Romantic (2)
Vegan (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 17 hours ago

Beef stroganoff and pork chops were flavorless, salmon was dry, salad was soggy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

High ceilings make for rather loud atmosphere. I was excited to try their version of avocado toast as it's on multigrain bread with stoneground mustard, arugula and a fried egg. Bread was cut about an inch thick & wasn't crisp toasted so I felt like I would have enjoyed my regular homemade version more. Blood orange mimosa saved me from complete meal disappointment.
My friend had the always plentiful & delicious biscuits & mushroom gravy and enjoyed it immensely. The coffee not so much....bitter but palatable with quite a bit of cream.
Service friendly but somewhat inattentive as it seems there weren't enough staff to attend to the full restaurant. Only offered refill of coffee once within the 45 minute meal.
Location convenience & overall good food make The Commons continue to be a regular breakfast spot for us despite the limited reservations, long wait if no reservation is made & inconsistent service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Brunch date with friends for my birthday, great food, excellent service- we were not rushed at all. Fun place, I'll definitely be back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great service, delicious salad, yummy wine! Enjoy!

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Went for Mother's day as a last minute dinner reservation. It was our first time there. Casual setting which was what we wanted. Service was REALLY great and I'm disappointed I don't remember our servers name but he was fantastic. Our food was amazing. The crispy pork tacos were unreal so good. Cocktails were great. We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was the first time I have been disappointed in multiple things at The Commons. The small plate of the Brussels sprouts with cream and bacon sounded delicious, however what showed up were practically raw in a watery sauce. I think my husband and I saw 2 small pieces of bacon. I prefered the older version which was more crispy. I expected more for $13. My husband ordered the Chicken Pot Pie and I ordered the Beef Stroganoff. Halfway through the meal we switched entrees because I just did not care for the tasteless Stroganoff. The Pot Pie had an amazing crust, but the veggies inside were undercooked (even for me and I prefer my cooked veggies on the firmer side) and it lacked flavor.
This really pains me because I do love the Commons for breakfast, lunch, and happy hour. I'm not sure what happened to the dinner menu. I've had great dishes there before.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I was interested in trying the Green Curry Lentil Hash - it seemed interesting. What I got was a lukewarm, unappetizing pile of mush that made me sick to my stomach and ruined what was supposed to be a celebratory evening. Looking around, it looked like everyone ordered the burger, so maybe that's the only reason to visit this place? Also, service was slow and inattentive. Our water glasses were often left empty. It's likely we won't come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Staff were excellent and food was great, highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very loud dining room. Hard to hear conversation. Service was excellent! Never have sent a bottle back before, but the one we ordered was awful and they took it back and didn't even charge us the corking fee. Super accommodating staff and made great recommendations. Attentive and the food was amazing. Not the best place for catching up or getting to know someone due to the noise level - but everything else was amazing!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Even though my pot pie was flavorless the service was fantastic. I will definitely go back just to try something else all because they took care of me.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Scenic View, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Everything was pretty good although my salmon was a little dry and the chicken pot pie my friend ordered was also lacking gravy and juicyness! The restaurant is cute and all in all good. I'll try it again for a second chance. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Good food, great service - great place for family dinner.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is my 3rd visit to the Commons. It was okay. The food is hit and miss and the service is okay.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We have been to the Commons a few times now and never been disappointed. They have good, creative food and friendly service. They are quick but don't rush you out the door. Kind of the best of both worlds, in my opinion. The service is outstanding every time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Not too many vegetarian options (outside of salads), but I still really enjoyed this place for its atmosphere, delicious lemonade, and quick service for a workday lunch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great breakfast!! Cute inside. Fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Too noisy that we have to yell across the table to talk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Yummmmm!!! May I recommend the Croque Monsieur??? It's heavy but very delicious! The food and service were awesome! This place is always packed so reservations are highly recommended! I have driven by many times and people are always waiting to get a table. It's in the middle of wine country so naturally it's busy. So worth it!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Maybe just because it was restaurant week. They were under staffed, food took forever to come out, portions were small. I came home still hungry and I'm a light eater. The bread they served on the side was burnt, my friend's salmon was raw in the middle, and the overall quality and flavor of the food was marginal. Plus only one of the 3 entrees offered on the restaurant week menu came with meat. The other 2 left meat as an option at an additional expense. To me that violates the spirit of the $32 restaurant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food is great! Service is great! I've been there for brunch twice--once for a birthday meal--and the food is terrific. The waitstaff is wonderful, attentive, calm, friendly. Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Comfort food is always a win for us! And the coral menu is also enticing! It's definitely on the noisy side, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had a really great evening! I had been here before but my family had not. We have two children (13 & 7) and they were able to find something they both enjoyed and everything was very tasty. Only minor complaint was the Brussel sprouts that I have dreamed about in the past weren't really as good. They weren't roasted as long as they had been in the past and the glaze was not as prominent as I have experienced in the past. Again this was minor. Always a great experience and I hope to get there for breakfast sometime.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food! My date and I really enjoyed everything we had. We went for Restaurant Week and it was a perfect chance to go out for a lunch date and try other food from this restaurant

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Love the food! Service was great😊Make sure to make a reservation so you can be seated right away. Going back for sure!

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our experience was awesome. We were a group of 3 - me, my better half and our 3 year old. This was a Saturday lunch, nothing too special. The ambience (industrial/rustic) of The Commons was absolutely phenomenal. The service was excellent, Becky was our server and we struck up some good conversations and she was great in demeanor and suggesting options for us who were first timers at this place. Food/quality/pricing etc. were excellent. We had a $ 50 Open Table rewards coupon which was honored and I got to pay the balance.

Overall - very highly recommended for a classy lunch/brunch outing. Only suggestion is to add few more options to the menu but otherwise fantastic. The locally made lemonade and dessert was simply out of the world.

Bottom line - It is NOT 'common' to find restaurants of such class like The Commons.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Hearty and delicious brunch, something for everyone on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Reserved a table at the Commons for a special birthday dinner. Have had better experience in the past for brunch/lunch. Service was ok; could have been more attentive for a special occasion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We thought we would try this again after our first visit where the food was great and service horrible. Unfortunately we had the same experience with our service. Server forgot our drinks, and difficult to flag down. Also, my beef stroganoff was cold! It's a shame they get away with this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Reservations a good idea for this restaurant. We had one and were seated right on time. Others waiting 45+ minutes early on a Saturday. Server was adequate but not super. Food took a LONG time to arrive, but once it did, it was delicious. We will go back, will make sure to have reservations and allow for extra time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Interesting food combinations that worked well. Seemed like dining in a cafeteria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The Commons is good - the menu is unique and staff are ready and willing to help. I'll go back. On the downside, it's overpriced for what it is. I'd be back a lot more if the prices were more in line with the menu value.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Casual, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food is tasty. Their fries could be better, but the burgers are great. Definitely louder than most restaurants. Their pastries are delicious, especially the cinnamon rolls.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual, Healthy, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great upscale home-style food. The weekend brunch menu definitely leans more towards lunch options vs breakfast. Notably absent from the standard breakfast fare are pancakes and French toast. They do have prepared pastries (muffins, cinnamon rolls, etc) on hand.
The French pressed coffee is exceptionally good, and a great way to start the day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food and service! The restaurant was a little too loud, could barely talk to my boyfriend across the table but the food made up for the noise!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We brought our friends from out of town and they loved the food! We knew they would. Great stop before heading out wine tasting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very popular place for brunch on Sundays. I'm glad we did reservations. The bloody mary and food were delicious! One of our favorite places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We gathered as girl friends for a birthday celebration after wine tasting. The incredibly warm and welcoming staff had our table for 7 all set with our flowers and gifts and wine. Amazing! We all shared everything and left not a crumb! Beef stroganoff (YUM!), corn bread (OMG!), Lentils (Delish!), Kale Goat Cheese Salad (Amazing!)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great spot. Interesting spin on breakfast dishes very creative menu. Making reservations it absolutely a must this place is popular and gets crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Just so-so experience. The starters of Brussels sprouts and corn bread were good. The grilled cheese sandwich with bacon had too much bacon and the beef stroganoff had too much smoked flavor from the mushrooms. In fact, it was overwhelming. Plus, the stroganoff was overpriced at $23. Disappointing dining experience because I had heard good things about the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love the food, location and atmosphere! My only issue was they had no record of my reservation -- I booked through Open Table. Even though they seated me right away they recommended always calling ahead of time to ensure the reservation went through as this has happened to other customers before. I think it's an odd recommendation since the whole purpose of Open Table is that you don't have to call the restaurant. It's really the responsibility of the restaurant to contact Open Table directly to fix this issue rather than having customers bare the burden. At any rate - it's not enough to make me stop eating there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.