About The Commons

14481 Woodinville-Redmond Road NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Woodinville Wine District, The Commons is a neighborhood gathering place serving a wide range of seasonal comfort food and drinks in an inviting and informal setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday, 8am to 9pm
Friday, 8am to 10pm
Saturday, 8am to 10pm
Sunday 8am to 9pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3pm to 6pm

Cross Street:
NE 145th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 892-7012

Website:
http://www.thecommonscafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders may be picked up at any of our restaurant locations and delivery is available throughout the Puget Sound. We recommend placing all orders with a 48 hours’ notice to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in front of the restaurant in the Hollywood Vineyards shopping plaza lot.

Additional parking is available one block south, and turn west at the roundabout.

Executive Chef:
Rocky Windsor

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Commons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (31)
Great for Brunch (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
See All
Comfort Food (23)
Cozy (17)
Fun (17)
Kid-friendly (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
People Watching (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Family Style (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Authentic (2)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very loud for a date. That and we were i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Very loud for a date. That and we were in and out in an hour. I was looking for a more leisurely experience for a date. I go for lunch often and it's awesome, but not the best date spot

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Early evening, staff was fresh, food was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Early evening, staff was fresh, food was cooked well, service outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Until this trip we have really enjoyed t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Until this trip we have really enjoyed the Commons as a nice neighborhood cafe. However, this last visit confirmed that the service really does take an extended amount of time. We have tried to come at lunch from work before, but it just takes too long. The place was not filled on Friday, but it took a very long time to get our food. When one is out for a leisurely wine tasting and outing with friends that's one thing. However, we had out of town visitors that included children and we waited quite a while for food, with no attention from the server. The portions for adult food have always been ample. However, the children's menu was extremely small for the cost. I realize the Commons isn't really a "family restaurant" so I probably should not complain.

I'm just not sure if I can take company there again. I do not feel I should make recommendations. So sad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent cocktails and a varied but not ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent cocktails and a varied but not over sized or overpriced menu really makes this a great place to go to after wine tasting or for a date. We were there later in the night though, so I don't know how the noise level is during the dinner rush.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was ok. Started with fries which h ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was ok. Started with fries which had way too much salt. It was Valentine's Day so we expected things to take time, but we ordered drinks at the same time we ordered apps and dinner. Some drinks came out but they forgot a beer. App came out and still no beer reminded them it was missing. Finished app still no beer. Dinner arrived. Canceled beer and ordered wine. Would have ordered wine sooner if we had seen our server. 5 minutes into dinner canceled beer arrived. 10 minutes into dinner wine arrived. Worst part is they charged me for the beer after a 20+ minute wait and canceling it. Not unforgivable, but not a great showing.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

absolutely great service! My wife was fe ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

absolutely great service! My wife was feeling like a steak salad (which wasn't on the menu) and the server was able to customize a dish just for her.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Late-night Find, Healthy, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always. Food took a little ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent as always. Food took a little longer than expect, but they gave us a gift card for waiting. Outstanding customer service. Great ambience and food is delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I ordered a sangria. The description sai ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

I ordered a sangria. The description said it came with fresh fruit, but it did not. One of the people at our table sent his food back because it was literally cold (it was supposed to be hot). They brought dessert but did not bring utensils and then we had to track someone down to get them. I have been before but it seemed like the quality went down dramatically. I probably would not go again. I had guests in from Chicago and wanted to take them to a fun casual restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We chose you as you had reservations for ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We chose you as you had reservations for brunch. Waiting to be seated is not for special occasions. However, too noisy for me; I don't hear well. A little expensive. Limited menu. Breakfast burrito was bland but my guests enjoyed the French toast.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My friend and I had a fabulous happy hou ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My friend and I had a fabulous happy hour! The food was amazing and our server Donovan was friendly and helpful. The drinks were excellent as well, Donovan relayed a bunch of "I like this but not this" preferences and the custom cocktail the bartender created was awesome!!! Will definitely be coming back 😁

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Somehow our reservation was mixed up, bu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Somehow our reservation was mixed up, but the staff there was able to quickly accommodate us and apologized for the mix up! It was a very pleasant experience here. We came for Sunday brunch. Food was fantastic and drinks were very good too! Would recommend any of our friends and family to come here.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location for pre-wine brunch, watc ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great location for pre-wine brunch, watch out for the spicy Bloody Mary... wow!

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The one thing that really stood out was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The one thing that really stood out was that our server (Peter)was amazing. Being in the service industry I really appreciate good service. One suggestion is to have a veggie burger option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I like to bring friends here. It's alway ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I like to bring friends here. It's always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is great, service is lackluster.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food is great, service is lackluster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Celebrate 16 year old cousin getting fir ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Celebrate 16 year old cousin getting first job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! We went there for friends ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great service! We went there for friends get-together and were promptly seated. Their cocktails are good too.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The Commons features familiar food prese ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The Commons features familiar food presented nicely, interestingly prepared and very flavorful. The burgers, for example, are made with local beef and artisanal cheese and bread/roll. Very, very tasty and well-presented. Service is attentive and friendly without being over-bearing. Always a very, very good place to have a good meal with familiar choices.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is one of my wife's and my absolute ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is one of my wife's and my absolute favorite spots. We have always done dinner there and loved it. Just this last weekend we were finally able to get out for brunch and were happy as usual. Love the environment/atmosphere here and the food is always fantastic!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, , Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our new go to place for Sunday b ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is our new go to place for Sunday breakfast. Mind you, either get there early, (they open at 8am) or make sure you have a reservation. This place is very popular, and will fill up every Sunday, a little later in the morning. We have been twice now, and I have liked each thing I ordered. Plenty of food, and good. I like the bread they serve now, (unlike what they had the first year they opened). Good rustic bread.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love Commons!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Love Commons!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been once before, during summer, a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I had been once before, during summer, and the food seemed good. This time was mediocre. My French toast seemed like maybe it had been made much earlier and reheated. Everyone else in my party thought their food was fine, but no raves. Service was prompt and attentive. The worst part was the noise. The hard surfaces make for a lot of fun when it's crowded. And they had music playing in the background, but you couldn't hear it over the other noise, so only the thumping bass came through. I can understand this for a nightclub, but a Sunday brunch? We came up from Kirkland. Not really worth the effort, given alternatives. If we were touring wineries it might make sense.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Great food, fun ambience. Service was a ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great food, fun ambience. Service was attentive, but not disruptive.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place but recommend you have a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love this place but recommend you have a reservation when you go..it can get crazy busy, especially brunch on the weekends.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had been to The Commons previously fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had been to The Commons previously for brunch and had enjoyed the food, service and ambiance on those occasions. So when our sons and partners were visiting us from overseas, it was an easy choice to come here for brunch again. We were not disappointed! The food was very tasty, although a little cold by the time everyone was served. Everyone was happy with their choices. The service was friendly and attentive and we will be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to catch up with friends. Th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great place to catch up with friends. They were very busy and we were glad we had reservations. Waiter was attentive without pushing us to hurry our meal. Food was good with many chouces and unique items.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service very good. Love the amb ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food and service very good. Love the ambience of a farm house look but it is quite loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, seating is snug and noise ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food was good, seating is snug and noise level was a bit hard to manage at lunch

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our plans on New Year's Eve changed at t ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our plans on New Year's Eve changed at the last minute and we decided to grab a nice bite to eat. We were so appreciative of the staff for working and providing such great service and yummy food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went with my wife and one year old. They ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went with my wife and one year old. They had a table ready when we arrived with a high chair which made it super easy to get seated fast. Great selection of drinks including adult milkshakes and the food is very tasty.

Menu is a touch limited but the pricing is reasonable and the food is well executed. Good service.

Only downside is that the music is a little loud but overall a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Charming decor, friendly staff, deliciou ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Charming decor, friendly staff, delicious food, strong coffee! Love this place!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome bistro food, cozy atmosphere...p ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome bistro food, cozy atmosphere...perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken strips are amazing!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The chicken strips are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our breakfast. Got everything ri ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Enjoyed our breakfast. Got everything right! Bacon outstanding. Thanks!

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I felt like our server was in a rush to ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I felt like our server was in a rush to turn our table today

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great food! We eat here at least once a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food! We eat here at least once a month. They can easily accommodate a gluten-free eater. Some of our favorite dishes are the chicken pot pie, house burger with gluten free bread and the BLTA. We miss being able to get the red wine on tap that they used to offer. House wines by the glass tend to be limited in on the pricier side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I like the ambiance and service. Food is ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I like the ambiance and service. Food is modern and inventive, cocktails decent. Been here about 10 times in the past year. I absolutely loved the elk bolognese and I craved it often. They have since changed their menu and the bolognese is gone, so now I'm just sad :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Commons is one of our favorite place ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The Commons is one of our favorite places in the Woodinville area! We have been there many times and always love going back. It is excellent for breakfast, lunch or dinner! Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and they do that well. I think they have the best coffee from Olympic Roasters that I have ever had. It is worth going just for the coffee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great waiter and the food was y ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a great waiter and the food was yummy. It worked well for the whole family! We went for my birthday brunch on Saturday and it was fairly busy. It is definitely not a quiet place to go. They are very friendly towards families.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our table was ready when we arrived. Eve ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our table was ready when we arrived. Everyone really enjoyed their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.