About The Celestial Steakhouse

Four star, Four diamond dinning with a stellar view of the city.

1071 Celestial Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4;00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Monastery Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 241-4455

Website:
http://thecelestial.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Free private parking lot across the street from the restaurant. Valet parking option.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Incline: located above the lounge, seats 20-60 guests. The Berkshire: Located in the main dining room, seat 10-26 guests. The Cambridge: Located in the main dinning room, seats 10-24 guests. The Ascott: located in the main dinning room, seats 6-10 guests.

The Celestial Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (49)
Romantic (36)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Special Occasion (29)
Good for a Date (27)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Historic (15)
Cozy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Live Music (14)
Authentic (12)
Business Meals (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Private Room (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Waterfront (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Dancing (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1054 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic view and warm atmosphere, gett ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic view and warm atmosphere, getting a bit aged

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The tip was included. There was very lit ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

The tip was included. There was very little choices for dinner. And was only offered a three course menu for a price that was ridiculous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Due to all of the bad reviews I've read ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Due to all of the bad reviews I've read lately I was apprehensive to dine here, but we tried it anyway.

The only issue we had were not being given napkins upon seating. Big deal. We asked and got them with apologies.

It was a very nice view, quaint & quiet and even the limited menu for V-Day still had a very nice selection. The food was wonderful. I've had steaks at every restaurant in the city and this filet was by far the juiciest I've ever eaten. We will definitely choose to dine here again.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice. Great view of city

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice. Great view of city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for Valentines Day. Wasn't impresse ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for Valentines Day. Wasn't impressed with the menu being limited for this day. If it had been advertised as such, we would have gone elsewhere. Our waiter wasn't the friendliest. Should have been a better experience for a $200+ check. Now we know.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

It would be nice to have a restrictive p ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

It would be nice to have a restrictive policy on cell phone use at tables by customers.

Valentine's Day menu was fantastic but it's possible that the wait staff was a bit overworked because plates were not cleared in a timely fashion.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Beautiful view over looking the city. Th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful view over looking the city. The food tasted great.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful evening and fantastic food and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful evening and fantastic food and service!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great place for an elegant dinner with ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A great place for an elegant dinner with wonderful view of downtown Cincinnati. Has always been one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated Valentine's Day early, Feb ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We celebrated Valentine's Day early, Feb. 12. We had an engaging waiter who gets +10out of 10 from us. The food was outstanding as were the beverages. The evening was a "celestial" experience. We were even treated to a drone flying over the city--no extra charge.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible experience. Had reservation an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Terrible experience. Had reservation and it still took over a half an hour to get seated. Once we sat down they were out many of the things we wanted on the menu. We ended up leaving right after we sat down.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The Good Stunning views. It's one of th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Good

Stunning views. It's one of the few places you can see downtown, the river, and northern Kentucky. We arrived about 10 minutes late for our reservation and they were still able to accommodate us. They had a decent jazzy sort of band playing which added to the atmosphere. It was definitely a grown up sort of night (translation leave the kids at home).

The Bad

I had the Ribeye. It was awkwardly prepared. I typically order my steak medium and tonight was no exception, but it was almost blackened on the outside and dry in the middle. They also ran out of baked potatoes. I wasn't informed until my dinner arrived with mashed potatoes instead, so I really didn't get a choice of anything else. My wife had the crab and scallop risotto, according to her the scallops were pretty good, but the risotto was pretty tasteless. Prior to the entree I ordered a bowl of the lobster bisque which was extremely salty.

The Ugly

Service was a little slow, I never got a vibe as to why that might be. The table next to us fought with their waiter...I'm not sure how long they were there, but he yelled at the waiter he had been there 2 hours and had not received his meal. I remember them ordering when we were seated, so I would estimate it was more like 45 minutes. Still a bit longer than it should be, but not 2 hours. The part that stands out though was the waiter saying something along the lines of "I'm not cooking the food." I would have expected the waiter not to rise to the level of agitation as the customer.

All in, It will probably be another 30 years before I partake again, mostly because of the steak. Neither of us really enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Amazing view! However, the service was e ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing view! However, the service was extremely slow! We had reservations for 7:30 and weren't seated until almost 8:30. They didn't take our order until after 9 and it was almost 10pm by the time we received our meals. The food was good once it arrived but not worth the wait in my opinion.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were so disappointed. This was our Va ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were so disappointed. This was our Valentine's Day dinner & the service was horrible, the food below average. The guests at the next table were yelling profanities at the waiter. The Celestial is not what it used to be at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Let me start off by saying the view was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Let me start off by saying the view was amazing. The salad was not great. We waited 1.5 hours for our food. When we got it my husband steak was rare he order butterfly welldone. His steak went back 4 times. My steak went back twice. This place was aweful I do not recommend this to anyone unless you want a pretty view. Money down the drain.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

We went for my wife's birthday and enjoy ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday and enjoyed it thoroughly. The service was prompt and the food outstanding. Best steak we have had in town. You can't beat the view. Our only complaint, and it was a minor one, is that it's a little tight in the dining area. Tables are very close together. It did not negatively impact our experience, just something we noticed. We will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was glad we got there early (6:30) bec ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I was glad we got there early (6:30) because the people who were seated after us were complaining about the long wait they had for their food (over an hour wait for their dinner). I worked at The Celestial 20 years ago and it was a shining star in Cincinnati, but I would not say that about the place now. I was surprised to see that the carpet had not changed in 20 years. It was torn and dirty in spots. The furniture in the bar area was also torn. The chairs they had at the tables in the bar area were new, but were the same quality I would expect to find at Chipotle not at a four star restaurant. They absolutely need to hire more people. We were there the weekend before Valentines Day and they were clearly under staffed. Our server was also the bartender which had a negative affect on our service at the end of our meal. I overhead someone say that the people who own The Celestial also own Longworth's. I think if they want The Celestial to be the shining star it used to be, they need to focus their money and efforts on one place, not two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

First time here . . . (1) Great view; ( ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First time here . . . (1) Great view; (2) Good food; (3) Decor was fine - nothing great, but fine; (4) service seemed a bit rushed. I will go back; I will just have to tell the servers to slow down.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Short Rib was inedible and when we told ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Short Rib was inedible and when we told server after leaving it on plate they just said sorry and did not adjust bill. While the view was great I will never eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Scallops were amazing, New York strip pr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Scallops were amazing, New York strip pretty much perfect. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff is always wonderful. They are ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The staff is always wonderful. They are very attentive. I have been there 4 times now and have had a great experience each time. I wasn't a huge fan of my entree this time but every other time all my meals have been amazing for me and my spouse. I highly recommended this place for a romantic, quiet meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, the view was amazing, ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Service was great, the view was amazing, but the food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed it very much. First time there a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Enjoyed it very much. First time there and had always heard about the view and wasn't disappointed. I wish I could remember our servers name to give him a shout out. He was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celestial Steakhouse February 4, 2017 S ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Celestial Steakhouse

February 4, 2017

Selected a wine and did not have the selection - waiter substituted an acceptable alternative

Ordered some bread - did not arrive for over 45 minutes

Ordered some lobster bisque - waiter stated they ran out and needed to make more - arrived 70 minutes later and was thin, not creamy, too much sherry and absolutely no lobster in the soup.

Kids meals were delivered at this point as requested due to the lateness of the meal.

Single lobster tail was char burned across the entire top section of the lobster meat.

12 oz Filet ordered Medium - steak delivered was smaller than the other 2 8 oz Filets delivered and was char burned well done - told waiter it was too small compared to other steaks and not prepared properly. Waiter went to speak with the Chef. Waiter came back and reported the chef did not believe him and asked for the steak to take back to the kitchen. I told the waiter that was unacceptable and asked to speak to the owner who was not available and then I requested the Chef, who refused to come out.

Waiter returned with out the steak and said another was being prepared. 20 minutes later a 12 oz Filet was delivered prepared Rare.

I returned that steak asked the owner to call me and we left not paying for the lobster bisque or the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were there for a birthday celebration ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were there for a birthday celebration. We dined on every coarse and was not disappointed. Our server was attentive and polite. We will definitely be back. We would like to try a lunch or music in the bar.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tessa in the bar was very professional, ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Tessa in the bar was very professional, accommodating, and cheerful. She is a great asset to the restaurant. Enjoyed the raw seafood selection.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The views from the restaurant were gorge ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The views from the restaurant were gorgeous. The waitress was personable but service was slow through the kitchen. We ordered the crab cake and scallops appetizer. Scallops were over cooked and for $14 we received 2 small to medium sized scallops. The lobster bisque was good but lacked any semblance of containing real lobster. Steaks (filets) were cooked well but it certainly wasn't the best I've had; very salty, tough exterior. Crispy brussels tasted burnt. Mushroom risotto lacked flavor. Best thing I had all night was coffee. Desserts were delicious. The waitress offered a glass of wine on her but when the bill came it was still on there. Ambiance would've been good except for a very loud patron with only what I can describe as hyena laughter most of the meal. We'll be back for drinks/dessert in the lounge area, but we'll opt for birthday dinners somewhere else.

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Breathtaking view, great service and ama ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Breathtaking view, great service and amazing food!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible, we had a steak ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was incredible, we had a steak and the salmon. Our waiter (Besa or Beesa, sorry about the spelling) was great, attentive but subtle. We loved our experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good the service was above ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was good the service was above average, the seating was absolutely miserable. We were stuck in one of the "hallway" seats. Why they feel like this is a good place for inexpensive table is beyond me. The view is great but that is it, the table is Tiny and the chairs are uncomfortable and you have to suck in your gut to get up should you need to leave your table for anything. It is at the end of a closed-off hallway that reminds me of an airplane aisle.

Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

For a period of time, my husband and I c ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 19, 2017

For a period of time, my husband and I celebrated our anniversaries at the Celestial. This year we wanted to share that occasion with our dearest friends. They loved it. The service was wonderful. The food was outstanding. In fact, one of our guest had been a cook for the Army years ago and he raved about the food. More, I felt at home, relaxed. Our server was great. He was not intrusive and allowed us time to review the menu and visit with our guests.

Then there was the view. WOW, was all we heard all night.

Thank you for being available for us all those years ago and now.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. Everything was good and a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was great. Everything was good and a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I proposed to my girlfriend at dinner th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I proposed to my girlfriend at dinner there. I couldn't ask for a better atmosphere to do so. The lighting, the view, the food, it was perfect.

Thank you

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. The staff was g ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The staff was great and the dinner was fantastic. The escargot was the best we've ever had!! We would highly recommend this steakhouse.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view, delicious food, and exemplar ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great view, delicious food, and exemplary service. The doorman was very helpful with my elderly mother, and the wait staff was perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable experience. This was our ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very enjoyable experience. This was our third time there and the evening is alays great !

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

This was sad. It was one of our favorite ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was sad. It was one of our favorite places to go but tonight the meal was terrible. Wife's salad was just average. Steaks were just ok. No wow in the flavor & dessert (strawberry sabayon) was AWFUL. We have gift certificates so we will give it one more shot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Our food of dinner was on News Year Eve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our food of dinner was on News Year Eve was outstanding. The drinks spectacular and the service incredible. The view of the Cincinnati sky line lit up is incredible, worth the price of dinner alone. Celestial is our favorite place to go for dinner in Cincinnati. Looking forward to returning again soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife ordered a medium well steak, on ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife ordered a medium well steak, on the first try the steak was well done. When the waitress saw the steak she said "that's way over cooked I will take it back". The next one out was very, very rare. The waitress was standing next to the table and apologized. She took that one back and said I will have the manager come over. He did not come over, she asked him two more times to stop at our table. He stood by the hostess stand and did not stop over once, even after I asked to speak with him. By the way it was not busy when we were there, only 4 other couples in the restaurant. The waitress apologized and said I don't blame you if you never come back, and I never will. On the way out I told the manager standing at the hostess stand how horrible he made the dining experience, all he said was have a nice day you need to leave now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Disappointing experience. The food was g ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Disappointing experience. The food was good but the service by both the maitre d and waiter were lacking

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.