Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About The Celestial Steakhouse

Four star, Four diamond dinning with a stellar view of the city.

1071 Celestial Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4;00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Monastery Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 241-4455

Website:
http://thecelestial.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Free private parking lot across the street from the restaurant. Valet parking option.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Incline: located above the lounge, seats 20-60 guests. The Berkshire: Located in the main dining room, seat 10-26 guests. The Cambridge: Located in the main dinning room, seats 10-24 guests. The Ascott: located in the main dinning room, seats 6-10 guests.

The Celestial Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (45)
Good for a Date (32)
Romantic (32)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Live Music (13)
Waterfront (12)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Historic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Private Room (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Dancing (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1092 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

I brought an out-of-towner here for the view, which did not disappoint. However, the overall experience was lackluster. Service was very slow, even though the restaurant was nearly empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant was dirty; windows, carpet, menus, ceiling. Go to Ponderosa & for a better steak! Very disappointing after an hour drive! DO NOT EAT HERE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had a fantastic anniversary meal at The Celestial. The view of downtown Cincinnati was amazing. Our food was perfectly cooked and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 19, 2017

my meat was red on the inside and black on the outside drink man never came back to our table to give us more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The duck ravioli was delicious. It was a high price for great food. I will definitely be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

When we arrived to the restaurant there were maybe only three other seated tables in the entire restaurant that we could see, and they sat us down next to two of those tables; it really didn't help that the table had a dirty glass left on it either. It then took maybe five minutes before we got our water and the Martini list, after ordering our cocktais it then took maybe ten minutes for us to get our drinks; again the restaurant was not busy at all at this time. We were not given any bread or the main menu until we were almost done with our cocktails, which would be about twenty minutes into our dining experience. After being given the menu we are asked if we were ready to order maybe five minutes later, when we said we needed just a couple more minutes to decide it took the waiter what felt like another ten minutes to return. The food tasted great other than they forgot one of the dressings for a salad which would have been for the best since the dressing tasted burnt after they got it to our table. When we were leaving the restaurant we could notice some parts of the restaurant had not been dusted in some time, and that the wine room was being used for storage, there was also a broken light sitting on a table.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was extremely disappointed with our dining experience at the Celestial yesterday. I had always heard good things about it, so when we drove up from Lexington, Kentucky, to see a play at the Cincinnati playhouse, it seemed like a great location & choice for a Mother's Day dinner with my mom & sisters. I will say that the view was stunning, and the maître d' very friendly. However, I was very disappointed in our service after that. Our waiter appeared very annoyed that we were not ordering alcohol, and even commented on this. I realize that ordering alcohol makes for a bigger bill and a bigger tip, but please pay your servers enough where they are not rude if we choose to order what we want. I chose not to drink because it was 4 PM on a Sunday & I didn't feel like it, but some of my family members have experienced alcoholism with loved ones...not drinking is a valid choice. I also noticed much of the silverware and dishes were dirty and chipped....the restaurant did not seem clean. We decided just to go with the flow, we wanted to be pleasant, & the table next to us had to argue for over 10 minutes to get their steak cooked the way they wanted it. I feel like the manager should have listened to them sooner and giving them what they wanted. The food was OK, but nothing amazing compared to other restaurants I've been to. At the end of our dinner, my mom requested a cup of coffee, and I feel like the server was somewhat rude giving us the coffee, creamer, etc., walking away from our table while we were in midsentence. I feel like he was annoyed that we did not order more expensive items on the menu. We all ordered at least $30 worth of food, which is simply just what we felt like for an early dinner. We certainly have the means to order more extravagantly, but now will not come back to do so. I have gotten better service at the Cracker Barrel ordering $8 of food, & they certainly were not crowded & waiting for us to vacate the table.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The dishes were dirty and the service was awful. The restaurant is outdated and appears to not be clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Celestial was our son's selection, to celebrate his graduation. This elegant restaurant has a 60's decor that is nostalgic yet comfortably formal. Of course, the view of downtown doesn't hurt (smashingly beautiful). The menu has many classic favorites and is prominently steaks. Our food was well prepared and everything was enjoyed, with the exception being a flavorless, undercooked Risotto. Note- they were unable to make espresso (?) and the staff was overly pushy on the pending live music in the bar. Dinner for four people, with a round of 1-cocktail, 1-wine, and 2-beers, along with a bottle of wine with dinner, was just under $500 (with a reasonable tip). We will consider returning on a future trip.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 13, 2017

While the Celestial wasn't a bad restaurant I wasn't particularly impressed. The parking situation is pretty bad and considering the price I expected valet (if they had it I didn't see it.) The staff couldn't find our reservation at first, then when they did they kept insisting we had 4 people reserved (it was just the two of us.) It wasn't until I showed them the reservation on my phone for two that they admitted they probably changed it to 4. Um, ok? The place is very small and tight on the inside, so if you're claustrophobic but probably not the best place to eat . The waiter started out pretty good but disappeared as he got more tables (counting us he only had like 5-6 tables which is why I even mention it.) The food was ok. It was a step up from Outback or Lonestar but definitely not good enough to charge what they were charging. The view however was amazing!!! Hands down, the best view in all of Cincinnati for a restaurant. The view alone is almost worth the ok food at higher prices. The Celestial is worth doing once just for that view, but in my opinion it's not worth a repeat visit.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Steak is the best item on the menu but you can get a great steak at several other restaurants in town. Half of our party sent theirs back to the kitchen. Party of four - two ordered medium and got rare; two ordered medium rare and got medium. The ravioli is not ravioli.
The Celestial has a great view of the river but the windows were so dirty top to bottom that the view was bleary. Ditto for the rest of the restaurant - it needs a redo. The dirty carpeting shocks you when you enter.
I'd head to the bar for fun live music.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 11, 2017

All steaks were overcooked and the brussel sprouts burned. One of my guests needed to have his steak redone. Food experience very mediocre at a high price.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food. Slow service. Very old plus dirty carpets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Quality dining experience. Food was hot and tasty. Steak was cooked to my order, served promptly, and was quite hot. Caesar salad was fresh and bright with anchovy fillets. Cocktails were well prepared and a generous pour. The creme brulee was delicious and creamy. You could see the tiny flecks of real vanilla in the custard.

All in all, a top flight experience. Good service, good food, quiet atmosphere. Definitely will go there again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Everything was just the way we expected it to be. The service was excellent and the food tasted very very good. The view was spectacular and would definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating a promotion the evening we ate at Celestial. Wonderful views and wonderful food! We were greeted and made to feel special by every gracious staff member. Will revisit again for another great evening!

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was disappointing and the service was slow. The waiter was very pleasant and nice but they didn't have enough waitstaff. The place cook use updating, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Staff seemed to be somewhat short. Ourwaiter was very good and in spite of appearing to be very busy he maintained a pleasant , joking demeanor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We hadn't been to The Celestial in over a year but will likely go back again soon. The view of the city from both the bar and the dining room is fantastic. The raw oysters were outstanding and our steaks were cooked perfectly. Our service was also outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 14, 2017

When I first walked in the first thing I noticed was that the restaurant looked run down, as we received our menus they were falling apart and the place felt somewhat dirty. The service was great and the food was slightly above average. But for the price that we paid I would not recommend this restaurant because like I said the food was good not great and the overall atmosphere was not one of a fine dining. The postives though was definitely the service and the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We had a quick layover in town and were not disappointed. The view was AMAZING... the food was scrumptious. We were late in and the last to leave. The bartender/waiter was attentive but not pushy that we leave. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Tim is a great waiter & the salmon entrée was the best I've had anywhere recently!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Overall we were disappointed that our steakhouse expectations were not met.
Three of us were seated at a table with a wonderful city view, in a private banquette room, with dinners still present. Soon, about twenty people left, and their banquette table was never cleaned.
The menu was nice and the service was fun. Wine selections were fair, and appetizers, bread and deserts were all good. However our entries were heavy and lacked flavor, and left us each with indigestion despite leaving much of our food on the table.
We won't return.
Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent experience. Ambience and view fantastic. Service above reproach. Would recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Dancing, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was okay. Steak was burnt around the edges. Garlic mashed potatoes were very good. Our waiter was a little too up close and personal. Ordered a Coke, never received it. My girlfriend really liked the restaurant, which would be the only reason we'd go back.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Attentive service. Delicious food. We will most certainly return!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was really good the view of downtown Cincinnati was awesome my only concern was the prices for the type of food and amounts you are given . The service was good but the table we where given was very cramped the waiter had to practically stand on our table when taken our order ....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My wife and I returned to the Celestial after not being there for many years. We were celebrating her birthday. We found the same restaurant that we remembered, quiet, great views, service, and food. Our server, Tim, was very attentive without being disturbing. My wife had the two 8 ounce lobster tails and I had lobster bisque and the celestial Oscar, an 8 ounce filet with crab meat, bearnaise, and aspargus. Both meals were very good. Tim was very polite, engaged in conversation but, knew when to leave us to our own conversation. The restaurant was not crowded and we were seated at a table at the window with a great view of the city and river. We like that it is not crowded or noisy. Tim ask if we were celebrating any event. I told him it was my wife's birthday. At the end of our meal he brought her a very nice chocolate torte with Happy Birthday written on the plate. We noticed an $8.00 charge on the bill for the torte but, it was also deducted near the end of the bill.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very disappointing visit to a place that usually has outstanding food. The restaurant was almost empty on a Sunday evening. Wife and I both ordered filet mignon, which we have had a few times before and was always excellent. This time however my wife's filet did not have much flavor and mine came charred and medium rare after I ordered medium. Everything else tasted okay. Wasn't up to normal standards that evening. May think twice next time we are looking for a good steak and celebrating a special event.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Really wanted to give this a better rating... the steak with crabmeat was great. So was the view. The service was OK. Staff were all friendly but the night ended bizarrely... we went for my wife's birthday and I must have mentioned that to the server, Tim, during our meal. At the end, he commented that dessert was coming for her bday and then brought her a chocolate torte (that neither of us would have picked). It was a nice gesture though... until I saw it on our bill!! Don't bring someone a birthday dessert (that they didn't order) and then have the gall to charge them for it! That was super weird and I've never seen anything like it. Seems like a really weak way to increase the bill to increase your tip... which backfired big in this case.

I hate to say it but we probably won't come back because of that. Really weird and rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food, good service. The place really needs to be updated. Nothing has changed in 30 years. Furniture is very warn out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 1, 2017

great food. Wonderful view. Classic décor. Not many people there on a Wednesday night. The bar looked to be a fun place for a gathering.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I love this place and it never disappoints. Superb service, food, and view. Great date venue alongside a visit to the Playhouse or museum, or if you'd like some low-key dancing and drinks after dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Dancing, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good food. Ordered a steak medium and loaded potatoes. Great view.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Celestial Steakhouse is full of friendly people and staff. Our review was not 5 stars because the service was very slow. Our waiter tried his hardest and was very friendly as well as knowledgeable but we overheard that a staff member had been laid off prior to the shift so he was stretched very thin. We have been to many of the recognized top steakhouses in the city and this one wasn't as good as most for the price you pay. The view and ambiance are great! We may try it again in the future and update the review.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 16, 2017

everything was great. good food good service and a beautiful view of the city. we definitely will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fantastic view and warm atmosphere, getting a bit aged

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The tip was included. There was very little choices for dinner. And was only offered a three course menu for a price that was ridiculous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Due to all of the bad reviews I've read lately I was apprehensive to dine here, but we tried it anyway.

The only issue we had were not being given napkins upon seating. Big deal. We asked and got them with apologies.

It was a very nice view, quaint & quiet and even the limited menu for V-Day still had a very nice selection. The food was wonderful. I've had steaks at every restaurant in the city and this filet was by far the juiciest I've ever eaten. We will definitely choose to dine here again.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very nice. Great view of city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.