Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About The Celestial Steakhouse

Four star, Four diamond dinning with a stellar view of the city.

1071 Celestial Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4;00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Monastery Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 241-4455

Website:
http://thecelestial.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Free private parking lot across the street from the restaurant. Valet parking option.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Incline: located above the lounge, seats 20-60 guests. The Berkshire: Located in the main dining room, seat 10-26 guests. The Cambridge: Located in the main dinning room, seats 10-24 guests. The Ascott: located in the main dinning room, seats 6-10 guests.

The Celestial Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

Noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (35)
Romantic (32)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Cozy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Business Meals (7)
Waterfront (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Live Music (5)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Overall a great experience.
The view is fantastic.
The bar area is very nice and unique.
Only issue was lack of some after dinner drink options the couple we were with requested, both at our table and at the bar.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Love ambiance and view. Very worn. Broken sconces, dirty carpet.
Love this restaurant and it's memories but it greatly needs cleaned and spruced up.
Went to bar after dinner. Always do for the atmosphere. Bartender Reanna was great!
Employees kept coming up to the bar and getting their own drinks!!!!!!
Really? Right in front of guests????
14 year old busboy sits in lounge and is on his phone?
Tacky!

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This was my first and last time coming here, the service was very disappointing. Our steaks were not cooked to temperature 3 times it was sent back.

Requested well done I don’t like Any pink in my food, and the steak came out rare the 1st time. Even the 3rd time it was still pink. The server was one of the worst I have ever had. Took 13 minutes just to great us after we were sat at our table. We had to twist a arm just to get a refill on our water. The best part of the experience was the view of Cincinnati. I would never recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

First time there, heard good things but won't be back. My husband had a filet and mashed potatoes which he was happy with. I had short ribs with root veggies per the menu but got short ribs with potatoes and mushrooms in entirely too much gravy. I found no parsnips or turnips as menu stated but sadly too many mushrooms which I dislike. If the menu mentioned mushrooms I wouldn't have ordered it. So i had more or less pot roast and potatoes that i couldve made at home. Then we were looking forward to a nice port since menu listed 5. Well the waiter said they didn't get any that week and were all out. Really out of all 5 on the menu? Very disappointed. Won't return and don't recommend.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated a milestone birthday with dinner at the Celestial. Our steaks were outstanding; the service too. We received a complimentary dessert in honor of our occasion, which was a nice surprise. Our table for 2 was next to a window with a beautiful view overlooking downtown Cincinnati and the riverfront area. It was a great special occasion experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Always a great choice you know it will be a good expierence

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Restaurant decor is a bit dated, but the experience is still there. My meal was very good, but my husband's steak had a char and was slightly bitter. Overall, lovely restaurant. Very nice service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Needs windows and carpet cleaned otherwise great serivice.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great for a romantic dinner if you like to dress up and go out. The steaks were delicious had the ribeye and filet mignon.

We attended the Celestial for an early dinner and the restaurant was nearly empty. If you get seated next to a window, be warned the sunlight may blind you. We requested a different table and the staff was accommodating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food was good but not great. Was overpriced.
Restaurant needs decoration upgrade.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Perfect ambiance for catching up with a dear friend. Our waiter was attentive without hovering. We shared the crab cake, bacon wrapped dates and a spinach salad followed by salmon and poached sea bass, all excellent. Although full, we couldnt resist the crime brûlée, the perfect ending to a lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Our reservations were at 7. We were sat right away. Waited about 10min before our drink order was taken, waited another 20min for the drinks to come out. Waiter told us he would be back to take our order but we had no menus. Finally placed our order and around 9pm decided we were don't waiting for our food and left. When we were leaving another party was in the front waiting area complaining they had been there since 6:30 and had not received their food yet. Very poor service. Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Again the staff has surpassed itself in providing me and my VIP guests to an outstanding dining and social evening. The staff was professional yet fun just the way we roll at my company. The food was most enjoyable and we even viewed the fire works show between courses from our view table. A magical experience we all look forward to repeating many times. Stover Engineering

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Some of this may be related to the obnoxious group that we were seated next to (around 25 people), but it was overall a very negative experience and we won't be back.
Son (13) won an award at school and asked to get a steak dinner and a movie.
This was Saturday afternoon, so the "good" places we frequent (Ruby's, Ruths Chris) were booked up. Shoulda known why.
Knowing that the Celestial had a good reputation, we were pleased to find an available time.
To start with, the noise generated by the table made communicating with our waiter difficult, but in all honesty he didn't seem to be paying much attention. Our bill was over $200, with only $20 of that alcohol, so it's not like we were going cheap, but he seemed to be in a rush to serve the larger table and distracted.
Screwed up every course. We (wife and I) didn't get salads, even while paying to have the sons get an extra salad. We ordered two different soups, the black bean and the lobster bisque, and somehow ended up with two black beans.
The black bean soup was almost inedible. To even call it a soup is actually not even close to describing it, as it has no broth; it is more like a lumpy fitness dish without much flavor (though supposedly "spicy"). The bisque was mostly flavorless, as well.
Our meals came out awhile later, and were probably the worst steaks I've ever paid $20 for.
There was almost no char/carmelezation on the outside, and the steaks were pretty much cold by the time we got them. Additionally, somehow the sides were screwed up on this order, as well (again, additional sides at additional charges.)
The icing on the cake: the bathroom was a mess, toilet paper on the floor. And I discovered why: the toilet paper dispenser was almost comically non-functional. The rolls fell off the roller, and the actual roller fell on the floor, could not stay in under any pressure. We still had to wait for our check. When leaving, I informed the Maitre d' of this, and he just shrugged at me.

Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was great, but it was hot, very hot. Another guest asked if anything could be done and the maitre d' said no...

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Wonderful view of Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky. The 1st tie I ate here I was seated upstairs above the lounge and had no problems. This time I was seated in a different part of the restaurant I didn't know existed. It was very stuffy and warm. The service is not up to the prices you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The view is second to none, and the service was spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Dined at Celestial for a friend's birthday. We were a party of four. The steaks were perfectly cooked. It was a special night with the best river view in Cincinnati.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had not been to The Celestial for a number of years. Though the recent reviews concerned us, we decided to eat there anyway. In 1981 we became engaged at The Celestial. We celebrated our 1st Wedding Anniversary at The Celestial. We celebrated our parents 50th Wedding Anniversary at The Celestial. The Celestial was the place to go for special events. So we decided to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary at The Celestial., just the two of us. We had a very pleasant time. The food was really good, the view was spectacular and Tim, our waiter was attentive without being intrusive. He is clearly very good at his job.

Though the decor is a little dated, it was still a very pleasant experience. It is not The Celestial of 35 years ago, however, we still enjoyed our evening there and would recommend it to other diners looking for a nice place to spend an evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

My husband and I dined with family to celebrate our anniversary and their engagement. It was quiet enough for conversation and the staff was on point.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Steaks were well prepared, service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This used to be much better, solid 4-star. Now it struggles for 4 stars and is solidly only 3 stars in service and food quality. But, the view can't be beat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The manager was seemingly more attentive than the wait staff - long delays even just for drinks or coffee. Seemed a great distance from kitchen to loft area. May have been short staffed for the fireworks event - gratuity was included or it would have been greatly reduced.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Stunning view! The food was below average, especially for the price.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Lovely view of the city while seated in a cozy dining room....really good wine selection and would recommend the lobster bisque as an appetizer. A step (or two) above the normal everyday dining experience...the atmosphere is definitely designed to create a more intimate dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 30, 2017

One of the best views in Cincinnati!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Overall good. Only one server for the evening who was overworked. Nice view through dirty windows. Thought our meals were too pricey. Mentioned that we were going to celebrate our 35th anniversary and nothing was mentioned.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2017

One of the best steaks (ribeye) I’ve ever had! Keep in mind that on Saturday nights they’ll have music. If you would enjoy a quieter dining experience, be sure to ask to be seated somewhere besides the bar area. On that note, they were very accommodating in relocating us before the band (good band!) started to play.
Excellent location and view + awesome food = we’ll be back again soon!!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

VIsited on Saturday 8/26. The food was excellent. The restaurant itself was dated and needs upgrade. We had a table for 5 and view of Cincinnati was poor and obstructed. Service was just ok although manager did visit the table several times. Ordered a side of asparagus and had 5 short spears for $7. Music from the attached bar was loud and not what you expect at a higher price steakhouse. I would not go back ...if I'm going to spend that kind of money I'd go to Jeff Ruby's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

This place was awesome! The service was incredible and the food was to die for! We both had wine from their extensive list and it was wonderful as well! They even brought my wife a chocolate cheesecake with happy anniversary written on the plate! (We didn't even get charged for it!) A+++++++

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Loved the view, quality of preparation of dishes and the wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 25, 2017

An absolutely wonderful evening to celebrate a birthday. The service was superb, friendly and attentive without being intrusive. And, the food was really spot on, cooked as ordered and couldn't have been better.

A bit expensive but well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 17, 2017

I love the Celestial, but the décor and cleanliness overall needs to be updated desperately.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our food was very good we both ordered the filet. The view is awesome. My only disappointment was the very dated décor, our dining chairs were so old and uncomfortable it was a distraction throughout dinner. We went in to the bar after dinner for a drink, again very old and dated....the music was very good. This place could be much nicer if it had a complete facelift. Currently it's very tired.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Awesome service, great food. Pricey but worth it. They helped arrange a birthday desert, acvomodsted changes in times, overall excellent service.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This was our first visit to Celestial. The service and food were excellent, however, the decor needs a lot of work. The carpeted floor in the dining area was filthy and worn. The wooden paneling on a pillar by our table had, what appeared to be, water stains all over it. Additionally, the white ceiling tiles were blackened from soot, I assume from either cigarette smoke from years past or from the kitchen. I also wish the windows had been cleaner since the view is a showstopper and the main reason we decided to try Celestial. If we go back, we will sit in the lounge. While the decor was still a bit out-of-date, the windows offered a more expansive view.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a great experience. The service (our Waiter was Tim) was second to none and the food was fantastic also. The view topped it all off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Love it. Food was great service was great , live entertainment. Thanks for a lovely evening

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The service was very good; waiter very attentive. Nice view of the river. The food was good, nothing spectacular. The setting is that of an old time restaurant that has preserved the old time feel. You will like the restaurant if you like this type of setting, if not, you will be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Very friendly staff and knowledgeable server! My special accommodation request was made! Beautiful, romantic view of the city and river! The food and drinks were delicious! Our server,John, made our night so relaxing and entertaining! We enjoyed his hospitality!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Live Music, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.