About The Carlton

500 Grant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Pittsburgh, within walking distance of the Convention Center & four major downtown hotels.
A Pittsburgh favorite for over 20 years. Recipient of the Wine Spectator of Excellence 1995-2006 and The Dirona Award 2000 - 2006 (Distinguished Restaurants of North American).
The Carlton has a spectacular cuisine, complimented with an extensive wine list served by polished waiters in a beautiful atmosphere. Pittsburghers know the value of the Carlton making it the spot for business meetings to celebrations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 391-4099

Website:
http://www.thecarltonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is validated with Dinner if parked after 5:00pm in the One Mellon Center Garage (Ross Street entrance).

Public Transit:
T-Stop & bus stop

Executive Chef:
Mark Swomley

Private Party Facilities:
The Carlton offers private space to accommodate from 25 to 40 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Bill, Janet or Russ: (412) 391-4099

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Notable Wine List (31)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Business Meals (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Romantic (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (4)
Historic (4)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Live Sports (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1072 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely delicious food, great drinks, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely delicious food, great drinks, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a reservation for 6:30PM on a Sat ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a reservation for 6:30PM on a Saturday, showed up 5 minutes before and waited over 40 minutes to be seated. Besides the wait, our waiter was extremely good and the food was excellent.

Tags: , Good for a Date, Great Beer, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Maybe because it was the day after Valen ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Maybe because it was the day after Valentines Day but there didn't seem to be enough wait staff! Ordered drinks probably waited 10 minutes to get them. Waiter would disappear and never asked us about our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

7:45 reservation, two tables seated at t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

7:45 reservation, two tables seated at the same time as my date and me were paid and out the door before we had our meals. Our waiter gave specials and walked away without waiting for questions or orders and did not return for over 10 minutes. Meals were dropped at 9:30.

Yes we did have some drinks and dessert comped but I was unimpressed with food temperature with an over cooked steak and repeated misinformation from our waiter. they are plating your order right now....20 additional minutes after an already unacceptable date.

I understand valanetines is a busy night for fine dining, but I would not return to this venue despite really enjoying the bar atmosphere after this dining experience.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The service was great but the food lacke ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was great but the food lacked luster... The steak and chicken was phenomenal but the yams were nearly uncooked and the calamari was horrible!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

As always dinner at the Carlton was exce ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

As always dinner at the Carlton was excellent from the wine to dinner to dessert. Wonderful menu, great service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Restaurant was very busy ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great. Restaurant was very busy when we were there so service and food was pretty slow.(over an hour to get our meals) but worth the wait. Will definitely be returning to the Carlton

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Amazing food and service!!! A must do if ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing food and service!!! A must do if you are looking for a great place in the city!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, George, was a pleasure to de ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our server, George, was a pleasure to deal with all evening. He did a fantastic job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for our anniversary. The table w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went for our anniversary. The table was cozy but there was enough room for everything. Nice restaurant, our server was very knowledgeable and attentive. The house salad was good and they split it for us. The meal was good. My wife sometimes is a pretty picky eater but loved the sea bass. The restaurant also had a shuttle to the Benedum after the meal, which was a welcome surprise. Want to go again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very accommodating for our family with a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very accommodating for our family with a kid's menu and special treatment for our granddaughter on a special night as we took her to the ballet. Loved the free parking and limo ride to the theatre.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was wonderful as it ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The service and food was wonderful as it always has been!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to The Carlton for nea ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have been going to The Carlton for nearly 30 years and will keep going back. Their service is superior. The menu is varied and the food is prepared precisely and consistently. The wine list is comprehensive and very reasonably priced. We had the shishito pepper and calamari appetizers which were fantastic. The Prime rib was very good but somewhat lacking in the juicy flavor I've had before. The bread pudding is a favorite and a must have. (It's worth a visit to the restaurant for this alone). We will be back!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and food. Love limo to s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome service and food. Love limo to show

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The choices of fish are excellent, the p ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The choices of fish are excellent, the presentation is excellent and the service is always top notch. My wife had a steak which was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner as always. Tony our waiter ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great dinner as always. Tony our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. We went before a Pens game and always appreciate the validated parking and the ride up the hill. We will be there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining here and we will defin ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

First time dining here and we will definitely return. Service is excellent for a meal prior to game or show without making you feel rushed. Chef specials were great. Limo to take you to the events is a nice touch. Our only disappointment was self inflicted as we should have dined here previously.

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was absolutely amazing! The pre ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing! The presentation and the taste of the food was a wonderful experience. My date and I felt like pampered guests at every moment by our friendly and attentive server. We can't wait to dine here again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Love Love this place for lunch and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Love Love Love this place for lunch and dinner. Would highly recommend! Always ask for Bobbie's section. He is the BEST!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, recommendations & food was grea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Service, recommendations & food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal with a waiter that was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a great meal with a waiter that was patient with our deciding what wine we wanted to pair with our meal. Even gave us a couple of samples first. Top notch and what I have always come to expect from the Carlton. The hostess and girls working/loitering in the front should have been more welcoming, but sadly that is what I see with women in cs these days. Need to build each other UP not be arrogant and competitive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Carlton team always makes us feel so ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The Carlton team always makes us feel so welcome. Our meals were delicious. It was a great evening.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, , Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service arealways good. My ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food and service arealways good. My favorite place to celebrate birthdays!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Carlton never disappoints. The prim ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Carlton never disappoints. The prime rib is the best in town. Always an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The atmosphere and service were great. ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The atmosphere and service were great. Very knowledgeable and personable waiter. Knew the menu and wine list well. White tablecloths and a lovely private table by the window. Very quiet and an enjoyable evening. The food unfortunately was average.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was incredible. A superb dini ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything was incredible. A superb dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal in Pittsburgh! Kudos to Kevin ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best meal in Pittsburgh! Kudos to Kevin Joyce for a job well done.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great, food was great, the o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service was great, food was great, the one thing that prevented it from getting a five would be the chairs at the table were very unstable.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant week value was excellent. Me ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Restaurant week value was excellent. Menu variety very good. Wine selection and value outstanding.

Tags: Spicy, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Carlton for restaurant week. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We went to Carlton for restaurant week. Have been there many times before. The waiter did not automatically bring the restaurant week menu with the other- we had to ask for it. All food exceptional except for the short rib starter. Service was very good but very slow and we had a baby with us. We will definitely be back as this is one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I enjoyed my Dining experience. No comp ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I enjoyed my Dining experience. No complaints. I enjoyed my filer minion better than Morton's Steak House.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorites in Pittsburgh. An e ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

One of my favorites in Pittsburgh. An excellent, accommodating restaurant with a delightful staff that has stood the test of time. "I'll be back!"

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Pittsburgh Restaurant Week a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We went for Pittsburgh Restaurant Week and we enjoyed all their choices from the limited menu. We also looked at the regular menu and everything there looked good as well. Our server was great and very attentive. I'd definitely consider going back once we check out more spots around the city.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great but it to ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food and service was great but it too way too long for the food to come.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I went with a group of friends from wor ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I went with a group of friends from work for restaurant week. I cannot say enough great things about our server, Russell!! He was amazing!! Our food was fabulous and we had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is consistently awesome. Win ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This place is consistently awesome. Wine list is extensive are wine is priced to be of tremendous value

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has been a city staple b ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This restaurant has been a city staple but I had never gone. It had a great deal for restaurant week so we went. It was excellent. The food was great, the service superb, it was relaxed yet elegant. Unlike other restaurants were you need to scream to be heard or where you are elbow to elbow with a stranger, this place had space and a pleasant hum. The prices were very reasonable and the wine selection is extensive. It is now my favorite place to dine in Pittsburgh

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening, as always. Love the Carlt ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great evening, as always. Love the Carlton!

Especially appreciate the window tables.

Lamb chops were amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food and excellent service with En ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

great food and excellent service with Enzo. Never a dissapointment!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again an outstanding dinner at The ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Once again an outstanding dinner at The Carlton. I have dined there several times and always find delicious new choices on the menu, excellent service and a chance to actually speak to and hear my dining companions. Their shuttle service to and from the theater and free parking only add to making them a "go to" choice for city dining.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.