Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About The Carlton

Conveniently located in downtown Pittsburgh, within walking distance of the Convention Center & four major downtown hotels.
A Pittsburgh favorite for over 20 years. Recipient of the Wine Spectator of Excellence 1995-2006 and The Dirona Award 2000 - 2006 (Distinguished Restaurants of North American).
The Carlton has a spectacular cuisine, complimented with an extensive wine list served by polished waiters in a beautiful atmosphere. Pittsburghers know the value of the Carlton making it the spot for business meetings to celebrations.

500 Grant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 391-4099

Website:
http://www.thecarltonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is validated with Dinner if parked after 5:00pm in the One Mellon Center Garage (Ross Street entrance).

Public Transit:
T-Stop & bus stop

Executive Chef:
Mark Swomley

Private Party Facilities:
The Carlton offers private space to accommodate from 25 to 40 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Bill, Janet or Russ: (412) 391-4099

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (41)
Notable Wine List (39)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Business Meals (32)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Romantic (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Cozy (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Happy Hour (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Historic (6)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (4)
Fun (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Sports (3)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very nice evening, wonderful food and waiter George could not have been nicer. Still a wonderful downtown restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 9, 2017

As fond as I have been of the restaurant and the many times there I was disappointed with this latest dining experience. The calamari was soggy and the salads were OK In addition the bus person/server kept frequently coming over to clear the table. On one occasion wanting to clear the table while we were still eating. The sense of either being rushed or the person was new! This was not the Carlton experience that I was used to

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Always a pleasure to go to The Carlton. In many ways like "going home!"

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

great local restaurant! the food is good, as well as the service. Definitely go again

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Have been coming here for years and quality and service always constant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Excellent food and service made our dining experience most enjoyable. Whether out for a casual evening or a special occasion , the staff make it a special event.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Went here for my birthday and had an overall great experience. While waiting for table went to bar and bartender was great. Fun personality and made us feel welcome. Then at our table our server Fey was very friendly and also awesome. She was very knowledgeable about the menu. Food was amazing and for an overall upscale restaurant in downtown Pittsburgh, drink prices were shockingly not as expensive as I thought they would have been. Great job Carlton!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A friend and I were visiting Pittsburgh for the weekend. The Carlton was near our hotel, so it fit the bill. When we arrived for our reservation, the restaurant was pretty packed with large groups, so it was a bit noisier and slower service than we expected. Our server did recognize that we had to wait awhile on drinks, ordering, etc., so he sent us over complimentary beverages which is a nice touch in that situation. The bread selection was solid although I wasn't a big fan of the roasted red pepper butter. It didn't quite have the level of salt that I prefer. Our wine choice was reasonably priced and met our expectations. It arrived at the right temp although the promised chiller never came...a casualty of a busy night, we suspected. The server was very helpful with my friend's gluten free restrictions and asked the chef to sub a different sauce on her snapper. Her meal was rich and delicious. My scallops and risotto were also tasty although I prefer a little more sear to them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Veal chop is always delicious and tender. Salads are ala carte.. the main entrees are large enough to be very satisfying !
Parking validated ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

First time there, celebrating a birthday. I ordered the prime rib cap, it was cold and very fatty. They heated it back up but it was still cold, plate was hot though. I didn't say anything. I was hoping it had a nice lounge, but it consists of 3 booths and a tiny bar, very old and out dated. No background music. So many nicer places in Pittsburgh. I enjoyed our waitress Hailey. I gave The Carton it a try because of the high rating, I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

the veal chop was excellent. George our waiter was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The food was average. There are better options in the same area and price range. The wine list is extensive and about half of what you would pay elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The Carlton is simply the best dining in Pittsburgh. Top quality ingredients, beautiful presentation and consistently excellent service.

A great reasonably priced wine list (one should try Elena Fucci's Titolo, a Robert Parker favorite) plus a consistent menu that also has daily and seasonal specialties.

A new Burrata salad appeared on the menu so L & I really enjoyed this excellent menu addition.

Open table gave me few boxes to check, so I chose Everyday Dining. Funny, but that perfectly describes the Carlton in both a positive and negative way.

It's really not everyday dining, because of how excellent it is. Yet for us who go very often, it is like everyday dining.

Cannot describe our experiences here any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We had a great time, food was great, service was great. Did not feel rushed to leave. Made for a great visit!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I find this restaurant to be very business friendly. It is upscale and a great place for business lunches with professionals and clients or prospective clients. The food is great, the atmosphere is conducive for business discussions and the servers are extremely knowledgeable and professional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Recommend that restaurant do something about terrible odor when entering it, bar area.
Very unappealing.
Suspect it may be carpeting.
Almost ruins ones appetite.
Too bad because our waiter was wonderful, have always loved the place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

George our waiter was so professional. He made sure our meal was flawless. Don't forget about this restaurant. It's a great place to dine. Wonderful menu and wine selection. We went before a concert so it was convenient. You can get your parking validated as well. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Service was not up to the Carlton standard I have experienced in the past. Server did not bring bread to the table until asked despite saying he would bring it. We ordered coffee following the meal and waited for a long time before coffee was served. Server spilled cream for coffee on the floor while serving coffee.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Went before a Penguins game and service was unfortunately slow. Read great reviews but it must have been an off night as the food was salty, with the exception of the halibut which was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very classy place. I brought my wife hoping to impress her and it worked

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were skeptical when we entered the wine bar, as there was no one else there early on a Saturday evening. But we were greeted warmly and taken right to our table. Our waiter, George, was fantastic! Very knowledgeable and entertaining, and he made some wonderful recommendations! Wine list was extensive! The food was delicious! Portions were sizeable, local lamb chops were great! It was a lengthy dinner (about 1-1/2 hours), but enjoyable all the same. All employees were very gracious. We would go again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

On a cold evening, the limo to the symphony was greatly appreciated as was the paid parking and the $25 birthday certificate. The limo was a bit tardy on delivery but right there when the show ended. Great birthday sundae was yummy!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We have dined at The Carlton several times over the past years. We have always enjoyed the service, the wine and the food. The complimentary limo to the theaters is a bonus that we used many times.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Love the Carlton! Great food, great wine selection, great service, every single time! Best place to go before a concert, show or hockey game!
They always know what shows are in town and what time they start and Always get your dinner served in time without feeling rushed..highly skilled service staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The Carlton never dissaponts!!! The food is always delicious and have great wine list. Everyone that works there from the hostess, server, and waiter treat you with respect and class. Our waiter Michael was very attentive and awesome!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Wonderful tasting day food. Service was very good. Selection of menu varied. Limo to theater very well organized and easy access.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great dinner before a Penguins game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Only $10 cork fee.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I went before a Pens game, they give you a ride up the hill and validate parking. Noise level was loud, hard to talk or hear but would be good if you are in a larger group. The service was slow and it did not seem that it was that crowded.

I will go again, convenient for Pens games

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The Carlton is consistently good with great food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We went to the Carlton for dinner and sadly I've had way better. The food is overpriced and the service is slow. Our waiter in particular wasn't very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We have been to your restaurant many times but found at this occasion, the waiter was totally overworked. Service was not as usual. Took 2 1/2 hours for dinner?

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was wonderful. The staff was friendly. They kept my leftovers in their refrigerator until after our show. My group of 4 was pleased.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

From the first look at the wine list to the last taste of dinner, perfect! Skri is in season and Chef Simon does it perfectly!!!! Don't miss it!

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Mediterranean meal and wine pairing were very good. Will look forward to similar events in the future.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service terrible food great once we got it. We had play tickets and missed the first 10 minutes of show. It took 45 minutes for us to get our food

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 15, 2017

SERVICE WAS AWFUL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Even though the restaurant was not busy for a Saturday evening, the service was extremely slow. Our waiter seemed preoccupied all night as I don't think it was a problem with the kitchen. Additionally, the bar area is in need of a redo. All in all, we were disappointed with our experience and will not be in a hurry to return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The Carlton has always been my favorite restaurant. The wine list is exceptional, service has always been great and food and atmosphere have always been worth the trip. It's always great to see people you know. Well, on Sat. I reserved for our anniversary and it took from 7pm to 9:30 to get our food we ordered. Nothing came in a timely manor and main course was cold when it got there. We had no appetizers only salads and main course. Was very disappointed. Also, brought guests as we normally do bragging how great it will be, It was an embarrassing evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.