Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About The Carlton

Conveniently located in downtown Pittsburgh, within walking distance of the Convention Center & four major downtown hotels.
A Pittsburgh favorite for over 20 years. Recipient of the Wine Spectator of Excellence 1995-2006 and The Dirona Award 2000 - 2006 (Distinguished Restaurants of North American).
The Carlton has a spectacular cuisine, complimented with an extensive wine list served by polished waiters in a beautiful atmosphere. Pittsburghers know the value of the Carlton making it the spot for business meetings to celebrations.

500 Grant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 391-4099

Website:
http://www.thecarltonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is validated with Dinner if parked after 5:00pm in the One Mellon Center Garage (Ross Street entrance).

Public Transit:
T-Stop & bus stop

Executive Chef:
Mark Swomley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Business Meals (26)
Romantic (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Cozy (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Authentic (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Healthy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual, our experience at the Carlton was great. The food was delicious as was the wine. The service is always perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Back in "The Burgh" for a wedding and we had to do dinner at one of our old favorites The Carlton. It was my wife's birthday after all, and we knew that we would find exceptional food, wine and service at The Carlton. From the drinks at the bar, to the dinner in the dining room, everything was top notch. We asked for Michael, our favorite waitstaff and sure enough, he was working this evening. It had been two years, but he remember my wife and I and treated us as if we were still his regulars. Can't say enough good things about this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good as usual. You can count on the Carleton for good food, wine friendly and value meal. Love it before the Pens games. Service is friendly but can be slow.

I had the veal chop and the portion was smaller than expected. My wife had the grilled romaine salad and it was great. She also loved the scallops. We always enjoy it here.

Don't forget the shuttle service to theatre or Pens games. Nice touch.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

The Ahi Tuna was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Great stop for a birthday dinner and trip to the symphony with complimentary parking and a limo to Heinz Hall

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great meal and great service from Bobby

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Mike is the best waiter, service and food are always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2017

The first thing we noticed when we walked in was that the whole place smelled like smoke - like something had been on fire recently. The servers were inattentive, leaving us alone for a long time when we were trying to order. We asked for the wine list, and after giving it to us, they never came back for us to order a bottle. The BBQ shrimp appetizer was raw - they took it off the bill, but the damage was done. The rest of the food was pretty good. Overall, terrible experience and wouldn't go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2017

My first post . Not good. Like dining at my grandparents country club

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 30, 2017

My husband and I each ate the house salad and golden snapper. Absolutely delicious. Service was gracious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Every time my wife and I have dinner at the Carlton the food and service have been fantastic. Whenever we go out on a special occasion, we go to the Carlton. Occasionally we discuss going to a different restaurant, but why, we always have loved our meals, so we head back to the Carlton for another fantastic meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The original Carlton salad is fabulous. I look forward to having it when i dine there. The chicken marsala was delicious as was my friends dinner which was a fish dish. We were going to a show so time was of the essence but the service was friendly and efficient. The restaurant was full with people going to the show but i noticed that none of the service workers were frenzied, they just did their work efficiently and pleasantly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Mediocre service, food equally so, except for the fact that it is SUPERBLY overpriced. Wine list is a joke (with the punch line being that it is delivered in the form of a goddam iPad--just like the really posh places at airport terminals). Several exceedingly loud patrons, most trying to get the attention of the two who looked like they were taking some time off from streetwalking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2017

The Carlton always does a nice job! Great food, extensive wine list and good service to match.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Our server Mike was tremendous - fantastic service and knowledge. What a pleasure it was chatting with him.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Excellent service food and atmosphere for over thirty wonderful years. Always a reliably excellent night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Ordered from the Restaurant Week menu. Great value. Prices for wine bottles also quite reasonable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was excellent as always and good value. Requested our favorite waiter George just to find out when we arrived that he is no longer employed there. Extremely disappointed. Chris was ok but no George. We will greatly miss his sparkling personality and exceptional service. It will sadly be awhile before we return. Need to get over disappointment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My top very best of Pittsburgh. I eat, no I dine, here often.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The Carlton never disappoints - great food, excellent service, a go-to place for birthdays and anniversaries.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great as usual, been customer for over 30 years. Great salmon, fish and service

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

A perfect place to celebrate a special anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

As usual the food was fabulous. It was restaurant week however, so we were late being seated, and very late getting our food, as they were extremely busy. We even had to ask our waiter for menus. We love the Carlton so we'll definitely be back but this was not our best experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Went for Pittsburgh Restaurant Week and the crabcakes and fillet was superb. Had Carlton salad, also which was great and creme brûlée for dessert. Great food as always!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food and wine were great. Only complaint was that service was a little inconsistent and slow (30 minutes to have order taken and drinks brought), but as it was restaurant week and every seat was filled it was understandable. Wait staff was hustling and doing their best to meet everyone's needs and bring food out hot and fresh while re-filling drinks, taking dessert orders, and getting checks closed). They were also personable and apologetic about service when problems arose. It was simply a case of having a restaurant packed with customers. If you had other plans such as a show or concert the delays and overall length of dinner (almost 2 hours from start to finish) could have posed a problem. Excellent value of restaurant week menu and demeanor of wait staff made up for minor service issues. I have eaten here several times before and will do so again. On a normal Friday or Saturday night none of these issues occur and you can easily have dinner and get to a show, concert, etc... without issue if you plan accordingly. Overall it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Once again the Carlton does not disappoint. Our family celebrated my husband's birthday and we had a wonderful time. The food was awesome and George B was our server. George is such a sweetheart. He treats everyone like they're special. I heard others around us even comment. He is warm, efficient and accommodating. I will never ask for anyone else! It was the first time the rest of the family got to meet him and they loved him as much as we do! Don't ever let him go! He adds to the special ambiance of the restaurant and dining experience. Thanks for making our night special!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent restaurant week menu. All food was very good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We have gone to the Carlton for dinner many times but this one was our best yet. The restaurant week special was outstanding! Great selection, large portions, and excellent food. Service also was excellent. We will definitely go back and recommend it to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The food was amazing and our waiter was top notch. My only issue with the experience was that we seemed to be a bother to the hostess. She walked way ahead of us and pretty much pointed to the table to my wife and kept on walking. Throughout our stay I noticed she walked closer to the other parties and waited at their tables until all members were there and almost seated. It just seemed a little rude to me. Other than that the experience was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great choice for restaurant week. The food choices had a bit of something for everyone and phenomenal quality. Service (Tony) was excellent as well. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great food and a great place for Restaurant Week. Never let's us down.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 14, 2017

What a perfect way to celebrate our 41st anniversary with our family! The actual date of our anniversary when we dined happened to land during Restaurant Week. The 3-course menu was expansive, unique, generous, and delicious, and Bobby our "regular" server, treated us with special attention and accommodation. We've made this our annual tradition...and we'll definitely be back next year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It's always a pleasure to dine at The Carlton. Kevin and his team always make you feel at home. Hands down, the best prime rib in Pittsburgh. When looking for a traditional dinner, The Carlton is a great choice.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always a fantastic experience at the Carlton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Dinner was delicious. Great value for restaurant week. George was attentive, sweet and overall fabulous!! We will ask for him next time for sure!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Were surprised to receive 'restaurant week' pricing advantage.

Good to get back to a favorite of the working years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Amazing lunch as always! Food is always outstanding and service backs it up.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Dinner before Earth Wind and Fire

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Appreciate the opportunity to be able to say Kudos! to the Carlton Restaurant. The atmosphere goes from a comfortable bar to a semi-formal dining experience with super friendly staff and the best server I have had in years. George. I cannot say enough how much his knowledge, kindness and experience meant. He was so friendly and made us feel at home, as if he was an old friend. The hostess reminded us first thing to present our parking ticket for free parking with dinner. She was friendly and made a great first impression.

The food was amazing, I had the lamb and it was super delicious. A little pricey, but worth the money !!!

Many thanks for a pleasant and delicious dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Have been there on many occasions. This last occasion was not the excellent experience we are accustom to.

The usual attentive service was missing, despite minimal patrons that night. This was very surprising given their usual hands-on feel. The courses were very rushed as well.

The General Tso had a very overpowering, poor flavor. It was not authentic nor as good as the Americanized version at local spots (Jimmy Wans, etc). This dish should not be on the menu of a restaurant of this this caliber. Come on guys, stick what your good at.

That being said, it is still one of our favorites when the food is on point. They have many other excellent meals and staff usually amazing. Given their history will us, we will give them another crack at it soon.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.