About The Bull and Beggar

RAW BAR HAPPY HOUR 5-6 DAILY - HALF OFF OYSTERS SHRIMP AND CLAMS. Classic French cuisine, cocktail bar and raw bar set in a warm warehouse revamp in the River Arts District.

37 Paynes Way #007
Asheville, NC 28806
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm Sunday Brunch 10:30-2:30

Cross Street:
Lyman

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9443

Website:
http://www.thebullandbeggar.com/

Parking Details:
Our restaurant is located on the back side of The Wedge Studios building next to The Wedge Brewery. Parking anywhere on Paynes Way is acceptable.

Public Transit:
ART W1 and W2 to Roberts street.

Executive Chef:
Matt Dawes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bull and Beggar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Creative Cuisine (50)
See All
Special Occasion (40)
Local Ingredients (37)
Romantic (37)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Cozy (26)
Authentic (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Fun (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Modern Decor (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Casual (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Comfort Food (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Seasonal (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Historic (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Great Beer (7)
People Watching (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tapas (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Organic (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Healthy (4)
Waterfront (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We got the raw platter, which was advert ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

We got the raw platter, which was advertised as oysters, clams, lobster, shrimp, and crab legs.

We got no crab legs or lobster. When waitress brought platter, she said it was based on what is in the kitchen. I may have missed it, but I did not see that on the menu. We did not complain. Salad was huge and tasty. Onion soup was excellent. Waitress was really great. Oysters, Clams and shrimp were good, but I would not have ordered that item if that was all there was on the platter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food. Our server was excellent ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food. Our server was excellent. Bartender and hostess were friendly. Food may be a bit pricey, but we enjoyed our experience for a Valentines date night. I would go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed the decor and the raw ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

We really enjoyed the decor and the raw bar. We liked the oysters, shrimp, and clams. The onion soup was excellent as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Palmer is the best.

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Palmer is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious. My guests that I brought alon ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Delicious. My guests that I brought along had never been and loved it. My boyfriend and I are always happy with our experience at this restaurant. It's one of our favorites.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the food was great except the fried ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

All the food was great except the fried chicken sandwich surprisingly bad for such a good restaurant. Every other time we have been the food has been spot on and we will be back.

Oh, and the server buggered up our order some and left us for extended periods too often. This too was unusual. Still love the place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always great, just amazing food and staf ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always great, just amazing food and staff is a delight. Our son's first brunch and it was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Loved our dinner here! The service was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved our dinner here! The service was amazing, the food was delicious and the ambience was amazing!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, staff was very knowledgea ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service, staff was very knowledgeable about the wine list and menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, hassle-free parking, hip dec ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food, hassle-free parking, hip decor, not so loud that you can't hear your dinner companions speak and attentive service -- one of my favorite restaurants in Asheville.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the lobster rolls, hush puppies, a ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Loved the lobster rolls, hush puppies, and toffee pudding. Sarah, our server, was wonderful! Great evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very enjoyable brunch. The menu ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a very enjoyable brunch. The menu is very interesting, we will book again to try other things

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Vacation trying something new

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Vacation trying something new

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

1st timer. LOVED IT. Definitely over ord ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

1st timer. LOVED IT. Definitely over ordered but everything was excellent. Service was great. Drinks were great. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent as well as the recomm ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was excellent as well as the recommended wine. Service was friendly but a bit spotty. In addition, was asked to leave our table to make room for next reservation. Can understand why but still after spending $200 for the two of us it seems like it could have been handled better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We live the 27oz. Ribeye! It comes with ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We live the 27oz. Ribeye! It comes with the best tiny round potato and cheese puffs! Melt in your mouth good... the steak too! A little pricey but totally worth it! The desserts blew us away! We will be going back on our next special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not up to it's usual standard...very dis ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Not up to it's usual standard...very disappointed...not sure we will go back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We dined during restaurant week and our ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We dined during restaurant week and our French onion soup was very sweet and had a hard piece of bread that you could not cut. The flank steak was delivered to our table cold and chewy with a terrible side of noodles. The flank steak tasted old. The dessert was the best part of the meal or maybe we were so Hungary at this point. Waitress never asked how our food was or anything relating to taste because I feel she knew since all four plates, bowls etc were picked up full with no to go boxes'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Loved the reunion with our children. The ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Loved the reunion with our children. They loved the seafood platter. everyone of us wants to return. We will when we recover from the bill! All well worth it but very expensive.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. Food was salty. And t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Service was great. Food was salty. And the meat platter - if you're going to put blood sausage pudding, terrine and chicken liver mousse on a board, give a heads up to the diners. The terrine was very good, but the others...nope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We went for Asheville Rest Week and were ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We went for Asheville Rest Week and were not disappointed. When we arrived, we were surprised to see they a had a monday night burger special as well so I tried that (it was awesome) and my GF had the hanger steak on the rest. week menu. Seriously suggest trying this place out, excellent food, nice people.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely the best burger I have ever e ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Absolutely the best burger I have ever eaten. And those fries... How are they so good?! Such a great Monday Night spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, especially the steak Tar ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Delicious food, especially the steak Tartar. Elequeont menu, kind servers and an overall enjoyable experience. Would recommend to anyone that enjoys clean decadence.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic atmosphere, OUTSTANDING delici ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere, OUTSTANDING delicious food in the perfect proportions presented with diligent observant professional TLC to make one feel like a special guest!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and ambiance. Nice men ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful service and ambiance. Nice menu with a variety of choices. Excellent cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had dinner at the Bull and ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My wife and I had dinner at the Bull and Beggar during Restaurant week in Asheville. We had an early reservation because Open Table said the restaurant full, but it was not busy. We were seated and ordered drinks, but had to ask for the Restaurant Week menu (so did the people next to us). We both started with French Onion soup - a large bowl and very good. The second course I had Hanger Steak (nicely prepared) with a turnip side (it looked good), my wife had Trout (side unknown) she was happy. Deserts were also good - I had an apple tart, any my spouse had the chocolate tart.

The food was good but not a dining experience (its really a bar with tables and a nice menu). The location is not easy to get to and is not a restaurant we would seek out again. Good once

I hope this helps

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We went during Asheville's Restaurant We ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We went during Asheville's Restaurant Week and too advantage of the specials, but we will be back! Loved the food and the decor. Great staff and great place.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, , Quiet Conversation, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited during restaurant week. Three ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Visited during restaurant week. Three of us had the hanger steak with potatoes. The steaks were cooked to perfection and very tasty. We also ordered hush puppies, shrimp, and lobster roll from the regular menu. All three appetizers were fabulous. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone who loves good food❣

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Bull and Beggar was a bit disappoint ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The Bull and Beggar was a bit disappointing this time. Food was below par and frankly, cold by the time it arrived. The hanger steak I had was nearly raw and virtually tasteless.

My friend had the trout however and said it was good.

Not up to par with other restaurants in Asheville.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Enjoyed our evening. The Onion Soup with ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Enjoyed our evening. The Onion Soup with brisket was the best. The Hanger Steak was a hit with out whole party. Our only disagreement was whether the Chocolate or Apple tart was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to this restaurant during Restau ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We went to this restaurant during Restaurant week with friends and the open table website said they had a dinner for 2 for $30 so we thought we would try it. When we got to the restaurant, they didn't know anything about this and gave us a menu for 35.00/person. This was a disappointment given the advertising we had seen so needless to say it gave us not a favorable feeling about this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Your food is very good. Your service is ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Your food is very good. Your service is terrible. I've tried really hard to love your restaurant, and have been there twice. The first time, a year ago Christmas Eve, we had a table of 5. The server was outright rude. The other night, the server spilled a glass of wine and bottle of water into my lap. We asked several times for a wine list. Please try to pull it together! We eat out a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Overall it would have been a great exper ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Overall it would have been a great experience if the service (slow-1hr to get entrees) and cocktails (poor excuse of a Bloody Mary) weren't so bad. Great atmosphere, the staff were very nice just very slow service.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Perfect date night. We had the suckling ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Perfect date night. We had the suckling pig, oysters, shrimp, French onion soup and the cod fritters. All were very good. If there was one tiny gripe it's that there is no sweet tea and the water was warm. The only options were dinks that didn't appeal to us or alcoholic beverages. Other than that..... An amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great atmosphere

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great atmosphere

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This place was delicious! Great drinks a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This place was delicious! Great drinks and delightful dishes!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service., wonderful selec ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food and service., wonderful selection, tasty desserts, and very helpful service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you love good drinks, best charcuteri ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

If you love good drinks, best charcuterie board in town and wonderful creative food. You will love the bull and beggar. Just a all around amazing place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Always great service, top notch cocktail ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Always great service, top notch cocktails, and delicious food at Bull and Beggar. Amazing menu of food and drink that is fun, interesting, and delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Casual, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most recently went for their "burger nig ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Most recently went for their "burger night" and it was easily the best burger I've ever had. Just goes to show how even a simple burger can be incredible with the right ingredients, prepared perfectly.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.