Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

About The Bull and Beggar

RAW BAR HAPPY HOUR 5-6 DAILY - HALF OFF OYSTERS SHRIMP AND CLAMS. Classic European cuisine, cocktail bar and raw bar set in a warm warehouse revamp in the River Arts District.

37 Paynes Way #007
Asheville, NC 28806
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm Sunday Brunch 10:30-2:30

Cross Street:
Lyman

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9443

Website:
http://www.thebullandbeggar.com/

Parking Details:
Our restaurant is located on the back side of The Wedge Studios building next to The Wedge Brewery. Parking anywhere on Paynes Way is acceptable.

Public Transit:
ART W1 and W2 to Roberts street.

Executive Chef:
Matt Dawes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bull and Beggar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (48)
Good for a Date (44)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Creative Cuisine (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Bar Seating (28)
Fun (25)
Romantic (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Casual (19)
Cozy (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Authentic (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Tapas (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Business Meals (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
People Watching (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Waterfront (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
779 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Bull & Beggar is an experience. With a variety of plates ranging from small to large. We had the lobster roll, shrimp, raclette, and the filet (with marrow). The filet was definitely the highlight (strongly recommend), while the raclette was the weakest, we felt that the dish was plated on top of too much mustard, which overpowered the other flavors. Great ambience, cool location with plenty of parking, which is important in Asheville. The other dishes were excellent, the shrimp are well seasoned, large 16/18, and cooked perfectly. The lobster roll is great also. Wonderful service. To finish the night we had the chocolate caramel desert, which was on the level of the filet.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Our anniversary dinner at Bull and Beggar was scrumptious. I abandoned my comfort zone and tried the charred octopus, which was incredibly tender and flavorful. Ambiance was perfect for a romantic evening!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 10, 2017

On Point. Fresh ingredients great staff. Eat here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Waited 40 minutes after our reservation time, which was hard with a baby. But once we were seated our waitress took great care of us and expedited our orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Robin our waitress was outstanding , and Benton cooked up a fantastic meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Highly recommend this great place. Service is wonderful but the food is out of this world good! Delicious beignets and Bloody Marys. Definitely will come back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

3 our of our party of 4 Got the signature filet
They came out rare when we ordered them medium. Waitress didn’t check back to check in so we couldn’t get them cooked up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Best raw oysters in town! Always great service and really good food. Love the Seafood Tower!!! Fun!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Fantastic place for great food and wonderful service! My husband and I have dinner here ever time we stay in Asheville.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We went to burger night last monday and it was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

excellent service with outstanding recommendations from the waitress. definitely take her advice for what to order to drink. also, order the pork rinds & thank me later ;)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Located in the River Arts District, this hard to find gem (I'm sure the locals find this place just fine) was perfect for brunch. The decor is perfect for the building and location. The brunch menu is wonderful. From the cappuccino, to the black coffee, smoked salmon plate to the croque madame, every item was just perfection.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This longtime Manhattanite thinks he hasn't had a better brunch in any place, ever. Plus, remarkable oyster selection flown in.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Asheville. Our server was amazing. The menu was on point. Dessert is a must. Mucho fuego my dude!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Awesome restaurant. So fun and cute!!! Would highly recommend! Very friendly!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Restaurant is beautiful. Service was slow, but good. Cocktails were delicious, as were the oysters. We then decided to do a variety of apps and small plates to try many things.

The hush puppies were amazing.

The lobster roll was mediocre to poor. Was watery and flavorless. Considering the price, a horrible let down.

The octopus was very good, but really stingy on the amount. Carates octopus was both tastier, less expensive, and had a much larger portion.

The poutine had some good flavors, was overly greasy, and had cold elements to the dish which we felt was weird.

Give the expense of the meal, it was overall a let down, and one the least liked meals in Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Probably the worst service. Waitress disappeared for 15-20 min at a time, almost didn’t check on water, extra drinks, how is the food. Steak was not done right and manager didn’t offer to come to speak with us but charged us for it anyways. We won’t come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2017

great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We frequent Asheville and love the food scene. This restaurant came highly recommended from locals that enjoy our other favorites in town, e.g. Curate, Rhubarb, Admiral. We were seated upstairs for brunch which was very dark. Steak and eggs served cold and waitress had an attitude when asked to return for reheating with no apology. Coffee was cold and never refilled nor were any of us asked if we wanted another round of beverages. Good bloody mary. Once heated, the steak was excellent. Burger was also very tasty. Overall attitude from staff beyond our waitress. We won't return. Too many other great restaurants in town with friendly service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Thought this was a great, cozy place to hangout for a while with friends. Very helpful staff explaining the menu since none of us had much experience with some of the items offered. Wonderful flavor and cooked perfectly.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Awesome dinner. The food is rich and decadent, but it was all delicious. The duck liver parfait was outstanding. It's as good if not better than its downtown competitors.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 22, 2017

This was a fabulous experience! Service and food were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

I would go back and have that meal again right this second. The server took great care of us, including my friend who has some food sensitivities. Sooooo good.

Tags: Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Everything was great, especially the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Bull and Beggar had a solid offering. They have a small plate menu that provides a range of flavors. We started out with oysters that were excellent. The grilled octopus was exceptional. The fried broccoli was ok but the anchovy aioli was disappointing. The close was the duck breast which was perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The staff was outstanding! They took every step to mKe sure we had a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always a favorite. One of the best restaurants in Asheville. Can not say enough good things about this place.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great night! Love The ambiance and food!! Our steak was amazing
And out service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Service was excellent but food wasn't. Lobster in lobster roll was old & fishy tasting. Filet was overcooked & potatoes tartiflette were soupy. Wont rush to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Went very early in the evening so the space was still fairly empty.
Well executed interesting food. Cool vibe, excellent drinks and good service.
Would be happy to recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Best food I've had in a while. Seriously, I could find nothing wrong with anything I ate. From the pork rinds, through the foie gras and on to the filet mignon and the caramel chocolate tart, it was equally tasty and impressive.

Sadly, service was an afterthought. We waited. And waited… and it all came eventually, but for the number of people in the restaurant and the high ratio of staff to customers, it would have been nice to have some more focused attention. Too much attention on side work and not enough on the house.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Very unique dishes. We noticed that some of the tables around us had a very attentive waitress who went over the specials, explained items on the menu & suggested drinks. Ours did none of those things. We probably would've ordered more dishes & cocktails if we had the other waitress. Overall we enjoyed our meal & would come back. I recommend the filet.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Fabulous meal as always. Our go to restaurant for a great date or raw oysters or both. Food always excels. Service is superb. Ambiance is perfect. Industrial location is classic Asheville cool. We'll be back often. Consider a great IPA at the Wedge next door before hand.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food was awesome.
Service, not so much.
She didn't pour our wine with the bottle that we ordered. Never refilled our water or wine glasss.
Waited for over 15 min post app for our server to come back and take the rest of our order. Wanted a second round of oysters. But because she took so long we missed the happy hour window..fine, no biggie. But she was just plain absent the whole time. Spent more time waiting on her than the other way around. We left after the second round of oysters. $80 tab could have been 150. But we wanted to go somewhere else that had more attentive service and a bit more options for mains. There weren't any veggie heavy meals for myself. I eat meat, but felt like lightening it up post 2 dzn oysters.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our first visit with out of town guests. Very, very impressed. The food was amazing, service was great and the owner was super charming. Definitely will be returning. Our new favorite place.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Wonderful experience. The Bull & Beggar never disappoints. Food is top notch, ambience is perfect, servers are efficient and knowledgeable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

It was freezing in there, which is kind of an ambience killer if everyone is shivering - it wasn't just us, the girls next to us were also cold. Restaurant did a marvelous thing with acoustical panels under each table to keep the noise down in this big dark and dreamy place. They have a very limited menu (few choices and all very fatty) , but I gotta say, I went on a Monday and it's an unadvertised BURGER NIGHT. Not on the menu, and honestly, one of the best burgers I've had in years and I think it was $10. Thin double patties done right vs a thick burger. My friend got the duck breast, and while delicious, the knives weren't sharp enough to cut it. The octopus was very $ and not a very sizeable portion. 1 of the legs. It was DELICIOUS and served with an amazing sauce, but no bread to sop it up. Cocktails were imaginative and delicious. The proportions of the dishes didn't make a lot of sense unless you knew what to order. There were lots of $5-$6 bites, but had no idea if they were 2 bites or a plate. The Duck Breast Entrée was HUGE and $30, so you couldn't have eaten anything else. The Octopus was $14 and scant so you would have needed 3 more appetizers to round out something shy of a dinner. Bottom line, ask questions so you can plan out your shared experience without over or under ordering. When I asked our server, she said there were many ways to dine there, but none were clear to me from reading the menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I have eaten there many times and it has always been spot on. Creative menu, great service and fabulous food....what more could you want!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was delicious however it's quite pricey. NewYork prices in Asheville. It's a nice place to try, it will not be my go to. Also, we had a reservation, we were ~10 minutes late, out table wasn't ready for another ~15 minutes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This place is such an exciting find... The building is super cool. The waitstaff were friendly and helpful. The food is 100% amazing, great menu, with unusual but well thought out dishes.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.