Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

About The Bull and Beggar

RAW BAR HAPPY HOUR 5-6 DAILY - HALF OFF OYSTERS SHRIMP AND CLAMS. Classic European cuisine, cocktail bar and raw bar set in a warm warehouse revamp in the River Arts District.

37 Paynes Way #007
Asheville, NC 28806
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm Sunday Brunch 10:30-2:30

Cross Street:
Lyman

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9443

Website:
http://www.thebullandbeggar.com/

Parking Details:
Our restaurant is located on the back side of The Wedge Studios building next to The Wedge Brewery. Parking anywhere on Paynes Way is acceptable.

Public Transit:
ART W1 and W2 to Roberts street.

Executive Chef:
Matt Dawes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bull and Beggar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Creative Cuisine (39)
See All
Special Occasion (35)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Romantic (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Fun (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Casual (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Authentic (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Cozy (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Tapas (11)
Seasonal (10)
Business Meals (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great Beer (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (5)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Waterfront (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
757 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 hours ago

great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome dinner. The food is rich and decadent, but it was all delicious. The duck liver parfait was outstanding. It's as good if not better than its downtown competitors.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

This was a fabulous experience! Service and food were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I would go back and have that meal again right this second. The server took great care of us, including my friend who has some food sensitivities. Sooooo good.

Tags: Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

Bull and Beggar had a solid offering. They have a small plate menu that provides a range of flavors. We started out with oysters that were excellent. The grilled octopus was exceptional. The fried broccoli was ok but the anchovy aioli was disappointing. The close was the duck breast which was perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The staff was outstanding! They took every step to mKe sure we had a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always a favorite. One of the best restaurants in Asheville. Can not say enough good things about this place.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great night! Love The ambiance and food!! Our steak was amazing
And out service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Service was excellent but food wasn't. Lobster in lobster roll was old & fishy tasting. Filet was overcooked & potatoes tartiflette were soupy. Wont rush to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Best food I've had in a while. Seriously, I could find nothing wrong with anything I ate. From the pork rinds, through the foie gras and on to the filet mignon and the caramel chocolate tart, it was equally tasty and impressive.

Sadly, service was an afterthought. We waited. And waited… and it all came eventually, but for the number of people in the restaurant and the high ratio of staff to customers, it would have been nice to have some more focused attention. Too much attention on side work and not enough on the house.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Very unique dishes. We noticed that some of the tables around us had a very attentive waitress who went over the specials, explained items on the menu & suggested drinks. Ours did none of those things. We probably would've ordered more dishes & cocktails if we had the other waitress. Overall we enjoyed our meal & would come back. I recommend the filet.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Fabulous meal as always. Our go to restaurant for a great date or raw oysters or both. Food always excels. Service is superb. Ambiance is perfect. Industrial location is classic Asheville cool. We'll be back often. Consider a great IPA at the Wedge next door before hand.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food was awesome.
Service, not so much.
She didn't pour our wine with the bottle that we ordered. Never refilled our water or wine glasss.
Waited for over 15 min post app for our server to come back and take the rest of our order. Wanted a second round of oysters. But because she took so long we missed the happy hour window..fine, no biggie. But she was just plain absent the whole time. Spent more time waiting on her than the other way around. We left after the second round of oysters. $80 tab could have been 150. But we wanted to go somewhere else that had more attentive service and a bit more options for mains. There weren't any veggie heavy meals for myself. I eat meat, but felt like lightening it up post 2 dzn oysters.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our first visit with out of town guests. Very, very impressed. The food was amazing, service was great and the owner was super charming. Definitely will be returning. Our new favorite place.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Wonderful experience. The Bull & Beggar never disappoints. Food is top notch, ambience is perfect, servers are efficient and knowledgeable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

It was freezing in there, which is kind of an ambience killer if everyone is shivering - it wasn't just us, the girls next to us were also cold. Restaurant did a marvelous thing with acoustical panels under each table to keep the noise down in this big dark and dreamy place. They have a very limited menu (few choices and all very fatty) , but I gotta say, I went on a Monday and it's an unadvertised BURGER NIGHT. Not on the menu, and honestly, one of the best burgers I've had in years and I think it was $10. Thin double patties done right vs a thick burger. My friend got the duck breast, and while delicious, the knives weren't sharp enough to cut it. The octopus was very $ and not a very sizeable portion. 1 of the legs. It was DELICIOUS and served with an amazing sauce, but no bread to sop it up. Cocktails were imaginative and delicious. The proportions of the dishes didn't make a lot of sense unless you knew what to order. There were lots of $5-$6 bites, but had no idea if they were 2 bites or a plate. The Duck Breast Entrée was HUGE and $30, so you couldn't have eaten anything else. The Octopus was $14 and scant so you would have needed 3 more appetizers to round out something shy of a dinner. Bottom line, ask questions so you can plan out your shared experience without over or under ordering. When I asked our server, she said there were many ways to dine there, but none were clear to me from reading the menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I have eaten there many times and it has always been spot on. Creative menu, great service and fabulous food....what more could you want!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was delicious however it's quite pricey. NewYork prices in Asheville. It's a nice place to try, it will not be my go to. Also, we had a reservation, we were ~10 minutes late, out table wasn't ready for another ~15 minutes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This place is such an exciting find... The building is super cool. The waitstaff were friendly and helpful. The food is 100% amazing, great menu, with unusual but well thought out dishes.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Nice place - good food - great, warm, friendly service. Much of the menu was pretty rich - tasty, delicious, fresh - but rich. My fish was swimming in butter. And it is completely a la carte, so the cost adds up. A good meal, though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent food, friendly servers. Bull and Beggar is my current Asheville fav.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Amazing food and drink as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My favorite place for Sun brunch!!! Always outstanding food and service. Scotch eggs, croque madam....etc delicious😍

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was phenomenal! Service was slow, our app was out before our cocktails. The filet was cooked perfectly and Marsala sauce very well done. The mushrooms and creamed corn were out of this world, a must if you like mushrooms. Overall, great experience and the food will bring us back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Berkshire)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was good but the portions were quite small. I love the restaurant but it can get a bit loud if there are some boisterous customers! Really trendy and fun, loved it both times I've been!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 25, 2017

One of the very best places to dine in Asheville. Half price oysters till 6:00 a bonus.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We always enjoy Bull and Beggar. It does not disappoint. Took my best friend and we took our time and enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Hush puppies with whipped maple butter and octopus - went Tuesday and going again tonight..... just cant stay away - eating same tonight!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Our experience was great! The ambiance was stunning. Our table was kind of small as it didn't fit more than the charcuterie but our server set us up with a side stool for the rest which worked just fine. The service was on point. Our server was friendly, maintained good eye contact, and was very accommodating as well as attentive. The charcuterie was phenomenal. The best I've ever had. I would go back just for that. We also got oysters which were not remarkable but decent. The price overall was a little high for a regular dinner spot but the charcuterie was worth every penny. Will definitely hit up every time I'm in Asheville for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

A few minutes after we got our check we were asked to leave because they neede our table. We order as soon as they were ready and hung out 0 minutes after our meal. TACKY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Highly recommend it!. Compliments to the chef on the pork chops. The waitress was extremely professional. Love the atmosphere!.. definitely will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Always amazing food and service. One of our favs in AVL!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Creative food and high quality ingredients. Really great taste pairings with ingredients and flavors. Only complaint was limited menu offerings. Creative cocktails and good of wine list also.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Already sent a note to the restaurant to update their online menu - there are veggie options here - bluefoot mushrooms with truffled creamed corn - as well as the fabulous filet mignon served with bone marrow (totally not veggie)

Service not so great - the drinks and food didn't quite match up. But the flavors of the food made up for that.

Returning for more!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We are fortunate to have dined at some of the best restaurants in the country and we have never had a better beef filet. The Chef hits it out of the park everytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We love B&B! Make sure to get a reservation if you don't have time to wait next door at the WEDGE Brewery next door:) French inspired menu with one of the most delicious cheese burger in all the land!

Great seafood & local rotating sourced cheese selections. Menu does change often so make sure to try something new each time. Service is on point and servers are very knowledgeable about chef's preparation of all menu items.

Pro Tip: Try the absinthe service if you are looking to splurge a bit on drinks:) They have a sugar cube drip set-up that is the first I've seen in the region.

I'm so happy we moved down the street in Chicken Hill! Happy dining!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

As ALWAYS, yummy food and excellent service! We are never disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had Sunday lunch with our daughter and love the menu. It is an eclectic stylish restaurant with a small bar at the front and upstairs dining for that romantic occasion. My husband and I will return for a dinner date.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My husband and I were in Asheville for a romantic getaway and we heard wonderful things about Bull and Beggar. We sat in the loft area and it was much more quiet than the main dining area. Our server was attentive, but not all over us (which is what I prefer). We picked several things off of the menu, pomme frites, hay roasted carrots, pork chop and lobster tails, which easily filled us up after some cocktails. Everything was delicious and I would definitely eat hear more often if we weren't from out of town.

I'm sure the negative reviews I saw were from people who didn't look at the menu before stopping in or perhaps they had never been to a restaurant with small sharing plates before. I realize that this place is a little unconventional and adventurous for some, but that's what makes it so fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

My husband and I had a lovely dinner here. The octopus was by far the stand out! Very tender and tasted delicious with the romesco. The bone in ribeye was flavorful, but not quite as tender as I was expecting. Small bites! Dessert was fabulous- the lavender ice cream was another stand out. It was my husband's 50th birthday- I was hoping the OpenTable note and mention to the server would have at least gotten him a candle in the dessert. A little disappointed with that. Overall, very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.