Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

About The Bull and Beggar

RAW BAR HAPPY HOUR 5-6 DAILY - HALF OFF OYSTERS SHRIMP AND CLAMS. Classic European cuisine, cocktail bar and raw bar set in a warm warehouse revamp in the River Arts District.

37 Paynes Way #007
Asheville, NC 28806
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm Sunday Brunch 11:30-3:00

Cross Street:
Lyman

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9443

Website:
http://www.thebullandbeggar.com/

Parking Details:
Our restaurant is located on the back side of The Wedge Studios building next to The Wedge Brewery. Parking anywhere on Paynes Way is acceptable.

Public Transit:
ART W1 and W2 to Roberts street.

Executive Chef:
Matt Dawes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bull and Beggar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Creative Cuisine (40)
See All
Local Ingredients (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Special Occasion (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (19)
Authentic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Casual (18)
Fun (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Cozy (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Great Beer (8)
Seasonal (8)
People Watching (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Historic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Waterfront (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Best homemade ginger ale! We went for the 1/2 price oysters and clams .oysters were out of this world 🌎 clams were not.
The Turkish coffee and beignet dessert weas worth the trip alone!
What a great place to eat.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was our first visit to B&B, but won't be our last. Even though the service was a little slow AND my husband's filet was lukewarm (and he didn't feel like sending it back because of the pace of the meal), we will still return - - because everything else was just that great! Fun area of Asheville, too. Nice drink menu. Raw bar. Def worth a visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Not a lot of drink options. All of the foods we tried were bland and tasteless. The waitress didn't write down our order (I'm assuming to look professional) and then forgot half of it which we never received. Very over priced and over hyped for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fantastic food and service. Attentive but not rushed in any way. Dont come here if you want to "just eat" and take off to something else. Definitely for people who enjoy slowing down and savoring...food, drink, company, ambiance, being in the moment. We shared the colossal ribeye which was heavenly, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Good date night restaurant. Special and understandable. Lovely service. Yes, they deserve at least 20% tip 'cause they give 120%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The Monday Double Cheeseburger was very good. Great atmosphere and prompt friendly service.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Waitress not very attentive made us feel rushed, never offered us the specials of the night, Monday night burger special, also never offered us dessert. Besides the poor service from the waitress, understandable everyone has an off night here and there, the food and ambience was above and beyond all expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We enjoyed another fine meal at The Bull and Beggar, especially loved the ramps butter for artichokes. Very yummy. The menu is small, but there are always some interesting options. Great service, every time we have been.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Felt like it was good just overpriced for what we got

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Wonderful service, great cocktails to start the meal off, a fabulous wine list, and amazingly executed tasty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I've grown up in Asheville and lived here for most of my life. I am familiar with the fine dining in Asheville (and around the world), and I was thrilled to have the opportunity to out to the Bull and Beggar with my family for my birthday.

And what a disappointment it was. Our server was probably the most condescending, dismissive, and uncaring server I've ever had for a reputable restaurant. I don't know if it was because I was with my family, and that they didn't look hip enough for her tastes, or what exactly her problem was. But she had no problem doting on the couple beside us. It took her a good 20 minutes to arrive at our table, where after taking our drink orders, she rushed us to make an order and then pressured us to have everything come out at once.

The oysters were good. Fresh, spiced with onions. The tartar beef was decent, a little bland, but fine. The octopus was interesting. The sea bass I had was overbuttered. The mezcal drink was good. I ordered a glass of white wine, after asking what the waitress recommended (she begrudgingly recommended a SB), it didn't show up until after the meal was done.

For a $200 meal, we ensured that our server got 10%. This was a dinner that, while not as good as Curate or Limones, I would have been content with the meal had the service been decent. But because of our server, she turned it into a terrible meal.

I would like an explanation from the management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We went to the B & B for the Monday night special. The place was fun and we had a very good meal. The two things I didn't like are the wet, muddy parking lot and the high price of wine. So pave the parking lot and drop the wine prices and this is one great restaurant. ptf

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always exploring all the local options that asheville's food escene hast to offer and being a BIG fan from its partner restaurant THE ADMIRAL, just got a recommendation to try this new one. The experience couldn't go better. So far one of the best Restaurants in town. Now one of my favorites.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was amazing! Our server was lovely - explained things thoroughly and gave recommendations as this was our first time. Cool place - nice but comfy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Another good meal at B&B. Two features of note: first, they have marrow bones (sometimes available as an app, this time as an accompaniment to filet); and second, they generally have several kinds of oysters available, posted on a blackboard.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

When I made the reservation I was told I was lucky to get one at 5:30. We left at 7:00, the place was never more than half full.
Oysters were warm, full of shells and the entire single lemon wedge for 2 dozen was hilarious!
Our drinks sat empty for 15 minutes and our waitress was Luke warm at best, acted like we were bothering them.
Over all not a great experience, not good either!
Would not recommend!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Very interesting but limited menu. Food was well prepared. On this particular occasion, our service was really poor. I have hadgreat service on previous occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

With only a 9 p.m., reservation slot available, we grabbed it. We arrived a few minutes early and were directed toward the bar to wait. There's nowhere to wait as it was pouring rain outside. We were at the bar for more than 30 minutes. The bartender never asked us if we wanted a drink or an app. We really wanted both while we waited as it was late and we were famished. The cheese board was lame. The menu was lame. The raw oysters were decent. The filet was okay. The prices were ridiculous. We're sticking with the Admiral from here on out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We really enjoyed the food and service at the Bull and Beggar.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fabulous as usual! Always wonderful food, service and surroundings. I bring friends and family to the resturaunt when ever I can.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Bull and Beggar had a great atmosphere and the food was especially good. The wait staff could have been friendlier and more attentive. I had to introduce myself to the waiter and find the hostess myself. Overall, I would recommend it for the food, but I would warn future patrons to come semi full because even though food was good the portions left much to be desired.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I wanted to try out a few things. got myself some oyster and they had quite a few on the menu (about 5 or 6 kinds), i tried 3 (can't remember which) but all 3 were awesome. Then I tried octopus, which was pretty amazing. came with ayoli and some white beans, all very tasty. then finally we moved forward to the entree, and I shared a dried aged rib eye. OH MY GOT!!! the thing had over 30 ounces, and was PLENTY to share. The meat, well it was awesome! We spent around 100 buck per couple, with 1 bottle of wine, and it was well worth it!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great experience overall. We especially enjoyed the half price seafood cold bar during happy hour. Disappointing that the wine list doesn't include more approachable (i.e. non-French, affordable) selections. All the food was delicious, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I went to Bull and Beggar with my brother, my son and his girlfriend. We had the oysters to start, and they were wonderful! the mignonette was great, but the oysters were fresh and had so much flavor. We also really loved the foie gras. We ate in the upstairs room, which is probably not my first choice, as the service can be a little more sketchy than in the main dining area. It's hard for servers to go up and down those stairs, and to serve all the tables they have up there. Overall, though, it was a great experience and I plan to go again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Not an everyday go-to, but an impressive spot with a strong wine and beer menu. Food dishes are priced out pretty cleverly where you can easily split one expensive main and a few smaller dishes and wind up with an appropriate bill-to-delicious ratio.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Son and girlfriend visiting. Really cool space. Great waiter and the food was remarkable.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This was our second trip to Bull and Beggar, and my willingness to recommend it to a friend is with the caveat of, 'sit at the bar.' The food is excellent, it is a great space and location. However, the meal moved at a glacial pace, either by design or because the waitstaff and/or kitchen mismanaged our experience. There were warnings that items ordered could take 25 minutes to prepare, but it took almost 30 minutes to get salads, and a meal for 4 that consisted of two platters (expected to take 25 minutes), two salads, two entrees and two deserts took almost 3 hours to complete.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Phenomenal brunch on Sunday! The fishing camp breakfast is divine. Seared trout with fried potatoes, hollandaise, and bacon - yes please. The steak and eggs were also cooked perfectly. Super charming space and delicious grapefruit mimosas. We will be back very soon!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tapas, Organic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This place is phenomenal in every way, and the service is always on point. In such a restaurant mecca, odds alone say one of every five to seven meals will have bad service. I've frequented this place dozens of times over the past few years and the service is always above standard.
Of course, the food is amazing. Very eclectic and locally inspired.
The setting is open and comfortable.
And the drinks are to die for.
It's very clear that The Bull & Beggar puts their heart into it and lets the experience do the talking. No glamour and glitz. Straight up unabated dining pleasure.
Enjoy

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We went on Monday which is burger night. Burger and fries for $9.99. Best burger I ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Excellent, exquisitely fresh (meaty) fare, gourmet sides, and top-notch drinks. If you want something non-alcoholic, they actually mix the best (most interesting) Italian sodas in town as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

If you like raw food, high prices and marginal service you've found the place! Sells itself as hip and trendy but is really just hype

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This place never disappoints. Food, cocktails, and service are always on point.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The dinner was amazing true to the NC and European cuisine it was very good! We had really great server, her name escapes me- taller with blonde hair. She was informative, attentive without hovering and great with descriptions and suggestions- including the wine paired with dinner. The aged ribeye was the best steak I have had in a long time but huge-be prepared to take half home! We didn't have room for the dessert but they looked good walking by. I appreciated the manager coming by to help fill waters and not just to ask "how was dinner?" Gentleman with dark hair and slim build. We did drop a penny or two but all was well worth it for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We enjoyed the atmosphere immensely. Service was fantastic and the food fabulous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The Monday burger deal is great; especially because the food is so delicious. The only slight disappointment was that the endive salad (while tasty) was quite a small portion; particularly given its price.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is a great find for casual dining. The food was great and served by very friendly staff. We will definitely be going back again and will bring our friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

My husband and I joined a friend here for dinner, before a show at the Grey Eagle. Everyone was super friendly and the service was some of the best we've experienced in Asheville (it's great when the waitstaff obviously loves the food and knows the menu like the back of her hand).

Great beer and wine selection and super interesting cocktails. I started with a cocktail, then the waitress made great wine suggestions from there. Their menu is very unique to Asheville and great for sharing, allowing us to try most of the things on the menu (fun). They have the best oysters in town (a selection of several), which is funny considering we have a restaurant named the Oyster House. . .

We had not been back to Bull & Beggar since trying it soon after they opened, because of a weirdly passive-aggressive waitress experience and the food was kinda meh. So glad we came back and gave it another try! Everything from the blood orange mezcal cocktail to the oysters to the terrine to the chocolate salted caramel dessert thing was amazing. However, it was the amazing service that put it over the top and will bring us back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Service was a little slow. We had 3 courses but would have liked for them to go a little faster.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This place is amazing all the way around!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.