About The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden

312 Pearl Pkwy., Bldg. 3
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Boiler House Texas Grill & Wine Garden is a true Texas original. Situated in the historic Pearl Brewery complex on the San Antonio River Walk, this wine-centric restaurant occupies the former “boiler house” which powered the adjacent brewery. The menu focuses on grilled items from local farms and markets, with a focus on “Texas ranch-style” cuisine. These delicacies are paired with extraordinary wines from around the world (all available by the glass, bottle and “to-go”), full bar, live music and a casual yet energetic atmosphere. The unique list of wines boasts some of the lowest prices in the area.

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco. Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 10am-10pm
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-Midnight
Saturday 10am-Midnight

Cross Street:
Karnes St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 354-4644

Website:
http://www.boilerhousesa.com/

Entertainment:
Live music

Catering:
Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Executive Chef:
Jeff White

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco.

The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Casual (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Business Meals (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Historic (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great Beer (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Fun (6)
Romantic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Cozy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dancing (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I really wanted to like this place, but. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

I really wanted to like this place, but.... While its at the fantastic Pearl venue and the building is interesting and unique, the restaurant seemed overwhelmed in many respects from how long it took to get a drink to having to ask for linens and flatware, and more. While the cuisine was creative, the food could have been hotter, and the service could definitely have been better. We ordered the stuffed bass for two, and at $65 it should have been something to remember - it was creatively designed by the chef, but not executed well by the kitchen, it was not hot enough nor did it have the signature sauce described on the menu (they substituted what tasted like bottled tartar sauce). I would only return to this restaurant for a drink and nibbles -- it is not a first rate restaurant warranting a $65 price tag for a signature dish.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We went to celebrate Valentine's Day the ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

We went to celebrate Valentine's Day the weekend after and it was awesome. The kitchen was running behind, but the waiter made up for it. He was more than accommodating to us. We didn't even have to say anything about the wait. The waitor apologized and offered free dessert, which is always a bonus. Anyways, I am gluten free and was able to to have everything I wanted. They have gluten free bread and an amazing bun! I had the burger and truffle barrata!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was great and our server was very n ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great and our server was very nice.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good but a little pricey for the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall good but a little pricey for the portion size. Bathroom dirty and trash can overflowing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Tyler is the best server. They were unfo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Tyler is the best server. They were unfortunately out of he bone marrow, but the cheese fondue was to die for. While I've had better ceviche and flank steak, but the ambiance and service more than made up for it. Don't get the dark chocolate peanut butter candy bar unless you love PB! Def still coming back for that bone marrow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food and very good beer select ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good food and very good beer selection in a saved old building.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Flank steak came out completely rare. I ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Flank steak came out completely rare. I know it should be rare to medium rare but server didn't say a word about how the chef typically prepares it. There is usually a little conversation about that at any decent restaurant. When I pointed it out, server just said "yeah I see that", asked if I wanted to warm it up, I told him just to forget it. Not interested in warmed up flank steak. Thx. Seated up against wall in tiny room next to low hanging TV on full bright. Table near us constantly asking for server as well. Was a bad night at Boiler Room. Mixed drink was STRONG so didn't really mind that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great find! Was in the area for a confer ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great find! Was in the area for a conference and it was the best place we ate at all weekend. Leave the touristy area of the Riverwalk and try the Pearl district, the cocktails and steak were worth the uber ride!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food ok; wine way too pricey; bathrooms ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food ok; wine way too pricey; bathrooms disgusting, service very good.

Tags: Dancing, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A great spot in the middle of The Pearl. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 8, 2017

A great spot in the middle of The Pearl. Always some interesting new wines and new entrees. It is a little loud for quiet conversation, but you don't talk much, because you are always eating or sipping!

Tags: Late-night Find, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had great service. I had to give my f ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had great service. I had to give my food back on account that I didn't know I could not have pink meat being pregnant. Our waiter was super nice about it and we were checked up on various times that the food came our well. I was so embarrassed that I had to ask for well done. The service is always great when we go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks, service, atmosphere, and appeti ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Drinks, service, atmosphere, and appetizer were great. Stuffed quail and pork shank we didn't like for $30 a piece.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Evening meal with friends/business colle ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Evening meal with friends/business colleagues. Great small plates to share amongst the table. Plenty of gluten-free options to pass around. All the food we ordered was exceptional and enjoyed by everyone at the table! Local beer selection was a pleasant surprise. Dessert was a peanut butter delight! One last note: our server Dan was wonderfully informed, efficient, and fun! Our visitor from Minnesota truly enjoyed the building, ambiance, food and the entirety of the Pearl area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic, People Watching, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I celebrated with our son a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My wife and I celebrated with our son and daughter-in-law for their wedding anniversary at the Boiler House in late December. We had such a marvelous time we decided to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary there on the 31st of January. Once again we were delighted with the service, the food and wine and the fact we could share conversation and actually hear each other. Our anniversary celebration was a delight!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two out of our four plates were served w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Two out of our four plates were served with cold meat. My order was taken wrong and I received quail appetizer rather than stuffed quail. When we pointed out the cold food the waitress brought us a to go box. I will not be returning. I had a customer and his wife and was very embarrassed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Although the host was not in a great moo ...

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Although the host was not in a great mood our server was. The food was outstanding. Ribeye was delicious. Quail leg appetizer was amazing.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our group enjoyed dinner. They had GF op ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our group enjoyed dinner. They had GF options, great variety of menu items and a vibrant atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was good, but the best part was ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was good, but the best part was probably the grilled cheese and tomato basil soup. The other food had too much of something. The balancing of flavors needed a little work. The grits had too much butter and cream, the salad was unimpressive, the steak was cooked well, but the mix of sauces was a little shocking to the palate. The food was expensive and for the flavors, we were unimpressed. However, our waiter was very attentive and the ambience were fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice place and great service. A little ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Nice place and great service. A little on the expensive side, but I think all Pearl Brewery places tend to follow a trend and charge more because they feel they have to, it's the thing to do I guess. But, it is a nice place, the food of course is good, and pretty food, as places like this tend to do. So, for a long lunch, or dinner, relax, enjoy, take your time, then go for a long walk on the river. If you are just hungry and in a hurry, go grab a burger down the street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for Restaurant Week. Service was ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week. Service was a bit slow. Beet salad was excellent. Egg Sandwich was ok...all the flavors didn't go well. Potato salad was delicious. The Bourbon Pecan Pie was just ok and man they were NOT generous with the sliver they gave us. Out of all the places we went for Restaurant Week in The Pearl, (4) I would give The Boiler House the lowest rating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great for any kind of outing! The food i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great for any kind of outing! The food is incredible and the cocktails are delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but to get served drink to ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was good but to get served drink took a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We requested a table that allowed us to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We requested a table that allowed us to talk and hear one another. The host found the perfect table! We enjoyed cocktails and the charcuterie platter. Nice wine list. The wedge salad was large and fresh. The filet was flavorful, although ordered medium rare, served medium. The sides, roasted beets, mashed potatoes, and mushrooms were enough for 4 people to split and were flavorful. We liked our meal. However, the bill was over $100.00 per person, before tip. This atmosphere and food did not measure up to the cost.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great experience! The food was fantastic ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great experience! The food was fantastic and the portion sized are quite large. It is pricey, but worth it given the quality and amount of food you get. We had the bone marrow spread (very decadent). My husband's steak was fantastic and my foie gras burger was absolutely amazing. Not easy on the waist line but oh so delicious! Our reservation was early in the evening and it was not noisy at all. I can see how it could get loud if there was a big game on though. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had a wonderful lunch at t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful lunch at the Boiler Room! Parking was easy (and free) , our service was excellent, and the food was good too. My wife had a patty melt which was so big she brought half of it home, and my pork shoulder schnitzel with spaetzel was ok but not as good as the real German ones I've had before. I'd rate this place a 9 out of 10, a do-again!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Boiler House for restaura ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We went to the Boiler House for restaurant week. I have to say that the appetizer was absolutely to die for. It was called----Bacon Eggs and Taleggio Grits

Anson Mills taleggio grits, cured pork belly lardons, poached egg, olive oil, black truffle. We literally licked the plate. Our other 2 courses, were good, but again, that appetizer. Heavenly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to lunch for Restaurant Week. W ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We went to lunch for Restaurant Week. We were very pleased with the special menu as well as regular menu. Happy Hour options were amazing. The quality of service, food and beverages were superb! Will definitely return. Special shout out to our server - Kyle!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Puff pastry for Restaurant Week fare lun ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Puff pastry for Restaurant Week fare lunch was black on the bottom. Menu said ice cream with tart. Didn't happen. Service commendable.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Fun brunch!

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fun brunch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shared the 32 oz. ribeye-a bit too fatty ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Shared the 32 oz. ribeye-a bit too fatty! Needed more carrots, potatoes, and mushrooms to justify big price tag. Lobster bits in mac and cheese were small and tough. Interesting experience. Didn't like dessert, but no one asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Party of 4 for brunch and we had slower ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Party of 4 for brunch and we had slower than normal service and all food served was less than the desired temperature. Shame because we have eaten here in the past and enjoyed the experience and we brought friends from Chicago. Even though the food was tasty it was not up to standard.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was tasty but over-priced even for ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was tasty but over-priced even for New Year's dining - $135 without wine. Ribeye steak was cooked well and flavorful. Salmon tasted fresh. However, the popcorn grits were disappointing - dry, lumpy and lacking flavor, and the cheese and charcuterie plate needed more than 2 ounces of meat.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Went out with good friends. Busy, but to ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went out with good friends. Busy, but took care of all our needs. My friend said his octopus was the best he had ever had, and the rest of the food was very good. We did get one bottle of wine that was average, but our second was primo.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything from the moment we walked in ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything from the moment we walked in was impeccable. Our waitress was great walking is through the highlights as this was our first time in. The reviews did not disappoint. Exceptional !

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time to the Boiler Hous ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was our first time to the Boiler House, and we loved it! Industrial but comfortable..... i would recommend dinner .. the lighting at night really added to the ambience. We had drinks and a couple of starters. The beef tenderloin was cooked to perfection and paired wonderfully with tomato jam. So good we ordered 2 of those! We follow it up with very plump and rich pan seared scallops.... The wine list was broad and offered a nice variety. The FOH staff was inviting and pleasant right from the front door. I highly recommend this experience and We will definitely be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool location in Pearl area, band playin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Cool location in Pearl area, band playing outside in courtyard. Web search indicated top 5 USDA prime steaks. Good steak served barely warm on a thin cold plate. Thus, Flemings is the call not hear. One of our guest had the Kobe burger and said was off-the-hook. Would go back for burger and beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Always great. Great drinks, great food - ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always great. Great drinks, great food - brunch, lunch, dinner. Everything on the menu is so delicious you can't to wrong. This time we did vanilla short ribs (to die for) and pulled pork

sandwich. If in doubt, this place will always please!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, great service and warm a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious food, great service and warm atmosphere!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our plate was very well prepared and was ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our plate was very well prepared and was delicious! Service was quick and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went on a Monday night, and they weren't ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Went on a Monday night, and they weren't that busy. However our waiter apparently had every table or was hiding in the kitchen. We would have drank more and stayed longer if we could have gotten waited on. Appetizer of Oysters Casino was great, main course of salmon was sub-par, and quail was ok. Noise level was pathetic, they sat us in bar area and football game was on tv, so other guests were extremely loud. I go to the pearl for upscale dining, not the sports bar scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.