Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden

Boiler House Texas Grill & Wine Garden is a true Texas original. Situated in the historic Pearl Brewery complex on the San Antonio River Walk, this wine-centric restaurant occupies the former “boiler house” which powered the adjacent brewery. The menu focuses on grilled items from local farms and markets, with a focus on “Texas ranch-style” cuisine. These delicacies are paired with extraordinary wines from around the world (all available by the glass, bottle and “to-go”), full bar, live music and a casual yet energetic atmosphere. The unique list of wines boasts some of the lowest prices in the area.

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco. Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

312 Pearl Pkwy., Bldg. 3
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 10am-10pm
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-Midnight
Saturday 10am-Midnight

Cross Street:
Karnes St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 354-4644

Website:
http://www.boilerhousesa.com/

Entertainment:
Live music

Catering:
Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Executive Chef:
Jeff White

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco.

The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Great Beer (7)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Scenic View (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Romantic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 7 days ago

Boiler House never disappoints. The service and friendliness of the staff always make me and my guest feel good about stepping through their doors. The lunch menu is a great value with some truly spectacular options and we always appreciate the gluten-free options and their willingness to work with our dietary needs and request. All together we are hooked on the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

The atmosphere was quite nice, food was great, our server forgot our iced teas at the beginning, but the restaurant looked packed so she probably had alot on her plate. The visit was great overall, they let us know before hand of the dishes they could not serve that night and went from there. Definetly recommend for a tasteful dinner if your looking to splurge.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 9, 2017

I was very disappointed. The hostess was excellent. The server wasn't attentive. I love this place and come quite often. I was trying to surprise a friend and the food this time for horrible! The drinks were even horrible. This is the first time i have been disappointed. My meat was very dry and my collegue's steak was order medium well and it was medium. She didn't even eat it. I spent over $100 and this was a horrible experience. I don't think i will be coming back again. I usually bring a lot of outer town guest here, but i don't see that happening again. The server didn't even offer a discount!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Don’t know what’s changed but the food this visit was not as good as in the past. My husband’s food came out cold and hard. Had to send it back. When a new dish was brought it had gone from 5 scallops to a measly 3. My oxtail gnocchi, which I had raced about, was just OK. Not the creamy dish I had only a month before. Our server was great but great service doesn’t make up for pricey but poor quality food. Won’t be back☹️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

One of our favorite places when in San Antonio. Outstanding steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Good server. Bland food (went with server and hostess recommendations).
Note of concern: Asked for better table upstairs on a Monday at 6pm with reservation. Reply was they had 2 large groups upstairs...went upstairs 15 minutes later and there were empty tables. Not good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great location, delicious food, and friendly staff! Will definitely recommend to friends and family!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Loved the building the service and the food was to die for!!!! Wine was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Outstanding food and wine selections. Stephanie was spot-on with her recommendations and exemplary customer service. A very memorable evening!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The staff made our anniversary very memorable. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Amazing brunch, great food all around, even on the kids menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We really enjoyed the Boiler House at the Pearl Brewery. The location was very cool and a great spot not too far from the Riverwalk. We were there on a Sunday morning and enjoyed the local farmers market that was in progress as well.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The transformation of this old brewery complex is absolutely amazing. The food and atmosphere at The Boiler House were great as well. Before visiting, we read several comments online from others who had complaints about the service, so we were a little trepidatious about the type of service we may encounter. Ultimately, we had zero complaints about the service. Our waiter was attentive and did a great job of managing several tables at once.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Steaks over cooked, entres delivered several minutes apart, billed more than indicated in menus, service barely adequate. Not coming back folks. Pretty much sucked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Went for Restaurant Week lunch - food was good but there was only one choice for appetizer so between the hummus and egg salad sandwich there is just too much bread. A lot of food for the $15 but not sure I would order off this menu again. Did appreciate the to go boxes for 1/2 sandwich and dessert - and left a lot of hummus and bread.

Appreciated our waiter allowing us to have time to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Military reunion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We ordered from the restaurant week menu but specifically asked the food not come out to quickly. We were assured our 3 courses would be paced. We were barely done with our second course when our entrees were served. When I said something to our waiter. He just looked at me and walked away. Disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Everytime in San Antonio this o
Is one our go to restaurants.
Outstanding food.....Great service....Fabulous atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

we went for lunch at culinary week and it was delicious. The only comment is that the hummus was way too salty and therefore, we couldn't eat more than a few bites. but the chicken and the brownie were delicious. and i always enjoy the bone marrow there--the best!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

This was a great place to get good food at more than reasonable prices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Service was great, love the ambiance and the history of the building. 8 ounce Filet was $49 and yet both steaks were served over cooked and not hot, the butter on top wouldn't even melt. We ordered medium and both steaks were medium well to well done. The special pork shank was amazing however. Given that steaks are a main item on the menu, one would think they would be properly cooked. It was a Monday night and not very busy. The bread pudding for dessert was fantastic. The brussels sprouts were cooked with some type of salami/meat - hard to identify and was too salty. The bone marrow had a tomato jam on the side and that was incredible.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food and drinks. Love the atmosphere and the location at The Pearl Brewery!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Try the hummus appetiser & the pork shank entree! Both recent (& welcome) additions to the menu.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Went for brunch. Food was okay, not great. Had the BLT Mac and egg and it didn't have much flavor at all. Also the restaurant marker us as a no-show on Open Table even though we were there. Used to love this restaurant but haven't been wowed the last few times I've gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food tasted excellent, but the price is way, way overboard. For $20 you can make the steak selection to "surf-n-turf". What we got was about a thumb size piece of lobster cut into 10 tiny pieces...you had to look carefully just to find it. The steak itself was 4-5 small slices. If you like pricing what you would expect in a $1,500 dollar a night 5 star hotel in Palm Beach, come here. Their special of the night $15 drink was tiny and was so bad, no one at the table wanted to finish it. Again, the food tasted great, but the pricing-to-serving ratio was the worst I've ever experienced in San Antonio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My husband and I selected the Boiler House from several great choices at the Pearl to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere within the rehabilitated historic structure was perfect - a nice combination of new with the old. The dishes we tried were all full of flavor and generous in size. Service was exceptional. We will be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Visited this restaurant for the first time even though we had talked about trying it out many times over last several years. This is not a place we would return to. There are so many great restaurants in San Antonio, Boiler House would not make our list of recommended choices. Service was ok- not great- we sat for 10 minutes before being waited on. Once waiter did arrive, all was acceptable. Wine choices by the glass were very limited and expensive for quality of wine- $10 up per glass. Wife loves Foie gras so she was excited about the Foie Gras Kobe Burger. Too bad- very disappointed. The burger impossible to pick up due to the grease and moisture content. By the third bite (even though she cut it in half) the bread fell to pieces and she had a wet mess on her hands. The second half was worse- a wet mush for a bun and way to greasy to eat -even with a fork. I had flank steak and while well prepared and presented- the meat was tough and difficult to chew- flavor was good though. Started with a wedge salad which we split- one large thick cut piece of bacon- very much over done or old- not sure which. As we were sharing, I tried to cut it in half. I had to use my steak knife to cut the bacon- and even with that it was a real chore-I sawed but ultimately, I basically had to pull it apart rather than being able to cut it in half . Just a very disappointing evening. We cannot see ourselves every returning with so many other choices available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great experience. Our server Stephanie (Super Awesome Stephanie) was superb. She made excellent recommendations. The food is great and the menu is diverse.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good place, overall, but as usual , it was pretty busy. The good thing is to make reservations so that you don't have to wait. Took a bit to get "noticed" once we sat down, but after that waitress was very attentive. Food was flavorful and I was not expecting it because of how busy it all looked.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great place. Cool old building, good vibe. Great menu. Everything we tried was awesome. Fairly pricey if you want a steak but steak was excellent. Have some less prices menu options that we're good too

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Enjoyed the atmosphere of the Boiler House. The waitress was really great. The food was ok. We had several of the appetizers and liked the shrimp and quail poppers but didn't like the meatballs, too sweet. The lobster Mac n cheese was really good also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was our 4th trip and it was just as great as our first 3 visits. The menu is wonderful especially if you wish for something different yet wonderful. Our server, Houston was great. His advice along with being there just at the right moments but not over bearing was first class. We have told others about this place and will return again and again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

What a great place! Attentive but not intrusive service and the food was excellent. Steaks cooked to perfection, and I highly recommend the meatball appetizer and the popcorn grits side dish- very tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The Food was great... The Cod and Flank Steak were great. The drinks were so-so but still a fantastic meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

One of the best ribeyes i have ever tasted. Great service ....Definitely a 5 star experience... My new goto place when in San Antonio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Busy place. Friendly staff. Outstanding food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I was excited to try this place after seeing all the great looking food pics online and seeing all the positive reviews... too bad the excitement was short lived once we got our food... the food was cold, bland and just overall not good. My mom ordered the shrimp and grits and she literally gagged trying to eat it as she didn't want to disappoint me since I was the one who planned our brunch and I was excited to try it. My husband is pretty easy to please, he doesn't mind cold food and rarely complains about food... but he didn't like his either. Its unfortunate, but I wouldn't reccomend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Birthday for my friend of 31 years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The Green Chili Pork dush for Brunch could be the best meal in Texas. But I've only had it about 35 times so I'm a little biased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I've been here many times and it never disappoints. I highly recommend the pork belly, bison ribeye or
Tomahawk steak. My husband raves that BH has the best steak in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.