Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden

Boiler House Texas Grill & Wine Garden is a true Texas original. Situated in the historic Pearl Brewery complex on the San Antonio River Walk, this wine-centric restaurant occupies the former “boiler house” which powered the adjacent brewery. The menu focuses on grilled items from local farms and markets, with a focus on “Texas ranch-style” cuisine. These delicacies are paired with extraordinary wines from around the world (all available by the glass, bottle and “to-go”), full bar, live music and a casual yet energetic atmosphere. The unique list of wines boasts some of the lowest prices in the area.

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco. Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

312 Pearl Pkwy., Bldg. 3
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 10am-10pm
Monday - Thursday 11am-10pm
Friday 11am-Midnight
Saturday 10am-Midnight

Cross Street:
Karnes St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 354-4644

Website:
http://www.boilerhousesa.com/

Entertainment:
Live music

Catering:
Catering is also available at the restaurant or at a location of your choice.

Executive Chef:
Jeff White

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The restaurant incorporates various private dining areas suitable for private or corporate functions and an expansive outdoor patio area where guests can enjoy dining alfresco.

The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Special Occasion (22)
Casual (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Worth the Drive (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (11)
Great Beer (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Historic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Business Meals (9)
Authentic (8)
Romantic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Tapas (4)
Cozy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food. Great service. Cool atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

The cod was outstanding. Easy to share. Tyler provided excellent service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Service and ambiance are wonderful. Good is very good, steak was a little sinewy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Brunch place, with great drinks. If I've learned anything, always get the shrimp and grits; I've been disappointed with the other items.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great location in a thriving part of the city with a bit of history to it in the old Pearl brewery. Service was excellent and the steak was superb, cooked just right. Nice wine list and a good amount of offerings by the glass.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food is fantastic & unique. Jackie Treehorn burger & bison burger are out of this world but they are only served at lunch time. Fun & casual place to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Whole Fish is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They have a very accommodating gluten free menu. All the food we saw pass by looked excellent and more importantly all the food we had was excellent.
The quail poppers and the pork belly were both fantastic . and large portions....
Had the best burger I've ever had in my entire life, and that's saying a lot ,Kobe beef burger with foie gras it was perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service, great food, and overall a great place

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Shared the tomahawk steak and was fabulous!!! We devoured it!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We ordered a collection of small plates and loved them all. Inventive, tasty and fun. They deliver on their promise to put a Texas twist on farm to table.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Took my three kids for breakfast. They loved it. The food was great. I had the bourbon pancakes, everyone else had French toast. Waitstaff was super friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Really great atmosphere, excellent mixed drinks and wine list, and the steak was superb. Definitely recommended for a nice night out.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food, great drinks
Steak was of better quality than many steak houses in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was excellent and the waitstaff were top notch professionals

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Delicious quail and shrimp appetizers....will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service and food was great !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Over priced. Poor service,.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We wanted a good Sunday Brunch - wow! We found the best in town. Starting with the Blood orange mimosas - right thru to our incredible main courses! The salmon benedict - I am still dreaming about! And my husband's Ultimate Steak and Egg - he loved! We will be back! Can we get Sunday Brunch say on Wednesday for dinner? Ha!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great place for Sunday Brunch. Hangover Hash was great and where else can you get a Krispy Kreme burger? Lovely historic location.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was solid. Service was good. Restaurant was just a bit loud. Overall good job. I will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I ask for a particular special my guest loves and they had it ready for us!!!! So great! Amazing service!!! So grateful!!

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Authentic, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Very good food, solid drinks, wish they had draft beer but overall everyone in our group had a great experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food and drinks were good but dinner prices are a little excessive for what it is. Brunch is reasonable there and I would highly recommend.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food and service in a vibrant location. The desserts were especially fantastic. It was a little noisy, but still possible to carry on a full conversation. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Visiting San Antonio for the first time as a visitor rather than a business destination, my friends and I chose The Boiler House and Texas Grill & Wine Garden for a dinner out in a new area. We were impressed with the area, the variety of restaurants and bars. We chose this place because of a recommendation as being Gluten Free Friendly, as one of our party members has a serious issue with gluten. That said, the meal was very good. We avoided the largest cuts and portions of meat because we were not going to be able to enjoy the leftovers, but feasted on a variety of starters, salads and specials. Excellent all the way around. We also enjoyed visiting with two couples at an outdoor table (what a great idea!) - just a big farmhouse table overlooking the square all by itself. (Their patio is adjacent) They had two large steaks with a full rib (like extending 8 inches off the cut of meat) like a brontosaurus rib. They were enjoying their meal and didn't mind us oohing and ahing over their meal. Next time I'll share a slab of meat with some friends for sure. Enjoyed my visit and will be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food and service was great! They ran out of My favorite item on the menu , grilled oysters...

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent service, selection, and quality. Deliciously unique menu, I highly recommend the Kobe burger! We shared several of the sides and loved them all. The popcorn grits are fantastically creamy and wonderful. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always a great experience! Great atmosphere, food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great atmosphere!! Great drinks and awesome food/appetizers... Happy hour M - F Open thru 6PM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great looking venue. Our order came out cold. Within a few minutes it came back out which made us suspicious. The presentation of the food did look appetising when they first brought it out but we sent it back as it was cold. When it came back out the second time they had just thrown it in a bowl and not made any effort. The sous chef came out and apologised but our experience at this restaurant had been tainted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It was our first time there, and we were not disappointed. Beautiful location on the grounds of the historic Pearl Brewery. The hostess was nice and our waitress was efficient and knowledgeable. She answered all our questions and made recommendations. The food was very good. The spinach salad was delicious and big enough to share. The entrees were excellent. I had the oxtail with gnocchi. Wasn't too sure about the oxtail, but the dish was great.
The biggest surprise was, that they serve beer from Ranger Creek, and they also have a cocktail made with one of their whiskeys. Ranger Creek is our favorite local brewery. I tried the cocktail, and I loved it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fun, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Brunch! Excellent!! Popcorn grits are amazing -- everything was superb.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Loved this place. A little spendy but the food is great and such a wonderful atmosphere. A great place to sit with friends and talk. Wine selection is not bad. I would eat here again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Not an a place I would recommend or ever consider going back to again. I don't think they will be in business within 6 months.

Servers had a terrible attitude which was only exemplified by management after we told them about our meals not prepared to our specifications. Quality of the food was "OK" but not to the expectation we were told by the server. Then again, trying to get our server or a Manager to our table seemed to a burden all together so no wonder they had no clue about the problems with our meals.

Prices were high, food preparation was low, service was low and management's response was awful.

This restaurant is not worthy of your money - whether your own or from an expense account.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great place, great food. A pity they ran out of scallops though, but that couldn't spoil the evening.
Places outside ate rather limited.
Prices are above average but you get quality food in return.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Food and server were great, but several menu items were unavailable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our server was awesome. Great selection of gluten friendly options, cool place to relax with friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our hostess Jen was great the food was excellent! Be back soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 25, 2017

excellent food and service
a must when in the pearl brewery area

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.