About The Boathouse at Sunday Park

The Boathouse restaurant and event spaces wed the town’s impeccable waterfront views with authentic, locally-sourced cuisine. From the classically Southern shrimp and grits featuring sausage from Surry, VA to pizza made with authentic Italian recipe dough, the menu is distinctive and, most importantly, delicious.

4602 Millridge Parkway
Midlothian, VA 23112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm, Friday Bar Service Begins at 3:00 pm, Sunday Brunch from 10 am - 3 pm, Dinner Service begins at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 744-2545

Website:
http://www.boathouseva.com/locations/sunday-park/#/overview

Entertainment:
Enjoy Colin and Caroline every Thursday night in the summer, Ban Caribe every Friday night, and Folk Musician George Turman every Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Ample outside parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Bennett Flowers

Private Party Facilities:
The Boathouse at Sunday Park offers a choice of either lunch or dinner private party menus. Private rooms and private party menus are available for groups of 16 to 150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joanne Bogese: (804) 744-2545 ext. 704

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday is Wine Night - A rotating list of five or six bottles, available for half price, selected from our Wine Spectator award winning wine list.

End of Work Week Celebration - Every Friday... 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Sunday Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (74)
Scenic View (72)
Great for Outdoor Dining (66)
See All
Special Occasion (60)
Good for a Date (56)
Romantic (48)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Worth the Drive (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Fun (31)
Casual (28)
Bar Seating (25)
Sunday Lunch (25)
People Watching (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Live Music (17)
Seasonal (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Business Meals (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Healthy (10)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Great space, great service, good group of folks, best view in Richmond

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent evening. Perfect. Walked up at 730 reservation and was seated immediately, everything was just great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

We have dined here on numerous occasions and enjoy the ambience and the food. If we did not get good service etc. we would not have returned. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Hard to find after dark, but worth the hunt! Forget Apple map directions! Google Maps got us there! Friendly, fun for cocktails & dinner. Nice Bar with TVs for sports. Attractive wooden yacht-style decor!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing time, again, for a special occasion. Been several times to this place and always always always impressed by the menu, staff and food. This was our wedding anniversary dinner and I have never had a better meal at a restaurant.. hands down. The broiled seafood entree was fantastic and the risotto with the lobster tail my wife had, was to die for. Fantastic experience once again, and we will definitely be back again. Cheers to the chefs as well as dining staff.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious food, really fabulous service, great views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Overall this is a very nice restaurant. The food is very good but you get very little compared to what you pay for. A good place for special occasions and know that you will be paying a lot for very little.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We were able to sit outside overlooking the water. Service and food were very good. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Beautiful setting and great place for a friendly get together or to celebrate an event. The food was very good - rockfish for me, crab cakes for her. Live music on Saturday evening when we visited and happy hour is a great bargain (ends at 7). Extensive wine menu and also good number of beer choices.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Not only do you get the million dollar view but the service was outstanding!

Tags: People Watching, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Good food, good service, terrible parking; I arrived on time for my 6pm reservation but it took me 15 minutes to find a parking spot and then hobble in a long way to be seated. I was not forewarned about inadequate handicapped parking even though I let the restaurant know in advance that I would have trouble with stairs. Walking back and forth caused me tremendous pain. That said, my guests and I had an excellent meal in one of the best settings in the Richmond area, we enjoyed a beautiful sunset over the water. Service was also excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Live Music, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 3, 2017

I brought 2 guys from out of town. They loved the views. They also loved the menu. They couldn’t make up their minds. They did pick the special and also the stuffed shrimp.

It was a great evening.

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 3, 2017

My real Bestie Linda and I had dinner at the Boathouse at Sunday Park for a long overdue get together! We had a perfect seat by the water and the sunset was gorgeous. Linda had steak with asparagus and roasted potatoes, I had my favorite dish Shrimp & Grits. Both quite delicious! We ended our night out with bread pudding with vanilla ice cream. Yum! We are definitely looking forward to going back for another girl’s nite out! Our server, his name escapes me, just needs a bit off polishing to garner any accolades from us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Lovely view, wonderful food, and great company for dinner at The Boathouse Sunday Park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Outstanding service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2017

First time visiting. Brunch was great. The food was great. The service was great. Nice place on the water. Will surly visit again to check the dinner menu.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great service! Selected the salmon dish. Rice was a bit not fully cooked. Everything else was wonderful. Waiter was great,

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Happy Hour, Casual, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Wonderful evening on the deck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

First time visit. The food and ambiance were great and service was excellent. The drinks and food were more pricy than expectecd but it was worth it. I will definetly return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2017

A great venue for special occasions and outdoor dining..

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Celebrated our 10th anniversary. Dinner was amazing and romantic.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Very pleasant attentive server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Celebrated our 38th Wedding Anniversary, dined on the deck and watched a beautiful sunset over the lake. Jeremy, our server, was great: attentive but not smothering. Good recommendations and food was excellent! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Lovely setting on the lake. Disappointing that don't have more selection of fresh fish. They have mostly shellfish and oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was impeccable. Food, delightful. Always a special occasion when we go to the Boathouse at Sunday Park.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Love this place. Had a great Sunday brunch. It was a perfect afternoon to eat outside. Food was terrific.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Perfect brunch spot in the fall or spring. Great food and service.

Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This has become a favorite spot....good food, service and view!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food. A little pricey. Noise level made it difficult to have a conversation. Emlpoyees
Were friendly and ready to assist in any way. We enjoyed our evening date.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Best place to relax and eat and enjoy! It can beat any restaurant on a summer / fall day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Good food, great atmosphere and service has always been great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 15, 2017

A perfect evening! Great food...beautiful waterfront scenery....good wine/beer choices....jazz band...couldn't ask for more!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food and atmosphere just wish it wasn't so pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I really enjoyed my birthday dinner with my husband at The Boathouse. The host sat us outside on a glorious evening, and we watched the sunset over the lake. Our waitress was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and drinks. We ordered the roasted oyster flight and crab dip, and they accommodated my request for crudités for the crab dip. The appetizers were fantastic! I had the chef special swordfish which was awesome. We will be back!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was very good. Portions on the small side. Service was adequate. Time from order to delivery was too long. Manager apologized.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great lunch, the Chef Special on Swordfish (medium firm and not too fishy) was excellent, fish cooked perfectly (not under or over) and the veg medley with sweetcorn (puree)? was tasty without destroying the flavor from the fish.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Also a very nice view of the water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 7, 2017

First time there and everything was amazing! Evan, our waiter, was great! Everything he recommended on the menu was wonderful and full of flavor. The food was out to us quickly despite the restaurant being busy that evening. The manger of the facility visited our table to see how things were and to wish us a happy anniversary! Everyone was great from the moment we walked on the property, even the guy taking out the trash as we walked around the back side of the building. We will definitely be going back to enjoy the view of the water and the food!!! Will probably take the kids next time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My steamed shrimp appetizer was perfect but my husband's fried oysters were small and over breaded. We both had salads that were very good and the bread pudding we had for dessert was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Everything was great - food, service and weather! Perfect night and excellent atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.