About The Boathouse at Sunday Park

The Boathouse restaurant and event spaces wed the town’s impeccable waterfront views with authentic, locally-sourced cuisine. From the classically Southern shrimp and grits featuring sausage from Surry, VA to pizza made with authentic Italian recipe dough, the menu is distinctive and, most importantly, delicious.

4602 Millridge Parkway
Midlothian, VA 23112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm, Friday Bar Service Begins at 3:00 pm, Sunday Brunch from 10 am - 3 pm, Dinner Service begins at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 744-2545

Website:
http://www.boathouseva.com/locations/sunday-park/#/overview

Entertainment:
Enjoy Colin and Caroline every Thursday night in the summer, Ban Caribe every Friday night, and Folk Musician George Turman every Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Ample outside parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Bennett Flowers

Private Party Facilities:
The Boathouse at Sunday Park offers a choice of either lunch or dinner private party menus. Private rooms and private party menus are available for groups of 16 to 150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joanne Bogese: (804) 744-2545

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday is Wine Night - A rotating list of five or six bottles, available for half price, selected from our Wine Spectator award winning wine list.

End of Work Week Celebration - Every Friday... 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Sunday Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (61)
Waterfront (60)
Good for a Date (57)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (54)
Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Casual (24)
Business Meals (21)
Fun (21)
Happy Hour (18)
Fireplace (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Seasonal (16)
Cozy (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
People Watching (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Healthy (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Authentic (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Live Music (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Family Style (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Private Room (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Weather was amazing! Sat outside for dinner with a great little band playing in the background. Dinner was phenomenal with excellent service! Have never had a bad experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Very nice. But, the Boathouse at Short Pump really offers more. I love the setting at Sunday Park though.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We enjoyed the boathouse however this particular visit was a disappointment. Our food was improperly cooked and had to be sent back to the kitchen. Half of our party ate while the other half waited for their food to be prepared a second time. Even the manager on duty commented on the second attempt that it was not cooked properly. We simply did not want to make a third attempt. Perhaps the restaurant had new staff but on a busy Saturday evening it was a disappointment for our out-of-town guest.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were visiting the area for my daughter college graduation and did a search on OpenTable for a nice restaurant. Surprise, the Boathouse was right down the street. Quick reservation for us and we were off. We're from Florida and have pretty high standards for seafood - glad to say that the Boathouse hit the mark. Beautiful evening on the deck looking out over the lake, nice music from the stage and a fine meal for the four of us. Good draft and beer selection with some locals and meals were well prepared and out to us quickly. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The weather was beautiful the water view is lovely

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Enjoyed fantastic meal beside the water on a beautiful evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was a great place for Mother's Day. Wow ration. Great table right on the waters edge. Beautiful sunset. Food was great and the service was attentive and appropriate. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day. We sat outside on their deck and it was beautiful. They were very crowded so it took us a good while to get our food; the waitress did the best she could and regularly stopped by to fill our glasses and check on us. The manager also stopped by and checked on us. The food was hot, and it was good. I wouldn't rate it as great. I thought the prices were a bit steep for the food; no complementary bread or salads came with the entrees either. All said and done, it was a nice evening that my wife, daughter, and I enjoyed. We'll go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were immediately seated for our 5:30pm reservation. The entire staff was wonderful. As always the appetizers and drinks were above board, tasty and delicious. The issue is that the last three visits we have had is that the entree is severely under seasoned. All three entrees had little more than a sprinkle of salt and pepper, the fish and steak while cooked perfectly, were tasteless, even with the accompanying sauces ( which was the only flavor) Seriously disappointing considering the quality and cost of the meals. I have no problems recommending for drinks and appetizers but I would not spend the money on a entree again, I have several friends in the area that have the same opinion. Such a shame.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch was expensive and the food was not good . They were understaffed, we couldn't find a waiter for 20 minutes to get a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome experience -- will return -- have recommended to other friends/family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went to celebrate Mother's day the Saturday night before. They offered to have flowers and champagne at the table. It was a special surprise for my wife, and the food was great. In the past I've gone more for the location/view, but the food is getting better and more consistent. I would definitely recommend for a special occasion or date night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Boathouse @Sunday park never disappoints. Food, service always delights!

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We have been to this restaurant several times before. The location on the lake and the consistently good food makes it a wonderful place for a nice meal. This was our first time for the Sunday brunch and we were very happy we went. We both tried the omelets. While there were several different omelets on the menu, we were allowed to make changes or even create our own. They also had bacon, sausage, home fries, biscuits and fresh fruit to complement the omelet. In addition to the omelets, there were Waffles, sandwiches, etc.

This may have been our first visit for brunch, but it will not be our last.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The waffle wasn't good and the Crab cake Benedict tasted very different. I'm not sure if it was the egg or the crab cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our waiter and other staff took excellent care of our party of 10, flexible with food preferences and changes, great seating location, overall excellent time.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Scenic View, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were seated by a door to the outside that was locked. It was a chilly evening. Someone unlocked the door and ithe cold breeze every few seconds made the table location unacceptable. We asked to be moved they moved us to a table that one seat was directly over the ac vent that was blowing cold air. Again we asked to move. When our meals arrived my surf and turf lobster tail was still raw in the middle. They took my plate away I sat there and watched my husband eat and my meal arrived when he was finished. We then ordered dessert asked for bread pudding without the caramel sauce and no ice cream. It came soaked with caramel sauce. It will be some time before we go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We enjoyed our anniversary at the Boathouse. The customer service was good. However I was not impressed with the dinner. We ordered the fried seafood platter. Our crabcakes had a taste of the freezer not fresh. The shrimp were not seasoned at all. We could not even finish it. The oysters were pretty good. The dining experience overall was pretty good because the the customer service was good. Not just our waitress, but also the managers. I would still recommend someone else. However I would have to caution them about the crabcake and shrimp. I might return for appetizers or dessert and atmosphere. The bread pudding was also delicious which was complements of the manager for our anniversary. Thank you.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My husband and I have been here several times over the last few years. We went on thursday night and prices were up, food quality and service down!! Their prices are not cheap to begin with. My dinner was $36. The crab cake was dry and not even close in quality to previous crabcakes I have had there. I ordered spinach, and got asparagus. My husband's shrimp and grits had very little grits, 6 shrimp. The manager delivered our dinners with an apology for how long it took! and it wasn't crowded! But before I could notice the missing spinach he was gone. The atmosphere of this restaurant is incredible, on the swift creek reservoir, but the prices are very high. Previously, the food was good, not so much Thursday night!! We will give it one more try, maybe an off night?? Or are they compromising food quality and high prices because location is so popular and it doesn't matter to some??

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Service and Food was great, Good place for a date night.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Wonderful dinnee! I chose the chef's special, which was a scallops dish presented on a seasoned corn ragout. One of the most delicious entrees I have enjoyed anywhere. Truly wish the chef would add this dish to the menu!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Vegan, Private Room, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We had dinner outside overlooking Swift Creek Reservoir. The view was wonderful, esp. on a warm, sunny early evening. There were lots of people dining which was somewhat surprising for a Wednesday, and also made it a little noisy. The food was delicious! Great view, great food, great company=great evening!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food, drink, and weather was perfect for brunch outside overlooking the water.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It is and has always been a great place to enjoy a unique setting and good food. I was disappointed that I made reservation and asked for outside and was told I could not be confirmed on when I could be seated. I took over an hour after my scheduled reservation to be seated outside. Outside should be reserved just like inside. Then people can make a choice before they arrive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fun, Casual, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great time, be patient for the summer brings out crowds. Food, service, and ambience all exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

When the weather is nice, it's a great place if you are outside having dinner with views of Swift Creek Reservoir in the background. It's a little pricey for every day dining but reasonable for meeting friends, celebrating a birthday or anniversary. Nice setting by the lake.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I don't have enough time to go into great detail, but it's very disappointing to have made a reservation for 7:30 and not be seated until 8:20pm. our service was very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I had a reservation for 7:30, dinner for 2 on the deck to see the sunset at 8. We were seated about 8:20 pm. Very disappointing. I would have expected better table/time management from an established restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We dine at all three Boathouse restaurants - Sunday Park is our choice for the summer.

The staff is always friendly and on top of your needs - make a reservation and sit by the water

Enjoy

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The manager Gaylen is so in tune with his clients,he never forgets us and is always so cordial. This is our favorite place in the Richmond area, we are always pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Wonderful evening on the deck. Entree and especially dessert was scrumptious! Service was very attentive!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our service was very good. We felt that the main open area could use a little updating. Seemed a little outdated and lime green walls that could use a new fresh coat of paint. The pizzas were the best! Skimpy on the grits but plenty of shrimp. You can't go wrong with the Pazookie for desert!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

They need to start implementing a dress code.... some high school boys came in looking hung over from prom for brunch one had his white under shirt on and flannel sleep pants and house shoes on, another boy had on a Hawaiian burgundy shirt on with American flag boxer shorts he claimed where shorts.... needless to say if your are spending $300 on a special occasion meal you don't want to see no class trash sitting beside you.... next time they need to try Waffle House it's more their class level!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Me and my friend went for brunch and had a great experience. Loved the view and loved the food! The bread pudding French toast is a must have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The boathouse is a lovely place to go for a slightly more special dinner. If you are willing to pay a little more for the beautiful decor and outstanding food, then certainly this is your place to go.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I enjoyed but had to make two reservations for my bday. Made a reservation on Tuesday for Friday. Was called late Thursday afternoon to confirm, I was in a meeting and couldn't answer. Called later that night was on hold for 15 mins before hanging up. Received an email late Thursday afternoon, my reservation was cancelled. Almost didn't go but tried making another reservation Friday morning, was able to get a table. Too stressful.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was delicious and the Riesling was the best I've had. The ambiance was amazing as it was not too loud but not too quiet. I could hear the person across from me talking but not other tables. It was overall a really great experience! My only thing was that the prices were a bit high, but for a special occasion/friend get-together it was worth it. The food was great as I said, so at least we paid for good quality. The lake is absolutely beautiful! Definitely a gem in the outskirts of Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The wait staff waS EXCEPTIONAL in helping with our party of 14 on Easter Sunday and they were all extremely attentive and friendly. Brunch was great!!!!

Tags: Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch with family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.