About The Boathouse at Sunday Park

4602 Millridge Parkway
Midlothian, VA 23112
View Larger Map

The Boathouse restaurant and event spaces wed the town’s impeccable waterfront views with authentic, locally-sourced cuisine. From the classically Southern shrimp and grits featuring sausage from Surry, VA to pizza made with authentic Italian recipe dough, the menu is distinctive and, most importantly, delicious.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm, Friday Bar Service Begins at 3:00 pm, Sunday Brunch from 10 am - 3 pm, Dinner Service begins at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 744-2545

Website:
http://www.boathouserva.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Colin and Caroline every Thursday night in the summer, Ban Caribe every Friday night, and Folk Musician George Turman every Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Ample outside parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Bennett Flowers

Private Party Facilities:
The Boathouse at Sunday Park offers a choice of either lunch or dinner private party menus. Private rooms and private party menus are available for groups of 16 to 150 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joanne Bogese: (804) 744-2545

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday is Wine Night - A rotating list of five or six bottles, available for half price, selected from our Wine Spectator award winning wine list.

End of Work Week Celebration - Every Friday... 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Sunday Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (47)
Scenic View (43)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (37)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Casual (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Cozy (21)
Fireplace (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fun (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Seasonal (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
People Watching (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Private Room (6)
Family Style (6)
Live Music (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love The Boathouse! Good food..price ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

We love The Boathouse! Good food..prices have gone up in past years, but the location makes up for it. Great night out!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This has been a favorite restaurant of m ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

This has been a favorite restaurant of mine for years but the level of service and food has gone down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

We really like the Boathouse, bit pricey ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

We really like the Boathouse, bit pricey but you can't beat the view.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful meal, attentive staff, lovely ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful meal, attentive staff, lovely atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took the kids with us. Good drink select ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Took the kids with us. Good drink selection. A little pricey but overall very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed a wonderful evening. The sea ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed a wonderful evening. The seafood was fresh and perfectly prepared. Wine choices were also delicious. You can't beat the sunset view while dining. Loved it. Will certainly return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is such a beautiful restaurant outd ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is such a beautiful restaurant outdoors and indoors alike. The lighting is perfect and it's such a welcome relief to have the noise level good for conversation. The menu was well balanced both for variety and price. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine. The food was delicious! We plan to return often!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Boathouse at Sunday Park was a great ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The Boathouse at Sunday Park was a great place to dine and the food was excellent. I love the ambiance. I definitely will dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was very good, fresh and high q ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was very good, fresh and high quality. They source from local vendors and you can tell how fresh the food is because of this. The noise level was medium, but we were able to hold a conversation with no problem. The waitress was slow, but this may be a function of how busy the restaurant was that night. This was a Sunday before Valentine's day and they were extremely busy. I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions and for their drinks. They have local vendors that come in and design drinks specifically for this restaurant and they were delicious!

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My girlfriend and I agreed that this was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My girlfriend and I agreed that this was one of the best places we have ever had dinner at. We will definitely be coming here for more of our special occasions! The food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for an early Valentine's dinner. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for an early Valentine's dinner. We both really enjoyed our dinner. The waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. Nice atmosphere. We had a great evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a treat to dine at The Boath ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It's always a treat to dine at The Boathouse. My husband and I enjoy the atmosphere, and the menu items are fantastic, especially the seafood dishes and locally-grown vegetables. The servers and bartenders are well-trained. The sunsets can be breath-taking! Comparable meals at comparable restaurants cost less, so we don't go as often as we'd like. In fact, I wouldn't recommend The Boathouse for a steak, as the quality is just average, but the price is unreasonably high.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Upstairs was a bonus. Our server, Meghan ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Upstairs was a bonus. Our server, Meghan, was knowledgeable, attentive, and sweet. Would recommend her and ask for her .

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb service, food, and atmosphere! Ou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Superb service, food, and atmosphere! Our server was great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time at Boathouse and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was my first time at Boathouse and was quite impressed. Quick, friendly service, delicious food. Perfect for our Valentine's Day dinner! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was amazing! The ca ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food and service was amazing! The calamari was the best I've had in a long time! The water and outside area were beautiful! Great for a romantic date night or special occasion! I will definitely back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time @ the Boathouse at Sunday Par ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

First time @ the Boathouse at Sunday Park. We just moved to Va. from NH. We are so glad we found this gem! We will definitely go back and plan on sitting on the deck for our next trek out! Highly recommended! Great food, great service, great ambiance!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view and the menu had many great o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great view and the menu had many great options. There aren't many waterfront options in Richmond. Even though it is a little hike, it was nice to enjoy the scenery.

Tags: Scenic View, Organic, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately , we were seated in the ba ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Unfortunately , we were seated in the bar area where we could see the water. Two groups including children were were standing nearby waiting for table I guess and they were very noisy . The noisy area made the visit less than satisfactory for what we intended to be a quiet meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We had a great dinner here a few weeks a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a great dinner here a few weeks ago so we decided to try it again this past Friday. My meal was very good (broiled seafood combo) but my my husband got one of the specials (filet and lobster tail) that was not good. The manager offered to bring my husband a new dinner because both the filet and lobster tail were extremely chewy. Unfortunately, the 2nd time around wasn't much better. We'll probably go back at some point but will steer clear of their steaks and lobster. My scallops, shrimp and crab cake were delicious.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Boathouse is a great place for a gre ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The Boathouse is a great place for a great meal. The service is consistently outstanding, attentive without being intrusive. The only issue is the appetizer menu has changed so that the only non-shellfish item is cauliflower with curry. Their are many people with shellfish allergies that go there for the fish, but there are no offerings on the appetizer menu for them.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved that they knew I was at Daddy Daug ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Loved that they knew I was at Daddy Daughter Dance here last year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time and we will sure ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a wonderful time and we will surely be back again soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten there a few times food alw ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We have eaten there a few times food always very good and atmosphere is Good..

Tags: Comfort Food, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Diner was very good, service, Jeremy, wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Diner was very good, service, Jeremy, was excellent

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! Took our tim ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent food and service! Took our time didn't feel rushed. Nice atmosphere!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, but as much as I hat ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The food was great, but as much as I hate to say it, our server was not. He was great at first, but then disappeared. We would have ordered more wine and possibly dessert, but by the time we waited over 20 minutes after finishing, we were done.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

My clam chowder was served to the wrong ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My clam chowder was served to the wrong table. The server removed it from that table and served it to me. I asked if he had served it to someone else and he stated yes, sorry, I don't know where my head is tonight. Without me having to say anything, the manager came a moment later and apologized and brought me another cup of chowder. I really appreciate how the manager handled the situation. All the food we ordered was delicious and plentiful, I couldn't eat it all. Would recommend to everyone!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Casual, Cozy, Scenic View, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Oysters on half shell were great; whole ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Oysters on half shell were great; whole lobster very good but crab cakes mediocre (believe the recipe has changed: no jumbo lumps, too much spice, burned on one side). "seasonal" vegetable was asparagus (NOT seasonal in winter!). Stick with lobster, scallops or fish

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

First visit to the Boathouse. It was ex ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First visit to the Boathouse. It was excellent in all respects...atmosphere, service and food. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is amazing overlooking the wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This place is amazing overlooking the water. Food service and view are great! I am so glad that we discovered their Sunday Brunch. The made to order omelet bar was a wonderful touch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fight started out great with awesome ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The fight started out great with awesome service from our server. For the most part the food was good. Ordered the rack of lamb with augrtin potatoes with Brussels sprouts special. The lamb was done perfectly however the potatoes were ice cold. One manager came over and apologized for the less than adequate standards. Offered something else in the mean time while they replated my food. Stated did not want anything else just the food. A little miscommunication had just occurred. Server came over to put the order in of the creme brûlée and my friend asked if my food was going to come out before the desert. At this time second manager Tyler came over and totally apologized for the miscommunication and offered to make the meal for me to take home. Said that would be fine. Was so happy that they made it right. I have eaten there several times before and had a great experience. This was my friends first time eating there and she stated that she was a little disappointed seeing that it was New Year's Eve and the standards were not up to par for the price of the food. Until they manager Tyler made it right. The evening was not a total loss. Thank you to the server and manger for making things right and turning the experience around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for New Years and was not disappoin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for New Years and was not disappointed. Food was fantastic and our servers were awesome. The manager Gaylen runs a great ship ! Kudos !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fireplace, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JUST WONDERFUL - ACCOMODATING MENU AS WE ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

JUST WONDERFUL - ACCOMODATING MENU AS WELL. CRAB CAKE WAS GREAT EVEN THOUGH I AM FROM MARYLAND, THEY DID A GREAT JOB ON

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, , Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time as always. Our serv ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a wonderful time as always. Our server, Heather, was outstanding. The food was great, atmosphere perfect. Flemings can't hold a candle to The Boathouse. I miss the Mussels with beer, but the red curry was fine. The grilled bread served with the mussels is, in itself, worth making the 50 minute trip to eat there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great selection of seafood and non-sea ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A great selection of seafood and non-seafood to choose from. Something for everyone. The food was delicious. The service was outstanding. We can't wait to go back when the weather is warmer to enjoy the outside space as well. The setting is fabulous - right on the water. Even in the winter the atmosphere was beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We pre ordered appetizers and as we were ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We pre ordered appetizers and as we were being seated the appetizers were on the way to the table 👍.Haley was our waitress she was EXCELLENT! We had 6 adults & 3 kids no one complained about anything!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an early dinner. The sunset was p ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had an early dinner. The sunset was phenomenal and watching the birds on the reservoir was fantastic. The only negative was we were not originally seated where we could see the sunset although that had been requested. We were immediately accommodated when we requested a change in seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We did not get what we ordered. Our side ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We did not get what we ordered. Our sides were not as ordered and they were out of one menu option. We also received a round of drinks that we did not order but we paid for them.

The dishes were very good and we will go to the Boat House again. This was the first time we had the uneven service and will hope for a better experience next time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.