About The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing

4708 E Main Street
Richmond, VA 23231
View Larger Map

Our Rocketts Landing location occupies the top floor of the restored Power Plant building, which sits on the James River and once provided electricity for Richmond’s trolley cars. We specialize in seafood, wood-stone oven pizza, and locally-sourced signature entrees. And we can't forget the incredible view!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm
Friday Service Begins at 3:00 pm
Saturday Service Begins at 12:00noon
Sunday Brunch 10 am - 2:30 pm, Dinner Service beginning at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 622-2628

Website:
http://boathouserva.com/

Executive Chef:
Cory Sheldon

Private Party Facilities:
With private rooms for 16 to 200, panoramic views of the Richmond skyline and James River, The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing is a unique location for a special event. Antique brick, industrial steel, and a modern decor give your guests a glimpse of Richmond's rich history and vibrant future.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Ball: (804) 622-2628

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 11:30AM - 11:45AM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (90)
Waterfront (85)
Special Occasion (78)
See All
Good for a Date (68)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Romantic (53)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Worth the Drive (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Modern Decor (34)
Great for Brunch (30)
Bar Seating (29)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Fun (23)
Casual (23)
Fireplace (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Business Meals (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Cozy (18)
Local Ingredients (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Seasonal (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Historic (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
People Watching (10)
Family Style (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Wood Oven (8)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great Beer (5)
Private Room (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
2140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great location and service. Food quality ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 10 hours ago

Great location and service. Food quality and flavors good but not in alignment with price. Salmon was too peppery and lost most of its flavor or was overpowered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved the place! First time there and I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined a day ago

Loved the place! First time there and I will be coming back next time I am in Richmond. The atmosphere was great as was the setting. The food was phenomenal! It really made the night special! Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for a Sunday Brunch. Noise l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great spot for a Sunday Brunch. Noise level was loud but music was also a little too loud. Food was fantastic. We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brunch was Great! and reasonably priced, ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Brunch was Great! and reasonably priced, nice choices too. May come for brunch often., please keep it on the menu!! I'd also like to recommend bringing back the Sushi plates PLEASE!!! My past dinner favorite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Historic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was just how I imagined it to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was just how I imagined it to be to end my Valentine's week.. Food was great. I had asked to sit close to the fireplace when making the reservation. They delivered. The gentleman serving us was awesome. Thank you Deonte! My girlfriend and I can't wait to come back. Thank you guys for making my Saturday night memorable.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, , Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Never 100% confident of how the food wil ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Never 100% confident of how the food will be, but the ambience and the view are a beautiful snapshot of RVA for visitors. This trip the food was very good start to finish!! Bravo

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Very amazing service & very charming cre ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Very amazing service & very charming crew. Speedy service & seated in timely manner. Food & drinks were very amazing & fulfilling.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience of this place is amazing! V ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

The ambience of this place is amazing! Very friendly staff. Loved my time there.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service have been excellent for ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service have been excellent for both of our dates, but our favorite aspect is still the view. It's really hard to beat.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Valentine's Dinner! Service wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful Valentine's Dinner! Service was attentive and oyster flight was the best.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was very friendly and attentiv ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. The ambience was great, and the food was excellent. A terrific place to take family, friends and colleagues for an awesome dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my boyfriend for his birthday dinne ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Took my boyfriend for his birthday dinner. Garrett was our waiter and he was super awesome. Had an awesome experience. Love the location. Came from the West End to enjoy the atmosphere and the scenic views of the James. This is our go to spot for special occasions. As always, very pleased.

Great food. Great service. Awesome server. Will ask for Garrett next visit for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 2nd visit to the Boathouse. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our 2nd visit to the Boathouse. We were pleasantly greeted at the door by the staff. The young lady that seated us struggled some with our name but was very nice with a warming smile. Our server promptly arrived at the table and introduced himself. He asked if we had any menu questions then gave us ample time to study the menu and make selections. Food arrived in a timely fashion and was hot and delicious. We ordered deserts and they were large and yummy. The entire experience was very nice and we will return again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to celebrate Valentine's Day ear ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went to celebrate Valentine's Day early, and we were not alone. Several couples had champagne or chocolate covered strawberries, but we just tried the special drink. (mule kick?)

Our appetizer was wonderful---oysters thermidor. They were roasted. On the half shell and topped with lobster and cheese. Excellent!

My husband had the Southern Fried Seafood platter-- very filling. I had the crab cake sandwich with house salad. Both meals were delicious.

It's a great place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall pretty good, although I ordered ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall pretty good, although I ordered the filet and asked for rare plus and was told the Chef was "black & white" and would only do rare or medium rare. I ordered it medium rare and it came out more medium. When I commented to the waiter he immediately had the manager come over and they not only took it off the bill but also gave us a free dessert. So, the net is GREAT SERVICE and great service recovery!

The Chef should probably be a bit more accommodating though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice outing... our waitress even th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very nice outing... our waitress even though she was stretched thin due to the Valentines crowd made sure we were tended to. Food was very tasty and the Birthday Girl was quite pleased. She was disappointed that the S'mores Cheesecake was unavailable. I was also surprised about this as we had an early seating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious, fresh and creative seafood. B ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Delicious, fresh and creative seafood. Beautiful view of James River, exceptional view of the sunset.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was the best food I've had at a res ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was the best food I've had at a restaurant in a very long time!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was slow but waitress appeared t ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Service was slow but waitress appeared to have a very demanding table to take care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The crabcakes had too much breading in t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The crabcakes had too much breading in them but they were tasty. We loves coming there but it was an off night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious Food, Great View of the River ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Delicious Food, Great View of the River and City. Definitely take my next business meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boathouse was beautiful. Great food, g ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Boathouse was beautiful. Great food, great service. Would definitely go back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our whole experience, from the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We loved our whole experience, from the waiter, to the awesome drinks, and DELISSSHHHHHHH food. Our next date night, rest assure, we will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated wife's 70th birthday. Great f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Celebrated wife's 70th birthday. Great food and service. Will return for 49th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, our group has ME lobster ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food, our group has ME lobster, broiled scallops and fried seafood. All good. Desserts excellent too - salted carament creme brule and apple crisp. Bar was busy on a Friday night, cocktail and wine selection nice. VERY noisy, though, so if you're trying to make conversation it's difficult. Service pretty good. A few longer waits between courses and at bar, but very friendly staff.

Beautiful view of the city of Richmond across the river. Very nice in summer to eat outside too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Excellent seafood entrees. We both enjoy ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent seafood entrees. We both enjoyed the bread pudding dessert and fried oyster appetizer.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was fantastic as always. Garrett wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was fantastic as always. Garrett was our waiter and he was amazing! He really made it a great experience for us. Very knowledgeable on the drink and dinner menu. Fast service. Wonderful dinner overall. Will 100% continue going back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was happy with the service. I thought ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I was happy with the service. I thought I paid too much for the amount of food I was given however, I understand that here it was more about the name, atmosphere and service. I liked the scenery and my server Mike was patient and very knowledgeable.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

This location is preferred by my family. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This location is preferred by my family. It's convenient, the atmosphere is comfortable laid back, and quiet. It's spacious and has the beautiful view. Everytime I go the food is very good, our waiter John was nice and attentive. The bloody orange mule is my family's go to drink. Will be back soon.

Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was wonderful and food was delic ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was wonderful and food was delicious. I love the ambiance - lots of windows and light.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We found the food and service to be gene ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We found the food and service to be generally exceptional. I found the noise level to be a bit excessive for an anniversary and $200 meal, though. We will return but with certain expectations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Have been to this restaurant several tim ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Have been to this restaurant several times and have yet to be disappointed.

Overall a good pick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place and super service!!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great place and super service!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A really nice experience, beautiful day ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A really nice experience, beautiful day overlooking the James River, service was friendly and punctual but never slow. All were pleased with the starters and entrees, and beverages. We didn't leave room for dessert so can't comment on that. Feeling was very relaxed, leisurely, would definitely come back daytime or evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall rating would have been outst ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The overall rating would have been outstanding and the value would not have been poor, except for the outrageous price for a pidddling glass of bourbon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

This was our first time at The Boathouse ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This was our first time at The Boathouse and the experience was outstanding. We were seated immediately and were waited on right away.

The food was delicious and service terrific - including the manager checking in on us. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a fine dining experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter and the other staff were grea ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our waiter and the other staff were great. Very attentive, and friendly. Food was very fresh and delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were outstanding. The ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food and service were outstanding. The noise level was the killer with the loud music.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Knowledgeable serving staff! We got dela ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Knowledgeable serving staff! We got delayed and missed our reservation but as we were parking we got a phone call asking us if we had delay and if they should continue to hold the table. We appreciated the phone call!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good service, good food, great city view ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Good service, good food, great city view and beautiful facility.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.