Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

About The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing

Our Rocketts Landing location occupies the top floor of the restored Power Plant building, which sits on the James River and once provided electricity for Richmond’s trolley cars. We specialize in seafood, wood-stone oven pizza, and locally-sourced signature entrees. And we can't forget the incredible view!

4708 E Main Street
Richmond, VA 23231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm
Friday Service Begins at 3:00 pm
Saturday Service Begins at 12:00noon
Sunday Brunch 10 am - 2:30 pm, Dinner Service beginning at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 622-2628

Website:
http://boathouseva.com/

Executive Chef:
Cory Sheldon

Private Party Facilities:
With private rooms for 16 to 200, panoramic views of the Richmond skyline and James River, The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing is a unique location for a special event. Antique brick, industrial steel, and a modern decor give your guests a glimpse of Richmond's rich history and vibrant future.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Ball: (804) 622-2628 ext. 702

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (102)
Scenic View (92)
Great for Outdoor Dining (81)
See All
Special Occasion (74)
Good for a Date (64)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Worth the Drive (51)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Good for Groups (44)
Romantic (42)
Casual (40)
Great for Brunch (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Fun (33)
Bar Seating (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Happy Hour (27)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Business Meals (26)
People Watching (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Cozy (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Seasonal (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Authentic (13)
Healthy (13)
Late-night Find (10)
Great Beer (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Organic (4)
Vegan (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tapas (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great. Sat on patio. Lovely view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great evening. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

The perfect place for a birthday dinner and our waitress was a gem!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great wine, great food, beautiful view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Our service was extraordinary, the cocktails were well done, presentation of everything was excellent, and all of our entrees were divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Food was good, but not worth the price. Service was okay at best. We went for our anniversary... Twas okay. Means it doesn't set the bar super high for next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Nice view of river at sunset and lights of downtown after dark. Enjoyed the food and evening with coworkers. It is a little loud as the evening goes on but still very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Anytime I have guests in town, I bring them to The Boathouse so that we can enjoy delicious seafood and libations overlooking the James River with an impressive view of the skyline by night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Loved the setting, the food was delicious (rock fish) and the evening was delightful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The atmosphere is great. The food was ok, not sure it was worth the price. The server was so attentive and sweet. We had several questions and each time we asked a question she had to go ask someone and it was a long time before we got an answer that was not what we hoped. When we ordered she asked us what salad we wanted as if it was a part of the meal but when we got the bill everything she asked us about was extra! We left paying a pretty hefty bill. I had a french press coffee and they forgot to press the grounds down so the grounds of the coffee just settled to the bottom of my cup and I drank a few grounds. We were there for over 3 hours because everything just took so long and the restaurant was not busy. Also, my sister has a bad knee and the elevator was not working. She had to walk three small flights of stairs. We enjoyed the outdoor seating on the water and the servers attitude was great, not sure I would pay the price again and I would ask specifically what is included and what is not.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent food; swift, attentive, servers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2017

It was a wonderful meal and we all left very full and very happy. Our wait staff was awesome as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We are never disappointed! We celebrated our daughter's bday and everything was perfect --great seating and delicious food. Our waitress was great! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The Boathouse was great for our late lunch. We had a group of 6 and they easily re-accomodated us when we were early for our reservation. Salads were outstanding, but on the pricy side if you added any protient. Creme Brulee was awesome and the service was outstanding. The view also can't be beat!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Parking can be a beast so use the valet or Uber. This particular evening we lucked out and got a spot right out front. Had reservations...got a nice booth table in the center. Took our drinks to the patio while we waited on dinner and enjoyed a beautiful sunset over the James River/City Skyline. Fantastic service and great food (the Seafood Platter is well worth the price!) ...will return soon I am sure.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

The evening was spectacular!!! Great service, great food, great cocktails, and great views of the river and Downtown especially after dark. Our server was right on top of everything, but not at all smothering. He was sharp, friendly, and just did an overall great job. My wife and I will make appoint to be back again soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We are going on 3 years with BHRL. Never a bad experience or bad interface with any staff. I am running out of superlatives. They had new seasonal menu. Sweetheart enjoyed salmon entree with melting leeks and i scarfed up the new butternut squash risotto with kale. Could have stood more goat cheese, but what isn't improved by more goat cheese!
This is our at least twice a month destination. Love the rivah. Yama is brilliant server
Thanks to all staff. Winners.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Gary? Garret was great. Very attentive & tried hard. Thanks.
Kitchen needs LOTS of work.
Rare steak was med well, sent back which meant other food eaten by the time steak returned. Over easy eggs were cold, not easy and yolk was broken. Potatoes cold.
Now, next plate: get the picture?
Flavor nice, food cold on all plates.
Great venue, but kitchen needs help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Beautiful day. Company from Texas. We were passing thru on way to Homestead

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Went to the boat house for me and my GF anniversary and it was absolutely amazing I asked for a table on the water and they did exactly that. Food was amazing and the sight was beautiful, definitely coming back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

It was my girlfriend and I first time eating at the boathouse and it was very good experience. Everyone is very friendly and the waiters and waitresses are very knowledgeable about their menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 19, 2017

I enjoyed the food, service, and view. I'd love to go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Perfect Manhattan was described to Server, but Bartender made it incorrectly. Communication? Appetizers arrived cold. Grilled Oysters were tiny. Entrees were excellent; filet and lobster, grilled scallops, and shrimp and grits.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Took my 3 daughters there for brunch and had a wonderful time. Food was great as usual, and our waiter Jonathan was outstanding.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great setting, the food was some very good (oysters rockefeller, clam chowder, steak, and fish tacos), some lackluster (the wedge salad and market fish). Good place for celebrations. Beautiful decor. Noisy and dark.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food wasn't that good and small serving

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We asked for dressing on side of sale and to split it for 2
It came its tons of dressing and in one plate
Second we ordered the rock fish with a double order of spinach as we did not want Potatoes
The fish was way over cooked and dry and a tiny portion
Finally we got a single order or spinach which was very and they forgot to give double order of spinach

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We celebrated our son 21 years old. The food was delicious, the service was awesome and the restaurant is super trendy. We highly recommend it.
Best, Bret & Rosa

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Ambience is excellent and the service was too but the portions seem to get smaller and yet more expensive every time we visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great meal, service with nice river view from balcony. Fried zucchini appetizer, crab cakes, and apple cobbler dessert were all excellent.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food and service. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Enjoyed our visit, however, wish I had known about the breakfast buffet.

Tags: Waterfront, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Brunch was Great as per usual, the table water was ok too. We shall return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

CJ was our server on Saturday night. She had several large tables in addition to us and handled it with ease. She noticed that one of our appetizers came out a little overcooked and made sure to get us a new one right away.

In addition, I received a call a few days in advance checking to see if the reservation was for a special occasion and if so did we want any sparkling wine or flowers.

We were seated right on time as well!

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Good restaurant on the bank of the James river. Scenic views, good food. A bit pricey, but still affordable

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We picked the right spot to decompress after a tough day at the office and a long flight. It was a beautiful afternoon - with perfect fall weather...bright sun, slight breeze without humidity or heat. This atmosphere motivated us to select al fresco dining- overlooking the rivah. With the sun peaking through the trees we enjoyed watching a crew team practice on the rivah. We sipped on our designer cocktails while indulging on seafood appetizers. Our main course was timely and our server. Amanda was attentive without being intrusive. We've added this place to our preferred list!

Tags: Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We really enjoyed the river view seating. Great view of the city as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My Husband and I treated my parents to dinner at the Boathouse Restaurant for their 40th Anniversary. The planning process was simple, as the dinner was for 6 people. I was informed by the host of various gift options, such as wine for my father a fresh flowers for my mother; which both were delighted to receive. As soon my parents arrived, the host congratulated my parents without any prompts. Also, the waiter , Amanda was Awesome! As she provided great services throughout the day. My parents were very pleased with dining experience. They often spoke on the beautiful view, the delicious food and amazing drinks.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Running out of ways to say "Perfect"! Simple Grilled Salmon and Poke Watermelon Bowl are sure winners. Great staff all around. Emily was our friendly server. Not pushy or impatient, very cool.
We have already reserved our space for Thanksgiving!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our brunch get-together with old friends could not have been nicer! The food, drinks, atmosphere, and staff were great! The view of Richmond was an added bonus on this sunny day! Love this place!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.