Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

About The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing

Our Rocketts Landing location occupies the top floor of the restored Power Plant building, which sits on the James River and once provided electricity for Richmond’s trolley cars. We specialize in seafood, wood-stone oven pizza, and locally-sourced signature entrees. And we can't forget the incredible view!

4708 E Main Street
Richmond, VA 23231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Nightly at 5:00 pm
Friday Service Begins at 3:00 pm
Saturday Service Begins at 12:00noon
Sunday Brunch 10 am - 2:30 pm, Dinner Service beginning at 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 622-2628

Website:
http://boathouserva.com/

Executive Chef:
Cory Sheldon

Private Party Facilities:
With private rooms for 16 to 200, panoramic views of the Richmond skyline and James River, The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing is a unique location for a special event. Antique brick, industrial steel, and a modern decor give your guests a glimpse of Richmond's rich history and vibrant future.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Ball: (804) 622-2628

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (133)
Scenic View (124)
Special Occasion (104)
See All
Good for a Date (102)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Great for Outdoor Dining (68)
Romantic (63)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Bar Seating (48)
Fun (43)
Worth the Drive (42)
Good for Groups (42)
Modern Decor (41)
Great for Brunch (40)
Casual (34)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Great for Lunch (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Hot Spot (28)
Business Meals (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Happy Hour (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Fireplace (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Cozy (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
People Watching (16)
Seasonal (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Authentic (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Historic (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Healthy (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great Beer (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Private Room (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Family Style (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (0)
Sort By:
S
2290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Very good food and service
Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Waterfront, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service from our waiter, Aubrey. Food was fantastic and good portions. View from restaurant is unmatched in Richmond!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

The food again wasn't good. The waiter said the pasta, shrimp and scallops dish was good. She lied it was nasty. They need to changed the menu. The money you pay for a dish it not worth it.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We were on vacation and this restaurant was recommended to us by a family member. We loved it so much we came back 3 days later!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Music was played too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food. Loud. Good for a group get together. Not a romantic ambience. No view from 2 top table. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Lovely, once again. And, if possible, it is best to eat outside if noise is a problem for you. It is for one of us and the difference between the inside and outside noise level is vast. Such a difference makes our dining there possible.

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was excellent, service outstanding, and great ambiance and location. We really could not ask for a more enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It has always been a nice place to dine.... I bring my friend because she likes the Sea Ghost... However you are building a new Boat House next to the marina where I keep my boat in Hopewell... I live in Chester, 17 minutes to my boat and 18 minutes to Hopewell Boat House... Can't wait until opening day... Will there be any discount flyers for your loyal customers??

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The Boathouse is great for date night. The atmosphere, service, and the food was excellent. My wife and I went there on a Saturday evening. I would definitely recommend The Boathouse to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Diante was fantastic, attentive, and helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

When we are in Richmond we really love the Boathouse! Nice atmosphere, good seafood and good service. What else can you ask for?

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The food and staff are always excellent! We came here to celebrate our upcoming 30th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Lovely restaurant overlooking the James River. Great for casual dining. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Food and service were great; prices were reasonable. We would definitely return next time we're in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I would never come back to this place. Mortons, hard shell, tobacco company, Ruth Chris and is way better. Even bonefish is better. Really waste of time going here. The filet mignon tasted as if it was frozen and thawed out. Lobster was okay. Diablo shrimp were pretty good.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I've been to all the Boathouse locations, mainly for special occasions. I must say this one has to be my favorite. It made me feel as if I had left Richmond. This particular event we were celebrating Mother's Day. Reservation was made weeks in advance. We specifically asked for a table overlooking the James River. The table was absolutely perfect, just as we had requested. Beautiful roundtables set with lovely white linen on an open patio. Food was good, so much to choose from, a few of the items liked the carved ham and roast beef were a little over cooked and some desserts were a little dry. But overall with the amount of choices you had to choose from I still think it was a great outing. My favorite was the shrimp and grits and petit crab cakes. Our server was a little hard to find at times and valet parking staff was a little iffy but did their job. Overall, it was a great meal, ambience scenic view. Will definitely do it again! Thank you for making it a special day for a mother, sister, daughter and friend all which are MOMS!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mothers Day brunch. Food was great with nice variety. Service was lacking. Wait staff was slow to come to the table and chef station was very slow.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a really great time for Mother's Day brunch at The Boathouse. The environment was very clean the food was great and tasty. The place was very spacious and didn't look cluttered.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our first time at The Boathouse at Rockett's Landing. We usually go to the Sunday Park location since it is close to our house, but they were already booked for Mother's Day. The staff was friendly and attentive. We sat by a window and had a beautiful view of the James River and all the waterfront activity. We will definitely start alternately between the Rockett's location and Sunday Park.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

If you have been to an event at the Boathouse, just know that the dining room has a much different feel than the event room. This isn't bad, but just interesting.
We had a lovely time.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food. The crab cakes were delicious. I went in the middle of the day, no too crowded. The outdoor seating is beautiful.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Fabulous view, fabulous food
Bar staff very friendly and accommodating
Wait staff not quite there, but pleasant none the less
Highly recommend

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had 10 people for a college graduation celebration. The staff was wonderful and the food was outstanding. The table was very spacious not crowded and closed in like some of the other Richmond area restaurants we have visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The omelet bar was everything! When I can get crab meat on my omelet, I'm sold! It was a great way to celebrate my birthday!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Confusion about the half carafes alcoholic beverages. Wanted to share 2, (like wine) but 4 each came to table and they were crammed full of ice. Almost $50.00 in 4 average beverages - which was 50⅞ percent of the total bill.

Tags: Waterfront, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great Brunch!! Only need to add sausage gravy to the brunch bar and it would be perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I wanted to take my husband to this beautiful spot by the river. The food was superb--from oysters on the half shell to scallops to salmon. Drinks also great. And our server Sophia could not have been more personable and professional. She added a great deal to the experience with her lovely personality. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Everyone enjoyed their meal that included fish, crab cakes and steak. My only complaint was the noise level.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Overrated. Very very loud due to large bar scene. Nice view of James River but most tables aren't on windows. Food good but not great. Chardonnay served unchilled, no bread offered. Lobster was okay but not very sweet/tender/fresh. Okay but would not return.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our experience was wonderful,We celebrated our 4 year Anniversary.
Food was great and the atmosphere.
Looking forward to the new location in Hopewell.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I am never disappointed with their menu and service, outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food. Great service, very friendly waitress who was very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent- great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was fabulous and servers were nice. However, we had to WAIT a long time between courses during Restaurant Week visit. And the noise level was too loud for me.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Went for Restaurant week. Meal was excellent. Nice atmosphere but just too loud. Feel like you have to talk very loud across the table. Don't be in a hurry because service is slow. Been 2x now & had the same experience with the service. It was nice to see the manager stepping in to help deliver food to tables.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was really nothing to write home about,average-good taste but skimpy on quanity for the price. Service was slow, but friendly. Great view out on the patio, that is the best part of the whole experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were a party of four, with reservation, and were seated at a central table. On a previous visit, we were seated in a booth next to a window. The food was fine; the service was acceptable, but not memorable as our waitress was in training. The main complaint of the evening from everyone in our party was the excessive noise level which hindered comfortable conversation. We were shouting at each other over the table and reading lips. I had a sore throat at the end of the evening. I would not return to this restaurant for this very reason. Someone needs to adds more carpet or sound absorption materials to make this fine dining.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary and sat outside on a beautiful evening. The food, the view and the service were absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

First visit to this restaurant was recommended by friends. Had a first time date from out of town. Found a hair in the hush puppies. Waitress apologized but was shocked manager came and only apologized to no we will gladly make new ones or take it off you Bill or anything. The Waitress did that for us. Not sure if I will dine here again even though we loved our water view. Just thought more would have been done to keep my business because we were asked if it was our first time.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.