Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About The Boarding House

Welcome! The Boarding House opened December 2012 and is led by Proprietor and Master Sommelier Alpana Singh. Our historic building, which dates back to 1872, features several distinct areas that a bustling bar area, two distinct private dining spaces, and a comfortable dining room located on the building’s third floor.

Enjoy a curated and thoughtful list of 500 wines from around the world that will expertly complement your dining experience. Guests will be immediately enveloped by our ambient dining room, which is designed for everyday dining with service that is detailed, hospitable and personal.

The wine bar is available without reservations and seating is per availability.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Boarding House!

720 N Wells
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Crossover

Hours of Operation:
Wine Bar
Monday through Friday: 4:30 p.m. to CLOSE
Saturday: 4:30 p.m. to CLOSE
Closed Sunday

Dining Room
Monday: 5 p.m. to CLOSE
Tuesday through Saturday: 5 p.m. to CLOSE.
Closed Sunday




Cross Street:
Superior

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 280-0720

Website:
http://www.boardinghousechicago.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at Events@bhchicago.com

Parking Details:
The Boarding House offers valet parking on Wells Street.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located one block east of the Franklin Brown Line stop.

Executive Chef:
Tanya Baker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 19, 2017 - Jan 15, 2018 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Boarding House offers catering options from 4 to 400 people.

The Boarding House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Great meal, plenty of vegetarian options. Love the atmosphere, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding dinner! The new chef has brought on seasonal and delightful new dishes without changing the overall flair of the existing menu. Boarding house never disappoints. We will certainly be back soon to check out the chefs fall and winter menu changes! Thanks the wonderful meal and experience Boarding House!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Was greeted with an unbeli

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding experience over all. We started with cocktails in the bar during happy hour. If you're drinking wine it's 1/2 off between 4:30-6:30! Afterwards we went upstairs for dinner and sat with Patrick who is also the wine director. He was great at making suggestions and was respectful of our price point. We shared the burrata and octopus to start and then had the chicken, the pork and the rainbow trout which were all Delicious. Finished with a strawberry shortcake which made for the perfect ending. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

What an amazing experience! Fantastic service, delicious food in an absolutely beautiful venue. Will definitely be back and recommending to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Really incredible meal and service. Great Tuesday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very nice bar setting with dining on 3rd floor. We all had a great entrees and shared the tuna starter.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We were very excited to try The Boarding House since the reviews were so good. The food was quite expensive and just not very good. My salmon was poached but brined in such a way that it tasted smoked. There were lots of potatoes and a couple cucumber slices. My husband's meat was nothing special and my son found his duck to be very chewy. With one drink and one appetizer is was almost $200. We were disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Five long-time friends got together for dinner at The Boarding House, which proved a wonderful choice. I chose scallops, succulent and moist, presented with a subtle delicate sauce. An appetizer tray of cheeses, sauces, breads and meats set a pleasant opening note for the dinner. High ceilings cut some of ambient noise, so it just wasn't a problem. The restaurant is conveniently located just south of Chicago Ave on Wells. We'll go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was mediocre ,some of the dishes did not taste good. My husband wanted to return his meal but didn't do it because we had alot of friends with us. It's overpriced for the quality of food you get .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The good was delicious and the ambience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Noticeable difference with change in ownership as it relates to food quality. Restaurant was mostly empty and dishes were not as unique. Pork meal was a disappointment - odd combination of ingredients and overall bland. My friends said their meals were fine but nothing special. Service still solid though - courteous and helpful staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food and service at The Boarding House is outstanding. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The building and Decor is beautiful, as well as the presentation. The menu is limited , not kid friendly. The waiter was arrogant and didn't offer anything to help with choices .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Service was so terrible and menu was so limited that we ended up leaving and going somewhere else. Our server was terrible and completely rude. Will not go back or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We had a fun meal outside, food was great and our server Collin was awesome!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and amazing staff! Love the ambience. Food simply divine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Lovely evening; halibut and filet were beautifully prepared. Waiter was most helpful with choosing wine (extensive selection). I thoroughly enjoyed the salad, while my husband finished every last drop of his gazpacho. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Love this place. Delicious food and drink with great service. The scallops were fantastic Also the octopus appetizer Pot de creme for dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The service was truly outstanding, the room was interesting, and the food was good, but this restaurant is billed as a wine destination, and there it disappoints. Given Ms. Singh's resume and credentials, we were expecting to pay up some for interesting and difficult to access wine, or at the very least well thought out pairings, but there was little evidence of any of that. Honestly, I not only accept but support alcohol markups, but in a venue like this I shouldn't be paying more than double for wine that I can walk into a retail liquor store and buy off the shelf.

Given the failure in its main attraction, all other aspects seem like good quality but poor value. Your money is better spent elsewhere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent visit to the boarding house. Have been once before when it opened. Not as busy this time which is sad but typical for Chicago. Food was great again. I had the halibut with gnocchi and my wife had the sirloin. Both were tasty and well plated. The only downfall was the wait between app and entree. Wine was good - Saint Joseph. For dessert I had the blueberry, lemon cheesecake and my wife had the strawberry shortcake. They finished the meal well. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I expected this dinner and restaurant to be a memorable time. Instead, I received a subpar meal, rude service, and an empty restaurant.

Restaurant: don't offer a 9 PM seating and then tell me the kitchen will be closing, 5 minutes after I sit down.

Staff: I understand that you're tired and want to go home. Speak with your boss about that. I came to eat a nice meal and to take my time. Not to feel rushed as you gathered by the bar waiting to leave and while you reset the tables for the next day.

Meal: why did I pay $26 for something I could have made at home? Roasted cauliflower was not even fully roasted. It was definitely rushed to be put together. Tasteless, and bland. The mushrooms were too salty and the salad was basic. By that point, I was so hungry I forced down the food with wine (great glass of wine by the way).

Overall: do not recommend. There are so many other places in Chicago that are worth the money, and cheaper for better quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Definitely do not take your family here. I brought my family from out of town for a nice dinner and was disappointed. This place is a wine bar first and a restaurant second. It's a very casual place. There was a miscommunication and it took almost 10 minutes for a server to greet our table. Other than that our server was great . The chicken was undercooked but our server took it off our check. Won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service was absolutely terrible. Our waitress was beyond rude- we will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I made a reservation to Boarding House for my Fiance's birthday. I requested to have a nice quiet table, maybe away from the center of the dining room. I asked if it were possible to make this evening special with champagne or a birthday cake. None was done as requested. The food was very good, but our waiter was a bit rude and not friendly. We invited about 25 people to the bar after dinner, but I now regret going here and doubt we will be returning. Hopefully the staff will become more perceptive to the requests of their guests, and hopefully they will be kinder when serving their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The wine. That's why we booked the reservation. Why else would you go to a Master Somm's restaurant. We weren't disappointed. Where else could we have ordered a bottle of white from Slovenia? We also had a bottle of Gamay. The markup on the wine was fair. The cocktails were solid. We appreciated very much that many bottles of wine could be had around $60. The food is not going to knock your socks off with foam and innovation, but it does as it should, which is to serve as supporting cast to the wine. If you love wine, this is your place. The atmosphere was quiet enough to have a conversation and we appreciated it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Always super food and super service. The ambience and decor is just gorgeous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 12, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience. Perfection from start to finish. Our server Patrick was extremely knowledgeable on wine and made excellent suggestions from the menu. Every course was so delicious and beautifully presented. The 3rd floor dining room is gorgeous and romantic. I could go on and on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was delicious and service was exceptional. Definitely would recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

the boarding house was a mistake. dont know what we were thinking when we went.
nothing to say positive. just very buttery food.
so many negatives. not interested in going into them.
cannot recommend , and will not return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Boarding House continues to be one of the great finds in Chicago. The atmosphere is unique with wine glasses and bottles decorating the ceiling, etc. We have hosted parties, eaten with friends and find the service an industry standard. The food and wine top everything.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food took a long time to come. Entree fair and not warm. Dessert was great Empty tables thus noise level was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The service was outstanding. The atmosphere is exceptional. We had a lovely meal there

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Happy hour deal was half price wines and $10 pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Fabulous meal, great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food was good but nothing special. Service was horrible--took 40 minutes to get drinks and almost 2 hours to get appetizers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Ambiance, wine and Spanish octopus were outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Really unique ambiance and excellent food. The wine selection was good. Chef was accommodating on slight menu and preparation changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I was on an important business dinner with a client. The service was so poor, we finished our so-so appetizers and cocktails it took forever to order and left before the entrees. It was a Saturday night during the dinner hour and we were one of perhaps a handful of tables. Will never go back. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The service from everyone we met was excellent. The food and wine list were excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.