Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About The Boarding House

Welcome! The Boarding House opened December 2012 and is led by Proprietor and Master Sommelier Alpana Singh. Our historic building, which dates back to 1872, features several distinct areas that a bustling bar area, two distinct private dining spaces, and a comfortable dining room located on the building’s third floor.

Enjoy a curated and thoughtful list of 500 wines from around the world that will expertly complement your dining experience. Guests will be immediately enveloped by our ambient dining room, which is designed for everyday dining with service that is detailed, hospitable and personal.

The wine bar is available without reservations and seating is per availability.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Boarding House!

720 N Wells
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Wine Bar
Monday through Friday: 4:30 p.m. to CLOSE
Saturday: 4:30 p.m. to CLOSE
Closed Sunday

Dining Room
Monday: 5 p.m. to CLOSE
Tuesday through Saturday: 5 p.m. to CLOSE.
Closed Sunday




Cross Street:
Superior

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 280-0720

Website:
http://www.boardinghousechicago.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at Events@bhchicago.com

Parking Details:
The Boarding House offers valet parking on Wells Street.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located one block east of the Franklin Brown Line stop.

Executive Chef:
Tanya Baker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Boarding House offers catering options from 4 to 400 people.

The Boarding House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Business Meals (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Fun (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Authentic (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Private Room (3)
Historic (3)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect experience for a large group. The restaurant was super accommodating!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Most dishes with meat can be made vegetarian. Plus, they also have a separate vegetarian menu, so just ask. Good is amazing! Every dish I've tried was great! Cool atmosphere! Trendy place!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I went here for the first time for my birthday dinner with my boyfriend. I was a luxurious and fun ambiance with really pretty decor and romantic vibes. My boyfriend and I kept mentioning to each other the music selection was really great and it made the overall experience more enjoyable. We had the Polenta Fries for an app which we nearly inhaled because it was so tasty. We shared a bottle of Sauvigon Blanc which was a great pairing for my entree which were the seared scallops. I was quiet satisfied with the food and the experience was very memorable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We chose this restaurant for its vegetarian options. While it did have a vegetarian menu, it offered only three vegetarian entrees. Two of them were very good, but one of them was simply the pasta special minus the meat and it was fair. I thought it was a very pretty restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Fantastic meal and great wine! The atmosphere at The Boarding House is amazingly romantic and beautiful! I would love to go back there again soon with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I have been to this restaurant in the past and was eager to go back because really enjoyed the food and ambiance. This visit was not as enjoyable. I ordered a glass of wine. The server brought the wine to the table, and just poured some in my glass. He did not show me the label and did not offer a taste. Not the type of wine service I expect at this type of restaurant.

There wasn't much on the menu that really jumped out at me. I settled on the fish special which was sturgeon. I am a light eater and never complain about small portions but this piece of fish was the size of a large scallop and was served in the middle of a plate of beans. It was all tasty but $33.00 is too much for what was essentially beans. My husband ordered the chicken and he liked it.

We were offered a table in the mezzanine and took it and found it to be a pleasant and quiet location.

All in all, not the high quality experience I've had in the past at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Booked a Friday night dinner reservation for a reunion of friends. We all met up early at the bar to take advantage of the happy hour. Everyone was wonderful and accommodating --- from the hostess to our server. We then proceeded to the dining hall on the third floor, where we had a lovely dinner. The host and the sommelier were incredibly helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Plus, can't forget to mention how beautiful the place is and how delicious the meals were!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Ambiance, food and wine were great! Server was MIA. Our glasses were bone dry and our server didn't acknowledge it at all. We had to go to the bar to ask for our second round. This was around 5:00 when it was still very quiet and empty. Poor service, but everything else made up for it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I really liked the decor and the ambiance here as well as the wine choices. The service was very sparse and it took forever for our main course. I had scallops and some form of unidentifiable beef or bacon that was so overcooked and desiccated. My friends had the sturgeon and said it was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good food and friendly knowledgeable waitstaff. Flatiron steak dish was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The Boarding House was recommended by some friends. The restaurant is very good. There were very few people, but this was perhaps because we had dinner early (5:00 PM). The bathrooms say the building was constructed in 1871. They did a wonderful job of renovating/decorating. The glasses hanging from the ceiling are a particularly nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Loved this inventive place!!!! ❤❤❤❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our server collin b- was so mean and rude. But the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The menu was not very goood .. we just ordered a bottle of wine and a cheese plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food took a really long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Wonderful dinner on a quiet night. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Loved this place, absolutely beautiful and the good was really good too. Great place for a date or to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Ordered off the vegetarian menu. Food was amazing. Never been a wine drinker but the quality and variety here inspired me to order a few glasses and I was not disappointed. Decor is really neat, too.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Exceptional service by hostess and wait staff. Food was okay for vegetarians. The wine was great. The atmosphere is very unique and romantic. Definitely a hidden gem because you can't tell what the dining room is like from the first floor. The first floor is more of drinks/bar setting. The third floor has a decadent fixture on the ceiling made with 4000 wine balls. Great for people watching and very romantic feel.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The place was dead on a Friday night at 8 yet our server still tried to rush us out. Food was good but I wouldn't go back. Overall a disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great wine selection and outstanding service

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This was our first time at the Boarding House. We made reservations two days in advance. We received a phone call confirming the reservation. We arrived early and were seated promptly. The third floor dining area is very spacious and was not noisy. Food was good and served at proper temperatures. Craft cocktail was flavorful and blended nicely in a way to mask its strength. We had an enjoyable time and added this to our list of places to revisit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Excellent food and unparalleled wine list. I love going to The Boarding House - it's a pleasure to be in the dining room.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Absolutely amazing decor food and ambiance our company GoSmile had an absolutely amazing experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great atmosphere. Great service. Great food. Somewhat limited menu, but everything was prepared perfectly and tasted amazing. Loved the BH old fashioned, contemporary take on a classic cocktail.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The service was impeccable. Our waitress was one of the best. She was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. The New Zealand venison was delicious. Give it a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Attentive staff and a great experience from the time you walk in the door till the end of the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Took a group of 8 here for a business dinner & everyone loved their food . Clients really enjoyed the ambiance too -- third floor is quiet and good for large groups - long tables and cool light fixtures. Only thing is that it took a really long time for our main courses to come out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was terrible. I had the flank steak. It was prepared poorly and it took about an hour to get our entrees. The drinks were mediocre. The decor is nice but overall thumbs down.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great restaurant! Food and wine was delicious & imaginative. Excellent server! A wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere and extremely delicious, creative food. Love the two levels - bar downstairs and dining upstairs.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Very good food. Excellent wait staff. The only drawback was the occasional overwhelming smell of bleach or some cleaning agent coming from the kitchen. Intense smell twice within 90 minutes at the restaurant. Close the door to the inner kitchen!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great place! Will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Really enjoyed dining at Boarding House. The food was excellent and quite a value for such high quality fare. Portion sizes were appropriate, not micro-food but also not bringing home half a meal. My wife had the scallops, very flavorful and wonderfully paired with pears. I had the sturgeon on a white bean ragu with kale and pearl onions. Both were wonderful and were complemented by an excellent bottle of Priorat.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing dinner prior to a welcome reception for a family wedding. Our waiter was outstanding and very knowledgeable on wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Drinks and ambiance were excellent. Food was decent but not exceptional, and I would expect better in that price bracket (the salmon was a little dry and tasted fishier than it should have). Would go back for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Came in for Valentines day dinner. $60/person 3 course. Beef tenderloin was cooked to perfection, scallops were amazing! seared perfectly as well. Desserts could be better. Tables were set too close. Great atmosphere good ambiance. Love love the decor! Wine glasses and bottles ceiling! Super cool!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved the ceilings! The first floor bar area had a ceiling with 100's of wine glasses and the third floor dining had a ceiling with 100's of wine bottles. The food was very good. Our waitress wasn't very knowledgeable and didn't seem to know much about the wine. The decor was very cool except some of the wallpaper was peeling and not lined up and there were some chips in the wall paint, so I only gave it 4 stars. But overall it was a good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is the second time that I've been to Boarding House, and it didn't disappoint. It's a unique space with a thoughtful menu of creative options. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

good food, good atmosphere, good service. This restaurant works for any occasion. I liked it and so did my dinner partner who had never been here before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.