Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.01mi
  2. Distance: 9.50mi
  3. Distance: 9.58mi
  4. Distance: 11.83mi
  1. Distance: 5.01mi
  2. Distance: 9.50mi
  3. Distance: 9.58mi
  4. Distance: 11.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.01mi
  2. Distance: 9.50mi
  3. Distance: 9.58mi
  4. Distance: 11.83mi
  1. Distance: 5.01mi
  2. Distance: 9.50mi
  3. Distance: 9.58mi
  4. Distance: 11.83mi

About The Bistro at Just Baked

Award Winning Farm to Plate restaurant on Topsail Island.
Wine Spectator Award of Excellence Winner 2016
Wine Spectator Award of Excellence Winner 2016
One of the Best Bourbon Bars in America 2016


MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu


Sorry but due to the limited size of our dining room we are unable to accommodate groups larger than 10 people

602 B Roland Ave
Surf City, NC 28445
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Serving Dinner
Tuesday - Saturday @ 5:30 pm
MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu

Cross Street:
High Point Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 328-2000

Website:
http://www.topsailbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lots in front of restaurant

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Bud Taylor

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will gladly book your special event on location.

The Bistro at Just Baked Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (38)
Scenic View (32)
Local Ingredients (28)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for a Date (27)
Romantic (26)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Organic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Casual (12)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (11)
Healthy (9)
Private Room (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great Beer (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
880 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We arrived a bit before our reservation, so decided to grab a drink at the bar. The bartender was not friendly at all and didn't even acknowledge us during the 15 minutes we were standing there (there were only about 8 people in the bar area), so we decided to just wait to order drinks once seated. Our waiter and food were absolutely amazing, though, as always! Definitely recommend for the restaurant and not the bar. The view from this new location is great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This is a true gem. Delicious, excellent service, beautiful views of the sound. Best restaurant on Topsail Island. Nothing else compares.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Overall we enjoyed the meal. Member of our party had some difficulty getting a Manhattan to his satisfaction. Another member was given wrong entrée which the server ordered incorrectly (write it down if you can't remember).(was comped). Otherwise the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My sons and I had eaten here in November of 2016. My youngest son who lives in Denver and is somewhat of a foodie had raved over the dinner and when he was just here visiting with his girlfriend had Bistro on his list of places to take her. He raves over the food and the preparation.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our waitress was adorable and very sweet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We asked for medium well steaks and they were medium rare. The server did not check with us to see if they were done right. Eventually he came back, was not apologetic (seemed somewhat annoyed), and took my whole plate to the kitchen - veggies and all. By the time he brought it back, everyone else was done. For the price, we were not impressed.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have been eating at this restaurant since it opened in 2007 at its other location, but this was my first time at the new spot. It has great views but the service and "nickel and "diming" was such a turn off, I don't think I will go back. Bread for the table now costs $7 (it should be free, even if it is house made!) and a good, but not exceptional burger, costs $18? No, thank you.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Still, without a doubt, the best on the island. This is our go to restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 9, 2017

One of the best meals I have had in the past several years. I had the tile fish and it was delicious. I highly recommend the Bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

They egg rolls are outstanding. I could make a meal out of them!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Poor reception at door poor service, did not get appetizer we ordered, waited an hour for food. Food and view excellent. New staff??

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The Mako shark was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The best meal you will find in the area featuring local ingredients and creative executions. Whenever we are in town we try to go there at least once. This last time, it was a little chilly for some in our party; but the food and service is always exceptional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great rotating menu, food and location. Fresh local ingredients and great handcrafted cocktails. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My wife and I eat at the Bristro several times a year and have always found great service, great food (not your typical beach fare), and the view of the sound is tops. The menu changes frequently, so there is always something new to try. The beignets make for a delicious dessert. Be sure to get a reservation! Tends to be busy, especially during the summer season.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Dean had the steak and it was the best. I had the tile fish and it was delish. Our favorite restaurant on Topsail.

We had a corner table with a waterfront view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Waterfront, Casual, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We come to Topsail twice a year and this is always our last night dinner. Everything always lives up to our expectations

Tags: Spicy, Comfort Food, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food was good service was slow and took over an hour to get our meal. Too noisey inside dinning room. Get some thing to dampen the noise... curtains etc...

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

If you want the best food possible on Topsail Island, then this is the restaurant for you. It is, without a doubt, the best restaurant anywhere on this 27 mile stretch of sand! When we want fine dining, we honestly don't consider anything else. ........

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Organic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Overall, very nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Incredibly fresh food, undeniably phenomenal service and such a welcoming atmosphere. My favorite place on the island!

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Wonderful as always!! It's our go to spot on the Island

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always amazing! Farm to table and cooked to request and perfection everytime. Could use some extra care when making cocktails.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food presentation was really nice. The mixture of ingredients & flavors was a nice surprise!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Amazing and beautiful as always. Love the new finds on the menu. Love the wine. Love the view. Fabulous staff.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been coming to The Bistro for years. It has always had terrific food. Now it has the location to match!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very Disappointed.... Too expensive, very limited menu . menu changes daily.

Tags: Waterfront, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The view of the sound is spectacular sitting inside or out on the screened deck. The atmosphere is quiet for good conversation. The service is outstanding and the food even better. Love the collard egg rolls as an appetizer, and the seasonal entrees are always excellent. Highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 11, 2017

As usual the chef did a fantastic job, the wait staff was kind, attentive and accommodating. My favorite local place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We enjoyed our meal very much. My shrimp dish had an excellent blend of ingredients and flavors well-balanced. We were both pleased with our choices and felt that they had been prepared by an experienced chef!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Second time at The Bistro. Such a lovely experience again. Delicious, well-developed menu and unique and yet classic cocktail list. The Bistro excels at making comfort food a new and memorable experience. Can't wait for our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Besides the waiting time even with a reservation and some really loud customers the food is always spectacular

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing, wonderful wine and cocktail selection. Make reservations in advance. The view over the water is gorgeous. Request a window table...there are a few tables in the middle of the room and I would have much rather sat at the window. I felt a little uncomfortable in the middle of the small room. Try the egg rolls for an app and the beignets for dessert!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was good, but overpriced. Nice dining room, and great porch dinning it the weather is OK.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I were searching for a nice restaurant for valentine's day and I had heard of the bistro and had heard nothing but good things so we decided to try it out. I'm a fairly picky eater bUT over the last couple years I've become slightly more adventurous. I tried their lobster risotto and it was phenomenal. I had never had lobster before and risotto only once before and I had made it. The food is outstanding and definitely worth the price. We were seated promptly and had our food within about 15 minutes or so. I would highly recommend this to anyone willing to try something new and it's and great place to go back as the menu is always changing as to what is in season or what was caught locally. 10 stars because 5 isn't enough

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Awesome meal with locally sourced ingredients. Relaxed atmosphere. Server was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Highly recommend if you are looking for a upscale dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Friendly atmosphere, beautiful view, good service, and great food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went on a pre-valentines date. Excellent service, locally sourced food and fresh fish by the water! We'll be back soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was only mediocre - myself and my date were both disappointed. Steak had so many spices on it you couldn't taste the meat and it rested on a pile of grits that could feed an army! The seafood chowder was a great disappointment very little seafood and about 8 pieces of bread. Again, army style. They do have a hot bread appetizer that is very good - but filling before the meal. We left feeling like it was not the same and neither feeling like we had in the past.
I have dined here in the past, but had a different feeling about it. It has always been too noisy, but it just takes one group of four being loud to really ruin the ambiance.
It has been bumped down the list a good bit for us now.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've always been one who wants to substitute one side for another or take something off and add something else...not at the Bistro. Trust what they have prepared. The main course and the sides are always paired perfectly. The atmosphere is great, the view is amazing, and the food is top notch. It's a bit pricey, but well-worth it. Thoroughly enjoy every time we go!

Tags: Scenic View, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.