Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.01mi
  2. Distance: 9.50mi
  3. Distance: 9.58mi
  4. Distance: 11.83mi
  1. Distance: 5.01mi
  2. Distance: 9.50mi
  3. Distance: 9.58mi
  4. Distance: 11.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.01mi
  2. Distance: 9.50mi
  3. Distance: 9.58mi
  4. Distance: 11.83mi
  1. Distance: 5.01mi
  2. Distance: 9.50mi
  3. Distance: 9.58mi
  4. Distance: 11.83mi

About The Bistro at Topsail

Award Winning Farm to Plate restaurant on Topsail Island.
Wine Spectator Award of Excellence Winner 2016
Wine Spectator Award of Excellence Winner 2016
One of the Best Bourbon Bars in America 2016


MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu


Sorry but due to the limited size of our dining room we are unable to accommodate groups larger than 10 people

602 B Roland Ave
Surf City, NC 28445
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Serving Dinner
Tuesday - Saturday @ 5:30 pm
MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu

Cross Street:
High Point Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 328-2000

Website:
http://www.topsailbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lots in front of restaurant

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Bud Taylor

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will gladly book your special event on location.

The Bistro at Topsail Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (56)
Waterfront (52)
Local Ingredients (48)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Special Occasion (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Romantic (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Casual (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Healthy (18)
Organic (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Authentic (13)
Seasonal (13)
Cozy (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Business Meals (9)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great Beer (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vegan (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
979 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Perhaps the best duck I've ever had, although I was disappointed to have to wait for my table even though I had a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

From the beginning this evening was a disaster. I had an Open Table reservation for over a month for a 6:45 pm seating. When I made the reservation, I added a comment that we would prefer outdoor seating. The night of the reservation, the weather had turned cold and it was in the 50's outside. The restaurant basically said that since I had made the reservation for outside seating and we did not want to sit outside in the cold that we would have to wait for them to work us in inside. While we waited, we went to the bar. I ordered a cocktail from their menu and some of the ingredients for the cocktail they were out of . My companion ordered a glass of red wine. Guess what? THEY were OUT of it. When we were finally seated, I ordered the Swordfish (the only seafood on the menu except of catfish), THEY were OUT of! We left after the appetizer and went to Beauchaine's instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Bistro has a great cocktail selection and the food is outstanding. Numerous gluten free options are available. Staff is extremely nice and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We visit Topsail every year and this has been one of our favorites ! It a lovely place for a special occasion and celebration. Amazing cocktails and wonderful local food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

DISSAPOINTED
Visit to surf city North Carolina. This restaurant was recommended by rental owner. Reservation required, used open table, arrived earlier to see if we could be seated (with empty tables). Hostess snarled that they were already 15 minutes behind schedule. While at the bar they could have informed us since it's NOT a large place that one of their signature meals is no longer available. We were given the hype on the pork chops ( another signature). Tough fatty with no taste. Flat iron steak order meadium. Served blood rare. Sent it back so I could eat it. Tough. No taste , potatoes hard. Low country egg roll tooo much greens no sausage .
Bar tender David ..super
Waitress ..was lovely.
head hostess/madame NASTY
FOOD was so dissapointing that I needed to write review.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was good not great but overpriced .. 1 shared app ..2 house salad and 2 entrees no alcohol with tip $111.00

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

It was fantastic as always! Pork chops and grits were divine. I never would have thought to combine the two, but it was a great pairing. Only one disappointment; they ran out of trigger fish. Needless to say, my husband was very disappointed. Overall, it was a wonderful evening, as always at The Bistro.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We have eaten many meals at this restaurant and the one thing I can say is you can get a great to average experience. My wife enjoyed a meal in mid summer which she raved over so we booked her birthday meal this weekend. We had a lovely fall evening on the patio and a full moon rising over the marsh. The highlight of the meal.
The food is on the upper price end so I expect exceptional service and quality. First they charge for homemade bread. It was a run of the mill baguette. Traders Joes does better. My trigger fish was over cooked and the sautéed greens and polenta was good. Another meal was flank steak which came to the table stone cold. Worse we finally had to go find our waitress to get the meat reheated. Poorly handled all around. Fortunately my wife's pork chop was to her satisfaction.
We love the location and the idea of farm to table dining and will pay for the experience. Personally the unpredictability kills it for me. Far to expensive to not get good food and service.
Fall is not the busy time so the Bistro should have been able to handle a superior meal. It is unfortunate because the fine dining options are very limited in Topsail

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

dissapointed. Looking for seafood but due to limited items wound up with flat iron steak. My son in law finally settled for a burger. We were all four very disappointed with our food when it arrived. Would not try again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food (a shrimp and grits variation) was good--B+--but be careful where you are seated. Our group of five had two people in direct line of sight of the staff wait station, a brightly fluorescent-lit room with a washer and dryer churning away and wait staff coming and going. While the restaurant ambience is comfortable and positive, watching the mechanics of a restaurant is distracting in the extreme and negatively changes the quality of the dining experience. I mentioned it to our wait staff member who referred me to the manager who looked over my shoulder to check our whatever might be going on that was more interesting than talking to me--she essentially blew me off.
An attractive screen and lower wattage lighting would go a long way in creating a more pleasant dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Expensive. Poor quality of food. Ordered pork chop. Tough and fatty.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 26, 2017

This is truly the upscale restaurant for Topsail. Unique menu items and wonderful local produce, etc. We were fortunate to be there in late September and able to snag a reservation. Thoroughly enjoyed our outside seating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We love The Bistro and we at there 3 times in one week while on vacation! We did the same last year! The Bistro serves the BEST food in the area. We are foodies so we know the Bistro is a true treasure. Our only complaint is that the metal chairs they have for seating are extremely uncomfortable. Also, new servers should be trained as to how to open a bottle of wine. Our server the last night opened the bottle and then filled both glasses without letting us taste the wine first. That is a pretty basic step that should not be overlooked. Good food and good wine are both easy to find at the Bistro! They have an very good wine list. Everything on the menu is amazing! We look forward to next year!

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2017

This is a mixed review. Was nice to find an upscale restaurant in Topsail/Surf City area. Unfortunately we were unable to get a reservation before 8:00 so we missed the views the restaurant is known for; recommend you plan ahead and go for sunset. We were seated (right on time) in a lovely private room that was nicely decorated although not quite right for the area.

The cocktails were very nice (esp. the bourbon smash). We skipped appetizers (due to late hour) and got right to meal. The trigger fish was AMAZING but it was not served as described on the menu so my dining companions were very disappointed (potatoes and kale instead of zucchini). The grits served with the pork chop were uninteresting and heavy. The steak salad was good.

The verdict was that we would give the restaurant another try on our next visit to Topsail but were not blown away by our first experience as hoped.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Once again we loved our meal and experience at The Bistro. We go a few times a year, but love to go for my birthday when we really splurge on Chef recommended wine and pairings. This meal was fabulous. I had spiced flank steak with roasted vegetables. I took it as the chef recommend it be prepared, which was a tiny bit on the rare side but amazing. My husband had the shrimp over grits. But those grits were so creamy, I swear they tasted almost like rissoto. We opted for the chefs recommended wine pairing, a delicious cab. It was the perfect complement. We both selected hand crafted martinis to start, and bananas foster for dessert. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The Bistro is our go-to place in the area for special occasions, date night or a fine dinner with friends. It's consistently good food and service!

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great restaurant for the Topsail area! Food, service were A++. Must try when in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We have been many times and hope this was an off night for them rather than the new norm. We had a reservation and our table was given to someone else after we checked in causing us to wait almost 30 minutes for a table. Then we were seated outside where the lights were not working to see menu, food, etc. They had no candles which a quick trip to any nearby store would have solved. All in all wait staff seemed new and disorganized. Food was good but not excellent as we have become used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The woman who greeted us was rude and because we were 10 min early told we could wait at the bar which didn't have any seating. When we were seated and had placed our drink order we waited we waited quire a while to place our order. The menu selections were disappointing. The obligatory shrimp and grits which my husband ordered and turned out to be disappointing, much better at the beach dog. I was very disappointed that the only fish offer was the red drum and catfish. Apparently the menu is changed every nite but not on the website. The beignets were actually donut holes with granulated sugar. I can remember how awesome the meals at the old location were and continue to be disappointed at the new location. Just not worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 1, 2017

No flexibility at the bar. They have a signature drink and not many other options. And the signature drink wasn't the best. They do offer bourbon. Not a full bar.
My friend ordered the bananas foster and it came out with barely any sauce. She asked for a little more, agreeing to an up charge. The waitress came out and said the kitchen declined her request for more sauce. The was less than a drizzle of the sauce, which makes bananas foster. A few minutes later, as my friend was getting ready to return the dessert, the waitress came out with a little container of more sauce. Kind of ridiculous. We were told no twice at that dinner: no to a hurricane or pain killer mixed drink, and no to more sauce. I don't think I have ever been told no at a restaurant before. Understandable if you don't have the ingredients to make a drink, but I don't think that was the case. I am guessing the chef, and/or the manager get by being very specific with what they want the restaurant to be. Not my kind of place. This was the third time I have been to the Bistro, the other times were good. Nothing out of this world. Too many other restaurants in Topsail to try.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2017

My husband and I visited The Bistro several years ago prior to their move to the new location. Frankly, we enjoyed the old location much better. The intimacy and coziness is lacking at the new location.
We dined on the outdoor patio and it was a pretty setting.
Even though I had to send my shrimp dish back due to the shrimp being raw, they fixed me a new one and the dish was outstanding. The cheese grits were very tasty. Excellent flavor. My husband ordered the catfish meal and he was rather underwhelmed at the piece of fish he received. Disappointing.
Any nice restaurant would either comp your meal or do something special as a result of having to send a meal back, however, they did not do a thing. Disappointing.
We will try other restaurants next time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Local and organic. We loved everything. Easy, warm atmosphere high end but not pretentious. Notables were the collard green egg rolls, duck and seasonal salad with fried goat cheese. Solid wine list and the key lime pie was terrific. Best on Topsail island.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food and service were both impeccable. Wonderful atmosphere with stunning views of the water. We will definitely be back next time we're in Topsail

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Fantastic dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great ambiance. A nice surprise. The food was fabulous. Great evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Went to The Bistro during vacationing on Topsail Island. The food was outstanding, very fresh and mostly local (farm to table). The staff was also very friendly. However, I'm not giving them a 5 star review since we felt very rushed - the entrees were served when we were only half way finished with our salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 22, 2017

This place never fails to amaze me. Great local food, great service, great cocktails. Attention to every detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Everything about this place is fabulous. The food selection and presentation are out of this world with amazing fresh everything! The dining experience is not like anything you will find around Surf City.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Waterfront, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I love this restaurant! I'm a foodie person so my expectations are high. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Fantastic as always, before we coud get to our seat Patricia had my usual drink ready for me at my table. AWESOME!!! The STAFF they make you fell like family. A+++++ Thanks again Mike and Ruby

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

My husband and I have eaten at The Bistro several times. The positive is the food, decor and view. All are amazing! The negative is the service. Though the servers and staff are friendly we've had "uh-ohs" every time we've visited. We've ordered a bottle of Silver Oak and it was brought to us AFTER dinner already decanted so we couldn't refuse the wine. We didn't finish the bottle. On another experience we ordered the Silver Oak again and it came and was plopped on the table. We had the ask for it to be decanted. On one occasion our table wasn't quit ready yet, so we offered to grab a drink in the bar. The bar is beautiful and intimate. Instead the hostess grabs silverware and glasses off another table and walks us out dropping items as she went along. It was just awkward. Lastly, it was our anniversary last night and I indicated twice on the reservation and nothing was said or done. A smile and a "Happy Anniversary" would have been nice. I know all this may seem trivial, but when you spend on average $350 per meal you expect a little more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 17, 2017

As always a superb meal. One of our favorite places to eat year round. Always know you are going to get a great meal.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Had a great dinner for two that was excellent. I had the shrimp and grits that were fabulous with 10 shrimp to savor.
One of the favorite entrees is the catfish. I had a much too small sample that tasted very good

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We had a fantastic dinner tonight. Best meal by far in Surf City / Topsail. Farm to table fresh, great cocktails and the view isn't shabby either. Service was excellent, portions are good and food comes out quick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Food - par excellence, great view.
The waitress was great and very attentive, providing great suggestions.
We live in the area and do most of our celebratory occasions at this restaurant

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Every thing was fantastic with one exception the chairs, please replace the chairs as they are so uncomfortable.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fantastic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

This was our first time visiting the Bistro but it certainly wont be the last! Exceptional food quality and attentive/engaging service plus a beautiful waterfront view. This is a location not to be missed.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This is our annual go-to spot when we visit Topsail. The Okra is perfect, their grits are delicious, you can't beat their seafood. This time I had the porkchop. It was delicious and huge. Don't forget the beignets for dessert. Great cocktail list and a huge bourbon inventory.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.