About The Bistro at Just Baked

602 B Roland Ave
Surf City, NC 28445
View Larger Map

Award Winning Farm to Plate restaurant on Topsail Island.
Wine Spectator Award of Excellence Winner 2015


MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu


Sorry but due to the limited size of our dining room we are unable to accommodate groups larger than 10 people

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Serving Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday @ 5:30 pm
MENUS CHANGE DAILY
Visit our website for today's menu

Cross Street:
High Point Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 328-2000

Website:
http://www.topsailbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lots in front of restaurant

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Bud Taylor

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will gladly book your special event on location.

The Bistro at Just Baked Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (22)
Scenic View (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Romantic (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Organic (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Healthy (6)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
845 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I were searching for a ni ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I were searching for a nice restaurant for valentine's day and I had heard of the bistro and had heard nothing but good things so we decided to try it out. I'm a fairly picky eater bUT over the last couple years I've become slightly more adventurous. I tried their lobster risotto and it was phenomenal. I had never had lobster before and risotto only once before and I had made it. The food is outstanding and definitely worth the price. We were seated promptly and had our food within about 15 minutes or so. I would highly recommend this to anyone willing to try something new and it's and great place to go back as the menu is always changing as to what is in season or what was caught locally. 10 stars because 5 isn't enough

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal with locally sourced ingred ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome meal with locally sourced ingredients. Relaxed atmosphere. Server was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Highly recommend if you are looking for a upscale dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly atmosphere, beautiful view, goo ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

Friendly atmosphere, beautiful view, good service, and great food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went on a pre-valentines date. Excellent ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went on a pre-valentines date. Excellent service, locally sourced food and fresh fish by the water! We'll be back soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was only mediocre - myself and my d ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was only mediocre - myself and my date were both disappointed. Steak had so many spices on it you couldn't taste the meat and it rested on a pile of grits that could feed an army! The seafood chowder was a great disappointment very little seafood and about 8 pieces of bread. Again, army style. They do have a hot bread appetizer that is very good - but filling before the meal. We left feeling like it was not the same and neither feeling like we had in the past.

I have dined here in the past, but had a different feeling about it. It has always been too noisy, but it just takes one group of four being loud to really ruin the ambiance.

It has been bumped down the list a good bit for us now.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I've always been one who wants to substi ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've always been one who wants to substitute one side for another or take something off and add something else...not at the Bistro. Trust what they have prepared. The main course and the sides are always paired perfectly. The atmosphere is great, the view is amazing, and the food is top notch. It's a bit pricey, but well-worth it. Thoroughly enjoy every time we go!

Tags: Scenic View, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a pleasant surprise to find this ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was a pleasant surprise to find this restaurant on Topsail Island. We went on a Friday night for our anniversary and it was not crowded but it had a fair number of people there for a February night at the beach. The food was excellent. It advertises farm-to-table and I would agree that the ingredients were local and fresh. We had the crab dip with cheese and homemade bread (bread is paid for as an extra but worth it) for an appetizer. Both were top notch. My wife had the shrimp and grits and I had the bone-in chop. Both were flavored with local vegetables and were excellent. I had the collards as a side dish and they were very fresh, tender and flavorful. We were stuffed and brought home some for lunch the next day. They had a reasonable set of selections on the menu that obviously changed from day to day depending on the availability of different foods.

I highly recommend this place as a nice place for couples to go for a special date. The only thing that was slightly a negative was that this isn't a place to go if you are looking for expensive furniture and surroundings to create a sense of ambiance. Our table was a bit wobbly and the chairs were not big and comfortable. But that was well worth the sacrifice to enjoy the wonderful food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and amazing food. Extensiv ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great service and amazing food. Extensive list of burbons

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with an even better view. Th ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food with an even better view. The space is small and cozy. Perfect for a date night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, food was fantastic an ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was great, food was fantastic and the friendliest folks you could ask for. Thanks Bud!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice dinner, good drinks. A bit noisy bu ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice dinner, good drinks. A bit noisy but not loud. Meticulously slow bartender.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent as always. Best food in the S ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent as always. Best food in the Surf City area.

Tags: Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bistro is a go to place in this area ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The Bistro is a go to place in this area. Good restaurants are hard to come by without the drive to Wilmington. That being said, if there were more good restaurants Bistro might have a harder time attracting guests. Some things are excellent, like the burger, fish specials, salads...but some are not, like the steak! A bit pricey for a burger but chips were really home made and very nice. We will go back. We like that it sits on the water, though you cannot enjoy any of the ambience at this time of the year. We are hoping it will evolve and become all that it could be soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything was spectacular.Love the conc ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was spectacular.Love the concept of farm to table and the fresh ingredients.Atmosphere is gorgeous.Warm and knowledgeable service.Chef

is remarkable.Well done!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food was excellent service outstanding ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

food was excellent service outstanding waiter very helpful lacked beer knowledge only complaint at $26-$30 an entree could you not throw in two rolls you want rolls cost $8 for basket

Tags: Great Beer, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was spectacular except it was ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Everything was spectacular except it was very cold. It did not seem as if there was any heat on for the entire meal. Small complaint considering how wonderful the food and service was but thought you might like to know 😊

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Healthy, Organic, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

The Bistro used to be my favorite restau ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The Bistro used to be my favorite restaurant on the island, but unfortunately the past three visits I have not been impressed at all by the food, nor service. Drinks were average at best, we were overcharged for one ($13), our appetizer was dropped off on the side of the table and she left, we felt hurried to order and leave and it was not a great experience like we've had at the old place. It seems since they moved that things have change... The best part of my meal was the steak & greens, it was delicious! The wine was good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

IT IS A GREAT PLACE TO EAT!!! THE FOOD I ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 26, 2016

IT IS A GREAT PLACE TO EAT!!! THE FOOD IS AWESOME AND THE STAFF MAKES YOU FEEL LIKE FAMILY!!! WISH WE WERE LOCAL SO WE COULD GO EVERYNIGHT!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Casual, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time visiting The Bistro. Everyth ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Second time visiting The Bistro. Everything is fresh and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food, interior fantastic. A li ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful food, interior fantastic. A little loud, but not so much to distruput the meal. Only issue was the Sauvignon Blanc list was mostly from California and we paid $30+ for a $16 bottle of Kim Crawford since it was the cheaper of the two New Zealand Sauvignon Blancs.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Ordered the duck dinner. Duck was good b ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ordered the duck dinner. Duck was good but whatever was served with it was overly salty and looked like it had just been brought in from the truck stop. Black, black, black. Overcooked and not good. The worst part was having the pleasure of sitting on what looked like outdoor metal chairs. Half the tables appeared to have padded thicker chairs and the others reminded me of the chairs I had in choir in high school 50 years ago. Chair behind be hit me on the back of the head all evening and there wasn't enough room for me to move away from it. This was our first trip to Bistro since your relocation. You went from our favorite high end restaurant to maybe 4th or 5th. Not impressed.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

I have eaten at the Bistro twice in the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I have eaten at the Bistro twice in the last three weeks and both times the food and service were terrific. The farm to Island approach to the menu was interesting and executed with thoughtfulness. I would return with guests with confidence that the menu would be relevant to the season and the atmosphere appropriate for fine dining.

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Was turned off by charge to make reserva ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Was turned off by charge to make reservation initially. Was not charged on open table. Had read many complaints about pricing and they were so wrong. Best place to eat at surf city. Eating there twice this week. Will always return. Excellent food and presentation. 5 stars.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleasantly surprised. The ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We were very pleasantly surprised. The food is great and reasonably priced. We will definitely go there again and take friends and family.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hostess was not attentive or welcoming A ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Hostess was not attentive or welcoming

All of the food was VERY salty

Atmosphere was pleasing

Buying locally sourced food is appealing

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had heard about Burgers and Bourbon N ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We had heard about Burgers and Bourbon Night at the Bistro for a long time, but the words didn't measure up to how really great this is. Special bourbon drinks (wine or others if you want) and gourmet burgers to absolutely die for. Just perfect sitting and looking out at the water. The hostess and wait staff were more than kind and attending to our every need.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely meal with a great view of the riv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Lovely meal with a great view of the river. Interesting food. Enjoyed the patio.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our dining experience was fantastic. We ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our dining experience was fantastic. We plan to go every time we are at the beach.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Disabled Access, Cozy, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Enjoyable evenin ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food and service. Enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is one of our go-to places when we' ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is one of our go-to places when we're on Topsail Island. The food is delicious and the service is always outstanding!! They keep out-growing their locations and it's easy to see why!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great as usual. Dinner at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was great as usual. Dinner at the Bistro never disappoints, and the seasonal menu changes provide new dishes to try. The cocktails are amazing and beautifully hand crafter with fresh ingredients. We went with a group of 4 on a Saturday night, and the only negative aspect was that our delicious cocktails took about 20 minutes to reach the table. On a Saturday night, the restaurant is always packed, but for some reason there was only one bartender. She was swamped with drink orders, which caused our cocktails to arrive with our main courses even though we ordered them when we first sat down. We love the Bistro though and would recommend it to anyone. Its great for groups of friends or for a romantic date night.

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Pros: Great food~ Drinks~ outstanding se ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Pros: Great food~ Drinks~ outstanding service! We will definitely return!

Cons: Issues getting reservation on line for larger party- keep defaulting to 2 people; ran out of entrees 2 people were planning on getting; extremely cold inside!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are never disappointed with the food ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We are never disappointed with the food at The Bistro. We have been multiple times and really enjoy the outside seating when there are no flies. This particular time we were sitting inside and there was a very load table with intoxicated patrons disturbing the entire restaurant with their loud voices. I kindly asked the hostess to see what she could do and she addressed the issue best she could.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is very good and has absolutely ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food is very good and has absolutely fresh products. The seafood was especially delicious. The dessert of key lime tart was to die for and every last crumb was eaten. Wine selections are good. Service was attentive,but not pawing. Would absolutely recommend it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were greeted by a hostess that seemed ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were greeted by a hostess that seemed surprised to see us which was strange because we made a reservation that carried a hefty fee ($25/person) if we canceled. We were told our table wasn't ready - the other reservation rule was that we would forfeit if we were more than 10 minutes late - so I felt like this was just a ploy to get us into the bar to buy drinks. And this is why the 4 star rating.

Now for the good. Easily the best food we've ever had in Topsail. Upscale, freshest local ingredients, different choices. The menu changes everyday so this will only be a guide.

For appetizers we had the crab dip served with crostini. Yum. And the fresh homemade bread with Gorgonzola butter and a peach chutney. Amazing. Not a fan of paying for bread with a $$ meal but it was delicious. Snapper was served over a bed of greens on a cauliflower purée that was spicy/sweet. Incredible. Waitress named it as the favorite and she was right! Our group also had the duck and pork chop to rave reviews. We even had the hamburger which was cooked perfectly and stacked with cheese, tomatoes, and lettuce. Stacked.

Dessert was beignets - more like fried dough balls - with cinnamon and sugar. A good dessert to share.

All in all a great experience. A little more southern hospitality would make this place a 5.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Waterfront, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best restaurant around and we've bee ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The best restaurant around and we've been to all of them. It is certainly worth the price, as it is more expensive than most. The food is delicious, portions are large, served beautifully.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fine dining in a casual atmosphere ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great fine dining in a casual atmosphere at the beach! Fresh, perfectly prepared seafood, beef, pork and vegetarian dishes. What more could you want!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, , Waterfront, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

as usual the food was delicious! This w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 6, 2016

as usual the food was delicious! This was our first visit to the new location. The ambiance is perfect. In spite of the pending Hurricane Matthew we had a great time and celebrated a wonderful anniversary!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Bar Seating, Private Room, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great except we were the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everything was great except we were the only 4 top where they say is and we had one seat that facing the entry into the bar and a wall what a let down. They should know better for a restaurant that is on the water considering every other table whether there were 2, 4, or 6 guests did not have that problem. Another experience like that and I will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not a good experience. Got a reservatio ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Not a good experience. Got a reservation for Sat night at 8:45......was the best we could get. Got there and it was almost 30 minutes till we were seated (note there were MANY tables open but uncleared) and when we went to order, they were OUT OF everything we wanted. We should have walked right then. Dinner came....,.not very good and spent $63 (only 1 beer) so we will not ever return. One of os had a salad with shrimp and the other a pork chop. Had to ask several times for our waitress to come by our table. We have choices, and this will NEVER again be one on the options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.