About The Bistro at Childress Vineyards

1000 Childress Vineyards Rd.
Lexington, NC 27295
View Larger Map

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards promotes the celebration of food and wine. We take great pride in our ability to hand-pick the best ingredients locally and abroad. Our goal is to create the ultimate culinary experience for our guests, providing the finest food and wine in an extraordinary setting.

Our menu changes seasonally and can be viewed online at www.childressvineyards.com.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 52 & Hwy 64

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 236-9463

Website:
http://www.childressvineyards.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (59)
Scenic View (46)
Special Occasion (41)
See All
Notable Wine List (39)
Worth the Drive (36)
Good for a Date (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Casual (28)
Romantic (26)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Great for Brunch (21)
Cozy (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Fun (19)
Tasting Menu (15)
Business Meals (15)
Authentic (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Seasonal (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Healthy (9)
Live Music (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fireplace (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
People Watching (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Private Room (5)
Family Style (5)
Vegan (4)
Waterfront (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The disappointment for the meal and expe ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

The disappointment for the meal and experience (third year in a row selecting them for Valentine's Day) was arriving for an 08:30 reservation (and remaining customers from earlier filled less than half of the tables) and being told that for the evening they were already out of the prime rib as well as the orange cheesecake. The special occasion menu only offers three choices each for appetizers, main course and desert. The remaining options for the main course were either linguine (seafood) or pork of which the pork was very good (and fortunate both my wife and I did not mind having pork). It is understandable that for a special meal there is a limited amount of food to be prepared, but for the cost of this meal it was disappointing that 1/3 of your choices are off the menu before you arrive. Given the name on the building I expected a little more and may have to think twice for a repeat next year based on available reservation times. Certainly if you get an early reservation menu choices will not be an issue. The appeal has been a quiet ambiance without the hassle of waiting for hours. On this note it succeeds.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The event was Valentine's day dinner whi ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

The event was Valentine's day dinner which promised your choice of 3 appetizers, 3 entrees and 3 desserts. Well, my date and my entrée and dessert choice was not available because they ran out so we settled for other menu options. I settled for the pork which had a ridiculously high fat content and was just not edible by my or my dates standards. She went with the pasta option which was ok but not worth the cost not even close. The remaining dessert options were some shaved ice something and chocolate covered strawberries which were also nothing special. For $55 per person plus drinks, plus tip, I expected MUCH more. The table behind us complained about the experience nearly the entire time which of course, did not help me salvage the ruined evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Valentines Day. Very disappointed with o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentines Day. Very disappointed with our experience. They ran out of prime rib and cheese cake - two of their best offerings for the evening on their prix fixe menu. The food we were served was just OK. My first time there and I certainly was not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

My ratings reflect a terrible experience ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

My ratings reflect a terrible experience for Valentine's Day. We had a reservation for 8:00 PM and they were out of Prime Rib and Cheesecake on their limited "feature" menu. Since my fiancé has specific food allergies we were unable to eat due to the lack of food. The place was amazing with decor and all, but we had to leave. We asked for the manager and never met her. We were not mad, but disppointed that she wasn't able to talk with us. Despite all of this, however, we are given a gift card for the inconvience. I definitely plan to come back.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, , Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Everything was very nice until we ordere ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was very nice until we ordered dinner. We are asked to reserve ahead of time with a CC. At that point we look at the menu ,and i knew what I wanted to order.

When we sat down we were told that you were out of Prime Rib - this was at 7:00. I ordered the pork and it was good , but not what I wanted.

Then at desert , out of cheese cake.............. When you know how many people are coming this should never happen. So I feel we over paid for an average meal , not very happy.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Disappointed with their Valentines Day D ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Disappointed with their Valentines Day Dining Experience. We were seated at a Table with spots on the table linens. Apparently it was not changed from the prior seating. We later noticed the host would change some linens or simply reposition the table linen to move soiled part of linen to the opposite side for the next seating.

We were a 7:30pm seating for prefix menu. Waiter advised upon taking our order that they were already out of one of the three options. Only leaving a pork or fish option. Server was not attentive on pouring wine or refilling water.

When it came time for our dessert to come, we were informed that the dessert we ordered was also out.

Childress Vineyards is a nice place, we have bought wine from them and hosted a business related dinner in their barrel room years back.

Unfortunately this special Valentines Dinner/ Pre Fix was not so great. Table beside us was vocal about their experience and was asking for the manager as we left.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Very nice ambiance. The service was grea ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice ambiance. The service was great. The food was plated nice but for the price it was not worth it. It should have been a 4 course meal with more options. My husbands pork chop was 2/3 fat and the dessert was very mediocre. I had chocolate dipped strawberries at home, and the cheesecake was fair. The salad was good. The food is much better during the week. In the past we went to a local restaurant, Dion's which sadly is no longer in business. We were anticipating the same caliber of food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We love The Bistro at Childress! Everyt ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

We love The Bistro at Childress! Everything is excellent and never disappoints!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff needs training, certainly not ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Wait staff needs training, certainly not the same caliber as the food.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Beautiful place. Took the tour of the wi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful place. Took the tour of the winery and it was interesting. Food was really good. Definitely worth visiting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As Childress Winery members, we have had ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 7 days ago

As Childress Winery members, we have had lunch at Childress Vineyards many times. It is always a place to take any family/friends that come to visit us in North Carolina. Love the atmosphere and scenic view. Menu is varied and prices are very reasonable. The outside accommodations for summer dining are fabulous. And the servers are always very friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch at 1pm was far better than the las ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 7 days ago

Lunch at 1pm was far better than the last visit we had at Childress. The wait staff was prompt and very friendly, the food was fantastic, and aside from a small bill discrepancy that we didn't even ask them to fix (it was that good), it was perfect. Wine tasting before lunch made it all the better. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We checked in with hostess and being tol ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We checked in with hostess and being told we had time we went on the 20 minute tour of the grounds. Upon arriving back they had given our table to another group. Had to wait a little longer (not much) for another table. The service was very slow, they did not seem to have enough staff on hand to cover all the tables. Our food was pretty good and reasonably priced. We enjoyed the time with our friends and the atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I made reservations for an early Valenti ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I made reservations for an early Valentine's Day lunch! It was perfect! The food was quite tasty. I had the chicken pot pie and my boyfriend had the honey almond chicken salad sandwich. We were both pleased. Our favorite part of the meal was the berry cobbler cheesecake! It was light and fluffy. It wasn't too sweet, it was literally perfect! I would have liked to have a second piece.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had such a wonderful experience at the ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I had such a wonderful experience at the Bistro at Childress Winery this past Saturday! Great atmosphere, food, and service! I will be back for sure and I will highly recommend it to friends!

Thank you for a great time!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our lunch. The food was exce ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We enjoyed our lunch. The food was excellent, as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The attention of the server could have b ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The attention of the server could have been much better. She did not fulfill my requests and when the food arrived she did nothing to apologize for her mistake. The food was well prepared, and the space was lovely. Better attention should be given to training service.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Food, wine and service were all excellen ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food, wine and service were all excellent as they typically are. Only issue I had was that the trifecta they serve and advertise for the week they had run out of less than two hours after opening which was not a welcome revelation to our party where the majority of us were there to have that. Nevertheless, I tried the meatloaf which was excellent and the rest of the party's food appeared to be well received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Only problem we had, was with the room t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Only problem we had, was with the room tempeture. Very cool, and it was a full house!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress, Emily, was excellent! She ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our waitress, Emily, was excellent! She made us feel

welcomed for our first time. Gave us a free dessert which was delicious. Great personality and friendly!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Historic, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always outstanding food and service. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 3, 2017

As always outstanding food and service. Friendly staff, always make you feel welcome.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to the Bistro for lunch several tim ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Been to the Bistro for lunch several times and would go back. Their dinner was awful. The she crab soup was gritty. The prime rib was sold out so they replaced with ribeye. It was super chewy and almost inedible. The lobster Mac and cheese shells were undercooked. The sea bass was super fishy and plain gross. We were highly disappointed in the food. Waste of money.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

As always the food and service were outs ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

As always the food and service were outstanding. I highly recommend dinner at the Bistro.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful atmosphere. Wou ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food and wonderful atmosphere. Would go there again and would recommend to family and friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time celebrating a friend's ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a great time celebrating a friend's 88th birthday. Requested a corner table to enable him to hear better. Request was fulfilled. Some patrons, however, do not realize how loud they are "enjoying" themselves and that was distracting to our enjoyment of our celebration.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to get away for something ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 27, 2017

A great place to get away for something different. We have been to the bistro several times and thoroughly enjoyed the food, wine, and the no-rush service. Easy and relaxing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Lots of fun for brunch. We did the pair ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Lots of fun for brunch. We did the pairing and really enjoyed it. Of course the facility is beautiful We stayed and did the wine tasting-superb!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought out of state relatives to the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We brought out of state relatives to the bistro, they loved everything about it. The service, food and of course the wine! This place never disappoints, at all. We always bring our family and friends here and everyone loves it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place for many occasions! Very ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very nice place for many occasions! Very nice atmosphere and view, service is very friendly. Had a nice Birthday date with my girlfriend!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Tapas, Organic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We frequent The Bistro at Childress Vine ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We frequent The Bistro at Childress Vineyards frequently. My husband & I like to do date lunches there. During the week, it is really quiet, but the weekends can be somewhat louder. The Bistro overlooks the vineyard and a small lake. The food is always perfect, as ordered, picturesque, and the staff is friendly and helpful. It is a small place, so if you want to go, reserve early. Go early, or after eating, spend a few moments wine tasting and exploring the shop. Lots of good picnic type items such as apple salsa and of course wine. There are a few short trails to stretch your legs and a walk around the lake is perfect as well. Often, there is a band under the gazebo outdoors with patio tables for relaxing with a glass of wine. You won't be disappointed here. Richard Childress has done a great job sharing his "other" passion with us.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience visiting the v ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a great experience visiting the vineyard, touring the facility and eating a very delicious meal at The Bistro. The entrance welcomes you into the open entryway with warmth as a beautiful fountain in the entry provides soothing sounds of trickling water, and a wonderful aroma fills the air. Lee, our tour guide, was friendly and eager to offer his knowledge of the vineyard. We were seated early for our reservation by the gracious hostess and the friendly waitress shortly took our drink order. The wait was short and the food order followed shortly thereafter. We both had the Trifecta with romaine salad, fried chicken with snaps and cornbread, and chocolate pie with the suggested wines. Everything was cooked to perfection and we both thoroughly enjoyed our meal , the view, great service and the atmosphere. We will definitely return to The Bistro at Childress Vineyards to try additional items from the menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was simply amazing!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Everything was simply amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great, BUT the wait was very ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was great, BUT the wait was very long for our food once ordered. The bottle of white wine was not cold but was at room temperature plus.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and wine were good, but the service ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food and wine were good, but the service was subpar. There were 6 of us and the food took almost an hour to come out. I had the pimento cheese burger with sweet potato fries, which I really enjoyed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had another wonderful experience at T ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had another wonderful experience at The Bistro at Childress Vineyards! The entire staff and our waitress was extremely nice and attentive to our needs. The food was delicious as always! Can't wait to come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and setting were excellent. Unfort ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food and setting were excellent. Unfortunately the kitchen was EXTREMELY slow. However, our server Megan more than made up for the delay with her attention (and of course the glasses of wine made the wait acceptable).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had to wait more than hour for our fo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had to wait more than hour for our food. Waitress was nice and apolegetic.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

We loved our visit to Childress Vineyard ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We loved our visit to Childress Vineyard Bistro. The setting was gorgeous, the food was great and the wait staff excellent. We would definitely go back again and take other friends with us.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Special thanks to our server, Sarah! Sh ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Special thanks to our server, Sarah! She was very pleasant, efficient and accommodating. We were celebrating a birthday and this was a great venue!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellant! Flavors were like a party in ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellant! Flavors were like a party in our mouths. Have been here several times and it never disappoints.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.