Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.10mi
  4. Distance: 2.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.10mi
  4. Distance: 2.14mi

About The Bistro at Childress Vineyards

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards promotes the celebration of food and wine. We take great pride in our ability to hand-pick the best ingredients locally and abroad. Our goal is to create the ultimate culinary experience for our guests, providing the finest food and wine in an extraordinary setting.

Our menu changes seasonally and can be viewed online at www.childressvineyards.com.

1000 Childress Vineyards Rd.
Lexington, NC 27295
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 52 & Hwy 64

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 236-9463

Website:
http://www.childressvineyards.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (62)
Scenic View (52)
Worth the Drive (46)
See All
Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (40)
Casual (36)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Romantic (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Fun (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Great for Brunch (21)
Cozy (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Business Meals (15)
Live Music (15)
Healthy (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Seasonal (12)
Authentic (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Comfort Food (8)
People Watching (7)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Waterfront (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We visitied Childress Bistro fro our anniversary. This was our first visit and we were thoroughly satisfied. The food was excellent, and the service was top-notch. We would visit here again.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great for lunch with friends or a special occasion. Beautiful views of the vineyards from your seat. Stellar service and exceptional food offerings. The blackberry cheesecake was divine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

I called ahead because I have food allergies. I talked to the chef, and they accommodated me beautifully. I had a great meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Love the service and food is awesome, the atmosphere is quite and laid back, worth the drive

Tags: Vegan, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Absolutely love this place.The food is to die for. The atmosphere is wonderful. The winery is beautiful and the vineyard is amazing. The staff is all very nice and courteous.Come here as often as possible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was very good but the wait was quite long. The waitress and manager realized this and comped the food which was appreciated. Wine was very good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

My wife and I went just for a date. the food was great and the service was excellent. The prices are very reasonable. Cant wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We love Childress so much that our children were married there. Such a beautiful place and the food is outstanding.!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 25, 2017

We had all gotten a different type of salad as our entrees. The service and wine were excellent. However 2 out of the three salads were missing items off that were described in the menu. One was the chicken Caesar that had no parm crips and when asked got shaved parm. The other was the Greek salad and no olives. Substituted goat cheese for feta which was great but got charged to have oil and vinegar on the side but still didn’t get item in salad. Friend also got charged for the parm cheese but that was taken off when brought to servers attention. Overall it was good. Loved the view!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

The ambiance of the outdoor patio, musical group, sunny view of the grounds and vineyards made this one of the best meal environments I have experienced in North Carolina.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The Trifecta menu with wine was very good and it was fun to try different wines with the three courses. The grounds at Childress are attractive. It is great to sit outside after a meal and enjoy one more glass of wine while looking at the vineyard. The day we were there, they were picking and crushing grapes - also fun to observe.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were family getting together. Granddaughter's boy friend was having a birthday.
The view was great. The food was delicious. Out waitress was Ashlen, and she was very good.
I celebrate there at least 3 times a year. I love the place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Everything was fantastic! Food, wine, view and service. The only thing that I would suggest is to have the kitchen staff keep their music down. That was a distraction. But next time Im in town, I will for sure be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wonderful meal shared with friends! Scenery is beautiful...

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Food and service was outstanding! The atmosphere was awesome and the view stunning!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our check go mixed up with another table. It took them over a half of an hour to reconcile the issue. The food was great and the view was excellent. The temperature was cold.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Absolutely one of our favorite places to eat and do a wine tasting. We love this place so much we were married here and return at least once a year for our anniversary. Also great for just meeting up and having a great lunch with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the wine we enjoyed at lunch. We have visited a number of North Carolina wineries since moving here and were disappointed with all of them. Your Barrel Select 2013 Merlot was was moderately priced and quite excellent with our meal . We will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our waitress Paula was excellent and made the lunch experience even better than anticipated. Thank you Paula!

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food is as good as the wine! Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

This was a special occasion as we had family in town from Massachusetts and it was also the afternoon of the solar eclipse. I had been to Childress's Winery for business meetings and decided to try lunch. Everything was great. The ambiance, the food and especially Brandy our knowledgeable and expert waitress. We will definitely be back in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great place for my birthday lunch. We had a blast. Our waitress was very helpful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The blackened salmon was perfect. And so very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food has declined since we started going to the Bistro. The waitress was awful. Came across as very phone. My burger was cold by the time she brought my ketchup. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent food, service and wine! As always! A must go!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

As always the staff was wonderful. We love coming and are never disappointed. Thank you,

Sandie & Larry Bynum

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Have been here many times. Never disappointed. Great wines, but I recommend doing a tasting first so you know what you want to order with lunch. Party of 8, and everyone enjoyed their food. If you like wine, do yourself a favor and mark this for a visit. We come from South Carolina , and start every NC wine Country trip at Childress.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was excellent as always. We did have to wait for our table and our food, even though we had reservations. They were really crowded so it was very noisy. Sad to find out there is no longer a gluten free menu available. I would still recommend the Bistro and will be coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Even with making a reservation, we waited 20 minutes past our reservation time. Watched another group larger than ours with a reservation at the same time get seated sooner.

It would be great if you actually opened & used the bar by the Bistro entrance. People don't mind waiting when someone brings them a glass of wine!

Have brought many out of town guests here - -always a nice time.

Your new reception hall blocks the view of the vineyards. :(

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

This is a beautiful venue overlooking the vineyards. The menu is varied and there is something for everyone. Add wine tasting to your lunch and it makes for a fun afternoon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great atmosphere , great meals and an exceptional wine list! The menu options pair great with wine!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I was disappointed. The menu was limited-not a lot of selections. The wine was typical NC wine-as in mediocre. The grounds and building are beautiful. The only truly outstanding thing there are the wine slushes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I arrived on time for my reservation , but have to wait even though my table was ready.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I have been to Bistro at Childress many times. Today I got steak and it was excellent. I did notice that the tri-vacta is not listed on website as it has been in the past. I wonder why? It is on the board as you enter the restaurant which I think could be confusing because people will think it is the specials. It use to be on the menu too but now you either read the board or ask your server. I think this is confusing. I think it should be at least on the website. I live about 2 hours north and would like to know all my dining options before I travel there to eat.
Other wise the service was great and so was the food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The bistro never disappoints. Always great food and service. And the wine, it speaks for itself! 🍷

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The service was excellent. The food and wine were delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great place, friendly & accommodating, great food beautiful place

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Family from NY visiting. Had great experience before so we took them there and had a great afternoon. Food was good. Wine crushes great.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent service great food and a good wine... That's what we came for and that's what we got....

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The building is magnificent, makes you feel you are entering a Tuscan castle. Enjoyed a wonderful lunch, they have a great chef in their kitchen. The tour was enlightening, the grounds are well kept so we spent some time just soaking in the views. Ended the day with visit to the gift shop and of course, went home with some awesome goodies. Will return here again soon.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.