Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.10mi
  4. Distance: 2.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.10mi
  4. Distance: 2.14mi

About The Bistro at Childress Vineyards

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards promotes the celebration of food and wine. We take great pride in our ability to hand-pick the best ingredients locally and abroad. Our goal is to create the ultimate culinary experience for our guests, providing the finest food and wine in an extraordinary setting.

Our menu changes seasonally and can be viewed online at www.childressvineyards.com.

1000 Childress Vineyards Rd.
Lexington, NC 27295
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 52 & Hwy 64

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 236-9463

Website:
http://www.childressvineyards.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Bistro at Childress Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (46)
Scenic View (37)
Sunday Lunch (27)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for a Date (27)
Notable Wine List (27)
Romantic (26)
Casual (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Worth the Drive (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (13)
Fun (12)
Cozy (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Authentic (9)
Live Music (9)
Seasonal (8)
Family Style (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Healthy (6)
People Watching (6)
Private Room (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Fireplace (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tapas (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Waterfront (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (2)
Dancing (2)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Love this Bistro so much. I'm from Milwaukee Wi, and ever time I come to North Carolina, I make sure I go there.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The vineyard grounds are maintained beautifully. We were seated promptly but asked for another table away from the entrance way to a window table. Request a corner window table for a good view for at least 3 out of 4 guest. The service was very good and the food was served in a timely manner and was enjoyed by all. My choice was a Greek salad with rare tuna, my BFF chose shrimp and grits, our friends both had a Rubin. Very good to excellent was the reviews.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great server, great wine, good food.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I absolutely recommend a visit to this wonderful vineyard. The scenery is beautiful, the food is always phenomenal and the staff are incredibly kind and accommodating. I look forward to returning in the future!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mothers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very pleasant lunch. Pickle chips had the best breading I have yet tasted. Duck confit was well-presented (though I did not care for the blackberry sauce, just a personal preference). Salmon was near perfect. Portion size was very good.

Service was friendly and responsive. The atmosphere was enjoyable, with a table overlooking the vineyard. I would definitely recommend it and plan to visit again.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We have been here many times and have been very happy with the experience, however this time a little disappointed. Rueben was stringy, sweet potato waffle fries were hard and cold, one meal came out 20 minutes before the other 5. This should not be the case in any situation. The one thing that shocked us was that we were charged almost $80.00 more than we should have been. Double entry for two meals and two salads. Waitress stated it was her fault but it never should have happened in the first place. Will not stop us from coming, however will make us pay attention to details more.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We love to enjoy a nice afternoon lunch at the Bistro. Excellent food, per usual. Wish I could remember our servers name. She had plenty of energy and a great personality.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Cozy, Live Music, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We are "regulars" at Childress Winery, always a great visit, customer friendly service, great wine, great food, this time, we enjoyed the winery tour, tasting, and Bistro lunch with good friends who had never been to the winery...they are hooked. Thanks to Richard and the entire staff for giving us such a great winery here in NC!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Friends and I frequently meet for lunch. The food and service are always good.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Total experience was great! Wines were excellent, food and service outstanding. The view is very pleasing - looking out over vinyards.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We came to Childress Winery 3 years ago on Admin. Day----we had such a good time then, we elected to do it every year since then----and we have. The food is good, the wine is great, the people are friendly and the service is outstanding. We look forward to coming every year. I have even suggested to numerous friends to venture to this beautiful place, as they will not be disappointed.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our favorite spot. Food and service excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This has the best view! Windows floor to ceiling in entire testaurant so you can enjoy the view of the vineyards!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was absolutely wonderful!!! The food was fantastic. The drinks were delicious. Most importantly the service was great!!! I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is one of my favorite places to dine. In the past an A+. However, the food was not as good the day I visited. I love salads. The romaine lettuce was not chilled and crispy. The starters were okay. I am hoping the kitchen was having an off day. Service excellent.
I have reservations in May so we will see.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Lovely place, great staff, excellent food, beautiful views.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were at Childress for Easter Brunch. Drink(primarily wine) service was more complicated then need, however, our excellent waitress work with us and made it easier for her almost 80 year old customers. The food was varied and tops as far as taste! Great vegetables, but the topper was the nice and rare roast Beef roast that melted in your mouth. A fine assortment of deserts roped off with bananas Fosters. Overall the value was there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Scenic View, Fireplace, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have dined with The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, more than once. However, the food this year was extremely disappointing. Especially when I decided to invite a guest. I actually had to return home to cook. That was definitely not a planned event.
Also, we were a bit disappointed with the live music. There were sound checks taking place when we were suppose to be enjoying hearing them sing. Once they got started, they sounded great!! We were leaving after 2 songs.
Because of the beauty and the awesome customer service, I will visit once more. I hope that you will take the constructive criticism into consideration to make it a better experience next year as we were planning to invite more. As bad as I hate to admit, the guest that accompanied us, based the whole experience on the food.
Very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Brunch was nice, over priced. I paid $8 for a 1/4 glass of bubbly, not impressed. The cheesecake bar was a joke as well as the bananas foster station. Really liked the venue, though. DO NOT WASTE TIME ON THE WINE CELLAR. The wine taster lady was rude to the point of becoming a carnival barker, trying to get ANYONE to move us out of her space. DID NOT WASTE MONEY ON WINE. Decided that other vineyards were way too much fun and tasters at other wineries were way more knowledgeable about their wine products. The behavior of our tasting lady was an embarrassment to Childress vineyard. Too bad how one really ugly person can spoil an entire business. I left and spent $120 at a winery in Michigan. I can at least say about Childress is, "BEEN THERE, DONE THAT!"

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We visited for the Easter brunch buffet and were very disappointed. Usually we love the food here, but this buffet was mediocre at best. I've never been to Golden Corral, but I bet they had a better, more creative selection. Unfortunately, the quality of the food didn't make up for the lack of creativity. Every hot entree was cold -- and there is not much worse than cold mash potatoes. The carved beef was raw. I asked for an end piece and I needed a hack saw to cut it because it was so tough. It was inedible. I ended up eating the cheese (only cheap cheddar, swiss, and jalapeno jack. No creativity at all). The salad station was decent and they did have a lot of toppings. The best thing on the whole buffet was the ranch dressing. Dessert was store-bought carrot cake, cheese cake, and vanilla ice cream. Boring!!!

For the same price we could have eaten at many of the popular fine dining restaurants in Charlotte and we regretted making a special trip to Childress. Even so, I would recommend this restaurant, but never, ever for any type of buffet. Likewise I would stay away from this as a wedding venue unless you have a plated entree vs. buffet service.

One final note - I always rate restaurants on how welcoming they are to my Latino husband. On that note Childress gets 5 stars! We were treated with 100% respect and every single staff person was kind and welcoming. Many thanks for the hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food and wine were great. Beautiful inside and out. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great place, wish it was open longer, very limited hours. Also wish they would serve maybe some local craft beers from the area for those of us who like bringing our wine loving guests their but what we get is water and the check. C'mon Richard.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

A friend was in town from Florida, and I wanted to find something different to do while she was here. We enjoyed a late lunch at Childress and then enjoyed a short winery tour afterwards. Our table overlooked the beautiful grounds. The gift shop/tasting room was a great place to end our afternoon at Childress. We definitely want to return.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always love visiting The Bistro at Childress Vineyards, the food and wine is always great!
The only reason I couldn't give 5 stars for service this visit was because the service was very slow this visit, the wait staff was busy the entire time, just seemed to me that they were understaffed for the day, we arrived at our scheduled 1 o'clock reservation and was promptly seated, it took the waitress 1/2-hour to take our order, we all ordered the trifecta, we didn't receive the last course until almost 3 o'clock, I certainly hope its better when I return next month!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Amazing experience. Made another reservation to go for Mothers Day.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Childress Winery is a wonderful place. Great food, great atmosphere and beautiful scenery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Love to go to Childress vineyards it is the nicest winery I've ever visited.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

My husband and I have enjoyed eating at the Bistro for years. Great atmosphere and food is great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Service was excellent. We had reservations and were seated immediately. Lauren, out server, made good recommendations, offered wine suggestions and samples. Even taking our order for bottles to go, allowing us to skip the tasting room and sip with a view. She was attentive on our food issues.

Atmosphere was OK. While the rest of the winery, tasting room and banquet rooms, were nicely done, the Bistro was a little spare, with no art and basic furniture. We did have a table next to the window with a nice view of the vineyards. Score one for having a reservation.

Food was mediocre. I expected better. My Shrimp & Grits was good, but just warm the 1st time out of the kitchen, but corrected by Lauren. My wife's salmon was hot, but the bed of couscous was not. The chocolate torte was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Thank you for a great Birthday lunch I love your Grounds!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Had a great meal at The Bistro. Our server Sarah did a great job taking care of us!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The Bistro serves great food and the service was fine. The only problem we had was that wine is not served before noon on Sundays (a NC law). The restaurant should notify people of this when Sunday reservations are made before this time.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 26, 2017

please restrict children and inconsiderate parents as this impacts the experience of others

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was great friendly wait staff overall enjoyable will be back

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was not so good. The server got one of the orders wrong; ordered a half sandwich, but was served a whole sandwich. Got charged for the whole sandwich because she couldn't take it back. Server never checked on us after serving the meal until we were done and she brought the bill.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 19, 2017

First time there. Great experience. The only thing I didn't care for is that the Pinot Grigio that I ordered at the Bistro wasn't available afterward in the tasting room. It wasn't on their list and wasn't available , only in the resturant. Hopefully can but a bottle in the Resturant to go next time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was a very nice place to attend for lunch on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great atmosphere and wait staff. Great setting for hosting a special event with friends and/or groups.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Everything was great as our friends were visiting from Connecticut. One comment re: the trifecta that day was they could have added a chutney to the barley and seared grouper. It didn't have enough seasoning or something that could have been added to the barley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.