About The Belvedere Room at The Padre Hotel

1702 18th St
Bakersfield, CA 93301
View Larger Map

Modern steakhouse by Chef Chris Sayre

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
18th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(661) 427-4900

Website:
http://thepadrehotel.com/dine/belvedere-room/

Entertainment:
Join us on our rooftop patio with a full bar and classic quick eats as we feature live local musicians nightly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet for all of our Belvedere Room Dining guests.

Executive Chef:
Blake Luecke

Private Party Facilities:
The Padre Hotel features multiple venues to accommodate your meeting or special occasion. To learn more about how we can assist your needs please contact our sales team!

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Belvedere Room at The Padre Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (15)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Historic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Cozy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
267 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place to dine. Food was excellent ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place to dine. Food was excellent and the service was great! We'll be going back again soon.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wagyu beef was not to the quality I was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Wagyu beef was not to the quality I was expecting. But was a solid steak. Scallops were amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was outstanding, service, foo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything was outstanding, service, food, ambiance. For being a la carte prices are very reasonable. Try the duck, it was absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The highest compliment I can pay a resta ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The highest compliment I can pay a restaurant is to say that I am looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Our ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Our server Jordan was funny, conscientious and knew his product.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

overall a beautiful birthday dinner, fel ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 25, 2017

overall a beautiful birthday dinner, felt very welcomed

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Over all--- THE BELVEDERE ROOM at THE PA ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Over all--- THE BELVEDERE ROOM at THE PADRE HOTEL is a very pleasant restaurant

serves great food and a provide a super service. This is a very relaxing room , clean and

a historical place ,where friends can get together.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The peppercorn butter really made the pe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The peppercorn butter really made the perfectly seasoned steal that much better. Terrific food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The 4 of us had an outstanding time for ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The 4 of us had an outstanding time for New Years Eve dinner. We were looking forward to attending the out door event with the soul people at prairie fire lounge we bought tickets at $20 per person for 2 just after thanksgiving for the event however our tickets were never taken and (moved because of rain to a small bar) they just allowed everyone too come in and they never paid for the show and just because it rained is no excuse to allow everyone to come in. So it was very crowded and we were unable to get any drinks. Our dinner reservation was for 8:00 pm and with 7 courses our meal wasn't completed and we left the belvedere room at 11:00 pm we ended up leaving at 12:30 am.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our dinner on Christmas Day was outstan ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Our dinner on Christmas Day was outstanding! A small error on my plate was corrected without my having to say anything. The pork loin was the best I have eaten. My only nutral comments would be : the baked potato was underdone and I felt the decor /atmosphere could have been better considering the price point. Otherwise, superb dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My wife and I had the beef tenderloin (f ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My wife and I had the beef tenderloin (filet) with truffle butter with the Brussels sprouts as a side. The filet was not as good as previous times I had eaten there and neither were the Brussels sprouts. We waited probably 20 minutes or more for the server to take our order. She was apologetic and gave us a free dessert but for the price I would prefer to go to Valetins or Cafe Med for Christmas Eve dinner from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

This meal was a special treat. One of th ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This meal was a special treat. One of the best ribeye steaks I have ever eaten, cooked and seasoned perfectly. Nice ambience and the noise level was reasonable even though the room was packed, which enabled us to enjoy our conversation. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable, and Nick, the manager, came by our table and personally checked on our meal and service. Not inexpensive, but we knew before coming that this was at the high end of Bakersfield dining. Highly recommended for a quality dining experience.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed in the quality of the ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I was disappointed in the quality of the food. My $36 steak had no flavor and was pretty fatty. I could do better on my back yard grill. My wife and I were celebrating our 40th anniversary and I thought this would be something special. I was sorely mistaken. For the price, it is certainly not worth the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Good food and wine, a little bit pricey, ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good food and wine, a little bit pricey, but the steaks were excellent.

It was, however, very cold in the restaurant. I'm guessing the restaurant and the night club are on the same AC system, so bring a jacket.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great evening, great service and delicio ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great evening, great service and delicious food with an excellent bottle of wine

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are new to Bakersfield and were excit ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We are new to Bakersfield and were excited to be eating at The Belvedere Room because we had heard it was the best and fanciest restaurant in town. We went there for Thanksgiving dinner. It was a buffet. Most of the food was cold. The selections were not labeled and limited. We waited quite a long time before we were asked what we wanted to drink and then it took too much time to receive our drinks. When we got up from the table to get our desserts the table was cleared including the coffee that was just brought to us. Our coats were still at the table which should have been a clue that we hadn't finished yet. The manager was very apologetic and gave us a $50 voucher to use towards the meal. However, it took another 15 or 20 minutes to get fresh coffee to have with our dessert. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Very nice place, wife and I enjoyed our ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Very nice place, wife and I enjoyed our anniversary

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My boyfriend and I went to celebrate our ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 21, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to celebrate our anniverary on a Sunday night at the

Belvedere Room. We shared the porterhouse and it was HUGE. The meat was pre cut which was nice since it is so large. We also got the gorgonzola truffle mashed potatoes and they were TO DIE FOR. Literally. Great staff. Great ambiance. Great food and an exceptional wine and drink list. They even gave us a complimentary dessert for our anniversary. Definitely worth the money. I would absolutely go back any time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good server

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Very good server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Came here for my birthday for the second ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Came here for my birthday for the second time and will continue to come back for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious appetizers, although they ran ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Delicious appetizers, although they ran out of their specials for the evening by 7. Enjoyed the beef, fish, and lobster entrees. Lobster bisque okay! Bread served seemed to be rather dry. Butter roses a nice touch though. Go for yourself and see what you think.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Loved this placed! Dinner was nice and o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Loved this placed! Dinner was nice and our server was excellent which made our experience that much better!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of all was our server, she was grea ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Best of all was our server, she was great and accommodating to our diet. She was efficient on providing anything that we needed without being on top of us.

The food was great, and they made us feel special on the celebration of our Anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, , Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great. There w ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and service were great. There were 2 couples and we shared the main course with our spouses and had 1 drink each and 1 dessert for the table and the bill was $200. Just be ready for that.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Belvedere at the Padre is best of Ba ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The Belvedere at the Padre is best of Bakersfield’s fine dining restaurants. Service is attentive, menu is creative, food quality and taste unmatched in this city. The Belvedere is worth the visit for a special occasion or a quiet meal with friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Historic, Business Meals, Casual, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant and elegant setting ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and elegant setting. Server was very friendly and informed us about the menu items. Recommended the special of short ribs served over polenta with mushrooms and a rich sauce. It was disappointing. Ribs were over cooked and dry The polenta covered the plate and was soupy. All the entrees were served on warm plates with warm food. Salads were also served on warm plates!

One desert of cake and macaroons was just not very good. Server sort of agreed but it was still on the bill. Saving grace is the environment and reasonably priced, good wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and loved it. The food was goo ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 23, 2016

My wife and loved it. The food was good and our waiter was great telling about menu Very helpful. Our host was so caring. This is one of the best restaurant in Bakersfield.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster macaroni and cheese was amaz ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The lobster macaroni and cheese was amazing! My husband had the Wagyu burger, which he said was delicious, although it did not come with French fries.... Which it should have considering the price. Overall, the menu had many options to choose from, but most of them were a bit pricey for a casual dinner. The service and ambiance were up to par, however.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Our first trip to the Belvedere room was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our first trip to the Belvedere room was wonderful, our second trip was ok but not as nice and now on this our third trip, I have to say the food has definitely fallen off especially the desserts. The service, as always, was great but I don't think we will go back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

The charcuterie was absolutely great and ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 2, 2016

The charcuterie was absolutely great and well worth the $20. Actually it also had some excellent cheeses so I guess it we should call it a charcuterie+. Scallops were large, sweet an perfectly done. The wild caught salmon was tender, moist mild but flavorful, couldn't ask for better. We had a very nice champagne which was part of the room + dine package so I didn't expect a whole lot, but was very pleasantly surprised with how good it really was. Interesting menu all the way around but best of all was the service. Miguel is the epitome of an intelligent,

knowledgable and helpful server. He knows his menu and adds much to the meal. This place is the real deal. What an intelligent take on fine dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Our service, food, and environment was w ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our service, food, and environment was wonderful. My fiancée and I were celebrating our up coming nuptials. My only complaint was the request I made with my reservation to have champagne ready at our table. When we were seated nothing was ready and it took some time to fulfill the request. Beyond that, our experience was great and our waiter, Miguel I believe, was wonderful.

Ps. I did like the new Belvedere Room ties.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband wanted to have a steak dinner ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 19, 2016

My husband wanted to have a steak dinner and the best steaks in town are at the Padre, so off we went. We ordered the Caesar salad and a green salad as starters. The Caesar was served as a wedge with crotons so large my husband had to cut them with a knife to eat them . Neither salad was special. My husband had a tenderloin steak ordered medium rare and I selected the scallops. My husband had to send back the steak as it was too rare to eat. He had tried to cut it and eat the edges, when they took his plate he had about 5 pieces already cut. When the plate returned all of the pieces were gone and only the main piece of meat was returned, better cooked - but he lost 1/3 of his steak in the process!. My scallops dinner consisted of 4 scallops (medium to large in size, but definitely not jumbo) with white wine butter sauce on the side and an overwhelming to the pallet small leaf of arugula on each scallop. Service was OK, we waited a long time for our salads and then were rushed to finish them for our entre. Overall the dinning experience was subpar for the price. The room is lovely and we seated in a corner far away from the entrance which was preferred as the entrance opens to the lobby which is very noisy. Drinks were good but inconsistent. My husband had 2 bloody marys, the second came with a nice slice of bacon, and more treats on than the first. Recommendations to the management - when a piece of meat is returned provide a new one, the dinning experience has been ruined, you should make it up to the table by removing all entrees and providing fresh ones so the table's experience is only delayed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

We were pleasantly surprised even though ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised even though our relatives highly recommended the Belvedere Room. We really enjoyed out food, our server, and the elegant ambiance of the room. The only thing which would have been nice if the wine list had a better selection of wines. Luckily we bought a bottle of Caymus from home which really topped off meal and a great dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very good meal and wonderful se ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2016

We had a very good meal and wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The server was one of the best we have e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2016

The server was one of the best we have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner Spot

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Wife and I had dinner at The Belvedere Room for an anniversary dinner. Hotel is great place and service was outstanding. The food was just ok. For the price I expected more out of the dish. The food was far too salty and the desert menu is very small.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful Experience

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Each time I've come the service has been outstanding and the food is wonderful. The only reason I gave a 4 Star on the food this time is that the Brussel Sprouts were to too tough to eat. Other than that the entrees were great and all of the other sides were fabulous. We had a great time...lots of laughter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice ambiance and quiet

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 29, 2016

First time I had been to the Belvedere. It was nice. The servers were attentive and kind. The restaurant is elegantly decorated. A little pricey but to be expected given the atmosphere. It was quiet which I like for that setting.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very limited choices.

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 27, 2016

The quality of the very little selection of vegetarian food was good but not for what we paid. About $50/person

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner at Belvedere

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 26, 2016

We like this restaurant for special dinners. Service is good, food is good.

I don't understand why food is served by women shirts and jeans in such a lovely place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.