Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About The Belvedere Room at The Padre Hotel

Modern steakhouse by Chef Chris Sayre

1702 18th St
Bakersfield, CA 93301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
18th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(661) 427-4900

Website:
http://thepadrehotel.com/dine/belvedere-room/

Entertainment:
Join us on our rooftop patio with a full bar and classic quick eats as we feature live local musicians nightly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet for all of our Belvedere Room Dining guests.

Executive Chef:
Blake Luecke

Private Party Facilities:
The Padre Hotel features multiple venues to accommodate your meeting or special occasion. To learn more about how we can assist your needs please contact our sales team!

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Belvedere Room at The Padre Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Good for Birthdays (12)
Romantic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Business Meals (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Historic (5)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Dancing (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Took our mom for brunch on her birthday. Food was delicious. Service was outstanding. She asked me why I hadn't brought her here before. Great place for a special Sunday Brunch. Glad I made reservations...small dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food? CRIMINAL. One of the best steaks I have ever had. The atmosphere and the style were perfection. Truly, we'd be back over and over if we lived in the area. Sadly, we were just passing through and took the chance based on a very reliable word-of-mouth recommendation. Grateful that we committed to THE PADRE VIBE. Bravo to all. Marvelous culinary adventure.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very nice place with a great atmosphere. The historic elements are represented nicely but the restaurant has a wonderful mix between old and new. The service staff are very accommodating, but need some more training on 5 star table service. Expected us to move our own plates when a 5 star takes care of the table maze. The wine list was good but limited and pricey. I had a Grand Cru Bordeaux from St Emilion so take that into consideration. I gave less than five stars because they were out of Filet on Mother's Day. And that is my Mother's favorite. Blasphemy! Other than that one of the better upscale places to dine in Bakersfield. I would visit again and recommend to others.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I am not sure where to start with my experience here. We arrived at 130pm which was our exact "Mother's Day "reservation time. The hostess then asked us to wait at the bar area as they had not prepared our table since we were a large group (9 people). 35minutes later we noticed the manager walk by us and informed him that we had been there for that long waiting to be seated. He then sent another gentleman who aggressively came to us and stated "sorry but we are not going to be able to accommodate you because we have to flip the tables for dinner". Long story short after expressing our displeasure in how we were being unfairly treated, the manager came back and let us know that we would be seated "in 5 minutes" which surprisingly happened. Needless to say we got an overly enthusiastic waiter (obviously over compensating) but he was nice. Manager then came after our meal and while he thought this was a good gesture offered us a "small discount for the trouble". It was insulting- I would much rather pay full price for a more pleasant experience. Please do better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had reservations, but didn't actually eat in the Belvadere - we were seated in Brimstone Bar. Didn't realize only option was the buffet for $40/plate. Not sure there's a buffet anywhere worth that price. Would have preferred a nice steak off the menu. Won't go for Mother's Day again, but will go back.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service was excellent, food was amazing. Was a bit on the noisy side due to the bar and lobby area. Only thing we wished is more choices on the menu. Very limited especially when your picky.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent menu and value for great food although some may find it pricey. Food was absolutely delish, side dishes were
plentiful and enough for two people as was the cesar salad. Staff was very attentive but did seem distracted at times. Would most definitely go there again.

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Was traveling through the Bakersfield area and spent the night at the Padre Hotel. The Belvedere Room had an excellent menu and was surprisingly creative for a hotel venue. Especially nice vegetable side dishes. More than just a typical steakhouse. Service was also very attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

From the minute we drove up to valet parking , we had the most friendly service.
And our waiter was outstanding! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I love the Belvedere. We had a lovely meal girlfriends. Nice cocktails and wine by the glass. Salads, entrees were great. The only downside is the desserts. They really need to put some more effort there. They are sort of boing and not very appealing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This was my second time eating here. Again, wonderful food, great drink, nice atmosphere, and great service! The sides are excellent, and the steaks are outstanding! Was hoping to get the game hen but it was no longer on the menu. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I took my daughter for a celebratory "fancy date" and the staff was absolutely incredible and the manager josh was extremely attentive and made our visit very memorable for my 8 year old daughter! She has always wanted to go there and josh and the staff made it more exciting and memorable than I could've imagined. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for all that you do! I love the padre and all the people that help to make it the place that it is. Any restaurant is just a restaurant but with the right staff it makes it so much more!!! Thank you!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Casual, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Historic, Disabled Access, Dancing, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great Beer, Comfort Food, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Only complaint was that the kitchen was very slow. It wasn't busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My steak, ordered medium rare, was burnt to a crisp. Neighbors returned two lobsters, one after the other, that were overcooked. We've had such inconsistent experiences here. Sometimes great, sometimes horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place to dine. Food was excellent and the service was great! We'll be going back again soon.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wagyu beef was not to the quality I was expecting. But was a solid steak. Scallops were amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything was outstanding, service, food, ambiance. For being a la carte prices are very reasonable. Try the duck, it was absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The highest compliment I can pay a restaurant is to say that I am looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Our server Jordan was funny, conscientious and knew his product.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 25, 2017

overall a beautiful birthday dinner, felt very welcomed

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Over all--- THE BELVEDERE ROOM at THE PADRE HOTEL is a very pleasant restaurant

serves great food and a provide a super service. This is a very relaxing room , clean and

a historical place ,where friends can get together.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The peppercorn butter really made the perfectly seasoned steal that much better. Terrific food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The 4 of us had an outstanding time for New Years Eve dinner. We were looking forward to attending the out door event with the soul people at prairie fire lounge we bought tickets at $20 per person for 2 just after thanksgiving for the event however our tickets were never taken and (moved because of rain to a small bar) they just allowed everyone too come in and they never paid for the show and just because it rained is no excuse to allow everyone to come in. So it was very crowded and we were unable to get any drinks. Our dinner reservation was for 8:00 pm and with 7 courses our meal wasn't completed and we left the belvedere room at 11:00 pm we ended up leaving at 12:30 am.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Our dinner on Christmas Day was outstanding! A small error on my plate was corrected without my having to say anything. The pork loin was the best I have eaten. My only nutral comments would be : the baked potato was underdone and I felt the decor /atmosphere could have been better considering the price point. Otherwise, superb dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My wife and I had the beef tenderloin (filet) with truffle butter with the Brussels sprouts as a side. The filet was not as good as previous times I had eaten there and neither were the Brussels sprouts. We waited probably 20 minutes or more for the server to take our order. She was apologetic and gave us a free dessert but for the price I would prefer to go to Valetins or Cafe Med for Christmas Eve dinner from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This meal was a special treat. One of the best ribeye steaks I have ever eaten, cooked and seasoned perfectly. Nice ambience and the noise level was reasonable even though the room was packed, which enabled us to enjoy our conversation. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable, and Nick, the manager, came by our table and personally checked on our meal and service. Not inexpensive, but we knew before coming that this was at the high end of Bakersfield dining. Highly recommended for a quality dining experience.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I was disappointed in the quality of the food. My $36 steak had no flavor and was pretty fatty. I could do better on my back yard grill. My wife and I were celebrating our 40th anniversary and I thought this would be something special. I was sorely mistaken. For the price, it is certainly not worth the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good food and wine, a little bit pricey, but the steaks were excellent.
It was, however, very cold in the restaurant. I'm guessing the restaurant and the night club are on the same AC system, so bring a jacket.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great evening, great service and delicious food with an excellent bottle of wine

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We are new to Bakersfield and were excited to be eating at The Belvedere Room because we had heard it was the best and fanciest restaurant in town. We went there for Thanksgiving dinner. It was a buffet. Most of the food was cold. The selections were not labeled and limited. We waited quite a long time before we were asked what we wanted to drink and then it took too much time to receive our drinks. When we got up from the table to get our desserts the table was cleared including the coffee that was just brought to us. Our coats were still at the table which should have been a clue that we hadn't finished yet. The manager was very apologetic and gave us a $50 voucher to use towards the meal. However, it took another 15 or 20 minutes to get fresh coffee to have with our dessert. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Very nice place, wife and I enjoyed our anniversary

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 21, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to celebrate our anniverary on a Sunday night at the
Belvedere Room. We shared the porterhouse and it was HUGE. The meat was pre cut which was nice since it is so large. We also got the gorgonzola truffle mashed potatoes and they were TO DIE FOR. Literally. Great staff. Great ambiance. Great food and an exceptional wine and drink list. They even gave us a complimentary dessert for our anniversary. Definitely worth the money. I would absolutely go back any time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Very good server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Came here for my birthday for the second time and will continue to come back for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Delicious appetizers, although they ran out of their specials for the evening by 7. Enjoyed the beef, fish, and lobster entrees. Lobster bisque okay! Bread served seemed to be rather dry. Butter roses a nice touch though. Go for yourself and see what you think.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Loved this placed! Dinner was nice and our server was excellent which made our experience that much better!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Best of all was our server, she was great and accommodating to our diet. She was efficient on providing anything that we needed without being on top of us.
The food was great, and they made us feel special on the celebration of our Anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and service were great. There were 2 couples and we shared the main course with our spouses and had 1 drink each and 1 dessert for the table and the bill was $200. Just be ready for that.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The Belvedere at the Padre is best of Bakersfield’s fine dining restaurants. Service is attentive, menu is creative, food quality and taste unmatched in this city. The Belvedere is worth the visit for a special occasion or a quiet meal with friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Historic, Business Meals, Casual, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and elegant setting. Server was very friendly and informed us about the menu items. Recommended the special of short ribs served over polenta with mushrooms and a rich sauce. It was disappointing. Ribs were over cooked and dry The polenta covered the plate and was soupy. All the entrees were served on warm plates with warm food. Salads were also served on warm plates!
One desert of cake and macaroons was just not very good. Server sort of agreed but it was still on the bill. Saving grace is the environment and reasonably priced, good wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.