Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The 9th Door - Downtown

The 9th Door is the premier Spanish tapas bar and restaurant located in LoDo, the heart of Denver, Colorado.

1808 Blake Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served
Monday - Thursday 4pm - 8:30pm
Friday 4pm-10:30pm,
Saturday 5-10:30pm, and
Sunday 5:00pm-8:30pm.

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 292-2229

Website:
https://www.the9thdoordowntown.com/

Parking Details:
18th and Blake Street. We are located a few blocks from the Union Train Station.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The 9th Door would be delighted to host your Holiday Party. We have many options for most group sizes. Call today to reserve your party while prime dates are still available.

The 9th Door - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (40)
Good for a Date (30)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Romantic (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Fun (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Authentic (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Casual (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Spicy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a night out for long time friends "re-discovering" Denver. The restaurant reminded me very much of tapas bars in Madrid, back in the 80's. The decor is rustic, and authentic. The bar is expansive and the staff are knowledgable and attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Tapas, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place before a show. Quick and friendly service. The tapas were perfect for sharing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Casual, Tapas, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and service but uncomfortable temperature. Very warm inside; AC apparently not working. This made an otherwise great dining experience close to intolerable!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Wonderful food and great service. Sabrina waited on us. She was very pleasant and also knowledgeable about the menu. Excellent evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was outstanding, very quiet and the service is above average. The seating is comfortable with privacy partitions between the booths.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Nothing like it used to be. The food has gone downhill. We're wondering if ownership changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food and service were amazing and I will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food, frustratingly small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food and service !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great downtown spot for Tapas. Their portions seem to have gotten smaller over the years but great food nonetheless.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This place is worthy of praise - comfortable and cozy - tables big enough to hold all those Tapas plates - friendly waitress - lots of people but not noisy at all so able to talk and listen - not given the rush treatment. Overall a very nice experience and the food was delicious and well prepared.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

By far my favorite restaurant in Lodo!! Spanish tapas in a cozy yet vibrant atmosphere. The music Is just right and this place is always hopping! Make sure to get a reservation 👍We loved our server Hannah and especially enjoyed the culinary creations of Connor and Chris and the attention to detail they bring to each dish. It's fun trying their new creations as well as our favorites. Thanks for a memorable evening! Make sure to enjoy the best Calimari on the planet! It's lightly fried with a crispy coating that is amazing and served with three unique and yummy dipping sauces. Must have the tender scallops cooked to perfection with a fabulous mushroom sauce -my favorite dish! Everyone loved the fried cheese balls which were scrumptious! The lamb meatballs were also delish served with fresh mint. Everyone enjoyed their specialty cocktails and delicious wines!! Awesome place for special occasion as we celebrated our daughter's birthday this visit. Don't forget to check out their great happy hour!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Great Beer, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A great place to take a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Here on business. This was some of the best tapas I've ever had. Every dish was different, every sauce unique. Start with cold tapas; they come out quickly, move to hot and finish with stuffed dates. Yes, some of the portions are small, and the cost adds up, but it was well worth it. Enjoyed every bite.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great option for girls night. The sangria was pretty sweet but the tapas were great. Try the scallops- they come over beautifully cooked mushrooms. A bit pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We were able to have a private room for 15 of us. Service was great and food was fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Wonderful! Great selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Romantic, perfect service, good value, wonderful occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very unique and special, yet casual and extremely tasty. Good for people who enjoy good tapas and for those who have never tried tapas. The large list or menu items gives everyone something to love and a few more to experience. Waiting staff is good, but the food outways any inconvenience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Tapas, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Awesome for a group looking to share a lot of sangria & try a ton of food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Previously we had come and the food was delicious, and the Datiles were phenomenal, I don't know if there was a change in chef or an off night, but on our most recent visit, the food was tasteless and soggy and completely overpriced for the amount we were given as well as for the quality. The service is always good, and the waitstaff friendly and helpful, but after the poor food experience, I don't think we will be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always can count on an amazing evening at 9th door. Food was incredible and scene very sexy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Overall experience was less than pleasant. Restaurant was virtually empty when my party arrived which initially caused us concern but we stayed to give it a try. After ordering drinks and a couple small plates to start, we quickly noticed that the value of food for the price was overstated and the quality of the food was underwhelming with an improper balance of flavors. After realizing we were going to have to cut our dinner service short, we immediately notified the waitress who informed us that the kitchen was always working on our next plates so they would have to come out. We had no problem paying for the next dishes, we just wanted to get the bill and end our dinner service, but I was taken aback at the failure to be more accommodating given our displeasure and the amount of money we'd already spent in such a short amount of time. I would not return or recommend the restaurant to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Restaurant week was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I loved eating here! The food and ambiance were fantastic! Such a fun place to eat and drink and hang out at!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was pleasant and the service was great, although the tables were on top of each other. We were constantly interrupted by the table next to us, and felt that they were dining with us.
I have been here several times over the years, and it needs a change in decor. It feels tired and lacking ambiance.
There are too many places to go for a nice dining experience, that offer more than just good food.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always a great meal. It was restaurant week so it seemed they were bringing the food out too fast and we felt very rushed.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My husband and I ate at 9th Door during Restaurant Week and got 2 different options of 6 plates each. They were ALL wonderful and we left with a doggie bag!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I found the wines to be extremely overpriced and not reflective of the Spanish cuisine being offered. (Ex. Silver oak cab, Jordan,) and should have offered more Spanish varietals (not just Juan Gil Monastrell and marques de riscal rioja, both offered with a 4x markup.) Service was ok, waitress couldn't open the bottle of wine we had ordered, actually walked away from the table with the bottle and then came back without explanation. Food portions could have been larger (2 large olives with a few almonds, even at $4 seems extravagant.) decor was nice yet will not recommend the restaurant to family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Came for restaurant week. Very small, but good tapas. The sangria is excellent and our server was very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 28, 2017

What a wonderful surprise! Exquisitely prepared Spanish quisine with a creative twist.

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 27, 2017

This was extremely disappointing. We were visiting from Seattle and we're excited to find a Spanish restaurant. The service was horrible. The food was cold and any items that had rice the rice was hard or burnt. The couple next to us was also complaining about how bad it was. Not good. Don't go here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Visited for the first time during Denver restaurant week, had not known about this place until I saw it listed.
My wife is Spanish and we all love tapas so it seemed like a natural to try.
Our daughter being a vegetarian always poses some problems when dining out but not here, plenty of cold and hot vegetarian friendly tapas. The menu is expansive and the Iberico is amazing.
This is a place everyone who enjoys small plates of authentic Spanish Tapa's should try.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A very authentic Spanish tapas experience. Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Wonderful food. Always consistent. Great wine list. One of our favorite places in all the metro area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and wonderful server. Can't wait Togo back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

No one came to wait on us so we ended up leaving. Had a great dinner next door at Vesta Dipping Grill instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I really enjoyed the staff and the food was amazing. It was a great date night. The creative drinks were extremely taste. We loved the tapas and sharing theme as well.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is really tasty and creative. Unfortunately, service can be spotty. Our check arrived before the last dish, so we figured they had forgotten to put the order in, but it showed up as we were walking out. Still, the food is worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I like this place. We were driving back from Aspen and found this restaurant on Yelp. I wish I can say Paella was delicious but wasn't my favorite food, it wasn't bad either just average. The Chorizo in wine sauce was fantastic, so as the mushrooms croquettes... so good. Also they had some tiny pear and cheese rolls that were delicious.

We were there for dinner on a Tuesday at 5:30 pm. Restaurant was pretty empty so service was good, our food was brought on our table pretty fast. The hostess was extremely kind, we arrived 30 min before our reservation and she sat us immediately, as commented before restaurant was pretty empty.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.