Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The 9th Door - Downtown

The 9th Door is the premier Spanish tapas bar and restaurant located in LoDo, the heart of Denver, Colorado.

1808 Blake Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 4pm- 10pm
Thursday: 4pm - 11pm
Friday: 4pm - 12am
Saturday: 5pm - 12am
Sunday: 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 292-2229

Website:
http://www.the9thdoordowntown.com/

Parking Details:
18th and Blake Street. We are located a few blocks from the Union Train Station.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for buy-outs - just email us with time, date, number of attendees, and budget.

Private Dining

The 9th Door would be delighted to host your Holiday Party. We have many options for most group sizes. Call today to reserve your party while prime dates are still available.

The 9th Door - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Quiet

76% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (25)
Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Casual (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Romantic (11)
Cozy (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Authentic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

9th Door has well done tapas to share and good wine pairings. The service was limited and despite having a reservation, we were seated at the bar and told that is all they have left. It appeared that others were frustrated by this as well.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Fabulous as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

We were a party of 4 that dined on a Sunday evening. We made reservations but they certainly weren’t needed. We were asked to seat ourselves which was completely fine and we chose a cozy booth in the back by the kitchen.

There weren’t any specials that night due to the cook having a night off so our options were all the menu. Everything we ordered was terrific and sized perfectly for 2 people, not 4.

Creme brûlée is my favorite desert and it was the only dish I was disappointed in. The sugar wasn’t warm on top and the custard’s consistency was a bit off.

There were only 2 guys working the dining room and bar and they did have a bit of a dinner rush so it took a bit to get our sangria and water refilled. They were of course polite and courteous but just busy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

The food was good all around and we had plenty of different options to try. I was disappointed in the service, as I stated in my reservation that we were celebrating our Anniversary - but no mention of this was made by staff during our visit. One of the waiters seemed very distracted and we had a few instances where we had to ask for plates as courses were served. The place was empty so I'm not sure what was distracting him so much from being attentive. I would go back, but would probably not do so to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Good bartender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

A few girlfriends and went for a fancy night out. We ordered a bunch of different tapas to share. Absolutely LOVED the fried goat cheese and ended up ordering more. We also ordered the pork ribs and although we had our other tapas in the meantime, it took about an hour or more to get the ribs from the time we ordered. Overall the ambiance was exactly what I was looking for and there was a lively crowd. I'd go back even if it was just for the fried goat cheese.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The menu has completely changed and many old favorites are gone. ALL vegetarian options (except olives and almonds) were deep fried. I left hungry and not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Love this place. Tapas are awesome and fairly priced. Drinks are stiff. They only offer 3 dinner options, but usually you don't even need dinner if you've shared tapas. Paella is good. I'd urge you to dine on tapa's throughout the night as it's a great way to "graze" as my wife would say

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Everything was average. Not bad, not great. Just average. Probably not go back and will no doubt forget I went. Nothing note worthy about it. Food was bland w no strong flavors, no special dishes that stand out. Just...meh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

After traveling around the parks for 23 days we needed a change of pace from lodge foods, everyday American meals. Tapas has always been one of our favorite ways to dine. 9th Door did an excellent job.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Both the cuisine and the drinks were creative and delicious. There is a great variety. Our server made good recommendations and provided great service. I would not hesitate to recommend Ninth Table and look forward to going again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 22, 2017

This was a great little find very close to Coors Field. The menu features Tapas and small plates to share. The vibe inside was very nice.. lots of exposed brick, rich large fabriced booths and a very warm hued back bar.... somewhat chic yet relaxed. The braised octopus small plate was delicious as was the lamb meatballs. A nice selection of wines by the glass allows for trying some good Spanish varieties.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great choice. Can go heavy or light, but our choice for a light dinner. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was delicious, but from the moment we walked into the restaurant the service was awful. As four adults on a double date, we deserved way better service. I felt like we were treated as if we were high schoolers spending very little cash but taking up a table. The waiter was very inattentive, our water glasses were empty more often than full. He would say he'd be right back to take drink orders and or refill, then would forget. For the prices of the tapas and drinks, the service needs to be WAY better. Don't waste your time or money here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Cool idea but not implemented as well as i expected. Much of the food was tasty but at the end (after tasting 6 or 7 tapas), it felt like the flavors were pretty similar across everything. Service was slow especially for a tapas menu. It was a bit pricey.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wonderful wine and cocktails with to die for tapas. One of my favorites places in LoDo, will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food and atmosphere were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our 2nd visit to The 9th Door separated by about 18 months and though not as phenomenally awesome as we the 1st visit, this was still a solidly enjoyable meal experience. My Paloma drink was just too sweet and turned me off from re-ordering a different selection but my husband really liked his Spanish G&T. We had 6 tapas dishes plus churros for dessert and 4 of the tapas were fantastic tasting and the other 2 were mediocre. The churros were so rich and tasty that 1 serving was enough and all we needed to satiate our sweet tooth. Our server was attentive and virtually everything we ordered was one of her "favorite" dishes on the menu, which was kind of entertaining but also signaled she had done her homework and sampled what the chefs were producing. The restaurant was far less crowded this time (7:30-8:30) so much easier to hold a conversation but also somewhat surprising and had us thinking "was this not THE hotspot in LoDo anymore"? Regardless, we walked out full and satisfied for our date night!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This is our third visit to The 9th Door - twice to this downtown location. Such an enjoyable way to share interesting dishes with friends who also love spectacular flavor combinations!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The food was very tasty but they were out of a lot of the meat options which is why we went. We went to Spain over the summer and had been craving the selection of meat from over seas and were disappointed when 2/4 of the meat options were not available. The plates were much smaller than tapas in Spain but that's American Cuisine for you. I would still recommend to someone who wants to try something very close to Authentic Spanish cuisine in America.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

we made a reservation at the downtown location for a friends birthday, only to show up for our reservation and have the restaurant closed, with no notice and they have yet to contact us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This used to be a favorite place, but it was soooo not good this time. I brought a friend from out of town and I was embarrassed. The food is definitely not the same anymore. Pear rollos had no pear, filet was completely underseasoned, dates were dry, out of tortilla. Wine bottle prices were too high. Used to have a nice, affordable Doña Paula Malbec, but no more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was very good, but the quantities were very small for the price

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2017

had a reservation but was put in a booth in the back by the kitchen.....thats about the only thing I had an issue with.....so the noise was high, the table was extremely dark. Great food, prices good. The street outside the restaurant was under construction, which was a drawback, but not the restaurants fault. Will go back again, it was that good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

My wife and I had our anniversary dinner here and had a very nice time. Unfortunately, they were out of the scallops, which were the one thing I really wanted to try and they don't serve the omelet which, In my opinion, is somewhat unacceptable at a Spanish tapas restaurant. Other than that, the food was very satisfying. Some brilliant flavors and ideas. The mushroom croquette was particularly good. The wine selection wasn't huge but was decent. The waiter was outstanding and the ambiance was about as nice as we could ask for. I will go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We stopped in for an early dinner after searching for a tapas restaurant near our hotel. The food and service were both good, but the drinks were nothing special. The sangria was probably the best of what we tried, and it wasn't too sweet, which was nice. Food-wise, the fried goat cheese, dates, ribs, and lamb lollipops were all delicious.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 22, 2017

I brought a family from Hong Kong this evening. Usually small plates and wine works for Chinese folks wanting a western dining experience.

Horrible from start to finish. The service was so disappointing.

Server actually CHASED a member of my party out the door with a dessert she had expressly cancelled a few minutes before--because it took forever to arrive. She served it anyway to those of us still t the table, and when asked to take it off the bill, she replied, "well, I set it down so now you must pay for it."

Add to this two other dishes that never arrived, and an unwillingness to admit a mistake when one guest ordered lamb but was served the beef: " well, you said 'medallions' and that's beef" when everyone else at he table heard LAMB. (Isn't the customer always right?)

Server had a hard time opening the wine. A woman ordered the wine and server asked a man to taste. (And server was a woman who fell into the gender worm hole).

Had to ask for the bill twice.

Just a hugely disappointing evening at this price point. My clients will forgive me, but I will never, ever forgive 9th Door. Embarrassing.

To be fair, the server was likely poorly trained. So blame the management for poor guidance. And blame the owner for poor management.

With so many options in Denver, 9th Door deserves a pass. Last week we had an awesome experience next door at Vesta, and I regretted not returning there tonight. Heck, My wife confided that a chain like Carrabba's would have been a better experience for less than half the price.

Avoid. Not worth it. Never again.

At this premium price point (more like $$$ than $$), I expect much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This restaurant used to be one of our favorites, but it has remained almost completely unchanged in 10 years and it shows. The food quality has dropped, the drinks are good but overpriced, and the menu is drab and has almost no vegetable options. I love meat, but something needs to break it up.

I wanted this place to continue to be great just like it had been over the years. Unfortunately, it just disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food is incredible and the staff is fantastic!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was phenomenal, tried four separate Tapas plates as well as sharing one of the entrees between us. Server was phenomenal, very polite, and all of her recommendations were on point. Food was a great value -- food total was ~$50, cocktails like everywhere in tshis area were a bit on the high side. Only complaint was that they didn't comp ANYTHING for my fiance's birthday (as we both had cocktails and a beer/cider respectively, I would have expected one of the $5 beers to be comp'd at the very least).

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Everyone and everything was fantastic! The only negative was we were seated at a table for two against a wall. There was a solid metal shelf mounted to the wall that came to the temple of the person I was with. They didn't offer to reseat us, and we didn't ask. Also, they were out of Jamon Iberico--very disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We arrived pre-ballgame. Sangria was Ok. The scallops were great. The lamb was excellent. Paella de Mariscos was very good. My only issue was probably the bill. The restaurant is rated $$. It should be changed to at least $$$. Dinner averaged almost $40 a person and we didn't really eat that much. But when you get 4 pieces of shrimp for $15, double-ups are mandatory. Definately more expensive than my favorite Chicago Tapas spot.

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 2, 2017

This is a tapas restaurant with a great selection of tasty dishes. We understand that when we visited (early August 2017) the 9th Door was undergoing a change of chiefs. Our chief was a fill-in. He/she was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I have been coming to the 9th door for over ten years. This was by far my worst experience and I will never go back. The hostess was aloof and unprofessional. I was looking forward to two of my favorite dishes, the Gambas al Ajillo and filet with blue cheese. Both of these dishes were changed by the new owners, and unfortunately for the worse. Two of us dined and the bill was over $100 and neither of us were full. We ended up walking down the street afterwards and getting two slices of pizza. Initially I wondered why, at 6 pm on a Friday at peak dining time, the restaurant was nearly empty. After this terrible experience it became clear. Very, very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 21, 2017

My new fave place! The cheese plate out of this world. Where did u get that triple blue cheese?

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The restaurant itself was great but no AC. It was so hot we were literally sweating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Great tapas selection, with helpful staff. Always a great time here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We can in at 8:30 and it looked like they were closing. We had a reservation, but opted for the bar due to the lack of people. It was very bright, which ruined what could be an okay atmosphere.

Stuffed Dates were okay
Stuffed Peppers were great
The lollipop lamp chops were awesome, as were the scallops and artichokes! Portion sizes were maybe a bit smaller than tapas I typically have, but not the end of the world.

Paella could have been a lot better had the peas been cooked in, rather than just sitting on top of the rice. Presentation was cool I guess, but the taste suffered because of it - it my opinion.

Probably wouldn't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Delicious and very creative food. Iberian decor is impressive.

Tags: Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always my favorite spot to take my wife for a special occasion - lots of variety, great wine, and always on point!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.