About The 9th Door - Downtown

1808 Blake Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

The 9th Door is the premier Spanish tapas bar and restaurant located in LoDo, the heart of Denver, Colorado.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served
Monday - Thursday 4pm - 8:30pm
Friday 4pm-10:30pm,
Saturday 5-10:30pm, and
Sunday 5:00pm-8:30pm.

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 292-2229

Website:
https://www.the9thdoordowntown.com/

Parking Details:
18th and Blake Street. We are located a few blocks from the Union Train Station.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The 9th Door would be delighted to host your Holiday Party. We have many options for most group sizes. Call today to reserve your party while prime dates are still available.

The 9th Door - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (33)
Romantic (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Special Occasion (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (13)
Authentic (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (3)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food. Always consistent. Great wine list. One of our favorite places in all the metro area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and wonderful server. Can't wait Togo back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

No one came to wait on us so we ended up leaving. Had a great dinner next door at Vesta Dipping Grill instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I really enjoyed the staff and the food was amazing. It was a great date night. The creative drinks were extremely taste. We loved the tapas and sharing theme as well.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is really tasty and creative. Unfortunately, service can be spotty. Our check arrived before the last dish, so we figured they had forgotten to put the order in, but it showed up as we were walking out. Still, the food is worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I like this place. We were driving back from Aspen and found this restaurant on Yelp. I wish I can say Paella was delicious but wasn't my favorite food, it wasn't bad either just average. The Chorizo in wine sauce was fantastic, so as the mushrooms croquettes... so good. Also they had some tiny pear and cheese rolls that were delicious.

We were there for dinner on a Tuesday at 5:30 pm. Restaurant was pretty empty so service was good, our food was brought on our table pretty fast. The hostess was extremely kind, we arrived 30 min before our reservation and she sat us immediately, as commented before restaurant was pretty empty.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I have eaten at the 9th Door downtown numerous times for both casual and special occasions. Before this last visit I have given it glowing reviews and loved this restaurant. It was never a question of if I would return but when. HOWEVER, on my last visit I was completely disappointed. To start, the prices have increased and the portions have decreased (which is saying something when they are tapas plates to begin with). Their wine list has changed and they removed all of the inexpensive bottles of wine from their menu. They have change their menu and removed some delicious options (grilled avocado, spaghetti squash, and more). The waitress said she gets asked about them all of the time, so my question is why were they removed? I don't know if there was a change in management or leadership but this used to be a restaurant I bragged about and now I am not sure I'll ever return. Bring back the old 9th Door!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful place: the food is outstanding, so sre the ambiance and the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My husband and I celebrated his birthday here. Every time we dine here, it is a romantic and relaxing atmosphere with wonderful food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Took 20 minutes to get our two drinks. We've been many times, and food seemed less spectacular this go round. Pretty disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

9th Door is a charming place with great tapas and a descent selection of spirits to browse; definitely a cozy place for two. The tapas were tasty, which is certainly to be expected when considering small plate portions; the environment was pleasant and our server attentive. We had many items off of the happy hour menu but stayed well beyond the end of happy hour sampling various food items and catching up in conversations. It was a wonderful experience all around and I’m happy to give a high recommendation with the caveat understanding that many plates equals a full belly.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The restaurant and the food are amazing. I know the concept of tapas and has been in several Spanish restaurants in Chicago, New York and here in Denver. I just think that the size of the plates are much smaller compared to other Spanish tapas restaurants that I have been.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Loved this place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and I loved this spot. Its is right in the heart of Lodo and within walking distance from music/comedy venues in the area. Highly recommend for a date night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This is now one of my favorite places in downtown Denver to eat! The tapas were creative and delicious. Zack, our waiter, as knowledgeable and helpful when choosing both the food and a wine. I'll be going back soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Had dinner with friends - a group of 8. We had a quite booth. Food, wine and service all wonderful! Would definitely go again. Such a fun evening!

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our experience was top notch. There were three of us for a casual business dinner. We shared king crab legs, lobster and filet. Sides of Brussels sprouts and fries. When our waiter, Garrit, explained that the king crab was fresh (uncommon) and sold by the pound, he took us to the kitchen to see the tank. He was an excellent waiter with a comfortable sense of decorum and humor. Will go back!

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went on a double date here and we really loved it! The atmosphere was cozy. The restaurant was busy but not crowded. I enjoyed every single dish we got. I was also impressed with the price for the amount of food/alcohol we consumed.

The only warning I'll give is that one of the boys has a pretty hearty appetite and I think the small dishes didn't fill him up nearly as much as the rest of us. But that might just be the nature of Tapas.

I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Everything was exactly how I would have wanted it. We went early and beat the crowds. Food was great and everyone quite friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our New Year's Eve dinner here was VERY disappointing. Unfriendly hostess and seater who barely acknowledged our presence. Wait staff dressed in regular street clothes which made it difficult to distinguish the employees from the guests. The first two courses were pretty good, the main entreé of lobster paella was awful, AND it was $15 extra for the lobster. There was no rice, insead, it was made with pasta (Casarecce I think). The lobster was lukewarm and chewy, the sauce was tomatoey. Not even close to Spanish paella. Dessert was good, hahah! Won't go near the place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for a special New Years Eve dining event. Four course dining event with several options per course. Chef had requested that all patrons order all four courses at once so they could time the cooking and delivery. A little strange since it's all small plates. Also, the food came out haphazardly. I got my first two course almost at the same time while my girlfriend had to wait for her first course to come out. My second course of scallops consisted of two. My girlfriend ordered the vegetable kabobs and they were basically tasteless other than the char from the grill. Dessert was a vanilla creme brûlée and the flan. The creme brûlée had a consistency more of pudding and the sugar top was barely carmelized. The top was as soft and did not have the traditional hard crust a brûlée is expected to have. The flan texture was wrong. Overall we were somewhat disappointed. We had eaten there before and enjoyed it very much. Will we give it another try? Most likely.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

At nearly the last minute we decided to go out to eat on New Year's Eve and fortunately for us, were able to snag a 5:00 p.m. reservation at The 9th Door. Instead of their usual tapas menu, the restaurant offered a prix fixe menu of 4 courses, served tapas style so that you could share. Both my husband and I chose salads to start; the Ensalada Quinoa is on the regular tapas menu and the Spanish Caesar salad, was prepared specially for the New Year's menu; both were delicious. For the second course, my husband ordered the Croqueta de Hongos, mushroom and rice croquette in a sherry wine and mushroom sauce. I had the Callo de Hacha, seared sea scallops, both these appetizers were tasty, the only negative was that the scallops arrived cold. For the entree, my husband had the Solomillo de Cordero, lamb sirlon, which he devoured. I had the Pato Braseado, a duck dish; it was cooked rare and melted in my mouth,. Desserts were Flan de Limon and a Catalan style creme brulee. We ordered a lovely Cabernet to accompany our meal.

The only change I would recommend had to do with the time between courses, we were not finished with the first course before the second course arrived. We did get a leisurely break between the entree course and dessert and we were not rushed out of the restaurant. Considering that this was to be a very busy night for the restaurant, the service was great, the food was outstanding, and we look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love the 9th Door! I've been there many times and its always amazing! Always look forward to carafes of their yunny Sangria!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We ended up sitting at the bar because we didn't like the seating at the tables (too close...just not our thing); however, we were glad we moved as the bartender gave us exemplary service and in this day and age with all the hipster bartenders and servers too cool for good service, we were thrilled! We come from the industry, so we expect a lot but are also patient, and we had no need to be patient with this guy - he new his stuff. I cannot recall his name, but he was spectacular (we ordered the Black Tears Malbec bottle - a must!) and many tapas followed by entrees - we stayed and ordered more once we knew this guy was on point. Thanks so much! We'll be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fabulous! Been her several times, never a disappointment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food and the serving sizes for tapas were good. Great service. Happy hour is well above average. I would definitely go there again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The 9th Door has a wonderful menu and great ambiance. We came here for a company holiday party, but I have been here numerous times for other occasions. I have never been disappointed with the service or the food. The food is always delicious and I love that we can share different food choices. The staff is always helpful and very accommodating. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our party of 4 arrived for our 9pm reservation and were immediately. The sangria pitchers were fresh, flavorful, and had a little kick! We ordered about a dozen different tapas and everything was excellent. Do yourself a favor and be sure to try the ribs - so tender! Would definitely return to and recommend this spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fried Cheese, short ribs, lamb ribs amazing, amazing,amazing

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very nice and would recommend. Service was spot on and the best part of the night . Ambiance very good but tables are quite close together for the most part, you better be comfortable around others at dinner. Food is good with some great sprinkled in. Like the small plates idea (again better be comfortable with sharing but was grand with us) and price was more than fair to me.

75/ per person with two bottles of wine for table is not that bad for a downtown restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing food and great service, a perfect date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great find in downtown Denver. Nothing beats a good quality Spanish gin and tonic.

We had a variety of tapas and drinks, all were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good food, good service. Liked the vegetarian choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent service. Food was also very good as there was a lot of variety. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The 9th Door is one of my favorite places to eat downtown Denver. The food is very flavorful and the presentations are divine. I tried the new trout dish and that was the best trout I have had! Definitely recommend that along with the meat and cheese plate, lamb chop lollipops, and the pears. All wonderful dishes and great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Delicious food. Loved the spanish gin and tonic. Overall a wonderful meal. Will be back

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We always love our time at 9th Door! It's a restaurant we come back to again and again, the happy hour is wonderful, the ambiance upbeat, and the servers are always knowledgable and point us in the right direction! Not to mention, their sangria is divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent creative and delicious tapas served by friendly and attentive staff! We loved the Spanish music and cozy ambiance. This place gets hopping so make a reservation so you don't miss out. A classy hot spot setting offers a menu of marvelous tapas, cocktails, wine and beer!! We enjoyed tasting the creative talents of the new menu and came back for more during our weekend stay! We had a birthday celebration for our second visit seated in one of the private booths. Cream brûlée to die for! The chef and sous chef pay particular attention to every detail and we enjoyed every bite. You will love this place - awesome to visit before heading over to catch an AVS or Broncos game. We can't wait to come back!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Tapas, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 18, 2016

One of our favorites. Always a special time.The food and wine exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I went for dinner with my boyfriend and we had an amazing time. The staff was nice and the food came quickly since it was tapas. The food reminded me of my trip to Spain so I definitely recommend it if you want a little taste of Spanish food. The wine list isn't big but the few they have are delicious. You have a few bars on the same street if You ever want to go for an after dinner drink. Larimer square is also not far ! Great place and ambiance!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Tapas, Late-night Find, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere and fun central location. Rating the value lower because portion sizes were skimpy. My friends left feeling hungry even though we spent about $40pp. The food was all good, and some dishes were really good. Wines by the glass were also a little expensive with pours slightly on the small side. Overall a lot of fun and nice service though.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The sangria and tapas were awesome. Our favorites were the fried goat cheese with honey, the lamb lollipops, and the beef filet. The lemon flan was amazing as well. Our server was great. Very knowledgeable and quick.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food was great- best tapas I have had in a while and the server was very knowledgeable about Spanish cuisine. We came with a Spanish friend who did all the ordering and he approved! Everything we ate was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great variety of unusual tapas, all of which are excellent. One of Denver' s best restaurants!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Loved this place. The food was creative and delicious and the service was first rate. We met friends there and it was the perfect start to the evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This was probably my most disappointing experience here. I've been on several occasions in the past and this was by far the worst. Almost all the food we ordered hot came out lukewarm. One item was practically frozen in the center . It will probably be awhile before I consider coming back after this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Flavor was excellent. Great customer service. Enjoyed the ambiance for our double date. But, please. Why are they serving their tapas in THREES! It must be WAY more common to seat parties of 2 or 4. We increased our plates to 4, but it exponentially increased the price.

Still, so yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Good Tapas variety, innovative, properly spiced. Good service, view of street.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 23, 2016

great small plates. nice atmosphere but a little dark

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, - little dark at first but I ended up enjoying that. Food was great, drinks were good. Waitor Matthew was pretty good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.