Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

100% de Agave100% de Agave
(164)
$$$$
Contemporary Mexican | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Booked 8 times today
Charcoal RestaurantCharcoal Restaurant
(1030)
$$$$
Continental | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Booked 11 times today
LucaLuca
(1638)
$$$$
Italian | Central, Denver
Booked 8 times today
MizunaMizuna
(2098)
$$$$
Contemporary French | Central, Denver
Booked 22 times today
Beast and BottleBeast and Bottle
(994)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Uptown, Denver
Booked 31 times today
La LomaLa Loma
(819)
$$$$
Mexican | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Booked 47 times today
Element Kitchen + CocktailElement Kitchen + Cocktail
(50)
$$$$
American | Central, Denver
Booked 7 times today
MAX’s Wine Dive Denver – Sherman St.MAX’s Wine Dive Denver – Sherman St.
(363)
$$$$
American | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Booked 5 times today
Table 6Table 6
(1603)
$$$$
American | Cherry Creek, Denver
Booked 25 times today
Ristorante Lo StellaRistorante Lo Stella
(435)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Booked 6 times today
Maggiano's - Denver PavilionsMaggiano's - Denver Pavilions
(3954)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Booked 55 times today
BonesBones
(969)
$$$$
Asian | Central, Denver
Booked 16 times today
LenaLena
(432)
$$$$
Latin American | Baker, Denver
Booked 13 times today
Lala's Wine Bar + PizzeriaLala's Wine Bar + Pizzeria
(152)
$$$$
Italian | Central, Denver
Booked 9 times today
Earls Kitchen + Bar - Downtown DenverEarls Kitchen + Bar - Downtown Denver
(551)
$$$$
Global, International | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Booked 42 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About The 9th Door - Capitol Hill

On Spain's Costa del Sol, located between Malaga and Marbella, sits a quiet little mountain village called Mijas. During the summer of 1969, after having been made famous by James Michener's novel The Drifters, Mijas had become an expatriate community of writers and poets. On lazy afternoons, these expats would gather at their favorite bar - one without a name, recognizable only by the number nine that was carved into the door. Behind the 9th door, they would imbibe on the local wine and brandy and share the tapas of the house, trading stories and wooing the local women until the early hours of the morning.

925 Lincoln Street
Denver, CO 80203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 5:00pm-9pm
Tuesday: 5:00pm-9:30pm
Wednesday: 5:00pm-10pm
Thursday:5:00 pm-10pm
Friday: 5:00pm-10:30pm
Saturday: 5:30pm-10:30pm
Sunday: 5:00-9:00

Cross Street:
9th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 832-7027

Website:
http://www.the9thdoor.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in the garage. Street parking available also.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The 9th Door - Capitol Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

5.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

5.0

ambience

5.0

value

4.5

100% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
See All
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Fun (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Authentic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great place! It was a little empty because of the holiday weekend, but the food, cocktails and service were fantastic. A few things were a little pricey for me, but would probably be more affordable to other diners. I would recommend giving this place a try.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Tapas, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This restaurant is incredible. The place is authentic from the paella to the decor and extremely tasty. Very friendly waitstaff and a relaxed vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Fabulious unique food flavors, loved it. Was prefect light eating and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The new menu sucks, the food was cold on arrival and not cooked to requested temps and took forever. Portions also seem even smaller than before. Our waitress was nice when she came around but for about 35 mins we thought she had forgotten about us all together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing!! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We had a wonderful meal, the food was outstanding the service was as well. We had fabulous cocktails and really enjoyed all the tapas choices we tried. We could not recommend this place more highly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Quiet evening and wasn't very busy. The food was wonderful and would have a difficult time selecting one of the plates as the best.

Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for another wonderful restaurant to try.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food and se vice. Plenty to choose from and nice to try many small plates. Prices were a bit high but happy hour is such a bargain, I plan to eat there twice more this week.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

They had me at Tapas in general but the food was everything I exspected. Everything was fresh and wonderful. Thi is a can't miss experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It's fun to order a variety of dishes. They are prepared quickly so you can order a couple at a time and then just order more if you're still hungry. Each dish was delicious. There is a wide variety, so everyone can find something they will enjoy or that fits their diet. We went at 5pm on a Saturday and got Happy Hour prices - Fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Phenomenal Tapas! Went here after visiting the Denver Art Museum, great service as well

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Excellent service. Unique offerings and tasty dishes. Interesting wine selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great choice for Tapas and creative drinks and wine in this part of town. Their tapas are as good any most any I had living in Spain for a month.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This place has amazing food, great service, and a fantastic happy hour! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Have gone to the Lodo 9th Door fairly often since 2010, and more recently to the Lincoln St. location.

Something has changed...admittedly this was the end of Denver Restaurant week but the waitress and hostess seemed a bit bewildered, yet snooty, didn't seem to have entered our Open Table reservation into the system (so couldn't find our 5:45 PM reservation, before the real evening pressures even started). Food was OK, but definitely not excellent as before. $80+ bottle of wine was mediocre, way overpriced for the quality. Overall a disappointing experience -- management seems to be poor and cooking not nearly as good as before.

We'll give them one more try, but we may be looking for a new 10th door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My wife and i went to 9th Door during restaurant week. We love tapas style eating, and 9th Door does it right! If it's your first ti,me, they take time to explain how it works. They had a great selection of tapas, and their restaurant week menu was excellent as well. They have happy hour from 5:00-6:00 daily, with everything (tapas, wine, drinks, everything) half off. We'll definitely go back.

Restaurant sits right on Lincoln, so outdoor sitting is right on busy street, but indoor is great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We were treated so well by the entire staff. Although we had a reservation, we had to wait a little longer than typical so the the bartender comped the drink at the bar. The hostess kept reassuring us that we would be seated soon, even though we tried to assure her we were fine. The Restaurant Week menu gave us a great survey of the menu with good advice from the waiter. It was a birthday celebration or we probably would not have been out during Restaurant Week because we've had mediocre experiences in the past, but this restaurant changed our minds. Have already recommended it to friends based on our positive evening at the 9th Door Capitol Hill.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It was the last friday of restaurant week and the service and pace of food were very off. We have had a number of excellent experiences at the 9th Door - both locations. This visit wasn't great. 3 of 4 first courses arrived, but the 4th was nowhere to be found for over 10 minutes. Same deal with the main, 1 arrived, 3 did so 5+ minutes later.

Love the food. Great wine list for pairing. Service needs improvement when things get busy.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We dined at the 9th door during restaurant week and found the food to be fabulous, the service attentive without being overbearing and a really great value.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Last minute dinner option. Was easily accommodated. We had a very nice dinner part of their 5280 selections. Excellent service with Lydia. We had a fun casual night out. Thanks.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

It was wonderful and Spanish friends with us found the food delicious and authentic. Great tapas. Good everything. It's our new place to dine.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great place! Food and ambiance were on point. Knowledgeable wait staff and excellent wine list. MAKE A RESERVATION! Tried to go without one and being a small location and popular it didn't work out that night but came back days later and it was so worth it! Will be visiting everytime i make my way to Denver

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic and mostly authentic Spanish food. Dined with a Spaniard, who was pleasantly surprised to discover such good food from his native country right here in Denver. Though we had dined at 9th Door several times previously, we were thrilled to discover their happy hour menu is valid on Sundays. This may become our go-to place for Sunday nights!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Went for 5280. Food was great until we got the chicken dish. Rubbery and overcooked. Server told us it was because of the cut of the chicken and the crispy edges, but it was not crispy at all. Would have come back but it ended up being overpriced for the quality.

Having lived in Spain, the atmosphere was wonderful! Fun experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good food, but terrible mixed drinks. Order wine/beer from a bottle. Do not order the sangria or other cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The tapas here are amazing! We usually make a meal of them. Oh, and sangria. The atmosphere is warm, comfortable, and romantic. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It was a great date night! The server was knowledgeable and genuine in his recommendations. We loved it and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

LOVED IT! Food was outstanding. Loved the small plates--and sharing so you get a bite of so many different tastes. Went for Restaurant Week--and will definitely go back again, and again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Enjoyed the ambiance and service. Food choices were varied and all 6 things we had were very good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We enjoyed our Valentines dinner at 9th door. The special menu still had a great set of options. We really enjoyed most of the dishes and as with any Tapas restaurant sharing is half the fun. As much as we enjoyed the food and the great ambiance, the service was not very good. For 15 minutes after we were seated we did not see a server. After discussing some wine options the waitress offered a sample of one of the pricy bottles we were looking at. 15 minutes latter (more then 30 minutes after we arrived) she returned to let us know that it was only offered by the bottle and we could not try it... So why did you offer and why did it take so long to come back and let us know. So 35 minutes after we arrived we still had no drinks or food. We finally were able to place our order and then continue to wait. Another 10 or so minutes and our Tapas began to arrive. Still no wine. The bottle of wine did not show up until we had already eaten a couple of our Tapas. In my mind a huge service failure. Not sure if the Valentines night made for bad service or if the service is just bad. As much as we enjoyed the food we did not love the experience and will not be rushing back.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I highly recommend this restaurant. The staff are very friendly and efficient. A wide variety of tapas are creatively presented and are delicious. The atmosphere is welcoming and relaxed. This is a fun place for a memorable dining experience - for a couple of small group. Our waiter, John, is extremely professional and very knowledgeable about wine.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I really like 9th Door. I was glad to see that they improved their beer selection, not all of us can drink wine. Their tapas are always good, but a word of caution about some of the meat options: the craftsmanship can be a miss. The filet cut with the grain was thick and tough, the lamb chops were on the grill too long to be succulent and delicate. I wish that they came out of the kitchen looking like the pictures on yelp - the flavor was there, just not the juicy unctuousness that I craved.
Will I go back? Of course, I love their calamari, their patata's, the Serrano ham and pears. But if the meat tapas continue to lack the care of preparation, 9th door will be only for a quick bite and not the dinner that I would love them to be.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Knowing this was a tapas place, we were not disappointed in the small portions. The staff made excellent recommendations. Was pricey but we knew this going in.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The 9th Door was spectacular! Love, love, love the food and ambience! Friends night out and we shared the filet, peppers, patatas, spaghetti squash, and figs. Topped it off with flan and creme brûlée. Cant pick a favorite-they were all fantastic!! Can't wait to return! Great place for friends or romantic dinner! Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our waitress was great! This is one of my favorite restaurants and am never disappointed when I'm in there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We always enjoy the 9th Door. This is the second time we've been to the Beauvillon location, and really love the curved booths. Short ribs were the special tapas for the evening, and they were tender and yummy. We always order the piquillo peppers and lamb lollipops. This time the lamb was slightly dry and seemed very small. However, the wrapped dates and the croquette were delicious.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Friendly staff w very attentive service. Great menu selection. Food is yummy. Expansive Spanish wine selection as you'd expect. Thumbs up for the margs too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was fantastic. Service was superb. Food came out quickly and was hot and delicious. A great way to share food with friends. Highly recommend.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

What a fantastic find! This was my first time dining at The 9th Door and I can't say enough about how delicious and creative the food was. Tapas makes it easy to manage portions which were large enough to share. AND, Happy Hour from 5-6 with everything 50% off, you can't go wrong.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The staff gave 5 star service throughout the meal. The management was exceptionally accommodating as well. The food is amazing! Great experience for most occasions.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.