About Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant

8293 Main Street
Ellicott City, MD 21043
View Larger Map

The Tersiguel family have been serving their unique version of French food for over 40 years. The menu at Tersiguel's is a combination of authentic French-style cooking and rustic country fare reminiscent of cuisine found in Tersiguel's original home of Brittany, France. Tersiguel's Cuisine is reflective of the seasons, with a garden that produces lettuces, herbs, vegetables, fruits and edible flowers. When the Garden is not producing Chef Michel Tersiguel will personally go and hand pick all fruit and vegetables at the whole sale market in Jessup, Maryland. Tersiguel's is quintessential French Country "from the farm to your plate" cooking. Chef Tersiguel describes his food as "French soul food". The Tersiguel family has operated one of the regions best restaurants for over 40 years and continues this tradition with annual ratings of "Best French Restaurant" from the Zagat and Baltimore Magazine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday-Thursday 4pm - 9pm; Friday & Saturday 4pm-10pm
Mondays (CLOSED)

Cross Street:
Old Columbia Pike

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 465-4004

Website:
http://www.tersiguels.com/

Entertainment:
Tersiguel's is famous for their tableside preparation of crepes suzette and chateaubriand.

Parking Details:
We have public parking on the street, 2 hour parking limit during the daytime hours and unlimited after 6:00pm. Also behind the restaurant their is free parking lot of about 260 spaces. Ellicott City also has 6 other parking lots off of Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Michel Tersiguel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tersiguel's is known for their cooking classes with one hour demonstration by Chef Michel Tersiguel and followed by a 5 course lunch. Also featured are themed wine dinners where Chef Michel presents multiple inspired courses matched with exquisite wine selections.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Tue 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 9:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Tersiguel's offers six separate dinning rooms on three levels accommodating 150 guests. Tersiguel's offers several elegant banquet options for lunch and dinner. Menus are customized for each event.

Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Romantic (48)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Historic (25)
Authentic (24)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Cozy (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Groups (8)
Private Room (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fireplace (3)
Scenic View (3)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful French country food, spot on. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful French country food, spot on. 3 generations of my family, from 81 year old grandma to picky teenage son all enjoyed at all, from appetizer, entree and desserts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the dining experience at Tersiguel ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Loved the dining experience at Tersiguel's as a whole. Our waiter was attentive and charming. The food was good, but not excellent. I was disappointed in the potato soup with bone marrow. It was a sawed off piece of bone over which was poured a gravy like beige fluid with very little taste. No potato chunks. The lamb neck was better, and I enjoyed that. The French bread was the best thing I ate all evening. The wine recommended was excellent, as were the cocktails beforehand. The pear dessert was ok. It was made special for us with the addition of lighted candles, a nice touch. I am inspired to return to Tersiguel's and try something else.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

One of my favorite restaurants !!! Alwa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants !!! Always wonderful and Charlie is the best waiter in the world

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been many years since we had been ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

It had been many years since we had been at this restaurant and decided to support the return of Old Ellicott City. Our experience was disappointing . We were seated in a room where the air was filled with grease. The menu selection was limited if you did not want to experience some form of organ meat or marrow. The menu posted on open table included a beef bourguignon but it was not found on the menu that evening and one of my husband's favorites.

Basically, nothing we ordered was exceptional. I had a bland colorless beet salad with tough shaved fennel . My salmon was on a bed of lentils with no real tie to the the fish and a sweet juice that made no sense in composition. My husband's pork was dry and when he queried me to taste his greens since they were were tough, they were not only it was tough but full of gritty sand. We did not stay for dessert. I am sorry to say I have no desire to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The service is exceptional as is the fo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

The service is exceptional as is the food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good meal, lovely ambience and nice ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very good meal, lovely ambience and nice service. Tersiguel's is a gem.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a pleasure, nice environment. Did ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a pleasure, nice environment. Didn't realize it was a fixed menu for Valentine's Day. Only appetizer was seafood and I have a seafood allergy

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Usually outstanding meals, but the fixed ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Usually outstanding meals, but the fixed menu on Valentine's Day simply was good. Not great, just good...which for $80 a person was a disappointment

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Tersiguel's is amazing every time. Best ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Tersiguel's is amazing every time. Best service, food, and atmosphere. Highly recommend it to anyone who hasn't been there before.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Historic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place and good service. Hard to fi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place and good service. Hard to find a good place to dine between D.C. & Baltimore and this is one of the few. When meeting friends from Baltimore, this is one of the only choices. Only negative is, it's just too expensive. We are used to high prices being from the D.C., but this is extreme. $32.00 for a simple vegetarian entree is crazy. For a few $ more you can get Lobster. We probably will not return even though we like the restraunt and the town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely setting, wonderful food and wine, ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Lovely setting, wonderful food and wine, attentive wait staff. All-around positive experience. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been here in some time but we ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I had not been here in some time but we decided to go for Restaurant Week. The staff was wonderful and the service excellent. We had the garlic soup and pate for appetizers and they were both excellent. We both had the duck confit which was also very good. The portions were quite generous. For dessert, which was not on the Restaurant Week menu, we had the Bosch pear in a wine reduction and a wonderful apple pastry dessert with a delicious cinnamon sauce. Loved the food, staff and service. Nothing negative to say! Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit since the Ellicott City ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our first visit since the Ellicott City flood. Service was atrocious. Over 30 minutes waiting for service and drinks after seating. Table was not prepared lacking napkins & silverware. Had to ask another server for water. Requested a black napkin to prevent transfer of white napkin onto a black dress. Not available. When the food finally arrived it was accompanied by cold French bread. Ask the server to warm and she said it's always served at room temperature. After insisting she finally brought warm bread. Extremely disappointed in the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

The food was good but the portion size o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food was good but the portion size on the tuna dish was so tiny. My husband left there hungry. For the price, there should have been more tuna and risotto. The service was good but we did feel the restaurant was way overpriced for what you get.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Since the reopening after the flood this ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Since the reopening after the flood this summer chef has been changing menu item every few weeks. He hit a homerun again with the current menu. Pasta and lobster in a saffron cream and the pulled lamp neck with diced olives was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I was so excited to go to Tersiguel's. H ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I was so excited to go to Tersiguel's. Hadn't been there for ages. Had wonderful memories. We were seated rapidly. Table two away was seated just after. Its noone's fault that they were so loud. Of course there is hardwood flooring, hard walls and hard ceilings to magnify the sound. We eventually were given menus, only after we asked. It was restaurant week. We were not given restaurant week menus. We were not informed that there were restaurant week menus or that the restaurant participated in restaurant week. I knew they did from their website and asked. I really shouldn't have had to. We got bread eventually - if was great. Wine list is excellent. Crab claw appetizer tasted fishy, and we typically really like crab. They were nice to take it off of the check. Potato and roasted garlic soup was only OK. Steak was terrific as was the duck confit. Love that they have half bottles of wine. Sadly I was evidently the third person to send back what I ordered because it had turned to vinegar. Waitress was very nice and very overwhelmed. Overall, some good, some not so good. Three stars. But not acknowledging restaurant week - that's just not right. Two stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Lovely resturant- great food and attenti ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Lovely resturant- great food and attentive staff. We were fortunate to have a concert outside on Main St. which added to the fun

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner and exceptiona ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner and exceptional ambience. Service was fantastic! At dinner, I found out I will be a grandmum. The staff made it a very special occasion...never to be forgotten!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Historic, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome, inventive food, and the waiter, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Awesome, inventive food, and the waiter, Charlie, is knowledgeable and fun. The best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is great to see Tersiguel's back in b ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It is great to see Tersiguel's back in business. The food remains excellent and the service impeccable. The menu is significantly shorter than before the Ellicott City flooding, but well worth the special occasion visit.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It had been a few years since I've been ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It had been a few years since I've been to Tersiguels, but I'm happy that it did not disappoint. Food was wonderful, service was outstanding. Looking forward to going back soon...RT

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

food was good-I was very surprised that ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

food was good-I was very surprised that they would not have coffee, only espresso, for Sunday brunch at a French restaurant-i feel that an accommodation should have been made for a broken coffee maker. The dessert was no up to par for that type of restaurant-it seemed that an apple pastry would be appropriate for place and time but the apples were almost non-existent and the hazelnut accompaniment I can't really describe but it was overpowering. I love the idea of Tersiguel's and I had fun with my guests but was somewhat disappointed in the overall outcome.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Charlie is the best waiter. Very knowled ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Charlie is the best waiter. Very knowledgeable and sociable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We must've caught them on an off night. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We must've caught them on an off night. We've been to the restaurant on numerous occasions over the year and always enjoyed it. This time most dishes were quite bland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

My wife and I have been to this restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I have been to this restaurant several times and have not been disappointed yet. There was a prefix menu (for New Year's Eve) and all courses were great. Service was a little harried but okay. It is certainly a pricey place, but in my opinion worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I just love the cozy, historic ambiance ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I just love the cozy, historic ambiance of this restaurant. Terrific, authentic French cuisine perfectly prepared and professionally presented. I consider this restaurant a special gem in Howard County, a true dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Although only one of us had realized pri ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Although only one of us had realized prior to our visit that there was only a special chef's tasting menu available for New year's Eve, we knew we were in capable hands after previous visits. The restaurant was crowded and quite warm, but service was efficient and friendly despite the bustle. Chef's tasting menu was outstanding; even the pickiest of our party liked nearly everything. Began with pear apertif, a light leek and potato soup, then scallops over risotto and a delicious sauce. The filet mignons were all perfectly medium rare and scrumptious. The palate-cleansing salad of celery, radicchio and fennel was not to everyone's taste, but appropriate. I just wish there had been more chocolate mousse; sigh. Delightful blend of flavors and textures which left us all satisfied but not stuffed, the way a meal should be.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was great, a little pricey, b ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was great, a little pricey, but I suppose that is to be expected for fancy French food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have eaten here before. We went for NY ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have eaten here before. We went for NYE to support at EC business. Bland soup. Not asked for beef temp. Tough cut. Indifferent service. Very mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Waiter forgot to bring us our salad befo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Waiter forgot to bring us our salad before serving our dessert. We weren't offered coffee or tea with dessert and for $80 per person I think that should have been included. There were a lot of folks working that night, but they still forgot about us.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Fabulous service, exquisite food, extens ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fabulous service, exquisite food, extensive wine selection. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and it was the perfect place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tersiguel's is back and better than ever ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Tersiguel's is back and better than ever! Love the new menu with locally sourced food. The decor is fresh, too. The flood was a real tragedy, but they are back and better than ever!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was wonderful. My French teac ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This place was wonderful. My French teacher recommended this place form me and I went with my family. It was very fancy and quiet and the service was great! The food was delicious and it was nice to try something new since I've never had French food before. I would definitely recommend this place and I certainly will go back soon! Thank you for the amazing experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening. Charming restaurant.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful evening. Charming restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a group of 10 for Christmas Eve d ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a group of 10 for Christmas Eve dinner. We had our own room which was great. Servers were attentive and knowledgeable. We didn't realize that it was a set menu for the holiday but it was delicious. A fun evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thank you!!!

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Michele birthday lunch was outstanding t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Michele birthday lunch was outstanding thank you chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Strange that there was no lunch menu wit ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Strange that there was no lunch menu with crepes and such but perhaps that was a brunch menu I am remembering from last year. The menu was for dinner even though it was noon so it was very expensive. Food was delicious. We didn't get the good fun waiter but he did make our cocktails. Our waiter was stoic. I am so glad that Tersiguel's is back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Beuf - Filet Mignon is wonderful - wine ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Beuf - Filet Mignon is wonderful - wine selection is very good. The building is lovely.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent food and service. Great for sp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

excellent food and service. Great for special occasion!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.