Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.88mi

About Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant

The Tersiguel family have been serving their unique version of French food for over 40 years. The menu at Tersiguel's is a combination of authentic French-style cooking and rustic country fare reminiscent of cuisine found in Tersiguel's original home of Brittany, France. Tersiguel's Cuisine is reflective of the seasons, with a garden that produces lettuces, herbs, vegetables, fruits and edible flowers. When the Garden is not producing Chef Michel Tersiguel will personally go and hand pick all fruit and vegetables at the whole sale market in Jessup, Maryland. Tersiguel's is quintessential French Country "from the farm to your plate" cooking. Chef Tersiguel describes his food as "French soul food". The Tersiguel family has operated one of the regions best restaurants for over 40 years and continues this tradition with annual ratings of "Best French Restaurant" from the Zagat and Baltimore Magazine.

8293 Main Street
Ellicott City, MD 21043
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday-Thursday 4pm - 9pm; Friday & Saturday 4pm-10pm
Mondays (CLOSED)

Cross Street:
Old Columbia Pike

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 465-4004

Website:
http://www.tersiguels.com/

Entertainment:
Tersiguel's is famous for their tableside preparation of crepes suzette and chateaubriand.

Parking Details:
Behind the restaurant their is free parking lot , LOT D which is closest to us. There is parking in LOT E behind Ellicott Mills Brewing Company, parking in LOT F behind The Wine Bin. On street parking is located on Ellicott Mills Drive and is free. Additional parking is available at the HoCo Circuit Courthouse.

Executive Chef:
Michel Tersiguel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tersiguel's is known for their cooking classes with one hour demonstration by Chef Michel Tersiguel and followed by a 5 course lunch. Also featured are themed wine dinners where Chef Michel presents multiple inspired courses matched with exquisite wine selections.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Thanksiving Pre-Fixe Menu $59 for adults, $30 for children under 10. No a la carte menu available.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Christmas Eve Four Course Chef's Menu only. $75
No a la carte service available.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Five Course Chef's Menu. $80
No a la carte service available.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Tue 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 9:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Tersiguel's offers six separate dinning rooms on three levels accommodating 150 guests. Tersiguel's offers several elegant banquet options for lunch and dinner. Menus are customized for each event.

Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (33)
Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (27)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Authentic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Cozy (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (7)
Seasonal (7)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Organic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1749 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

If there is better restaurant in the Baltimore area, I don't know it. Everything about this restaurant is wonderful. It is the opposite of a chain restaurant, and makes dining out a memorable experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

They had wonderful service. An excellent staff made us feel very welcome and answered all our questions about the menu. The food was excellent. We enjoyed everything we ordered.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and outstanding cuisine! We have enjoyed going there for years for special occasions such as birthdays and anniversaries. Always a pleasant dining experience and a wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food and service were exceptional. The chef is the best.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Wonderful, as always. A favorite place. Food fresh, creative and really, really good. Great wines.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

What a great restaurant with outstanding service, and authentic French cuisine!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Outstanding service and food. Hadn't been there since the flood. But will be going more often. There were 3 of us and we all loved the evening.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We'd received a gift card to Tersiguel's from our realtor when we moved into the area. Tersiguel's is an institution in Old Ellicott City and is authentically French cuisine and family-run. It is a restaurant of genuinely high standards - the kind of place you want to dress up to go to. I had one of their cocktails (a percentage was donated to hurricane relief) and my husband drank beer. Their beer menu is limited but adequate. For an appetizer, we enjoyed the scallops. Our entree's: The steak was fine but not terribly memorable while the lamb and risotto were delicious. Dessert was "chocolat" - a combo of flourless cake, mousse, cherries, and whipped cream that were delicious. I saw the cheese plate which looks appealing for another time. Service was excellent, friendly, and low-key. I most enjoyed the quiet, dignified ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great location in Historic Ellicott City. Superb cuisine and well worth the visit. What a Howard County gem. Everything the chef makes is top notch. Homemade from his garden.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Always a pleasure dining at Tersiguel's. It's become an annual tradition for us. Our first date was at Tersiguel's and we are sure to return to once a year to commemorate (and more often, when we can)! Thanks, as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

always a wonderful experience and the food is always outstanding !!!
Charlie makes the event wonderful every time

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great service and knowledgeable staff. Courses were timed perfectly and food was fantastic; very clean and fresh tasting. We will definitely recommend AND return. A hidden gem in plain sight.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 27, 2017

I took my husband here for his birthday dinner on a sleepy Tuesday evening. The place itself is charming with very French vibes and impeccable service. We ordered the fish soup to start and it was honestly one of the best soups I have ever enjoyed! I am SO happy to have found this gem at my doorstep and can not wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent food and service! Highly recommend! We enjoyed brunch on a Sunday morning.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Food is interesting and good. Service is a little snooty. Prices are way too high.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent food and service. Did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We are returning customers; coming here for years. We've never been let down, always amazing. If you have the time, you should treat yourselves to the Chef's tasting with the wine paring. You won't be disappointed. Great way to really relax and enjoy a 2.5 - 3 hour experience!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This restaurant provides what is, for us, a perfect combination: really good food, neat staff and simple, but nice dining rooms.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Charlie the bartender is exceptional! Every staff member demonstrated great care and hospitality for my best friend and I during our meal. I would definitely recommend a visit to this special place for the ambience, their cocktails and the cuisine .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

I've eaten there before, and as always, the food was excellent. This is the first time I've been there since the 2016 flood in Elliott City, and I went with my mother, who was visiting for a few days. The staff was friendly and informative, from the maitre'd down to Ian the busboy who I only can describe as effervescent. The flood gave the restaurant a chance to update its look a bit. It was subtle, but apparent.

I had a haricot vert salad which was delicious, and the duck confit which was sublime. My mother had the salmon; I tried it, and had I didn't like duck so much, it was a meal I would have ordered. For dessert, I had the Creme Brûlée, which I also enjoyed. The portion size was such you didn't feel bloated after the meal. This is my favorite restaurant in Howard County, and I'm glad they are back on their feet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We were delighted to that the menu included fairly lean as well as rich foods. We ordered the fish and the steak (which came in thin slices) well done and we were delighted with the results. My steak was still fairly juicy, buttery soft and flavorful. The chesse board after the entrees had a good variety and we enjoyed unusual but great cheeses. We enjoyed the quiet place and lighting and intimate setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Outstanding food and service. It is definitely a special occasion restaurant. You pay for outstanding food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We went out to Tersiguel's for our first wedding anniversary. It was great. The Canard duck was delicious. So was my wife Bœuf steak. The scallops appetizer was prepared perfectly. So very delicious. And the Odette’s chocolate mousse for dessert was delicious as well. The only complaint was our waiter didn't provide us anything for the special occasion even though we told him its our wedding anniversary. Anyway, we enjoyed the food and dessert. Strongly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant NEVER disappoints. A carefully prepared menu of gastronomic gems awaits you in this 19th century setting on Main Street in Ellicott City. Outstanding, friendly service and charm to spare!
Today we went for brunch. I had the Omelette Forestière, a French style omelet with Swiss cheese, shiitake mushrooms & demi-glace $17. Magnificent!
My husband had Crepe Paysanne, a Buckwheat crepe with oyster mushrooms, lardons, onions, leeks, and potatoes, topped with poached egg $18. He talked about it all the way home.
Do yourself a favor and try this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

50 characters seems like a lot to tell you it was the best crème brûlée I've ever had. Everything there was delicious and the service was impeccable. Interesting menu but very accessible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is a neat little restaurant to visit while in Ellicott City. Great service, staff, and food. I will go back again in a heart beat. Ray

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I've eaten here many times and it never disappoints. Even with the adversity of losing months to a flood and the menu shortened, specials were amazing and staff as always was friendly and efficient. Truly a gem among restaurants always gets top marks from me for both food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food, wine, service -- what's not to love! Staff are friendly, ambience (and dress) is casual. French food is authentic, some veggies and herbs from their own garden. Wine choices are excellent, but not extensive. There's a small bar area where one can drink, wait, or both. Noise levels can be distracting, but small mini-dining rooms help. There's parking behind the restaurant; overflow is uphill about 100 yards away. But these are quibbles; Tersiguel's is easily one of the finest restaurants in Maryland.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We were very disappointed. Haven't been there in a number of years and probably won't return. First, the service was slow. Took a long time for water and asked for bread twice. The menu was awful--there were only 6 main course items on the menu. A steak(not a filet), duck, veal, lamb. Pretty much that's it. They had 2 fish specials. No choices for potatoes. Salads and other starters were available. The food was okay--nothing was great. I was looking forward to chateaubriand or at least a gorgeous filet with a fabulous Bernaise sauce. We were all surprised at the limited menu. They were out of the wine we ordered and got a different one.
On the plus side, atmosphere was lovely and the noise level was almost non-existent
Just not what I expected at a French restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Delicious but expensive French food in a lovely old house in Old Ellicott City. Parking was difficult on a Saturday night so leave time to search. Service was personal and professional but unhurried, so it was perfect for a farewell dinner between long-time friends.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Has been my favorite restaurant since my first visit years ago. Best French Country quisine you'll find.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Tersiguel's was wonderful as always; one year after the flood, and the restaurant has rebounded nicely, after being closed for 3 months, and totally renovating all the damaged areas, with a nice fresh paint job on the interior. It was busy when we arrived, and they still offered excellent, personalized service, and great food.
Maitre D' Charlie has been there 30 years, and couldn't be nicer or more invested in your dining experience.
We promise to return more often!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The atmosphere and the attention of the wait staff were excellent. With a bill of $75 per person I would have expected my entree to be hot when it reached the table - it was at best warm. Either I had a dull knife or the veal was tough but it was not difficult to chew. To be in a place where adults talked in a moderate tone and no children were running around was a real treat. The major draw backs are the lack of parking - I'm over 70 and had to walk three blocks on an un-lighted side street after I parked my car; the restaurant's web site was not accurate with respect to menu items and the waiters' aprons were stained and not pressed. This restaurant has not recovered it superior ambiance since the flood - I have dined here on at least 6 occasions previously and found the experience wonderful. This recent trip did not live up to my memories.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The attentive service was top notch! My hat is off to Aaron who just turned 15! He was so polished and poised in attending to our table for bread, water, lime and anything we asked for! From the oysters, to the scallops, to the halibut and soft shell crab, and the salmon, and dessert; we savored the flavor of it all!!! Pricey, but it is worth saving for!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

I was looking for a good local French restaurant and ran across Tersiguel's on Google. I was not certain of what I was going to encounter but what I found was a lovely quaint restaurant with extremely friendly staff and amazing food and drinks. My wife and I loved our experience and our dinner there, You're not going to get a $50 meal for 2 here, but the quality of the food is simply amazing, and well worth the money you end up spending. The staff is just lovely and made me want to stay there after dinner just to talk to them. I highly suggest anyone who is curious to try a new french restaurant to give Tersiguel's a chance.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 27, 2017

A lovely old house in old town Ellicott City is the setting and the food is wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Went for anniversary dinner. We ordered the oyster appetizer, two duck entrees, and the flourless chocolate cake, and lemon curd. Wasn't impressed with the oysters as they just tasted like cucumber and vinegar. The duck was great and we enjoyed both desserts. Our first server was great but apparently our intended server was late and she took over and was not very good.

We were in a room by ourselves at the front of the building which was nice except the bar was there so there were constantly drinks being made. Almost felt like we were sitting in the kitchen. I'd sit somewhere else next time but we liked sitting at the window on the street.

All in all, French food isn't our style but we would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Overall we had a great time. I thought the food was good, but not great. Prices are high and the qualify of food was good but I wasn't "wowed" as I expected. Staff was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The duck and the beef were amazing. One of the best decisions were made was to ask for some of the peanut butter mousse with the chocolate desert. I always love having Ed as a waiter too, knows his stuff and makes good recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Friendly staff, awesome service and amazing food. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.