Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.88mi

About Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant

The Tersiguel family have been serving their unique version of French food for over 40 years. The menu at Tersiguel's is a combination of authentic French-style cooking and rustic country fare reminiscent of cuisine found in Tersiguel's original home of Brittany, France. Tersiguel's Cuisine is reflective of the seasons, with a garden that produces lettuces, herbs, vegetables, fruits and edible flowers. When the Garden is not producing Chef Michel Tersiguel will personally go and hand pick all fruit and vegetables at the whole sale market in Jessup, Maryland. Tersiguel's is quintessential French Country "from the farm to your plate" cooking. Chef Tersiguel describes his food as "French soul food". The Tersiguel family has operated one of the regions best restaurants for over 40 years and continues this tradition with annual ratings of "Best French Restaurant" from the Zagat and Baltimore Magazine.

8293 Main Street
Ellicott City, MD 21043
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday-Thursday 4pm - 9pm; Friday & Saturday 4pm-10pm
Mondays (CLOSED)

Cross Street:
Old Columbia Pike

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 465-4004

Website:
http://www.tersiguels.com/

Entertainment:
Tersiguel's is famous for their tableside preparation of crepes suzette and chateaubriand.

Parking Details:
We have public parking on the street, 2 hour parking limit during the daytime hours and unlimited after 6:00pm. Also behind the restaurant their is free parking lot of about 260 spaces. Ellicott City also has 6 other parking lots off of Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Michel Tersiguel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tersiguel's is known for their cooking classes with one hour demonstration by Chef Michel Tersiguel and followed by a 5 course lunch. Also featured are themed wine dinners where Chef Michel presents multiple inspired courses matched with exquisite wine selections.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Tue 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 9:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Tersiguel's offers six separate dinning rooms on three levels accommodating 150 guests. Tersiguel's offers several elegant banquet options for lunch and dinner. Menus are customized for each event.

Tersiguel's French Country Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Romantic (34)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Cozy (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Historic (15)
Authentic (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Business Meals (8)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Private Room (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Fireplace (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great ambience. Excellent service. Knowledge and friendly staff. Top notch customer service. Best of all ..... A fabulous menu and food prepared with care and perfection.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was not even ok. My beef was supposed to be served with asparagus but they run out of asparagus and they served it with green beans not even asking if this is ok.
My wife ordered duck and she received two burned pieces. Eventually she got replacement which was eatable.
At the end no apologies just regular bill like nothing happened.

My first and last time there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was my second time at Tersiguel's and very disappointing to say the least. Perhaps I should've expected less being that it was Mother's Day? The menu was prix fixe $50. Food was ok... my previous visit was a million times better. Watercress salad came out wilted as if it had been sitting out. Actually, most of the food seemed as though it was sitting under lamps. Not what I'd expect from Tersiguel's, but I guess that's how they want to treat holidays - turn & burn. My mom, sister and I left the kids at home to enjoy a lovely meal just us - which is RARE. Needless to say when we were seated next to a family with kids, one of which was watching her iPad at full volume - we were not happy. Who brings their kids to a nice French restaurant? If they are well-behaved that is one thing, but there were kids running all over the room, laying under the tables. We could've gone to a diner and probably had a tastier meal, for a lot less money. So disappointing. And there were no options for dessert. They were also definitely pre-plated and sitting out. I am sad to leave a bad review because I want to support Ellicott City business, but this experience was bad, especially since my mom drove 6 hours for the occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was mediocre and uninspiring. I will never go there again. This was my fifth visit to Tersiguels and the food gets progressively worse with each experience.

I can only say that the bread and butter were superb.

Next Mother's Day will be at my house, my version of chocolate mousse beats theirs any day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent French country menu! Remarkably good service on a very busy Mother's Day!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had Mother's Day brunch here. The staff was very friendly and not frazzled even as busy as they were. The food was awesome as usual!! I don't usually eat all my meal, but I did this time. It made my day. I have never been disappointed dining at Tersigel's.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The list of negatives is longer than the positives, so I will just leave it at that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was a lovely place for a Mother's Day brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent Mother's Day brunch, we enjoyed it very much

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Delicious dinner of veal chop and scallops. Dessert was light and fabulous!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Tersiguel's doesn't disappoint. Food as always excellent, but warm wait staff adds to the enjoyable experience. We will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation but we were greeted warmly and seated quickly. Given a choice of tables, we picked the quiet bar room with a view of Main Street. The restaurant was elegant but welcoming and comfortable. The service was very attentive without being intrusive - we were allowed a leisurely meal with no pressure to free up the table. The food was fabulous. The salmon was perfectly cooked and the accompanying soft shell crab was better than any I have had in years. Definitely worth the price.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Visited on a Thursday for an early Mother's Day, it was very quiet. Staff gave us a warm welcome and were attentive through the entire visit. Glad that they are back after last year's terrible flood.

Great appetizers and the specials ( salmon and rockfish) were especially good. Desserts (we shouldn't have but ...) were also very good and thankfully were small portions.

I guess we are used to less fancy places but it seemed that it took a long time between courses especially when it wasn't very busy. Prices are a bit high but not out of sight for special occasions.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I've eaten in this restaurant many times, but my friend hadn't. She agreed with me, on her first visit, that the meals we had were excellent--fresh, local ingredients, served in a timely manner and at the right temperature. The atmosphere was lovely; the building is an historic structure in an historic town. The waitstaff were well-informed, cheerful and ever-present, there to bring more bread and refill glasses. The menu choices were varied and the prices reasonable. We were there on a Saturday for early dinner.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our reservation was for 7:30 p.m. There were only two other parties dining, and a third came in a while later. A total of four tables were occupied that evening. So the restaurant seemed like it was "dying." We felt silly for having made a reservation. The food was decent but not memorable. The service was friendly and attentive but not always attentive to the right things. Water glasses went unfilled for a long period, and the server didn't seem to notice that the half-bottle of wine two diners had ordered was nearly finished. He didn't ask if we wanted another. Biggest complaint: Everything was overpriced. I have been to this restaurant several times over the years, and it does seem to be kind of dying . . . even before the flood in the summer of 2016. It has a very pleasant ambiance, but its food and service do not justify the high prices charged.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful service and great food - my wife and I had a perfect dinner

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We booked a table to celebrate our wedding anniversary with a romantic dinner out. I've lived in Baltimore for 12 years and had never heard of Tersiguel's, so I was excited about the possibility.

The final check was over $300, but the 3-hour experience was not worth it. The food was good, just not great. The kitchen was exceptionally slow, and things like bread being meted out sparingly failed to keep the meal going.

The person who waited on us didn't seem to have any sense for how to serve. She would have been more at home in a beer bar than in a fine dining establishment.

The establishment lacks ambiance. The space was nicely decorated, but brightly lit, and we were seated in a room with people who weren't even dressed for dinner and talked across tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Amazing service, didn't rush our meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

When the matre d' insisted that we needed kir royales for a Birthday toast, we thought that they were in the house. Check was sticker shock! Paid $300 for two appetizers, 3 entrees and a bottle of wine in addition to the kir. Very expensive! There are other local choices with food as good and way better pricing. Fun night but won't be repeated!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We went for our anniversary. The food was great. Service was great. There was a quiet ambiance for having a relaxed meal. The restaurant is in a large house with 4-5 tables per room. Very cozy, but you're not on top of the other diners. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I had not been to Tersiguel's since the flood of 2015 and was delighted to find it still excellent. Small room keep the noise level down and the food was interesting and delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Well prepared creative dishes from top quality ingredients. Service was attentive and very professional.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service was great and meal was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our dining experience for Sunday brunch was wonderful, as always.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We drove from out of town, expecting a cozy, country restaurant. That's what we found, but with Washington, D.C. prices! That said, the food was good and our server did a nice job. They were out of our first selection red wine, although it was at the top of their list. We had fresh oysters, veal chops, nice pate, a good salad and unexciting desserts. All in all, worth the trip and we probably will come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The restaurant is lovely and the service was prompt and courteous. Food is a little less consistent, generally some dishes are very good and some are a little curious. I had the shrimp dish. The shrimp themselves and the greens and beet gnocchi all were very good, but the crunchy capers were odd, and made the dish very peppery.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We love Tersiguel's for very special occasions! The service is excellent and, although short, the menu is always intriguing! We also love the setting!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Highly recommend the escargot. Lovely garlic and butter sauce. Go for the seasonal special. The pork chop was excellent. Very moist with creamed cabbage. Definitely going back again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Tersiguel's never disappoints! The food is consistently well-prepared with fresh ingredients, the service professional, and the wine list has several excellent and well-priced choices. And save room for dessert!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Wonderful French country food, spot on. 3 generations of my family, from 81 year old grandma to picky teenage son all enjoyed at all, from appetizer, entree and desserts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Loved the dining experience at Tersiguel's as a whole. Our waiter was attentive and charming. The food was good, but not excellent. I was disappointed in the potato soup with bone marrow. It was a sawed off piece of bone over which was poured a gravy like beige fluid with very little taste. No potato chunks. The lamb neck was better, and I enjoyed that. The French bread was the best thing I ate all evening. The wine recommended was excellent, as were the cocktails beforehand. The pear dessert was ok. It was made special for us with the addition of lighted candles, a nice touch. I am inspired to return to Tersiguel's and try something else.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants !!! Always wonderful and Charlie is the best waiter in the world

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It had been many years since we had been at this restaurant and decided to support the return of Old Ellicott City. Our experience was disappointing . We were seated in a room where the air was filled with grease. The menu selection was limited if you did not want to experience some form of organ meat or marrow. The menu posted on open table included a beef bourguignon but it was not found on the menu that evening and one of my husband's favorites.
Basically, nothing we ordered was exceptional. I had a bland colorless beet salad with tough shaved fennel . My salmon was on a bed of lentils with no real tie to the the fish and a sweet juice that made no sense in composition. My husband's pork was dry and when he queried me to taste his greens since they were were tough, they were not only it was tough but full of gritty sand. We did not stay for dessert. I am sorry to say I have no desire to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service is exceptional as is the food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very good meal, lovely ambience and nice service. Tersiguel's is a gem.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a pleasure, nice environment. Didn't realize it was a fixed menu for Valentine's Day. Only appetizer was seafood and I have a seafood allergy

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Usually outstanding meals, but the fixed menu on Valentine's Day simply was good. Not great, just good...which for $80 a person was a disappointment

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Tersiguel's is amazing every time. Best service, food, and atmosphere. Highly recommend it to anyone who hasn't been there before.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Historic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place and good service. Hard to find a good place to dine between D.C. & Baltimore and this is one of the few. When meeting friends from Baltimore, this is one of the only choices. Only negative is, it's just too expensive. We are used to high prices being from the D.C., but this is extreme. $32.00 for a simple vegetarian entree is crazy. For a few $ more you can get Lobster. We probably will not return even though we like the restraunt and the town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Lovely setting, wonderful food and wine, attentive wait staff. All-around positive experience. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.