About Territory Kitchen & Bar

Territory Kitchen & Bar adds a touch of Colorado to the Denver restaurant scene with locally sourced food in a rugged atmosphere. Dine on creative cuisine such as bison burger, rack of lamb and Colorado trout and experience the comfortable environment in an Adirondack chair, while sipping a local brew. Located steps from the Colorado Convention Center and the 16th Street Mall, Territory is a convenient stop whether in town for work or play.

1400 Welton Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 10:30am
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 844-5555

Website:
http://www.territorydenver.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking at the Hilton Garden Inn Hotel when dining. Please present your valet ticket to the server for validation.

Executive Chef:
Brent Butterfield

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Territory Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.9

ambience

3.3

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

61% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
See All
Business Meals (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
78 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was excellent, location was close to convention center and food was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was fine, we were expecting more of a "hotspot" and more people in the restaurant. It was Happy Hour timing on Friday, and therewere only a few handful of parties in the restaurant…

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Went here before going to the Buell Theater. The food was great, service was quick and they had a happy hour with some great deals when we showed up. We had a reservation for 5pm- we really didn't need a reservation at that time, the place was pretty empty.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We went to Territory for happy hour and it was great. We each has a few drinks and we had some of the appetizers served discounted during happy hour. I'd recommend it for a date. The food was tasty and service was efficient. Even though it is connected to a hotel, it has a street entrance so you do not have to pass through the hotel lobby to get there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We were seated promptly and ignored for 10 minutes. We were the only two in the restaurant. My husband's Caesar salad was topped with chicken ( which he did not order). My buffalo reuben was mediocre. If you aren't going to put more than two tablespoons of sauerkraut on the sandwich, it does not deserve to be called a Reuben.

This restaurant is not worth a second try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was great, but there were fruit flies everywhere! They were landing in everything while we were eating. I would definitely put some traps up. The salmon was also a touch overcooked, especially as I told the waitress I wanted it medium-rare.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Food was completely unappealing. Nachos had raw cheese on them. Chicken breast on salad was fake and spongy. Lettuce was spoiled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was disappointed in everything from the hostess to food & service. Would not recommend it at all and I'm pretty forgiving. Hostess had us seat ourselves. My Bf's steak can out almost well done when he ordered medium rare. Our server rarely checked in on us to refill our drinks and the only redeeming thing was the sweet potato fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Service was great, but the food was cafeteria-level. Chicken was definitely frozen. Food was just bland and lacking flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We made dinner reservations here specifically for Denver Restaurant Week prior to going to a show at the DCPA. We were seated, without a wine list, and not acknowledged for way too long. Once we were acknowledged, the rest of our visit was littered with apologies. We were offered a free appetizer for our long wait at the beginning, then after our appetizer didn't show up for some time, we were informed that our order was put in after a large party, so we weren't a priority. Our appetizer and first course came out essentially together, which meant our entree was sitting out getting cold for 15-20 minutes. Our entrees, once we got them, were lukewarm and delicious, but the rest of the food was subpar. We were offered free drink tickets and free appetizers for if we returned, but we informed the manager that we would not be returning because our experience was terrible. She paid for our meals, which was nice, but I will not be returning to Territory Kitchen and Bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Menu items enticing on paper, but overall bland to unremarkable. Lighting too bright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great location and easy to make a reservation on a Saturday evening.
It is inside the Hilton Garden Inn on Welton and 14th, near convention center.
Bonus: Free Valet Parking at the hotel...... ask restaurant to validate parking card
Food was reasonably priced (under $20 for entrees including 2 sides)
Not fine dining, but good quality, and at this price point it is a great value.
Plan to visit again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We didn't realize it was a hotel restaurant! We almost left, but it was nice to be pretty much the only people in there. They had good happy hour wine deals and the food was goo.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was excellent and the server was very helpful checking on gluten free options. The restaurant did not have a GF menu and there was nothing marked on the current menu. Unfortunately, many of the dishes used a base demi glaze that contained gluten (I take partial responsibility for not calling and checking beforehand).

The food was good, but nothing that stood out. I appreciate the service and would try this place if I was downtown again. I would not recommend this place for anyone with a gluten allergy. While the staff is helpful, the menu limits options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The service & setting of Territory was very good; unfortunately, the food wasn't quite there. The menu is appealing, but most of the food we ordered was mediocre and bland. Avoid the fettuccine and meatballs, which was the least flavorful. Nothing was objectionable, the food just wasn't very exciting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great place for dinner before a show at the Buell Theatre! I had the salmon and it was delicious! The server was super nice and attentive, I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 28, 2016

This is not fine dining. It's a hotel restaurant that looks and feels more like a cheap diner connected to a sports bar. Unfortunately, there happened to be a Broncos game at the same time and it was really noisy. Also, they mentioned their computer system must not have been syncing with Open Table because they were surprised that I was able to make a reservation. The bartender felt bad for us and graciously served as our waiter but one of our orders got messed up. Food was so-so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Really great food inside a Hilton Garden Inn. Ambiance is that of a hotel. The food is very good. The wine list maybe short, but well selected. Finding the location can be challenging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It's was ok. The meal wasn't what I thought it would. The service was very slow and the sad part about the whole dining experience was it wasn't busy at all just four tables and one person was handling all them. It was like a Fancy Denny's. I cant say I'll recommend this place to friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We met with some friends for brunch on Saturday after making reservations 24 hours in advance. The staff seemed particularly annoyed that we had children in our party and spent several minutes punting the responsibility for setting the table and choosing a server to handle us. The server, Aziz, was very inattentive and did not want us to order off the menu. He kept insisting we should just eat from the buffet which looked awful. At 10am, the "gravy" looked like a mixture of cheese wiz and canned dog food that had been microwaved no less than 100 times. Even if we had chosen the buffet, there probably would not have been enough powdered hospital-food style eggs to accommodate our crew. I even saw a young girl smacking her rock hard biscuit on the counter to try and open it for butter/jelly. The menu food was awful and Aziz dumped the check without offering to split it after a 45 minute disappearing act. We do not recommend Territory for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great experience. It was a slow night and not busy. The waitress was outstanding and the food was as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Bettie our server was fantastic and entirely explained the menu to us. The sliders and tacos were very good and the fries were excellent. They have a good selection of beer, wine and cocktails. We will go back in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great service and good food. Lots of food options and cool bar area.

Tags: People Watching, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Good food. Good service. Chris was a nice guy and made the experience awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Worst experience we ever had. It was happy hour but we were there for dinner. The waitress did not come by to take our order after we had the initial appetizer and drinks brought and I had to get another wait staff to get us our bill. I was not impressed with what we ate nor the atmosphere either. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Met a friend for a happy hour get together... Nice place for a casual drink or pre-drink before a downtown event. The appetizers were perfect as a happy hour vibe and also tasted great. Our server was attentive, kind and understood the meaning of a laid back happy our amid friends... certainly a place to return for another happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Place was nice. Our server was nice. Food was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Super friendly staff, very nice interior, the food was yummy., and happy hour prices were on point

But overall the place was DIRTY, the floors were dirty my wine glass was dirty, The staff was so lax that often times we needed assistance and there was no one to help us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Typical hotel restaurant, with a mediocre menu, and even more mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Good happy hour food, service was okay. We were told which beverages were on happy hour and I ordered the house wine spritzer but server wasn't sure if they "had that". I explained what it was (house wine with club soda) and he brought me a glass of wine. Oh well. Then, he disappeared, so we weren't able to order anything else before happy hour was over. Then we were charged full price for the wine. Elk sliders were good and the street tacos were good. We were going to order the flatbread pizza on happy hour, but our server was MIA until after happy hour was over, so we didn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Needed dinner before an event and the 1000 pt bonus enticed me. The four of us were seated quickly. Drinks took 15 minutes. We asked for a food menu and was brought one to share among the four of us. 15 minutes passed and we were never asked what we wanted. Closed the tab with the bartender and went elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Just OK - server did not get our order correct and we had to send back; admitted she did not know the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is the second time we had dinner here before concerts. They have a small bit interesting menu. Last time we had a burger and a chicken sandwich that were both very good. This time we had pizzas that were unique and tasty. Beer and wine selection is good. Staff is friendly. This becoming our favorite spot for a casual pre-concert bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Bartender was our server. He's super fast. I don't drink. Nice. Efficient. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 21, 2016

I had made a reservation, which was completely unnecessary since we were the only ones in the whole restaurant. There were a few people in the bar. Even though I had made a reservation, there was no one to greet us. We waited awhile and when no one came, we walked in and found the table set for a larger group. Still, I was worried that they would not know to have a server come by, so I stood and tried to get the attention of people working in the kitchen. No one would look my way. After several minutes, a gal finally came out. After that the service was good, and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 19, 2016

This is a hotel breakfast place. The buffet was big but service was slow if you didn't want the buffet. They forgot my meal though were good about keeping the coffee full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant for any of the above reasons. The food was marginal, the service unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 14, 2016

The bison Ruben drew me in and it was quite good. The beer was nice and cold, but a bit pricey compared to other places in the area. The service by the bartender was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Nice work to the team

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.