About Territory Kitchen & Bar

Territory Kitchen & Bar adds a touch of Colorado to the Denver restaurant scene with locally sourced food in a rugged atmosphere. Dine on creative cuisine such as bison burger, braised short ribs, and buffalo NY strip while experiencing the comfortable environment in an Adirondack chair, while sipping a local brew. Located steps from the Colorado Convention Center and the 16th Street Mall, Territory is a convenient stop whether in town for work or play.

1400 Welton Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 10:30am
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 844-5555

Website:
http://www.territorydenver.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking at the Hilton Garden Inn Hotel when dining. Please present your valet ticket to the server for validation.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Czerwinski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Territory Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.0

service

3.7

ambience

3.3

value

2.7

noise

Quiet

38% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
See All
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
93 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I didn't realize Territory was in the lobby of the Hilton. I chose it, as it was close to our event at Ellie Caulkins Theatre. We were late to arrive due to heavy traffic, but they were fine and it was not crowded. We enjoyed very attentive service, from the bar and from the restaurant. I ordered the bison sliders, which were good. I probably should have ordered a sandwich. My husband ordered the fish and chips, which were excellent. Good fish, hand battered and served with hearty potato wedges. I wish we had more of that. I think they were trying hard to improve their service and food reputation. We would return and order burgers or their bison reuben, which they were out of. Good hearty American fare, attentive service, all good!

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We were a group of six having dinner before a symphony concert. Our reservation was for 5:45 and the place was not crowded. It was quiet which we all appreciated. Our server was good and he was able to separate out our bill by couples which we also appreciated. The menu was varied and the food except for the mushroom soup was very good and well prepared. It's close location to the Performing Arts complex was very handy and was a major reason that we chose to eat there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The service was terrible and the food was not even a quarter worth the prices they charged. Overall this was a terrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Drinks made way differently depending on who is making it. Food overpriced. Pretzel made better at the ballpark. Salad was soggy and dressings were watered down. Not impressed. Would not recommend. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We were the only customers in there at prime dining time.... don't let that fool you. Go in and enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Nice location and super service. Food decent but overpriced.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Came here before our event at the Bellco Theatre. They had a party going on at the bar that took up ALL the servers time and attention; if that wasn't going on our server would have been better. However, the food was extremely disappointing. Got the fish and chips, the fish didn't seem frozen prior but the batter was burnt and not flavorful and the "chips" were huge huge wedges of potatoes that were completely flavorless (and no seasoning on them). Then I got some crème brulee to help fill the whole, it was advertised as vanilla with berries on top but it came out with this crunchy stuff in it (maybe toffee?) and giant thing of whipped cream on top (which I super do not care for) - and the jar they put it in, was extremely hard to scrape out all the remnants of the brulee. It was fun going out with my husband but this place was a HUGE disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Bison short rib poutine was the star! Cocktails were quite good too! Waitress was very nice! It was dead so it was a nice mellow meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food is not good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Was a great hidden gem. Great food and good beer list!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My lady and I looked up a local restaurant to have Father's Day dinner. Territory looked really nice on Google and the menu wasn't just the same old thing you have seen everywhere else, so we decided to try it out. When we arrived it was not busy at all, we actually scored some parking just outside their patio on the street. We sat down and ordered our drinks, the service was very timely. The appetizer is where is started, we asked for 1 cheese substitute because my lady is pregnant and can't have soft cheeses. The flatbread came with both cheeses on it. Took it anyway picked off what we could see and ordered dinner. Understandably they were going through a menu switch so some items weren't available. I ordered a burger medium, and the first one was over cooked, the bun was stale and was missing ingredients the menu read came on the burger. Sent it back, received another burger 16 min later. By now I'm half full on fries, the second one was just as bad but had all the ingredients. The manager barely made a pass by the table to speak with us about our experience. We received a free dessert from our server. Overall it wasn't a great experience for what it cost even with the burger taken off. Would not recommend or return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Was not impressed. Food was tasteless and the Portobello was tough! Onion rings were good, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I was very disappointed. The online menu and info made it very inviting, and as a visitor to your city, that was all we could go on.
The customer service was Awful.
Server not familiar with menu, or bar beverages. Was rude and unkept. We left after 20 minutes if being ignored and argued with. He stood at bar doing I don't know what, no one appeared to be interested in their job. Only 3 tables occupied so the "busy/everyone came at once" excuse was inappropriate.
We went back to our hotel and concierge said " I would never recommend there.
I gave
a "1 star rating"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great quality food . Not very busy but dont let they deter you from going

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We decided to try this place out for Happy Hour and an early dinner since it was on the way to the theater. I looked up their website and it seemed they had a few interesting vegetarian food items and some good drink options for for HH. The server/hostess was by herself handling all the guests and we had to ask to be helped, to get a menu and then to get water and place our order. She didn't know what drinks were on the HH menu that were listed in the online menu and we got charged $14.00 for a drink that should've been $4.00 for the liquor and then an upcharge for martini. We didn't balk at it because the food was good and everything else was reasonably priced- we shared the HH flatbread pizza and then I had a Kale & Quinoa salad while my husband had the caesar salad (substituting blue cheese dressing). Salads were large and tasty and the flatbread was really good, as well. We ordered house wine and melon mule that were pretty good. All in all, I would try it again for a second opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service was excellent, location was close to convention center and food was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was fine, we were expecting more of a "hotspot" and more people in the restaurant. It was Happy Hour timing on Friday, and therewere only a few handful of parties in the restaurant…

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Went here before going to the Buell Theater. The food was great, service was quick and they had a happy hour with some great deals when we showed up. We had a reservation for 5pm- we really didn't need a reservation at that time, the place was pretty empty.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We went to Territory for happy hour and it was great. We each has a few drinks and we had some of the appetizers served discounted during happy hour. I'd recommend it for a date. The food was tasty and service was efficient. Even though it is connected to a hotel, it has a street entrance so you do not have to pass through the hotel lobby to get there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We were seated promptly and ignored for 10 minutes. We were the only two in the restaurant. My husband's Caesar salad was topped with chicken ( which he did not order). My buffalo reuben was mediocre. If you aren't going to put more than two tablespoons of sauerkraut on the sandwich, it does not deserve to be called a Reuben.

This restaurant is not worth a second try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was great, but there were fruit flies everywhere! They were landing in everything while we were eating. I would definitely put some traps up. The salmon was also a touch overcooked, especially as I told the waitress I wanted it medium-rare.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Food was completely unappealing. Nachos had raw cheese on them. Chicken breast on salad was fake and spongy. Lettuce was spoiled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Was disappointed in everything from the hostess to food & service. Would not recommend it at all and I'm pretty forgiving. Hostess had us seat ourselves. My Bf's steak can out almost well done when he ordered medium rare. Our server rarely checked in on us to refill our drinks and the only redeeming thing was the sweet potato fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Service was great, but the food was cafeteria-level. Chicken was definitely frozen. Food was just bland and lacking flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We made dinner reservations here specifically for Denver Restaurant Week prior to going to a show at the DCPA. We were seated, without a wine list, and not acknowledged for way too long. Once we were acknowledged, the rest of our visit was littered with apologies. We were offered a free appetizer for our long wait at the beginning, then after our appetizer didn't show up for some time, we were informed that our order was put in after a large party, so we weren't a priority. Our appetizer and first course came out essentially together, which meant our entree was sitting out getting cold for 15-20 minutes. Our entrees, once we got them, were lukewarm and delicious, but the rest of the food was subpar. We were offered free drink tickets and free appetizers for if we returned, but we informed the manager that we would not be returning because our experience was terrible. She paid for our meals, which was nice, but I will not be returning to Territory Kitchen and Bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Menu items enticing on paper, but overall bland to unremarkable. Lighting too bright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great location and easy to make a reservation on a Saturday evening.
It is inside the Hilton Garden Inn on Welton and 14th, near convention center.
Bonus: Free Valet Parking at the hotel...... ask restaurant to validate parking card
Food was reasonably priced (under $20 for entrees including 2 sides)
Not fine dining, but good quality, and at this price point it is a great value.
Plan to visit again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We didn't realize it was a hotel restaurant! We almost left, but it was nice to be pretty much the only people in there. They had good happy hour wine deals and the food was goo.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The service was excellent and the server was very helpful checking on gluten free options. The restaurant did not have a GF menu and there was nothing marked on the current menu. Unfortunately, many of the dishes used a base demi glaze that contained gluten (I take partial responsibility for not calling and checking beforehand).

The food was good, but nothing that stood out. I appreciate the service and would try this place if I was downtown again. I would not recommend this place for anyone with a gluten allergy. While the staff is helpful, the menu limits options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The service & setting of Territory was very good; unfortunately, the food wasn't quite there. The menu is appealing, but most of the food we ordered was mediocre and bland. Avoid the fettuccine and meatballs, which was the least flavorful. Nothing was objectionable, the food just wasn't very exciting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great place for dinner before a show at the Buell Theatre! I had the salmon and it was delicious! The server was super nice and attentive, I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is not fine dining. It's a hotel restaurant that looks and feels more like a cheap diner connected to a sports bar. Unfortunately, there happened to be a Broncos game at the same time and it was really noisy. Also, they mentioned their computer system must not have been syncing with Open Table because they were surprised that I was able to make a reservation. The bartender felt bad for us and graciously served as our waiter but one of our orders got messed up. Food was so-so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Really great food inside a Hilton Garden Inn. Ambiance is that of a hotel. The food is very good. The wine list maybe short, but well selected. Finding the location can be challenging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It's was ok. The meal wasn't what I thought it would. The service was very slow and the sad part about the whole dining experience was it wasn't busy at all just four tables and one person was handling all them. It was like a Fancy Denny's. I cant say I'll recommend this place to friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We met with some friends for brunch on Saturday after making reservations 24 hours in advance. The staff seemed particularly annoyed that we had children in our party and spent several minutes punting the responsibility for setting the table and choosing a server to handle us. The server, Aziz, was very inattentive and did not want us to order off the menu. He kept insisting we should just eat from the buffet which looked awful. At 10am, the "gravy" looked like a mixture of cheese wiz and canned dog food that had been microwaved no less than 100 times. Even if we had chosen the buffet, there probably would not have been enough powdered hospital-food style eggs to accommodate our crew. I even saw a young girl smacking her rock hard biscuit on the counter to try and open it for butter/jelly. The menu food was awful and Aziz dumped the check without offering to split it after a 45 minute disappearing act. We do not recommend Territory for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great experience. It was a slow night and not busy. The waitress was outstanding and the food was as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Bettie our server was fantastic and entirely explained the menu to us. The sliders and tacos were very good and the fries were excellent. They have a good selection of beer, wine and cocktails. We will go back in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great service and good food. Lots of food options and cool bar area.

Tags: People Watching, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Good food. Good service. Chris was a nice guy and made the experience awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Worst experience we ever had. It was happy hour but we were there for dinner. The waitress did not come by to take our order after we had the initial appetizer and drinks brought and I had to get another wait staff to get us our bill. I was not impressed with what we ate nor the atmosphere either. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.