Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Bottlest Winery, Bar & Bistro

What started in 2009 as a simple “add-on” restaurant to host clients and friends at our winery, has morphed into Bottlest Winery, Bar and Bistro, a one-of-a-kind wine country destination that offers the most unique entertainment experience in the Santa Ynez Valley.

World Class Cuisine? Check. Artisan Cocktails? Got it. More than 50 wines by the glass? Yep. Want to tour the winery? Sure. How about custom crafting your own wine…online.

We proudly welcome you to visit the all new Bottlest Winery, Bar and Bistro!



35 Industrial
Buellton, CA 93427
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Wine Tasting Every Day 11am - 9pm

Lunch

11am - 3 pm

Mid day menu - 3-5 pm
Wine Wednesdays - 3pm - 5 pm

Dinner

5pm - 9pm

Live Music Thur, Fri & Sat starting at 6pm

Bar events:
Margarita Mondays - 9$ house margaritas start at 4PM
Tito's Tuesdays - 10$ Tito's Martinis start at 4 PM
Thirsty Thursday - Special cocktail of the week starts at 4 PM

Cross Street:
State Route 246

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 686-4742

Website:
http://www.bottlestbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday - Saturday
6:00 - 9:00

Catering:
Contact us for more information

Parking Details:
Additional parking available on west end next to parking lot.
Accessible by city cabs. Wheelchair accessible by ramp and elevator

Executive Chef:
Owen Hanavan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Margarita Mondays - 9$ house margaritas start at 4PM
Tito's Tuesdays - 10$ Tito's Martinis start at 4 PM
Wine Wednesdays - 30% off wines from 3-5 pm, 10% off retail all day
Thirsty Thursday - Special cocktail of the week starts at 4 PM


Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 11:00AM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 11:00AM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bottlest Winery, Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Casual (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Tapas (7)
Live Music (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

We’ve been at the Bottlest 3 times in the past 3 months and multiple times through the past incarnations of this restaurant... they seem to have a difficult time making things work in this location...

The menu was different this time than our most recent visits. The food was exceptional each time. The change may have been seasonal or it could have been a reflection of ongoing difficulties here. In any case, the food was wonderful and reasonably priced for what you get.

Atmosphere and noise level were better this time because there were many empty tables. Other times it has been louder.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

We love this place! The food is delicious and the wine wall is so much fun. Do not hesitate, try it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Did not know what to expect with 50+wines by the glass. I thought it was expensive but the wine was good.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

This place had very good food, but could not pull the dining event together. It took nearly three hours with very little food served, occasional service (server was nice), no bread or extras, and lots of wine samples of wine that was most mostly tannic and "tight." And the price was very, very high for what it was. We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Haven't been to this location since it changed hands. But previously we were less than impressed when it was called Tappas @ Terravant or something like that. Food was much better, great bartender and excellent service. We're already planning our next visit!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Bottlest wine wall is a brilliant idea. Customer can try and match wines with the food they ordered without having to order a whole bottle or even a glass. If all you need is just a sample or 4 oz for your appetizer or first course, you can do that here with very good choices. If you don't know which wine to pick, the server or the sommelier will be happy to help you. The food we order was very good, too. Overall, a very good experience and worth coming back. For those who's never been here, I highly recommend it.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Limited dinner menu, no specials. Food was well prepared and service was excellent. Full bar is a nice addition. Would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Repeat customer. Food & service was great as always. Highly recommend if you're in the area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tapas, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Second visit to Bottlest in a week. My wife had the Filet Mignon twice and said it was the best prepared steak she had ever had both times. I had the Rack of Lamb which was prepared perfectly. I liked that they had an option for 4 riblets rather than the 8 riblet full rack. While I see the allure of this venue as a wine bar with an excellent breadth of vintages they also have a full active bar scene and a very good selection of beers. The staff was also very accommodating, answering questions about the food. I had a good discussion with the Sommelier on our second visit. She was very knowledgeable and made some excellent suggestions for wine pairings with our meal choices. The atmosphere is casual and open with a view of the wine making facIlity. This was our first experience using a card and self serve wine pour equipment. We liked the variety this method offered as you could get a taste, a half glass or a full glass of a good selection of fine wines. Full bottles were also available. I would recommend Bottlest as a fun casual option.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 11, 2017

First time at Bottlest. We are locals always looking to try our local new restaurants. We were very surprised by the attention to detail with the food and the service....We came away wanting to come back and we will!
We enjoyed the perfectly prepared Lamb Chops, the New York Steak and the Salmon.
The coco mojitos were very delicious...fun drink and not over priced.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We've never had a bad experience or meal here! We'll be back!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The service was really bad and they weren't even busy. I took my friend there for her birthday and we had to wait a ridiculous amount of time for everything including our drinks. My friend got the rock fish that had an odd really sour lemon sauce and I the chicken that was tough and cold. Red velvet cake was good.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The one serving technology they promote didn't work properly. The service was slowwwwwww. Filet was good salmon over cooked. Skip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Get their burger, you won't regret the decision! It's in our top 3 for the SY Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I'm a local and wanted to go somewhere different so I Googled restaurants and clicked on Bottlest. I was able to make an Open Table reservation (very easy) and had dinner with a friend. We were waited on immediately (they have an elevator for convenience, which I needed) and seated at a nice table. Our waiter 'Jerry' was excellent, the food was outstanding and the meal was priced reasonably. We were also visited by the manager which made our visit even more enjoyable. I highly recommend The Bottlest, it a very cool place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Amazing staff and service. Food was quite good, but the thing that makes this location unique is the ability to taste over 50 wines.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This place has more than 40 options of wine available for tasting via wine tasting machines. Good for a group who have different tastes in wines. It's also fun to compare wines as well. Very good service that night and the music was good.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Lamb meatballs with mint and bacon-wrapped dates were delicious! A very good place for light bite before PCPA events!

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our experience was awesome!! Love the atmosphere and the wine tasting, and they have a full bar!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Romantic, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Small Plates: The cheese plate with dried fruit had 3 commonly encountered cheeses with only a portion of a dried apricot cut in small pieces and a dollup of liquidy fruit jam. The Poached Yellowtail was served like tuna salad, tasted fishy and had hot spices that weren't noted on the menu description. Large Plates: These items weren't very substantial and menu descriptions were misleading, e.g. beets and cauliflower turned out to be decorative drizzles of the vegetables pureed. The prices appear to be based on the exotic preparation and presentation of the food rather than the amount served. The corkage fee was reasonable and there were numerous wine selections available to purchase by the ounce. The ambiance met our expectations for dining inside a high tech winery, and the low level background music was conducive to conversation. The waitstaff were friendly but not very knowledgeable about the wines or the menu items.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Since it's re-branding a few months ago, we've enjoyed Bottlest. The food quality has improved and we like the increased size of the bar area and that they now have a full bar. It certainly helps that they've moved the live music to the bar instead of being in the dining room. The valley doesn't have a lot of places for older adults to "hang out", so this may fill that void, especially while The Sideways Lounge(Clubhouse) is under construction.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 25, 2017

It was delicious. We split the daily special which was a smoked turkey, bacon and avocado sandwich on a chinstrap roll and the Heirloom tomato salad. The dressing was so fresh and tasty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great setting in a commercial area of Buellton in the heart of wine country. Nice view of the hillside from the bar windows. Live music on the weekends. The self-serving wine dispensers are a fun novelty but I would suggest having more varieties in concert with the local wineries. The food is OK but a work in progress. Menu needs to be more expansive. Not many options for vegan palates but the chef did put together an off menu creation that was good. With some tinkering this could be a great destination spot after the wine tour.

Tags: Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

The service was too slow for a lunch, we had to go find our waitress to get the check after being there for 1.5 hours. The food was very good, very fresh and plentiful, but I would not recommend it for a lunch meeting. Also, I've had dinner there before and the service has been very slow then, but probably because they want you to have time for wine.
They had the door open to the winery, and there was a very unpleasant odor drifting into the dining room just as we got our food, which made it a little less tasty. Mid-afternoon might have been a better time to do whatever they were doing, when they didn't have diners in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 9, 2017

No thanks - I want my be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had driven up to Solvang and Buellton for the weekend to see a friend who lives there and do some wine tastings. I always look at Yelp and Tripadvisor for real reviews. Bottlest had great reviews, so I booked a table for the three of us. They were serving from a new menu and I have to say the food was amazing.
The new GM, Scott was the nicest guy who took seriously food allergies I have and made sure I was able to enjoy top notch food. The preparation, presentation and taste made this place a regular dining experience when we return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Above and beyond service..
They even gave me extra"szechuan wafer -ish thingy.
Kudos
To chef barton jones.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Disclaimer: I really wanted to love this place. In fact, I keep an open mind most places we visit. More apt to leave encouragement, when it's due, than a critique. So, though The Bottlest is in a great location and I love the idea of "a wall of wine" to taste through, the service was slow, the workers didn't seem happy or inviting and the food was just "ok".

The beet salad saved the night (thus 3 stars): flavorful beets, fresh goat cheese & not too much dressing as too ruin the two.

The Short rib was blah except for the presentation...VERY dry. Short rib is usually such a comfort food for me but, unfortunately, not tonight.

And on to the wine wall: after two days of tasting the best of the best that the St. Rita Hills has to offer, their selection, though large, didn't impress. Partly because of quality (maybe the bottles don't get changed out often because it's so slow?) Partly because of the value...or lack there of. Small (I mean small) tastes we're $1.50 to $5.

A little tweak to the food, the wine and the service and this place could be really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The appetizers of lamb meatballs and bacon wrapped dates were very good but the main entrées were very average -- salmon was one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I had great experience with my wife there !

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We went over Memorial Day weekend. The restaurant had run out of several entrees, but they managed to offer us some outstanding meals. I had a veggie burger which was made from beets and it was fantastic. Very good place, recommended.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Had a great meal! Enjoyed great wine as well. Music was a little loud.. glad we sat in the dinning room! We loved exploring the warehouse where wine was made!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I went to the Bottlest to see a live band. The band was great.
But this restaurant is so pretentious.
Over the last 7 years this restaurant has changed so much. I usually go once every 6 months or so - but this was my last time.
There menu has changed again - even pricier and less options.
The wine vending machine is still a big draw - but next time I'm saving my money and sitting at the bar or seeing the bad somewhere else.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Went to try this restaurant and was very surprised by the atmosphere. Very quite, lots to see and food was amazing. Service was friendly, knowledgeable. I will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was a wine pick up party which I had so enjoyed last year. The restaurant was empty as we arrived at noon and were then told the party had been cancelled. I had called the day before to check on reservations and no mention of cancellation that time. My four friends and I were served an appetizer and macaroni and cheese with two tastes of the featured wine. I ordered a pizza and my total bill was only for the pizza. Only two other people were in the restaurant when we left at 2 p.m. Staff was attentive and perhaps embarrassed at the miscommunication. It was not a happy experience for us.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was a first time visit for my boyfriend and I. Long story short, we absolutely loved it. Although a wider wine selection would be nice, instead of a few select places. But we both definitely plan on coming back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Three of us for dinner. The service was quite attentive and helpful. They have a full bar as well as wine and beer and our cocktails were nicely done. Wine is served by a wine wall and the selection is good. Appetizers look great...we had the lamb meatballs and boy, were they delicious. Will try other options the next visit in. We each had three different entrees...New York steak, the hamburger and the salmon. Each was delicious and the presentation very nice. We did not have dessert, but the selections sounded marvelous. The Santa Ynez valley now has great choices for dinner and this should definitely be in your mind when choosing your night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Unique tasting menu, although not a huge number of entrees. Melissa, our server was excellent at explaining their automated wine service.
A must try!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We happened upon this restaurant for a quick appetizer and drink and were pleasantly surprised. They are located in a warehouse building where they also make their own craft beer. The restaurant is very modern and they have a full bar and many bottles of wine on vacuum tap where you can purchase 1oz/3oz/6oz glasses of wine or the bottle. While we didn't eat a full meal there, the apps we had were amazing! Bacon Wrapped Dates and Turkey Meatballs on Homemade Chips. Incredible flavors and great presentation. The staff was very friendly and courteous and always checking in us. I'm aware there's another restaurant down the same street that seems to be popular but Bottlest should not be overlooked. We look forward to having a full dinner service the next time we return to Buellton.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The newly refreshed space has an open feel and nice layout. The staff were, friendly and accommodating. Chef came out and touched every table checking in on guests and asking for feed back. The food was quick to come out, presented well, nice portions and tasted delicious. The wine list was not ready yet but the wine stations are a fun option for people who want to experiment and try several different wines with out committing to a full glass of any one item. Hoping for a nice wine list to be presented to the table along with coffee and tea service offered with dessert in the future. Would come back again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.