About Terravant Winery Restaurant

35 Industrial
Buellton, CA 93427
View Larger Map

Terravant Winery Restaurant features local organic ingredients that can be paired with 1 of our 52 wines available by the glass. Established in 2009 as a tasting room and Tapas bar for the clients of the Terravant Wine Company, we have evolved since then and continue to strive towards offering the "best of the best" with a "local-centric" culinary approach using ingredients sourced from Santa Barbara County producers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Wine Tasting Every Day 11am - 9pm

Lunch

11am - 3 pm

Wine Wednesdays - 3pm - 5 pm

Dinner

5pm - 9pm

Live Music Thur, Fri & Sat starting at 6pm

Cross Street:
State Route 246

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 686-4742

Website:
http://www.avantwines.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday - Saturday
6:00 - 9:00

Catering:
Contact us for more information

Parking Details:
Additional parking available on west end next to parking lot.
Accessible by city cabs. Wheelchair accessible by ramp and elevator

Executive Chef:
Owen Hanavan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wednesdays - 30% off wines from 3-5 pm

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 11:00AM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 11:00AM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Terravant offers two options for private dining: 1. Our elegantly furnished "Santa Rita Room" is available for groups of 8 to 18. Reservations are required and prix fixe menu encouraged. 2. For larger parties and events, our entire 150-seat restaurant is available between Sunday and Thursda

Terravant Winery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (16)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Live Music (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (6)
Casual (5)
Cozy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

our first time and everything was very g ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

our first time and everything was very good . from the hostess, waitor , food presented well, atomoshpere, noise level just right.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Vlad the sommelier was fantastic. Very ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Vlad the sommelier was fantastic. Very helpful with older vintages. Our table server was super kind, knew the menu well and accomodated our dietary needs (really important as we were dinning with a friend who has several food allergies). Over all a great place. Thank you. Patrick

Tags: , Casual, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a disappointing experience. The ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was a disappointing experience. The server may have not had much experience, but after waiting for over an hour for our food and thinking that she had forgotten about us, we were told there was a mix up in the kitchen and our order had not been started. The manager was kind to offer that we come in again for a dinner on the house. The atmosphere, the live music playing and the nice selection of wine were all positive, but I'm not sure when we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Good place up in Buellton. All the food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good place up in Buellton. All the food was well prepared and the staff, particularly our server, were all very accomodating

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Second time coming here, they seem to be ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Second time coming here, they seem to be going through some (good) changes.

Service was as good as last time, food was delicious. We did not get a chance to try the restaurant week menu on their last day because we hit the wine wall right away. Oh well.

Changes since last time:

4 beers on tap now and there's a picture of one of their labels on the wall, was told this is their plan for the art work and that it should be done soon. (It's a dog riding a skateboard, my wife liked it a lot)

All local stuff, a little uninspiring, but their bottled selection is a little bit more out there.

A couple of new wines on the wine wall, the gentleman that was the sommelier (or manager?) told us they plan on bringing some older vintages of French, Spanish and Italian wine and having them available by the glass which I am looking forward to.

Music was good, dining room lively and busy, but not completely packed when we arrived at 6.

Will come again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Restaurant Week, but I was s ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week, but I was swayed by the rack of lamb on the menu and was so glad I ordered them. My husband had the very tasty Restaurant Week menu. The wine wall is amazing. you can discover the wines on your own or the owner is more than happy to help you make a selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Live Music, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

At the time we were there, 1:30pm on a S ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

At the time we were there, 1:30pm on a Saturday, the noise level was very low. However, I can see it being much louder with more people (the ceilings are very high). The service was great, our server and the manager were very welcoming and attentive. The food was wonderful! We had the Restaurant Week menu, the short rib was perfectly done and the presentation was lovely. The ability to select wines for tasting & charge to the card identifying your table was fun. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another good meal at Terravant for Resta ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Another good meal at Terravant for Restaurant week!

We had a good waitress and the atmosphere is nice and relaxing.

Plus the bonus wine wall is always a fun adventure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for restaurant week with friends. T ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Went for restaurant week with friends. The food was delicious. The service was great, as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always love the food, wine, ambiance ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We always love the food, wine, ambiance and the wonderful staff at Terravant. The menu layout was new and very nicely done. The food was perfectly per portioned, delicious and the presentation was artistic. It's a hidden gem and we look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wall of wine was great. Live music pleas ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Wall of wine was great. Live music pleasant, and the organic chicken and salmon wonderful. Dessert called The Chronic was surprisingly tasty. Quiet rainy Thurs nite but loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been three times since my friend i ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We've been three times since my friend introduced me to it two weeks ago. Went for date night dinner and then took the in-laws when they came in to town. Hidden gem of the valley. You would not know there is an amazing restaurant at the end of this dead end street!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We visited on a whim, walking from downt ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We visited on a whim, walking from downtown. With no signage and very little lighting, we almost turned around. We are so glad we did not. Everything about dinner was exceptional. Our server was friendly, gracious and helpful. The food was perfect. And the wine choices, especially using the Wine Wall, were so good.

I have already reviewed on Yelp, and consider this the best meal I have had in months.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very yummy and great service. enjoyed t ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

very yummy and great service. enjoyed the wine wall.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Organic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terravant Winery Restaurant is located i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Terravant Winery Restaurant is located in an industrial district - but don't be scared away. The second story layout is different and fun. The unique wine dispensing system is a really fun bit of gimmickry but potentially expensive. The food was great and the service outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and a wine wall with self ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food and a wine wall with self service wine tasting - loved this!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, our experience was not go ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Unfortunately, our experience was not good. The whole reason to visit this restaurant is to taste wine from the 'automatic' dispensers in the restaurant. All of the white wine dispensers were broken so we couldn't taste the wine as described in the ads.

The restaurant was out of many of the dishes, either the main ingredients or something needed for the dish (ie., avocado).

The server was marginal at best. Her attitude was less than accommodating and she needs more training

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

This is a hidden gem!! We had the best e ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This is a hidden gem!! We had the best experience here! From the gracious servers Zack and Kimberly, to the delicious food and do it yourself wine tasting . It was awesome! My husband and I talked about how wonderful everything was the entire time there. We highly recommend it and will definitely be back!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicely appointed room, friendly staff, d ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Nicely appointed room, friendly staff, delicious food. It is a "find".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very pleased with the entire exper ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I was very pleased with the entire experience.

The wine wall was a lot of fun and the wines were quite good.

The food was excellent and reasonably priced.

I highly recommend checking it out.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great Beer, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A really vast selection of wines by the ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 15, 2016

A really vast selection of wines by the glass from the wine wall(50+!).

The burger was fantastic, cooked medium rare as requested and as a bonus, apparently they make the tri-tip burger in house. Pretty cool.

Overall, the prices are more than reasonable, both for food and the wine. Skimmed over their beer selection, which was pretty interesting (multiple choices in each style).

Surprised they had nothing on draft, but the server said they will have some draft beer options soon.

Service was attentive, prompt and knowledgeable.

Plan on coming back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, , Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, a hidden gem. Worth th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love this place, a hidden gem. Worth the effort to fine this quietly tucked away superb restaurant in Buellton, California. The staff, Cassandra, so knowledgable, friendly and helpful. The Chef, AWESOME. From the bacon wrapped dates, beets and apple salad to the perfection of the temperature on the steak. Your creative menu is "foodie" worthy for any occasion or discriminating taste. Just that good!

A MUST experience.

Note: the history behind the restaurant and the wines, fascinating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, , Live Music, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wine pour should be a consistent 2oz 4oz ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 6, 2016

wine pour should be a consistent 2oz 4oz and 8oz from each machine

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We love this place and have been going t ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We love this place and have been going there for 4 years. We are a bit bummed that they have gone to a more fancy/expensive menu in the evenings. Not that the food isn't great!

We do like that they offer Pizza/burgers/mac& cheese if you ask for the Bar menu.

We miss the sliders, though:-(

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

An out of the way place to dine in Buel ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 22, 2016

An out of the way place to dine in Buelton. The food was fine but the service was quite slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Wine Machines for sampling were awesome! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wine Machines for sampling were awesome! Views into the winery -- small plates were good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best wine tasting experiences ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of the best wine tasting experiences I've ever had and certainly the most innovative. Their tapas is wonderful top!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite places to go. Food a ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of our favorite places to go. Food always tasty and leave full and happy. Of course the wine wall is a bonus too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Warm welcoming, Nice people, Cozy, Good ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Warm welcoming, Nice people, Cozy, Good food and Soft live music.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique wine tasting experience coupled w ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Unique wine tasting experience coupled with excellent cuisine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The new bar menu is wonderful, with many ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The new bar menu is wonderful, with many interesting choices when you're not ready for a full course meal. The wall of wine has a number of delicious choices to match whatever you're eating. The wait staff is extremely friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a local wine and foodie place, this ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2016

For a local wine and foodie place, this is a find. It's off the beaten track but that makes it fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The crab cakes had large chunks of crab ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The crab cakes had large chunks of crab meat, and had a little curry flavor. They were excelent. The Poppers were also delicious. The candied jalapeño was so unique. The wine wall is great for trying a variety of varietals without the commitment of a full glass. We went at 2:30pm, so it was pretty empty and the noise was non-existent. The dining room/bar was very sunny and clean. Would definitely recommend to friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Six of us celebrating my birthday on a S ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Six of us celebrating my birthday on a Sunday afternoon. Food was excellent, wine bar novel and fun, server, Sam, very attentive and helpful in food selection ... A very happy food/wine experience. A place to definitely put on your "to do" list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A wonderful selection on wines by the gl ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 7, 2016

A wonderful selection on wines by the glass. Good Food. Love the beet salad. Music was a bit too loud for enjoyable conversation. Hard to find, but we saw it in the Menu Guide and persevered, It was well worth the effort.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to the Terravant Winery Res ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We have been to the Terravant Winery Restaurant before and really enjoyed it.

We were a little surprised by the new interior and also the menu. We were going here to enjoy the tapas/small plates we had in the past. The new menu had a lot less starters, and more entrees (typically after a full day wine tasting, we are not looking for a big meal!). But our server Cassandra explained they still had the "bar menu" which provided what we were looking for.

We had the:

  • Zucchini Wrap (amazing)

  • Burrata (also amazing)

  • Garden and Watermelon Salads - fantastically fresh on both

  • Fresh Market Flatbread pizza - outstanding!

We ended up with some leftover pizza, which worked out well for the next day out wine tasting.

The other interesting thing was, our friends when Saturday night and had the same experience. But they also enjoyed themselves once they got the "bar menu" with the starters. So, might be good to incorporate the bar menu / starters to the main menu again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server at lunch was warm and knowled ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our server at lunch was warm and knowledgeable about the menu and wine offerings. The ambiance was fabulous, and it was easy to access the wines for tasting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

“Surprising and fun!” We are local food ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 12, 2016

“Surprising and fun!”

We are local foodies and we had never been there yet. Glad we picked this restaurant Saturday night. The wine concept is such a wonderful idea, and fun! Our waitress was adorable and helpful. No problem with my gluten free diet, I had plenty to choose from the very nice menu. All the dishes we ordered were excellent. Oh! I almost forgot! The view is outstanding! Another enjoyable place to go in the Valley!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Super Quiet

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 6, 2016

The restaurant was very quiet, we were the only ones there, the sign outside indicates Tapas, no tapas just a small plates menu with a limited number of items to choose from. The wine bar automatically changed prices after happy hour with no notice. This system had to be rebooted a couple times to work again. Inconvenient.

On the better end, they were dog friendly and the food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed our dinner. Will be back when ba ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner. Will be back when back in town

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.