Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Terra Máe

New American.

Terra Máe translates to “mother earth,” a name that perfectly captures the far‐flung inspiration for our five‐star fare. Our menu isn’t dictated by region or style; no spice is off limits, no dish too exotic. We’re restrained only by our imagination and our adventurous spirit, our favorite flavors and those we’ve yet to discover.

120 East 10th Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary French / American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tue. - Thur.: 5pm - 9pm | Fri. - Sat. 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
10th & Columbia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 710-2925

Website:
http://www.terramaerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Different music piped into bar & dining areas

Catering:
Please inquire at the facility.

Parking Details:
Street parking and public lots are available. Complimentary Valet available now.

Public Transit:
10th & Market

Executive Chef:
Hardin Cowan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Terra Máe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Romantic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Authentic (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Organic (3)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Not sure if my expectations were too high, but I was disappointed with the "Chef's Table" offering. Meat was overcooked and wine was sub-par. Although we had a really nice waitress, she knew nothing about the menu items or the wine. All in all, we had a good experience, but the food was just "ok." I would say go for the regular menu over the Chef's table experience...maybe that would help with the quality of the meal?

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Hosted my brother and his wife, in from Atlanta where they have dozens of 5-star places from which to choose. They adored everything about Terra Mae: the hidden, quiet intimacy, the drinks, the Charcuterie, main courses and desserts. Our server was attentive without disrupting our conversation. Valet parking was upbeat and quick. Adore this place. What a hit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Loved the entire atmosphere. Food was wonderful. The atmosphere was quiet and welcoming. Could have sat there all night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Amazing! Has to be one of the best restaurants in Chattanooga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Compressed Watermelon salad was outstanding. Best pork chop I've had in my life. Hands down!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The entrees were not good at all. Sent one of them back . Fish was overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I had an amazing meal here! The food is super delicious. Small portions, but just the right size because the meals are hardy. The service was great! I definitely enjoyed my date night and will certainly return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was very fresh and tasty. Varied menu. Would recommend this restaurant to others. Best food we had in Chattanooga, Tennessee

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Absolutely an excellent dinner. Good service, good food, good background music (Sinatra, Armstrong (1950s-60s adult pop), great date restairant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I don't think that i have ever had better service!!! The people (workers) there were GREAT!! Here is an example of what happened with our group. It was a birthday with 3 couples, & at the end of dinner someone was making a toast (another one) & my glass was empty. The waitress brought over a little sip of the wine that i was drinking & said you can't toast with an empty glass. That was the topping on the cake, no place that i have ever been too has done anything like that. A++++++ rating from me!!!! Thank-you for making the occasion a little nicer!!! The food was Fantastic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Fabulous food and our waitress Vicky was very attentive and knowledgable about the menu. She steered us in the right direction. Tomato aspic salad, pork chop. monkfish and lobster were all amazing. Sides we loved were whipped potatoes and cauliflower gratin. Great evening .

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Drinks in the bar pre-dining...delish!
Welcome to dining...warm and fuzzy!
Dinner...amazing!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Stunning decor
Equally spectacular food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The atmosphere and location are great. Our food was tasty and interesting. My husband claims best steak he has ever had in his life. However, the price of the food in comparison for how much food is very poor. I myself had a monkfish and lobster dish that was VERY spicy and served with lima beans. The desert was too sweet (peach cobbler). The drinks were spot on and the best we have had. I would give it one more chance to WOW me but there are other options in the local area that contain that WOW factor. Terramae though it was great just fell short of that. Our service was fantastic though and they treated us to desert on behalf of our anniversary which was amazing of them.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Beautiful, yet trendy restaurant. I had the best filet of my life. Wonderful food and sevice. We had appetizers, dinner and dessert. All were fresh and delicious. Our server was fast and courteous. We will for sure return in the near future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was one of our favorite restaurants before the renovation. The space and the service were top-notch, but the food was not worth the price. The 'spicy' tuna was so heavily smoked that I could not even taste the tuna or spices. We were very disappointed in the charcuterie plate. I was also disappointed that they no longer have a good local craft beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Inventive, tasty food. Beautiful setting, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Absolutely delicious dinner and outstanding service. This was our first time at Terramae, and we'll make it one of our regular spots.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

A gem near the Chattanooga Choo-choo and downtown. The food is exciting, inventive, and delicious! Love the clean, modern space. But don't read cold into that. It's really lovely! Don't be put off by the fact that it's in a hotel. The hotel is a small boutique, and the restaurant management is totally separate. Heard it was written up in Southern Living and Gardens & Guns. Don't miss out on this one. Service is excellent and attentive without being stuffy. 😍

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great. Travis was awesome. Food fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Delicious food - appropriate portions - great service - very quiet with an artsy upscale feel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We celebrated our 16th anniversary in Chattanooga and I am so thankful I found Terramae online. It was delicious and very nice. Will go back there if we're in Chattanooga again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Cozy restaurant tucked in the back of the Dwell Hotel. Funky retro decor is authentic and eye catching. Great varied menu. Bar next door serving terrific mixed cocktails. Service was attentive. Worth venturing to the Dwell Hotel

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Small venue dining. We have eaten at Terra Mae many times and have never been disappointed! The menu is small, portions are reasonable, and there are no bad choices. I opted for a salad and vegetable selection and had room for a delicious toffee whiskkey cake with roasted peach ice cream. It is a place where you can relax, enjoy your meal and quiet conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Had an amazing time! Great for lovers of art and all thing eccentric. They even paid for my birthday dessert! Thank you again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Being new to Chattanooga, I picked this restaurant via Open Table and it turned out to thoroughly validate its good reviews. Located in the trendy Dwell Hotel, the restaurant has a very nice relaxed ambience, quiet and highlighted by some interesting artwork and several vertical gardens hung on the walls. The wine list included a few unusual items. I selected a white blend dominated by Grenache Blanc; very refreshing for a warm spring afternoon. Had the monkfish and lobster combination for dinner, served in a flavorful sauce with accents of pan fried potatoes and fava beans. It was fantastic as well as being very reasonably priced. My wife had a steak which was also very good and complemented by interesting accompaniments and a flavorful sauce. Service was prompt and attentive. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Always a great meal and wonderful drinks. The mid-century modern style is lovely and authentic, and I should eat there more regularly. I have yet to have a negative experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Very nice restaurant. I had a great meal here. The cocktails were innovative and potent! Food was nicely presented and the service was very good. I would return here next time I'm in Chattanooga.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 16, 2017

WOW! This was our first time, but not the last. The restaurant has a great vibe and the food is absolutely phenomenal! I cannot say enough great things. We celebrated our 2 year wedding anniversary and it could not have been better. The staff was great and everything was just perfect!! If you don’t try Terramae you are missing out!!! Plus you have a great bar right there with Matilda Midnight.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

wow this place is amazing! Me and the hubs came for our five year anniversary, and let me just say, I wish we would have found it sooner! Completely obsessed with the midcentury modern decor and the food is incredible. Do yourself a favor and book a reservation. My favorite was the goat cheese and beet salad, and the tuna for entree. Yum! we will be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Simply excellent food and service. Unusual use of spices was fantastic. Highly recommend

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wow! From the atmosphere; to the service and food it was excellence. Definitely for a romantic date night or just because you want to appreciate a wonderful meal. Our new favorite in Chattanooga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

enjoyed a nice meal with my son.
It was prom night and there was a sudden, severe storm which hit and caused some commotion when water leaked in, necessitating the re-arranging of some of the customers--not us.

In spite of these distractions, It was a nice experience; the service was good as was the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was oustanding, the ambiance was perfectly lovely, and our server was the best! Worth the walk for the unique atmosphere.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Nice restaurant with a modern touch. The service could have been a little more attentive though. Othewise the food was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Terra Mae is a fine dining establishment in the Dwell boutique hotel in the center of downtown Chattanooga. Formerly the Stonefort Inn, it was completely renovated and re-opened a year ago as Dwell, keeping the name of its restaurant, Terra Mae. Terra Mae was one of our favorite restaurants, but when it reopened with a very different menu, we were disappointed-- but things have changed dramatically for the better and on a friend's recommendation we tried it again. It is once more one of Chattanooga's best fine dining restaurants, from cocktails to desserts! We sampled from Course 1 and 2 appetizers/salads and had the herbed monk fish and lobster and the chef's special tuna entrees (Course 3), each as delicious and well prepared as the other. We couldn't resist dessert, a fitting conclusion to a perfect evening's meal. We'll be back!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It has now evolved completely away from the prior appalachian theme and its a winner...excellent meal...obviously, Chef is at top of his game right now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We went to Terra Mae before another event. I'd heard good things about the restaurant, and was hoping for a good experience. Unfortunately, it left much to be desired. I ordered duck, medium rare. It came out well done. This was confusing, because it was also pre-sliced when it came to the table, and it should have been clear to the kitchen and the server that it was not cooked correctly. I pointed out the temperature to our server, and she immediately apologized and said she would get it fixed. She offered to leave the plate on the table so I could eat around the duck, which I thought was nice, because we were in a hurry. Unfortunately, she came back two minutes later and told me the chef needed her to bring my plate back to the kitchen (I guess they didn't believe me?). Okay. I ordered another glass of wine and sat there awkwardly while my husband and our friends finished their dinners. Finally, after about 30 minutes, I caught our server as she was rushing by and asked her to tell the kitchen that we didn't have time to wait longer. At least they took the duck off the bill. They also sent another duck dinner with us - it came out when our check came back - , but since we had something to go to after dinner, it just sat in the car for several hours. My husband did end up giving me half of his tuna, which was pretty good, but not excellent. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Everything was outstanding except for the noise level. Hard surfaces bounced conversations around creating a cacophony of sound.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

While the style, design and ambiance are fantastic, the meal was hit or miss. The salad selections were outstanding, but the Tartar appetizer was nothing to exclaim over, and the Duck breast main was severely overcooked (we asked for medium rare) un-seared and flavorless. The drink selection in the dining room is different than the bar - both menus are available on either side of the hotel, and well worth sampling. The staff is super friendly, although our waitress was less helpful and certainly not interested in showcasing the best dishes on offer. Surprisingly, while we were very early for dinner - we arrived at 5 as they opened because we had an event at 6:30 - we were the only guests. I only hope they have more as the evening progresses, as this has the potential to be one of the best restaurants in Chattanooga.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.