HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Tengo Sed Cantina

3.6
7 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
  • Good for Groups (4)
  • Hot Spot (4)

Similar Restaurants

About

Tengo Sed Cantina’s motto says it all: “All Fiesta, No Siesta!” After remodeling, this restaurant has reopened with an all-new look and menu, thanks to a collaborative partnership between the original owners and Chef Patrick Ryan. Guests can come to Tengo Sed Cantina to enjoy a menu full of fresh twists on traditional Mexican foods, with a particular focus on dishes inspired by southern California and Baja cuisine.

Bottle service is available with a selection of liquors and sparkling wines, including tequila, vodka, rum, bourbon and whiskey. Tengo Sed Cantina’s menu also features four unique signature cocktails, and patrons can ask their servers for pairing suggestions.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican, Latin / Spanish, Latin American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am-2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 2:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am-2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 442-8124
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
Cross street: 13th Street
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
What 7 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.6
  based on all time ratings
3.6
food
3.8
service
3.4
ambience
Noise · Moderate
63% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Dallas (Kansas City)
3.0
Dined on September 18, 2015

We had a reservation and seated right-away. The server seemed very impatient. There was no discussion of what came with the order or the difference in the "street" verse "dinner" taco. After one drink order, our food arrived and then the check. We had to re-open the check to get a second drink. Too much hassle for okay food. Not welcoming at all!!!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
2.0
Dined on May 5, 2015

We went here for Cinco de Mayo and had margaritas and tacos. The place was not busy and it took 15 minutes to get out first margaritas, which tasted like they forgot the tequila. The guacamole was way too garlicy and the tacos were just mediocre. The waitress was the worst waitress I have ever had and was so slow. This restaurant is close to my house, so I may return just because of the convenience, but if the same waitress tries to serve me, I will leave.

Report
Helpful
Mexicanfiend (Kansas City)
5.0
Dined on April 10, 2015

Folks - Check this place out! It's unique and not your average Mexican Food restaurant. A great place to meet friends for drinks, in this open air environment. The ambiance is casually super! I absolutely fell in love with the shrimp tacos!

Report
Helpful
KC6707 (Kansas City)
4.0
Dined on January 17, 2015

My teenage daughters and I decided to try this restaurant after walking around and had a great experience. The staff was super nice and the food was amazing. I am so glad we decided to try this place.

Report
Helpful
HHJameson (Kansas City)
4.0
Dined on January 9, 2015

This was a great little find! Wonderful Blood Orange Margarita. I had the Chipotle Garlic Grilled shrimp tacos, with cilantro rice. We also had a spicy Guacamole as an appetizer, and had the Dulche de leche ice cream with sea salt and fresh blackberries... YUM! I was very pleased with the food and drink. The service was a little slow, even with my group being the only patrons in the place. I was shocked that the restaurant was "dead" at 6:30pm on a Friday night. However, around 10pm, the lights changed, the music cranked, and people began to flow! My understanding is that the menu is new, so you should check it out. They have a happy hour from 4-7! GO and try that Blood Orange Margarita! My only "gripe" in in terms of ambiance. The seats in the booths were ripped. I'm hoping they get those fixed or replaced, because the food was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
foodie1968 (Kansas City)
2.0
Dined on October 17, 2014

We went for an early dinner so the restaurant was not busy at all. The staff was great and when we asked to be seated at a particular table, they were willing to accommodate us. The food however, was not the greatest. For the price, I had expected a better Mexican burrito than I received. It was similar to a fast food burrito, such as Chipotle or Freebird, but not the kind of quality I would expect at a restaurant with servers. I understand this is more of a late night bar, so if that is the type of food you are wanting, then it does qualify. However, we were only going for the dinner, not the bar atmosphere and that is why we went early. The ambiance of this place was very nice as well.

Report
Helpful
vipJaniekc2000 (Kansas City)
5.0
Dined on July 11, 2014

I was very impressed with Tengo Sed. I was initially concerned because of previous bad reviews on Yelp and Urban Spoon, but the restaurant was reopened in May 2014 and we had a great experience. The service was fantastic- you could tell the staff had been carefully trained to be service oriented. They were EXREMELY accommodating of my hatred of cilantro. The food was very good, especially the rib eye fajitas. I recommend.

Report
Helpful

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican, Latin / Spanish, Latin American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am-2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 2:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am-2:00pm
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
13th Street
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 442-8124
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Julio Warez
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch