Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Taverna

Located in historic San Marco Square, Taverna specializes in handcrafted and Seasonal Italian cuisine. Chef Sam Efron's menus highlight classic Italian flavors while utilizing regional produce and meats, imported ingredients, and house-made pastas and mozzarella. At the bar, Taverna offers handcrafted classic cocktails, local microbrews, and a carefully curated selection of wines from Italy and beyond. Private dining, quick casual lunch service and business lunch deliveries are available.

1986 San Marco Boulevard
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday
11:00AM - 3:00PM Lunch
5:00PM - 10:00PM Dinner

Friday
11:00AM - 3:00PM Lunch
5:00PM - 11:00pm Dinner

Saturday
10:00AM - 3:00PM Brunch & Lunch
5:00PM - 11:00PM Dinner

Sunday
10:00AM - 3:00PM Brunch & Lunch
5:00PM - 10:00PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Atlantic Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 398-3005

Website:
http://taverna.restaurant/

Executive Chef:
Sam Efron

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Taverna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (55)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Fit for Foodies (49)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Modern Decor (35)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Bar Seating (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Great for Brunch (25)
Casual (25)
Romantic (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Fun (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Happy Hour (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Authentic (16)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Cozy (14)
Seasonal (14)
Healthy (13)
Wood Oven (12)
People Watching (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Tapas (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Organic (6)
Vegan (6)
Great Beer (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Family Style (3)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

TERRIBLE from arrival on with the exception of our waiter, Humoldt Fog cheese plate and the dirty martini

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Hubby and I are fixtures here .....that's how much we love "our neighborhood go to"! Tina, Lee, thank you for your warm hospitality. Best truffle fries in town! I've had just about every on the menu and yes u just can't go wrong👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

This experience was conflicted. The scallops entree was good. The tomato bisque, which most restaurants offer, was not good. I enjoyed it for several hours after the meal. Also, we arrived early at a time when there were few diners. We were seated between two of the three or four other groups. They were so loud that my wife and I were unable to hear each other. So--the scallops were good, the soup was not and the accommodation was uncomfortable. And someone needs to tell me why servers ask "Do we have everything we need?" I can't tell her whether she needs anything. I can say whether she can bring anything for my wife and me. Why don't they ask that question instead of asking whether "we" are happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, Taverna was fabulous. The food, service, and ambience are terrific

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food quality. Not your typical menu selections to choose from, which made the experience very good. Server could have been a bit more attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We always love taverna! Took my mom for the first time on Mother's Day. We did the charcuterie and cheese and she was not disappointed. If you haven't done it... your missing out. The service was fantastic, as it always is. My beet salad with scallops hit the spot and went perfect with my Hendrick's Collins. If you have a child, get the lemon ricotta pancakes. I've never seen my girl inhale food like she does those pancakes and her bacon strips! Taverna is one of my favorite neighborhood spots. I highly suggest it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything at Taverna is fabulous. Our waitress was knowledgeable and friendly. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food. We ate in a new side room area that was Not enjoyable due to noise.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I was able to make reservations for a party of 8. We had a wonderful time and the food and service was excellent! Hunter was spot on with whatever we needed. We will ask to be seated with him again. I recommend the charcuterie platter. We had one of everything. Perfect for sharing. Also, the vegetable soup is fantastic and quite filling. Get a cup , not a bowl... unless you plan on making it your entire meal. The mussels were a hit as well as the scallops. Thank you for making our dining experience a pleasure!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food is always phenomenal here! The Ambiance is very nice and the service is excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I enjoy dining at Taverna for all the fresh and creative options. I know I can always eat gluten free which for me is necessary. The food and service are exceptional without being stuffy. I also like the fact that it is consistent. My current favorite is the risotto from the appetizer side to which I add shrimp and scallops.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Healthy, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Love their brunch and lunch. Have not had a bad meal yet.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Taverna is our "go to" restaurant. We always have an excellent meal and I love their specials! Their menu changes seasonally but their specials change often. I always k ow that I'm going to have a delicious meal each time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Taverna is not only one of my favorite local restaurants, it is one of my favorite restaurants in the US. Always excellent, warm service. Every meal I have ever had here has been outstanding--whether it it lunch, happy hour tapas, or dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food, service, and drinks were great! My only complaint was the number of crying babies around me, but I know you can't do anything about that. Get the Patatas Bravas appetizer, they're great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

2nd visit for diner after Sunday Brunch. Did not disappoint. Food high on quality and not quantity, portion size perfect for this diner. Reasonably priced wines by the bottle and great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The fungi pizza is the best I've ever had. Great drinks and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We are on vacation and I reserved a table at Taverna. Literally the best food I've ever had. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. We had the Moscato D'Asti (our waitress recommended it as I love sweet wine). It was delicious. Now to the food. It's all locally sourced and you can tell it's not frozen or pre made. We tried two appetizers, the meatballs and buratta caprese. Very attractive presentation(and flavorful). The fettuccine with tomato basil creme sauce blew my mind. The chicken had a very fresh flavor and practically melted in my mouth. Overall it was a pretty magical experience. They deserve more than 5 stars.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We have been to Taverna a few times and it never disappoints. We have tried the fish specials, steak, chicken etc and we have left more than satisfied. Wine choices are fantastic as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food and service, if I wasn't leaving the country tomorrow I'd eat there every week.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great Service!! Excellent Cheese and Meat Board!! Short Rib entree looked delicious.
Very comfortable upscale atmosphere and setting!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Clarissa, our server, made our dining experience phenomenal. We ordered several starters, split the endive salad and hangar steak and saved room for a fab dessert. Exceeded our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Taverna. From the servers/bar staff to the chefs amazing food, it could not be better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Delicious, as always!!!! WE live in the neighborhood and always enjoy a meal at Taverna. Whether brunch, lunch, dinner or appetizers, it's consistently good not to mention we love the staff!! Ginny Taylor

Tags: Bar Seating, Tapas, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent Saturday brunch. Friendly service, delicious food, there's nothing bad to say about brunch at Taverna!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Fabulous restaurant! Food is always awesome, perfectly prepared. Wonderful cocktails & wine list. Our server, ? Hunter was also terrific; personable, explained the choices and his preferences and why. Chef Sam has continued to improve what has always been a fantastic product. We are somewhat regular customers but last night may have been their best food ever.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The restaurant was great and the service was spectacular. The only real issue was the noise level that made it initially a bit difficult to hear.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Delicious as always!

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a nice dinner on Easter evening. It was quiet, not many diners. The food was, as always very good. Try the tomato soup. The wine list was good and our waiter was spot on with suggestions. The only problem was understaffing. I guess because it was Easter dinner. Our server tried hard but was not as attentive due to too many tables.
This will not change my opinion. It's a great restaurant.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great dinner, excellent service. Carbonara was fab. Dessert was just okay....,skip it. Overall, great meal. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We stopped in Jacksonville on our way home from Key West and picked Taverna by location on OpenTable. It was an exceptional choice. Lovely neighborhood and a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Love Taverna. But it's time to shake up the menu. It I am eating free too often.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our table was ready when we arrived. The waiter was efficient and courteous … out dinner was excellent. All of the people in our group were happy with their dinner and loved the atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Taverna is always a treat! The food is always fresh and the atmosphere is very quiet and enjoyable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The fig compote and herb ricotta appetizer is amazing. Favorite dish is fettuccine with shrimp! Don't miss out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a great dinner at Taverna again. I had the risotto with shrimp and scallops. Delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent. Good food, outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Taverna is our go to place. We have never been disappointed Their Salmon is the best in the city

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our table was ready at the time promised and we were seated immediately. Our server was sensitive to our desire for table conversation and paced our meal appropriately. Wine list was well laid out with ample options either by the glass or bottles. My Sauvignon Blanc was particularly crisp and refreshing; a perfect pairing to my delicious entree of scallops and mushroom & pea risotto. Plentiful starter choices including soups and salads made it easy to choose a couple that everyone at the table could enjoy. Entrees arrived hot and attractively plated. Clean bold flavors stirred our pallets. The red snapper special was particularly good. Dessert portions were rich yet not overwhelming. I was compelled to try the strawberry balsamic gelato in addition to our shared dessert and was not disappointed. Service was enthusiastic, our server knowledgeable of the menu and its flavors.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

oNE OF THE FIRST RESTUARAUNTS I WENT TO UPON MOVING TO JACKSONVILLE ONE YEAR AGO
IT HAS BECOME ONE OF MY FAVORITES - FRIENDS AND I MEET AFTERWORK AND LOVE TO SIT OUTSIDE - FOOD IS GREAT !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.