Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Taverna

Located in historic San Marco Square, Taverna specializes in handcrafted and Seasonal Italian cuisine. Chef Sam Efron's menus highlight classic Italian flavors while utilizing regional produce and meats, imported ingredients, and house-made pastas and mozzarella. At the bar, Taverna offers handcrafted classic cocktails, local microbrews, and a carefully curated selection of wines from Italy and beyond. Private dining, quick casual lunch service and business lunch deliveries are available.

1986 San Marco Boulevard
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday
11:00AM - 3:00PM Lunch
5:00PM - 10:00PM Dinner

Friday
11:00AM - 3:00PM Lunch
5:00PM - 11:00pm Dinner

Saturday
10:00AM - 3:00PM Brunch & Lunch
5:00PM - 11:00PM Dinner

Sunday
10:00AM - 3:00PM Brunch & Lunch
5:00PM - 10:00PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Atlantic Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 398-3005

Website:
http://taverna.restaurant/

Executive Chef:
Sam Efron

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Taverna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Creative Cuisine (31)
Casual (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Great for Lunch (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Business Meals (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Authentic (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Romantic (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fun (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Happy Hour (11)
People Watching (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Cozy (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tapas (6)
Organic (5)
Great Beer (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1067 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined a day ago

Went for brunch with family today
Ordered the lemon ricotta pancakes that supposedly come with berries whipped cream and of course maple syrup. I had one (1) blueberry and one strawberry that had be cut into pieces on top of the pancakes
How pitiful is all I can say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

We had a truly excellent evening, food service, and drinks were excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great Service, the steak and ravioli were absolutely delicious !! Highly recommended !!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My wife and I dined at Taverna on 8/26/17. Service was excellent. We enjoyed a nice bottle of Prosecco from the wine list. The calamari appetizer was flavorful and cooked to perfection. My wife especially enjoyed the scallops with risotto as her entree. We will definitely return!

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Always love the ambiance and food, and it's a great area for late night after.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Cheese plate great. Wine special good. Dinner just okay. Fish boring and definitely not worth 31+ dollars. Was expecting more after all the great reviews.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Taverna is great the service is always excellent and the food is above-average I would definitely recommend

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Delightful evening! Amazing flavors, knowledgeable staff, nice wine pairing. Chef Special snapper very tasty and menu short rib amazing! We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Food was outstanding. Staff was friendly and service was quick. Will be going back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

First night of vacation in the Jacksonville area on a multi city visit to Florida. Just happened to see an advertisement for Taverna on TV and decided to go. We were not disappointed, food was very good. Our server Erika was attentive and not over bearing. Will most certainly visit again next time in that area.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were at Taverna twice in one week, once business and once pleasure. The food is phenomenal. Service lacked a bit on the second visit, perhaps because it was a Saturday. Generally speaking, this is our favorite restaurant in Jax for food, cocktails, and desserts. The pork chop special and banana bread pudding special were the best of the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent service, low noise level and great food. Loved the brunch options offered and mixed drinks.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was excellent. So was the service. I loved the beet salad and the risotto appetizer was yummy too. My husband said his orchietti pasta was delish. Clams and muscles were good. A bit too many smoked onions on top though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 17, 2017

FANTASTIC meal and service! The risotto and homemade pastas are excellent. The server had great recommendations for dinner and comparable wine. Desserts were also outstanding! Try the mint ice cream sandwiches.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great tasting food. Happy hour has great app and cocktail prices. Well thought out wine list

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 16, 2017

I started with the corn and crab soup which was outstanding! Then I had the scallops with risotto - YUM ! My friend got the margarita pizza and he shared a piece with me - Very Good ! I didn't try my husbands steak, but he cleaned his plate 👍And my girlfriend had the Seafood Stew - she loved it! Finally, the house Cab was delicious 😋

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Family get together and meal with acceptance / accommodations for pet! Good food service and location!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Organic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always great!!
The food is spot on every time Chef Sam does a great job !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our waitress was outstanding! We always enjoy this dining experience because the food and atmosphere is great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday and he loved it. The scallops dish that we ordered was excellent and the complimentary bread was very tasty. Our server was very friendly and they even provided a special birthday dessert for my boyfriend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We came for the weekly Pasta pairing special. Each of the three courses was better than the one before. Outstanding service, excellent food. I only dinged the noise level as we were seated by a table of ten or so who had obviously completed happy hour. That is just luck of the draw. Our menu: Parmesan tortellini, pesto spaghettini, and duck ragout papparedelle.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Thanks Guys- Great food and service. I'll be back!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Went to Taverna a couple years ago, and had a fabulous meal. Got the house made fettuccine because I enjoyed it so much last time. It was so salty, I could not even taste the sauce. And the noodles were hard and clumpy. Neither my husband or I could even finish our meals because they were so salty. Spent over $100 for the two of us, and left very disappointed...and still hungry!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent food, wine recommendations, service was excellent. Very good time. I also think restaurant is consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Came to Tavernas before a show downtown. Service was prompt and courteous, food was excellent and I love that there are good gluten free options. Definitely worth the drive!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Eaten at Taverna a few times now. Food is always excellent and servers are knowledgeable and attentive. We had one of their wedge salad, a pizza, and home made fettuccine with a broccolini appetizer and all were outstanding. My wife has some dietary restrictions and the server was helpful in recommending options on the menu and even offered to have the chef alter the preparation to suit her, which was outstanding. Highly recommend everyone check them out!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The food was good, but our server was unapologetically slow. It was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Lovely lunch spot. Great food and great service. Would visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Good place - the service was perfect. Great service provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

OK let me start by saying I like Taverna. The service is outstanding and the food is really good. I just don't think it has any atmosphere. If you are looking for minimalist, this is your place. If you are looking for open seating where pretty much every diner can see every other diner, this is your place. If you want an intimate dinner, this is not your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Although the food at Taverna was quite good, missteps in service along with bad ambiance & an over the top noise level if you're unlucky enough to be seated in the "back room" brought the rating down. The Taverna dinner menu is diverse and offers a number of options to meet the tastes of an eclectic group of diners such as our group of 4 (1 vegetarian, 1 pescatarian, 1 hard-core meat eater and 1 flexible diner). They also have an extensive list of interesting mixed drinks, of which we selected 4 varieties all of which were quite good. The back-room, however, is devoid of any ambiance and the noise level was so high as to be sometimes painful - & not from anything good, just reverberations from the blank walls & non-existent décor. Our server was friendly, yet not particularly knowledgeable (didn't recall prices of specials -- all of which we found out were at the high end of the regular menu. Maybe that's on purpose?) or efficient. He messed up 1 appetizer order (no bacon - not particularly difficult), despite having repeated it back properly when the order was taken. He also disappeared for extended periods of time & we had to practically tackle him to get the bill (odd for a busy restaurant). The food was quite good, however, obviously fresh ingredients, well-prepared & properly seasoned. The seafood stew was a particular hit at our table, as was the gazpacho & the parmesan truffle fries. We all also opted for dessert (2 budino -- luscious butterscotch flavor, 1 banana bread pudding and 1 peach-blueberry crisp) all of which we quite good. So, my advice would be, it's worth going, but only if you can get a table in the front & do ask about the pricing of specials before ordering.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Good food but very expensive. Not sure if we will return. Convenient to San Marco theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had Sunday brunch here. It was our first time dining at this restaurant. The food and service were excellent. Full time pastry chef.we had the muffin of the day. It was fabulous.
There was plenty of parking on Sunday morning but I know that is an issue in the evening. I highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Set up a reservation though your website but when I got there on time they told me the table wasn't ready. What's the point of making a reservation if you have to wait for a table. Then ended up sitting us at the high top table instead of a booth like I had requested. Overall good and service were good a bit pricey for them not to honor the reservation.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food and impeccable service! We will definitely go back! Will dine outside next time to avoid the noise----easier for quiet conversation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Taverna is always a pleasant place to catch up with a friend over drinks and shared tapas. The staff is very accommodating about bringing divided portions and letting us "graze" and wander around the menu rather than making us feel that we should be ordering in a more traditional style. Food is always delicious and presentation perfect. We often choose new cocktails based on staff recommendations and they always give us good advice.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Taverna is always the perfect place- great food, great service, great atmosphere! I love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great food, excellent service and attractive restaurant. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Special Tues. night pasta dinner was creative and excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Tried the Tuesday night pasta tasting menu. Hands down the best meal we've had in Jacksonville.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.