About Tao Uptown

42 East 58th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Sunday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Wednesday: 5:00pm- 12:00am, Thursday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 1:00am

Cross Street:
Park & Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 888-2288

Website:
http://www.taorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Enjoy TAO classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premise catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 10 people, to an off-premise event for thousands. TAO signature dishes, including our famous Chilean Sea Bass, Kung Pao Chicken, Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon, Coconut Shrimp, and our wide selection of Sushi, will be delivered right to your door. Use us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, family gathering, or Super Bowl party. Always a Happy Ending!

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
John Villa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all parties of 15 or more please inquire with our banquet department at 212-399-3097.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

TAO NY has hosted all styles of private parties, including movie premieres, corporate affairs, holiday receptions, business meetings and social events. TAO has accommodations available for 16 to 1000 guests for everything from seated dinners to buffet receptions and cocktail parties.

Tao Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (141)
Special Occasion (128)
Hot Spot (123)
See All
Creative Cuisine (115)
Fun (110)
Good for Groups (104)
Good for Birthdays (94)
Vibrant Bar Scene (90)
Modern Decor (81)
Fit for Foodies (71)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Romantic (66)
People Watching (61)
Business Meals (52)
Authentic (51)
Late-night Find (45)
Casual (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Bar Seating (39)
Tasting Menu (38)
Spicy (37)
Great for Lunch (35)
Happy Hour (33)
Cozy (31)
Good Vegetarian Options (30)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Family Style (28)
Scenic View (24)
Comfort Food (22)
Outstanding Value (20)
Tapas (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Healthy (15)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Vegan (10)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Historic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Private Room (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Live Music (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Dancing (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
9215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The overall experience I had tonight was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

The overall experience I had tonight was atrocious. From having to wait 30 minutes for a table despite having a reservation, to the uncooked rice. I had relatively high expectations given that the prices are quite high, however, i was very disappointed. Every dish was either too salty or way too sweet. The chicken pad thai tasted like it was dipped in syrup, and even after getting it remade, it was still unbelievably sweet. This was a very disappointing experience with a high price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent service, we ordered the pork p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Excellent service, we ordered the pork potstickers, scallops and coconut shrimp. Everything was delicious. We dined on the second level which gave us a nice view of the whole restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent I would recommend ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was excellent I would recommend to anyone

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

This place is amazing! Food was out of ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

This place is amazing! Food was out of this world!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day Celebration with My Babi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Valentine's Day Celebration with My Babies!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girls night

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Girls night

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The wait for a table was 20 minutes afte ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

The wait for a table was 20 minutes after our reservation, but the service was excellent and the food was also excellent. Very noisy. Amazing decor with a giant Buddha statue looking over everyone. Excellent potstickers. Asian fusion menu; very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food is average - normal sushi and fried ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Food is average - normal sushi and fried ice nothing out of this world in terms of flavour etc.

Overall a good spot but very noisy and seating is crowded.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Visiting nyc. Met up with our niece deli ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Visiting nyc. Met up with our niece delicious food and gracious service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, cool atmosphere visually, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, cool atmosphere visually, very good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my Best friends birthday and ou ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my Best friends birthday and our server Joe was outstanding! Thank you food was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with beautiful decor. Perfec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food with beautiful decor. Perfect place for any occasion

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food overall was good. Ordered the typho ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Food overall was good. Ordered the typhoon lobster - - on the menu it stated it was $51 but was charged $53. Two bucks different so didn't say anything but still strange. Also not enough lobster for the price. Mostly shell. Should have stuck to usual order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The waitress Mary was excellent. My serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The waitress Mary was excellent. My service rating factors the reception we received. I made my reservation with ample time before the date, and requested specific seating arrangement. Not only did I get a call in the morning the day-of to confirm my reservation, but she also confirmed my specific request. When we arrived, we were taken to an entirely difference seating area. Although the girl that took us to seating is not responsible, I mentioned that I had made specific seating arrangements. She said she would mention to manager, and a few minutes later one of the floor manager came over. He first started to make an argument for why he thinks our current seating was so great, and continued by saying that "we" do not promise seating. Probably more annoying was his demeanor, as he continued talking... How is promising seating and reserving seating not the same...! Also, why did someone call day-of to confirm both reservation and request?!

We asked if we could move to our desired area, and his response was that seating for our request wouldn't be available for sometime, so my wife made the decision to stay. A few minutes after he left, while giving our drink order to the waitress, another girl came over and said she would be moving us to our requested seating area. Where we had Mary serving us.

It was a special evening, and I took steps to confirm things were going to plan. Unfortunately they did not share the memo!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Dinner was delicious and our waitress Ma ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Dinner was delicious and our waitress Mary was beyond wonderful. The ambiance was exactly what NYC is. Trendy and fabulous.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, , Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Tao several times but I mus ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I've been to Tao several times but I must say this time I wasn't impressed and I don't think I'll be returning. I feel like you ran your course.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Food tasted great. Unfortunately got foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food tasted great. Unfortunately got food poisoning after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Our meals were great as usual. The serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our meals were great as usual. The server did a nice job of pacing the dining experience. I requested a table as I usually do when we go to Tao. The staff did an excellent job accommodating my request. Always a good experience at Tao. I always recommend it to friends!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Third trip to Tao. Always great food and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Third trip to Tao. Always great food and experience. They are busy and service suffers sometimes.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good atmosphere good music

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good atmosphere good music

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food...packed (usial for a friday ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food...packed (usial for a friday night)so sometimes finding our waiter was tough...but overall great food...great drinks....great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will return on our next trip to the b ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We will return on our next trip to the big apple! Outstanding meal and ambiance!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Choose a music concept and stick with it ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Choose a music concept and stick with it - Footloose then Uber Lounge not congruent .... lol

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing!!!! Love this place. Ev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was amazing!!!! Love this place. Everyone I was with moved everything they had. No complaints at all

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I used to love this place years ago. It ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I used to love this place years ago. It was always packed and the vibes were amazing. I came back last Thursday after a couple of years: the place was empty, the crowd was "lower level" and even the food wasn't as good as I remembered... disappointed :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Buzzy, trendy atmosphere and interesting ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Buzzy, trendy atmosphere and interesting pan-asian dishes and cocktails. Good for special occaions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It's a very nice place , good food and n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It's a very nice place , good food and nice decoration,they should lower the music a little.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Horrible experience. Made reservation on ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Horrible experience. Made reservation on open table and still had to wait 20 minutes when the restaurant was mostly empty. The table we were at had no light and had to use our phones to even see the menu. Salmon was undercooked, vegetables were not seasoned at all, and appetizers were cold.

Will never step foot in here again.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Tao Uptown was great ...the food came in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Tao Uptown was great ...the food came in time and the waitress was very nice... THe chocolate molten is heaven on a plate ...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not my first visit. Won't be my last.

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Not my first visit. Won't be my last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dad's birthday

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Dad's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Your palette will be pleased!!!! From th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Your palette will be pleased!!!! From the wait staff to meal and desert - every detail was amazing!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was truly disappointed by my experienc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

I was truly disappointed by my experience. I've been to Tao on numerous occasions, but every dish that we picked was awfully sweet. The only upside is that service was extremely good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

The Sevice was written to say the least.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The Sevice was written to say the least.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Took my best friend here for her birthda ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Took my best friend here for her birthday and she was very happy as was I. The desert was great and they wrote "Happy Birthday" on it for her. Just sad that the sky box wasn't open I was hoping to be seated there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating birthday with a friend

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Celebrating birthday with a friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Un esperienza fantastica. The best food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Un esperienza fantastica. The best food and cocktails .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was excellent and we did not fee ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was excellent and we did not feel rushed, however food was just ok, especially for the price. Room was too loud for easy conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Very over rated. Nice ambience. Upscal ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very over rated. Nice ambience. Upscale version of PF Chang's.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Great atmosphere, tasty authentic food, ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great atmosphere, tasty authentic food, excellent service. Will go here again for sure

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.