Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Tao Uptown

A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.

42 East 58th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Sunday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Wednesday: 5:00pm- 12:00am, Thursday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 1:00am

Cross Street:
Park & Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 888-2288

Website:
http://www.taorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Enjoy TAO classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premise catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 10 people, to an off-premise event for thousands. TAO signature dishes, including our famous Chilean Sea Bass, Kung Pao Chicken, Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon, Coconut Shrimp, and our wide selection of Sushi, will be delivered right to your door. Use us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, family gathering, or Super Bowl party. Always a Happy Ending!

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
John Villa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all parties of 15 or more please inquire with our banquet department at 212-399-3097.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

TAO NY has hosted all styles of private parties, including movie premieres, corporate affairs, holiday receptions, business meetings and social events. TAO has accommodations available for 16 to 1000 guests for everything from seated dinners to buffet receptions and cocktail parties.

Tao Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (116)
Special Occasion (107)
Hot Spot (94)
See All
Good for Birthdays (79)
Creative Cuisine (79)
Good for Groups (75)
Fun (71)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Vibrant Bar Scene (60)
Romantic (59)
People Watching (46)
Authentic (45)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Pre/post Theatre (41)
Business Meals (38)
Late-night Find (37)
Great for Lunch (37)
Tasting Menu (35)
Bar Seating (32)
Casual (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Happy Hour (27)
Spicy (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Scenic View (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Cozy (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Live Music (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Tapas (11)
Healthy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Seasonal (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Great Beer (5)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
9791 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined a day ago

Very Good food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome as usual, I have never had a bad time at tao, and that's in regards to food, and atmosphere. Asked to sit upstairs we were accomadated

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Only sushi is good, other test terrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Dreadful food expensive for what it is and what u get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

always worth going... we definitely come back
attendance at entry was wonderful and professional,
we got lucky with fantastic table on the balcony

so all in all a wonderful evening

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Only complaint is that the tables are on top of eachother it felt like the next two tables were at dinner with you

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Was one of our best meals in NYC. The tartare app was incredible! Definitely get the jumbo fortune cookie. Share it! Great special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed this restaurant very much. Very interesting decor. Excellent food- very good service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Accept for the advice to take the subway to the Yankee game , everything was perfect. Can't really blame them on the subway advice it was a playoff game and the train was so crowded we could not get on.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Have been dining at Tao for years now. Seems like friends from out of town always request it.
The service is always excellent, the food always amazing, and beautifully presented.
I highly recommend it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our 4th visit in the restaurant. Rhwy have to renew it. It was ok, but nothing more.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Like always Tao didn't disappoint, one of my all time favorite restaurants. Hard to get a reservation so do it with time if you know you will be NYC and want to go for sure. Food is amazing and service was great, DJ music, pretty loud but awesome for us.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent - five stars all around. Food was incredible - service impeccable. Great cocktails. Good value. Amazing atmosphere. Would go back in a heartbeat. Dessert was to die for!!!!

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great experience at Tao. Very nice bar with wonderful drinks.
Dinner was exquisite with various Asian fusion dishes, including fried rice, pad thai, roast duck, and coconut shrimp.
Every dish had distinctive flavors and aromas.
Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Definitely need a reservation and the whole party needs to be present to be seated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

we picked a selection of smaller dishes so we could share, we enjoyed our selection very much, great taste, good quality, great service and help.
you don't feel the presence of tables around you, we had a great dating night;
we spend quite some money after all, but felt like it was worth every penny of it.

next trip to NY, most likely to come back.
thank you TAO

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

First time there. Tao is a very nice place to hangout and dine. I didn’t expect the food to taste this good.😜 My party enjoyed the drinks, food and ambiance. The hostesses were pleasant, not so much from our waitress. We had to call and/or stop her everytime we needed something. And You have to go through a lot of stairs to get to the bathroom.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Berlin)·Dined 7 days ago

Host service was bad and unfriendly
Audience was simply awful
Waiter service was good and food also
We left unhappy
Not worth to go...!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing food and fantastic atmosphere, would love to come again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2017

It was a very great experience. The waiter Danny was very attentive and informative. The food wait was not long, perfect wait time. The selection of music was great also. I will definitely recommend anyone here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The service we received was slow and my drink that the server recommended tasted like perfume, so it was sent back. The food was designed nicely but it was nothing I would drive back from New Jersey to have there. I would say it seems like it's more about the ambience and the statue that people come to Tao uptown for. The pros were that the guys at valet parking were nice and took care of our car and the music of Tao uptown is very lively and feels like a club experience. I don't think I would come back though. If service was faster and if we were checked up on faster I would have considered it but it wasn't up to par.

Tags: Hot Spot, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Reserved seating should not take 30 minutes especially when many tables open

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Healthy, Happy Hour, Tapas, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great, our server was excited and entertaining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2017

The food is always on point "exceptional". Seating great.,Service- The waiter seem overwhelmed forgot a few of our requests However, very enjoyable night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Not an overall memorable experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 12, 2017

I love this place. The scenery is just great. The food is so good and the service is always amazing! Love it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great evening with friends followed by outstanding food, very good service and best value for money

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Show the food was not that great. We felt kind of rushed to get up out of our table. The atmosphere was very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Fue una experiencia maravillosa, desde que ingresamos, hasta que nos fuimos la amabilidad del personal, el ambiente, la decoración y la excelente comida hicieron la diferencia!! Muchas Gracias!! recomendadísimo!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Very rude hostess and got to divide a table in a dark corner with other people despite the fact that there were several free tables during the whole time we were at the restaurant. I have not experienced this before and this was one if my favourite places due to the food they are serving. I have been taking several of our friends here but will probably not return again due to this experience. Service at table was friendly and food was good as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Vibrant atmosphere and tasty designs Ning experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Brisbane / QLD)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Felt a little too commercial for our liking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Delish! Rock shrimp lettuce wraps are a must for apps!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Place is really cool and trendy. We drank one drink in lounge area and then we went to our table. We ordered 2 apetizers, roasted duck which wasn't delicious and my chicken something which was good. Main course I had pad thai. It was good but too big portion. I would recommend this place just beacuse of place and ambient. Food overall is not so good. For example Zuma in London, Asia Asia in Dubai, Aqua Kyoto in London-those are so called GREAT ASIAN RESTAURANT :)

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Except of one thing that bothers me a lot we enjoy the restaurant- the air conditioner wasn't working and it was very very hot

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food and Cocktails are the delish. Giant Fortune Cookie perfect for birthdays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I love Tao. So many Asian options!!! I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Ordered a variety of fun cocktails, and all of them were delicious! Not too sweet, fresh, pretty. Sea bass dish was the best we ever had. Scallops in red curry was also superb.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great fixe prix lunch. Great service.
Amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Service wasn’t as good as usual we had a small table and all the food was brought out at the same time, it wasn’t horrible just uncomfortable. We felt very rushed. And they took a few plates away from the table while there was still food in them. (We weren’t finished)
I still Love TAO I just hope next time it’s a better experience .
thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This restaurant has no respect for costumer. We reserve a table, but still waited about an hour to get it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.