Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Tao Uptown

A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.

42 East 58th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Sunday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Wednesday: 5:00pm- 12:00am, Thursday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 1:00am

Cross Street:
Park & Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 888-2288

Website:
http://www.taorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Enjoy TAO classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premise catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 10 people, to an off-premise event for thousands. TAO signature dishes, including our famous Chilean Sea Bass, Kung Pao Chicken, Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon, Coconut Shrimp, and our wide selection of Sushi, will be delivered right to your door. Use us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, family gathering, or Super Bowl party. Always a Happy Ending!

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
John Villa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all parties of 15 or more please inquire with our banquet department at 212-399-3097.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

TAO NY has hosted all styles of private parties, including movie premieres, corporate affairs, holiday receptions, business meetings and social events. TAO has accommodations available for 16 to 1000 guests for everything from seated dinners to buffet receptions and cocktail parties.

Tao Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (148)
Good for Birthdays (134)
Good for a Date (134)
See All
Hot Spot (117)
Fun (114)
Creative Cuisine (113)
Good for Groups (110)
Vibrant Bar Scene (93)
Romantic (86)
Good for Anniversaries (83)
Fit for Foodies (72)
People Watching (71)
Modern Decor (67)
Business Meals (58)
Authentic (55)
Late-night Find (49)
Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Casual (42)
Tasting Menu (41)
Worth the Drive (37)
Great for Lunch (36)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Bar Seating (33)
Cozy (32)
Happy Hour (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Spicy (24)
Scenic View (23)
Family Style (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Tapas (15)
Live Music (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Healthy (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Vegan (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Private Room (7)
Seasonal (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great Beer (4)
Historic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (2)
Dancing (2)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
9464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

This is my favorite place in NY, every time I go is amazing great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great. Waitress was excellent. The arrogant dismissive bartender was an ahe.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a 'very New York' place - lively, multiple layers, a little overpriced for the quality of food offered, great service. Yes, very New York.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Tao is my absolute favorite restaurant. I've been to both NYC locations and the Vegas location plenty times and I continue to love this place. Thanks for the great food and superb service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Great night. Everything we are was terrific.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Waiter was superb Have had him before. Very friendly and informational.

This is the third time I have requested seating upfront and each time my request was honored.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

So valuable space can be used for another purpose (like night club)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

NOT GOOD...A member of our party was graduating from college and we came here to celebrate. I made sure to leave notes with the host to make sure they brought out a special desert and she insisted they would. When it came time for desert the waiter was not making it seem like he was bringing out anything special so I had to get up and leave my party to ask him what was going on and the waiter said he didn't hear anything about the special occasion but that he would take care of it. Then about 7 min later he walked by the table and gave me the thumbs up that it was handled. I thought okay great! Then the waiter comes back to the table about 5 more minutes later and in a audible whisper to other people at my table he says it's not going to happen they would have had to put in the order beforehand and then walks away. No sorry and he doesn't even bring out a candle with the desert we had to order to replace the special one we were supposed to get! Literally could have gone anywhere to celebrate this special night but decided to come here and they totally ruined it. Proper etiquette at a restaurant that costs this much would have been for the waiter to at least tell the manager what had happened that way he could have handled it himself but instead, after the check was paid and we were walking out, I had to ask for the manager and tell him my self what had happened. He seemed apologetic and asked to comp us drinks but the graduate doesn't even drink alcohol and at that point we just wanted to get out of there. Suuuuuuper disappointed. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Average food with impossible to hear your friend noise level

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We har a reservation since 4 weeks from sweden at 9:15 PM But We hot the table 9:50 so that was not good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is my 2nd time here and still love to bring friends for dinner and drinks

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Celebrating

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I went for my 17th birthday and it was also my first time the food was amazing and the waiters were so nice I would totally go again

Tags: Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

As always the food and drinks were amazing and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was excellent, but, we were disappointed that many of out favorites were off the menu. The substitutes suggested by Anita were outstanding .
We will definitely by returning to sample our NEW favorites.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fantastic lunch prix fixe menu - lots of options and generous portions. Shrimp kebob and lettuce wrap starters were both yummy. Steak salad and pad thai were very good, and there was enough for a doggie bag! Range of desserts, from fresh fruit & sorbet to a very tasty parfait. The room is stunning - get a seat with a view of the Buddha! Service was friendly and attentive (water glasses refilled, etc). Great option for midtown lunch in a gorgeous venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our server was very thoughtful and helpful. I've developed a soy allergy and she arranged to have one of my favorite dishes prepared soy free!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Nice staff, very loud music( to loud). But the food where fantastic, best in New York.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent first time the atmosphere was beautiful the food was great and reasonable the service was great. I had the Jumbo Shrimp It was delicious I had to order seconds .I would recommend TAO for anyone looking for a family night out or being with your friends children are also welcome at 42nd East 58Th street NYC

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Casual, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had an amazing meal in TAO, one of the best deals we had

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We live TAO. Been to Vegas and Uptown NYC. Wish they would bring it to the UK! Orange Chicken is out of this world

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Me encanta
No sé por qué tomaron como que no fui a la reserva cuando en realidad asistí en el día y horario reservado

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

too noisy...too much of a scene...would not seat us until everyone got there...too large...very touristy...although the food is very good...very expensive for what you get

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Love this place great place to go to get dressed up and eat well.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great place, not puntual with the reservation,good Food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Loved Tao. The food was great and so was the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The foods were way too salty and the wait was ridiculous. Disappointed overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day-staff was very accommodating !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was fine just not great. Its a pretty place tho and very crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This place was very disappointing, from the service to the food. We were seated at the very back of the second floor next to the bar. I asked if we could be moved to a different table and where rudely told by the manager that no accommodations could be made. I was surprised that on Mother's Day, NOTHING could be done. As for the food, I had the soy ginger salmon with soba noodles. The Salmon was bland and the soba noodles over cooked to the point of being inedible. My son had the orange chicken and it was very sweet. Overall the low quality and poor execution of the dishes were not on par with the high price. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

So amazing , really good treatment and especially comfort, nice decoration and sweet food..

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Historic, Authentic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. Staff very attentive. Adexor was I will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service. Food delicious. Atmosphere was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Except for the loud music everything else was great

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love the energy of this place! From the food to the music and decor it just doesn't get any better! It's a MUST on my list every time I visit the big apple. We tried the imperial egg rolls, low Mein and the mandarin rice with roasted pork this time. The Pad Thai is the best ever! You can't go wrong with TAO!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good food. Very loud. Hard to converse. Asian fusion. Correctly described as a "club" atmosphere, as in disco club.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My wife and I eat here every time we come into the city a few times per year. Love the Lobster Wontons and Avocado Tempura. Five stars all the way.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was delicious, but the music in the restaurant was so loud that we could not hear each other...at all!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.