Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen

Tannin Wine Bar & Kitchen is your local, urban destination located in the Crossroads Art District, just 2 blocks away from the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Enjoy a glass of wine from the "well researched and extensive" wine list. We offer wines by the taste, glass or bottle to satisfy everyone’s palate.

Our cuisine features fresh, seasonal ingredients. The lunch and dinner menus include cheese plates, small bites and entrees. The kitchen is open until midnight Monday - Saturday.

Visit our website for information about upcoming events including happy hour specials and wine events.

We look forward to seeing you soon. Cheers!

1526 Walnut St.
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 1:30am, Saturday: 4:00 pm - 1:30 am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
16th & Walnut

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 842-2660

Website:
http://www.tanninwinebar.com/

Catering:
Let us help plan your event in one of several areas of the restaurant perfect for entertaining guests. Whether planning a corporate event, holiday party, special occasion or anything in between, each event space is ideal for hosting sit down lunches and dinners, cocktail parties or wine tastings. We appreciate your consideration and look forward to providing an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Contact Barry Tunnell with additional questions and availability. barryt@tanninwinebar.com | 816.842.2660

Parking Details:
A designated parking area is located to the south of the restaurant with access from Walnut Street. Convenient street parking is located along Walnut Street, Main Street, 16th Street, and 17th Street.

Executive Chef:
Brian Aaron

Private Party Facilities:
Let us help plan your event in one of several areas of the restaurant perfect for entertaining guests. Whether planning a corporate event, holiday party, special occasion or anything in between, each area is ideal for hosting sit down lunches and dinners, cocktail parties or wine tastings.

Private Party Contact:
Marci Fritz: (855) 752-6582

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tannin Wine Bar & Kitchen hosts monthly wine tastings and other special events throughout the year. View their website www.tanninwinebar.com for updates.

Interested in becoming a member of one of the 6 Tannin Wine Clubs? In addition to the wine locker, you receive one bottle of wine per month, free admission to monthly wine tastings and discounts when you dine at the restaurant. Email barryt@tanninwinebar.com for more information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (30)
Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Romantic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Cozy (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Casual (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Fun (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Authentic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Private Room (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
909 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Special time issues -- a band to feed well and sound check at nearby venue -- were met with total professionalism. Food order taken fast. Wonderful food served exactly correct for 8 of us at 4 pm.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fabulously helpful and knowlegable about wine waiter, I enjoyed the octopus with the side- paleo/ low carb friendly, great wine list! We will be back, but probably will make sure we have a table with the view of the bar- we like to people watch

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great place if you want to grab a drink with a friend or significant other. Food was sub-par in my opinion and vastly overpriced. Service was fantastic though, no complaints there. Only will be coming back for drinks.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place is fantastic. The wine menu is extensive and the wait staff are very knowledgeable. We trusted our server to choose pairings for us, and he did not disappoint. The food was very tasty-we shared appetizers as a tapas style dinner. The menu changes periodically, which is nice. Outdoor seating is great; they're pet friendly outdoors also!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We were in town for business and a dined out every night. Dining out is one of my favorite things to do and by far Tannins was the highlight of my/our dining experience. This restaurant changed the way I think about food and wine. I most often start with a glass of white wine and then order a bottle of full bodied red to enjoy with the meal. After talking to our server, we soon realized her excellent knowledge of wines and we followed her lead on pairing wines by the glass with food. We ordered from the three course venue they offer. As each of the three entrees were served we had wine that complemented the food in a way I never appreciated before. It opened my eyes to a new approach to dining with wine. Our server was special and maybe even rare, and I am forever grateful for the dining experience she orchestrated. It was excellent food in all three stages. The beet salad was full of tasty ingredients that left me wondering which bite was best, and the wine choice took it to another level. Our main course was cooked to perfection and another wine I had never tried before, made it even better. Dessert was delicious. I went with the warm, soft chocolate filled peanut butter cookie, and another excellent wine. Tannins has an extensive wine by the glass menu and the food from their kitchen is as tasty as it gets. Tannins is a must try when dining out in the Power and Light district of KC, MO.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Daniel was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

One of my favorites in all of Kansas City - and there are many fine places to dine.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Was disappointed over all, postive was we got right in, taken to the worst table in the place back by kitchen. drink order taken, didnt realized we ordered a $70 bottle of wine. But Moscow Mules were tasty.

Ordered from the $40 flite. My rib eye was ordered medium well. was charred on one end and well done at other. My wifes chicken was gristly. Friends Pork chop had to search for the meat.

Waitress apologized about delay, brought a fried cheese dish to make up. Had to ask about dessert. Took forever for a cookie, cake and fritters. Nothing special. And by that time hardly anyone there. We got there at 6 and left at 845 with a $300 bill for 4 of us before the minor tip we left.

I really am not sure why the problems, Garth Brooks was at the Sprint Center and the place was busy but about what I assume Saturday night should be like in that area. I can not recommend to anyone right now and at this point would not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The best Wagyu burger I have ever had. Server was excellent. He was quick and also sneaky. I like when the server lets me know he's there but doesn't interrupt to take away glasses or plates. Atmosphere was romantic and quiet. We enjoyed a great dinner and we will be going back. Thank you for a great date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We always enjoy Tannin. The food is great. They have small plates and large plates so it is easy to get just the right amount of food. Try the octopus it's really great. The lamb meatballs are a great first course. The wine cellar is extensive and the waiters Can help you find just the right bottle or glass

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Amazing wine list and delicious food with elegant presentation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We have nothing to WINE about! From the moment we walked in, we were greeted with charm and grace. Our waiter was top-notch - even helped several of us choose a decadent drink. The European cheese tray was delish. We tried everything from hamburgers, to grilled veggies and crab dip to black beans & sweet potatoes. We all walked away full and happy.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 26, 2017

An excellent evening of friends , food, fun and merriment. Tannin's is a favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Casual, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I did not think the food was worth the value. We were also mislead when we asked for a white wine. The server went on about this special Spanish wine so we felt obligated to order it and it ended up being a straight rose wine. Would not recommend and was highly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our waiter was outstanding! The food and wine was great! We will definitely be back very soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It had been awhile since we had been to Tannin. John Mayer at Sprint Center was the perfect concert to visit for dinner and drinks before. Wine list is great, happy hour prices, great menu and attentive service is a plus. Very good enjoyable evening and we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great Wine List! However, food is rather pricy and not much to choose from....

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fabulous cuisine! We had an amazing time. Definitely would recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Fantastic experience. The food was wonderful and service was attentive and spot on. Grilled octopus was exceptional. Recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I very rarely give reviews but I've been here several times for drinks and it really is a great place to meet for drinks. Unfortunately after having dinner there the other night drinks will probably be the only thing I go there for in the future. Two people, 2 glasses of wine each and dinner, $133.00 which included 20% tip, I think this is a bit overpriced given the restaurant and what I ordered which was breaded chicken and pasta. Maybe I can find a coupon next time, lol. Also, I know this is probably unusual but there was a group of people next to us that were talking and laughing so loud that I could barely hear my date some of the time which was very distracting. I know there were drinking and having a good time but there are other people in the restaurant. I wish the waitress would have asked them to keep it to a minimum.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Due to a frustrating parking situation, my husband was a bit out of sorts. Dan made everything wonderful&smoothed ruffled feathers with excellent care. The pork cheeks are out of this world. Great start to a fun evening.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The wine list is AMAZING. I went for a 3 glass sampler where I had 2oz of three great red burgundys which was a real treat & delicious. The waitress was knowledgeable and friendly and took the time to recommend a great white to suit my friend's taste.

The food was incredible, we went for the Grand Prix 3 course menu. We had starters of the 'grille plate' grilled vegetables and a salad which were both really tasty. For the main event, I. went for chicken with angel hair pasta and a kale pesto, which I have to say was the best chicken dish I have eaten in a very long time. My friend had braised beef cheeks which were wonderfully rich and equally delicious. Unfortunately, the desserts did not hit the mark at all. It was if they came from a completely different restaurant. The pear tart was inedible, the pears were delicately sliced but were plonked on a wedge of thick uncooked pastry - I was hoping for a beautifully crisp pastry case with a gorgeous tart filling however what I got was clumsy and unrefined. My friend went for the strawberry fritters which, having tried one, were revolting - they were thick lumps of heavy doughnut with a hint of strawberry which was completely lost in the dough. The cinnamon coating was overbearing and just nasty.

The staff were a complete joy who went out of their way to make sure we had a great evening. They were clearly upset we did not enjoy the desserts and offered a plethora of alternatives to ensure we left happy.

I would definitely dine here again, despite the dodgy desserts, the food was delicious and well worth the trip.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We told the server we had limited time. We put in our order and waited. And waited. Twice she said "it will be right out." Forty minutes after we placed the order we saw the food. Excuse: there are a lot of people on their way to shows and they all sat down at once." The excuse, "My mother has the hiccups" would be as pertinent. We won't go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great small plates. Wait staff very friendly and courteous. Slightly loud due to bare brick walls in the front part of restaurant where we were sitting, but there were some quieter ​booths in the back. Will definitely go back....Soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Tannin never disappoints. This is a hidden gem that is never busy on the weekend, always easy to find a table. Great wine list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This restaurant doesn't use OpenTable anymore and didn't have our reservation when we arrived. They were happy to seat us and we had a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I think the food and drink is slightly expensive. Food was prepared well, but somewhat skimpy for price. Somewhat surprised it wasn't as busy as expected.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We have been coming here for 10+ years and the food and service is wonderful! The staff is consistent and we see the same faces greet us each year when we walk in the door! A find from reviews on Trip Advisor, this is one of those hidden gems that we keep returning to each year when we visit Kansas City!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is my second visit to Tannin. It is a great place for a quiet, very nice meal. We both ordered from the prix fixe menu. Our server was very knowledgable about the offerings and provided suburb and unobtrusive service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Manager John Gunter has assembled a fantastic staff to create an enjoyable venue for excellent casual dining with an impressive wine list. Highly recommend!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Wait staff was awesome even after we broke a wine glass then wine bottle.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Tannin is an excellent restaurant with an extensive wine list. The staff is very friendly and personable! The food is full of flavor that the staff with recommend the proper wine pairing for your palate and meal. This place should be on your list to visit!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Casual, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Did the tasting menu with wine pairing. First course was the best. The rest of the course were good but not up to past visits.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Seemed overpriced. If there's a Groupon, use that. The wine selection is amazing but the food was ok and pricey. The dessert was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a great time for our anniversary. The server was very knowledgeable on the wines and made great recommendations. We dine here several times a year and have yet to be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always an enjoyable experience, the new menu is a welcome freshening up of a great neighborhood hang out. Dining room service is always attentive and welcoming.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was a Valentine's date, actually our first one. I had dinner here two summers ago and the food was amazing. Our dinner for Valentine's was not amazing...I was some what disappointed. I could have done better for half the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Loved it! My husband took me to Tannin for an early Valentines Day. Service was fabulous! Food was fabulous! Wine pairing, spot- on. We enjoyed the opportunity to linger over several courses. Leftovers were not just boxed, but care was taken to also wrap in plastic to keep fresh. We will return to Tannin!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love Tannin for the small plates in particular. The peanut butter cookie Elvis style is amazing. It is a must try.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our server was an incredible asset to an already delicious dinner. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.