Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen

Tannin Wine Bar & Kitchen is your local, urban destination located in the Crossroads Art District, just 2 blocks away from the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Enjoy a glass of wine from the "well researched and extensive" wine list. We offer wines by the taste, glass or bottle to satisfy everyone’s palate.

Our cuisine features fresh, seasonal ingredients. The lunch and dinner menus include cheese plates, small bites and entrees. The kitchen is open until midnight Monday - Saturday.

Visit our website for information about upcoming events including happy hour specials and wine events.

We look forward to seeing you soon. Cheers!

1526 Walnut St.
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 1:30am, Saturday: 4:00 pm - 1:30 am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
16th & Walnut

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 842-2660

Website:
http://www.tanninwinebar.com/

Catering:
Let us help plan your event in one of several areas of the restaurant perfect for entertaining guests. Whether planning a corporate event, holiday party, special occasion or anything in between, each event space is ideal for hosting sit down lunches and dinners, cocktail parties or wine tastings. We appreciate your consideration and look forward to providing an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Contact Barry Tunnell with additional questions and availability. barryt@tanninwinebar.com | 816.842.2660

Parking Details:
A designated parking area is located to the south of the restaurant with access from Walnut Street. Convenient street parking is located along Walnut Street, Main Street, 16th Street, and 17th Street.

Executive Chef:
Pablo Muñoz-Sevilla

Private Party Facilities:
Let us help plan your event in one of several areas of the restaurant perfect for entertaining guests. Whether planning a corporate event, holiday party, special occasion or anything in between, each area is ideal for hosting sit down lunches and dinners, cocktail parties or wine tastings.

Private Party Contact:
Marci Fritz: (855) 752-6582

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tannin Wine Bar & Kitchen hosts monthly wine tastings and other special events throughout the year. View their website www.tanninwinebar.com for updates.

Interested in becoming a member of one of the 6 Tannin Wine Clubs? In addition to the wine locker, you receive one bottle of wine per month, free admission to monthly wine tastings and discounts when you dine at the restaurant. Email barryt@tanninwinebar.com for more information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (37)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Business Meals (14)
Casual (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
959 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

This was one of the best dining experiences we’ve ever had. The service was impeccable, the sommelier was informative and down to earth. The wine pairings gave us an elevated appreciation for the way wine and food can enhance each other. And I had the best ribeye of my life.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Always a perfect evening — delicious food and outstanding wine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was great and restaurant was really nice. We had a very bizarre server, he tried to charge us for an appetizer we didn't order and then reacted oddly when we asked about it on our bill. Would go again, but would just request a different server.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Always enjoy dinner at Tannin. We often sit at the bar, but no matter where you sit the menu is imaginative and the service great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great neighborhood hangout or special date spit. The staff is excellent. Nice urban feel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

bland food
bad service
tiny portions
overpriced

this place has gone down hill. save your money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Awesome server, great date night stop before a concert! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

As always great service, food and wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

We were wowed again at Tannin. We decided to stop in for a bite on our Anniversary, and we were not disappointed. We were promptly seated, congratulated on our anniversary, and given a glass of bubbly (quite good by the way) as a compliment. Our small plates and dessert were amazing as usual. I wish we had decided to come back for the second night in a row!

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We love Tannin. Our favorite date night spot. Great wine list and advise. Excellent food and service. Can't miss.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Always Tannins wine selection great Barry manager always helpful on wine choices
Staff very courteous, friendly and professional

Tags: Bar Seating, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We have been to Tannin now multiple times. This restaurant has an incredible atmosphere and ambiance. The menu is very well thought out and quite tasty. If you like, they have a tasting menu that is either 3 course or 4 course and can be paired with 1/2 glass of wine or full glass of wine for a very reasonable price. They have quite an extensive wine menu and one of the largest by the glass menu's I have yet seen. The director of wine, Barry, is extremely well versed in all the wines they serve at the restaurant and will give explicit details about the wine, region it is from, the climate, and what to look for when you taste the wine. Even when Barry is not available, he has adequately prepared his staff with the knowledge of the wines to assist in choosing just the right wine for your meal. The service is well above average and the chefs are willing to accommodate any special needs. All I can say is, if you haven't tried this restaurant in the Crossroad you need to get down there and give it a try.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 14, 2017

There were 3 of us, one of whom is a bit hearing impaired. We asked for a booth first, but there was a large group and it was noisy at that table. Our hostess was accommodating, and allowed us to check out another indoor table, but the noise level was still significant so we opted for an outdoor table. There was music, but per our request it was turned down and a more quiet musical genre was tuned in. The service was good, as was the wine, though the parmesan "tart" two of us ordered was dry and flavorless (and not a tart, more like small biscuits). It was one of my companion's birthday, and we were brought a taste of champagne in celebration which was a nice touch. Overall, it was a very good experience, and enjoyable ambiance. I will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Awesome food and awesome service, very romantic setting.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great wine, food, service and atmosphere. Lovely evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food and even better wine. The sommelier was VERY knowledgeable!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The young lady who brought us water refills was right on the money, every time. The food was good, although the appetizer we had (grilled plate) seemed to consist of mostly brussel sprout shells (hard outer layer) than anything else. Could have used more white sauce as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was one of the best meals I have had in Kansas City.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The wagyu burger was phenomenal! Liked being able to order tasting sizes of wine so you could try more than one.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We have dined at Tannins before and always have enjoyed the atmosphere and service. Quaint and eclectic. Food was excellent. As was the wine selection. Our waitress was very interesting explaining the wine, processes etc.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and the service was excellent. They had an extensive wine list and their semmelier even came to our table to discuss some specific options. Along with dinner we ordered one of their excellent cheese trays and it was plentiful and delicious.
This was our first time here and we can't wait to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Good ambience and service. Food good but overpriced; great selection of wines but pours were small for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Another great experience at a,great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Jim is undoubtedly one of the best servers in Kansas City and makes everyone feel welcome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

We had the private room in the back. Very nice. Food was fine. Service was very slow. Our group was large. There should have been 2 waiters to handle the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Low key comfortable atmosphere, nice timing and visually appealing food service, attentive but not overbearing service, and one of the more accessible and easygoing sommeliers I've met

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 27, 2017

My wife and I had a very nice dinner here, before a concert, and the food was good and very well prepared. The fish was cooked to perfection, which seems to be hard for a lot of restaurants these days.
I was impressed with the wine options by the glass, since they had about 30 wines available. I was a little skeptical, that you could have that many wines open by the glass, before many of them get rather tired, especially during the week. Their were many wines I had never heard of, and I usually go to those, and sure enough, the wine tasted like it had been opened for a number of days. However, I was allowed to order another one, after receiving a sample of my next pick. So, it all worked out well. I think the pricing on the wine is rather high, especially by the bottle. However, whenever I go to a wine bar, I usually order the tastings, so I can get to taste several wines.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent wine selection- and tastes, glasses or bottles are offered. The food is well-prepared and very tasty!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Took quite awhile for our lunch to arrive at the table (longer than 30 mins) and we were the only ones there (table of 4).

Our waitress was friendly and introduced herself, but another gentleman assisted and was quite awkward without informing us he was assisting our waitress (not even a mention of a name).

A little noisy/overhead music for a business meeting. I'd stick with happy hour at this location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The electricity was out so we could not get any food that needed to be cooked. We got BOGO bottle of wine and 2 cheese trays and our bill was over $100. we are still debating on ever going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our waiter, Jim, was superior. We were under a time crunch, due to needing to be at a wedding, and Jim was extremely accommodating to us. His wine recommendations were excellent. My date and I are both vegan, and we very much enjoyed the succotash and the roasted brussels sprouts and mushrooms dish.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food and drink options! Have been many times and the menu changes with the season.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our server was excellent. Everyone enjoyed their wine choices, and Tannin's wine list is incredible. Everyone enjoyed their food. We were surprised how noisy the restaurant/bar due to a large after-work happy hour group that kept going way past happy hour. It was so noisy that it was difficult to carry on a conversation at our table at the opposite end of the room. Not sure if it's always this noisy, but I would recommend asking for a table in the back room if coming in for a mid-week dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The wine and service experiences I have had at Tannin in the past have always been fantastic, but the food, though good, wasn't on the same level. That has changed. One of the best dining experiences I have had this year. Simply superb, and the service was world class. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I ordered the ahi tuna and it was fantastic. The service was also excellent and the wine list was quite good. I'd definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Sunday night half price wine bottles was a plus. The cheese board is always good. Fresh food and good service. Tannin is always a good choice. The burger is really good! We will be back.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great cheese and amazing wine selection! Food was outstanding as well. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Potato chips with olives and crab dip that was fishy. Felt like it was ran by college freshmans. Debbie Downer face.....

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I would recommend Tannin's over and over again. The tasting menu paired with wine is most excellent. The gouda cheese plate was excellent.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.