About Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen

1526 Walnut St.
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Tannin Wine Bar & Kitchen is your local, urban destination located in the Crossroads Art District, just 2 blocks away from the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Enjoy a glass of wine from the "well researched and extensive" wine list. We offer wines by the taste, glass or bottle to satisfy everyone’s palate.

Our cuisine features fresh, seasonal ingredients. The lunch and dinner menus include cheese plates, small bites and entrees. The kitchen is open until midnight Monday - Saturday.

Visit our website for information about upcoming events including happy hour specials and wine events.

We look forward to seeing you soon. Cheers!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 1:30am, Saturday: 4:00 pm - 1:30 am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
16th & Walnut

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 842-2660

Website:
http://www.tanninwinebar.com/

Catering:
Let us help plan your event in one of several areas of the restaurant perfect for entertaining guests. Whether planning a corporate event, holiday party, special occasion or anything in between, each event space is ideal for hosting sit down lunches and dinners, cocktail parties or wine tastings. We appreciate your consideration and look forward to providing an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Contact Barry Tunnell with additional questions and availability. barryt@tanninwinebar.com | 816.842.2660

Parking Details:
A designated parking area is located to the south of the restaurant with access from Walnut Street. Convenient street parking is located along Walnut Street, Main Street, 16th Street, and 17th Street.

Executive Chef:
Brian Aaron

Private Party Facilities:
Let us help plan your event in one of several areas of the restaurant perfect for entertaining guests. Whether planning a corporate event, holiday party, special occasion or anything in between, each area is ideal for hosting sit down lunches and dinners, cocktail parties or wine tastings.

Private Party Contact:
Marci Fritz: (855) 752-6582

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tannin Wine Bar & Kitchen hosts monthly wine tastings and other special events throughout the year. View their website www.tanninwinebar.com for updates.

Interested in becoming a member of one of the 6 Tannin Wine Clubs? In addition to the wine locker, you receive one bottle of wine per month, free admission to monthly wine tastings and discounts when you dine at the restaurant. Email barryt@tanninwinebar.com for more information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tannin Wine Bar and Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (34)
Good for a Date (26)
Romantic (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Happy Hour (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Business Meals (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Cozy (9)
Casual (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Authentic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Private Room (4)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
877 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Seemed overpriced. If there's a Groupon, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Seemed overpriced. If there's a Groupon, use that. The wine selection is amazing but the food was ok and pricey. The dessert was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a great time for our anniversary. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a great time for our anniversary. The server was very knowledgeable on the wines and made great recommendations. We dine here several times a year and have yet to be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an enjoyable experience, the new ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always an enjoyable experience, the new menu is a welcome freshening up of a great neighborhood hang out. Dining room service is always attentive and welcoming.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was a Valentine's date, actually ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was a Valentine's date, actually our first one. I had dinner here two summers ago and the food was amazing. Our dinner for Valentine's was not amazing...I was some what disappointed. I could have done better for half the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved it! My husband took me to Tannin ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Loved it! My husband took me to Tannin for an early Valentines Day. Service was fabulous! Food was fabulous! Wine pairing, spot- on. We enjoyed the opportunity to linger over several courses. Leftovers were not just boxed, but care was taken to also wrap in plastic to keep fresh. We will return to Tannin!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Tannin for the small plates in p ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love Tannin for the small plates in particular. The peanut butter cookie Elvis style is amazing. It is a must try.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was an incredible asset to an ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our server was an incredible asset to an already delicious dinner. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for dinner and everything from t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for dinner and everything from the service to the food and wine selection were great

Highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tapas, , Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love Tannin for "pre-theatre" ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We always love Tannin for "pre-theatre" nights. Enjoy the appetizer menu and wine selections. Servers are all fabulous! Keep them!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Organic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tannin is always friendly and warm. The ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Tannin is always friendly and warm. The food is great. Service is prompt and they remember your tastes and preferences. A wonderful place for date night or dinner with friends. You will be happy you made this choice.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends ordered salmon and said it taste ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Friends ordered salmon and said it tasted like salmon with tomato sauce on it, very bland. My entrée was cold when served. Very busy for Restaurant Week, they needed to plan better, service was slow, restaurant was crowded. I would only return for a glass of wine, I will not be dining here in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Always enjoy the fantastic wine pairings ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always enjoy the fantastic wine pairings. Barry, the sommelier, provides thoughtful and unique selections, and always explains why he's chosen plus background on the wineries and vintages. Went for restaurant week and thoroughly enjoyed all three courses with pairings.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this place! Went for Restaurant Wee ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Love this place! Went for Restaurant Week and they did a great job promoting the event. Loved the half glass wine pairings with each course. Classy place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the beef cheeks!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Loved the beef cheeks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cheese Board - For $20, I expected a lot ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Cheese Board - For $20, I expected a lot more. The server who brought it didn't know what cheese was what and didn't think it was important enough to find out.

Service - We started with a server who was friendly and outgoing and delightful and then she got pulled off our table. We got a new server who was unfriendly and short, almost to the point of being rude. His way of asking what we would like to order was a single word, "Explain." His response to our orders was, "Understood." He brought nothing to the experience and seemed annoyed by our presence.

Food - It was fine. Nothing I would rush out to have again.

Overall - For 2 people spending $160, it was more than disappointing. We went in because of restaurant week but ended up ordering everything off the full menu. $33 would have been an appropriate amount to spend on the quality of the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We went for restaurant week and loved it ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We went for restaurant week and loved it! We will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brooke (bartender) was phenomenal! Good ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Brooke (bartender) was phenomenal! Good is exceptional! Our server (never shared her name) was awful. One of the worst ever. Spilling water, rude, short, impersonal and annoyed by having to serve customers. I will return because Jim and Brooke did a great job of being hospitable which overshadowed our servers bad attitude and lack of service skills.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

I went there Saturday night and everythi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I went there Saturday night and everything was EXCELLENT. The food, wine and service were top-notch! I highly recommend.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very marginal at best consideri ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Food was very marginal at best considering the price. I will never eat there again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

My favorite place to sit and enjoy wine. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My favorite place to sit and enjoy wine. Always knowledgeable staff and wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The duck confit was sensational.

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The duck confit was sensational.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The whole evening was wonderful. Everyth ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The whole evening was wonderful. Everything was great. Service prompt and timely. All the food excellent. The wine pairings matched the food very well. Everyone was happy. It a fabulous New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at the restaurant was fan ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our experience at the restaurant was fantastic, unfortunately, I got food poisoning from something I ate. Hence, I probably won't be returning and have a hard time recommending. Also, was a bit stunned to see that the 4 course tasting menu was nearly double the price on NYE. Would have been nice to know that in advance.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful place; expensive wine by the g ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beautiful place; expensive wine by the glass but great selection; out of eight, only half of us liked the food and one person in our party received the wrong entree; I called ahead to make sure the regular menu was available, I was told yes, then we arrived to a limited menu. The special, limited menu for New Year's Eve said "Daily Happy Hour from 4-6" and they would not honor the happy hour pricing when we asked. Won't be going back.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The food was good - fresh ingredients an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was good - fresh ingredients and healthy options. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wine. If you are looking a a nice place to go for a special occasion this is a great option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The wine list is impressive and the appe ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The wine list is impressive and the appetizers are delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We were visiting on Christmas Eve so did ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were visiting on Christmas Eve so did not know the area well and went on the recommendation of a friend. We got the burger and some appetizers that were great. Sat at the bar and everyone who waited on us was wonderful. Gave great suggestions both about what to order and things to do around town. Would totally go back and recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, waiter picked up on f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent service, waiter picked up on fact we had a show to go to because we were dining early. Waiter recommended a nice burgundybwine which wasn't too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tannin's is like Cheers except there is ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Tannin's is like Cheers except there is No Norm. Barry Tunnell does a fantastic job of researching wines and always having great wines at a great price.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, , Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was sweet and attentive. It w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The server was sweet and attentive. It was our 15th anniversary and they provided an extra special touch to the end of our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I love Tannin, and go there frequently, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I love Tannin, and go there frequently, as I work for the Symphony. I recently had an exceptional dinner experience there (December 16). The octopus was fantastic. I was also given a bit of my dinner companion's burger - perfectly medium rare and delicious.

Because of that delicious burger, I immediately scheduled a business lunch on December 20. My four associates and I all ordered the burger, as I told them it was the best in town. When the burgers came out, only one of us had a tomato on our burger. Mine was well-done, when I had ordered medium rare. The nature of the meeting did not lend itself to sending food back or complaining at the time; however, it was very disappointing, and surprising (given all my other Tannin experiences).

A couple colleagues of mine went to Tannin today for lunch and had a similarly negative experience. I wonder: Is there a new cook being trained during weekday lunches? Or, is there simply a different cook that works the lunch shift.

As I said, I love Tannin. I hope to have many great experiences there in the future. I hope that this review spurs some positive adjustments.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Nice place for a quiet dinner after atte ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Nice place for a quiet dinner after attending a performance at Kauffman.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a fabulous waiter!! Our meals wer ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a fabulous waiter!! Our meals were slow in coming and our waiter poured us extra wine and comped our dessert. Great service and customer care! Can't wait to return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was probably the best meal I've eve ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This was probably the best meal I've ever had. Wonderful experience from start to finish.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive and limited menu. Waited for s ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Expensive and limited menu. Waited for server too long to take our order.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a great time. Service was amazing ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We had a great time. Service was amazing and friendly food was great and great wine. Will defiantly good back.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great experience at Tannin. I hear ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Had a great experience at Tannin. I heard they had consulted with a top local chef to upgrade the menu. I really enjoyed my salmon entree and a great Argentinian Malbec. The service was great and I loved the atmosphere. Their wine list is quite extensive!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have the best server named Dan at Tan ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have the best server named Dan at Tannin that we always ask for. He makes us feel like royalty. Great suggestions on food & cocktails/wine. Our dinners usually last about 3 to 4 hours because we don't want to leave! Great Place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Cozy, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was awesome and the food and win ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Service was awesome and the food and wine pairings we spectacular !

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine pour was a little slim. Menu choic ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Wine pour was a little slim. Menu choices were ok, but not extensive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.