About TanakaSan

2121 6th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

TanakaSan is a modern American Asian restaurant. Eric Tanaka's background as a Japanese-American kid growing up in LA's melting pot sets the tone for our playful menu. This is the food that satisfies our cravings. We hope you enjoy eating it as much as we enjoy cooking it.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Dinner: M-Th 3:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 3:00pm-11:00am
Dinner: Sun 3:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lenora

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 812-8412

Website:
http://www.tanakasanseattle.com/

Executive Chef:
Melissa Martz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

TanakaSan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Groups (14)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Special Occasion (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (4)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Romantic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Cozy (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was good, but the wait to get f ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was good, but the wait to get food seemed really long even though we sat right away (almost to the point of walking out). I think this was because there seemed to be only one server. I hate to knock a restaurant due to that because it isn't the guy's fault, he was really working hard. but they really could have used another person.

As far as the meal, that was very good. Dumplings were amazing. Loved the burger and the chicken katsu omelette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always a pleasure at Tom Douglas restaur ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always a pleasure at Tom Douglas restaurants. Great service, unique food always a good combo!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my first time writing a review, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

This is my first time writing a review, I normally don't... But I had such a great time, so I felt like I needed to. The food was great, but the service was above and beyond. Jett was amazing. We were out of town (visiting from Philadelphia), but he made us feel right at home.

As for the food, you have try their wings and tuna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a Tom Douglas gift card and wante ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We had a Tom Douglas gift card and wanted to try one of his restaurants we had not visited before. Food was delicious with bold flavors, creative, and colorful. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience! The service was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great dining experience! The service was excellent, the suggestions were spot on, and the food was delicious! We couldn't ask for a better evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

TanakaSan had a great atmosphere and the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

TanakaSan had a great atmosphere and the food was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting design concept--a movable fe ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Interesting design concept--a movable feast in Tom Douglas's constellation of dining experiences in Seattle. Everything was delicious. Our server provided valuable guidance about portion size (a "small plate" serves two--larger than expected). She was extremely gracious. The coconut beef is utterly and completely soul satisfying.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a great time at TanakaSan. The se ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a great time at TanakaSan. The setting was attractive, and the food was outstanding. Our waiter did a great job of helping us understand what the right amount of food would be for us to share some plates. We walked away satisifed without being stuffed or leaving a lot behind. Because we were visiting from out of town, taking leftovers wasn't a good option.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lowsy food, over priced and nothing to r ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Lowsy food, over priced and nothing to recommend except nice setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

We had a very nice father's day dinner. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had a very nice father's day dinner. Our party had a variety of food needs and everyone found something they liked. We like the unusual and different choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

TanaksSan is my wife and I's favorite pl ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

TanaksSan is my wife and I's favorite place for high quality comfort food. With their new menu to change to smaller plates and more choices, I can see us going to TanakaSan more often. The Carmel Chicken Wings are a must order every time and the new dumplings are fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great sevice and food. Carlie anticipate ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great sevice and food. Carlie anticipated our every need!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've been to this place several times a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We've been to this place several times and the each time was excellent save for this last time.

The time it took for our food to be served was ridiculous (Tanaka San was not busy at 5PM Sunday).

Our apps took 30 minutes to arrive and our entrees well over 50 minutes.

We gave ourselves 1 hr 45 minutes to get to our movie and our food just arrived too late to get to the movie.

I'll always, always, always come back for the wings (No doubt the best in the city but they are over 2 dollars/wing). But with the wait time we had I'm unsure if I'd provide Tanaka San with the glowing recommendations I've provided in the past.

Our server was nice but the kitchen just didn't push our food out and our server could've done a better job of managing our expectations when it come to the arrival of our food. When a server says "Wings should be out soon." I expect a 5 minute arrival and not 20.

But the food and drinks were bomb. Like I said....best wings in the city. And who doesn't love the Summer Snow Cap?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was terrible - overcooked, poor pre ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was terrible - overcooked, poor presentation, over spiced. Wannabe fusion but failed as blend of Korean, Japanese and Chinese. Skip this one when on Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

Great service, great space, almost great food

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I really enjoyed my hiro double beef burger but the fries that came with it were heavily coated in seasoning that removed any delicious savoriness, umami, that you would typically associate with fries and replaced it with sweetness, and not the kind of sweetness that you would even associate with even a sweep potato fry. Otherwise it was a great meal with great service! Also really enjoyed their local craft beer IPA on tap.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I had lunch there and it was interesting ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I had lunch there and it was interesting and food was good. But dinner was expensive, the food was only marginally eatable and service so-so. I was surprised, but mostly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Have yet to be disappointed here. Alway ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Have yet to be disappointed here. Always flavourful food and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went to try out 15 restaurant week dea ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

I went to try out 15 restaurant week deal. Had tofu plate and miso soup. This place is a fusion not authentic. I would say authentic Asian foods are always better. Sometimes, you wanna mess with traditional stuff cause it seem boring but it's just too different. I wanted my sauce to be more liquids not thick peanut saucy. I ended up making wraps with noodles and veggies. The herbs were heavy on the shiso leafs. This dish is inspired by vermicelli Vietnamese style. I preferred that not this. But, you do get more veggies here it seems and no fish sauce flavors. If you have strong dislike of authentic Asian foods, they can be strong, this place suits you fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The chicken wings are the best in town, ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The chicken wings are the best in town, the crunch and flavoring are perfect. Loved the texture of the rice cakes as well. The main dishes for Seattle Restaurant week were very good, mu husband loved the beef and I enjoyed the salmon. Lots of texture and great flavor combinations again. I thought the desserts could be tweaked just a bit, but my friends liked that the panna cotta was light yet delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

What the heeeezy?

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

If you are looking for overpriced and over-rated Asian-American served in small portions with an extravagant ambiance, Tanakasan is the place to go! My husband and I went and it was alright. Honestly, save your money and venture out to the International district for some great food, great price and fantastic serving portions. If you want the American twist added to the Asian part, Panda Express is better. :)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Outstanding Experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

My parents were visiting from out of state and my mom's cousin and her husband came down from Vancouver, BC to spend the night. My uncle had also come up from CA. Tanaka San was the perfect place to have everyone meet up and have a wonderful meal in a lovely environment with amazingly patient service (thanks again, David)!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and Innovative

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Interesting asian fusion menu. The crispy chicken wings were wonderful. Was intrigued by the sake slushies, but didn't try them. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Nice spot to meet up!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Great location and atmosphere, portions were small albeit good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

SERIOUSLY loved this place!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

My friend visiting from East coast wanted Seattle's best Asian fusion. We got a variety of small plates as well as sake flights. All of the apps were great- especially the dumplings and osaka pancake. We liked the dumplings so much that we ordered a second round of them. I really appreciated learning about sake from the bartender as well. It was an altogether delicious meal with great atmosphere and fantastic smiling servers. We will be back! Soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just okay overall, food needs work...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The overall ambience of the restaurant was great- especially with some good coffee at Assembly afterwards. However, the food really needs a little work. We ordered quite a few items: coconut beef, fried rice, chicken wings, ramen for the kids, tuna tartare, and some pickle/kimchee appetizers.

- The beef was extremely salty, we could taste the coconut milk which was good with some white rice but it seems to have been prepared with too much fish sauce - they need to just ease up on the sauce and it would be much improved.

- The chicken wings also needed to have less fish sauce as well in the marinade. It was too salty for any Thai styled typed wings; more heat should be added but really cut down on the salt.

- The tuna tartare was probably our least favorite. The fish and sauce combination just didn't fit well together and not complementing to one another.

- As for the kids Ramen, it seemed to be quite bland. The soup did not have any rich or complex flavors in it. It seemed to just be shoyu type ramen (soup and noodles only) and nothing else - even some bean sprouts or eggs would have added some texture.

- The last part was the fried rice. This was okay, not salty but good enough. Maybe add in a hint of salty fish or dried scallops and that would punch it up without adding too much liquid sauce for flavor.

We won't be heading back here again in the short term, I think the menu needs some work and/or the kitchen staff really needs to try out the food before sending it over to the customers!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

The food was amazing. We loved the cocon ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was amazing. We loved the coconut beef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Apps and drink list

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

This is my third visit and the food continues to be excellent. The wait staff helpful with selections and recommended portions. It was a little noisy but still able to carry on a conversation. I would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Godzilla Bar at TanakaSan

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

The Godzilla Bar at TanakaSan is a great lunch spot! Most of ordered the Bento Box option where we were served the perfect sized lunch leaving us full and happy. Highly recommend the seared yellowfin tuna option!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The host was super accommodating of our ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The host was super accommodating of our party, even when we outgrew our original reservation unexpectedly. The bottle of champagne we wanted at first, but the waitress made a great alternative recommendation. We shared a whole bunch of smaller plates, tasting menu style, and everything was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Tasty asian fusion dishes

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was delicious. I had the mackerel (Saba) in the Kim Chee sauce and my wife had the beef. Both were tasty. Parking is not validated. 4 Tom Douglas restaurants next to each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointing

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Comments sent directly to restaurant with private note. See below.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

best sushi in seattle.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We took our son here for his birthday, and it was aMAZing. Very expensive but worth it. The folks who run it are so sweet and helpful, beautiful manners, and the sushi was just incredible. Really imaginative menu and dishes that tempt the eye and tickle the pallet . Go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coconut Beef a must!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

My husband and I ate here 6 months ago so I recommended it when 3 college roomies got together recently. We all had the Coconut Beef and it is fabulous! They really enjoyed the vegetable drinks also. Great place to eat for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good waiter with some good suggestions. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

Good waiter with some good suggestions. Would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It's ok.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

I've eaten at TanakaSan three times and, unfortunately, each time has been disappointing. While the ambiance and service is always great, the food is so-so. I can easily find more tasty food in less expensive and less hyped locations. My guests seemed to agree - we all ordered different items and none of us finished our lunch. Back to the service though - the server noticed the barely-touched soup and took it off the check. TanakaSan is fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Turning into a favorite!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

This was our second visit to TanakaSan. Great place to share different items on the menu with friends or family in an effort to try more of their creative dishes. Everything dish we have tried so far has been delish! Also an interesting and relative drink menu that includes a choice of Asian whiskey. Service is attentive (but not overly) and accommodating and the setting is simple yet interesting.

We love this location as it is a great place to visit before or after a jazz show (across the street for Jazz Alley) and is only 2 blocks from the Seattle shopping scene. We will be back and plan to continue share this spot with friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My favorite Tom Douglas restaurant

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

We love Tanakasan and especially like sitting at the chefs bar. It's fun to watch them prepare foods as we order. This time I hit Yelp to check recent reviews and found diners raving about the Coconut Beef and Osaka pancake. We had these and true to reviews, both were wonderful.

I don't think the wine selection has ever been good here (should be featuring more local wines), so this time we tried the hot sake with amomatic seasoning (nice if you like something hot) and the chilled Ruby Red sake slushy (great!).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great meal at a Tom Douglas joint

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Had dinner on New Year's Day here. Been here a bunch before. Best thing this trip was the Osaka pancake. Found the salt-caramel twice-fried chicken wings to be much spicier than usual. I would normally have liked that but had some canker sore problems so I skipped them beyond one bite. Great octopus dish I hadn't had before and I love octopus. Our drinks were good and the service was the usual excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Restaurant

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Complex, fusion, so many choices! Rice cakes, unique bento boxes (pork adobo was amazing, salmon more average), coconut beef and Osaka pancakes (okonomiyaki) all great.

Will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

More than sushi

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Don't forget to try the rice cakes: so fabulous! Lots of options for non-meat eaters

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.