Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

TanakaSan

4.5
213 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Asian
Perfect For:
  • Casual
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Great for Lunch
TanakaSan is a modern American Asian restaurant. Eric Tanaka's background as a Japanese-American kid growing up in LA's melting pot sets the tone for our playful menu. This is the food that satisfies our cravings. We hope you enjoy eating it as much as we enjoy cooking it.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Asian, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: M-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Dinner: M-Th 3:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 3:00pm-11:00am
Dinner: Sun 3:00pm-9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(206) 812-8412
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Melissa Martz
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lenora
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 213 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Great eating place!! This place has the best kimchi mackerel soup.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Very good food and drinks! Recommend and we will return....

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 13, 2018

It’s frustrating when tip is included yet service was so poor. It was a busy night, so our server only stopped by once to check on us. We sat there for over an hour waiting for water and drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We wanted to try everything. Wonderful dining experience. Try the veggie balls and crispy wings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Happy Hour Chicken wings and spicy tuna dip were really good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Amazing food!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great for the entire family!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Service a bit slow?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

I went for lunch for my 50th birthday. The manager and waitress couldn’t have been nicer. The food and ambiance is excellent. And it’s right across from the Amazon Spheres. Very cool view out their front windows.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The food was ok. I’ve had way better in seattle at those price points but I heard the lunch service is best. The cocktails were good. I’ll be back for lunch but probably not dinner. Servers were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Our server was excellent!! So knowledgeable and so tuned in. The birthday dessert was an over the top surprise. Will return soon, no question!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

It was clear the menu and ambiance are targeted to the Amazon employees in the area.
The booth seats are the most uncomfortable I've ever encountered, and my lower back was killing me by the time we left. I had the bento box, which was mostly good, but the salmon serving was small and a little bit dry. We ordered a roasted carrot salad to share which was unbelievably delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Ordered too many dishes but all were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Menu is extremely inventive and lively. Loved this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 1, 2018

I've eaten here off and on over the past few years and it was pretty good. This time I was disappointed. My guest and I had bento boxes. There was nothing exciting about mine which featured a small piece of grilled salmon. I felt short-changed considering the price. If you want a bento box, go to a Japanese restaurant.
The service was excellent and it should be since Tom Douglas tacks on an automatic 20% tip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2018

So much fun. Very casual. Wings and Japanese whisky - that’s all I’m gonna say.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

So much fun. Very casual. Lots of small plates. Great for a relaxing meal. The chicken wings were unbelievable. So good that we ordered more again. People there were so friendly. Definitely on the list for a return visit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2016

The beef curry was amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 26, 2016

TanakaSan is always excellent in terms of variety, service and excellence!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 21, 2016

Fun menu for dine around Seattle. Great place for our 11-year old who loves Asian, spicy and innovative cooking!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 19, 2016

Another brilliant meal at TanakaSan. Not a single wasted calorie. GO there. Ask to be seated in Margaret's section...she gets it. Then order the two drinks that we had a Sanjuro and a Suntory Time. Both were amazing. Get the Salty Caramel Wings. There is nothing like them anywhere. Best wings ever. Fried twice, eaten once...quickly. When ordering entrées, have the House Spaghetti with 5 spice meat sauce and the Coconut Beef. Both were amazing. And if it's still fall, try the incredible delicata squash. So good, you can call it your dessert. If you still feel thirsty after your drink, tap into the dang! citra ipa from Hellbent brewery. It was delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2016

The kitchen serves up an excellent variety of flavors and aromas. Go with a group of friends and share a number of plates to experience that variety. Four of us shared seven small plates (which might have been one too many), and the only disappointment was the salmon. The fish was excellent, but the seasoning was so mild in comparison to the other dishes that it got lost on the plate. If you order it, ask for it to be brought first.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2016

Incredible food! The chicken wings are to die for-super crispy and amazing depth of flavor. The okonimiyaki is a must order too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2016

I attended as part of Dine Around Seattle. The service was really great and felt real, caring, and relaxed. The food was awesome and a great value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2016

Bento box lunch was delicious !! So impressed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 6, 2016

Great "Dine Around" spot. Interesting and delicious choices. We ordered the "wine flight" and loved tasting three different wines that all pair well with Asian flavors. Our Nepali relative loved the condiments in jars on the table so she could make her dish as spicy as she wanted (way too spicy for us Americans!) All the dishes were packed full of flavor and were so interesting and unique. We've been before but its been too long. We will be back again soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 4, 2016

I loved Tanakasan. Great drinks and great service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 2, 2016

Service was spectacular and good was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2016

The flavors and combinations are incredible and the service is excellent!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 25, 2016

Very nice place, little pricey, but okay. Also, more vegan options please. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 18, 2016

This was my 10th visit to tanakasan, and by far the worst experience. The usually delicious and crisp wings had a chewy crust and were soggy with oil. Everything else was mediocre, which is fine for most lunch places but not at this price. The restaurant was full well staffed, yet service was unusually slow and inefficient. They should really well-practiced at delivering a great lunch given their proximity to the Amazon campus. Good thing I booked two hours for lunch, I needed every minute. Best to come on weekends, when the business is slow and everything else is hopefully perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 16, 2016

We had AWESOME service and the food was excellent!! The portions were large, so we got "take home bags" - no doggies were going to eat these leftovers!! I asked my son's girlfriend to pick a restaurant so we could take them out to celebrate her new job in Seattle.They had been there before, but I never had. I was "over the moon" impressed from start to finish!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 12, 2016

Appetizer and Dessert were really good (curry potstickers and coconut sorbet) but entree was a joke (salmon rice bowl) because salmon was overcooked and was an appetizer size of salmon, really?
Disappointing was the busy waiter and the 20% automatic tip included. I expect pretty good service if you will do that.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was good however not what I was expecting for the cost. I would have preferred that familiar menu items be called what they are ("caramelized coconut beef" is panang beef). I would have ordered something more unique. The beef was very salty as was the shishito pepper appetizer.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was fantastic. We shared a bunch of small plates and appetizers. The Osaka pancake was devine! The service left a lot to be desired, especially since it wasn't even a full restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 28, 2016

Great venue for team event! The salted caramel wings were awesome! Everyone enjoyed the mezzanine area with the activities!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 25, 2016

Sharing dishes is good so that you can try many things. Dishes are creative Japanese dishes, opposed to authentic Japanese food.

I ordered salad sprinkled with red peppers. As seeds were left, some bites too hot.

Service and ambiance were excellent. I wish they had more smaller dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2016

Love this restaurant. The service has always been great, the food is fresh, and inventive without being pretentious. Great date place before the movies, symphony or a show.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was good, but the wait to get food seemed really long even though we sat right away (almost to the point of walking out). I think this was because there seemed to be only one server. I hate to knock a restaurant due to that because it isn't the guy's fault, he was really working hard. but they really could have used another person.

As far as the meal, that was very good. Dumplings were amazing. Loved the burger and the chicken katsu omelette.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2016

Always a pleasure at Tom Douglas restaurants. Great service, unique food always a good combo!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6