About TanakaSan

2121 6th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

TanakaSan is a modern American Asian restaurant. Eric Tanaka's background as a Japanese-American kid growing up in LA's melting pot sets the tone for our playful menu. This is the food that satisfies our cravings. We hope you enjoy eating it as much as we enjoy cooking it.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Dinner: M-Th 3:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 3:00pm-11:00am
Dinner: Sun 3:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lenora

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 812-8412

Website:
http://www.tanakasanseattle.com/

Executive Chef:
Melissa Martz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

TanakaSan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great for Lunch (10)
See All
Business Meals (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Fun (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (8)
Family Style (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Spicy (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Vegan (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Romantic (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

TanakaSan is always excellent in terms o ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

TanakaSan is always excellent in terms of variety, service and excellence!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun menu for dine around Seattle. Great ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Fun menu for dine around Seattle. Great place for our 11-year old who loves Asian, spicy and innovative cooking!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Another brilliant meal at TanakaSan. Not ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Another brilliant meal at TanakaSan. Not a single wasted calorie. GO there. Ask to be seated in Margaret's section...she gets it. Then order the two drinks that we had a Sanjuro and a Suntory Time. Both were amazing. Get the Salty Caramel Wings. There is nothing like them anywhere. Best wings ever. Fried twice, eaten once...quickly. When ordering entrées, have the House Spaghetti with 5 spice meat sauce and the Coconut Beef. Both were amazing. And if it's still fall, try the incredible delicata squash. So good, you can call it your dessert. If you still feel thirsty after your drink, tap into the dang! citra ipa from Hellbent brewery. It was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Spicy, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The kitchen serves up an excellent varie ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The kitchen serves up an excellent variety of flavors and aromas. Go with a group of friends and share a number of plates to experience that variety. Four of us shared seven small plates (which might have been one too many), and the only disappointment was the salmon. The fish was excellent, but the seasoning was so mild in comparison to the other dishes that it got lost on the plate. If you order it, ask for it to be brought first.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Incredible food! The chicken wings are t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Incredible food! The chicken wings are to die for-super crispy and amazing depth of flavor. The okonimiyaki is a must order too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I attended as part of Dine Around Seattl ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I attended as part of Dine Around Seattle. The service was really great and felt real, caring, and relaxed. The food was awesome and a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bento box lunch was delicious !! So impr ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Bento box lunch was delicious !! So impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great "Dine Around" spot. Interesting an ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great "Dine Around" spot. Interesting and delicious choices. We ordered the "wine flight" and loved tasting three different wines that all pair well with Asian flavors. Our Nepali relative loved the condiments in jars on the table so she could make her dish as spicy as she wanted (way too spicy for us Americans!) All the dishes were packed full of flavor and were so interesting and unique. We've been before but its been too long. We will be back again soon!

Tags: Spicy, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved Tanakasan. Great drinks and grea ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I loved Tanakasan. Great drinks and great service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was spectacular and good was gre ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Service was spectacular and good was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The flavors and combinations are incredi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The flavors and combinations are incredible and the service is excellent!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place, little pricey, but okay ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Very nice place, little pricey, but okay. Also, more vegan options please. Thank you.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my 10th visit to tanakasan, and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This was my 10th visit to tanakasan, and by far the worst experience. The usually delicious and crisp wings had a chewy crust and were soggy with oil. Everything else was mediocre, which is fine for most lunch places but not at this price. The restaurant was full well staffed, yet service was unusually slow and inefficient. They should really well-practiced at delivering a great lunch given their proximity to the Amazon campus. Good thing I booked two hours for lunch, I needed every minute. Best to come on weekends, when the business is slow and everything else is hopefully perfect.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had AWESOME service and the food was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We had AWESOME service and the food was excellent!! The portions were large, so we got "take home bags" - no doggies were going to eat these leftovers!! I asked my son's girlfriend to pick a restaurant so we could take them out to celebrate her new job in Seattle.They had been there before, but I never had. I was "over the moon" impressed from start to finish!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Vegan, Healthy, Organic, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizer and Dessert were really good ( ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Appetizer and Dessert were really good (curry potstickers and coconut sorbet) but entree was a joke (salmon rice bowl) because salmon was overcooked and was an appetizer size of salmon, really?

Disappointing was the busy waiter and the 20% automatic tip included. I expect pretty good service if you will do that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was good however not what I was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was good however not what I was expecting for the cost. I would have preferred that familiar menu items be called what they are ("caramelized coconut beef" is panang beef). I would have ordered something more unique. The beef was very salty as was the shishito pepper appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was fantastic. We shared a bunc ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was fantastic. We shared a bunch of small plates and appetizers. The Osaka pancake was devine! The service left a lot to be desired, especially since it wasn't even a full restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Great venue for team event! The salted ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great venue for team event! The salted caramel wings were awesome! Everyone enjoyed the mezzanine area with the activities!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sharing dishes is good so that you can t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Sharing dishes is good so that you can try many things. Dishes are creative Japanese dishes, opposed to authentic Japanese food.

I ordered salad sprinkled with red peppers. As seeds were left, some bites too hot.

Service and ambiance were excellent. I wish they had more smaller dishes.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Love this restaurant. The service has al ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Love this restaurant. The service has always been great, the food is fresh, and inventive without being pretentious. Great date place before the movies, symphony or a show.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good, but the wait to get f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was good, but the wait to get food seemed really long even though we sat right away (almost to the point of walking out). I think this was because there seemed to be only one server. I hate to knock a restaurant due to that because it isn't the guy's fault, he was really working hard. but they really could have used another person.

As far as the meal, that was very good. Dumplings were amazing. Loved the burger and the chicken katsu omelette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always a pleasure at Tom Douglas restaur ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always a pleasure at Tom Douglas restaurants. Great service, unique food always a good combo!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my first time writing a review, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2016

This is my first time writing a review, I normally don't... But I had such a great time, so I felt like I needed to. The food was great, but the service was above and beyond. Jett was amazing. We were out of town (visiting from Philadelphia), but he made us feel right at home.

As for the food, you have try their wings and tuna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a Tom Douglas gift card and wante ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 29, 2016

We had a Tom Douglas gift card and wanted to try one of his restaurants we had not visited before. Food was delicious with bold flavors, creative, and colorful. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience! The service was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great dining experience! The service was excellent, the suggestions were spot on, and the food was delicious! We couldn't ask for a better evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

TanakaSan had a great atmosphere and the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 10, 2016

TanakaSan had a great atmosphere and the food was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting design concept--a movable fe ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Interesting design concept--a movable feast in Tom Douglas's constellation of dining experiences in Seattle. Everything was delicious. Our server provided valuable guidance about portion size (a "small plate" serves two--larger than expected). She was extremely gracious. The coconut beef is utterly and completely soul satisfying.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a great time at TanakaSan. The se ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a great time at TanakaSan. The setting was attractive, and the food was outstanding. Our waiter did a great job of helping us understand what the right amount of food would be for us to share some plates. We walked away satisifed without being stuffed or leaving a lot behind. Because we were visiting from out of town, taking leftovers wasn't a good option.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lowsy food, over priced and nothing to r ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Lowsy food, over priced and nothing to recommend except nice setting.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

We had a very nice father's day dinner. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had a very nice father's day dinner. Our party had a variety of food needs and everyone found something they liked. We like the unusual and different choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

TanaksSan is my wife and I's favorite pl ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2016

TanaksSan is my wife and I's favorite place for high quality comfort food. With their new menu to change to smaller plates and more choices, I can see us going to TanakaSan more often. The Carmel Chicken Wings are a must order every time and the new dumplings are fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great sevice and food. Carlie anticipate ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great sevice and food. Carlie anticipated our every need!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've been to this place several times a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We've been to this place several times and the each time was excellent save for this last time.

The time it took for our food to be served was ridiculous (Tanaka San was not busy at 5PM Sunday).

Our apps took 30 minutes to arrive and our entrees well over 50 minutes.

We gave ourselves 1 hr 45 minutes to get to our movie and our food just arrived too late to get to the movie.

I'll always, always, always come back for the wings (No doubt the best in the city but they are over 2 dollars/wing). But with the wait time we had I'm unsure if I'd provide Tanaka San with the glowing recommendations I've provided in the past.

Our server was nice but the kitchen just didn't push our food out and our server could've done a better job of managing our expectations when it come to the arrival of our food. When a server says "Wings should be out soon." I expect a 5 minute arrival and not 20.

But the food and drinks were bomb. Like I said....best wings in the city. And who doesn't love the Summer Snow Cap?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was terrible - overcooked, poor pre ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was terrible - overcooked, poor presentation, over spiced. Wannabe fusion but failed as blend of Korean, Japanese and Chinese. Skip this one when on Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

Great service, great space, almost great food

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 29, 2016

I really enjoyed my hiro double beef burger but the fries that came with it were heavily coated in seasoning that removed any delicious savoriness, umami, that you would typically associate with fries and replaced it with sweetness, and not the kind of sweetness that you would even associate with even a sweep potato fry. Otherwise it was a great meal with great service! Also really enjoyed their local craft beer IPA on tap.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I had lunch there and it was interesting ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 22, 2016

I had lunch there and it was interesting and food was good. But dinner was expensive, the food was only marginally eatable and service so-so. I was surprised, but mostly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Have yet to be disappointed here. Alway ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Have yet to be disappointed here. Always flavourful food and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went to try out 15 restaurant week dea ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 21, 2016

I went to try out 15 restaurant week deal. Had tofu plate and miso soup. This place is a fusion not authentic. I would say authentic Asian foods are always better. Sometimes, you wanna mess with traditional stuff cause it seem boring but it's just too different. I wanted my sauce to be more liquids not thick peanut saucy. I ended up making wraps with noodles and veggies. The herbs were heavy on the shiso leafs. This dish is inspired by vermicelli Vietnamese style. I preferred that not this. But, you do get more veggies here it seems and no fish sauce flavors. If you have strong dislike of authentic Asian foods, they can be strong, this place suits you fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The chicken wings are the best in town, ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2016

The chicken wings are the best in town, the crunch and flavoring are perfect. Loved the texture of the rice cakes as well. The main dishes for Seattle Restaurant week were very good, mu husband loved the beef and I enjoyed the salmon. Lots of texture and great flavor combinations again. I thought the desserts could be tweaked just a bit, but my friends liked that the panna cotta was light yet delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

What the heeeezy?

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2016

If you are looking for overpriced and over-rated Asian-American served in small portions with an extravagant ambiance, Tanakasan is the place to go! My husband and I went and it was alright. Honestly, save your money and venture out to the International district for some great food, great price and fantastic serving portions. If you want the American twist added to the Asian part, Panda Express is better. :)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.