About Tableau

Located in the heart of the French Quarter, on the corner of Jackson Square, Tableau is Dickie Brennan's latest production and features Louisiana Creole dishes prepared by talented chef, John Martin and his equally talented culinary team. Look for traditional Creole dishes with an updated approach. Enjoy courtyard dining, as well as balcony dining with some of the best views in the Quarter.

616 St Peter St
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Contemporary French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday
11:00am - 'til

Saturday - Sunday
10:00am - 'til

Weekend Brass Band Brunch
10:00am - 2:30pm

Happy Hour
Daily
2:00pm - 6:00pm

Tableau is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. Brunch is served Saturday and Sunday.

Cross Street:
Chartres

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 934-3463

Website:
http://www.tableaufrenchquarter.com/

Entertainment:
Live Brass Band Brunch on Saturday and Sunday.

Tableau's neighboring theater, Le Petit Theatre, presents the highest quality theatrical performances to entertain and educate the diverse population of the region and enhance the economic vitality of the greater New Orleans area. By offering a full season of contemporary and classic dramas, comedies, musicals, and children’s productions, as well as master classes and special events, the theatre embraces the work of the city’s professional artists both onstage and backstage. More info: www.LePetitTheatre.com

Catering:
Catering is available. Please contact our Sales Department: 504-274-1802.

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located on picturesque Jackson Square, at the corner of St. Peter Street and Chartres Street. Please allow extra time for parking or traveling into the heart of the French Quarter.
Parking is available at several nearby parking garages including, Premium Parking at 616 Toulouse Street, 535 Chartres Street, Central Parking at 528 Chartres Street, or French Market Parking Lot. Guaranteed Parking: http://www.tableaufrenchquarter.com/guaranteed_parking

Executive Chef:
John Martin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tableau and Le Petit Theatre share the courtyard, lobby and restroom facilities on performance nights, and pre-theatre menus are available to complete an evening of entertainment.
Be sure to check out the upcoming performances, http://www.lepetittheatre.com/

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located on picturesque Jackson Square, Tableau is Dickie Brennan’s latest production. The menu showcases regional ingredients and classic French Creole dishes with a unique twist. Tableau offers 5 unique private dining rooms and is able to accommodate up to 500 in a buy out scenario.

Tableau Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (53)
Special Occasion (52)
Local Ingredients (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (38)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Historic (32)
Romantic (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Groups (23)
People Watching (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Scenic View (21)
Open Kitchen (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Fun (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Cozy (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Casual (15)
Authentic (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Business Meals (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Private Room (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Live Music (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tapas (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this restaurant and their food, but the service was very sub-par this visit. We were there for over 2 1/2 hours for dinner. We had to ask for drinks, menus and water. The food was delicious as usual, but very disappointed in the service. It was Mardi Gras but the restaurant wasn't busy at all, so that's not an excuse. Sorry, this time didn't cut it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Great Service, Great Food, Great Ambience, Great Location!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Sunday brunch. Nice FQ courtyard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was a great location, great service but the food was good, not great. It was very quiet and the outside was prettier than the inside. It was OK, not bad, not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was exceptionally good tonight! Happy Valentines Day! Sweet potato and corn soup was yum and the pompano spectacular with a sauce to die for!! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a very special dinner there while visiting NOLA. Loved the food and the atmosphere

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing food. Balcony extremely romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We went for pre-theater dinner. The restaurant is inside the theater building. We told the wait staff right away that we were attending the play & were given a special pre-theater menu. The choices were appealing and we ordered from that. The cocktails were a long time in coming. Later my appetizer came; my husband's did not. We had to point out the deficiency. Much later the entrees arrived. by that time we could see that we did not have enough time to finish. Since we were unable to have our dessert (3 course prix fixe meal), the waitress compted our cocktails. 2 people were serving our table and I don't think they communicated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Pre-theater fare was terrific as was the service by Marlon.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was much improved from a few years ago! I was pleasantly surprised! Thank goodness they got rid of their stale tasting bread and now serve yummy French bread, as they should!

Onion soup was very good but would have been even better if the temp was warmer.

Salad wasn't memorable but their fish was. The lemon meringue was delicious although extremely hard to believe that it is sugarless as the menu and waitress profess.

Overall - a HUGE IMPROVEMENT from past dining experiences there and I'd venture to say one of the best meals you can get in the Quarter!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sunday jazz brunch overlooking Jackson Square was delightful! Great food and attentive service made for a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Limited gluten free options which is not very difficult with a little thought. Fish & salad were very good. Salad dressing was too sweet.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I especially like option to order small entrees. Like one egg Benedict rather than the usual two.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had reservations. Original table given was in center of room, and felt crowded. I asked to be moved to outdoor balcony, and Tableau accommodated fairly quickly. Outdoor balcony overlooking the street was great New Orleans dining ambience. The Tableau has potential, but a few mistakes kept me from rating it higher (our dessert of choice was unavailable, server forgot to provide spoon with coffee, Teheran recommended wine for our meal was marginal).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Downstairs tables near Jackson Square are the BEST if you want a festive atmosphere .......close to a bar and all the action. Thanks for a fun afternoon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was great. Got the cauliflower steak, and it was outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A great place for a pre-theatre meal.

I chose the library with its gold accented ceiling

and asked that they lower the music which they did very nicely.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

First time at this restaurant. Reservation of table for 8. I asked to be in the dining room and not in the bar, but was placed at a table in the bar. People smoking outside and constantly passing by was annoying. They also make popcorn in the foyer (for their theater?) which you could smell throughout the meal. The food was okay - no one raved about any dish. The redeeming grace was the waitstaff which were both attentive and entertaining.

Given the number of places in NOLA, I would not recommend this restaurant if asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

What a great find. Great location and great seating options. Bartender was extremely nice and offered suggestions.

Great happy hour options.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. Relaxed ambience. Decadent food. Everything I ordered was perfect! They cater to small children. The waitress gave my 5 year old daughter a chef's hat and that was a big hit for her. Will definitely be back. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

New Orleans fine dining at it's best. I absolutely recommend Tableau. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding! I had the Filet a la Oscar and it was cooked perfectly. The desserts are outstanding - try to Hot Date Skillet Cake - you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fun, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We started in the bar for drinks and the bartender was outstanding. Really helpful and quick to serve. Our waiter and attendant once we moved to the table to eat were really good and attentive. They both gave good recommendations for food and wine. Great atmosphere and enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This restaurant was highly rated - but such a disappointment. There were four of us - one ordered the fish of the day, which was swordfish. It was served underdone and had to be sent back. Two ordered the filet which was not hot when served. We would have told the waiter the filets were not hot but he never came back to check. Overall this was not the dining experience we had hoped for nor expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The staff was pleasant and accommodating. The food was great - we loved the crabmeat appetizer. The theater adjacent to the restaurant had a great musical.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Only osso bucco florentine in the city that i know of

Cauliflower steak different and satisfying

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food is delicious with lots of local ingredients. The turtle soup is the best in the city in our opinion. The wait staff and management are very friendly. The building is beautiful and the renovation is lovely. The balcony overlooking Jackson Square is special. Great experience!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent meal before theater. Service exceptional. Theater menu comprehensive and good value. Will return

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My husband and I first dined at Tableau while on our honeymoon in 2015. We came back last year on our first anniversary and thus have made it a tradition to celebrate our wedding anniversary in the beautiful New Orleans at the fantastic Tableau.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was a "dinner after the theater. We were seated at the hall shared by the theater and it was quite noisy. Also members of the cast gathered at that point. If/when we go back I will be sure to get a table further in.

I loved the meatless dish I had.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had THE BEST experience at Tableau! Everything from atmosphere to service to the food was fabulous! :) We were on a business trip and had time for a fun brunch before we left for the airport! Tyler, our server was absolutely wonderful! He gave us so many details and tips about the menu as well as other places to check out around New Orleans! He was such a delight! Everyone LOVED what they ordered and even enjoyed the jazz band that played for our table and around the restaurant! We will most definitely be back when we come to town again! Thank you for the great experience!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very bad experience. Waiter was in a hurry, couldn't get bread or butter and ran credit card on the wrong check. Quality of the food was poor. Wine selection average at best. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I was placed at a table next to a couch that was too small for me to enjoy my meal. The table belongs in a cafe, not a restaurant. The service was excellent and the location was great. Do not order the French Onion soup. There is no proper way to eat it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We love eating at Tableau on a regular basis before going to Le Petite Theatre. The food is reliably delicious and reasonably priced. The wait staff is attentive, helpful and friendly. We always look forward to another meal at Tableau.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 28, 2017

First, the service was outstanding. Everyone from the hostess to the manager was there to make you feel like a special guest. The shrimp & grits were outstanding, my redfish was slightly overcooked, but mixed with crabmeat and sauces, it was still very good. We had trouffle crab claws for an appetizer and they were a nice change from fried. Cookie dough dessert was a nice finish to the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is our favorite go to restaurant, my wife and I eat here at least once a month. Great menu with awesome specials. The Lamb Chops are the best in the city👍👍

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

How good is Tableau, a beautiful historic space located on the corner of Jackson Square? So good that I went three times during my week-long stay in the Big Easy.

I went for lunch twice and dinner with colleagues, and we all had a wonderful time. The grilled shrimp on the salads were cooked to absolute perfection.

Definitely add this to your list of places to try if you want a quiet, upscale yet comfortable oasis from the Bourbon Street scene.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The best meal I've ever had. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I can't say enough about this restaurant! I took my wife out for our 2nd Anniversary and Tableau impressed over and over again! The staff was amazingly wonderful and the Sous Chef came out and took a picture with us!

You have to try the Turtle Soup!!!!! I've never had better!!!

Thank you to everyone from the greeter to the kitchen staff for making our dining experience truly A+++

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was great. Keith and Jerimy were great waiters.

The only down side is that the fish filet was a little bit smaller than I would have liked considering the cost. But, that's how it is in the French Quarter restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food and service

Shannon the manager made our experience special

Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was great server was great will be back again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Historic, Casual, Romantic, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was great. I had turtle soup. It was very tasty. For my entree I had the filet with potatoes au gratin. It was fabulous too. With one glass of wine and a generous tip my bill was less than 65 dollars which is a bargain in New Orleans. I will definitely go back and try some other items on the menu. I would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent spot for brunch. The band, vibe from Jackson Square and ambiance of the historic house were an incredible combo. The service was top notch, and the quality and portions of the food were perfect. I would highly recommend Tableau.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely evening with friends at the restaurant. Food and service were excellent

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was impeccable and the server did an excellent job describing the dishes, making recommendations, and accommodating my dairy-free girlfriend. Every staff member we encountered was friendly, helpful, and attentive. As an added bonus, we got to watch a parade go by down Chartres St as we ate; a little noisy, but as visitors to the city, we appreciated it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had a wonderful time and the staff were attentive, friendly and accommodating to our needs. We love this restayrNt!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We all enjoyed the food and service. Suprised that the crème brulee was served on a dinner plate, possibly for more caramelized sugar, but I would have preferred the normal round fluted crème brulee dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our experience was very marginal

We went there for her birthday

it was a quiet night my steak was under cooked and cold and the waitstaff in the middle of our meal with one of our party still eating the meal began to clear all of the plates and started to tear down and replace the evening set ups for the morning or lunch so overall it was not the high Quality experience that I had anticipated

Tags: Open Kitchen
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 3, 2017

didnt care for the ettofee but th bbq shrimp and grits were hitting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.