Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Tableau

Located in the heart of the French Quarter, on the corner of Jackson Square, Tableau is Dickie Brennan's latest production and features Louisiana Creole dishes prepared by talented chef, John Martin and his equally talented culinary team. Look for traditional Creole dishes with an updated approach. Enjoy courtyard dining, as well as balcony dining with some of the best views in the Quarter.

616 St Peter St
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Contemporary French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday
11:00am - 'til

Saturday - Sunday
10:00am - 'til

Weekend Brass Band Brunch
10:00am - 2:30pm

Happy Hour
Daily
2:00pm - 6:00pm

Tableau is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. Brunch is served Saturday and Sunday.

Cross Street:
Chartres

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 934-3463

Website:
http://www.tableaufrenchquarter.com/

Entertainment:
Live Brass Band Brunch on Saturday and Sunday.

Tableau's neighboring theater, Le Petit Theatre, presents the highest quality theatrical performances to entertain and educate the diverse population of the region and enhance the economic vitality of the greater New Orleans area. By offering a full season of contemporary and classic dramas, comedies, musicals, and children’s productions, as well as master classes and special events, the theatre embraces the work of the city’s professional artists both onstage and backstage. More info: www.LePetitTheatre.com

Catering:
Catering is available. Please contact our Sales Department: 504-274-1802.

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located on picturesque Jackson Square, at the corner of St. Peter Street and Chartres Street. Please allow extra time for parking or traveling into the heart of the French Quarter.
Parking is available at several nearby parking garages including, Premium Parking at 616 Toulouse Street, 535 Chartres Street, Central Parking at 528 Chartres Street, or French Market Parking Lot. Guaranteed Parking: http://www.tableaufrenchquarter.com/guaranteed_parking

Executive Chef:
John Martin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tableau and Le Petit Theatre share the courtyard, lobby and restroom facilities on performance nights, and pre-theatre menus are available to complete an evening of entertainment.
Be sure to check out the upcoming performances, http://www.lepetittheatre.com/

Specials

Happiest Happy Hour in the French Quarter!

Special valid May 11, 2017 - Sep 11, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Bottomless Mimosas!

Saturdays from 10:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Specials

Happiest Happy Hour in the French Quarter!

Special valid May 11, 2017 - Sep 11, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

1/2 priced draft beer, wine on tap, select small plates, and select classic cocktails!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 11, 2017 - Sep 11, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Bottomless Mimosas!

Saturdays from 10:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

Enjoy endless mimosas during brunch for only $15!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid with the purchase of an entrée. Special valid May 11, 2017 - Sep 11, 2017 on Saturdays from 10:00 AM - 2:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located on picturesque Jackson Square, Tableau is Dickie Brennan’s latest production. The menu showcases regional ingredients and classic French Creole dishes with a unique twist. Tableau offers 5 unique private dining rooms and is able to accommodate up to 500 in a buy out scenario.

Tableau Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (63)
Special Occasion (59)
Historic (49)
See All
Romantic (45)
People Watching (44)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Local Ingredients (42)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Authentic (38)
Scenic View (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Great for Lunch (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Good for Groups (29)
Business Meals (27)
Great for Brunch (25)
Open Kitchen (25)
Fun (25)
Casual (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Happy Hour (21)
Bar Seating (16)
Cozy (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Live Music (8)
Private Room (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Healthy (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined a day ago

The ambiance and staff made me feel special. The swordfish and creme brulee were excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first time having dinner at this restaurant. We had previously been there a year ago on a "food tour" of the Quarter and felt it was a place we would like to try.
It was a rainy night and it took longer to get there so we where a little late for our reservation, but everyone greeted us warmly, so we felt very welcomed!
The appetizer was great! We had Truffled Crab Fingers that rocked. The fish was good but not great. The bread could not have been better!
The server was very nice and attentive. Great wine list!
We will go back and give it another try!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

We made Sunday brunch reservations. The interior of this restaurant is beautiful and they have balcony dining overlooking Jackson Square. I ordered a bloody mary that was strictly average. Café Soule and Daisy Duke's were really superior bloody marys in New Orleans. The French onion soup was pretty good but even though the cheese was melted the soup wasn't hot. The blue crab appetizer had pieces of shell in every bite. The cheeseburger was quite good but the house made pickle was inedible. A shock of white vinegar. We were kind of disappointed but our expectations may have been too high.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

We love Tableau for brunch and dinner. Brunch on the balcony is the best.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely amazing. Highly suggest balcony table overlooking Jackson square.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Great service and lively atmosphere.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful meal. The filet of beef melted in our mouths; we're trying to figure out how you prepare it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Sat on the balcony right at the corner with the best view in the FQ! The service was exceptional and the food phenomenal!

I started with the truffled crab claws which were served chilled, flavored with just the right amount of truffle. Perfect for al fresco dining. I followed that up with an asparagus salad with chilled lump crab meat and shrimp, watercress and asparagus, all lovingly tied together with a beautiful light vinaigrette!

For dessert, I opted for coconut sorbet and an Aperol neat with a squeeze of fresh orange. Some days, you just need to treat yourself. And this is the place to do it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

My friend and I really liked the smaller portions offered. Also the ability to split salads etc.
We enjoyed talking with the waiters and manager asking questions about the other 3 restaurants in the group and their cuisines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love this place! Consistently good food, great ambiance and location.

Tags: Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The atmosphere was great, but not a positive Mother's Day Brunch experience. The first and main problem was/is slow service. Though we arrived on time, we were seated 15 minutes past our reservation time. Once seated, everything slowed down further. Drinks, appetizers, main course... all very slow... two hours from being seated to paying check. One of the reasons we chose Tableau was because the website brunch menu had items that our picky eaters would like. Unfortunately, they had a special Mother's Day menu that was very limited. Fairly sure that it'll not be at the top of my return list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of our favorite New Orleans restaurants. Fabulous views of Jackson Square and a block away from Bourbon Street. Do yourself a favor and make the reservation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Took mom for Mother's Day. Wait staff tremendously friendly & helpful. Crabclaws app to die for. Have been there before and have never been disappointed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good food and nice environment. However, the restaurant was extremely noisy due to a couple large parties who lacked some restaurant etiquette. We had to wait at the bar for about 55 min for our table, but the bar tender and hostess were very nice! The wait staff was just "ok". They seemed a bit overwhelmed and just wanted to get the job done. I think the restaurant could do a much better job training the wait staff in true customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Pre dinner, Bar Tender was great. Wonderfully created cocktails and super friendly guy. Wait staff was helpful and timely. Food was nice mix of traditional NOLA with a touch of new. The overall setting was very cozy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Fantastic service and excellent food, drink and dessert! Jazz and shamara took great care of us and made superb suggestions too. All of our entrees were brought out at the same time which is a nice way to be served. Can't recommend this place enough!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The restaurant is beatifil and the food was good. What was bothersome was that we waited for an hour to be served our one appetizer. That wait was a bit excessive. Entrees were very good but the early wait required me to ask what was casing the delay.

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Lovely dining room with open courtyard beyond. Conversation is possible in a fully occupied space. Excellent service. New Orleans variations of French bistro style menu. Good selection of wines by the glass. The waiter recommended a traditional Cajun dessert tart/pie (Bouille) - baked custard with a cookie crust and caramel sauce. Delicious to share.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Very slow service and managed to mix up all dishes. Staff unfamiliar with dishes.Balcony is nice but noisy with the amateur musicians playing in Jackson Square. Some can be very annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I used to work at bourbon house and was looking for something comforting while passing through. My dad had wanted to try the new Brennan addition for some time and I obliged after seeing crystal shrimp and crab claws but that's just about where this fairy tale ends. I have nothing to rave about and nothing remarkable to say besides the fact that the food was meh... the gumbo was on par with the Brennan level I expect but nothing stellar stuck out to me besides the leidenheiner bread that I have grown up loving. The server was frightening and more like someone I would expect to find screaming out the door at more of a bourbon street scene. I guess this place caters more to the tourist crowd with mediocre flavor and mediocre food.

Tags: Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This place has a great ambiance and the wait staff are very friendly. OK...so I read the reviews before I went for this first time. Lots of complaints about how long it took to get food. I was expecting the complaints to be unfounded, but they weren't. Our food took forever to be served, and it didn't even seem that busy. My friend had to send her plate back because the hot food was cold. This restaurant really needs to figure out how to get food out of the kitchen and on guests' tables in a timely fashion. With this many complaints, something is wrong. Fortunately we had a great time anyway because we were not in a hurry. I will be going back for the ambiance, friendly wait staff, and atmosphere.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We went to Tableau for a girls dinner. We had wonderful service, food, and drinks. The wait staff was attentive and friendly without being overbearing. We leisurely dined without being rushed. The food was delicious and fresh: we enjoyed the asparagus salad, seafood appetizer, French onion soup, and redfish. The wine recommended was perfectly paired with our meal and was not overly expensive. We had an overall fantastic experience and cannot wait to return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great wine list, service was outstanding, food very good except for the Turkey!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Breaking this down in bite sized pieces:

Ambiance - they have the best balcony seating in the FQ, hands down. Lovely space looking over Jackson Square.

Service - Beverage server was on point. However, the bar seemed to take a long time to make drinks upstairs which wasn't overly crowded. Our reservations were at 1 pm so when you are rocking on 2 pm, I don't see why the drinks took so long. Our waiter was awful. He came up to table and could see NO DRINKS and said, "Y'all ready?" There was nothing said like, "Would you like to hear about our specials?" And the drinks again...the waiter would come by and say, "Let me check on those drinks." MInutes later, he would come by again to our table with no drinks. I honestly think this must be the training restaurant for the chain of Brennan restaurants.

Food - First problem, everything was overcooked or cold. Eggs Benedict - cold plus the English muffins were half the size of you'd expect plus they were gummy (?). Drum - overcooked, tough - you could spot the problem when you could see the ends curled up. Potion size for $21 was not acceptable. Hamburger - overcooked clearly, large size however and the fries were supposedly good.

One last thing - the mimosas were pretty much orange juice sitting next to the bottle of champagne. Not worth it.

As a local, this is unacceptable. Visitors to our city, please consider something else. Anything but here. Don't let this restaurant fool you or ruin your trip to New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service was poor and not a lot of shrimp and grits for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was excellent, and the service was outstanding. Our servers gave use great suggestions on both wine and dessert. We were very pleased with our choice of this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was great! Had pork chops & chicken tableau & BBQ shrimp. Everyone loved the food and the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent from start to finish. Chill atmosphere. Seafood appetizers were great. Solid Bloody Mary. This may have been the best pork chop dish we've ever had. The date skillet cake was the bomb.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Our servers Troy and Jazz were exceptional. Loved them, and the food was fabulous. everything was great.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We were going to a 9pm show at Le Petit Theatre and decided to have dinner before. GREAT decision! The Bloody Mary shrimp app was terrific. I had the osso bucco and will have it again every time: perfectly prepared without the over-saltiness that the dish so often suffers from. Super desserts. And the service was impeccable.
And really, how can you beat the location on Jackson Square?

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Wonderful seating on the balcony overlooking Jackson Square. The asparagus salad was simple yet tasty and the redfish was very flavorful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Excellent shrimp and grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great brunch except for the bottomless mimosas. It was ALL orange juice and the manager would not accommodate our request for less juice. Not worth the price.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at Tableau. The server was warm and friendly and full of local knowledge. His recommendations for how to customize our dinner made it all the better. A great place in a great food city.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Feels like Paris! We have dined at nearly all of the great French Quarter establishments. This restaurant, to me, evokes the strongest sense of a true Parisian sidewalk dining experience. The restaurant is beautiful, yet casual. The food is approachable, and typical of Creole New Orleans fare. The cocktails were wonderful. And the view of Jackson Square from the second floor dining balcony was beautiful. Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Cozy, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Ambience was perfect! We sat on the balcony facing the French Quarter and enjoyed the street performers. Food and service was great. It took a little bit to get drink refills and our check which normally wouldn't be a big deal but we had small kids in tow and needed to get going. Overall a great time and we would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

By far, my favorite in New Orleans and I've been coming here since 1995

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was good but service and value very poor. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We loved our dinner @ Tableau! Can't wait for our visit to NOLA & meal here!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Very nice decor. Good food and service. Everything I anticipated from a Brennan's restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.