Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Tableau

Located in the heart of the French Quarter, on the corner of Jackson Square, Tableau is Dickie Brennan's latest production and features Louisiana Creole dishes prepared by talented chef, John Martin and his equally talented culinary team. Look for traditional Creole dishes with an updated approach. Enjoy courtyard dining, as well as balcony dining with some of the best views in the Quarter.

616 St Peter St
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Contemporary French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday
11:00am - 'til

Saturday - Sunday
10:00am - 'til

Weekend Brass Band Brunch
10:00am - 2:30pm

Happy Hour
Daily
2:00pm - 5:00pm

Tableau is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. Brunch is served Saturday and Sunday.

Cross Street:
Chartres

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 934-3463

Website:
http://www.tableaufrenchquarter.com/

Entertainment:
Live Brass Band Brunch on Saturday and Sunday.

Tableau's neighboring theater, Le Petit Theatre, presents the highest quality theatrical performances to entertain and educate the diverse population of the region and enhance the economic vitality of the greater New Orleans area. By offering a full season of contemporary and classic dramas, comedies, musicals, and children’s productions, as well as master classes and special events, the theatre embraces the work of the city’s professional artists both onstage and backstage. More info: www.LePetitTheatre.com

Catering:
Catering is available. Please contact our Sales Department: 504-274-1802.

Parking Details:
The restaurant is located on picturesque Jackson Square, at the corner of St. Peter Street and Chartres Street. Please allow extra time for parking or traveling into the heart of the French Quarter.
Parking is available at several nearby parking garages including, Premium Parking at 616 Toulouse Street, 535 Chartres Street, Central Parking at 528 Chartres Street, or French Market Parking Lot. Guaranteed Parking: http://www.tableaufrenchquarter.com/guaranteed_parking

Executive Chef:
John Martin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tableau and Le Petit Theatre share the courtyard, lobby and restroom facilities on performance nights, and pre-theatre menus are available to complete an evening of entertainment.
Be sure to check out the upcoming performances, http://www.lepetittheatre.com/

Specials

Bottomless Mimosas!

Saturdays and Sundays from 10:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Bottomless Mimosas!

Saturdays and Sundays from 10:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

Enjoy endless mimosas during brunch for only $15!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid with the purchase of an entrée. Special valid Aug 28, 2017 - Dec 28, 2017 on Saturdays and Sundays from 10:00 AM - 2:30 PM.

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Let us do the cooking!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tableau Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Creative Cuisine (37)
Local Ingredients (35)
Romantic (32)
Authentic (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Scenic View (31)
Fun (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for Groups (26)
People Watching (24)
Business Meals (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Bar Seating (13)
Casual (13)
Cozy (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Healthy (8)
Live Music (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Seasonal (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Spicy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1624 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Awesome Sunday brunch! Pure nola.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

The black drum was incredible as well as the seafood gumbo. Even being a New Orleans native, I would list Tableau as one of my top favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

We ate lunch at Tableau on Saturday, September 23rd. This was the 3rd time we've had lunch in this restaurant and it was delicious as it had been the first two times. However, this time we had the Grande Royale. It consisted of the crabmeat ravigote, shrimp remoulade, truffled crab fingers and oyster maison. Although everything on the plate was delicious I must rave about the truffled crab fingers!! They were the BEST crab fingers we've ever eaten. They were light and perfectly seasoned unlike any crab fingers we've ever had. Definitely a must!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

👍 .. good place for a nice dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

I was disappointed in the food and service. Two waiters were complaining about the folks at their respective tables, loudly calling a woman 'nasty'. I have no idea what the woman did, she probably was terrible, but they could have discussed it away from the dining room. The food wasn't very impressive. I was so excited about having dinner, but I left very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We went for our 35th wedding anniversary when we were in New Orleans for a long weekend. The food and service were outstanding: the ambience was simple and elegant. When you are in the Big Easy, don't miss out on this gem!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

We had the chicken Tableau.It was delicious.We had a great air conditioning spot.The staff was awesome.The food was hot.They gave us a great tour of the restaurant plus the La Petit theatre.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Very good staff , food was excellent, and the restaurant was well kept

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I ordered the Redfish, just not that appealing. The sauce was marginal at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We arrived a little early, but the staff sat us immediately. Everyone was so friendly!!! We were there to celebrate my partner's Birthday and each staff member that came in contact with us was made aware of this somehow and made it a pout to wish him a 'Happy Birthday!', a detail that definitely made the night just a little more special 😁. The food was AMAZING! The drinks, DELICIOUS! The service, SECOND TO NONE!! Thank You Tableau and staff, we can't wait to see you again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wonderful food! Service staff seems to still be figuring out kinks in their system. Jewel was delightful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food supported by friendly and attentive staff. The atmosphere is very fun if you happen to be seated close to the bar! It was the perfect introduction to New Orleans!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great restaurant with great views of the French Quarter. Sit on the balcony! Staff was incredibly friendly to us and especially our Son who just transferred to Nola. Food was good, not phenomenal but good. - Salad came a little wilted but they were very gracious to offer something in replacement. Dessert was amazing- a local favorite bread pudding with praline sauce .

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We stopped by for a quick lunch. The restaurant was beautiful and we were able to sit outside on the balcony .. the food was amazing .. crab claws for a appetizer was a great idea.. the customer service was excellent ..
you can't go wrong eating here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Had the lamb chops and they were outstanding! Good food and ambiance!! Will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Best marinated crab claws in NOLA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week. Food really great. Atmosphere terrific. Had a tour of facility from manager who was personable and generous with his time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We went for Saturday brunch. The food was excellent. We all had egg dishes. The Eggs Hussart was the best I've ever had. The other dish we ordered was Rggs Tableau. It was uniquely local. It was a boudin patty topped with poaches eggs and hollandaise, with 2fried oysters on the side.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Casual, Live Music, Special Occasion, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The jazz brunch at Tableau was a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Not only was the food delicious, but the service was impeccable. We will definitely be back. We didn't have our children with us, but we will bring them next time since it seemed to be kid friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The food, staff service and ambiance were exquisite. I came out of my comfort zone a little but was pleasantly surprised with my dessert. I wish I had more time to go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Went to the Sunday Jazz brunch to celebrate my daughters birthdays .
Everything was great from the moment we sat down until we left.
Band was fun and engaging as they went table to table doing requests.
Wait staff was attentive and they have a nice touch for birthdays.
Definitely will go back again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Excellent local style food, friendly & prompt service, knowledgeable waiter, pleasant dining room

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We wanted a nice dinner in New Orleans before dropping my son off at college. This was a great choice. The menu is creative but not too limited. The food was amazing and the service was very good. I had the onion soup and lamb chops -- both were incredible. Everyone else loved their meals as well. And the creme brulee was an exceptional dessert. Definitely a great choice!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great location off Jackson Square. The restaurant has a great vibe to it with the balcony and hearing the Jazz music by street musicians and the courtyard and bar are fantastic. The service was good and it was a generous menu for "Coolinary" by comparison. The food was okay, but not amazing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Could not have asked for a more fabulous place to have a birthday dinner with friends. Food, service and ambiance were all perfect!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A brunch go to for us. Love the brass band. Great wait staff. Easygoing and fun. Great menu and the food never disappoints. $15 bottomless mimosa! Come on!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A wonderful evening all the way around. We had the Coolinary Menu and it's a great value. An excellent bottle of wine at a good price didnt hurt either.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food was delicious, and the service was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Fabulous night celebrating our parent's 60th Wedding Anniversary! Great food and even better service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Fantastic food. Service was a little slow but it was very busy when I was there. I'll definitely go back again.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

In a city full of many good to very good restaurants, Tableau is one of the great ones. We've been here a few times and this place never disappoints. The drinks are great, the food is delicious and the service is prompt but not overbearing. The balcony area is more casual than inside, but both areas are nice atmospheres for dining. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food. Limited menu but good local craft draft beers. Kinda noisy

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always delightful. The service was a bit "off" this time but overall a 9 out of 10👍🏻

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food, Spicy, Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The shrimp remoulade with fried green tomatoes was probably my favorite dish ever. It's a must try, although everything was really good. The service was excellent, loved the atmosphere. Our server was attentive without being intrusive. Highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Loved the feel of This restaurant! nice seating choices outside balcony, bar area is very nice, or the open kitchen
Very creole oriented menu. With emphasis on seafood.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Wonderful Coolinary Menu Meal and a bottle of chilled white on the balcony overlooking Chartres and Jackson Park. Even though the evening was warm, there was a breeze on the balcony. We had terrific service and a great anniversary meal. The Tarte was dessert extraordinaire!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Wonderful food but at a reasonable price. Filet was one of the best I've had and the salad was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Really lovely, very good food excellent service. Very nice atmosphere, feels special but not stuffy or fussy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very relaxed setting. The filet with bernaise sauce was truly excellent. Very accommodating wait staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.