About Sunda

Located within Chicago’s bustling River North neighborhood, Sunda pairs New Asian fare with Midwestern hospitality for an award-winning concept. Offering contemporary interpretations of traditional dishes from Japan, China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines and more, the Michelin-recommended concept from Rockit Ranch Productions has received numerous accolades, including Best New Restaurant and Chicago’s Sexiest Restaurant. Showcasing exceptional cuisine from Executive Chef Jess DeGuzman, mod décor from renowned designer Tony Chi, a chic, yet approachable ambiance and seating for more than 200 guests, Sunda has rapidly become a mainstay on the Chicago dining scene.

110 W. Illinois St.
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi, Southeast Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Thursday- Friday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday: 4:00pm-12am
Sunday: 4:00pm-11am
Brunch Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
LaSalle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-0500

Website:
http://www.sundachicago.com/

Entertainment:
Rockit Ranch Productions can book your entertainment for your private party needs. No live entertainment is offered in non-private areas.

Catering:
Email events@sundachicago.com for Private Party Room information and in-house customized catering options.

PARTY PLATTERS TO-GO:
Order party platters for "pick-up" for your office lunch, event and more.
http://www.sundachicago.com/menu/

For 'full-service" off-premise catering inquiries please email events@sundachicago.com with your request.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available.
Parking lots nearby at the corner of Illinois and LaSalle.
Meter street parking nearby.

Public Transit:
#22 Bus, stop at Grand coming from the North. Stop at Hubbard if coming from the South. Walk a ½ block west.
#36 Bus, stop at Illinois coming from either direction, then walk 1 ½ block west.
Red line train Grand Stop then walk one block north to Illinois

Executive Chef:
Jess DeGuzman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SUNDA BRUNCH: 10 AM - Weekends!
Saturday & Sunday Brunch features a special brunch menu with new items as well as Sunda Signature favorites, a gourmet “build your own” bloody mary bar, asian-inspired Mimosa-Kits and more! Brunch services from 10am – 3pm on Saturday and 10am – 4pm on Sundays.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Enjoy private or non-private group dining, receptions, sushi stations, carvings, buffets and more for holiday parties, corporate receptions, and impressive client entertaining with exciting, yet approachable tasting menus custom created to include sushi, salads, dim sum, entrees and desserts.

Sunda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (81)
Special Occasion (77)
Creative Cuisine (75)
See All
Hot Spot (68)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Fun (61)
Modern Decor (54)
Good for Groups (53)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
People Watching (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Business Meals (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Romantic (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Family Style (23)
Spicy (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Casual (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Authentic (19)
Cozy (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Healthy (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Tapas (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Private Room (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Seasonal (6)
Vegan (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great Beer (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 11 hours ago

Fantastic food! Our server was excellent and great with recommendations. We loved the crispy Brussel sprout salad, oxtail potstickers and the escolar "the great white" was to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 20 hours ago

Excellent food, excellent service, excellent atmosphere. Sunda never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food but waited 45 min past our reservation to get seated.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Sunda never disappoints. I love the Asian fusion, the sushi, the wine and sake list and the twist on Filipino dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great just a tad too loud. Just make sure to review your bill when you provide cash as our waiter tried to short change us. We gave our waiter some in cash and some in card and he tried to pocket $30 in cash. I called him on it and right away he owned up to this "mistake." Hard to believe it was a mistake when he knew exactly the amount in question.

Other than that it was a good time

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome meal great for sharing, can get pricey if you keep ordering. Will certainly go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

Our waitress was really good. Service was excellent. Food was very creative. Everything we ordered was almost excellent. The salad needed more herbs and nuts for flavor. The short rib dish had delicious meat but was drowning in sauce that was slightly too sweet. Same with the drunken noodle dish. Lighten up the sauces and I would highly recommend. Otherwise, order some sushi to balance things out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Picked up family from airport and first place they wanted to go was Sunda! Great afternoon with many good treats to eat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fantastic Food & Service! This place has some of the best sushi in Chicago!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was excellent! Unique tastes and new cuisines. Wonderful staff and servers.

Tags: Romantic, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Sunda is one of my favorite Chicago restaurants. I always recommend it to visitors. The ceviche and tempura shrimp are outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I went with a group of women for a girls night out and had a great experience. Our waiter nick was excellent. We followed his recommendations for appetizers, rolls, and noodles and all were delicious. Highly recommend the Brussels sprout salad, walnut shrimp appetizer, panda roll, and drunken noodles. Will definitely go again

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

LOVE Sunda! We keep coming back and trying new things. Some of our favorites: miso cauliflower (I know it doesn't sound good but the flavor is amazing!), asparagus beef lollipops, sticky rice with spicy tuna, great white... So many great options to choose from. We especially like the atmosphere with great cocktails, energetic music and the trendy dressed crowd.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, People Watching, Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Unanimous 5-star ratings from a party of 12 for dinner at Sunda!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding food. Brussel sprouts 'salad' is excellent. The adobo pork belly is really outstanding. Drunken noodles was very flavorful. Both times (separated by 9 months) I've gotten tuna nigiri it has been the freshest tuna I've had anywhere. Our waitress was passionate about wine and recommended both an excellent South African rose and zin blend 'the pessimist' from Paso Robles that were far from the average by he glass.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great service and portions. Lamb chops were great as was yhe street corn and crispy brussel sprout salad. The Lumpia flavor was not what I was looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The foods was ok. If you are looking for a place to eat sushi, this wouldn't be a place to go. Sushi are limited. However, services are outstanding. Our waitress was very nice

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wrong order, slow service, no apology. Total "JV" operation. Bummed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sunda was great for a pre Valentine's Day dinner, great service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Sunda is one of my favorite places! It has a great ambiance and the food is amazing! The service has always been wonderful as well. I don't even like Brussels Sprouts and their Brussels Spouts on the appetizer menu is now one of my favorite dishes of all time. 5 Stars!!!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Life changing brunch. I'd give my first born for that Tocino

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Second time there.... better than I remembered, amazing!! Had a blackberry lemonade cocktail that was the best drink I ever had. Brussel Sprout salad appetizer was awesome!!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

delicious food, great specials, great ambiance, definitely worth the $$$

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything was amazing! We will definitely be back. The pork belly buns, crab garlic noodles and spicy tuna crunchy rice were the most memorable!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I are vegan so we always look for places that would accommodate our needs. Sunda had a separate vegan menu, which is amazing! The food tasted great. We will definitely come back soon

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food is always great and I love the atmosphere. A fun and delicious night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Okay, this is pan South Asian which I can appreciate but basically it tastes pretty much like Thai food but way more expensive than a Thai restaurant. The ambiance is great, the wait staff is wonderful. The wine is pricey. It's showy and trendy and there's a place for that. For people who go out all the time, hey, it's another destination. For those of us who go out less and want a really great, distinctive food experience every time, this would not be all that high on my list.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was my first visit to Sunda and it didn't disappoint! The menu was eclectic and inspired. There were many options for non-meat eaters. The cocktails were a bit weak but otherwise a lovely brunch experience.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We came into town and got in pretty immediately by using OpenTable.

My date had the Grass Tiger drink which was amazing- and I don't like jalapeños.

For dinner we had sushi (candy cane was great), my favorite- tiger shrimp tempura, pork belly, duck fried rice and were accidentally given the crazy rice. I can't handle spice but it was good I ate it anyway!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Sunda ALWAYS provides not only excellent service, but their menu selection is always delicious. I try and visit once per week just because it's ever-changing and it tickles the taste buds! So good, great work, Sunda!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We went to Sunda for our post wedding dinner and it was really a treat! We were blown away by the brussel sprouts salad, oxtail potstickers, lamb chops and the fried tuna sushi. The green tea matcha dessert was a little challenging to eat but so worth the work. The staff was very accommodating and offered many freebies to help us celebrate.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was great! There was a disturbance at the table next to us which resulted in water being thrown. It got on my date who was a good sport about it. It gave us something to laugh about during our meal

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Very lively restaurant with an interesting Asian Fusion menu. Worth a try - crispy brussel sprouts, tiger shrimp tempura, adobe pork belly. Service could be snappier.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Excellent sushi! Just loved the Kimchi soup! Service was outstanding. Had a chance to speak with the manager, Kevin Finegold. Great guy. Hoping to see a Sundra in the Western Burbs!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We went for the first time during Restaurant Week and discovered a great place! The food is creative and delicious, the decor is contemporary but interesting and the service was FANTASTIC! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The food and cocktails were amazing. Server was very attentive, until we ordered. Despite asking for a starter, our appetizer was not delivered first. We didn't realize that the Vegetable Curry was not served with rice, it took time both to get the server's attention to order it and then for the rice to be served (we also noticed the couple at the next table had the same order issue).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I got a R/W week menu which obviously did not meet my expectation at all in terms of quality and portion. Not worth it. I would rather just get a simple salad bowl next time. The way the server delivered the food reminded me of rationing foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Place is absolutely spectacular. All I need to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food. I even had the Brussel sprout salad, and I dislike Brussel sprouts. It was delicious. We ordered about 12 different dishes. All were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Hot location for the 30 ish crowd. Very loud so not good if conversation is on the agenda. Food and service both quite good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was amazing. Dishes were delicious with the exciting, creative seasonings. I could have eaten more of the Brussels Sprouts. So delicious. Sushi and appetizers were great.

The hostesses were very warm, friendly, engaging and welcoming.

The bartender made a good drink but lacked personality. She was too busy doing her prep work during service hours when this should have been done prior to opening. She could have been engaging. Next time will have cocktails elsewhere. I asked what her favorite dishes were and she suggested a few.

We asked our server Nolan what his favorite dishes were and he suggested the same dishes the bartender mentioned. Sounded rehearsed. We saw little of him throughout the night.

Our busboy was phenomenal! He was spot on our table. Since our server was busy with a larger group our busboy was extremely attentive, from making suggestions, to dropping off our dishes, to cleaning up, to keeping our drinks flowing. I asked him what his favorite dishes were and he suggested something different, which we tried and loved. We enjoyed him very much. Great busboy service!

Overall I would go back for the food. Skip the bar and go elsewhere for cocktails.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Service is always just so mediocre here. We sat near the bar in the front section and our waitress was very inattentive. This has been the case for majority of the time I come at lunch to Sunda.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Very slow service. Not attentive. Never get asked how the food is by the waiters and they aren't very personable for the most part. This has been the norm lately, as I go here at least once a week. Food is great but the chicken in any of the bento boxes is very fatty. Otherwise the food is excellent and manager on duty always stops by each table to see how things are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Romantic and fantstic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

After I spent $400 for dinner, the waiter was nice and told us to take our time...minutes later, one of the managers came to our table and basically asked us to leave or go to the bar so, they could flip the table...kind of spoiled the mood...donkey move.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Love The food! Hardly have left overs! Always anxious to get back to Sunda to eat more delicious Brussels sprouts salad crab fried rice, and sushi!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Really mediocre food. It's all about the crowd buzz

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.