Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Sunda

Located within Chicago’s bustling River North neighborhood, Sunda pairs New Asian fare with Midwestern hospitality for an award-winning concept. Offering contemporary interpretations of traditional dishes from Japan, China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines and more, the Michelin-recommended concept from Rockit Ranch Productions has received numerous accolades, including Best New Restaurant and Chicago’s Sexiest Restaurant. Showcasing exceptional cuisine from Executive Chef Jess DeGuzman, mod décor from renowned designer Tony Chi, a chic, yet approachable ambiance and seating for more than 200 guests, Sunda has rapidly become a mainstay on the Chicago dining scene.

110 W. Illinois St.
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi, Southeast Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Thursday- Friday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday: 4:00pm-12am
Sunday: 4:00pm-11am
Brunch Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
LaSalle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-0500

Website:
http://www.sundachicago.com/

Entertainment:
Rockit Ranch Productions can book your entertainment for your private party needs. No live entertainment is offered in non-private areas.

Catering:
Email events@sundachicago.com for Private Party Room information and in-house customized catering options.

PARTY PLATTERS TO-GO:
Order party platters for "pick-up" for your office lunch, event and more.
http://www.sundachicago.com/menu/

For 'full-service" off-premise catering inquiries please email events@sundachicago.com with your request.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available.
Parking lots nearby at the corner of Illinois and LaSalle.
Meter street parking nearby.

Public Transit:
#22 Bus, stop at Grand coming from the North. Stop at Hubbard if coming from the South. Walk a ½ block west.
#36 Bus, stop at Illinois coming from either direction, then walk 1 ½ block west.
Red line train Grand Stop then walk one block north to Illinois

Executive Chef:
Jess DeGuzman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SUNDA BRUNCH: 10 AM - Weekends!
Saturday & Sunday Brunch features a special brunch menu with new items as well as Sunda Signature favorites, a gourmet “build your own” bloody mary bar, asian-inspired Mimosa-Kits and more! Brunch services from 10am – 3pm on Saturday and 10am – 4pm on Sundays.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Enjoy private or non-private group dining, receptions, sushi stations, carvings, buffets and more for holiday parties, corporate receptions, and impressive client entertaining with exciting, yet approachable tasting menus custom created to include sushi, salads, dim sum, entrees and desserts.

Sunda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (106)
Good for a Date (103)
Hot Spot (97)
See All
Fit for Foodies (95)
Special Occasion (88)
Good for Groups (83)
Fun (71)
Modern Decor (69)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Business Meals (55)
Vibrant Bar Scene (51)
People Watching (51)
Handcrafted Cocktails (48)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Healthy (31)
Great for Lunch (31)
Good Vegetarian Options (31)
Romantic (31)
Authentic (31)
Spicy (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Casual (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Family Style (28)
Tapas (25)
Happy Hour (22)
Tasting Menu (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Cozy (19)
Late-night Find (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Private Room (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Vegan (8)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Organic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
 (2)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
4391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was very slow, food came out at different times, had a hard time getting service

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

I took a group of work colleagues here during a conference and we are all in the foodservice business. Everyone enjoyed the food and atmosphere so much! The menu makes it so easy to try a number of things and share them!

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Casual, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Best duck fried rice! Innovative dishes. Great pork belly buns. Crispy Kai Lan - fresh! Generous portions although cod fish dish was scant,, We live on the Big Island and would definitely make sure future visits include dinner here.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was great! Very helpful wait staff!
Very, very loud and hard to carry on a conversation and we were seated in the back against the wall!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Sunda is one of our favorite Asian restaurants. We love the ambiance of the place. It is quite modern. The fun part is its family friendly The service is very good. Managers are always walking around to ensure that the guests are enjoying and having a good experience. The servers are equally professional. Overall we enjoy the food. As vegetarians, we do get a reasonable number of options. They also have a vegan and gluten-free menu. The sweet potato caterpillar is amazing, do are the shitake dumplings. They salads are exquisite (at least the ones we had). With regards to their veggie curries, I found them OK nothing great. The one we ordered Cauliflower manchurian was indeed very mediocre. But I guess not everything can be to your taste. With regards to pricing, some of the menu items seem a little expensive. Again my observation is limited to the veggie options. Overall, I recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a fun evening with some good food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

The oxtail dumplings are amazing!!! The wait staff was very engaging & showcased an impressive knowledge of the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great experience! The service was wonderful and the staff were friendly!

Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoy Sunda! Wide variety of food in their wheel house! Just wish we could get there more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We were seated at the chefs table - was a great evening out!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The Red Dragon and Crouching Pig and Hidden Lobster were bomb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Disappointing. Returning diners and previous experiences was excellent. Wait staff "forgot" two small plates. We elected to cancel one and the second was brought out 25 minutes later. Ambiance, energy, creativity were lacking. Ordered edamame, sushi, oysters and octopus. Average dishes. So many great restaurants in Chicago, skip this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Outstanding service! We had a group of 8 for a graduation, they seated us at the Chef's table, brought a specially made appetizer that wasn't listed on the menu, paid special attention to the two vegetarians in the group by bringing them a vegetarian menu, making sure to recommend vegetarian options, and keeping the food with meat separate, were friendly, helpful, and responsive the entire time, brought a complementary piece of cake for the graduate, and gave the graduate a $10 gift certificate for next time. Everyone in the group was highly impressed with the service, and the food was outstanding too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had 4 amazing rolls and awesome drinks and were given a small awesome cake for my girlfriends college graduation. Everything was to perfection and I will be returning soon.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food is amazing! The duck steamed buns are to die for!! We also loved the spice edamame and crazy rice!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fantastic food and a wonderful experience. We were there for a special occasion and the waiter, manager and chef did so much to make it special. The food was unique and delicious. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent service! Good food. Great atmosphere!
Highly recommend.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It was okay, overpriced for average Asian fusion dishes. Some fishers were pretty good and some were average. Loud atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Amazing as always. Great food, amazing service. The bartender Bree was great and my clients loved conversing with her. Very personable and professional.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very noisy , good overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was inventive and delicious. The portions are very small and the price is beyond expensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Brunch was really delicious!
Recommend the oxtail potstickers and Brussels sprouts!
First time to Sunda and it was really intention, decor, food, service... surprised they captured this in a big restaurant and it's awesome!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Start to finish, this was a terrible experience. The server was inattentive to the extent that despite polite waiting and trying to catch his eye we had to seek him out to get refills of our drinks (both cocktails and iced tea). One of the main dishes for our party of six was delivered 10 minutes before any one else's with NO explanation. It was very awkward for all of us. Another dish was completely the wrong one; the server admitted it was his mistake but by this time things had gone so south my friend just split another friend's dish and told the server (politely) to not worry about replacing the dish. Then some time later a replacement dish was brought to the table and simply plunked down in the middle. By this time the rest of us were nearly finished with our meal. Then to top it off the food itself was absolutely nothing special. Two of us had BiBimBop and the rice was lukewarm and stuck together in one dry clump. The other dishes were just so-so too. I hope this was a bad day for them, because otherwise this restaurant should be humanely put to sleep.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great for groups who want to dine with an ambiance - great music!

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I would not recommend this place. Very noisy. Service was terrible and food disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

A HIGH energy place. Lots of good choices on the menu. Delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Spicy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Booked on Open Table from the east coast for a group of 10 family (ages 24-65) gathering from all over the USA for dining near the Kimpton Palomar Hotel, at the recommendation of my Chicago resident 30 yr old nephew who joined us. We were all fabulously impressed with the quality and variety of Asian flair starters, sushi and entrees. We got several orders of the tempura shrimp (I thought the best ever - VERY light and tasty), the brussel sprouts, edamame, dumplings, etc. which we shared family style. Each then each ordered their own entree from a menu with everything from pad thai and sushi to wagyu beef. I thoroughly enjoyed 2 glasses of New Zealand Sauvignon blanc! It was a bit hard to hear anyone not on either side of you or directly across, but the crowded hopping bar confirmed our sense that it was a fun place to go and we'd all go back!

Tags: Spicy, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Waiter was not the friendliest. Had better while dining at sunda

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Sunda had great food and service but the atmosphere was so loud I couldn't eat anything my friends were saying. I would go back at an earlier time when it might not be as crowded, like when they first open.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food and service here was pretty incredible. We are big sushi fans and try out the best sushi restaurant everywhere we travel (whenever possible) and this one exceeded our expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Very loud. Loved the Brussels sprouts, the short rib potstickers, Thai beef salad, Oxtail pho. The crispy rice was small and not very interesting - seafood dynamite. Octopus - the sauce was sweet. Sushi was interesting but so complicated you couldn't taste the fish. Service was fast. Fun vibe but better options out there.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Two friends getting together and this was a perfect place for the occasion. Lively. Waitress was attentive and had good menu recommendations. The food was excellent. Great wine list. We had a great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Fantastic brunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food! The ambiance is great. There is a great vibe and energy in the restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

food was absolutely great and so was our server. highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The sushi was in no way worth the price paid. The noodles were fair. It was certainly not worth the money at all. We spent $142 (without tip) for one appetizer, two rolls (one was very small) and two noodle dishes. We had two drinks, but I did not find the drinks to be expensive. The only upside, and the reason I chose the location was that they are open later than most restaurants in the area. As far as noise level, energetic is one way to describe it, but loud is another. If you are a 20-30 year old looking for a light snack and a few drinks at a lively location, it is for you. But if you are 40-45 looking to have an actual meal with a date, where you can talk without yelling then go somewhere else.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food is incredible. Everything we ordered was amazing. They were pretty busy at lunch so we had to flag down our waitress quite a bit to order more food and drinks. But I could tell she was busy. Worth the price as it was one of the best meals I have had.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We ate half the menu, everything was great. Very loud though. Service was fine, nothing exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Vibrant place with an overall very young crowd. Food quality was excellent with wonderful asian flavors, sushi was of very high quality and presented beautifully. Service was acceptable but due to their service styles, more than once brought the wrong food to our table, and had to be told it was not what we ordered. I certainly would go back however.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Restaurant is so loud. We were at a 2 person table and shouting at one another. Acoustics are bad. Food is good but over priced for what your getting in small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The food was great! I went with a group of nine and we shared a bunch of different plates, all of which were really yummy! And our waitress was amazing!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.