Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Sunda

Located within Chicago’s bustling River North neighborhood, Sunda pairs New Asian fare with Midwestern hospitality for an award-winning concept. Offering contemporary interpretations of traditional dishes from Japan, China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines and more, the Michelin-recommended concept from Rockit Ranch Productions has received numerous accolades, including Best New Restaurant and Chicago’s Sexiest Restaurant. Showcasing exceptional cuisine from Executive Chef Jess DeGuzman, mod décor from renowned designer Tony Chi, a chic, yet approachable ambiance and seating for more than 200 guests, Sunda has rapidly become a mainstay on the Chicago dining scene.

110 W. Illinois St.
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi, Southeast Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Thursday- Friday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday: 4:00pm-12am
Sunday: 4:00pm-11am
Brunch Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
LaSalle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-0500

Website:
http://www.sundachicago.com/

Entertainment:
Rockit Ranch Productions can book your entertainment for your private party needs. No live entertainment is offered in non-private areas.

Catering:
Email events@sundachicago.com for Private Party Room information and in-house customized catering options.

PARTY PLATTERS TO-GO:
Order party platters for "pick-up" for your office lunch, event and more.
http://www.sundachicago.com/menu/

For 'full-service" off-premise catering inquiries please email events@sundachicago.com with your request.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available.
Parking lots nearby at the corner of Illinois and LaSalle.
Meter street parking nearby.

Public Transit:
#22 Bus, stop at Grand coming from the North. Stop at Hubbard if coming from the South. Walk a ½ block west.
#36 Bus, stop at Illinois coming from either direction, then walk 1 ½ block west.
Red line train Grand Stop then walk one block north to Illinois

Executive Chef:
Jess DeGuzman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SUNDA BRUNCH: 10 AM - Weekends!
Saturday & Sunday Brunch features a special brunch menu with new items as well as Sunda Signature favorites, a gourmet “build your own” bloody mary bar, asian-inspired Mimosa-Kits and more! Brunch services from 10am – 3pm on Saturday and 10am – 4pm on Sundays.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Enjoy private or non-private group dining, receptions, sushi stations, carvings, buffets and more for holiday parties, corporate receptions, and impressive client entertaining with exciting, yet approachable tasting menus custom created to include sushi, salads, dim sum, entrees and desserts.

Sunda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (98)
Creative Cuisine (93)
Fit for Foodies (82)
See All
Good for a Date (81)
Special Occasion (79)
Good for Groups (76)
Fun (59)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Business Meals (45)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
People Watching (40)
Romantic (39)
Tapas (35)
Good Vegetarian Options (35)
Authentic (33)
Casual (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Bar Seating (30)
Spicy (30)
Late-night Find (25)
Happy Hour (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Comfort Food (17)
Cozy (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Vegan (9)
Quick Bite (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Scenic View (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great Beer (3)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
4628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Highly recommend Sunda. Fun happening place with amazing food. Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic food, great vibe, and excellent drinks! Sunda came highly recommended, and although we were only in town for business, we absolutely loved the entire experience and will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I love this restaurant. I always bring my guests to this restaurant because I know that my guests will also love it. Amazing chefs - Chef Mike and Chef Jess!!!❤️❤️❤️ Must go restaurant for sure.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fun, Healthy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Good food, but deafening noise and poor service diminished the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Farewell dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our experience was less than great from the start. We were here for Sunday brunch the menu was limited especially for someone who can't have any gluten . My rainbow roll had crab shells in it , and was falling apart , guess it wasn't wrapped tightly enough . It tasted alright but when I mentioned the shells in the roll to our server it was ignored. I don't even remember her saying I'm sorry , which would have been an attempt to be a good and what she does for a living.
The pad tie chicken lacked flavor and had very little chicken also the noodles were a bit to hard for my taste , but we did wind up eating it.

The soft shell crab Benedict was greasy and served with a small over dressed salad of greens that was unattractive as well as uneatable. I never like it when a restaurant puts so much dressing on greens that they are dripping wet.

I am really sorry to be so harsh about our first and more than likely last visit to this restaurant as my wife and I were looking forward to going here for a long time. We also had a guest with us , and really felt bad that she also had a less then memorable experience.

Hard to believe everything was so bad , for such a well established highly rated place. I am so disappointed I can't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Tastiest meal of 2017 to date. Went for a bday dinner w friends and all of us agreed we would go back within 24 hours if schedules permitted bc it was THAT good. And we've all been there a number of times before.. always impeccably good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I'm just to keep it as simple as I can. My girlfriend and I heard so many great things about sunda so we decided to make a resvervation. The gay male Hispanic host that sat us had such positive energy that really helped with everything because my experience was terrible. First, the gay male Hispanic host was very nice, held the doors for us, was very attentive, and focused. We enjoyed him and everyone else seemed nice. Then we got to our table and things got worse. The server was mediocre, but we expect better. She wasn't bad nor was she good in all honesty I forgot about her. What I had an issue with was with the management team. They poorly handled our situation when I asked the Asian lady that we were in a hurry. We had move tickets to see and we told our server, but she seemed like she didn't care about us. The manager took forever to handle things and she gave us attitude too. We waited to get our check for 34 exact minutes. That was very unacceptable and it made me question this place. I think this place is poorly ran and the management team and servers really need to step it up. The only good thing about this was the bus boys who were attentive to our needs, the hosts were nice, and the food was great. Would We come back? A big fat no.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 15, 2017

While the service and food was very good. The restaurant was incredibly loud to the point where we couldn't carry on a conversation and it felt like they were packing people in

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. Bustling (aka loud) so difficult to carry on conversation. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Food and service were very good. The noise level made it almost impossible to chat as a group.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Fun and lively ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Had another great meal - numerous dishes. Very creative tasteful dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants from our visit to Chicago! Would definitely recommend!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fun, Romantic, Spicy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food and ambiance was excellent. Started off the meal with their famous spicy tuna crispy rice (every sushi place should offer this, it is awesome). We also had the "tail of two tunas" roll. I was surprised by how well all the flavors worked together. We finished the meal with Pho. Pho will never be the same for me.

Only reason this place gets 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the service. Our waiter was slow to get to our table and seemed to be impatient or in a rush when he was waiting on us. Perhaps they were short staffed yesterday. Either way I was surprised by the service (or rather lack there of) at a place as nice as this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The brussel sprout salad is to die for. I loved doing the sushi roulette where one piece has a ghost pepper. Very wonderful spot, all the food is delicious!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Awesome place. My son recommended it and it was just great. The food according to my wife was better, more energetic and fresher then she had while she lived in Bangkok. The service was attentive and recommendations for appetizers,cocktails and main dishes were spot on. The food was to die for. OK, Ok I was tempted to lick my plate. It was that good. We will be back. The music was a little loud but it did not take away from the yummy dishes. You can not miss with this place. Good luck and enjoy!

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I've been to Sunday ar least 8 times. The food and ambience has been great. The brussel sprout salad is usually good as it was this time. On this occasion and the one before the food portion (for the price) has really decreased. Especially the crab fried rice. My husband and I usually are able to have two helpings. It was so much less rice in the bowl and we only had one helping each ☹️And it wasn't as flavorful. It's like the price goes up and the food portions get smaller. And our sushi roll was dry. Won't be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Terrific waitress, fantastic food! Would come back to Suda next time I'm in Chicago!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful. Food. Not your everyday sushi place :)-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Very loud, food comes out at different times, main course came out before soup. Sushi is the only worthwhile selection.
Not sure how they stay in business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Sunda is one of our favorite date night spots. The food is always good, the service is consistently knowledgable and accommodating and the scene is always fun. We would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

My favorite Asian Fusion restaurant in Chicago! Never disappointed, great staff and menu!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Conrad Hotel concierge recommended it and it lived up to the hype!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The restaurant is very very loud, so we sat outside and it was perfect, but not much for view or people watching on the street. Our first time to Sunda, so we took the recommendation of our server and had the brussel sprout slaw, which was tasty and the honey tiger shrimp. The shrimp was very small and the sauce was too sweet. The sushi we had was nothing special. The highlight of the meal was the night's special which was beef with dan dan noodles. Overall, it's a fun place to go to once. Probably will not go back, lots of other places to eat.

Tags: Spicy, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The resturant is beautiful and has a wonderful ambiance. The food was really good but hardly worth the price paid. A vegetable curry shouldn't cost nearly $30. Outside of the price, it was good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Best Sushi place ever!!!! Love it!!! Every bite is delicious

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Overall great experience, fast service, good food. The seats and tables are a bit to crowder and is hard to maneuver around tables. Our chair backrest did not have space with our neighbors.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

To begin, the waiter had no interest in providing a positive experience. In fact, every time we asked for something, he said he would be right back. Every time. The sushi was not fresh or prepared well. The crab was the toughest I have ever eaten. And for the price of this establishment that was very unexpected. I have had better sushi from a grocery store. When concerns were brought to the manager he did not address our needs. Overall this was a terrible experience and we did not order more than two sushi plates as they were awful and had to attend dinner following elsewhere. I will never go back to this establishment, nor recommend it for anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was great, service was great, however the busters kept bumping into our table when they walked past as the space is very tight. Might consider better space planning for future locations.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Highly recommend for brunch! The food was excellent, but the real gem is the Sumo Mary. It's massive so it's a meal in itself.
If brunch was that good, I'd definitely go back to try dinner there.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

NICE DECORATION _ GOOD FOOD BUT VERY NOISY BETWEEN 25 TO 45 YEARS OLD YOUNG CUSTOMER

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent food!! Unusual choices!! Absolutely delicious!!

Tags: Cozy, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Memorable dinner for our last evening in Chicago. The food was amazing and the service as well. Great menu recommendations from the server. Nice ambiance. Will return for sure next time I'm in Chicago.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Healthy, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Everything about Sunda was great: food, service, room...all top notch. The crispy rice with tuna and wagyu beef was outstanding, and you HAVE to try the Panang Chicken. Wow!!

A bit loud for an intimate, get to know you dinner, but was fine for a date with my wife. YMMV.

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Kimberly is an excellent server! Also hoping the Edamame Udon Curry comes back to the menu soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food!! Everything we had was amazing. Consistently great meals here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

LOVED our dinner at SUNDA. We visited last weekend to celebrate two friends birthdays. I booked with OpenTable and indicated this on our reservation. We had 6 in our group.

Our waiter was so kind and remembered to bring two cakes at the end of dinner! Cocktails were delicious! I had the blackberry limeade. We all ordered different drinks and everything was awesome.

Food was delicious too! We had the Chinese broccoli, beef lollipops, chicken wings, drunken noodles, fried rice and a red dragon roll. Great amount of food for 6 of us. Would definitely recommend again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Tapas, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Overpriced, small portions, too loud, all the dishes were too sweet. Poor value. Average food for high prices. Stay away from this place. There are so many better places in town.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.