About Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh

414 Glenwood Avenue
Suite 103
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

Sullivan’s is a vibrant neighborhood American Steakhouse featuring the finest steaks & seafood, hand shaken martinis, & live music. We offer comfortable fine dining in a lively atmosphere. From the moment you step inside our lounge for drinks, appetizers or dinner, you will feel the energy and excitement provided by our professional team. Sullivan’s serves the finest Midwestern hand selected steaks aged a minimum of 28 days, simply seasoned and broiled at 1,200 degrees, fresh seafood, a wide selection of cravable appetizers, soups, salads and side dishes. Our desserts are house-made daily. Our Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence" wine list offers an array of selections from around the world. Whether it’s for business or pleasure, we look forward to quickly becoming your favorite local steakhouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Lunch: Private Dining Only

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Cross Street:
Tucker Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 833-2888

Website:
http://www.sullivanssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in the lounge Wednesday through Sunday.

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Parking Details:
Valet is $4. Self parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Robert Crawford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Sullivan’s offers a variety of private/semi-private dining and reception spaces perfectly suited for special occasions or business gatherings. Sullivan’s provides private diners with warm hospitality and custom menus featuring our finest steak and seafood, as well as personalized beverage service.

Sullivan's Steakhouse - Raleigh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (71)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Good for a Date (54)
See All
Romantic (52)
Notable Wine List (45)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Business Meals (32)
Good for Groups (26)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Private Room (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Casual (9)
People Watching (9)
Cozy (9)
Fun (8)
Historic (6)
Family Style (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Authentic (5)
Live Music (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Meal excellent, service good, its a meal i will not forget

And neither will my wallet.. very pricey, did i say very expensive

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Wait staff very attentive and helpful. Food was delicious as always. Great Wedge Salad and Oysters! Steaks perfect and best mushrooms ever.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Private Room, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The 30 min wait with a reservation was a little excessive. But the food, (cowboy) service (Dan), was outstanding. Even though Dan said the horseradish was not strong in the mashed potatoes and my daughter could not eat them, and her first steak was over cooked. The experience was amazing and we will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had reservations through Open Table for 2 at 8pm- waited 45 minutes- no one with reservations should have had to wait that long. Service was good, but they have a real issue with getting people seated in a timely manner. BTW- the restaurant is beside a bar that was playing really loud music ( RAP/Hardrock), which I love, but we didn't expect that, so this isn't a place for a romantic dinner on a Saturday nite. Valet was a good price at $4, but we were very disappointed with the wait time, several other people with reservations were waiting up to an hour to be seated. I would not recommend this to anyone and will not be going back. For the price of the food- I feel that we should have gotten much more.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Second time here. Steaks are fantastic. Sides as well. Love the food

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent service all around.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is my "go to" dinner spot. My wife and I can always count on great food and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Private Room, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was a great experience for Valentine's Day for my wife and I.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent as always. We always enjoy Sullivan's. Probably my favorite "go to" for steaks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The service absolutely horrible. Normally, Sullivan's is fantastic but tonight was not good. I had to flag someone down every time we needed anything. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was great. The waitress was very friendly. The staff overall seemed a bit overwhelmed with the business of the restaurant, so there were some delays here and there, but nothing too bad. My wife commented that the majority of the servers there were dressed a little too risque. Oh, prices are a touch above average compared to a place like Rey's. The valentine's special ($79) cost more than getting everything in the special directly from the menu, for some reason... e.g. $38 8oz filet + $4 salad w/an entree + $10 dessert, so that was a little strange.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We enjoyed the food and the service was excellent! I enjoyed one of the best steaks I have ever tasted! We were a bit disappointed at the level of dress of some of the patrons based on the price point of the restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Arrived for our reservation on a Sat evening. Our table was located in a smaller side room, which felt cramped due to too many tables, not much ambiance in this room. We were seated at a small round table at the end, the size of which was not more than a large pizza. My wife's back was bumped into several times by the wait staff as they came by, we tried to move the table some but only had several inches to work with, very uncomfortable. The wait staff was adequate but lacked the training associated with finer restaurants. Our meal of fillet steaks were both ordered to be cooked medium, when the waiter brought them he immediately asked us to cut them in half to see if they were prepared to our satisfaction, this seemed like a odd request as I assumed any chef working here would possess this skill, apparently not. Both Steaks were rare. He apologized and returned them to the kitchen. When he returned with the steaks they were now medium but much of the juiciness of the meat was now missing from the cut after being cut and reheated. All an all the food was not terrible but nothing special either which for the cost, should have and could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We waited 20 minutes before being acknowledged at our table even though numerous staff looked straight at our table. The wine master had to get someone. She was very nice. The music was loud and inappropriate for a romantic dinner, it was like you were at TG Fridays. The room was added due to V-day and the room was fully lit, unlike the main dining area which was dim. For the amount of money, our bill for 2 with 1 bottle of wine was over $200 and the lack of a quality experience makes it difficult to recommend, we had a wedding gift card of $100, it felt like we wasted it. There was no attempt to make up for our wait, not even a no charge for our wine. Flemings still the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have been to Sullivan's several times in the past. It had been awhile since our last visit. The food and service was great as always! It is a little pricey so I would not make it a weekly visit. It is a great place for a special occasion or date.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have dined at Sullivan's many times. I have even referenced it as the best steak in town. But our dinner on Saturday was a disappointment. My filet was dry and tough on the outside. Baked potato dressings were served out of a messy dish and they were out of sour cream and had to refill the container after they had already started serving us. Overall, just not the A+ experience that we usually have.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My first visit. 5 stars! Bravo!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our sever Devin was amazingly attentive. Food was great ambiance was great. Good place to go! Steaks were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food always amazing. Service has been better in the past though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had a great time dining with Sullivan's. Service was outstanding! Food was great must have calamari to get it started. Steaks are outstanding and tuna was second to none! We have all of the deserts and I wouldn't dare say I couldn't just eat those

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went here for dinner during Triangle Restaurant Week and was not disappointed. $35 for appetizer, entree (2 sides included), and dessert. Outstanding value. The Salmon Rockefeller and Filet were both superb. Only drawback is that it was quite loud inside and we were seated 45 mins after our reservation. Pricey but a good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Historic, Private Room, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My meal was wonderful. My steak was cooked and seasoned perfectly. The portion sizes were exceptional. You will not leave hungry, and you will count the days until you come back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, People Watching, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was a great experience. Was very crowded for restaurant week so glad we made a reservation and were seated right away. Service was excellent and food was fantastic, we were a very happy table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My experience here was amazing! The steak (I ordered the filet mignon) was incredibly tender and delicious! Our server, Cameron, did a great job of being attentive without hovering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service excellent and food was great. We went during restuarant week and got a very good deal on a three course meal. The service was great. You did not have to ask for someone to refill your water which is a very nice touch. Woul definitely go back and would recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Outstanding dining experience!! Food/Service was fantastic!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Private Room, Family Style, Cozy, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We came for restaurant week and this was my first visit. The food was good. The appetizer was slow coming out but Brandon took care of that for us without me even asking. Now that is what I call great customer service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went to Sullivan's during Triangle Restaurant Week to try their prix fixe menu. The service was outstanding, even with a full dining room full of guests. The food was cooked exactly the way we ordered it, and was fantastic overall. I highly recommend Sullivan's and will certainly return.

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We came to Sullivan's for restaurant week and had an amazing dining experience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Overall great experience from the food to the service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Best steaks, again. Just a hit crowded due to restaurant week.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

To be fair we dined on Saturday of Restaurant Week, the restaurant was packed, and our previous visit was absolutely spectacular but... The kitchen had a bad night and served me food I was allergic to after I expressly informed the server of my allergy and we watched him write it down. The manager handled it very well and together she and the server did their best to make the situation better but our evening was ruined. With the way dinner was going (we never received bread with dinner, the girl who delivered our drinks literally plopped the glasses on the table and dashed off, and I was originally served steak when I ordered salmon), I was too nervous to eat fearing the kitchen would just transfer my food to another plate and that still would have caused an allergic reaction so I didn't have dinner! My not eating made the others at my table uncomfortable which further ruined our experience. Overall the kitchen was unimpressive that night - the food was thrown on the plate with the vegetables on top of the mashed potatoes and under the protein like they were being hidden because the kitchen was embarrassed by their condition, the vegetables were over cooked, mushy, and colorless, the steaks were over seasoned and almost inedible, the steaks under-cooked but over-charred, and the strip steak served was full of fat and gristle! If this were our first visit I would not return but since we have had such great experiences in the past we will give Sullivan's a try again...but probably not during Restaurant Week!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was a birthday party. Everything was fine except my steak was overdone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was absolutely amazing. The food was great, not the best steak I've ever had, but very, very good. It was a bit loud and crowded and I wish we had a bit more privacy, but overall, the experience was great and we'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

They could NOT handle restaurant week crowd!! Late for reservation seatings; late for greeting us; tried to serve our meal before serving salads & bread. They need a dessert chef because they always fall short there. The Server was very pleasant and competent but you couldn't get water, beverages or food! We saw a table get up and leave due to lack of service. The place was so noisy and you had music that added to the noise, but we couldn't even tell what the music was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food and service were outstanding, but the noise level was off the charts for an upscale restaurant. I guess one reason is they have so many tables packed in there. Plus they were playing loud music. We will be back for the great food, but not as often as we would if it was a quieter environment.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great for special occasion as it is a pricey. The service was excellent and the food was very good. Kitchen is able to handle special requests... no salt, etc.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Sullivan's has become my number one pick for restaurant week in the Triangle. The filet was incredible as always, perfectly paired with seasonal vegetables and their decadent horseradish mashed potatoes. Of course we (barely) saved room to indulge in the bananas fosters bread pudding. While the dining is always a special treat, nothing beats the service and attention we always receive from our favorite waitress, Melody. She really adds a touch of laid-back class to this special occasion for us. We always look forward to our next dining experience with this lovely lady and cannot wait to come back again soon. Until then, keep up the great work! We truly appreciate it :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We LOVE Sullivans! The menu and food are top notch, and you cater to a variety of budgets.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always fantastic! Far better value than it's competitors and they do an amazing restaurant week!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great meal off the restaurant week menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great service and amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our first trip to Sullivan's happened to coincide with Triangle Restaurant Week. Based on my experience with TRW at other places, I regretted the timing - unfortunately birthdays can't be changed! I figured we would likely eat off the regular menu and that the place would be insanely busy. I was really, truly pleasantly surprised - both with the TRW menu (which we ended up getting) and the overall vibe. Our food was excellent and I felt like the prix fixe meal was a steal price-wise. The overall ambiance is your normal steakhouse vibe - full of chatter, clinking glasses, etc - but I felt like it wasn't as much of a din as at places like Morton's or The Palm.

We will definitely be returning to Sullivan's for another special occasion - and probably TRW again as well!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

One of our most favorite places to celebrate together as a family.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent Service, especially Excellent Value during Triangle Restaurant Week and Excellent food!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Tough to gauge on during Triangle Restaurant Week. But my strip steak was cooked wrong. They did come with a replacement quickly. Though you could tell that the quality of beef isn't their best. Overall, as a steak restaurant, I'd rather spend my money at Angus Barn.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We have eaten there before and it was good, this was Resturant week and I had a NY strip steak that was so tough it was hard to cut, I checked the knife twice to make sure it was reasonably sharp. Another person in the party got the filet, it looked like an end cut and was also tough, come on Sullivan's, Resturant Week is for putting your best foot forward to attract customers??? I ask the waitress JK about the soufflé that Sullivan's used to be known for but she had never heard of it, she was going to ask the chefs but must have forgot, she never gave an answer about it. All in all a very marginal experience, there are too many good steak houses in Raleigh to ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This is my third or fourth visit to Sullivan's and it never disappoints. Great food and service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We went here to celebrate my promotion and were surprised it was restaurant week. It worked out that everything we wanted was on the prefix menu! Ended up getting a great deal! Loved the atmosphere. The knockout martini is a must!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.