About Sullivan's Steakhouse - Anchorage

Come experience our whole new look. We recently renovated and we're taking things up an octave!

Sullivan’s Steakhouse is a vibrant neighborhood American Steakhouse featuring the finest steaks & seafood, hand shaken martinis, & live music. We offer comfortable fine dining in a lively atmosphere. From the moment you step inside our lounge for drinks, appetizers or dinner, you will feel the energy and excitement provided by our professional team members. Sullivan’s serves the finest Midwestern hand selected steaks aged a minimum of 28 days, simply seasoned and broiled at 1,200 degrees, fresh seafood, a wide selection of cravable appetizers, soups, salads and side dishes. Our Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence" wine list offers an array of selections from around the world. Whether it’s for business or pleasure, we look forward to quickly becoming your favorite local steakhouse.

320 W. 5th Avenue
Fifth Avenue Mall Room C01
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;

Bar:
Monday - Tuesday 11:30am - 12:00am,
Wednesday - Friday 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday 4:00pm-1:00am
Sunday 4:00pm - 12:00am

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Cross Street:
C Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 258-2882

Website:
http://www.sullivanssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Sullivan's Steakhouse offers live music, in the lounge, six nights a week.

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Catering:
Private and semi-private dining options are available in the restaurant with pre-set dining packages for all occasions. Please call our Private Dining Coordinator to plan your next great event.

Parking Details:
We validate parking for the 5th Ave Garage. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Mingus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Sullivan’s offers a variety of private/semi-private dining and reception spaces perfectly suited for special occasions or business gatherings. Sullivan’s provides private diners with warm hospitality and custom menus featuring our finest steak and seafood, as well as personalized beverage service.

Sullivan's Steakhouse - Anchorage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Business Meals (13)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Live Music (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Romantic (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Casual (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Historic (1)
Authentic (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was way too expensive and they mess ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was way too expensive and they messed up on my bill... charging even more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Sullivan's Steakhouse is *** VERY *** ex ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Sullivan's Steakhouse is VERY expensive. There are much better locations to get a quality steak without the extremely high prices at this restaurant. I won't be going to this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

The food was great. Cooked to order, wel ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great. Cooked to order, well seasoned, and just flat out delious. The server was professional, friendly, and well dressed. The music was up a little more than my likingt. It also took a bit longer than I expected to complete the meals; 5:45 reservation and didnt leave the restaurant unitl 8. The kitchen took their time getting the main course as well as desserts out to the table. The food was excellent once it arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Understand that this was Valentines Day ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Understand that this was Valentines Day and the place was crowded. Once seated at a table the server was readily available and attentive to our needs. The table was very small and was rather shaky. I'm sure the tables were put in to accommodate more customers for the event. Every time we went to cut on something the table it would shake badly. One of us had to hold it while the other used a knife to keep our drinks from spilling. The stake knifes were dull and needed sharpening badly. We found that our butter knives cut better. The food was nothing to brag about it was on par with similar establishments. The cost was out of this world! Sullivan's is too proud of their product.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

My hubby and I went to Sullivans for Val ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

My hubby and I went to Sullivans for Valentines, and it was excellent. Atmosphere was pleasant, the staff was pleasant, and the ribeye steak was probably the best steak of my life! Side dishes were excellent, the bread was amazing and the key lime pie...divine. The meals were spendy, but worth it. Great job, Sullivans- we will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great but dropped off af ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was great but dropped off after the main meal - we waited quite a while for dessert and coffee. The food was good, the steaks were all more done than expected, but still good - I regret getting the mushroom stuffing, the steak would have been better without it. Desserts were lovely and really tasty - the melted chocolate cake was especially tasty.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Just be prepared to be sat in a very sma ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Just be prepared to be sat in a very small booth RIGHT NEXT to 2 other couples looking for quiet romantic date night....and none of you will have that because you are inches from eachother. However, the food is amazing! Except the lobster....DO NOT order the lobster....unless you want to waste ALOT of money. It is overcooked, tastes freezerburnt, and you will be bitter that you didnt complain about it. Order steak or crab at this place. Nothing else. And you will be overjoyed! Dessert and cocktails are BOMB! Their bar area is amazing!! Service is unparallelled. The management knows how to keep people coming back! Kudos to them! I recommend you at least try it once ....I imagine you will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best Rib Eye in town....was just fabulou ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best Rib Eye in town....was just fabulous. Can't say enough on this as I had a craving and it was MET IN SPADES!!!!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Shawna and her team took amazing care of ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Shawna and her team took amazing care of us for our Anniversary after a not perfect but still acceptable evening last month!

We were spoiled and we appreciate that they know us and our tastes.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, energetic waiter. Online res ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food, energetic waiter. Online reservation and waited thirty minutes for our table. Other than the wait, outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Sullivan's has always been a favorite bu ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Sullivan's has always been a favorite but my my steak was cool and our salmon was overdone. Drinks and service were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

As usual the meal and service were outst ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 28, 2017

As usual the meal and service were outstanding. The wait staff took care of all our needs. The salads were unique and very good. The steak and seafood dishes were fresh and well prepared. And the bread pudding is my favorite dessert.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible, expensive

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Terrible, expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I took my 17 year old daughter and her f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I took my 17 year old daughter and her friend as a going away dinner for her friend who was going back to college after the holidays. The food is great, the management team, Joe, Jared, Mike and Shawna are extremely gracious and really love their jobs. It really shows. They have great seafood and steaks!! Downtown location makes it convenient and is attached to the shopping mall. Great for dropping by after a full day of shopping.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a wonderful meal at Sullivan's St ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Sullivan's Steakhouse. The Cowboy Cut Ribeye was perfectly cooked to medium rare and had a great flavor. Our server was attentive to our group's needs. I'll be going back in the future.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily the best steakhouse in Anchorage. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Easily the best steakhouse in Anchorage. Don't miss the 26 oz., dry-aged, long-bone ribeye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waitress Sarah was rude and messed u ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waitress Sarah was rude and messed up our New Years dinner and night. She told us we should of tipped better when our food wasn't even heated all the way. Everyone left feeling disrespected

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We enjoyed the environment and the food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed the environment and the food was great. Our waiter forgot to bring bread to the table, but we had plenty to eat. The price is high, but the experience is great. I would recommend to others for special occasions.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good food as usual.

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good food as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Up -Typically good filets for most of th ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Up -Typically good filets for most of the group

  • Two desserts were well received

Down - Porterhouse not so good, even after two tries ("Not even close" said the server looking at my medium well, ordered medium rare).

-Server wasn't very charming, but fairly efficient. Not sure if the kitchen was short staffed, but a LONG wait for entrees.

I had to ASK for the appetizer plates to be removed, after they sat empty at the table for 20-30 minutes while we waited for the entrees.

Overall - Uneven, at best.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This was not one of the better experienc ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was not one of the better experiences or meals that we have had at Sullivan's. In fact, we've been rather turned off now as a result of our experience and the quality of our meal. Our waiter was all business, very officious and not at all personable. We also felt we were being rushed. When he tried to seem friendly, it came across as anything but genuine.

As for our food, our steaks were not plated properly and had no bearnaise sauce. When the waiter attempted to breeze by and not ask us if our meals were fine but rather simply state that our steaks were delicious and keep going, he didn't even notice the lack of bearnaise sauce. We had to stop him and ask for the sauce. The steaks (filets) were on the dry side and not the most tender. My husband's steak even had some grizzle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Very simple. Food (fillet) was great. Se ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very simple. Food (fillet) was great. Service was great. Great value. I highly recommend it. However, a little noisy if seated in the main dining area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome steak

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Awesome steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Always great at Sullivans. They seem to ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always great at Sullivans. They seem to be updating their menu often and offer specials, combinations and prix fix dining options. All great.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Been to Sullivan's several times and usu ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Been to Sullivan's several times and usually happy with food and service. This time left me less than satisfied. Service was good once the waiter finally got to the table. Maybe Mondays are not ideal for this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This is the best steak house in Anchorag ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This is the best steak house in Anchorage. We both ordered the bone-in rib eye. Cooked to perfection and tender and tasty. We split a wedge salad. Our waitress split it in the kitchen. Bread was warm and tasty. A very enjoyable evening. And the GM stops at each table to make sure your meal is exceptional. Park in the garage across the street and they validate. We parked in the pay lot and it gouged us $8.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Very good food. Too ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent service. Very good food. Too rich for my blood. The wife and I both had 6 oz fillets with mashed potatoes (could have used a veggie) 2 cocktails, soup and desert bill was 175ish

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was average . The price did not ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was average . The price did not match the quality of the food. I expected more flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Incredibly tasty, everything popped with ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Incredibly tasty, everything popped with flavor and surprising combinations. Well done!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here for the Thanksgiving Holida ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went here for the Thanksgiving Holiday special. We were delightfully surprised with the service even though it was a full house! We did have to wait 15 minutes for a 5:30 reservation for 2. But I figured for as busy as it was, that was to be expected. We saw other people with bigger parties wait longer. The food was excellent! And the service was surprisingly quick. The Bar was at a medium level of people and they had all the football games showing. It was an awesome time for the wife and I to experience our first empty nest meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for Thanksgiving dinner. It was e ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I went for Thanksgiving dinner. It was excellent. The staff and management staff and the food make it worthwhile. I really appreciate the management staff kudos to Joe, Jared, Mike and Shawna. They make that place rock.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an excellent dinner at Sullivan's ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an excellent dinner at Sullivan's Steakhouse. The service was outstanding and it was quiet even though there was a lot of people. However, we were shocked at the prices. They are extremely high compared to other nice restaurants in Anchorage.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

We had an excellent time. 3 of our party ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an excellent time. 3 of our party had never been there before and they really enjoyed their meal. The steak was soft like butter. Everything was cooked perfectly. We will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server tried to take our order befor ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our server tried to take our order before our drinks even arrived. Once we ordered our appetizer cake quickly but was not correct. The steak was good but our potatoes had bacon in them. They were not advertised as having bacon in them so we were quite disappointed.

Overall it was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

i went for a business dinner. The waiter ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

i went for a business dinner. The waiter was good but did try too much "up selling'.

I had to send my steak back. This location of Sullivan's undercooks its meat. It was fine once they added another minute or two. I ordered Medium Plus

On the next night, I went there late by my self to grab a bite in the bar area. They had a great Thursday night special. I ordered a Bar Burger " Very Well done" it came out very rare. i was so hungry I ate it anyway, but mentioned it to the bar tender and showed him the burger. He comp'd me a glass of wine so I was content.

Overall, i have been to Sullivans in Dallas and Austin, and perhaps another location. This restaurant is consistent with those products and i would come back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went there for lunch on a Saturday. ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went there for lunch on a Saturday.

Service was great, attentive and accommodating.

Appetizer - calamari

Salad - Beef Thai salad

Entree- Ahi Tuna

Pineapple Martini - yum

Wine list- great selection to choose from

Dessert- banana fosters bread pudding and coffee

Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The porterhouse steak had a lot of grizz ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The porterhouse steak had a lot of grizzle and my husband could not eat it.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Was seated 20 minutes later than schedul ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Was seated 20 minutes later than scheduled due to the crowd from the theatre. Food and servers were very good - loved the mac and cheese, banana froster bread pudding and steak was amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

our waiter recommend a wonderful Pinot n ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 22, 2016

our waiter recommend a wonderful Pinot noir. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Scallops were the best ever!

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Scallops were the best ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.