Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Sullivan's Steakhouse - Anchorage

Come experience our whole new look. We recently renovated and we're taking things up an octave!

Sullivan’s Steakhouse is a vibrant neighborhood American Steakhouse featuring the finest steaks & seafood, hand shaken martinis, & live music. We offer comfortable fine dining in a lively atmosphere. From the moment you step inside our lounge for drinks, appetizers or dinner, you will feel the energy and excitement provided by our professional team members. Sullivan’s serves the finest Midwestern hand selected steaks aged a minimum of 28 days, simply seasoned and broiled at 1,200 degrees, fresh seafood, a wide selection of cravable appetizers, soups, salads and side dishes. Our Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence" wine list offers an array of selections from around the world. Whether it’s for business or pleasure, we look forward to quickly becoming your favorite local steakhouse.

320 W. 5th Avenue
Fifth Avenue Mall Room C01
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour:
Sun: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Mon - Wed, Sat: 3:00pm - 7:00pm
Thu: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Cross Street:
C Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 258-2882

Website:
http://www.sullivanssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Sullivan's Steakhouse offers live music, in the lounge, six nights a week.

*Alcohol, Happy Hour times and offers are subject to change to comply with local and state liquor laws and vary by location. Advertisements are not valid nor intended for residents of specific states where such promotions are prohibited by law.

Catering:
Private and semi-private dining options are available in the restaurant with pre-set dining packages for all occasions. Please call our Private Dining Coordinator to plan your next great event.

Parking Details:
We validate parking for the 5th Ave Garage. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Colin Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Sullivan’s offers a variety of private/semi-private dining and reception spaces perfectly suited for special occasions or business gatherings. Sullivan’s provides private diners with warm hospitality and custom menus featuring our finest steak and seafood, as well as personalized beverage service.

Sullivan's Steakhouse - Anchorage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

Noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Good for Birthdays (13)
Business Meals (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Romantic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Live Music (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 10, 2017

I would not recommend it for quiet conversation. It was hard to hear the people on the ends of the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great steak in an upscale environment. Nice place to go for a business dinner or a date and you can be dressed up or casual. Not cheap but very well prepared meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This place was amazing!! The food absolutely delicious! Waitstaff amazing!

Tags: Seasonal, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 1, 2017

food was good but the music was way too loud and made table conversation difficult. I asked if it could be turned down, but apparently it could not. Too bad as it diminished the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Very disappointed as I’ve dined at Sullivan’s in Chicago and had wonderful experiences. This previous experience was the primary reason for the visit to Anchorage location. Forgotten orders, cold scallops, late entrees, and burnt chocolate cake made for a less than desirable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We showed up a little after our reservation. Thinking we might have lost time. To our delight we were seated in a quieter side room with about 4 other couples. Service was quick and efficient. We will return.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Best service we've experience this year & the food was superb! Thank you for the most amazing date night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

It was a great experience! After learning it was my birthday the hostess put rose petals on our table, took our picture and presented it in a birthday card signed by the staff.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We had a pleasant experience, and the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Took forever to get our drinks. We went with a fixed price menu.
We just got delivered our starter and they brought our entrees a minute later. We had to to send it back and we got our entrees back after consuming our starter, the meat was room temperature because it has been sitting there while we were finishing up our starters.
Then a waiter was filling up my water by reaching his arm over my wife's plate while she was eating.
For this kind off restaurants the staff should have some serving etiquette.
Will never come back because it is just not worth the money for what you are getting back. Will stick with local businesses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Extremely loud because we were seated next to the party room, medium rare steak was very rare by every other steakhouse standard, they forgot one of our sides, and there was lipstick on a wineglass. For the money we expect better. That said, they responded quickly and professionally to each issue and we appreciated that, and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The service was slow and messed up, drinks and food orders. Since we had to get our drinks and food redone plus his slow service, we were there for an extended amount of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 13, 2017

This place can be hit or miss. This time it was a hit. Steak was done perfectly. Love their mushrooms.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was good but unfortunately the time it took to get some of our meal was disappointing. Although we did have the extended delay, a manager was kind enough to notify us of the delay and adjust the bill which made up for the problem. I like Sullivan's but would like to see them be able to provide more consistent service. We enjoy the food but really preferred the old dark wood steak house better than the noisy place it has become since remodeling and removing the wall between the bar and restaurant. It was a more classy formal place back then.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Me and my husband had a date night and we chose to go to Sullivan's. we have been here before and sometimes it was great sometimes not so much. This time it was average I would say. I would even give a 3 star overall but we are more positive people and we still enjoyed the time. Service and environment were excellent. Food was served fast, I would say even too fast for expensive restaurant when you want to enjoy the time. We had appetizers, drinks, entrees , soup and salad and deserts. We were done with everything including the wait time in 30 minutes. We took deserts to go since everything else showed up so fast.
As for the food, steaks were not bad, mashed potatoes tasted too much like wasabi which killed the whole taste of potatoes. Soup lobster bisque and wedge salad were excellent. As for deserts, I haven't tried one but my husband said cheesecake was just ok.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Been to many Sullivan's in lots of states and I like their brand. Service was great, good salad and a very disappointing "Prime" rib steak. Under cooked, chewy, fatty and not much flavor. Would not go back and try that again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Good dinner Staff was friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Always great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Very expensive but great steaks and cocktails Went with friends who cringed at the prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Best service in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We arrived a couple of minutes after 9 on a Sunday evening. It looked like they may be getting ready to close down the dining room early since there was only one other party finishing up but happily seated us. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful in recommending food and drinks. The food was delicious and cooked perfectly. We were very satisfied with our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We went to Sullivan's for my daughter's birthday dinner (giving the place a second chance after a previous bad experience). Even though we had reservations we were seated at the crappiest table in the whole restaurant (close to kitchen and waiters order station). To make matters worse our waiter must have had a bad day! He was unfriendly and borderline rude. The food was acceptable but in no means great. OVERALL A MISERABLE EXPERIENCE! I DON'T THINK WE WILL GO THERE AGAIN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Most ribeyes need good marbling but the one my friend got was just mostly fat. The mushrooms were too salty to eat and the waitress forgot my lobster bisque. Overall mediocre experience. We live in Alaska so hard to recommend to visiting friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had 8 people in our group and the service was excellent, food wonderful, great wine!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Awesome as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Celebrated our 29th anniversary here, staff went out of their way to make it special. Great food, drinks and staff. Our waiter Barry L was the greatest. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had an amazing experience. Good was phenemonal! Our service was amazing. I loved the Crab Gnocchi!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Man, we keep hoping Sullivans will return to it's former glory, but it just won't happen. Don't know why we keep trying. My wife ordered her steak medium, and it keep out blue. They took it back and returned the same piece of meat five minutes later. Now it was bloody, clearly rare. Back it goes a second time, and they return with the same piece of meat, now butterflied and well done. At this point she gave up and just ate it. To the manager's credit, she removed the steak from our bill.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always good but WAY TOO FAST SERVICE. They are trying to turn the tables way too fast. The past two times we were there our food came before our cocktails. We were in and out in 45 minutes, WAY TOO FAST. We were not ask if we wanted a second drink until after we finished our meal. It did not seem they were short of staff, just pushing too hard to turn the tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food and service always consistently good. Love the proximity to shopping and parking

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This restaurant was a fantastic choice. The food was incredibly tasty and the service was excellent. Perfect for a date or special occasion. The menu is pricy but trust it was well worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Everything was outstanding at Sullivan's in Anchorage.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We've been to Sullivan's many times. In Anchorage and Denver. Very consistent food, service, love the live jazz

Our friends were impressed, the steak, augratin potatoes, crab, wine and dessert all excellent!

And mostly we go for the signature cocktail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Birthday dinner, good food, great service!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was OK to very good across our group of 7, but not what I would expect for the price. No one reported an exceptional dish and more than one person had over cooked food. Overdone fish and steak should not happen at a restaurant of this caliber and cost. They were not busy and only about 1/2 the tables were occupied on our Monday 6PM visit. Requested corrections were happily made, but due to time constraints some just accepted there food as is. Staff were very nice and attentive. Side note, bread was very good, but special tools may be required to get through the armored outer shell. People literally gave up trying to cut into it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Went for our anniversary. They sat us in a cute little booth, it was perfect

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fantastic steak and wonderful halibut. Really pricey, with adequate service, but only for special occasions.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 21, 2017

There just doesn't seem to be nice, quiet, romantic restaurants anymore. I miss that.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.