About Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant

701, Côte de la Place d'Armes
Montréal, QC H2Y 2X6
View Larger Map

Ranked #1 of the top 10 VIP lounges in Toronto and Montreal by Askmen in 2011, Suite 701 Restaurant lounge is well known by Montreal's elite. The hotspot is famous for its tasty cocktails, all crafted with care by the city’s best mixologists. Indulge in a laid-back atmosphere with a creative, urban menu courtesy of Executive Darryl Crumb. It offers delectable choices such as the black cod Dieppoise style, duck confit cassoulet and home-made tagliatelle and eggplants. Knowned for its 5@7s and many events, the restaurant guarantees memorable evenings punctuated by gourmet delights.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST
Monday to Friday:
6:30am to 10:30am
Saturday and Sunday
6:30am to 11am

LUNCH
Monday to Friday:
11:00am to 3:30pm
(bar opens at 10:30am)

DINNER
Sunday to Wednesday:
3:30pm to 11pm
Thursday to Saturday:
3:30pm to midnight

BRUNCH
Saturday and Sunday:
11:30am to 3:30pm

Cross Street:
St-Jacques

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 904-1201

Website:
http://www.suite701.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJs play every Thursday, Friday, Saturday night and Sunday brunch.

Parking Details:
Valet parking offered by Place d'Armes Hôtel & Suites for $16. Car dropoff is at hotel reception at 55, rue St-Jacques, Old Montreal.

Public Transit:
Metro: Place d'Armes (Orange Line)
Bus: 55

Executive Chef:
Darryl Crumb

Private Party Facilities:
Suite 701 offers various private dinning rooms for groups starting at 12 people and has banquet facilities for up to 200 people.

Private Party Contact:
Romain Vignal: (514) 788-4085

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Brunch - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
strawberry parfait - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Kobe Beef Burger with Foie Gras - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Beet Salad - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Key Lime Tartelette À La Lime Des Îles Keys - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Le Pavé - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Passion Flakie Maison / Homemade Flakie Pastry - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Le Risotto - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Montréal Old Fashion - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
La Courge En Salade - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
French Citrus / Agrumes Français - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Fraises Fumées - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Le Carpaccio - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Raspberry Dark And Stormy - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Tagliatelle Quatres Fromages - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Creme Brulee, Chocolate Mousse And Vanilla Mousse - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Wagyu Beef Burger, Foie Gras On Onion Bread - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Smoked Salmon Salad - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Beer Marinated Chicken - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Vegetarian Poutine - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Smoked Bacon Parmentier - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Bison Carpaccio - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Cream Of Fish Soup With Scallops And Lobster Salsa - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Veal Burger - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Chef's Dessert - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Duck Confit - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Vegetarian Poutine: Roasted Nugget Potatoes, Caramelized Onions, Cheese Curds & Miso Gravy - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Drinks - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Chicken Supreme - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Cheese and Fruit Plate - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Kobe Burger - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Cheesecake - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Salmon Tartare - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Apple Crumble - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Molten Chocolate Cake - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Verrine Dessert - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Mushroom soup - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Black Cod - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Creme Brulee - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Kobe Beef Burger - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Steak-Frites - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC

Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Business Meals (8)
Romantic (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (5)
Live Music (5)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Historic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Authentic (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Repas bon et service génial, mais la mus ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Repas bon et service génial, mais la musique était beaucoup trop forte pour discuter. Nous devons parler très fort.

Tags: Musique en direct, Une trouvaille nocturne
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Très bon repas, belle table d'hôte dans ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Très bon repas, belle table d'hôte dans le cadre du Happening Gourmand. Un peu bruyant, on doit parler plus fort pour bien s'entendre.

Tags: Il en vaut le détour, Avant/après une sortie au théâtre, Les 5 à 7, Décor moderne
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

As usual with Happening Gourmand, I was ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

As usual with Happening Gourmand, I was disappointed. The serving sizes were laughable (literally got served 5 slices of beet in a beet carpaccio), the main dish of monkfish was oversalted to extremes and dinner overall was disappointing. The highlight of the meal was actually the cocktail (a sidecar); it was amazing, albeit overpriced (10$ for what would be classified as 2 shots worth of cocktail).

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

La nourriture était très bonne, le servi ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

La nourriture était très bonne, le service aussi et c'est très accessible en métro. Par contre, la musique était un peu trop forte et l'éclairage un peu trop tamisée. Dans l'ensemble c'était très bien! J'inviterai ma petite amie là la prochaine fois.

Tags: Avant/après une sortie au théâtre, Décontracté, Une occasion spéciale, Repas d’affaires, Amusant, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Plats réconfortants, Chaleureux
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Endroit d'une beauté remarquable ! On se ...

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

Endroit d'une beauté remarquable ! On se sent dans un conte de fée ! Nourriture très bonne avec belle représentation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Terrible service. Waiters too busy talki ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Terrible service. Waiters too busy talking with each other instead of paying attention to their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Food was excellent, but the service was ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent, but the service was extremely slow. Getting our drinks also took a really long time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Unfortunately some menu items were not a ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Unfortunately some menu items were not available. If you decide to go here based on the menu, call ahead to check if they have what you want to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Enjoyed a nice evening with the family, ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Enjoyed a nice evening with the family, great wine and drink selection. Food was excellent as was the service.

Beautiful decor, ambience and music was top notch.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had the chefs Poutine and was just delic ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Had the chefs Poutine and was just delicious. My boyfriend had the chicken with ghnocci, really good. Very warm and elegant restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We were a party of four for Christmas ni ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were a party of four for Christmas night dinner. It was a set menu, but they allowed us to make a few changes to suit a pescatarian, and made salads for those of us who don't eat foie gras, beef carpaccio or smoked salmon. The risotto with scallops were delicious. My favorite was the whipped sweet potatoes that came with my husband's filet mignon. So tasty. Very festive. I would have liked jazz music in the background instead of loud top 40 tunes. Overall, we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great brunch.

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overall great brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service and ambiance were amazing! Food ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service and ambiance were amazing! Food was very good, but not outstanding. All in all, a nice place to come to for special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

very nice lounge.. deco is beautfull. we ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

very nice lounge.. deco is beautfull. we went for xmas dinner, it was good! tartare de boeuf delicious.. risotto was good but small portions. and desert was the same very small, but overall, we really enjoyed our time there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Très bon restaurant où nous avons très b ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Très bon restaurant où nous avons très bien mangé pour le réveillon de Noël (nous avons juste fait une remarque concernant le cheutnet servi avec le foie gras qui était un peu trop vinaigré). Les serveurs sont très courtois et avenants.

Nous recommandons vivement ce restaurant.

Tags: Environnement paisible, Une occasion spéciale, Idéal pour les fêtes
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

C'était mon troisième retour à ce restau ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

C'était mon troisième retour à ce restaurant et j'ai été vraiment déçue par la qualité bien ordinaire des plats. Le foie gras était présenté en tranches vraiment trop épaisses pour la finesse de ce qu'est un foie gras; la côtelette de porc était sèche et le steak frites, sans raffinement aucun, la sauce prenant toute la place. Pour un plat à 28$, c'était choquant. Les apéros et le vin étaient excellents! Vraiment dommage, l'atmosphère et le service étaient si sympathiques mais nous allions prendre un repas, pas un verre. J'ose croire que c'était un mauvais soir mais malheureusement, la facture reste la même.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

well located near Notre Dame Basilica. ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

well located near Notre Dame Basilica. we were there for brunch. we were all happy with our food choices. Great food. Great service. Reasonably priced.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Merci à Gavin pour l'excellent service p ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Merci à Gavin pour l'excellent service personnalisé. Belle présence, bonnes explications, service rapide. Nous avons soupé un samedi soir à 17h. Beau restaurant, bien situé. Très peu de marche en sortant du métro.

Facture honnête pour la gamme du restaurant.

Plus ou moins 100$ avant taxe et pourboire pour :

1 entrée;

2 plats principaux;

2 cocktails alcoolisés;

1 dessert à partager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was one of the best experiences I h ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

This was one of the best experiences I have had in a long time dining in a restaurant! Not only was the food delicious but the service was impeccable! There was a crowd of people there for a private holiday function and we were sort of smacked in the middle of them. Our server took notice and was proactive. He moved us to a new seat so we weren't bothered by the crowd and we had a really nice private quiet meal to ourselves. It was a great experience. The vibe is also fantastic and the restaurant itself is gorgeous. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Late-night Find, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The music was a little too loud - it sho ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

The music was a little too loud - it should be background ambiance and not hinder normal conversations.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent menu selection with good quali ...

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent menu selection with good quality presentation and service. Comfortable and quiet. Great bar.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal....great dj music.....great d ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great meal....great dj music.....great décor...overall super experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Was ok. Service was above average. Meal ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Was ok. Service was above average. Meal was good. good place to go with group of friends.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was outstanding and menu was del ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was outstanding and menu was delicious! The atmosphere was fun, a bit spunky. Had a great date while on vacation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Un lieu très appréciable, bonne ambiance ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Un lieu très appréciable, bonne ambiance, bon plat, décoration très jolie et service incomparable.

Tags: Romantique, Chaleureux, Lieu huppé, Places au bar, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Décor moderne
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Très bon service et bonne ambiance. J'ai ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

Très bon service et bonne ambiance. J'ai pas trop aimé la cuisson du poisson mais le reste était très bien. Nous avons passé une très bonne soirée entre amis.

Tags: Idéal pour les fêtes, Une trouvaille nocturne, Les 5 à 7
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Décevante aile de raie dans le cadre de ...

 
·Dined on November 8, 2016

Décevante aile de raie dans le cadre de Menu MTL à Table - Édition 2016 !!

Tags: Décor moderne, Décontracté
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

not much fish options => Fish of the day ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

not much fish options =>

Fish of the day & Fish&CHips??

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Not enough staff to support the full and ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Not enough staff to support the full and busy restaurant.

Food was delicious but took forever for our meal compared to other tables.

Poor inattentive service.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

We checked into our hotel after a long d ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

We checked into our hotel after a long day of travelling, and were pleasantly greeted with excellent service and impeccable cuisine. The service was prompt, hospitable, and professional. The buerre blanc with the scallop risotto was phenomenal and not overpowering in any way. My colleague had the arugula pasta, and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were so full from our mains, we decided to share the fig and goat cheese dessert; this was very unique and a pleasant surprise! We will certainly be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved our brunch at Suite 701, I highl ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

I loved our brunch at Suite 701, I highly recommend the Gentleman Mimosa!! Food was delicious, service really good and excellent ambiance! definitely I'm coming back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks.... just wishing we did not hit ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Thanks.... just wishing we did not hit the brunch menu.... wanted something different! Next time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Le servvie a été extrêmement long !!! Pr ...

 
·Dined on October 3, 2016

Le servvie a été extrêmement long !!! Presque 1 heure d'attente entre notre commande et le sevice des plats. Il n'y avait pas non plus le vin que nous avions commandé!!

Tags: Chaleureux
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

A lovely find. My wife's only criteria ...

 
·Dined on September 27, 2016

A lovely find. My wife's only criteria was poutine, and suite 701 delivered, the poutine du jour was delicious. The escargot was also very good. Generous portion of foie terrine. Can't wait to go back and check out the roof top!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience! Had a large bus ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Outstanding experience! Had a large business dinner here and was very happy. Service was good, food variety was great and the food quality was off the charts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This is the first time I ate at your res ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is the first time I ate at your restaurant the service was excellent and I will return to your restaurant again alone or with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Le resto est magnifique, la nourriture e ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Le resto est magnifique, la nourriture excellente et le service incomparable. Nous étions pressés à cause d’un spectacle et ils ont su s’adapter parfaitement. Nous y retournerons assurément.

Tags: Authentique, Plats réconfortants, Environnement paisible, Historique, Avant/après une sortie au théâtre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was great, our waiter was ve ...

 
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The service was great, our waiter was very attentive. We were there for our wedding anniversary, the hotel where we got married. The food was good, dessert amazing! The doghnuts :Mmmm ! Great ambiance and music as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Le choix musical, la qualité du son, la ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Le choix musical, la qualité du son, la hauteur élevé du plafond, le confort des fauteuils créent une ambiance très agréable. Cet endroit chic et décontracté est situé devant la basilique Notre-Dame. Les serveuses et serveurs sont tous gentils, courtois, discrets et efficaces. La nourriture est bonne, sans être gastronomique. Le menu est facile à consulter et tient sur un seul carton. La carte des vins cependant est beaucoup plus élaborée et offre un bel éventail. C'est l'endroit idéal pour prendre un verre entre amis puis, si on le désire, de poursuivre en mangeant. J'y suis allé en soirée avec mon épouse pour manger seulement: le prix était honnête (230$, incluant une entrée, plat principal, dessert, une bouteille de vin, taxes et pourboire).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Just love it! Little expensive but worth ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Just love it! Little expensive but worth it !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.