Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Brasserie 701

Inspired by Paris’s golden-era brasseries, Brasserie 701 welcomes you in a chic decor with its grandiose neo-classical architecture and a lively ambiance. The bustling brasserie serves French brasserie classics from breakfast through supper every day, with brunch served on weekends.

701, Côte de la Place d'Armes
Montréal, QC H2Y 2X6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday to Friday : 6:30am to 10:30am
Saturday to Sunday : 6:30am to 9am

Brunch
Saturday to Sunday : 9am to 3pm

Lunch
Monday to Friday : 11am to 3pm

Dinner
Sunday to Wednesday: 3pm à 11pm
Thursday to Saturday : 3pm to midnight

Cross Street:
St-Jacques

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 904-1201

Website:
http://brasserie701.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJs play every Friday, Saturday night and Sunday brunch.

Parking Details:
Valet parking offered by Place d'Armes Hôtel & Suites for $12 at night and free for lunch.
Car dropoff is at hotel reception at 55, rue St-Jacques, Old Montreal.

Public Transit:
Metro: Place d'Armes (Orange Line)
Bus: 55

Executive Chef:
Lucas Hadengue

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

Craquez pour l’ambiance chic décontractée de la Suite 701 et découvrez le délicieux menu urbain. Les plats, élaborés à partir de la culture et des ingrédients locaux, offrent le meilleur des brasseries modernes.

Brasserie 701 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (20)
Good for a Date (14)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Hot Spot (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Casual (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Live Music (6)
Romantic (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Authentic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very nice venue with a wonderfully bar and tasty cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Retour de Florida

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Waiting time is too long. Bread like leftover from yesterday. Food is just so so. The only good thing is the decoration and street view.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My friends and I came here as part of my birthday celebrations in Montreal - we loved the ambiance, with the beautiful chandeliers and long draperies, as well as the DJ that was spinning mixes live (but at a volume we could still talk over), and the customer service. Dinner was delicious as well, with sizable portions for the price. A classy night out!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I love the ambiance but its always so noisy. We always have to yell when we talk to another person. Maybe the music is too loud? Great service, great place overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Service attentionné, qualité des plats servis excellente. Très belle découverte.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service très attentif et accommodant. Nous avions des restrictions alimentaires et le tout a été bien reçu et des alternatives nous ont été proposées. Je recommande!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service impécable, très bonne nourriture, belle présentation des plats, ambiance festive, accueil chaleureuse, serveur très avenant, souriant, sympathique et surtout à l'écoute de nos besoins. Bravo à vous tous, j'y retournerai sans hésitation.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Le menu du Happening Gourmand était absolument délicieux! wow!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service et ambiance impeccable!!
Je recommande fortement ce restaurant!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Dancing, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Modern Decor, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was good but too much noise (music too loud)
We went on Saturday around 6pm and music become more and more louder. It's annoying for small talk.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I visit Suite 701 for brunch occasionally and the food is good, just as I remember. I have to say that the service my friends and I received from our server, Aladdin was fantastic. I have never had such great service at suite 701, he was amazing. I would recommend this place for Aladdin, alone. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 20, 2017

J'ai découvert le restaurant dans le cadre de l'Happening gourmand du Vieux-Montréal et je dois admettre que l'expérience était exquise. Un décor intéressant avec les rideaux envoûteurs et les luminaires encagés qui donne un ensemble chaleureux tout en demeurant chic. Notre serveur a été d'une grande sympathie et nous a offert un service sans faille. Excellente nourriture, autant pour le végétarien que le carnivore, portions adéquates et une finesse dans les saveurs. J'ai bien apprécié l'utilisation de produits locaux dans les mets. Le seul point négatif concerne le prix. Même dans le cadre de l'Happening gourmand, ce n'est pas pour les petits portefeuilles, sutout si vous comptez prendre un verre. Cela dit, je considère que le prix justifie amplement la qualité du service reçu. Définitivement un excellent restaurant du Vieux-Montréal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Repas bon et service génial, mais la musique était beaucoup trop forte pour discuter. Nous devons parler très fort.

Tags: Live Music, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Très bon repas, belle table d'hôte dans le cadre du Happening Gourmand. Un peu bruyant, on doit parler plus fort pour bien s'entendre.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 13, 2017

As usual with Happening Gourmand, I was disappointed. The serving sizes were laughable (literally got served 5 slices of beet in a beet carpaccio), the main dish of monkfish was oversalted to extremes and dinner overall was disappointing. The highlight of the meal was actually the cocktail (a sidecar); it was amazing, albeit overpriced (10$ for what would be classified as 2 shots worth of cocktail).

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 13, 2017

La nourriture était très bonne, le service aussi et c'est très accessible en métro. Par contre, la musique était un peu trop forte et l'éclairage un peu trop tamisée. Dans l'ensemble c'était très bien! J'inviterai ma petite amie là la prochaine fois.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Endroit d'une beauté remarquable ! On se sent dans un conte de fée ! Nourriture très bonne avec belle représentation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Terrible service. Waiters too busy talking with each other instead of paying attention to their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent, but the service was extremely slow. Getting our drinks also took a really long time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Unfortunately some menu items were not available. If you decide to go here based on the menu, call ahead to check if they have what you want to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Enjoyed a nice evening with the family, great wine and drink selection. Food was excellent as was the service.
Beautiful decor, ambience and music was top notch.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Had the chefs Poutine and was just delicious. My boyfriend had the chicken with ghnocci, really good. Very warm and elegant restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were a party of four for Christmas night dinner. It was a set menu, but they allowed us to make a few changes to suit a pescatarian, and made salads for those of us who don't eat foie gras, beef carpaccio or smoked salmon. The risotto with scallops were delicious. My favorite was the whipped sweet potatoes that came with my husband's filet mignon. So tasty. Very festive. I would have liked jazz music in the background instead of loud top 40 tunes. Overall, we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service and ambiance were amazing! Food was very good, but not outstanding. All in all, a nice place to come to for special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overall great brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 25, 2016

very nice lounge.. deco is beautfull. we went for xmas dinner, it was good! tartare de boeuf delicious.. risotto was good but small portions. and desert was the same very small, but overall, we really enjoyed our time there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Très bon restaurant où nous avons très bien mangé pour le réveillon de Noël (nous avons juste fait une remarque concernant le cheutnet servi avec le foie gras qui était un peu trop vinaigré). Les serveurs sont très courtois et avenants.
Nous recommandons vivement ce restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 21, 2016

C'était mon troisième retour à ce restaurant et j'ai été vraiment déçue par la qualité bien ordinaire des plats. Le foie gras était présenté en tranches vraiment trop épaisses pour la finesse de ce qu'est un foie gras; la côtelette de porc était sèche et le steak frites, sans raffinement aucun, la sauce prenant toute la place. Pour un plat à 28$, c'était choquant. Les apéros et le vin étaient excellents! Vraiment dommage, l'atmosphère et le service étaient si sympathiques mais nous allions prendre un repas, pas un verre. J'ose croire que c'était un mauvais soir mais malheureusement, la facture reste la même.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 18, 2016

well located near Notre Dame Basilica. we were there for brunch. we were all happy with our food choices. Great food. Great service. Reasonably priced.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Merci à Gavin pour l'excellent service personnalisé. Belle présence, bonnes explications, service rapide. Nous avons soupé un samedi soir à 17h. Beau restaurant, bien situé. Très peu de marche en sortant du métro.
Facture honnête pour la gamme du restaurant.
Plus ou moins 100$ avant taxe et pourboire pour :
1 entrée;
2 plats principaux;
2 cocktails alcoolisés;
1 dessert à partager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This was one of the best experiences I have had in a long time dining in a restaurant! Not only was the food delicious but the service was impeccable! There was a crowd of people there for a private holiday function and we were sort of smacked in the middle of them. Our server took notice and was proactive. He moved us to a new seat so we weren't bothered by the crowd and we had a really nice private quiet meal to ourselves. It was a great experience. The vibe is also fantastic and the restaurant itself is gorgeous. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Late-night Find, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The music was a little too loud - it should be background ambiance and not hinder normal conversations.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent menu selection with good quality presentation and service. Comfortable and quiet. Great bar.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great meal....great dj music.....great décor...overall super experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Was ok. Service was above average. Meal was good. good place to go with group of friends.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was outstanding and menu was delicious! The atmosphere was fun, a bit spunky. Had a great date while on vacation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Un lieu très appréciable, bonne ambiance, bon plat, décoration très jolie et service incomparable.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Très bon service et bonne ambiance. J'ai pas trop aimé la cuisson du poisson mais le reste était très bien. Nous avons passé une très bonne soirée entre amis.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Décevante aile de raie dans le cadre de Menu MTL à Table - Édition 2016 !!

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.