About Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant

701, Côte de la Place d'Armes
Montréal, QC H2Y 2X6
View Larger Map

Ranked #1 of the top 10 VIP lounges in Toronto and Montreal by Askmen in 2011, Suite 701 Restaurant lounge is well known by Montreal's elite. The hotspot is famous for its tasty cocktails, all crafted with care by the city’s best mixologists. Indulge in a laid-back atmosphere with a creative, urban menu courtesy of Executive Darryl Crumb. It offers delectable choices such as the black cod Dieppoise style, duck confit cassoulet and home-made tagliatelle and eggplants. Knowned for its 5@7s and many events, the restaurant guarantees memorable evenings punctuated by gourmet delights.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST
Monday to Friday:
6:30am to 10:30am
Saturday and Sunday
6:30am to 11am

LUNCH
Monday to Friday:
11:00am to 3:30pm
(bar opens at 10:30am)

DINNER
Sunday to Wednesday:
3:30pm to 11pm
Thursday to Saturday:
3:30pm to midnight

BRUNCH
Saturday and Sunday:
11:30am to 3:30pm

Cross Street:
St-Jacques

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 904-1201

Website:
http://www.suite701.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJs play every Thursday, Friday, Saturday night and Sunday brunch.

Parking Details:
Valet parking offered by Place d'Armes Hôtel & Suites for $16. Car dropoff is at hotel reception at 55, rue St-Jacques, Old Montreal.

Public Transit:
Metro: Place d'Armes (Orange Line)
Bus: 55

Executive Chef:
Darryl Crumb

Private Party Facilities:
Suite 701 offers various private dinning rooms for groups starting at 12 people and has banquet facilities for up to 200 people.

Private Party Contact:
Romain Vignal: (514) 788-4085x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Brunch - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
strawberry parfait - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Kobe Beef Burger with Foie Gras - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Beet Salad - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Key Lime Tartelette À La Lime Des Îles Keys - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Le Pavé - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Passion Flakie Maison / Homemade Flakie Pastry - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Le Risotto - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Montréal Old Fashion - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
La Courge En Salade - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
French Citrus / Agrumes Français - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Fraises Fumées - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Le Carpaccio - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Raspberry Dark And Stormy - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Tagliatelle Quatres Fromages - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Creme Brulee, Chocolate Mousse And Vanilla Mousse - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Wagyu Beef Burger, Foie Gras On Onion Bread - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Smoked Salmon Salad - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Beer Marinated Chicken - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Vegetarian Poutine - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Smoked Bacon Parmentier - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Bison Carpaccio - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Cream Of Fish Soup With Scallops And Lobster Salsa - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Veal Burger - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Chef's Dessert - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Duck Confit - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Vegetarian Poutine: Roasted Nugget Potatoes, Caramelized Onions, Cheese Curds & Miso Gravy - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Drinks - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Chicken Supreme - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Cheese and Fruit Plate - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Kobe Burger - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Cheesecake - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Salmon Tartare - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Apple Crumble - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Molten Chocolate Cake - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Verrine Dessert - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Mushroom soup - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Black Cod - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Creme Brulee - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Kobe Beef Burger - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Steak-Frites - Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant, Montréal, QC

Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Business Meals (7)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Historic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Live Music (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dancing (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was one of the best experiences I h ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

This was one of the best experiences I have had in a long time dining in a restaurant! Not only was the food delicious but the service was impeccable! There was a crowd of people there for a private holiday function and we were sort of smacked in the middle of them. Our server took notice and was proactive. He moved us to a new seat so we weren't bothered by the crowd and we had a really nice private quiet meal to ourselves. It was a great experience. The vibe is also fantastic and the restaurant itself is gorgeous. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Late-night Find, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The music was a little too loud - it sho ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The music was a little too loud - it should be background ambiance and not hinder normal conversations.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent menu selection with good quali ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent menu selection with good quality presentation and service. Comfortable and quiet. Great bar.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal....great dj music.....great d ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great meal....great dj music.....great décor...overall super experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Was ok. Service was above average. Meal ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Was ok. Service was above average. Meal was good. good place to go with group of friends.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was outstanding and menu was del ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was outstanding and menu was delicious! The atmosphere was fun, a bit spunky. Had a great date while on vacation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Un lieu très appréciable, bonne ambiance ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Un lieu très appréciable, bonne ambiance, bon plat, décoration très jolie et service incomparable.

Tags: Romantique, Chaleureux, Lieu huppé, Places au bar, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Décor moderne
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Très bon service et bonne ambiance. J'ai ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Très bon service et bonne ambiance. J'ai pas trop aimé la cuisson du poisson mais le reste était très bien. Nous avons passé une très bonne soirée entre amis.

Tags: Idéal pour les fêtes, Une trouvaille nocturne, Les 5 à 7
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Décevante aile de raie dans le cadre de ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Décevante aile de raie dans le cadre de Menu MTL à Table - Édition 2016 !!

Tags: Décor moderne, Décontracté
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

not much fish options => Fish of the day ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 4, 2016

not much fish options =>

Fish of the day & Fish&CHips??

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Not enough staff to support the full and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Not enough staff to support the full and busy restaurant.

Food was delicious but took forever for our meal compared to other tables.

Poor inattentive service.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

We checked into our hotel after a long d ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We checked into our hotel after a long day of travelling, and were pleasantly greeted with excellent service and impeccable cuisine. The service was prompt, hospitable, and professional. The buerre blanc with the scallop risotto was phenomenal and not overpowering in any way. My colleague had the arugula pasta, and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were so full from our mains, we decided to share the fig and goat cheese dessert; this was very unique and a pleasant surprise! We will certainly be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved our brunch at Suite 701, I highl ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I loved our brunch at Suite 701, I highly recommend the Gentleman Mimosa!! Food was delicious, service really good and excellent ambiance! definitely I'm coming back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks.... just wishing we did not hit ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Thanks.... just wishing we did not hit the brunch menu.... wanted something different! Next time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Le servvie a été extrêmement long !!! Pr ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Le servvie a été extrêmement long !!! Presque 1 heure d'attente entre notre commande et le sevice des plats. Il n'y avait pas non plus le vin que nous avions commandé!!

Tags: Chaleureux
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

A lovely find. My wife's only criteria ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 27, 2016

A lovely find. My wife's only criteria was poutine, and suite 701 delivered, the poutine du jour was delicious. The escargot was also very good. Generous portion of foie terrine. Can't wait to go back and check out the roof top!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience! Had a large bus ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Outstanding experience! Had a large business dinner here and was very happy. Service was good, food variety was great and the food quality was off the charts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This is the first time I ate at your res ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is the first time I ate at your restaurant the service was excellent and I will return to your restaurant again alone or with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Le resto est magnifique, la nourriture e ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Le resto est magnifique, la nourriture excellente et le service incomparable. Nous étions pressés à cause d’un spectacle et ils ont su s’adapter parfaitement. Nous y retournerons assurément.

Tags: Authentique, Plats réconfortants, Environnement paisible, Historique, Avant/après une sortie au théâtre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was great, our waiter was ve ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The service was great, our waiter was very attentive. We were there for our wedding anniversary, the hotel where we got married. The food was good, dessert amazing! The doghnuts :Mmmm ! Great ambiance and music as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Le choix musical, la qualité du son, la ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Le choix musical, la qualité du son, la hauteur élevé du plafond, le confort des fauteuils créent une ambiance très agréable. Cet endroit chic et décontracté est situé devant la basilique Notre-Dame. Les serveuses et serveurs sont tous gentils, courtois, discrets et efficaces. La nourriture est bonne, sans être gastronomique. Le menu est facile à consulter et tient sur un seul carton. La carte des vins cependant est beaucoup plus élaborée et offre un bel éventail. C'est l'endroit idéal pour prendre un verre entre amis puis, si on le désire, de poursuivre en mangeant. J'y suis allé en soirée avec mon épouse pour manger seulement: le prix était honnête (230$, incluant une entrée, plat principal, dessert, une bouteille de vin, taxes et pourboire).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Just love it! Little expensive but worth ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Just love it! Little expensive but worth it !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

"Too much booze made boyfriend stupid" - ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 7, 2016

"Too much booze made boyfriend stupid" - pretty lady

10/10 *would recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Le serveur Gavin était excellent, drôle, ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Le serveur Gavin était excellent, drôle, attentionné et courtois! Merci pour la belle soirée!

Tags: Lieu huppé, Des bars dynamiques et accueillants, Romantique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrasse superbe, du bon vent et un bon ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Terrasse superbe, du bon vent et un bon toit de toile qui rends lexperience superbe. La bouffe etait super bien presenter mais n'etait pas le meilleur repas mais cetait bon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Très bonne ambiance. Je n'ai pas été éto ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Très bonne ambiance. Je n'ai pas été étonné du menu par contre, rien de très compliqué.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Magnifique vue pour le coucher de soleil ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Magnifique vue pour le coucher de soleil. Manger dans la section Bar est une très bonne option, car les bancs sont sur-élevés donc vous bénéficiez aussi du panorama. Réservez si vous voulez la terrasse ou une table sur le bord de la fenêtre.

Tags: Parfait pour les groupes, Une vue pittoresque, Lieu huppé
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We celebrated a wedding anniversary at 7 ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We celebrated a wedding anniversary at 701 and it was so lovely! Excellent service and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great vibe. Good food. Our waiter was f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great vibe. Good food. Our waiter was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a Friday night, there is a DJ, so ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was a Friday night, there is a DJ, so it was a little louder than normal. Food was excellent, portions were decent sized. We had a risotto that was very well made. Drunken chicken was just so-so.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The staff is amazing and friendly. It wa ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The staff is amazing and friendly. It was a bit expensive for what we ordered. Due to its location across Notre-Dame Basilica, it make this restaurant a true gem in the old port. Therefore, the brunch option with its open bar on the weekend & after 11am make it all worth it! Definetly will be going back soon

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Went for brunch when in Montreal for a f ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Went for brunch when in Montreal for a friends bachelorette party. The decor of the place is very nice and trendy, but that was the only good thing about the brunch. The service was very poor, took forever to get our food, and never had a refill of coffee or waters. My friend had to ask multiple times to get a refill of coffee. We had the Eggs Benedict, and the spinach on it was way too soggy, and the hollandaise wasn't very good. I also tried the fried chicken, which was a big disappointment. Three smallish cold pieces of chicken, and the maple syrup was hidden under the fruit. And it wasn't cheap either. I wouldn't recommend, there are tons of way better brunch options in Montreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Unfortunately, we had to wait 1 hour and ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Unfortunately, we had to wait 1 hour and 15 minutes to get our meals! The waitress said it was because we were a large group (10 people) and yet the terrasse was full of other groups and they had no difficulty getting their meals. Sorry, but won't be going back there soon :(.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellent repas,bonne musique. Les serve ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent repas,bonne musique. Les serveurs et serveuses font le service toujours avec un beau sourire . Servie impeccable

Tags: Des bars dynamiques et accueillants, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Parfait pour les groupes, Une carte des vins remarquable, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly staff. Fancy restaurant & bar. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Friendly staff. Fancy restaurant & bar. The food was expensive but it tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Belle présentation des plats et délicieu ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Belle présentation des plats et délicieux. Bon choix de cocktail. Nous avons vraiment appércié notre visite.

Tags: Idéal pour le repas du midi, Lieu huppé, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Problème de gestion

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Nous étions en congrès et j'ai réservé le Resto la veille. La nourriture est très bonne, le service courtois, mais quel manque d'organisation et de gestion!!! Il n'y avait pas vraiment de serveur attitré à notre table, alors difficile de savoir où on en était. 3 personnes "s'occupaient" de nous. Très long pour recevoir nos apéros... J'ai dû les redemander... C'est à 2 pas du palais des congrès, ils devraient être habitués au rush du midi? On a bien mangé, beau décor... Mais il faut pas être pressé!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Poor service at breakfast

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Went for breakfast. They seemed to be mostly focused on setting up for lunch. Despite few customers, service was very slow. Waitress dropped the ball on too many requests.

My wife's omelet was very mediocre. My Eggs Benedict with duck confit was a nice change and pretty good, though served a bit cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Outstanding

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Went here for a birthday dinner and loved every aspect of the food and the ambiance. The escargot, the tartare, the duck carpaccio and the scallop risotto were all exquisite. The only thing is that the service was a little slow, and considering that there were barely any clients in the restaurant this made no sense. Other than that, everything was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointing

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful, the service of the hostess is what earned a poor rating. Food was good; a tasty eggs Benny and Ceasar, although tiny portions and not really worth the value. An $11 Ceasar for instance should be brimming with garnish and larger in size.

It's just that I made the reservation a few weeks before I attended as it was for a special occasion. We went for brunch for my sister's bachelorette party so I booked ahead. They sat us in the sun on the patio on a hot day and when I asked if we could sit inside, they said they had no tables although there were many. And we had to sit next to the road with the vehicle exhaust... Just wasn't pleasant considering we were kind of in rough shape (although we didn't look it ;))

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.