Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Stuzzi - Richmond

Naples is the birthplace of pizza, and Neapolitan pizza captures the pure essence of this simple and delicious Italian food. True Neopolitan pizza (or D.O.C. pizza, which stands for 'Denominazione di Origine Controllata') is so pure, there are only a handful of restaurants in the US to make it! Stuzzi creates that authentic product. Our wood fired oven was hand built, on site, to exacting standards. The oven's unique "beehive" design allows the temperature to be maintained at a blistering 1000+ degrees Fahrenheit -- hot enough to turn raw dough, tomatoes, cheese and basil into a blistering bubbling pizza in about sixty seconds.

1 North Belmont Street
Richmond, VA 23221
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 308-3294

Website:
http://www.stuzzirichmond.com/

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stuzzi - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.6

ambience

3.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Wood Oven (17)
Casual (12)
Authentic (12)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Family Style (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Fun (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was ok. Waiter was very awkward. The restaurant smelled a little like trash.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and outstanding service for our party of 8. I would recommend Stuzzi for any occasion. Plus, they have phenomenal gluten free options.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very good restaurant. Known for their pizza. We didn't actually order pizza, but everything else was at or above expectations. I felt the day to be a little pricey for not having ordered entrees and just splitting salad, small plate, and app. If you can get your kids to split a Kid portion meal, that would be my suggestion. The Kid portions are way more than most can eat and are suited to split. However, with to-go boxes the kid meals turned into additional meals that evening and for lunch the following day. I will surely return and try the pizza.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

What a terrible disappointment. We've been to Stuzzi many times and the food especially the pizza is always great. The service is never great but this time it was horrible. We were seated and didn't have a server for a long time. We also didn't have water, napkins, plates or silverware. We ordered and the food came out before the drinks or the plates or silverware. We actually never got water even after two servers said they would bring it. The food came out cold and in two enters came out before he other two for our table and it was clear the waiter had not put the two orders in. The owner/manager sat at the bar while many tables complained and never got off his stool. I'm sorry to say I will never go back and not sure how they can stay I business with this type of service and management

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall the food and ambiance were fine. The main problem with the experience was the service. I know our waiter was busy because this was saturday night, but still, there were long lags of empty waters and diet cokes on the table, sometimes over 20 minutes (there were 3 of us). He misplaced one of my friend's orders and hers came out almost 15-20 minutes after the other two. He took our dessert order but didn't submit it to the kitchen (or something went wrong in the kitchen) so we cancelled it. Then it took 20 min after that for the checks to come. I usually give waiters the benefit of the doubt but that performance was sub-par.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was good but it took too long for our dinners to be served. The house red wine was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great lunch at Stuzzi...we dropped in, the place was quiet with only a few tables seated. Service was good, and the food is fantastic and really reasonably priced. Truly a great deal for lunch...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Not as good as it was. Food was tepid and the place was empty. Used to enjoy it, but will probably not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

My husband and I ate at Stuzzis during restaurant week. We had appetizers, entrée and shared a dessert. The food was great.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Very good Italian food, with reasonable prices. The pizza reminded us of some we had enjoyed in Rome. We will definitely go to Stuzzi's, again. The service could not have been better.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

First time there, definitely not my last time there. We were greeted by friendly personnel. Waitress was friendly and checked back with us often. Much appreciated. Food was really really good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Wonderful neighborhood spot, worth the drive. Value prices without sacrificing authentic taste. Only wish we had found it sooner. Will definitely be a go-to for us!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Vegan, Authentic, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food was it's typical amazing w/ new items on the menu since I was last there & everything lived up to the quality I've come to know. Jess, our server was friendly, courteous & her suggestions were spot on.

Looking forward to my next visit!!

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Usually pretty good - but SOOO expensive! $100 for two individual pizzas and one bottle of wine. This keeps us from coming here often!

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Visiting Richmond and picked it in open table. The restaurant is so dirty and the food was not good. Got eggplant parm and the center was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

They charged us $2 for a little cup of marinara and didn't tell us until the bill came. Obviously, this isn't a huge deal but it speaks to the penny-pinching nature of the owner. Everything is at least a little overpriced.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I have been to Stuzzi many times, and the food is excellent. Pizzas are excellent and the gnocchi is top-notch. So go to Stuzzi for the food, which again is excellent and worth the trip. The service is terrible. I have been at least a half-dozen times and every time, the service has been mediocre. This past time was the worst, where our party of six sat there for 15 minutes and no one came up. I finally got up and spoke to the owner and he was very attentive and got our server immediately to our table. Our server had very knowledge of the menu and we literally had to ask for boxes and the check three times at the end of our dinner.

I go to Stuzzi for the food and have low expectations for the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My 17 year old son and girlfriend went and enjoyed their dinner and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentines Day and while they were incredibly busy the service was very good. We had a reservation and were seated immediately. My only complaint would be that once our pizza made it to the table it was cool. It wasn't even warm. Despite the temp. it was still delicious so if it had been hot then it would have been out of the park amazing!

Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was very good and plentiful. Service was below par. We were seated when we arrived for our reservation and 15 minutes later I had to go ask a manager if there was a waitress available for our table. Even after that poor start, service was just average going forward. The baked ziti served family style saved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

love this place. pizza is awesome. and love the puttanesca

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Don't make reservations for a large party here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great pizza, but very noisy and packed with so many people it's almost impossible to turn around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 6, 2017

I love this restaurant. However, I don't love it when we show up early for our reservation and the restaurant is closed with no notification from the restaurant whatsoever. This has happened before but with a more last min reservation at a later time. They advertise being open until 10PM so we made the reservation for 9PM shortly after 8PM. At 8:45 they were locked up tight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a 2 hour dinner and order just one small app and a pizza.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The house made mozzarella was excellent

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Had a great time! The only complaint we had was the exit door was right by our table and every time someone left we got a freezing cold breeze. It probably isn't too bad most of the year, but at the end of January, it was a bit much.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I had to delay taking my team out for a holiday lunch and finally got out this week. Stuzzi's opened at 11:30a but some of us arrived at 11:25a in the rain. They were kind enough to open their doors. We had 10 people and everyone found something on the menu and I heard a lot of compliments about the food when we got back to the office. I can't comment on the bar since this was a luncheon.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Stuzzi has become increasingly unorganized. They accept "reservations" but don't really keep track of it; so you may show up and there are no tables available. Food is good but we've noticed that it has become inconsistent (we've eaten at Stuzzi over 15-20 times over the past several years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The pizza came with three pieces of prosciutto and a pound of arugula. Felt like we had to reconstruct the pizza to make it appetizing. We didn't get silverware or plates for the pizza until we asked a second time. Had to get up to get our own forks. Nothing seemed coordinated or made sense during the entire dining process. The restaurant wasn't even packed.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

If you can agree on a dish, go family style - friend and I had enough left for both of us to take home another meal plus.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Family Style, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Been to Italy three times. Never had better pizza than the Grandma's at Stuzzi.

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

There is nothing better than Stuzzi's arugula and prosciutto pizza. The only problem is that we always overeat!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Surprisingly disappointing. Pizza was soupy. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very disappointing! After reading the reviews on this restaurant I booked a reservation for 6 people (including 2 kids) for 7:00 this past Saturday night. I was in Richmond visiting my family for the holidays and this was our night out. When we arrived a bit before 7:00 the Owner told us that they were running behind and we would be the next seated for a large table. Bottom-line, at 7:45 I finally sat us all at the bar (kids included!) so we could eat. The girl behind the bar tried very hard to care for everyone but the place was up for grabs! She didn't know how to use the register for ordering, wrong food was brought out, we actually went in to the kitchen to get our own plates, and on and on it went. The Owner did acknowledge the chaos and bought us a carafe of wine but really he didn't seem to be overly concerned that he was not able to honor our reservation. NOW, I will say that there was a very large party there that occupied about 1/2 the tables in the restaurant. They were not vacating and so many waiting patrons were not seated. I tried to stay upbeat and happy since this was a holiday celebration and I gave him the benefit of the doubt that this was truly a service anomaly but after reading reviews more carefully I am afraid this is the norm. The food was good but not worth the hassle we experienced. Richmond has plenty of restaurants to choose from - I won't be choosing this one again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Stuzzi was great. They accommodated several large parties at once. The food was delicious and reasonably priced.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Absolutely best pizza I have ever had. This is a must if you are in Richmond

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food! Peter, the owner, is ever present making sure customers are happy and things running smoothly. Best pizza in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The interior feels cheap given the changes they've made. The food was good but this place has gone downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This place was horrible and didn't even honor my reservation with Open Table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.