Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Studio at Montage Laguna Beach

With a panoramic oceanfront location and modern French cuisine with California influences, Studio is the portrait of beachside indulgence. A refined and inventive menu reflects masterful attention to detail accented with an elegant, creative touch. Ocean breezes, panoramic views and lush landscapes create a refreshing sense of place at the water’s edge and a fitting backdrop for the shared enjoyment of fine food and wine. Menus include à la carte selections of starters, entrées, cheeses and desserts; and a six-course seasonal prix-fixe Chef’s Tasting Menu. The wine list includes more than 2,200 wine labels, an extensive menu of wines-by-the-glass and suggested wine pairings for each dish. Small plates are also offered at the communal table and the turn-of-the-century bar.
Please note that Studio’s dress code does not permit shorts, tennis shoes, open-toed shoes, athletic or beach wear.

30801 South Coast Highway
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-6420

Website:
http://www.studiolagunabeach.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking ($15 after Validation)

Executive Chef:
Craig Strong

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For the most cherished celebrations, only private dining will do. Montage Laguna Beach offers a variety of ways to combine the finest Southern California cuisine with an ambiance of complete comfort, privacy and impeccable service.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For the most cherished celebrations, only private dining will do. Studio at Montage Laguna Beach provides a plethora of opportunities to combine the finest Southern California cuisine with elegant comfort and impeccable service.

Studio at Montage Laguna Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (29)
Scenic View (29)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Notable Wine List (22)
Tasting Menu (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Waterfront (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Private Room (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
737 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We enjoyed a multi-course, fantastic meal to celebrate my birthday. The vegetarian tasting menu was inventive and the halibut was superb. Definitely a destination restaurant, we made an event out of it and walked the grounds of the hotel and listened to live music in the lobby after dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

If you are celebrating something, no need to search any other place. The service does not get better than this. Everyone super friendly. You will get the romantic dinner that you imagined. Everytime we go, We Can't get enough it. ++++

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Cover the parking. Bill was in excess of 350. Come on, 15.00 to park.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

While this restaurant is twice the price of the most expensive restaurant in Orange County - it is greatly worth it. The waitstaff is phenomenal - you feel really taken care of, yet left to your own devices. We spend FOUR hours over dinner last weekend and enjoyed every moment. Of course, you have to enjoy the person you are with, but together we loved our experience. I brought a 1997 bottle of wine which they decanted for me, and it was bad - so I bought a bottle off the menu. They did not charge me the corkage fee. This is a place to go with someone you really love to be with, for a special occasion, unless you are quite wealthy and this is a regular experience. Treat yourself to a unique and uniquely pleasurable time once in a while - but better save up!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I wish I could say that a meal here is memorable but I can't. Be prepared for over the top pricing from cocktails to desserts. The service, while attentive, is sometimes rather condescending. For these kinds of prices I would expect more but as with a number of chefs, trying to make something simple escapes them - it has to have some gimmick attached; i.e. foam? I travel the world and dined on every cuisine but I'm just not getting it at the Studio. As a Laguna local I give the Studio a visit about twice a year since they have been open and keep hoping for something better. I suppose I just am not out to be impressed but want something really good and not feel like I've been ripped off. I don't think I'll go back again, but the decor, the view, the entire atmosphere of the hotel is splendid, but in the end I think I would rather grab a sandwich and eat in the oceanfront park. After spending $550 for dinner for three people to pay $15 to park is rather insulting.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing. Innovative. A wonderful evening with close friends, service was excellent, server knew menu well and made excellent suggestions. Highly recommend the lamb and the lobster soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The food was sensational! The venue is amazing and the staff is so friendly, knowledgable and attentive. A superb and memorable experience overall.

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Good food. Not worth the price but great view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The question for me when dinning at an expensive restaurant always is: Is it worth it? The Studio at the Montage gets an unequivocal "YES." The service was anticipatory and attentive but not overbearing. We had a wonderful table outside on the patio with a beautiful sunset view. The bread (roll) was excellent with three different butters and I loved not having to ask for extra butter - it just appeared. The appetizer, Lobster soup included a number of ingredients including tiny smoked oysters. The asparagus salad was also very good. The main courses were as you would expect from a high end restaurant. Excellent! It would be impossible to have a better tenderloin. The Grgich Hills chardonnay went well with the salmon and the Shafer Cabernet highlighted the filet minion. We look forward to returning!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food and service the staff was very nice. I highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

An amazing experience for a special occasion for my girlfriend. From the moment we entered the restaurant, we were treated with incredible grace, classy service and the cuisine is the best we've ever had. The sommelier who took care of us was genuinely interested our choices to properly pair with our meal and each selection he made was the perfect addition to our five courses. We can't thank you enough for making this special occasion so memorable and can't wait to be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We enjoyed our 34th anniversary there and it was fantastic. Georgia was so professional and seemed to care about making our evening perfect and it was. The food was delicious and nicely portioned. Can't say enough about this place. It's worth the money for a special night out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We went for a special occasion. Beautiful restaurant and setting! Great table overlooking the surf on the rocks.
Corkage fee high at $35. Not a large menu. Everything was beautifully plated and served! Food was very good. Spent about $100 per person for appetizer, salad and main course. Did not include alcohol or dessert. Would teturn again but only for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We have eaten at the Studio many many times. Always a 5 star experience. We usually order the tasting menu with the wine pairing. This trip we had one tasting and one 5 course we picked ourselves-paired as well. Each dish was visually stunning-just not up to the standards they have set in the past as far as taste was concerned. My wife and I each had different items for every course and neither of us would want to eat any of them again-even though they were "fine" or "good" in some cases. The wines were fine-some very unique pairings. Service was stellar as always. It's a lovely place to be but you really want to walk away raving about each bite-not talking about being disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I was underwhelmed by the food. Had oysters and then the duck. I have had many meals that were more flavorful. Seevice was great, but prices very high for the quality.
Maybe I ordered the wrong things?

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The restaurant was perfect in every aspect from start to finish. The occasion was our engagement dinner for my future wife and myself. Window table, great service - not rushed! I highly recommend the tasting menu. My date had the vegetarian tasting menu I had the traditional menu. We both paired the courses with wine.
We both agreed this was one of the top meals we have ever had !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We celebrated my husband birthday ... service was outstanding...food very unique and tasty.... we had a few items in the tasting menu...everytime a plate was placed in front of us we were told what it contains and how was prepared ...then we had the salmon, the duck and the lamb... they were all very delicious ... for desert my husband got the birthday grapefruit cake, on the house, which came on a beautifully decorated plate... the sphere was amazing in taste and had a spectacular presentation ... overall it was a excellent experience we all enjoyed!.... on our way out we got to converse with the Chef and I got a private kitchen tour ;) thank u, for making my husbands birthday even more special !

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 22, 2017

My husband and I came here to eat dinner on our 35th wedding anniversary, which I had notified the restaurant of when I made the reservation via OpenTable. I'm particularly glad that it fell on a Tuesday because the restaurant wasn't crowded, and thus we had very attentive service. There were so many things that made our dining experience exceptionally wonderful that it's difficult to list them all. From the stunning ocean view & elegant ambience to the delicious food and royal service from the wait staff, it was the perfect storm of 5 star marks across the board! At the end of our meal, they brought us a complimentary grapefruit cake (delectable!) in honor of our anniversary, as well as a neatly packaged homemade coffee cake and chocolate nut treats to take home, both of which were worth returning to the restaurant just for the take home treats! Although the restaurant was pricey, it was well worth the expense because we were treated with such classy customer service worthy of an A+++ rating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We had the tasting menu. I had one with the premium wine parings. My wife had the vegetarian tastings with a couple of glasses of Sancere...Georgia was absolutely an outstanding server. Her assistant was great as well and I failed miserably to remember his name. They made the night wonderful. The sommelier was good as well. She tried to give me big fat reds when they made sense with the food pairings. There were a couple of wines that were so so, but that's what makes the experience an adventure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

This is one of many times that we have been there but not in some months. We had a 5 pm time table. We were sat at a nice corner widow table. My husband's chair was wabbly and had to be changed. They offered the men black napkins that they never brought and when reminded they brought the usual napkins after the food came. The water came in bottles in the past, flat or sparkling. It was all included, Sole or Figi Now they asked if we wanted bottled or regular water.
The lady manager had a pretentious attitude. The other gentleman guest with me ordered a drink that did not come and when they were reminded about it they still took time to bring it.
The food was great and very pretty. It tasted like it should and it came at the right time and temperature.
The other people in the restaurant were dressed very casually, some in athletic ware and shoes.
This used to be a very special restaurant, my favorite one. It is not anymore .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Superb food, excellent service, fabulous overall, breathtaking views... highly recommended

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything was perfect. Food and service were exceptional. Wine pairing was never better. One "negative" is the cold wind / draft at our table - coming from the outdoor patio. Minor nuisance. Highly recommend and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Studio at Montage is a true 5 star dining experience. The price tag is heavy but the service, food and ambience justify the bill. There was not a moment that we had to ask for a thing. We ordered the beef tenderloin and the lamb, both were prepared to perfection! I suggest going at sunset and asking to sit in the Sunset dining room. A little. It of heaven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This is one of the most beautiful locations I've ever seen. The view is amazing, the architecture is understated and inviting. The food is quite delicious and the waitstaff is on point. I think that when you are spending at this price level everything must be absolutely perfect so I held them to an extremely high standard on my ratings. I think there are a few small areas that could be improved upon. For instance I think there are some inconsistencies in the pacing of the meal and some of the dishes didn't seem to perfectly complement their predecessor. All in all an excellent fine dining experience. I would like to return to try an entree rather than the tasting menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants around! Everything about it is wonderful. It is pricey but a great experience. The food is beautiful and the service excellent! I have been a couple times in the last 6 months and once several years ago and it never disappoints!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with excellent food in a beautiful setting!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

When you patronize a restaurant at this price point you expect a certain experience when it comes to ambience, service, food quality and presentation. On our recent visit to Studio at Montage they not only met, but exceeded our expectations. A truly fine dining experience with attentive and friendly service but without any feeling of "stuffiness". Food was amazing. Our dishes were beautifully presented and delicious. Unfortunately, it was dark so we couldn't really appreciate the view overlooking the pacific. Next time we visit I'll make sure to make reservations around the sunset.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went to studio for Valentine's Day and it was a nice experience. It was $170 per person tasting menu and were very accommodating with dietary restrictions. I will say I wasn't crazy about the food and for that much money I really wanted to love it. The service was top notch and I wonder if I would have enjoyed the food more if I could have ordered off the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The Studio experience was amazing. The service was excellent and the food was very filling. This is a fine dining restaurant so expext to pay a hefty price for small portions. Even though the portions were small, the food was surprisingly filling. The service was great they were quick to respond upon each request without being to overwhelming. This is definitely a perfect place for a special occasion, a wonderful date night and or a place to enjoy the view while having a delicious plate in front of u ready to enlighten your palette.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Just an amazing experience (again). Chef's menu was diverse and fantastic

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fabulous food. One of the finest dinners I have ever had and I have had many.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Waterfront, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of the best restaurants I have ever experienced. Some in our party had special requirements and they accommodated all of them. Staff was fantastic.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Studio is always such a wonderful experience; the food and ambience is beyond compare. Chef Strong continues to surprise this client and his skill and creativity gets a 10/10. I gave the vegetarian menu a try and it was amazing. The manager, Fabien is charming, professional and the entire staff excellent , friendly and very knowledgable. Yes, it is on the expensive side BUT worth it if you appreciate the BEST! I would rather go here once rather than an average place twice.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Truly won of the special restaurants in the OC....you can always count on this special venue for wonderful atmosphere, great service and an exquisite meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service .

While the venison was to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food and staff were amazing. Hands down one of the best meals I've ever had in Orange County. My 6 course vegetarian tasting menu (turned 10) was perfect! Cannot wait to return!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fantastic food and service. The best lamb I have ever had., literally! The decor is a little serious but the chef and staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. With so few fine dining options in LA, this is worth the drive. To be completely honest, they are a little too proud of their oyster app, but everything else was 100%. We would definitely go back and highly recommend for those who love food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Truly great food. Tasting menu excellent. Service top notch. Room beautiful with water views
One of the best restaurants i have eaten at in California

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was wonderfull. I stayed in LA for 3 weeks and the tried many new restaurants but The Studio was something else. The crew made the food alot more valuable with their wonderful service and friendly faces.
We will be back again as soon as we visit LA.
Thank you again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always outstanding. Been there many times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.