Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Studio at Montage Laguna Beach

With a panoramic oceanfront location and modern French cuisine with California influences, Studio is the portrait of beachside indulgence. A refined and inventive menu reflects masterful attention to detail accented with an elegant, creative touch. Ocean breezes, panoramic views and lush landscapes create a refreshing sense of place at the water’s edge and a fitting backdrop for the shared enjoyment of fine food and wine. Menus include à la carte selections of starters, entrées, cheeses and desserts; and a six-course seasonal prix-fixe Chef’s Tasting Menu. The wine list includes more than 2,200 wine labels, an extensive menu of wines-by-the-glass and suggested wine pairings for each dish. Small plates are also offered at the communal table and the turn-of-the-century bar.
Please note that Studio’s dress code does not permit shorts, tennis shoes, open-toed shoes, athletic or beach wear.

30801 South Coast Highway
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-6420

Website:
http://www.studiolagunabeach.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking ($15 after Validation)

Executive Chef:
Craig Strong

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For the most cherished celebrations, only private dining will do. Montage Laguna Beach offers a variety of ways to combine the finest Southern California cuisine with an ambiance of complete comfort, privacy and impeccable service.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

For the most cherished celebrations, only private dining will do. Studio at Montage Laguna Beach provides a plethora of opportunities to combine the finest Southern California cuisine with elegant comfort and impeccable service.

Studio at Montage Laguna Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (44)
Scenic View (38)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Special Occasion (32)
Waterfront (31)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Tasting Menu (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (7)
People Watching (7)
Business Meals (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fun (3)
Organic (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
804 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was impeccable and the food was delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service and food. You get a fantastic view!
Great for a special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Fabulous! Could not ask for anything better. Everything from beginning to end of meal was flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

extraordinary dinner on Sunday. food, service, wine, and atmosphere fantastic. I just recently retired from 35 years in the hospitality/restaurant industry, and this is simply one of the best experiences I have had. It is the whole package. Bartender, I believe his name wad Richard was great at offering genuine hospitality.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect!!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food as always was outstanding. However, the service was very slow. We arrive on time for our 5:45pm reservation and didn't get out till 9:15! Too long even for their fine dining.
Wine sommelier told us how we should handle our wine that we brought instead of asking us. A bit arrogant. Will still return and hope that the service is up to it's normal excellence.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Service by Roger was great. Outdoor ambience was equally great

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Outstanding restaurant! The Studio has it all, great view of the Pacific Ocean, excellent service (Roger our waiter, and Gary the Sommelier were fantastic), and the food.... well we had chilled oysters, and baby heirloom tomato salad for appetizers; sautéed sea bass, Alaskan halibut and duck breast for our entrees, all were presented beautifully and cooked to our specific requests. One special treat was a second course of a small sampling for our table of Japanese Wagyu Kobe steak, served with pasta and topped with fresh Australian black winter truffles, this was truly outstanding, and an unforgettable addition to a splendid meal. We were celebrating our son's birthday and Daniel was delighted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We enjoyed every minute of our experience at Studio at Montage Laguna Beach. The location, service and courses were wonderful! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

This was a beautiful restaraunt with very good food and very good service. Unfortunately, there was a wedding reception with a band and loud partying right next to us. We were hoping for a nice quiet evening with our adult children. That atmosphere really took away from the experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary at the Studio. Solid place. Our friend, Gary, the sommelier, is awesome! The food is outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Dinner was absolutely great. We celebrated my son's birthday and muchneffort was made to make it special. From food to wine....exceptional!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We are among the lucky ones. We live in Dana Point and can always enjoy the Studio for birthday and anniversary celebrations for family, friends and, of course, us!! We have traveled to more than 150 countries and frequent Europe. Studio is among our top five restaurants in the world. Yes, we LOVE IT!!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great atmosphere, attentive staff. Extremely expensive, good food but nothing different from 10 other restaurants in Laguna/Dana Point area, just literally 100% more expensive. I have the same view from my house, probably will not be returning...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience. Our waiter was excellent, and fun. The other wait staff were also quite knowledgeable and attentive. The chef prepared an extra appetizer for us to try as well as a special plate of desserts to leave with. Overall, each person who took care of us made it very special. I would recommend it highly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 30, 2017

I love trying the sparkling drinks, the sauteed sea bass is amazing, the alaskan halibut is so good so as the chilled oysters and charred octopus, the house recommended dessert, Guanaja Chocolate Sphere was very good also the Dulcey Ganache Carrot Cake. Everything taste amazing.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great service. Beautiful view. Delicious food. What more can you ask for?

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

This is a special place. The view of the ocean is gorgeous, the service is outstanding, the ambiance is elegant and classy and modern and the food was amazing. My husband ordered the olive oil poached salmon and I order the duck. Everything was perfectly cooked. Desserts were also amazing. The prices are high but you get what you pay for if you want a special night. I will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Incredible setting, impeccable service and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Fantastic Evening, celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary, amazing wine, love the pairing option!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Everything I put in my mouth from the before dinner drinks to the espresso afterwards was delicious. The waiters were present and then mysteriously absent until you needed them again. Everyone was polite while not pretentious. I could not ask for a better dining experience. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We went for an Anniversary dinner and ordered a variety of dishes. All were unique and great. Some were genius. The service was extraordinary. And the restaurant sits on a little hill next to the beach. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had such an amazing time here!!!! The service was outstanding, as the staff was so friendly and personable. They were also accommodating (allergy), and so knowledgeable on the menu as well as the wines! We did the tasting menu with wine pairings and it was so fun to hear the descriptions and details of everything we ate. We enjoyed it so much and look forward to our next visit! It was my husband's birthday and he said it was the PERFECT place to spend it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food and drinks were exceptional, portions are small and its on the pricey side. If your looking for a dinning experience this is the place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Phenomenal location, service and experience. Food is delicious, portions reasonable. Lots of extras that make it a more special experience. Great wines - Outstanding dining experience that I take advantage of every chance I can!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our ocean view table was fabulous. The vegetarian tasting menu was unique and delicious. As it wasn't on the website, it was also a nice surprise. The service was top notch with excellent descriptions of each course and preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The dining experience here is top notch, the staff - very attentive, the view - spectacular, wine list - extensive, the food - incredible! Everything is here for a special evening celebration. It is on the very High price end, one dish we ordered was just silly expensive, an heirloom melon "salad" which was delicious and so pretty, but seriously, it's marble sized melon balls and a small portion at that for $28... There was a black truffle risotto "evening special" that was beyond delicious, essentially everything our table of 4 ordered was exceptional!
We had a very enjoyable birthday celebration evening, topped off with a beautiful complimentary strawberry mouse cake for our guest of honor.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The nicest property in Laguna Beach with superb service. Very costly but you are paying for the
coastal beach access.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Never disappointed with coming to this restaurant. Everything is always perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 31, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our 26th anniversary. We got a nice table with a scenic view of the Pacific Ocean.
We ordered a la carte and everything was exceptional, service was impecable as well.

My wife started with the lobster and vegetable soup, both presentation and taste was amazing. For main course my wife had the Alaskan Halibut, it was cooked to perfection and she finished with the carrot cake, it was topped with creme fraiche ice cream that was to die for.

I had the hamachi as an appetizer with olive oil butter, Serrano chiles and epazote, which I had with a glass of Pierre Gimonet champagne. My second course was the oxtail risotto with kale, it was very tasty, and I had the duck breast as my main course which was perfectly seasoned.
Last course I had a cheese plate, paired with a glass of tokai 5 puttynios.

Thank you staff at studio, we had an amazing evening.

Salud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Marcia loved her Birthday dinner, and the view from the cliffs is beautiful. The staff make you feel very special. It was a great evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Studio is our favorite all-around restaurant in Orange County worthy of these fire stars and at least two Michelin stars if ever their inspectors happen come into Orange County one day. The restaurant has even improved since our last visit a few years back. Service is impeccable: all wait-staff and dining room help perfectly attired and attentive while not hovering continuously. The food is innovative, very fresh, flavorful and visibly appealing. The quality wine list is extensive. And, of course, the killer view cannot be beat anywhere. The consistent presence of Che Craig Strong and the flawless service of the dining room staff are key to the ongoing success of this great restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

One of the best experiences we've had!!! We fine dine often but this was better then most!!! The service the food the scenery all impeccable!!!! Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Exceptional in all areas. Not inexpensive but this level of experience cant be had on the cheap. An undilluted commitment to excellence should be applauded and supported!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Magnificent! The vista from your table is breathtaking, especially sunset over the Pacific. The service at the restaurant is impeccable... attentive, courteous, helpful. For instance, I'd inquired about a single malt scotch I happen to like quite a bit that didn't appear on the beverage list. An assistant manager uncovered it at the bar, brought it to the table to show me the bottle, apologized for it not being listed (totally unnecessary), and promptly served me a much-appreciated tasting of my favorite. Our server could not have been more pleasant, and I think we probably had no less than a dozen workers providing some level of service at one time or another. And it wasn't over the top... they were respectful and their timing and work quite appropriate. As for our meals, they were both outstanding. Each of us went with an appetizer and a seafood dish, and they were scrumptious. Top it off with a complimentary anniversary dessert, and we agreed this was one of the finest dining experiences we'd ever had. Well done!

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 22, 2017

As always a great experience, from the service, food and atmosphere! Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We are fortunate to go to some very nice restaurants- often times they really try to rush you through the meal. Studio staff was very genuine and patient and helpful

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 19, 2017

It was our 40th wedding anniversary and the studio came through on every one of the promises that it makes. The ambience was fantastic the food was Exquisite the service was remarkable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Overall an extraordinary dinner.
Fantastic food, and service. Genuine hospitality!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed an evening out at the Studio Restaurant at the Montage in Laguna just a few evenings ago celebration a birthday. Service was top and the tasting menu & wine pairing was simply to die for! Every dish was prepared to perfection and explained to the finest detail, then enjoyed overlooking the ocean...Fantastic!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.