About Stonewood Grill & Tavern - South Sarasota

1894 Stickney Point Rd
Sarasota, FL 34231
View Larger Map

Stonewood Grill & Tavern offers a complete dining experience for both your eyes and your palate. You don’t want to have just another ordinary night out — so tonight, make it extraordinary!

We oak-grill each steak to lock in its juices and enhance its natural flavors. Plus, only the freshest seafood has the honor of being prepared by one of Stonewood’s gourmet chefs.

Adding our innovative wine list featuring rare selections and exceptional pairings makes Stonewood a great place for couples, friends, and coworkers, for date night, happy hour, special occasions, and holiday parties.

So the next time you’re looking for the perfect night out, come to Stonewood Grill & Tavern.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Mon - Thurs 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri - Sat 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sun 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 927-3969

Website:
http://www.stonewoodgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Drury

Specials

Crafted Tuesday

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Wine-Down Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Three Olives Thursday

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Crafted Tuesday

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Chef Inspired, Hand-Crafted Burgers & $2 off all Craft Drafts all night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Wine-Down Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

1/2 Off Select Bottles of Wine all Night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Three Olives Thursday

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

All Three Olives Vodka Cocktails and Martinis $5 All Night Long. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stonewood Grill & Tavern - South Sarasota Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (20)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for a Date (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Business Meals (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fun (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Romantic (3)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Live Sports (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Always excellent food and so many options. Just great place to dine. But, cappuccino machine was broken....disappointing!! otherwise, lovely evening.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

The staff was wonder and his recommendations were very helpful

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Brought our visiting son-in-law and granddaughters here for dinner. Alicia, our waitress, was enthusiastic, friendly, and on the ball with excellent service. We all enjoyed our meal and had left-overs for next day's lunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Overall, a very good dining experience. The food was delicious and well presented. Our server, Jason, provided excellent service! We'll go back again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Happy Hour wines and drinks are a good value. Excellent bruschetta with tomatoes that taste great. My steak was too done and dry. Partner's was undercooked. Unremarkable sides and only one included with most dinners. Slow service though they were busy. Average all the way around.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I ordered the rib eye ,cost 29 dollars, thr second highest item on the menu. It was poorly prepared and of low quality. My wife ordered the shrimp dish that was dried out and over cooked. This is the first review I have ever provided. The meal was so bad I felt I had to say something. I complained about the steak which I tried to eat but gave up on. The management offered me a free dessert which I declined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Seated promptly, great service, food good, good ambience, a little too noisy

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Nice restaurant. Not exactly special occasion fare, but good food and nice service and a lovely evening out. Would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great Valentine Day dinner with friends. Reservation worked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Easy to make reservation, easy parking, nice greeting, great waiter, good food, comfortable booth, perfect!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best lobster I've had in years! My husband enjoyed the steak, and the service was excellent. Very enjoyable evening out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was there with my husband for a special date night. We enjoyed a very good bruschetta; soup; and an excellent New York Strip steak with baked potato. Rex provided friendly and prompt service for everything under his control, and the young man who brings food to the tables was gracious and a bit funny - just right! Overall an excellent experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We go to this Stonewood quite often, very disappointed this time. The quality of my fish sandwich was poor, all reading. My guest got the Caesar salad with chicken very small. Husband got the chicken and it was smaller then before, son got the sirloin wouldn't send it back, I think the heart was still beating. No cocktails and it was over 100.00. It will be awhile till we go back

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I dined there on Feb 4th and had an outstanding prime rib dinner. I also wrote a review of how much I enjoyed the experience. One week later I invited a friend to eat there and told him how good it was.

Sorry to say, service was not the same and I ordered prime rib again...it was fatty and not the same, I couldn't eat a large part of it due to the gristle. My friend had the short ribs and was surprised they were not on the bone. I was disappointed by the experience and now wonder, should I try again or did I just get lucky the first time?

Please advise me if you read this

Lynn OConnor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The lime ginger salmon has tremendous flavor. Salad through dessert, we loved it! Server Jessica = great service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Had been to Stonewood a couple of years ago and was not impressed. HOWEVER, went with friends again the other night. It was outstanding. The salmon baked potato and cream spinach could not have been better. Everyone enjoyed their food. Rex was our waiter and I would definitely request them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Justin, Shyla and Jackie are the best servers/bartenders!!!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We had a party of six. All heals were delicious and service was superb!

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great service, good food, leisurely cocktails and dinner, no rushing..

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great burger !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Somewhat casual restaurant. Nice bar area and comfortable restaurant area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Enjoy delicious food and wonderful service? This is a great choice.

I appreciate the consistent quality of the food and service at this Stonewood location.

The atmosphere is low key and relaxing and the booths help make your dining experience more intimate. It is easy to carry on a conversation and those of others are never distracting.

My favorite dish, grilled, blackened salmon, is always perfectly prepared.

Jason A. is personable and accurate in taking our order with any specific details noted. David, the manager, is also attentive to the customers needs and visible as he circulates throughout the room.

Never anything but completely satisfied in the many times I have dined here!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Ordered medium steak, received it "rare" and it was not that tasty. They offered to cook it more. Had a better experience one year ago, steak was delicious. Salad was average, not crisped & fresh. Everything is a la carte so what appears to be reasonably priced ends up expensive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We just arrived in Sarasota for vacation and had our first meal out at Stonewood as we have done for several years. This is a medium priced restaurant, with nice ambiance and a diverse menu. The food was very good as always and our server (Jason) was outstanding. Recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great service, great staff, great drinks and food at a very good price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

salmon was too spicey for me, even though i asked the waitress previously. the waitress asked too many questions. "the food wonderful. wasn't it????? nice ambiance.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great food and good prices. I'd recommend to anyone who desires a great tasting steak, seafood or entrée salads. Drink costs during Happy Hour are great and they take reservations which really helps with the "snow birds" here. Great choice and can't go wrong with prices.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The steak was tasteless. Ordered a ribeye. Didn't look like a ribeye upon arrival. There was a hair cooked into the steak. Yuck. Steak was expensive and potato ala cart. Not worth the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We loved the food...very slow getting our wine order...but would recommend Stonewood as a good place:)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Stonewood has become our "go-to" restaurant for a nice meal at a reasonable price. The food and service is always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Acknowledged right away at bar and served promptly. Very friendly attentive staff. Food was presented well, ample portions.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 5, 2017

After having driving by many times decided to give it a try. Glad we did. Quiet ambience - loved decor. Menu was varied but something for everyone. Great staff. Live entertainment in bar area which had been sound-proofed for dinners. Could hear the music easily, but you could also have a conversation without raising your voice.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Pretty good food. Reasonably decent atmosphere. Nice casual dining spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were disappointed with the restaurant as we were there to celebrate New Year's Eve and thought it would be a festive place - unfortunately all the holiday decorations had already been removed leaving a blah atmosphere for a holiday celebration.

Tags: Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Vegetarian requested a salad without bacon...got bacon. No apology or compensation for a MAJOR error. Waitress laughed about it. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I was disappointed in the flounder dish I ordered. It was supposed to be stuffed flounder. I didn't find the small about of stuffing especially tasty. I will say that there was a large piece of fish. I will return to try a shrimp dish at some time in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good Food and Varied Menu, Never Disappointed and a restaurant I will be back to

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It would be great to see gluten free bread and desserts available along with the menu items you asterisk as "gluten free."

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were not expecting much, as it was the only place with last minute availability on xmas eve, but service was horrible, food less than mediocre and ambiance non existent.

Steer clear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Have been dining here for many years. The food is great and a very good selection of items to choose from. Excellent service and a relaxing atmosphere!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A gluten free diner, meat eater only, 2 picky little boys, and a diabetic. We all found something delicious! Excellent wait service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Had not been here in quite a few years. We had a great server & the food was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our server Rachael was outstanding, funny and knowledgeable about the menu. She was great! Food was great as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Service was very friendly and not rushed. Food was excellent and well prepared. Definitely will visit again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food all the way around. All our plates were very good - great menu options too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

meal served too fast,, did not have time to have a cocktail or salad

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving Day. Felt badly that folks had to work but grateful that we had a place to go (no family nearby to share the day).

Good wait staff. Food was generally very good although special requests (no dark meat and additional whipped cream) were not honored.

Breads were amazing! Three Olives special martinis were excellent!

Dining room is attractive but noisy as tables are positioned too closely!

Plan to return on a "normal" day.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Both my husband and I enjoyed our dinners. We ordered one thanksgiving dinner and one short ribs and portobello ravioli to have some of each. I want to return just for the rib/ravioli. Really tasty. And, since it was a Thursday, we hit the $5 martini day. Yum. The atmosphere feels relaxing. It's attractive and the server was so attentive. He seemed to apppreciate our being there. We will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Delicious Thanksgiving dinner. Food was perfect, complimented by suburb service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food,great service,welcomed at door and made to feel like family.Anthnony our server was terrific.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.