About Stonewood Grill & Tavern - Jacksonville

Stonewood Grill & Tavern offers a complete dining experience for both your eyes and your palate. You don’t want to have just another ordinary night out — so tonight, make it extraordinary!

We oak-grill each steak to lock in its juices and enhance its natural flavors. Plus, only the freshest seafood has the honor of being prepared by one of Stonewood’s gourmet chefs.

Adding our innovative wine list featuring rare selections and exceptional pairings makes Stonewood a great place for couples, friends, and coworkers, for date night, happy hour, special occasions, and holiday parties.

So the next time you’re looking for the perfect night out, come to Stonewood Grill & Tavern.

3832 Baymeadows Rd # 3
Jacksonville, FL 32217
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday; 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 739-7206

Website:
http://www.stonewoodgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Drury

Private Party Facilities:
Stonewood Grill & Tavern is perfect for corporate events and special occasions. Our Jacksonville restaurant is located off Baymeadows Road, just steps away from the St. Johns River and minutes from Interstates 95 and 295.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Sgroi: (904) 739-7206

Specials

Wine-Down Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Three Olives Thursday

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Crafted Tuesday

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Wine-Down Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

1/2 Off Select Bottles of Wine all Night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Three Olives Thursday

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

All Three Olives Vodka Cocktails and Martinis $5 All Night Long. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Crafted Tuesday

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Chef Inspired, Hand-Crafted Burgers & $2 off all Craft Drafts all night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Stonewood Grill & Tavern - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Good for Birthdays (33)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Happy Hour (24)
Romantic (22)
Casual (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Business Meals (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Cozy (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Open Kitchen (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Seasonal (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Healthy (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Great Beer (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
589 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and ambiance. It was not too ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and ambiance. It was not too loud and the service was quite good as well. I would recommend Stonewood to anyone seeking a great meal at a reasonable price. It was sophisticated, yet not pretentious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner from start to finished! T ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing dinner from start to finished! The server did not rush us through our meal and perfectly timed every dish and drink to make our experience one to remember!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! Great food and drink op ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love this place! Great food and drink options! Love the bread before dinner! One on my favourite dining places!

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for Valentine's Day and it was busy ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day and it was busy. Our reservations were at 8 and we were seated at that time or before.

The server was fantastic. She was friendly, attentive, and helpful. The food was prepared just as we ordered. Our only complaint would be that is may have sat under the heat lamp for a while? It was warm and it should be hot off the grill or out of the oven.

We will definitely return to have dinner and drinks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine's day dinner for two, 7pm. Mad ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's day dinner for two, 7pm. Made reservations with open table and was promptly seated in the dining room with no wait.

Ordered the grouper and surf and turf special. It was cooked perfectly and we cleaned our plates. The only issue I had was our steak was cut into a few times prior to serving. You never cut into a steak for doneness. It should be done by look and feel.

Im not a pro chef but know enough how to cook a steak without butchering it to check for doneness. It looked like a mangled mess. It still tasted good, a little dry, but overall I enjoyed it.

Overall 90% chance you will enjoy your meal.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

very classy, good food, good happy hour, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

very classy, good food, good happy hour, nice server, etc.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our go-to places to eat. Consiste ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of our go-to places to eat. Consistently great food and good service. Highly recommend the bread pudding for desert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The filets were well-seasoned and the sp ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The filets were well-seasoned and the special with lobster and a chocolate/raspberry torte was a great deal (the torte was awesome). Our only issue was that we made reservations through Open Table and checked in about 2 minutes late and then proceeded to see about 6 other couples who came in after us get seated. My husband had to go back up and remind the check-in person that we existed, and then, miraculously, we were seated next.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not sure why we haven't been in a while. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Not sure why we haven't been in a while. Loved the dinner. Will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

for Valentines day. We made our reserva ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

for Valentines day. We made our reservations 2 wks in advance and when we got to the rest. we were put in the bar area. We objected but was told that was where we were going to sit.the rest was booked full. in a few minutes I Checked the dining room and three tables were available for seating two. Very disappointed. we are Long time customers. Was at the opening night when you opend about 15 years ago.. Years and years of recommending and going to your rest. for all our special occasions. very disappointed.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Had reservations for eight on Valentines ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had reservations for eight on Valentines Day and everything was excellent. We were on a time constraint and Stonewood was very accommodating to meeting our schedule. From prime rib to lobster, all meals were outstanding. The service could not have been better. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always Stonewood has the best filet i ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always Stonewood has the best filet in town and the lobster tail was fantastic. My wife and I were celebrating Valentine's Day and the surf and turf special including desert was just the perfect choice. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Heidi was our server and I must say the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Heidi was our server and I must say the experience began and ended with spectacular service from Heidi. She was prompt, attentive and made excellent recommendations. The restaurant dining and rest rooms were clean. The food was perfectly prepared to our specifications. I took a friend to her first ever Valentines dinner. She said she'd never eaten at a better restaurant. She was so pleased with Heidi's service she took a picture with Heidi to remember the awesome experience. I travel extensively for business and pleasure and I'd say Heidi is one of the top 3 servers I've experienced in over 30 years of travel. Keep up the great work. Stonewood exceeded our expectations in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived right at our reservation time ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We arrived right at our reservation time and were seated right away. The server arrived shortly thereafter. She was friendly and attentive throughout our meal. The food was very good and prepared per our requests. The price was appropriate for the meals we chose. We dine here occasionally and will continue to do so.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was recommended by my coworke ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place was recommended by my coworker because we were having a conversation about clam chowder and she said that it was the best. Since my husband loves clam chowder but hasn't had good look finding a local restaurant that serves it as good as a place he went to in MD; I decided to take him on a date here. I was very impressed with the atmosphere, the cleanliness, the service and the food. I will definitely visit this establishment again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a nice place, good atmosphere, good ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was a nice place, good atmosphere, good food & wine.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go here often. It's close to home and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We go here often. It's close to home and it's always good.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Even though we had a reservation, we sti ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Even though we had a reservation, we still had to wait close to 30 minutes for our table. The waiter disappeared for long periods of time. The steak my boyfriend ordered as medium rare came out as rare and when it came out the second time, it was medium well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Crab crusted flounder was so-so but choc ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Crab crusted flounder was so-so but chocolate bread pudding was yummy delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and enjoyable dinner. Sang ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service and enjoyable dinner. Sangria was outstanding. Chocolate bread pudding was delicious. Entrees were good but not exceptional. Crowded on a Friday night and a little noisy. We had a nice dinner and would come again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good service!!! Excellent food. Fast s ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good service!!! Excellent food. Fast sitting. Overall, great place to have a celebration.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, both the soup and the mai ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Unfortunately, both the soup and the main course came warm, not hot. There is no reason for a restaurant of your reputation to have served our meals in this fashion. We were a party of six people and all of us were disappointed. On the way out, I told the manager of our problem and he only suggested that it was because of the cold weather that night that the food was only warm. No other comment. To me, a lame excuse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

This as well as all my visits to Stonewo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This as well as all my visits to Stonewood have resulted in consistently good food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was terrible TERRIBLE, I had shrimp ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Food was terrible TERRIBLE, I had shrimp and scallops, 4 of each a spoon of cold rice and a spoon of over cooked broccoli, the scallops were under cooked and over seasoned, one of the shrimp was grey (raw) underneath, I did no send the whole thing back because I did not want to ruin my sister in law celebration, this is her favorite restaurant (why?). No desserts, one cup of wine, 4 dinners, one small appetizer, $200, what a waste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Very nice neighborhood restaurant. The q ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very nice neighborhood restaurant. The quality of food is always consistently good. Well stocked bar. Pleasant ambiance. Good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was good, not excellent but enjoyed ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was good, not excellent but enjoyed our evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice establishment

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Nice establishment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Glad to have come back after such a long ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Glad to have come back after such a long time. The food was quite good and the atmosphere was friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overpriced for the quality of the food. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Overpriced for the quality of the food. Dinner arrived just moderately warm. Requested dressing on the side of salad, arrived spilled over onto salad. Little attention to details overlooked. Really just barely a 5. Look elsewhere for the prices charged here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Richard in the bar was phenomenal. Great ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Richard in the bar was phenomenal. Great attentive service just great. In the dining room however it was average at best. Food was cold and over cooked. Ordered bowls of soup gave cups and when we asked, they brought an additional cup and said what a great deal as it was more than is in a bowl. Because we had our entrees we declined the second cups. Had to ask for the plates to be cl are to make room for the entrees. No bread was offered. Asked but never received any. Not the usual experience I'm accustomed to from Stonewood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Very close to home. Great food and servi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Very close to home. Great food and service. We frequent it regularly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious as always and Heidi w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was delicious as always and Heidi was an amazing server!

She was so attentive and very friendly!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Made reservations they Open Table was ab ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Made reservations they Open Table was able to get the date and time I wanted! I love this place very modern and noise level low . Order a bottle of wine great price and it was great tasting, order appetizer recommend the fire scallops. Order salads i always get the Cesar Salad w anchovies. Entree alway order the prime rib got the 16oz and ordered two sides creamed spinach and naked potatoes loaded. Was there to celebrated a birthday and got the orange cake yummy and there was a lit candle when served . My waiter Rob did and excellent job

And catered to us to give us the best experience ! Yes I would go again and again. I found this restaraunt group in Tampa and I can say the food and service is the same at any Stonewood consistency is the key and this place has it!!!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoy the food and atmosphere ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We really enjoy the food and atmosphere and food at Stonewood; it was one of the first restaurants we went to when we relocated to Jacksonville. Although the food is very good and their prices are competitive, I feel the service is below average. During our last couple of visits, it seems the server is very attentive at the beginning but loses interest. The restaurant was not overly crowded during our last visit but service was very slow and poor. We had to give the server our empty appetizer plates; she did not look to pick them up. The worst part was when the server (Emily) would interrupt our conversation when we were discussing what we were going to order.

We will return but will be the server will have to earn our gratuity.

Tags: Happy Hour, , Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

In an effort to try someplace less crowd ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 14, 2017

In an effort to try someplace less crowded and more intimate, we went for my birthday and as a first time customers (party of 6) the service was great, our waiter John was amazing and very helpful. The food took a while but it was fresh so worth the wait. I will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having eaten here many times before can ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Having eaten here many times before can honestly say everything has gone down hill lately. Wines by the glass in all catagories have definitely gone to the cheap side (quality wise). At this seating, food was Not delivered as ordered. Well done when ordered med. Another Very rare when ordered medium. Smashed potatos very dry and pasty. Just a very disappointing meal.

Tags: Live Sports, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently excellent food. Seared ahi ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Consistently excellent food. Seared ahi tuna, branzino and shrimp and scallops skewers were out of this world. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food (we had grouper, salmon a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Delicious food (we had grouper, salmon and lamb). The waiter was excellent. He offered recommendations when we asked and was very attentive. It was a little pricey, but worth the money. We'll definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service and great food

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Wonderful service and great food

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.