Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Wasabi Sushi & LoungeWasabi Sushi & Lounge
(255)
$$$$
Sushi | Brookfield, Milwaukee
Booked 1 time today
Harbor HouseHarbor House
(3872)
$$$$
Seafood | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 96 times today
Third Coast ProvisionsThird Coast Provisions
(164)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 19 times today
SupperSupper
(98)
$$$$
American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 5 times today
Bartolotta's Lake Park BistroBartolotta's Lake Park Bistro
(3373)
$$$$
French | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 39 times today
Mason Street GrillMason Street Grill
(1636)
$$$$
American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 22 times today
Five O'Clock SteakhouseFive O'Clock Steakhouse
(988)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 20 times today
OnestoOnesto
(486)
$$$$
Italian | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 26 times today
The Capital Grille - MilwaukeeThe Capital Grille - Milwaukee
(1253)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 53 times today
Pizza ManPizza Man
(29)
$$$$
Italian | Shorewood, Milwaukee
Booked 7 times today
Zarletti - DowntownZarletti - Downtown
(1281)
$$$$
Italian | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 23 times today
DorsiaDorsia
(37)
$$$$
Italian | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 3 times today
Coquette CafeCoquette Cafe
(1668)
$$$$
French | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 6 times today
CarnevorCarnevor
(1562)
$$$$
Steak | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 27 times today
DanDan MilwaukeeDanDan Milwaukee
(295)
$$$$
Chinese | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 13 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Stone Bowl Grill

Stone Bowl Grill, located in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, offers a menu full of authentic Korean cuisine. Each meal is made with the traditions of Korean hot stone cooking in mind. Stone Bowl Grill offers takeout services as well as an area available to rent for special events such as private parties.

Start out your meal at Stone Bowl Grill with one of the restaurant's appetizers, such as the steamed vegetable buns or the rice cake and fish cake sautéed with a special sauce. Choose from dinner items like the bulgogi, the spicy pork belly stir fried with vegetables and the kimchi stew with tofu.

1958 N. Farwell Ave
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Korean

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 10:00pm.
Sunday 11:00am - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
E Lafayette Pl

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 220-9111

Website:
http://www.stonebowlgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Karaoke on Friday and Saturday nights from 9:30pm - midnight.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
47 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 4, 2015

Have already told numerous people about our dinner here. The food was delicious and had fast and friendly service. Definitely going to be back!+
.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 1, 2015

This is our go spot for friends who want a fun & delicious food experience. We have not disappointed anyone! What's more fun then a "hot pot" filled with sea food, incredaby tender melt in your mouth Korean beef & the most fun & yummy desserts. Easy to talk with friends & the entire staff is do sweet & professional. We love Stone Bowl!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2015

Great service, tasty food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 11, 2015

We went to Stone Bowl Grill with a group of 13 people, some of us had been to Korea. Food was great. Mandoo great. Dol Sot Bibimbop hot, filling and flavorful. We all had a good time and want to go back. Kalbi and other dishes equally good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 10, 2015

My favorite Korean dishes are bulgogi, kalbi, and yakimandu. This is not a bbq grill in the table place but it does serve up pretty good bulgogi. The kalbi is OK...could be more tender but it is still pretty good. Kalbi is always difficult to prepare.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2015

We gather in Milwaukee only occasionally and have limited ourselves to some of the excellent gastropubs and other restaurants in the Third Ward. So glad we ventured to the East Side. Outstanding experience in every way. We tried 6 or 7 dishes for the 5 of us--food was delicious, timing was perfect, level of heat always as promised. If like us you are Kirean food novices, let the waitstaff choose or at least advise. You will not be sorry. And be sure to get dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 6, 2015

This was an Ok restaurant. The prices are WAY overpriced for the amount that you get. Our waiter was alright, nothing special. Maybe I'll come in for lunch some day but we'll see.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 22, 2015

We have seen this place a few times and wanted to give it a try. It was sad to see they were no longer serving Boba Tea. We had the spicy-sweet dumpling and the Soo-yook for appetizers and we each had an entree. We were able to finish it all and still had room for dessert. Even with all of that the cost was what we usually spend at other places, so we were not too disappointed in the total amount of food to cost. We want to go back and try more items and bring more people with us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 21, 2015

My wife and I visited Stone Bowl Grill which was our first time trying Korean cuisine. We are big fans of other Asian food genres so were excited to try something new. Our server was very helpful in explaining the menu and providing descriptions and recommendations for more "virgin" dinners like ourselves.

We selected an appetizer and two entrees (a traditional Korean Bar-b-q and a ramen noodle hot bowl dish). Before our appetizer was served, our server delivered a traditional Korean first course of small plate dishes of spicy potatoes, a small whole fried white fish, and seaweed salad. These were delicious complimentary pre-cursors (almost like a Korean version of chips and salsa to a Mexican restaurant).

Our appetizer and entrees were delivered quickly (almost too quickly as we would have liked to enjoy the different tastes and atmosphere more gradually). The dishes were hot and quite spicy, but not overwhelmingly so. The ramen entree was a generous serving of meat, noodles, vegetables, and a spicy broth which came served in a steaming hot stone bowl that kept the food piping hot through the entire meal. Everything was flavorful and delicious (but be ready for spice!).

We can't wait to go back with a larger group and sample more dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 30, 2015

Server was friendly, knowledgable, and helpful. Food was very good with lots of vegetarian options. Great for groups so you can share dishes. Soju is a great drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2015

the food was awesome and the waitress was willing to pronounce and explain the dishes. Her timing was great and she was quick to refill the side dishes without us asking. The wine prices are cheap and while not top shelf wine we all thought the wines worked well with the food. We shares 4 different dishes and styles of dishes and all were very good. This is the best Korean food we have eaten outside of Seoul.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2014

Its quite hard to find an authentic Korean restsurant. The food was amazing and the , service was great. Though I havent had authentic korean food, I got my Korean fix for the night. The downside to this compared to Seoul Restaurant is the side dishes. There was not much variety compared to Seoul and a girl needs Kimchi. I have yet to try the soju but I definitely would recommend this place. Great service, yummy food, nice music beats side dishes anyday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2014

My favorite new restaurant! I go 1-2 times per week now. I've tried most items on the menu and have not had a dish I don't like. Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 23, 2014

Great food and staff but kitchen ventilation needs improvement.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 22, 2014

This was our second visit, the first one was great. This time we had a sassy waitor and he was not as helpful explaining the dishes. The food was stil good enough but spoiled by the lack of better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 14, 2014

Excellent service, smart decor and fantastic food. The bibimbap hit the spot on a cold night! Lots of organic tea to compliment the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2014

Great Korean Food with friendly and accomodating service. Would definitely be going back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 11, 2014

Food is great. the dubuki is off the chain. However it's not kid friendly. No booster seat only high chair. Awesome spoons.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 8, 2014

Made our reservation for 10pm online, only to be called at 8:45pm stating that the place closes at 10pm. Failure number one. We said we could maybe make it by 9:30pm (husband works until 9pm and it's a bit of a drive from our house), walked in at 9:35pm-ish and were greeted with the phrase "are you the reservation?" Which we stated we were, and then were promptly told to hurry up and sit down because the kitchen was closing in 17 minutes. Two failures here, 17 plus 35 is only 52 minutes past the hour; and who says that to customers who have already been inconvenienced by a system that the business should be working with for accuracy. With that as our first 2 minutes in the door I promptly said we will go somewhere else and they DID NOT fight us. I will never be back and I will bad-mouth them to anyone who asks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 1, 2014

Thank goodness there is finally another Korean place in MKE. The yookyejang (spicy beef soup) was awesome. Be sure to ask for "Korean spicy"!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 1, 2014

The bulgolgi was amazing, tasted just like in Korea. Short ribs were a little chewy to have as a lettuce wrap but good overall. A little pricey but to be expected as one of few spots in Milwaukee that offer Korean food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 17, 2014

The theme in the restaurant was awesome! They were aware that we reserved and treated us with great service. Loved the welcoming!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 10, 2014

we had three vegetarians in our party but all wanted interesting and not bland food- they all raved at the dishes they ordered. The waitress was a delight, very helpful and jocular. The food came out fast and was hot and tasty. The Bibimpop (sp!) was great, and the vegetarian starters were all exellent. My chicken dish was recommended by the waitress (comes with lettuce wraps) was outstanding. I read some reviews that said the food was not authentic- I have no clue which restaurant that reviewer had visited because it does not get any more korean at this one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 20, 2014

korean food altered for the american palate. it's not bad but it's not great. it just wasn't the authentic korean cuisine that i was hoping for. they seemed to have genuinely happy staff which is always nice to see though. i'd say that the service was better than the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 19, 2014

Tasted like real food and that everything wasn't poured out of a bag. Owner/Mgr came by and apologized for not giving us a booth since we had made reservations. Will be returning to try different items on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 8, 2014

So happy to have received an e-mail about Stone Bowl Grill or we would never have happened upon it. The food was fantastic! I can't wait to go back and try some more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 15, 2014

We are happy with the service. Food was good and the small appetizers are very typical in Korea. They should have more small plates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 15, 2014

I originally ate here with my Sales Department. There was Kpop coming through the speakers and a Korean drama on their screen. Even now, there's still something interesting to watch on their screen. The music changes from time to time, as I've also heard classical and lounge music playing. Yelp users can use a check-in offer for free Mandoo (yummy veggie or meat dumplings). You're always greeted upon entering or leaving. The food arrives prompt and fresh and the waitstaff are especially attentive to drinks (very awesome if you're enjoying the spicier fare). My last visit introduced a very Greek friend of mine, who rather enjoyed it and kept saying he would definitely come back to check it out. So far, I've brought 3 friends who've loved it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 5, 2014

Enjoyed their beef bibimbop. Tasty and very fresh ingredients. Looking forward to going back to try out other dishes as well! The waiter was very friendly and attentive, and the atmosphere very pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 24, 2014

One of our few tries of korean food and this was very good. Also the waiter was extremely kind and helpful. The spicy seafood ramen was delicious as well as the fried chicken. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 23, 2014

The place looks really nice but the food could use major improvement. Korean food has very strong flavors and it is missing here.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 16, 2014

I've had a lot of Korean food. This was not too inspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2014

Very accomodating and attentive service. The food was unusual and can be a little spicy, but nothing a Korean beer can't cool down. We're looking forward to returning so we can try some different things on the menu. Also the decor was sleek and modern with catchy pop Asian music playing in the background.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 28, 2014

The Sales Department (5 people) ate here for one of our International Lunches. I have dietary restrictions that limited my spicy intake, but they still had a cool (as in cold) version of their Kogi Bibimbop dish, which was delicious and had plenty of veggies! My teammates had a variety of their other dishes. The servings were just a bit bigger than a comfortable lunch size, especially the Lunch Special boxes! Ambiance: K-Pop was playing, as well as a show (with Korean subtitles) on their screens. It wasn't too loud for lunch, and there was plenty of seating available. Our server was friendly and happy to explain the dishes we weren't accustomed to. We will definitely come back for more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 26, 2014

We live in Oshkosh and drove to Milwaukee just to eat here. We will be making this trip again, soon! The food was too good, we ordered Bulgogi and kimchi-chigae. Included with the meal were three "appetizers" not on the menu. This was a nice surprise. If I had known we might not have ordered the mandoo. For the amount of food we received, I consider the prices extremely reasonable. The service was as good as the food. Jon did an awesome job explaining everything and just treated us so well that we felt privileged to be his customers. The restaurant seemed small but laid out well with a tasteful decor. We recommend Stone Bowl to anyone seeking excellent, authentic Korean food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 25, 2014

We went here for the first time over the weekend. The waitstaff was a little slow (they were jam-packed) but VERY friendly and had no problems giving great recommendations. The food is delicious, authentic, and makes you feel like you're in Korea Town or even Seoul. An amazing new addition to the MKE dining scene. The place is designed very well with great ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 25, 2014

Great Korean food and fantastic service. I've dined on Korean numerous time in NYC and Chicago, and Stone Bowl Grill is the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 12, 2014

Service was terrific. Sylvia was very knowledgable and nice. Menu was easy to understand. Food was delicious. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 28, 2014

A great find! There were so many great choices we ordered more than we could eat; enjoyed the leftovers at home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2014

Went here for lunch with a friend and had the bibimbop. It was very good and the service was good too. Good place to stop for casual lunch or dinner and get a wide variety of Korean or Americanized version of Korean food. I like the real thing, but this will appeal to a wide range of tastes.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.