Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Stoic & Genuine

Welcome to Stoic & Genuine! Denver’s iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar committed to impeccably fresh, sustainable, and creative seafood preparations set in the grand ambiance of Denver's newly renovated historic Union Station. An exhibition kitchen opens up to a fresh raw bar with ever-changing selections of shellfish. The beverage program is centered on a creative granita bar, craft and classic cocktails and a broad grower champagne selection by the bottle and glass. No ocean. No worries.

1701 Wynkoop
Suite 105
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 640-3474

Website:
http://www.stoicandgenuine.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered through Union Station

Executive Chef:
Jorel Pierce

Private Party Facilities:
Denver’s historic Union Station is the perfect setting for Stoic & Genuine, an iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar. This is the latest restaurant from the team that brought you Rioja, Bistro Vendôme and Euclid Hall including James Beard Best Chef Southwest Jennifer Jasinski and her business partner Beth Gruitch. The full restaurant is available for receptions.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stoic & Genuine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (49)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Special Occasion (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
People Watching (22)
Healthy (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Authentic (19)
Casual (19)
Business Meals (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fun (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Romantic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Tapas (7)
Cozy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Scenic View (5)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
871 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Food,service and atmosphere were all tremendous. Only 11 tables which means attention to detail but also maybe a wait even with res. But all is good. Staff is super accommodating and real. Unique items and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food, slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

The fish and salad selection for lunch was amazing! And these guys have the best cheeseburger in town, hands down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 10, 2017

First timers. They have a very creative and delicious cocktail list. Several home made Grannitos really add fun and flavor to a creative cocktails. The one with allspice was incredible. Overall, the food was very good. We had oysters that were delicious. The entree of a New York wrapped ahi filet was creative and delicious, although on the small side. Still had some Palisade peaches for pie, which cannot be beat. The only negatives were where we were seated. Very noisy with kitchen noise, and not very attractive as it seemed like we were in an area that was an after thought. Our server must have had tables in another wing of the restaurant as we didn’t see her often. Will try again, since the food was good.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Good Seafood Restaurant. Definitely a bit overpriced. The staff was not as accommodating as might be expected of this level of restaurant. The food was good. Not that many menu options but really good oysters.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 6, 2017

One of the best meals that I have had in a long time! The food was inventive and unique and incredible all at the same time and the whole experience was just fun. I am definitely going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Everything went well and service was great. We sat close to an are that held the dishwasher and it was a tight squeeze for the servers to get by our table.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Our table was ready right away and the staff was very friendly with just the right amount of attention. The portions were just right and the food delicious.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

If you're really hungry and do not eat RAW oysters, this is not the restaurant for you.
They specialize in fresh, flown in daily seafood. Portions are very small but wonderfully designed and prepared. The Surf In Turf is their best dish featuring prime rib with raw tuna carved in the middle. I do not eat raw oysters and had to fill up on corn bread after eating an appetizer and entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Calamari carbonara was incredible. Whole Haddock was good. Room seemed a little bright for dinner. Limited beverage options. Server knew her menu well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Seafood excellent. Creative cocktails. Great atmosphere.
Kitchen and bar both slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Unfortunately, we were unimpressed. We really wanted seafood for a special occasion dinner, and have been wanting to try S&G for quite some time. It just didn't live up to the hype. The tables are super close together (we could hear the entire conversations of our neighbors) the food options were okay and the food was good, but not great. Although I am glad we went, we probably won't be back :(

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Very creative menu. Food was freshly prepared and beautifully plated . Different than everyday restaurants Great for a night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great bistro food and service in Union Station. Fish was beautifully cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I've been to S&G many times. Recently I've seen a few negative reviews on Yelp regarding this restaurant. For me, outside of one rude waiter on a previous trip it's always been very good. There are certain things to avoid and certain things that are a must get while you're there. I sometimes hesitate to give a place 5 stars if you can't order anything on the menu and have it be great, but the things that are strong on this menu are really strong.

First of all, I'll talk about some of my disappointments with the restaurant. Some of the items like their play on clam chowder, or some of their plated dishes were a bit underwhelming. I'm not very big on 'deconstructed' dishes, so maybe it's just me. The lobster roll is good, just not great.

The items that are very strong in my opinion are the oysters, the King Crab, the shrimp, the cornbread, the tempura sishito peppers, the He Crab Soup (when it's on the menu) and the burger. It's hard to find good King Crab in Denver. Stoic is my go to spot for King Crab and I've never had a bad experience. To me $52/pound is fair for such a consistently excellent product. Also if one goes during happy hour the oysters are $2 each. Of the 7 times I've been to S&G only once did we have bad service and we were just in last weekend to celebrate a birthday and our waiter was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Unfortunately I was very disappointed.
Specifically, the special Autumn Panzanella Salad and the Tuna Tartare. Not only were the portions exceedingly small (the tuna tartare was two bites) but regarding the Autumn Salad special, they ran out of one of the main ingredients that made it an "Autumn" salad, the roasted butternut squash. The rye croutons, were like a brick having not be softened at all by the dressing. This was not a Panzanella salad, it was a salad with croutons. It also arrived without another main ingredient, the brie cheese. After notifying our waitress, it took way too long for the brie to arrive and it came out as a hunk of Brie on a side plate.
Since it was a business meeting and I did not want to embarrass my customers, I did not ask for a remake (it was too late in the meal anyway) nor did I ask that it be taken off of the bill. For the price, Stoic & Genuine was woefully lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Enjoyed sitting outside with a friend and my little dog. Restaurant was very accommodating to allow me to sit near the edge of the patio so the dog could be near me. Veggie and seafood options were creative and fresh. Good wine options and friendly server.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

My son and I sat at the raw bar and enjoyed watching the chefs in action and listening to their lingo!! Oysters were fantastic, haddock fish was over the top great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our first visit was good enough that we'll probably go back when we're in Denver near the Union Station. The lunch menu had only a few choices but the salads were very good. However, the lobster roll which very small and had too much mayo, dressing and celery in the mixture. A true lobster roll has a brioche roll with lobster, drawn butter and/or a sauce to dip it in. We were disappointed in it because of that.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Expected better tasting food given all the high reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We loved this place. The location was great as was the overall experience. The seafood was exquisite. They offered an ample amount of Oyster options and a variety of well crafted plates. The lobster roll, albeit small, was perfect and their seasoned fries were a great complement to our seafood. The shrimp was sweet and the batter was tempura like. The staff was friendly and the overall vibe was relaxed and welcoming.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Excellent food, great service BUT not much food for the expensive price tag BUT worthy of every incredible bite. LOVE IT...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Lovely place right in Union Station with great seafood selection. Try the crudo and oysters. Us four did small plates and we're very satisfied.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

First time dining here. Celebrating my husbands birthday and was not impressed. Food was just ok, took over 40min to get our dinner, they forgot our side dishes, no mention of his birthday and I left that in my open table notes, very lack luster for an expensive dinner. Will not be returning or recommending!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Highly recommended! Every element of our meal was outstanding - fantastic, creative food!
Can't wait to return to try other menu items!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The oysters here are amazing, pricey but amazing. I wasn't as impressed with the rest of the food. It tried to be too fancy and didn't live up to all the hype.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Second time eating here, service was a little lacking and that can really aggravate a good night out at a fairly expensive place. The food is always good; oysters on the shell were tasty as were the drinks - my mint juleps were really good. The whole lobster was perfectly cooked. The young waitress was in a little over her head and put a wrench in the evening but did not spoil the night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food was good (nothing incredible), and our server was friendly. However the service was quite slow considering the restaurant wasn't all that busy. We all felt the appetizer portions were small. The oysters were great and if we were in the area we would maybe stop in for that, but otherwise no one in our party felt it was somewhere we'd need to visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

As always everything was great. Service, food the entire experience. One of our favorite places to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Got to sit outside, lovely evening at Union Station. The oysters were fabulous along with the main dishes. Highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Son heard this place was good, took him for his birthday. A bit pricey, a buck 40{incl tip} for 4 beers, 1 non alcoholic drink, 6 oysters and 3 of the lower priced entrees. They comped a dessert for our birthday boy. Quality service, constant attention, food was excellent, try some mussels with cornbread, also highly recommend the squid. Great ambiance outside{7:15-9 pm}, next to the plaza fountains, until a city worker fired up a pressure washer, thankfully we were wrapping things up.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

My 46th Birthday Weekend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The food was outstanding and the service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Amazing Burger @ an oyster bar! It was a huge surprise.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Very pleased with the food and service! This place is not about large portions, but instead focuses on incredible food and flavor combinations. Every bite was perfectly created and incredible. The scallops and octopus were both the most tender I have ever had. The oysters were perfection. The fish presentation and taste was memorable. Not cheap but worth every penny for a special and memorable occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Wonderful seafood, located right by Union Staion. $12 parking when you dine there. The patio is nice right by the fountains. Love the flavored ice, and having cucumber flavored ice with vodka. Very refreshing! Great oysters, and watermelon salad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

The food was good, but the service slow. The waitress although nice, was not too attentive. She was chatting with other tables and left our drinks on the bar at least 10 minutes before they were brought to the table. Expensive oysters. $4.00 a piece is high robbery in my book. I can get better ones at Papadeaux for a dozen and bigger. It was a decent meal, but not hurrying to go back anytime soon.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.