About Stoic & Genuine

1701 Wynkoop
Suite 105
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Welcome to Stoic & Genuine! Denver’s iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar committed to impeccably fresh, sustainable, and creative seafood preparations set in the grand ambiance of Denver's newly renovated historic Union Station. An exhibition kitchen opens up to a fresh raw bar with ever-changing selections of shellfish. The beverage program is centered on a creative granita bar, craft and classic cocktails and a broad grower champagne selection by the bottle and glass. No ocean. No worries.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 640-3474

Website:
http://www.stoicandgenuine.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered through Union Station

Executive Chef:
Jorel Pierce

Private Party Facilities:
Denver’s historic Union Station is the perfect setting for Stoic & Genuine, an iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar. This is the latest restaurant from the team that brought you Rioja, Bistro Vendôme and Euclid Hall including James Beard Best Chef Southwest Jennifer Jasinski and her business partner Beth Gruitch. The full restaurant is available for receptions.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stoic & Genuine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (45)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Modern Decor (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Business Meals (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Romantic (11)
Healthy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Historic (10)
Seasonal (8)
Casual (8)
Cozy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
People Watching (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tapas (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
703 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Shrimp so fresh, and excellent cocktail ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Shrimp so fresh, and excellent cocktail sauce. Fish special incredible. Short rib dish amazing. All just a bit salty. Great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I went for our birthdays. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

My friend and I went for our birthdays. We had missed each other's. Sat outside. Beautiful day. Mat did a great job. Very knowledgeable. He made it a great day! The food was delicious. The presentation was amazing. The drinks and wine were tasty! Perfect! We will be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service! The tuna tartare a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding service! The tuna tartare and surf in turf were delicious. Great atmosphere and location. We had friends visiting from Atlanta, and they were very impressed with the experience! We will definitely return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are big fans of Chef Jennifer and her ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

We are big fans of Chef Jennifer and her restaurants and this was our first disappointment. This was our first time at Stoic and Genuine. We loved the ambiance and food was delicious. Our waiter Ken was a huge disappointment. He didn't seem at all interested in helping us. Service was extremely slow and there was no effort to communicate with us. We literally had to flag our waiter down for every course. We felt very ignored. We are wine enthusiasts and foodies and there was no attempt on the part of our waiter to make us feel welcome. We will, however, continue to frequent Rioja.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Fantastic! The Haddock fish is my absolu ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fantastic! The Haddock fish is my absolute favorite. Dined here on Valentine's Day and the service/food was excellent. All the women received a rose after their meal which was a nice touch to make the holiday special for guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As big Jennifer Jasinki fans, who previo ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 13, 2017

As big Jennifer Jasinki fans, who previously viewed Rioja as our favorite Denver restaurant, we were anxious to try her newest effort tucked away in Union Station. We weren't disappointed. The room has that soft inviting feel that suggest your in for a treat. The menu, other than the braised short ribs, screams fish and as foodies who have long bemoaned the absence of good creative fish in Denver our prayers were answered. Our starters, Octopus Mortadella and Hamachi Sashimi were satisfying but the real hit of the night were the entrees. Seared Hawaiian Gamefish (mongchong), Stone bass and Mussles in a Jalapeño Butter were uniformly superior to the seafood we've had since relocating from NY, by way of Austin Texas. Only negative was the service. Food like this warrants enthusiasm and the young gal who waited on us, while reasonably responsive, just didn't match the effort from the kitchen. All in all, we're anxious to go back and see if it's as good as we thought. Highly recommend this based on our first experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were seated promptly and our initial ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were seated promptly and our initial round of beverages was taken. We had empty water and drink glasses at several points in the evening which was odd. One of our entrees wasn't cooked to their satisfaction which was fine but they delivered the remaining three which sat on our table cooling until they could refresh the other meal. The entrees themselves were tasty. We had mussels, surf and turf, and the lobster pot pie. That misstep would have been less noticeable if we didn't have empty cocktail glasses. As we were celebrating a birthday it was altogether not a great start to the evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The seafood was as fresh as I have had a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The seafood was as fresh as I have had anywhere outside of a coastal city. The staff was exceptionally knowledgeable, attentive, polite, and listened well to what we were looking for in a "night out". The oysters were and creative granitas are well worth a return trip.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our meal was a Christmas gift to family ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our meal was a Christmas gift to family members, very particular palates. We enjoyed it very much. The food and service were amazing. Cocktails pretty yummy, too! Noise level almost too much for convsation, that was the only negative. We'll visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Was great. Fresh seafood. Service was h ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Was great. Fresh seafood. Service was helpful and good. Atmosphere fun. Highly recommend.

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A few years ago we started spending a fe ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

A few years ago we started spending a few days in downtown Denver before heading over to Breckenridge to ski. We were told about the Union Station restaurants and we tried Stoic for appetizers our first time. On our 2017 trip we reserved a night for dinner. They do specialize in oysters, and we are not oyster fans, but the seafood we ate was excellent. The decor and vibe was very cool. This will be a dining destination on all our future ski trips.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience just a bit noisy . Sardin ...

 
 (London)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great ambience just a bit noisy . Sardines and tartare were exceptional ,

Main course haddock tasted fantastic but was difficult to manage due to being cooked and served upright which meant you sort of had to pull it off the bone left a lot behind on the plate when done ! Whole bass was easier to handle and was nicely presented.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing , great seafood and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was amazing , great seafood and fresh vegetables. Everything had a great taste to it and service was awesome.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent oysters (including the Stoic a ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent oysters (including the Stoic and Genuine types......). The shrimp were also very tasty. My main dish was a little on the smaller side, but very good with the kimchi brussel sprouts and other well blended flavors.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun, creative. A little pricey but every ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Fun, creative. A little pricey but everything delicious and interesting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, always good fish selections ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great food, always good fish selections prepared creatively. A very pleasant evening celebrating my husband's 65th birthday. We came here last August for my 65th birthday, too!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pickled Sardines appetizer, paella, lobs ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Pickled Sardines appetizer, paella, lobster pot pie, maple creme brulee. All outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was excellent -- attentive a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our service was excellent -- attentive and knowledgeable. We came specifically for oysters, and enjoyed the selection. The kampachi poke was OK -- very fresh, but not very flavorful. However, the setting is really cramped and loud. Not sure this would be a repeat experience for me on a Friday night.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food, we loved the tartare , catfi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food, we loved the tartare , catfish, and polenta! Love the Octopus but we should have been served it first because with the strong flavor of the tartare made it difficult to taste the mild flavors of it. This is an amazing restaurant and the menu is very creative. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was phenomenal! Had the oysters to ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Food was phenomenal! Had the oysters to start with and the Paella Moderna for an entre and both were just exquisite in taste! Service was great throughout; I will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was ridiculously well educate ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Our server was ridiculously well educated about wine and the menu as a whole. We took many of his expert recommendations and were impressed with every one. Particularly the delicious wine. The seafood was fresh, inventive, and delicious as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome design and beautifully executed ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Awesome design and beautifully executed food. Service was outstanding . Thanks again Kale!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Crab Chowder and Paella....foo ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent Crab Chowder and Paella....food is fresh and flavorful. This was our first visit and we will definitely return. Waiters are professional. At first visit this appears to be the best seafood in Denver.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters were fantastic. Dinner, amazing. ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Oysters were fantastic. Dinner, amazing. A must for anyone who is wanting to check off the best restaurants in Denver.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

LOVED everything we had here. Amazing S ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

LOVED everything we had here. Amazing Seafood and really creative options! Cannot say enough wonderful things about my meal here. From the Broccoli & Avocado salad, to the sardines (OMG so good) to the bass & the gamefish...DELISH! And I am not an oyster eater, but my oyster eating friends loved them!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Really top notch selection of seafood. E ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Really top notch selection of seafood. Especially liked all the oysters available. Also it's conveniently located in Union Station, if you're coming in from or going out to the airport, this served as a cool last meal before we left town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Made reservation for a Sunday evening to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Made reservation for a Sunday evening to celebrate my birthday. Service was excellent, Kael knew the menu extensively and was able to recommend gluten free items and modifications for some dishes that could be modified to be gf. Food was excellent. Started with hibachi and an avocado, apple, kale, sunflower seed salad. Dinner included a stone bass dish with a delicious coconut sauce that was similar to cake frosting -yum, yum! Also enjoyed a gf lentil cracker.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The tuna benedict was delicious, but min ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The tuna benedict was delicious, but miniscule, especially considering the price. The Hawaiian Gamefish was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service. Nice spot inUnio ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food and service. Nice spot inUnion Station. A cozy cove just steps from all the action.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place for the oysters and othe ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love this place for the oysters and other fresh seafood. They make a pretty mean cocktail as well!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great offering from Jennifer Jas ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Another great offering from Jennifer Jasinsky and Beth Gruitch, the team that brought us rioja, Bistro Vendomme, Euclid Hall - all among the best in Denver.

Stoic & Genuine innovates with seafood like rioja innovates with Mediterranean cuisine; it's a busier, noisier room, which works as a part of Union Station's environment.

We started with the house salad, which introduced us to wakame - added the perfect savory crunch! Next up was He Crab Soup, very smooth and rich, and just the right amount of spicy. Our entree was the Stone Bass, with coconut sunchoke veloute, kimchi brussel sprouts, crab cream cheese wontons - the best crab-cheese wontons ever - and it was also delicious. The spicy brussel sprouts were nicely offset by the sweetness of the coconut and sunchoke.

While no restaurant will ever replace rioja as my Denver favorite, S&G could easily become a Top 10 fave!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun place. Lovely location in Union Stat ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fun place. Lovely location in Union Station. Wonderful oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife had the lobster roll and she tho ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife had the lobster roll and she thoroughly enjoyed it. I ordered the surf and turf and everything from the presentation to the meal itself was excellent. Great service and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Oysters were delicious and good variety ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Oysters were delicious and good variety offered. Our fish dinners were fantastic. Looking forward our next dinner here!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I have been to S&G a few ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My husband and I have been to S&G a few times, but this was the first time we booked through OpenTable. We booked over a month ago to ensure our group could get a good space at prime time on a Friday for our group of four. We were seated at one of the worst tables in the room. Right at the edge of the kitchen where the waitstaff gathered and where we felt we were constantly in the way. The two people seated on the outside were bumped repeatedly. It was also noisy, but that was to be expected. When seated, we asked if there was a better table and told that this was the one reserved for us. I really felt like the action of making a reservation ensured we'd get this crappy table. Our waitress was sublime, the food so delicious and the drinks on point, but that table... I'm honestly not sure how to avoid this in the future because I'll be back, but if that table is it, I'm out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyed a lovely lunch here with my pare ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely lunch here with my parents after arriving in Union Station. The Brussels were out of this world!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a cold, snowy night so the restau ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

It was a cold, snowy night so the restaurant wasn't as crowded or full as usual. Our server was excellent. Lovely dinner.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

After reading all the positive reviews, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

After reading all the positive reviews, decided to give it a try. Dined on New Year's Eve. Unfortunately, was disappointed in the experience . Was seated right next to the kitchen and all we heard all night was severs yelling "corner". The space was also littered with trash and clutter. Not what you expect from a highly rated restaurant. You would think they would put up a barrier or something to block off the kitchen from the dining room. Was surprised that there were zero non seafood menu options with the exception of a New York strip wrapped in ahi tuna. We asked if we could get the steak separate from the ahi and were informed they they could not accommodate us. I realize this is a seafood restaurant but assumed there would be at least a few non seafood options as my wife is not a seafood person. So she had a broccoli and avocado salad and cornbread. The salad was minuscule with 2 small pieces of avocado. Not good !! The cornbread was ok. I had the seared Hawaiian fish. The fish was very good, however the portion was extremely small. The rest of the plate was consumed with fennel salad. Not what we were expecting. Maybe they just had a bad night. There are just way to many other outstanding restaurants in Denver to experience to return to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I love Stoic and Genuine! It's so fresh, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love Stoic and Genuine! It's so fresh, the service is terrific, the ambience is stellar.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the squash chowder and the fish s ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had the squash chowder and the fish soup. Both were expertly prepared and delicious. I had the cauliflower salad which was good but I think the house salad, which I have had before is better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.