Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Stoic & Genuine

Welcome to Stoic & Genuine! Denver’s iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar committed to impeccably fresh, sustainable, and creative seafood preparations set in the grand ambiance of Denver's newly renovated historic Union Station. An exhibition kitchen opens up to a fresh raw bar with ever-changing selections of shellfish. The beverage program is centered on a creative granita bar, craft and classic cocktails and a broad grower champagne selection by the bottle and glass. No ocean. No worries.

1701 Wynkoop
Suite 105
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 640-3474

Website:
http://www.stoicandgenuine.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered through Union Station

Executive Chef:
Jorel Pierce

Private Party Facilities:
Denver’s historic Union Station is the perfect setting for Stoic & Genuine, an iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar. This is the latest restaurant from the team that brought you Rioja, Bistro Vendôme and Euclid Hall including James Beard Best Chef Southwest Jennifer Jasinski and her business partner Beth Gruitch. The full restaurant is available for receptions.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stoic & Genuine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (47)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Modern Decor (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Romantic (18)
Casual (17)
Authentic (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Healthy (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Business Meals (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (13)
Historic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
People Watching (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Seasonal (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Tapas (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
761 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The portions are on the smaller side, but absolutely delicious and unique. The fish was very fresh. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Ambiance is pretty casual, but it makes you feel comfortable dressing up or down. Service was great; though the hostess was a little jumbled when we arrived (maybe she was new...seemed a bit overwhelmed).

Regarding food, I was impressed with the deliciousness of this meal. First of all, the oysters were incredible. So fresh and so diverse in their offering. Our server did a great job of recommending them to give us a variety of different flavors. They're definitely worth the splurge!

Our mains were also incredible. I had the "Surf In Turf" and it was unlike anything I'd had before! Ahi Tuna wrapped/fused in steak and you literally couldn't tell where one ended and one began. The veggies it was served with were tasty too.

For dessert, we had the rhubarb & angel food cake. Both were worth the calorie splurge. Overall, highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Best oysters and crudo anywhere. Please put the fish adn chips on the dinner menu as well!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I wouldn't return. Overpriced and underwhelming. Service was poor. Food was ridiculously overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This place deserves to get 2 Stars Michelin....
The food was so delicious and very well presented.
The staff very nice too.
We will go back for sure. Thank you to the owner and manager.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Truly outstanding food and service on Mother's Day. All day Sunday happy hour is a great deal. Delicious drinks, oysters and crudo. Super high quality fish prepared in a variety of ways. We had not been back to S&G in over a year, but will be frequenting after this visit.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Absolutely will recommend Stoic & Genuine to friends & family!
We both agreed the cocktails were not only unique, but one became our all time favorite (chili lime granitas with tequila). Our waiter was also everything a professional should be: extremely knowledgeable, polite, informative, fun, gracious...simply the best! He openly shared information about the menu, answering our questions with ease and offering interesting additional tidbits.
I will return with a different friend overtime, just to share this experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Graduation celebration- wonderful place -- when I come to Denver again this restaurant will be on the list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was our second time dining at Stoic and Genuine. Our first visit I was less than enthused, but they had just opened. Now trying it a second time I am still less than enthused. The oysters are great! Not cheap, but a nice selection. Appetizers and entree selections are just "meh" the pallea and halibut that we had the first time (and were just ok) are still on the menu. This time we had the jalapeño mussles which were basic, overly smiley and tasted nothing like jalapeño. The calimari carbonara was unimpressive and next to the oysters he best part of our meal was the Brussels sprouts, which could have used more char. The service was completely unimpressive. He was inattentive and Unknowledgeable about the menu. We may go back, but only for oysters and a cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful. The crudo was delicious as was everything on the menu. Desserts are worth a try as well.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great place my go to night restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This restaurant has an exceptional cheese burger and caviar options!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Every bite was an event. I literally had to close my eyes, that's how good the food is.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The atmosphere at Stoic and Genuine was wonderful and the entire Union Station was really cool to see and explore. We loved the food and would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Denver!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food and service fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

As host, I was pleased with most of the meal. Service was fast and responsive but not intrusive. My one disappointment was the miniature size of the serving of octopus received by one of my guests. It almost looked like a (bad) joke. Note this was not the calamari on the menu but the octopus, about which I was surprised and embarrassed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Went here to celebrate a birthday. The service was quick and attentive. We never waited long for our waitress, and our waitress was very friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This restaurant is totally awesome and the seafood was refresh, creatively and well prepared. Delicious and outstanding! This was our second time back in less than 5 months. We will be back for more for sure.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We heard so much about this place and took our goddaughter there for her birthday. Parking was a nightmare. The food was marginal. We ordered oysters and they were full of shells, tasteless and small. I ordered mussels and they were huge and really quite disgusting with a dried out piece of cornbread tucked on top. Our service was great and very attentive. They have a long booth down one side with tables and just a couple set alone tables. It's very crowded and your nearly setting in your neighbors lap. We don't plan on ever going back.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Stoic & Genuine never disappoints. This is one of the most energetic locations for amazingly fresh seafood. The oyster selection is to die for and their seasonal menu always has an unexpected twist or turn. Of course there are some traditional seafood options but either way you swing it, you won't be disappointed. If there is only a couple of you, I highly recommend sitting at the raw bar and taking as many recommendations as possible from the chefs. The only negative thing I have to say is that the music is always rather loud, sometimes making it difficult to have a conversation with someone across the table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Healthy, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious food with attentive (almost too attentive...) service with a cool hipster vibe. Union Station is a happening place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food and attentive service, location in Denver Union Station is awesome. Wide variety of creative food choices, seafood is fantastic. Noise level is a bit excessive if you are looking for quiet conversation.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We enjoyed dinner at Stoic and Genuine prior to theater. This is really an excellent restaurant. We had a bottle of the Greywacke Sauvignon Blanc and it was very tasty. We started with two of each of the east coast oysters and we both had the halibut for an entree. Everything was delicious. Service is attentive and efficient. For a great evening at Union Station, Stoic and Genuine can't be beat.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Granita cocktails are great, especially seated outside. The tower of power was fresh and a good mix great for an appetizer. Lobster pot pie was great. Surf and turf was a hi Yuna wrapped in steak with potatoes and mushrooms. The fish didn't really fit in with the rest of the dish. Though it was very good tuna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I can't say enough about our experience at Stoic & Genuine. I had only ever been before for drinks, which are excellent for those interested. The occasion was our 1st wedding anniversary and the chefs, bar tender, and wait staff delivered a wonderful experience. The service and attention to detail is what set this place apart. The food was outstanding, fresh and had it's own uniqueness the chefs put into each dish. I will absolutely come back for dinner in the near future. Keep doing what you're doing S&G...

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

First timers celebrating our son's 27th birthday over Brunch on Easter Sunday. Lots and lots of choices and happy hour all day Sunday. That was a nice bonus. Everything we ordered was delicious and the oysters were so fresh! Can't wait to go back to try other items on the menu. We were not disappointed!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great drinks, great oysters, entrees were awesome, outside patio was great, lots of fun

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was wonderful and it was difficult to select an entree. The raw bar and appetizers are well thought out. It was a little casual and loud for our taste but we loved that the kitchen was open late. The bread pudding is a great finisher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food. Reasonable prices. Great staff. Good place to experiences new dishes and exceptional caviar. We celebrated a birthday and enjoyed a birthday dessert. Enjoyed valet parking. Overall, an excellent experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Historic, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

David provided great service. The cornbread in a skillet tastes better when cooked in butter on the bottom for a crisp taste. Expensive but marvelous!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This one had been on our list for a while and it was everything it was built up to be! It's in a great location located right in Union Station. The food was incredible (some of the best seafood in town) and the atmosphere was grand. Highly recommended but be sure to make a reservation well in advance as there is not a ton of seating and it is quite the popular place. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Best fried oyster Po'Boy sandwich! Nice outside seating. Very conveniently located in Union Station.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food. Incredible service. Tasty drinks.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Amazing Bass and Brussels Sprouts are incredible!

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 29, 2017

This restaurant is part of the revitalized Union Station. It is a rather intimate setting with good lighting. I felt that the service was not bad; it had the feeling of false sincerity but there are worse things. I admit I do not have the appearance of a good tipper in a fine dining situation but I bartend and I know the grind. Our table of two became less of a priority when the four top arrived 15 minutes after seating. The server went out of her way to help my girlfriend so in no way I am saying the service was bad. The oysters were the highlight. We had a solid meal that had reasonable portions (not the gigantic plates that have come to dominate American cuisine) so having an appetizer and desert isn't entirely unreasonable. I was hoping for a revelatory experience, especially considering the prices. Sadly, we did not gain any fresh insights into modern cuisine but the food was otherwise solid. I felt that the salmon I got would not have been acceptable to serve the next day. It was a good experience, just not one I am going to seek out for future special occasions.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The servers were very knowledgeable and right there when you needed them. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Expensive. Food just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We went here with my son at his recommendation for lunch. The food and the waiter were absolutely amazing. It was a little on the expensive side, but was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing! Everything was great

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Rude waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.