About Stephanie's On Newbury

190 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Stephanie's on Newbury has now become an institution in Boston. Located in the heart of one of Boston's most historic streets and upscale shopping districts, Stephanie's has been serving 'Sophisticated Comfort Food' in a relaxed, inviting atmosphere since 1994. Locals, travelers and shoppers alike favor this classic American bistro because of its commitment to blending old fashioned American favorites with a current, fresh twist. Stephanie's is casual elegance at its best with one of the city's most fashionable sidewalk cafes, popular club-like bar and cozy sky lit dining spaces. **Reservations are for inside seating only. Also, if the time you request is not available, please call the restaurant directly.**

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 236-0990

Website:
http://www.stephaniesonnewbury.com/

Public Transit:
Copley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 7:30AM - 11:45AM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri 7:30AM - 11:45AM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The semi-private facility accommodates up to 45 people.

Stephanie's On Newbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (34)
Casual (28)
Great for Brunch (27)
See All
Sunday Lunch (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Cozy (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Fun (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Romantic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Business Meals (13)
People Watching (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Healthy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Family Style (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Seasonal (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Authentic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent waiter from Morocco We hosted ...

 
 (New England)·Dined a day ago

Excellent waiter from Morocco

We hosted 2 Japanese visitors for dinner

Our visitors commented that the portions are too large

Food was good as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great meal here! The shepherds p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Another great meal here! The shepherds pie was delicious, lobster guacamole - amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

we went for my birthday this past weeken ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

we went for my birthday this past weekend and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal! we were a very loud table of 8 and the staff could not have been friendlier, more professional or accommodating to us. It was a terrific night with outstanding food. I personally had the scallops with risotto which was perfectly cooked. A friend had the cowgirl steak which looked absolutely delicous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food for a decent price. They shoul ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food for a decent price. They should expand their menu with more options instead of seafood and basic chicken / meat dishes.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Back in the day, Stephanie's was a class ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Back in the day, Stephanie's was a classy brunch spot. Unfortunately that is no more - folks wearing sweatpants, tables YELLING. Disappointed to see a great place go down.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

My date and I went to Stephanie's for br ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My date and I went to Stephanie's for brunch. It was extremely busy, but we were seated promptly for our reservation. They have a very interesting bloody mary menu where you can check off liquors, mixers, and garnishes from a checklist, which was quite nice (though pricey!). I had a breakfast skillet which while very tasty was huge. My date had the french toast, which was also quite good. We also had the monkey bread, which was definitely not worth it. The menu was quite good for brunch, though slightly limited. Our server seemed a bit harried due to the volume of customers. It was a very lively atmosphere, and from our seats, we had good people wtching on Newbury Street. All in all, a positive experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything was so delicious! We always m ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was so delicious! We always make Stephanie's one of our stops whenever we visit Boston, and we're never disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are always reliable ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food and service are always reliable at this Boston staple, but would love to see them shake things up a bit more. It become monotonous after your second visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful restaurant! Food was delicious ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful restaurant! Food was delicious, served at the right temperature, good timing between drinks and food. Relaxed environment, but well cared for by the wait staff. Loved that we could reserve a table. The whole evening was fantastic, right down to the birthday candle in the dessert.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drink at brunch were all tasty. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food and drink at brunch were all tasty. One of the best eggs Benedict I've had...very light (I had fruit instead of potatoes). It was very noisy. Best thing I did was make reservations on Open Table. Folks that arrived the same time we did without reservations had a 50 minute wait!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place, but no one tended to us whe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great place, but no one tended to us when we first were seated for a while (20 minutes, possibly). However, the food at Stephanie's was amazing and the waitress we had was a very nice, Hispanic woman who took over for another waitress that was too busy; I wish I remembered her and would like to tell her, "Thank you"!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I had been to Stephi's in Southie, but n ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I had been to Stephi's in Southie, but never to the Newbury location. I must say I was a little disappointed with my meal. I got the tuna salad, and just felt it was grossly overpriced. I was looking to get a nice big salad and although I appreciated the amount of tuna they gave, there just weren't many greens or other toppings. Furthermore, the meal I wanted initially that I saw no the menu on Open Table was not available at this location. I like Stephi's and would go back but not to this location.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The restaurant was very beautiful and qu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The restaurant was very beautiful and quiet during the weekday we went in. The servers were very kind and attentive. Overall very impressed. Be warned though the portion sizes are HUGE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got in earlier than our reservation. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We got in earlier than our reservation. Service was so fast. Each ordered the crab cakes benedict. Delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, wonderful food and great ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service, wonderful food and great atmosphere. Glad to take visiting family from out out town to this classic Sunday brunch spot. I wish it was a tad more affordable but otherwise a top, top recommendation.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

THIS IS A LIVELY SPOT, GOOD FOR GATHERIN ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

THIS IS A LIVELY SPOT, GOOD FOR GATHERING WITH FRIENDS. PORTIONS ARE HUGE AND INTERESTING.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday brunch- the food was good but not ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Sunday brunch- the food was good but nothing special. Cappuccino was not that hot and nothing memorable. We had an omelette (it was good and it was large) and a waffle (heavy type waffle not one that is light and fluffy). Food around us looked better- skillet breakfast, monkey bread.

I do think a place like this should offer real maple syrup, even if there's an up charge for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

According to friends who joined us, Step ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

According to friends who joined us, Stephanie's is a Newbury Street institution. And after a wonderful meal, it's clear why! We were seated promptly at our OT reservation time. Service was friendly and fast (but with no sense of undue rushing about). The menu struck a nice balance of having something for everyone without being overwhelming. Our party of five all ordered different things, and everyone loved their meal. It was a cheerful, convivial vibe, with a noise level to match but not overly loud by any means. Yup, we'll be back. Apparently Stephanie's is quite popular, so make those reservations ahead of time if possible.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awful experience from the moment we walk ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Awful experience from the moment we walked in for my daughter's Sweet 16 dinner with family and friends. I had a very large cake box in my hands (I called ahead to make sure I could bring it) and the hostess says follow me and starts walking to the table. I said "can I give this cake to someone please." The other person at the front took. We were led to a table set for 6 when I made the reservation for 7 people. When it became obvious there weren't enough chairs she said "I can get another chair." We then had to tell the waitress that we didn't have enough place settings. Not sure if she was new or just not very bright but she didn't take the menus away so we had to leave them on the floor. My husband ordered an expensive bottle of wine that was corked and had to be sent back. They brought the cake out without the 1 & 6 candles lit. Overall I was extremely disappointed and would never recommend this restaurant to anyone. It's overrated all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Please ignore the previous review! That ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Please ignore the previous review! That was for another restaurant we had dinner at. So Sorry. We had a wonderful experience at Stephanie's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Poor service and this was the third time ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Poor service and this was the third time we have been there and previously enjoyed the food - this time not so good. Skirt steak salad was limp and burgers ok and soup Luke warm and tasteless. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was hit or miss. Special had so mu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was hit or miss. Special had so much sauce on it my friend needed to scoop it on to a separate plate. Other dishes (open face turkey sandwich, brick chicken) were pretty good.

Service was disappointing. Main course came before we had finished our appetizer. It was 9pm on a Friday night - lots of empty tables so there was no need to rush.

I personally asked our server to give me the check at the end of the night. She agreed, then when my friend handed her his credit card 15 minutes later she took it. I was livid but she could have cared less. Don't tell me one thing and then do another. I will not be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was good but they forgot to bring u ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food was good but they forgot to bring us bread to start the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I eat at Stephanie's on most of my Bosto ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I eat at Stephanie's on most of my Boston visits because I know I'll get a consistently excellent meal, no matter what food type I'm seeking. The choices are always quite varied, interesting and never disappointing. My favorite salad is always the butternut squash with arugula. Whoa!!! Always makes me happy. The crab cake appetizer is big enough for a main dish after a salad and has very little filler and great sauce and greens below. My friends had the chicken pot pie and the rack of lamb. They each commented how yummy their dishes were and they would order them again.

We drank the Brancaia Tre, which for $65 is a bit pricey, but excellent with the food choices. There are many other excellent wine options, all somewhat pricey, but they need to make their margin somewhere.

Overall, I will return again to one of my favorite and reliable Boston restaurants.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Newbury Street prices for ok food. Cockt ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Newbury Street prices for ok food. Cocktail (and wine) prices (ok it's Boston) very high. $8 for a bottle of Pellegrino? Prices just below the Oak Bar, Grill 23 and Capital Grille, but in a more casual setting, with casual food and that's not right. We liked Stephanie's before for lunch, haven't been there in a while, no desire to return. Don't like the "booth" type arrangements.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our party of four was satisfied, for the ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our party of four was satisfied, for the most part, but not wowed. We'd heard great things and came in with high expectations. The corn-beef hash was bland and the accompanying mixed greens had no dressing, same with the salad on the Benedict. The vegetable omelet was good, but again, just nothing special. Eggs Shakshuka were flavorful, but needed a protein. The ambiance was nice. Service was average. Seems pricey for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Good menu of comfort food classics, incl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good menu of comfort food classics, including meatloaf, chicken pot pie and shepard's pie. Pretty good salmon. Good breakfast, which is hard to find in the area.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been to Stephanie's a few times ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have been to Stephanie's a few times before and it's usually ok. Last night the service was not good. I asked for a certain type of potato because I have allergies. My meal came and they had not done the swap and the potato was cold. I was told that the potato would have been hot if I was able to have the gravy! Completely unacceptable and a bit of an excuse. They warmed it up but didn't change it to my request. It wasn't a great night.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Birthday gathering. Terrific food. Good ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Birthday gathering. Terrific food. Good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Server was extremely helpful regarding a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Server was extremely helpful regarding an allergy in my party, both in checking with the chef and making additional order recommendations.

Extremely delicious meal, and fun cocktails on a weekday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, the drinks were ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was excellent, the drinks were perfectly made. Service was some of the best i have had recently and would reccomwnd anyone to try them out especially for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is a pleasant and bustli ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This restaurant is a pleasant and bustling scene and a great place to get friends together. The food was delicious. The service however was a little slow as the waiter was overburdened with too many tables.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, Lobster Mac & Cheese and Sca ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, Lobster Mac & Cheese and Scallops over Risotto with Candied Bacon were both top notch entrees. We went for NYE and had a great relaxing time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience was phenomenal!!!! ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The whole experience was phenomenal!!!! The atmosphere was romantic and the a perfect evening

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tuna melt was ho-hum, tuna tartare was r ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Tuna melt was ho-hum, tuna tartare was really good, Ham and cheese ho-hum. Was looking forward to the grilled cheese which is no longer on menu. Soup was delicious but cold.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved the red velvet chocolate chip panc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Loved the red velvet chocolate chip pancakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere and mood was okay, but there ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Atmosphere and mood was okay, but there seemed to be a lot of noise either from a side room or a neighboring restaurant, like an entire second radio system was set up.

Food was very delicious, but one of our party was super sick the next day with food poisoning. Maybe it's fine if you just don't get the "lobster" (it was probably crab; either way, the human stomach didn't like it).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Didn't care for the table by the entranc ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Didn't care for the table by the entrance, surrounded by people waiting to get in to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Comfort food following Holiday shopping. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Comfort food following Holiday shopping. Great truffle fries

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Family dinner for 5 (1 is a vegan). Grea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Family dinner for 5 (1 is a vegan). Great food and good service for all of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.