Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Stephanie's On Newbury

Stephanie's on Newbury has now become an institution in Boston. Located in the heart of one of Boston's most historic streets and upscale shopping districts, Stephanie's has been serving 'Sophisticated Comfort Food' in a relaxed, inviting atmosphere since 1994. Locals, travelers and shoppers alike favor this classic American bistro because of its commitment to blending old fashioned American favorites with a current, fresh twist. Stephanie's is casual elegance at its best with one of the city's most fashionable sidewalk cafes, popular club-like bar and cozy sky lit dining spaces. **Reservations are for inside seating only. Also, if the time you request is not available, please call the restaurant directly.**

190 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 236-0990

Website:
http://www.stephaniesonnewbury.com/

Public Transit:
Copley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 7:30AM - 11:45AM 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu 7:30AM - 11:45AM

Fri 7:30AM - 11:45AM 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The semi-private facility accommodates up to 45 people.

Stephanie's On Newbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (44)
Comfort Food (43)
Casual (37)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Special Occasion (34)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Groups (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Hot Spot (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Fun (26)
People Watching (26)
Business Meals (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Romantic (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Cozy (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Seasonal (8)
Family Style (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (4)
Live Sports (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Scenic View (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 19 hours ago

Food was amazing! I had the Short Rib and it was fantastic! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good but HORRIBLE service. No waiter for 20 minutes after we sat down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Servers were not very attentive, but food was delicious and prepared perfectly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

6 of us had a reservation for a busy Graduation Weekend. Our booth was great and ready on time. It took a while for drinks to come, but food was fantastic! Calamari was delicious, and the scallops, salmon, and haddock special were phenomenal. A bit pricey, but worth it. Would definitely go again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed an early dinner at this cafe. Our service was top notch. Sergio was friendly, gave great recommendations for dinner, and was very attentive. I enjoyed the chicken salad and my husband enjoyed the lobster pot pie. We enjoyed watching people go by on Newbury Street. I would recommend for a nice evening out on a date or with a group of friends. The concierge at our hotel also recommended it for brunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

🤤🤤🤤 so good! Just a little pricy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We were a party of 4. We shared the calamari and onion ring tower (huge) as appetizers, both wonderful. The our entrees were again exceptionally good - tuna salad, Greek salad, scallops and ravioli. The only disappointing dish was the ice cream and churro dessert - soggy and way too much whipped cream. Our waiter was also exceptional - friendly, personable and just the right amount of attention. We were seated inside way towards the rear, which was nice as it was quieter than the front.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Food and service very good. Hot evening, with doors open to outside dining. Heat in restaurant was unbearable. Never dine inside on hot day. Can't imagine what management was thinking!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Excellent food. Great location. Great staff. Just a little noisy.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Food is always good at Stephis. Good sized portions. Price seems high but you get alot. Awesome outdoor patio and great for people watching!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Boston neighborhood gem right in the middle of Back Bay. Great outdoor seating on a warm evening with well prepared, fresh food. Good for business, friends or family.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Sitting outside on a nice spring day makes the food taste even better. Ordered the special salad with crab and peas on 3 endive leaves and then small arugula salad with some pickled onions and crunchy bacon crumbs. Very good. Not a big lunch but enough for a lite lunch. Pleasant server, Dylan, I believe. Enjoyed being there on a weekday rather than hectic weekend day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I have eaten at Stephanie's at the airport and they had a lot of gluten free options. I was very disappointed with the options at the restaurant on Newbury and the service from our waiter. I would not go back, especially since there are many other restaurants in Boston with better gluten free menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The wait staff were not friendly. The food was very mediocre. I had the 14 dollar Caesar salad and it had two croutons on it. And small. The reputed meat loaf had unmelted cheddar cheese in the bottom, and was lukewarm. My wife's lobster roll was inferior to the one that she got the night before for room service at the Marriott Copley square. Really disappointing and very poor value for the money.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were sat in the upstairs dining area which is way less fun than downstairs. Wait staff was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Staff was friendly.
Managed to seat us even though we arrived late for our reservation!
A little pricy, but the food was very well prepared, service was okay.
If you want to hold a conversation...ask to be seated in the back or upstairs!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Was seated at not a great table - was right next to kitchen :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We have always loved Stephanie's on Newbury. Brought my family from out of town for lunch and they loved it just as much we do. Thank you so much for the great service and delicious food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Ok food but nasty iced tea - clearly sitting in the bottom of the pot for a long time. And when iced tea is served its iced, get it? Add more than just a couple of cubes to a lukewarm drink please

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was ok.. nothing to write home about. Service (attentive nature, not speed) was not very good at all. The food was prepared very quickly which leads you to believe it was not freshly prepared. The food tasted as if it was pre-prepared.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were three women and a seven year old girl following the ballet. Stephanie's was perfect because we didn't want a restaurant with a real bar scene. We enjoyed it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good food with large portions at a reasonable in the heart of the trendy Newbury Street. We had a large portion of a well prepared piece of salmon and a large potion of a decent pasta bolgnese. No roomfor dessert.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My first time at Stephanie's on Newbury and it was nice enough that I'd like to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Went here for a girls weekend lunch. Fantastic salads and service. A bit loud but we managed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great graduation dinner- they even threw in two free desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Way too noisy to be enjoyable. Would not recommend if communication is important.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I've been to Stephanie's before, but only for brunch, so I was a little nervous how dinner would be (everyone raves about brunch, myself included). My cousin was in town on a business trip, and she's a few years older than me and established in her career so I wanted to impress her!

Dinner at Stephanie's was the perfect choice, our meals were both amazing. We got the lobster guacamole to start -- I'd highly recommend it! My main course (chicken) was cooked to perfection and the pairings were fantastic. For dessert we got the skillet s'mores and it was absolutely delicious! Stephanie's also has an extensive wine list and awesome sangria.

The atmosphere was fun and lively, with great service. 10/10 in my book!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The service was not as quality as I remember it being. We were served by 3 separate waitresses and they rarely came by to fill glasses, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Largely ignored by our waitress. Main dishes piled on table with entree dishes present I had to request that these be cleared. No utensils for one member such that a 10 min delay until another waiter was asked to provide these. No bread brought to table until requested after the main dishes arrived. Very poor service for a meal costing $150 (no alcohol or dessert) for three people

Food quality not up to the prices charged. Crab cakes far better at Atlantic Fish. Halibut in chick pea tomato sauce topped with cucumber yogurt sauce did not work. Scallops with well prepared risotto were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

So I normally love Stephanies. On this particular night, our waitress totally forgot about us the entire night. It started with not bringing bread and when we asked for it, we only had forks.....no bread plates or knives or napkins. So she dropped off the bread and we had to wait another 15 minutes to get her to come back to ask her about the bread plates. Our waters were constantly empty and we had to wait long periods of time to wave her down and ask her to refill our water. Our food took a tremendously long time and I actually think she forgot it because it wasn't hot when it came. It was extremely disappointing because we had a party of 7 and it was a very special occasion and I had raved about the restaurant to our guests. We had to wait even for the bill and wave her down to say can we please have our bill. I am disappointed in Stephanies, this is not the experience we have had in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was really good and our waitress was very good. The have helpers deliver the food which I don't like, they have to stand there and ask who order what. We waited in the bar for our table to be ready and it was very very loud and busy bar. The restaurant was loud even though we were across the room from the bar. I would not go back on a Friday night, I would try mid-week.
It was too bad it was so loud it would have been a really nice nite out.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service. Try the shakshuka!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was great but the staff seemed stretched thin. At the time I went it was extremely loud, a lot of conversation in one room. Service was slow but the waitress was kind. It looked like the staff was overworked for the crowd that they were seeing that day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food is wonderful. Our server was terrific. The noise was pretty bad. I could barely hear what my companion had to say, and we had no one seated next to us on either side. I suspect it is quieter outside, but Open Table reservations are only good for inside. If you want to have a nice chat over dinner, I don't think this is the place.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This was my first time here and I absolutely loved it! After hearing recommendations from so so many people, it lived up to the expectations and more! Delicious food & gorgeous restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

From our arrival I was not impressed with the service. We had reservations, yet we were sat at a terrible table. We asked to be moved. It was a while before wait staff brought us water - we were offered bread, but after 20 minutes it hadn't arrived. We were not offered drinks, had to ask for them. The food was good but the long waits for service just didn't work for me. I won't go back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Typically have an amazing time at Stephanie's but today the service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Only a few other tables dining when we arrived and after host looked us up and down we got seated in a small tight corner. Pretty sure it was because we didn't have our on Sunday brunch best. Our server was nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I love Stephanie's. Every time I come to Boston it is a requisite for brunch!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

IT was so loud we had to leave before ordering. Did not even finish our drinks -wasted $30. The waiter totally agreed. Deafening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.