Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Stephanie's On Newbury

Stephanie's on Newbury has now become an institution in Boston. Located in the heart of one of Boston's most historic streets and upscale shopping districts, Stephanie's has been serving 'Sophisticated Comfort Food' in a relaxed, inviting atmosphere since 1994. Locals, travelers and shoppers alike favor this classic American bistro because of its commitment to blending old fashioned American favorites with a current, fresh twist. Stephanie's is casual elegance at its best with one of the city's most fashionable sidewalk cafes, popular club-like bar and cozy sky lit dining spaces. **Reservations are for inside seating only. Also, if the time you request is not available, please call the restaurant directly.**

190 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 236-0990

Website:
http://www.stephaniesonnewbury.com/

Public Transit:
Copley Square - Green Line

Executive Chef:
Matheus DeAraujo

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 10:15AM - 11:45AM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The semi-private facility accommodates up to 45 people.

Stephanie's On Newbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
Great for Brunch (45)
People Watching (39)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Great for Lunch (34)
Good for a Date (33)
Casual (30)
Comfort Food (30)
Special Occasion (29)
Fun (27)
Hot Spot (27)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Business Meals (15)
Scenic View (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Authentic (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Romantic (10)
Healthy (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Cozy (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Seasonal (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Server wasn’t very attentive. Constantly had to flag her down. Food came out quickly and was decent. I had the bolognese which was very thick and compact. Couldn’t really get through it so not sure I’d order it again. My date had the burger which was good. Onion ring tower for an app was good. Just wish the service was better.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We ate at Stephanie’s for our anniversary while in Boston. Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Franny was our server. She was awesome. Went out of her way to please us. My husband had the Rib Eye Steak and I had rotiseree chicken with pasta. We highly recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

My friend and I met after not seeing each other for 25 years. We were able to sit in the bar while we waited for our reservation. Both the bartender and our waitress were fabulous.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Overpriced food and drinks. The fish and chips were good but I thought overpriced. Had a hard time deciding what to order because nothing struck me as interesting. Dining room was loud. Been here on several occasions when traveling but not sure why. At first they tried sitting us in a tiny table between two talkative couples. Just getting in to the booth would have been an adventure. Had to ask for a different table so we then got a good booth.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Our party had Shepard's Pie, Chicken Pot Pie, Lobster Guacamole, Crab Cakes and fried Calamari. We all enjoyed our food.

We sat inside and the atmosphere was very nice but it was noon time so it was very noisy.

I would recommend Stephanie's on Newbury.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Food was mediocre at best. Stale bread. Wilted salad. Over cooked freezer tasting salmon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Food was great, a friend had given us a gift card years ago and we decided to use it. Service was very fast and friendly

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a lovely evening. They were very amenable to our sharing an entree as we are seniors with smaller appetites.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

College visit weekend with my wife and daughter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great place for brunch in Boston. Service was friendly and attentive, food was good. Dining room a little crowded but if you are ready for this is a great place to start your weekend morning.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Overall Stephanie’s did an average job
However, I like my hamburger RARE. After stressing my preference STRONGLY to my wait person, my hamburger arrived barely MEDIUM AND CLOSER TO MEDIUM WELL. I chose not to make my disappointment an issue since If I requested a new burger, I would be eating alone, since my family would be completing there meals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Amazing service from Emily

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Stephanie's has awesome comfort food that's presented for a special occasion. The wine was great as was the ambiance. Best place we ate in Boston all weekend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The best restaurant experience I have had in years. Everything was great!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Had a good time at Stephanie's. We were able to site out side and people watch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Singapore)·Dined on October 1, 2017

You really gotta get the monkey bread. It was like an extra crispy Cinnabon. Had the french toast and shashuka. Both were pretty good but nothing special. Really worth visiting for the monkey bread.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a wonderful weekday lunch here last November so we were excited to try it for Sunday brunch. Sadly it was so busy, the service really lacked. First they were out of glasses so we had to wait for our drinks, when they finally came, they forgot three of them. Our monkey bread appetizer came quickly and was delicious, but we made the mistake of wishing to put in our entrees and had to wait for our very busy waiter to make his way back to us. The food was good, presentation could be better...perhaps a few fresh berries with the pancakes and French toast? My omelet was delicious, but dry greens on the side? Stephanie's is going on name and location in my opinion...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Cold Brew was amazing. I wish the monkey bread was a bit warmer. It was pretty cold by the time it got to our table and the waitress forgot a few drinks. But I would come back because she was great and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our spinach dip lacked flavor but everything else was top notch! Lobster risotto and the steak were perfect. Great drinks and great staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Good food. We ended up sitting at bar because my open table reservation kept getting lost? They were quite unorganized at hostess station. Not checking in people in order as they came in - so that was frustrating. It is loud inside esp by bar, but outside is really nice. Try the pineapple infused vodka ! Bit something u can get anywhere.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Had reservations at noon, didn't not sit until 12:30pm after twice asking for an update on my table. Not planning to ever walk in that restaurant or eat there. Extremely disappointing. We finally sat at a table that sat 10 people and we were only 3. Our waiter was very nice and the food came out fast. Overall not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Rush of patrons - waited almost 40 min after reservation time to get seated. Dinning hall very loud - hard to talk. Table next to us dominated the air space for all tables around them. Food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2017

I've been going to this restaurant for years because it's around the corner from my favorite hotel, but my lunch there last Friday might be my last. The food has seriously gone downhill, and the noise level makes it feel like you're eating under a plane that's about to take off. UGH. There are better places in the neighborhood, I've just been lazy. Get recommendations for other places, or buyer beware!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Just never feel good here

Staff and customers are too Boston - rude, obnoxious and self centered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Very quaint with a great patio ... menu for Brunch is a bit limited but a nice experience none the less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great energetic atmosphere. Fantastic outdoor seating. Perfect Sunday Brunch menu.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great place for brunch! The monkey bread was phenomenal and service was excellent. They were very accommodating special needs. It did get loud by the time left around 1130. Great outdoor seating on a nice day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I've been here for both dinner and weekend brunch several times. It's one of my favorite restaurants in town and it never disappoints. The food is outstanding. Fresh, local and creative American cuisine blends a fine dining experience with comfort food and a warm atmosphere.

The restaurant does get loud, which is really the only negative. Other than that it's a special place that's perfect for dates and celebrations! The service is great. Definitely make reservations.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We waited over 30 mins before even served drinks. Our appetizer and entrees were also served within 5 mins of each other leaving little time to enjoy between courses. We also had reservations and they seated a "walk in" in a much better table right before we got there. We were up against the wall in a busy walk way. Other than service, the experience was delightful.

Food was good!

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food is overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I travel personally and for business and eat at many of the best restaurants around the world. I heard about Stephanie's since it is infamous in The Boston area. I thought I would take my niece out from rna special night out together. I was sadly underwhelmed and disappointed.
I had a reservation and asked to sit outside, they accomadated but I watched other come after me and sit before me. On top of that my open table points weren't logged in and I had to request it back. Seemed unorganized up front. The service was fine, not what I what held expect at an establishment like this. I never got a refill on water, where most restaurants are on top of you with water; never asked if I wanted another cocktail; just disappointed.
And the food was mediocre at best. I had the Lobster Pot Pie and it ok.
Just disappointed and probably won't come back for dinner. But the ambiance was great sitting outside, so maybe great for a cocktail outside that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was good, although menu not as diverse as our guests would have liked. Love the bloody menu options. There were 7 of us at a table that was very tight. Our waitress provided very mediocre service, which was a disappointment.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

My husband and I stopped in for a bite before attending a show at The Red Room on a Friday evening. The service was good and the decor and general vibe was nice. Menu choices were varied and my meal was flavorful. The only problem was that we had to strain to hear one another across the table which is no fun for date night. Also, my husband has a garlic allergy and although the chef said he could make a particular dish as a special order without garlic, the result was very bland. Usually when that is the case, another choice is suggested or the chef makes something that is equally as flavorful.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food. Great patio for seating outside for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Overall good, but the food took a long time to arrive. Many tables around us that arrived later were served their lunches before us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food here was very unique. It's very filling. It was really delicious overall. Cool spot to meet with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Super busy for Sunday Brunch where they rushed us out the door so they could have table. Received meal within 5 minutes of ordering without water, drinks or appetizers. Sent food back, received apology and then drinks and appetizers came and our food came out again 5 minutes later. Felt like a fast food restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Onion rings were great. Other food was pretty mediocre for the price paid. Service was decent but not amazing. Totally paying for the location on Newbury Street.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food was delicious, as usual but service was a bit slow...

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Food was great and service can't be beat. Great area of town.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.