Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Steelhead Diner

Owner operated by Chef Kevin Davis and wife Teresa, The Steelhead Diner is a smart casual restaurant located in the heart of Seattle's Pike Place Market. Come visit our modern take on the classic American diner - and enjoy contemporary comfort food created with a Northwest twist. Soak up stunning views while enjoying our exclusively North West wine and beer list. Also available: a full bar, and a large selection of non-alcoholic choices. Watch nightly as Davis and his crew create menu items in the restaurant's interactive open kitchen surrounded by views of neighboring Puget Sound. Kids welcome. Family friendly.

95 Pine Street, Suite 17
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Seven Days a Week: 11a.m. until 10p.m. Brunch Items Available on Saturdays and Sundays.

Cross Street:
First

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 625-0129

Website:
http://www.steelheaddiner.com/

Catering:
Please call and speak to any manager to discuss you individual needs!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available in addition to several parking lots nearby. We validate parking after 5pm at the Pike Place Market Parking Garage on Western Avenue below the Market.

Public Transit:
All downtown bus routes end near or around our address: 95 Pine Street.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Davis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have a private dining room with a separate entrance that seats between 30-40 people and offers views of the Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. It also features an adjoining outdoor patio which will seat 20+ people.

Steelhead Diner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (32)
Local Ingredients (23)
Scenic View (22)
See All
Waterfront (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Fun (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Business Meals (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Bar Seating (12)
People Watching (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Authentic (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Cozy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Romantic (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Beware of the 20% fixed service charge. This is becoming more common but has to be matched with great service. That didn't happen. Our server had far to many tables, the bar was slow to get the drinks out, and the kitchen failed to get the order details right. The same management who sets the service price has to actually staff the restaurant to match the demand. Yes it was a Saturday night... but they happen every week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Our favorite meal on a long weekend trip to Seattle.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Once our food arrived it was good but our entree took over 30 minutes to arrive at our tablo. The hostess apologized and comped part of our meal. Food good, very noisy.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

outstanding food, great service and very creative menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The green beans were so good! Roasted with lemon and chiles and cashews. Makes a great share appetizer.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

We met a group of friends, there were 8 of us. The service was very good and attentive. What specifically stood out for me was an heirloom tomato salad that was absolutely unbelievably delicious!! The rest of the food was very good also, but that salad was amazing!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Had the shrimp and crab tater tots. Tasty! Also had the pork belly. Disappointing and not worth $18. More like a hunk of dry pork roast. Clam chowder was great! Hubby had fish and chips which were good but nothing amazing. Patio dining was nice. Great service.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food but my fiancé was unhappy to discover that a 20% gratuity was added for a table for 4. Server did not tell us that. He added a tip so server was over compensated for so so very slow service. Not worth a 35% tip.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great brunch menu. Sit outside if you get a rare sunny day. Must try are shrimp tater tots and Razor clam chowder. Make sure you get their custom salt &pepper options on your table too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was the first restaurant my partner and I ate in when we visited Seattle for my partner's job interview. It's a nostalgic place to us because it reminds us where we began starting a new chapter of our lives. The food is stellar with fresh seafood, wonderful calamari, and the desserts are to die for. We brought my mother here for dinner and ate out on the patio for the first time, which was lovely for weather. Definitely recommend checking this place out as a casual meets fine dine restaurant in Pike Place Market!

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised the food was good. It is really close to Pike Place so I thought the touristy places would be expensive for so so food. It was not so. We arrived at 5:50pm so was able to order the special of the day which came with dessert. Everything we ordered was tasty. I would go there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We enjoyed splitting two dishes - portions were such that we could easily save some $$ and still have a very full meal (and not have room left for dessert). The wedge salad, split into 2, is huge, and delicious. Maybe just a touch too much salad dressing. Order dressing on the side next time. The Chicken Sandwich was also substantial, even split between 2 adults, with more than enough crispy french fries to more than satisfy us. Wine prices are high. All in all, a delightful dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Dinner was good and service was good. Tater tots were delicious, one of our favorite items.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

This was my fourth trip to Steelhead Diner. I love, love, love their salmon with Chukar Cherries and polenta. Definitely my favorite spot to go when I am in Seattle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Our waiter was awesome! Food was amazing as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We came for lunch. The restaurant wasn't very busy, it took 20min for our drinks to come &45min for our food.
Really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were celebrating our Anniversary which we were seated by the window as requested and also recognized for our Anniversary. Thank-you!

Salmon was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We visited Steelhead Diner when last in Seattle and loved the food so wanted to return. The Diner is around Pike's Market and, if you sit in the right place, you have a view of the water. As a "diner", the atmosphere is very casual. The salmon I had was not only among the freshest and best I've had, but the preparation had to be the best I've had. Anywhere.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great place for lunch. Got the watermelon salad and was a bit worried about the vanilla bean vinaigrette. Turned out that was for a good reason. Weird and not really enjoyable Combo. But great salad with a more tart dressing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Dinner was delicious. Creative entry choices and all fresh ingredients! Fun place to dine. We will certainly be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Signature Salad was bad, bacon was hard eggs were unnoticeable and presentation was terrible. My Chioppino was spicy to hot. Last time at this place. The saving grace was our waitress. Too expensive for the place and quality of the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The salmon was very fresh and prepared perfectly! And the blueberry cheesecake was to die for! Our waiter could have been a bit more attentive and upbeat and the restaurant is very noisy. Overall, above average, primarily on flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on August 15, 2017

A bit disappointed on the service. Ordered appetizers and soup and entrees. Thought we'd get our starters first, but they brought everything out at once. Very long wait. Good thing we were not in a hurry. View is amazing though.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2017

My husband and I love Steelhead diner, have been going there for years and have recommended it to friends and colleagues. Food and service have always been top notch and consistent so it pains me to give them such a poor review! We were seated at a table just outside the kitchen, which would have been fine, except it was like we were stuck in no man's land. The chowder I ordered was room temp and the "Brutus" salad arrive 15 minutes after I had finished my chowder and was warm and limp like it had been sitting under a heat lamp for a long time. Oh Steelhead! You were so good until you weren't!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great spot
Had a good feeling about this place and was not disappointed. High energy that was match by the food and the service. Porkbelly was killer. Daily pasta was also a treat.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I wish we had a different experience here. We had three kids meals and three soups & salads and we waited over an hour before we complained. We sat patiently after the server told us the kitchen was backed up, until we saw the party of 7 next to us and two tables seated way after us all get their meals. For such a simple order, a slow kitchen is not the cause of a delay. They did comp an appetizer after we complained, but overall I had hoped for better quality and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was disappointing. Halibut was overcooked and had to be returned. The restaurant was very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent and delicious local Seattle and Pacific Northwest food choices

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I ordered the salmon and it was one of the best Meals I have ever had. My adult son who is picky ordered the halibut and it was amazing. Been coming to Seattle for a number of years. In the future the first reservation I will make is Steelhead

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

My wife and I love this place. We discovered it on a trip to Seattle the winter of 2012 and now that we live here in Seattle we love any reason to go have dinner here.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Nine of us were out for dinner after a day at a trade show. We were told not to miss the Crab and Shrimp Tater Tots, and they did not disappoint. Most of us had fish but the biggest hit was the Cioppino. I would order that if I'm ever back. The service was very good, lots of fresh bread and we had some very interesting drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service was great, and they were able to accommodate a Vegan request by my daughter, but food was lacking in seasoning and flavor. The fish and chips were bland and the Alaskan salmon also had no flavor which was a big disappoint for $41. Overall just OK and not worth the price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Had dinner here on our last night of a Seattle vacation trip. I have to say this was the best place we ate at during the entire trip. Food was FRESH, with an exquisite blending of tastes and flavors. We started off with the clam chowder, having read so many raves about it. My daughter and I shared a cup and it did not disappoint, so wonderful. My daughter had the crab cake sandwich and I had the pork tenderloin. Presentation and taste were just lovely. Dessert was a flourless brownie with ginger ice cream that we shared; again, lovely blend of scents and tastes. Even with two glasses of wine, the total was just over $100 for two of us and that included the mandatory 20% tip. Seems like several restaurants in this area have started this practice, which seems to be in lieu of tip splitting with staff who contribute to the dining experience and to improve wages. Not sure I really like this, but can see the utility. HOWEVER, the explanation of this practice stated that one "could" include an extra tip for the wait staff but that it was "not necessary." That made me feel a little obligated so I left a little extra. My opinion only, made dining out feel pretty expensive and tipping like a major obligation, not based on the service provided (although service was just fine and would have tipped 20% anyway). Seems to me that it might have felt better had some of these costs just been added to the price of the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, People Watching, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Happy Hour, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Very tasty. Went with fam on vacation. Was said to be popular with the locals, so figured it was worth a shot. Place was packed (a good sign). Good and service we're great (and, yes, it was very busy). The raspberry cheesecake is a must-have. Save room.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Organic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I have been to Steelhead Diner many times and usually take out of town guests. Always had a good experience here. Unfortunately this time the service was very poor. It was very busy and the waiter was hurried which left us waiting to get drinks and appetizers. Took 40 minutes to flag him down to take our order. The salads arrived before the appetizers so I told the server that we had not yet gotten them and he took the salads away. 20 minutes later the appetizers arrived but then we did not get the salads. In the meantime the water glasses were empty. When I got the waiters attention he tried to say that it was my fault. Really?? Did not order dessert and it still took 3 hours for our meal. Not sure if I will go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Good food, homestyle,, good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Food was good but service was awful. Server forgot one appetizer, sent the wrong dessert, and there was a long wait for water and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Crab & Shrimp Tater Tots are a must!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Visiting from out of town...very pleased with this find. Gazpacho was terrific, wife had orecchietti and I had cioppino. Both were spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We were off to a bad atart when i asked the waiter about gluten free options and one of his teploes was "it depends how picking you are". I had to explain that it wasn't a matter of "how picky" we are, but rather if a food contained gluten as we have non-Celiac gliten sensitivity. He wasn't helpful with food choices. On my drove home after the meal i started having stomach problems which got progressively worse that evening and into the next day. I will not be returning to this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.