About Steelhead Diner

95 Pine Street, Suite 17
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Owner operated by Chef Kevin Davis and wife Teresa, The Steelhead Diner is a smart casual restaurant located in the heart of Seattle's Pike Place Market. Come visit our modern take on the classic American diner - and enjoy contemporary comfort food created with a Northwest twist. Soak up stunning views while enjoying our exclusively North West wine and beer list. Also available: a full bar, and a large selection of non-alcoholic choices. Watch nightly as Davis and his crew create menu items in the restaurant's interactive open kitchen surrounded by views of neighboring Puget Sound. Kids welcome. Family friendly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Seven Days a Week: 11a.m. until 10p.m. Brunch Items Available on Saturdays and Sundays.

Cross Street:
First

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 625-0129

Website:
http://www.steelheaddiner.com/

Catering:
Please call and speak to any manager to discuss you individual needs!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available in addition to several parking lots nearby. We validate parking after 5pm at the Pike Place Market Parking Garage on Western Avenue below the Market.

Public Transit:
All downtown bus routes end near or around our address: 95 Pine Street.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Davis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have a private dining room with a separate entrance that seats between 30-40 people and offers views of the Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. It also features an adjoining outdoor patio which will seat 20+ people.

Steelhead Diner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Scenic View (21)
See All
Casual (20)
Great for Lunch (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Business Meals (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Waterfront (9)
Fun (9)
People Watching (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Romantic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Family Style (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (0)
Sort By:
S
2104 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

There was an early bird special 4-6pm with a delicious steak and potatoes followed by a huge coconut and almond ice cream sundae for 20$. Awesome!!! Kids menu also had many delicious options.

Tags: Waterfront, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had high expectations after hearing so much about Steelhead and was left pretty unimpressed.

Our waiter was the best part, as he provided very good service.

Atmosphere is non-existent, I thought it had a view of the market/water. Maybe the outside terrace does but inside is pretty tame and boring.

Food was okay, not bad, not great. While Seattle is expensive, I didn't think our $100 dinner was worth it all.

Probably won't go back unless friends/wife REALLY wants to go. There are so many spots in Seattle to go

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The entire experience was awesome! The food was delicious, and the server was very attentive and knowledgeable. Everything we ordered was spot on for us that night and fresh. I would highly recommend this place when in Seattle!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wonderful dining experience! View is great. Waitress Emily was really outstanding... friendly, helpful, attentive. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our visit was Saturday night, pre-theatre. Our waiter was spectacular; attentive and memorable. He was a tiny bit chatty for us, but it's not his fault that we are introverts!

The wine list was extensive, but the bar was out of top shelf bourbon.

The food: my husband's steak was okay. I ordered the apple and vinaigrette salad (very good!) and fish and chips for my entree. The fish was so very full of bones, it was difficult to eat. it was also VERY heavily breaded.

This was our first visit. I'd return for the location and service and give the food another try.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was great. The place had a diner feel to it but with a much more upscale edge.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Steelhead is always a joy - in midst of Pike Place Market, with a varied upscale always interesting diner menu - basics (first rate hamburger, salads, soups), inventive (meal sized iceberg head of lettuce topped with dressing bacon, etc), killer gumbo (4 artery or veggie) etc. And totally constant and reliable which brings me back often (I live two blocks away).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Visiting Seattle for just one night and wanted seafood. This place had great reviews and an open reservation. Had the oysters and the salmon and both were fantastic. Husband had the sole and really enjoyed it. Excellent service all around.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Good meal and easy location. Noise level was a bit high.

Tags: Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing food and service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I have been to this restaurant many times. I love the food, ambience, and service!

The restaurant is in the perfect location at Pike Place Market. Friendly staff. Excellent food!

Great stop for locals and tourists alike.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We've eaten at this restaurant before and it was pretty good. This last time the service was horrible. First, it took 20 minutes to get a drink. Next, they didn't have anything on the menu. Lastly, they forgot to bring a salad that my husband ordered.

On top of that , the food wasn't that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great table by the window, attentive and efficient service, varied menu, fantastic food. One of my favorites.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 24, 2017

As usual the Steelhead was excellent, good variety of seating so we could find a quite corner in the back to catch up with friends. Food was excellent as usual and service friendly and nice but not over bearing. Always a good choice for a late and extended lunch....

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The experience was a good one. I will return to this restaurant. The only criticism I have is that a 20% gratuity was included with the bill. This was a simple lunch for 3. There was not a complicated order or a large number of patrons to serve. Under such circumstances, it is presumptuous to "assume" a tip, even if deserved (which it was, in this case).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The salmon at Steelhead Diner is always excellent. They also offer excellent wines by the glass.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fabulous server who was engaged and attentive the entire night. Delicious food. Not the cheapest place in town, but worth every penny.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We have been to Steelhead Diner many times for lunch. The food as usual was very good and we had a table with view of Puget Sound. However, I am writing a review today because we had such fantastic service. Our server was so solicitous and friendly -- in a very genuine way. We were all extremely impressed. And so, we will be returning to Steelhead Diner again in the near future.....

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2017

A great dinner, service was quite good and the quality of the food was top drawer. We are sure to return here.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Not sure why they named it a diner, but this is quality restaurant food at the market in Seattle. The menu features creative and straight ahead fare. King salmon, cioppino, crispy fish and chips were terrific. There is also pork, chicken and beef on the menu. Specialty cocktails and local brew on tap. Won't hesitate to go back next time we visit the city

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Chef Anthony and Chef Mark always crush it! Can always depend on a great meal and service at the Steelhead!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Living a block from the market, I have unending choices of places to eat - Steelhead consistently serves interesting, inventive, tasty dishes - with very heavy emphasis on local and seasonal ingredients it is idea for lunch or dinner in the middle of the market. Chef Anthony is a star - cannot recommend Steelhead too highly.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very nice restaurant for a dinner date! Clam Chowder was sensational.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

When we arrived for our reservation there were three employees standing behind the podium at the entrance talking to each other and who ignored us for a minute before acknowledging our presence. When we left one of the same employees was behind the podium intently looking at the screen who said nothing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Everything was fine except the service was slow and once our food was delivered, the waiter never came back to check on us. Other waiters refilled our drinks and asked if we needed anything.

I told our waiter that my meal was ruined by a mistake in the kitchen. I ordered the whole trout and it was covered in what was supposed to be cilantro (which I love). The actual green all over my plate was italian parsley (which I hate and would have never ordered.)

The waiter did NOTHING about the error. No compensation. Full charge for an inedible $30 meal. I don't even know if he told the kitchen about it.

What a disappointment.

The clam chowder was outstanding. Glad I had it as an appetizer or I would have left hungry.

I left a comment card about our experience and I suspect it was thrown in the trash.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Made a reservation for new year's eve for party of 8 - the food was fantastic and the service was great for such a busy night. Would definitely recommend. Fun being on post alley and able to walk through market after. We are locals but great spot for out of towners.

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and services! Best cod I have ever had, and the pork belly was also worth mentioned.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have been here many times when in town. Steelhead/Blue Acre/ORFEO are the best in Seattle - probably because they are operated by the same folks. Bravo!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fun, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food, excellent service and good team work among staff to work in conjunction to deliver impeccable service. Our server had in depth knowledge of the food and bar menu and advised us well. We chose this for New Year's Eve (my birthday) because it had good vegetarian options. We like the 20% auto gratuity because it gives a more reliable pay to servers, insuring the best service on a consistent basis, then we do the math and add additional tip to match our service.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We travel to Seattle frequently and have been to Steelhead diner several times. Our most recent visit, however, will likely be our last. The food was not impressive at this price point. (We live in San Francisco and that was definitely not cioppino, more like a vegetable soup with a few mussels, a few pieces of salmon, and two shrimp.) But it was the service that was most disappointing. The restaurant was very cold, with the doors left wide open on an evening when Seattle temps were in the 30s. When we asked the waiter whether the doors could be closed, he said that they are open "because we would be locked inside if it closed." Huh? We were told that they were out of items, only to have them show up at our table. The cioppino was served hot, but it took several minutes before waitstaff appeared with spoons, leaving us searching for our server. It was expensive and disappointing, even more so because our previous visits had been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding food but freezing cold in the restaurant. Sadly the temperature overshadows the delicious food. Been there twice in a week and we were cold during both visits

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 27, 2016

A quickie shared meal with a few apps and the pecan pie! ALL were FANTASTIC!

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

AMAZING service and food as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a great time at steelhead diner. My only complaint was the menu did not reflect my dish and I was informed after I was served that the kitchen was out of butternut squash. They should be prepared or tell your guests ahead of time so they know what to expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fun, lively atmosphere, attentive and hard working staff plus an intriguing menu in the plus column. Crab and shrimp tater tots with not enough shellfish and super spicy cioppino in the minus column. Fantastic desserts even the playing field. Intrigued enough to try again and hope for a more consistent experience.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Good spot for great food right at Pikes Market. Food good to very good. Service the same. Took a while for food but was OK with that.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Everything we ordered was amazing. Our waiter was informative and personable. We will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fantastic! All around great experience! Definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great seasonal comfort food with twists of Northwest "local" and southern cooking. Friendly staff who make you fell like a local.

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We always have a good meal at Steelhead Diner and this was no exception -- we love the razor clam chowder, the wine list is nice, and the salmon cake was delicious! This is one of our go-to places in Seattle for both lunch and dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Unfortunately, our experience was not very good. The service was very bad considering a 20% gratuity is automatically include on all bills. I would normally tip 20%, but we were never asked about drink refills, we never got an appetizer we order, the burger was a soggy, greasy mess and even when left on the plate, the wait staff didn't find it curious. They did not inquiry about the quality of the meal. I will say the manager attempted to make things right after we raised all the issues about the service and the food. Although one of the meals was fine, the experience was overall pretty bad. The manager correct the bill and gave us a large reduction, but made the excuse that the owners forced the 20% automatic tip on the bills. If that is the case, the owners need to know that the service needs to be exceptional or repeat customers will be few and far between. I certainly will not be back and will not recommend it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always a delicious & delightful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food, great service, overall fantastic dinner experience. Server Ty was awesome.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food took almost an hour to come out, and when it did some of our parties meals were only partial because they'd had an issue in the kitchen. On top of that two vegetarians in our party got the cobb salad and substituted a vegetable for bacon. They added shredded broccoli which was a very poor complement to the salad. Even I it had had bacon, it was not the best salad probably the worst I've ever had at a restaurant. Ill-considered, wilted lettuce, and weird plating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My department at work goes here every year for our holiday lunch. It's the one place that everyone agrees on and that everyone is excited to go to, and we have some really picky eaters in our group. Would recommend this place for large groups or even just the two of you. Creative takes on comfort food, and good service are always the norm.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food is so so good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Planned this lunch for my coworkers at the last minute and everyone was thrilled with my decision to go to Steelhead Diner. All 8 of us loved our meal selections and it was the perfect atmosphere to socialize and take in the scenic Puget sound views on a sunny afternoon. Highly recommend the rock fish tacos!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Steelhead Diner is one of my "go to" choices in Seattle. The food never disappoints and the staff is very attentive. Love this place for a casual lunch or dinner when you just want good food without all the fussiness.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Seasonal, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This restaurant is overpriced and overvalued. There are plenty of quality dining establishments that have a better value, and I would recommend finding one of those.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We love lunching here when we shop at Pikes Place Market. Upscale casual with an attentive staff. Great gumbo, red beans and rice, and other favourite dishes according to menu and seasonal changes. Very accommodating and a great addition to the market neignbourhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.