Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Steelhead Diner

Owner operated by Chef Kevin Davis and wife Teresa, The Steelhead Diner is a smart casual restaurant located in the heart of Seattle's Pike Place Market. Come visit our modern take on the classic American diner - and enjoy contemporary comfort food created with a Northwest twist. Soak up stunning views while enjoying our exclusively North West wine and beer list. Also available: a full bar, and a large selection of non-alcoholic choices. Watch nightly as Davis and his crew create menu items in the restaurant's interactive open kitchen surrounded by views of neighboring Puget Sound. Kids welcome. Family friendly.

95 Pine Street, Suite 17
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Seven Days a Week: 11a.m. until 10p.m. Brunch Items Available on Saturdays and Sundays.

Cross Street:
First

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 625-0129

Website:
http://www.steelheaddiner.com/

Catering:
Please call and speak to any manager to discuss you individual needs!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available in addition to several parking lots nearby. We validate parking after 5pm at the Pike Place Market Parking Garage on Western Avenue below the Market.

Public Transit:
All downtown bus routes end near or around our address: 95 Pine Street.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Davis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have a private dining room with a separate entrance that seats between 30-40 people and offers views of the Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. It also features an adjoining outdoor patio which will seat 20+ people.

Steelhead Diner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (33)
Local Ingredients (31)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Scenic View (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Waterfront (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
People Watching (18)
Business Meals (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Fun (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Seasonal (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Romantic (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (0)
Sort By:
S
2176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual, Steelhead hit it out of the park! My gumbo was fabulous ... delicious without being too spicy. The fish & chips were huge and not too greasy. And the food arrived quickly. What else could you ask for?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a good choice. Southern inspired with northwest influences very well prepared. Try the seafood tots! Large portions, beware. Sides are shareable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

We had the Copper River King Salmon which had just come into season. My mother in law and daughter split a burger which they just loved along with dungeness crag and bay strimp tater tots with a special side dressing. All in all exceptional food and we love this place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Very disappointed We had very simple requests such as sauce on the side, certain ingredients left out -- all were ignored. Fruit flies were in our salad. Drinks were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Exceptional meal in an exceptional location. Always a great meal at Steelhead Diner. The salmon was perfectly prepared. All meals were fresh, unique, and celebrated the best of NW cuisine. Never disappointed at Steelhead Diner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Casual, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was fantastic! We all had fish dishes and we were all very satisfied! The halibut melted in your mouth! The crab & shrimp tater tots, were amazing, of course! :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The location is great if you are at the Market and want to have a nice dinner. However the food could be much better for what it costs. I would NOT recommend the crab tater tots unless you are really looking for an onion tater tot. Asked for a steak medium rare and came back well done. Salmon was also overlooked.
The server was very nice, but food wasn't great.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at Steelhead. We had the salmon cake appetizer which was excellent. We also had the clam chowder, which was very good. They have a nice selection of food and everything we had was top notch. I had the fish and chips and though it was excellent. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The fish n chips was not good. Deep fried way too much.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our family ordered the Trout, Pork Loin, Chicken and English Pea Special, Beet Salad. Absolutely delightful. Can't wait to come back. Theo Chocolate Pecan Pie to finish was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great gumbo! Great lunch spot in the market.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food & service. One of our favorites when we visit Seattle, WA. Ms

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had a great lunch at the Steelhead Diner. The salmon with polenta and brandied cherries was delicious. My friend ordered the halibut and it was a lovely piece of fish. Both were moist and tasty. The service was terrific - helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is very relaxed. Located in the heart of the Pike Place Market so it is a great place to take visitors to Seattle to try the local cuisine. I highly recommend this restaurant and will be back again.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The salmon was outstanding - with roasted almonds and polenta that was truly amazing. I also had the gumbo which was terrific. So good we came back the next day for lunch - soft shell crab po'boy and a bowl of chowder. Great spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

One of my favorite Seattle restaurants and great if you have visitors to Seattle. Service was a little slow on my last visit but always friendly and accommodating. Great Fish Tacos, Gumbo and food in general.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Always enjoy this place good food, drinks and vibe.

I 'm very annoyed by their 20% service fee. If it's disclosed then it's not clear. IT SHOULD BE DOSCLOSED WHEN THE RESERVATION IS MADE!

I don't have a problem with a 20% tip for good service, meal and atmosphere. I think it is WRONG to dictate this level of fee. I will admit I do not frequent this restaurant as much as I would if this service fee was not dictated.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We had a reservation for 8 people, confirmed via open table a few weeks prior and verbally the morning of, arrived at the restaurant exactly on time, and they let us know that we had no table due to an earlier reservation showing an hour late- I'm not sure why they decided to still sit the late table, but by doing so they chose not to honor our reservation. They informed us that they had to split our table (between two tables nowhere near each other). Very disappointing. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We dined with our cousins from NY. The acoustics were bad. We had to shout to be heard. Three of us ordered the flash fried trout. Wish there was a picture of the dish beforehand. The trout was served whole - head and tail. The presentation was a little off-putting. It was tasty when we got past the shock. This is the fourth time we've eaten at Steelhead, but always for lunch. This was our first dinner experience.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I have been to Steelhead Diner happily on three other occasions. It's fun to go to Pike Place and have a meal there however, I feel the pricing for our Sunday brunch was over-the-top expensive and that the plate of food was smaller, and with minimalist plating than other brunch locations I enjoy.
The service was only fair, the food came too quickly to enjoy our brunch Bloody Mary, a far too spicy cocktail. Lastly, as we walked out of the restaurant, among various staff standing at the front and behind the bar not one person said thank you for coming and see you again soon. Unfortunately it appears to me Steelhead Diner is going after tourist money, and even though the food was tasty and uses local resources, as a local resident I'm disappointed in the restaurant and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had much higher expectations. Looking at the menu and pictures my wife and I were very excited.
The service at the Steelhead is ok but no better than a mid-range commercial chain like BJ's or Cheesecake Factory. It was difficult to get someone to fill a water glass or get directions to the restroom. The beer and wine list are OK but again not as good as you would expect with all the wonderful breweries and wineries in the area.
The food was very good though the half-chicken was very large for one person and rather unremarkable in flavor. The crab and shrimp tots are a don't miss item.
The star attraction was the view. It sits just of the water from the public market. Its an easy walk up the hill to a seat where you can look out over the sound and enjoy the view.
Lots of potential here.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I travel to Seattle from the Bay Area from time to time. My first time at Steelhead Diner I was just walking down the street, walked in for a drink at the bar and fell in love with the view of the sunset over the water. The next time I sought it out for a good beer and decided to try the burger - good choice, good beef. This time I booked time and my wife and I got there a bit early to sit at the bar, enjoy some wine and check out the view. I also asked if, while we waited, could the maitre d' keep an eye on the corner table for us so when it cleared we would have the best seat in the house - he obliged.

The fish is great, they have some great local brews and it's just a pleasant, low key dining experience.

Kudos to the staff. They have always been especially attentive and kind.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Absolutely delicious!! Loved the smoked salmon cake, oven roasted asparagus with cashews, clam chowder, and greens salad with gala apple and vanilla vinaigrette. Large portions. Wish we would have had room for more food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Very good food, worth the money. Good wine selection. Service improvable, nur okay. Only downside high noise level, but a breathtaking view!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Scenic View, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A little expensive but great for dinner and conversation. We had trout and halibut, both were tasty and well presented. The salty creme brulee was very interesting, must be tried!

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Server was energetic, engaging and fast. Food was good. I thought the oysters were just ok, but the entrees were both delicious - fr8ed chicken and fish & chips for my gf. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Hi there,

Our experience last Thursday was good overall...just a couple of minor points since you asked for a review:

Once we asked for Restaurant Week menus, our service level dropped. We had to flag someone down to order a bottle of wine.

The wait between courses was notable. I also got a different soup than what I ordered.

When dessert came, my boyfriend was also given a different dessert than he ordered and with no explanation. He was served an alternative he wouldn't have ordered instead of being asked what he would prefer.

The food was delicious and hot! A great value, too. I feel like the server we had was kind of down on restaurant week because of the reduced bill overall. Being in the industry ourselves, we do take that into account. We tipped extra and ordered a bottle of wine ( we normally might just have had a glass). If your staff is going to give the cold should to restaurant week diners, I would reconsider your participation. It sucks to feel like a heel for taking advantage of a special price.

Thanks!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We dined early this time with evening performance tickets and found the service to be very friendly, efficient, and mindful of our time. The Early Special was creative New Orleans style and a large portion given the special pricing. My table mate chose a selection of small plates and enjoyed the variety of tastes and fresh ingredients.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The service was terrible. I never leave bad reviews but it was my birthday and the server heard we wanted to do the 3 course and she immediately just walked away from the table acting disgusted and got different menus- it's restaurant week. If you don't want to sell it, don't offer it. She'd walk away when one of us was trying to order a drink. She almost looked mad the entire time and it couldn't have been a sweeter, kinder group of people. I went up to the GM and told her... she didn't seem like she cared much either? They sent some appetizers to the table and didn't even tell us what they were lol Think it was a peace offering? It just sucked. I'm a huge foodie and I can't even recall the last time I had service this bad. I was super disappointed. Had it not been for the people sitting with me at the table, it would have ruined my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The food was excellent and well prepared. We will definitely return. I should also note that it is located right next to the Pike Place Market which is one of Seattle's great attraction. One could walk through the Market then walk half a block to the restaurant. I should also say that there are great views of Puget Sound from the restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

First time here. Had the Rich boy sandwich and a cup of chowder. It was pretty good and VERY filling

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Delilah fresh food, sourced locally, great location and we had a big party and they were one of the few restaurants up for the task. And great with kids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I was overcharged on my bill & had to call once I realized the math was incorrect.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Terrific food, great server. Awesome seafood. Don't miss it.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We love the Steelhead Diner. The food portions are generous and everything you get there is delicious. It is in a fun setting in the bustle of the Pike Place Market. Highly recommended!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Been to Steelhead many times and this time was disappointed. They were OUT of the wine I ordered and offered another at same price but didn't reflect this in the final bill. Substitutions were made to entries without notice...such as mahi mahi (they were out of tuna and this was a substitution) now with polenta instead of garlic mashed potatoes. Was very loud and hectic and wait staff was not attentive. I could see waiters lining up at the kitchen for entries to come out of the kitchen. It all seemed very disorganized and was reflected in the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Delicious food, ample portions, pleasantly presented. Loved the choices for restaurant week. Thank you for not mixing strawberries with rhubarb! The desserts were superb, as were the other courses. Hope to have that shrimp appetizer again. Steak and tuna both delightful main courses.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We live in Seattle and love a place that can span the range of our family's dietary preferences. We also think the Market is not just for tourists. From the vegetarian with nut allergies to the pasta fan who is giving up pork to the raging carnivore parents, Steelhead Diner pleases us all. I've been there twice in the past month; once for lunch with out of town guests and then with the family. The salads are especially generous and amazing but we've only had wonderful meals there.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We went there for lunch during Seattle's Restaurant Week. It was our first time at the Steelhead Diner, and we'll definitely go back. The food was delicious!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We had the Seattle restaurant Week lunch special for $18. This was a good deal,

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Overpriced, food was decent but not great, 20% gratuity automatically added even for a table of 1...if it is added automatically then DO NOT CALL IT GRATUITY. its simply higher priced.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.