Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About St. John's Restaurant

Chattanooga's most acclaimed restaurant, St. John's Restaurant serves inventive Regional American cuisine from Chef Rebecca Barron in a elegant, historic setting. St. John's superb staff will provide you with a warm and remarkable dining experience and delight you with an extensive and eclectic selection of wines.

1278 Market St.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Please note reservations for parties of 11 or more cannot be made online.

Cross Street:
13th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 266-4400

Website:
http://www.stjohnsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available behind the St. John's building and on the King Street side of the building. Limited street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Chattanooga's complimentary electric shuttle has a stop at the St. John's building.

Executive Chef:
Rebecca Barron

Private Party Facilities:
St. John's Restaurant offers two private dining room options. The Thomas Johnson Room accommodates up to 16 guests and the R.H. Hunt Room accommodates up to 50 guests. Food and beverage minimums apply.

Private Party Contact:
Josh Carter: (423) 266-4400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

St. John's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (65)
Special Occasion (62)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
See All
Romantic (48)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Worth the Drive (37)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Local Ingredients (25)
Authentic (22)
Cozy (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Seasonal (19)
Business Meals (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Historic (13)
Healthy (12)
Good for Groups (11)
People Watching (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Fun (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Private Room (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Organic (7)
Scenic View (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food and incredible service. We have eaten at a lot of places that are great in Atlanta. This place rates as high as any great place in a bigger city. Perhaps better

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Impeccable in every way! I made the reservation before we left NY and it was for 9:45pm. Friday night. I was able to change it for earlier time and my husband and I had leisurely 2.5 h dinner. The experience was wonderful! The food was creative, with local ingredients, service was attentive, polite whiteout hoovoreing. Everything was wonderful! Must try the lobster ,carrot soup, Spanish octopus, pork belly, rainbow trout, soft shell crab, actually must try as many dishes as you can ! We did just that and without even suggesting it, our server brought some of them split in two plates.
Once again it's worth every penny!
Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Chicken and steak were cooked perfect, very delicious. Had to wait a good 30 minutes for the food after we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our table was ready and we were greeted by a lovely young lady that made us feel welcome. The staff was very friendly and very knowledgable about the menu and very attentive despite being very busy with other tables, one being a very large table. The food was delicious as always.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Authentic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We drove down from Nashville and St John's is as good as the best in our town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food and service. Nice atmosphere in downtown Chattanooga.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I attended St Johns for a special occasion. My girlfriend and I were celebrating our 1 year anniversary. When we arrived we were met with smiling faces and friendly service. We were approximately 15 mins early to our reservation, but were promptly seated. Our waiter, Shannon, was friendly, knowledgeable, and provided excellent service. The food was excellent. I can go on, but I would rather say go, eat, and experience it for yourself. You won't regret it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Loved St. John's! Classy vibe, innovative menu and attentive service. Dishes were fresh, well-balanced, and uber tasty! Now on my go to list for Scenic City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Dubai)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place and great food. Lovely service too. Just one downside: if you are seated in the dark side (left side of the entrance), the lack of light and the mix of the guests' voices can get at you(r appetite).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall St John's is the best restaurant in Chattanooga. Ambience, food, service, cocktails, quiet enough to talk to the person or persons at the table.
I would suggest adding some "plumpness" to the banquet cushions; very soft, no support.
I would also suggest that the manager (owner ?) make an appearance at everyone's table; he stopped only at 2 tables where he obviously knew the diners.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

excellent in all respects except service a bit slow but who's in a hurry

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Exceeded my expectations. One of the best Veal chops I ever had. High end ingredients with masterful presentation. Excellent service, great atmosphere... Don't miss this one.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was a graduation night celebration and we enjoyed it very much. Our server was extremely prepared and accommodating. And the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

St John's has been our go-to for anniversaries and special nights out. It's a bit on the pricey side when compared to chain restaurants ($25-35/plate) but the food is always fresh, with unique ingredients and flavor combinations. We also like that it is locally-owned. Delicious French dining that is relaxed, never rushed, and we are never disappointed! The atmosphere and service are excellent. True fine dining!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Excellent! Will recommend to friends, can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything was outstanding. The food was excellent, the décor as well. The service was extremely outstanding, particularly our waiter, Brian. This was our 40th wedding anniversary, and my wife was extremely happy with all aspects. We are from just South of Nashville, but will definitely be back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This wasn't my first time at St. John's but by far best. Other visits were good but this one was great. Food was exceptional and service was spot-on. We went for a friend's birthday and it was such fun. Waiter had the most beautiful blue eyes.

Tags: Historic, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The meal was great, but the only thing I would recommend is a larger variety for the cocktails.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My friends and I went to St. John's restaurant for prom. Although the prices are on the more expensive side, the food is excellent and well worth the money. The view is also spectacular which makes a great background for photos.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Best fine dining experience in Chattanooga! Phenomenal food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great dinner. Service was great, food was outstanding--I had the venison. They worked around my gluten allergy and there were no problems. Would go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food is amazing. Atmosphere is great! The cocktail menu is very unique and the dinner menu is excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We occasionally visit Chattanooga from out of town and we always make it a point to visit St. John's restaurant! The food quality is consistently excellent and the service is always warm, attentive and accommodating. In my personal opinion, St. John's is as good or better than any restaurant you'll find in any major city. Excellent quality food without the pretension and astronomical price tag. Go, you will won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

St. John's is a truly great restaurant. If you can afford to drop $100 - $150 on a meal for two, then this is the only place you should consider. Everything I've ever eaten here is simply amazing. A little price restrictive for a regular dinner but my number one choice for special occasions!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

St. John's is always a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Wife and I enjoyed a fantastic meal here for our anniversary. Service was fantastic. Menu was amazing. Cocktails were great. We felt we enjoyed tremendous value for the total price of the evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Exceptional service and food. Wonderful experience!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We have eaten at some of the finest restaurants all over the world and this is right up there with them all. These is easily one of the top restaurants on the east coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Oh so glad we stopped. Everything was delicious! I was jealous of my wife's wagyu and brisket, but my lamb filet was perfectly balanced with herbs and polenta.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The best in Chattanooga

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had an amazing anniversary celebration! They sat us away from everyone in a quiet spot, which was so nice. The food was amazing.. I had the halibut which was delicious and the husband had the steak & brisket which he devoured. They surprised us with an extra appetizer.. the brisket pierogi which was sooo good!! The cocktails were amazing, and we couldn't have had better service. Also loved the atmosphere. Will definitely be back next time we visit Chattanooga:).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We have eaten there several time so we knew what to expect. Our table was ready on time. Our location was out of the main path which made it great for us since we had two children in the party. They were treated great. Our server was attentive but not over bearing. Food was great. It had been quite a while since the last time. We plan to return soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

St. John's is always a fabulous experience. I cannot recommend it enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We visited St Johns to celebrate a graduation, and we couldn't have picked a better place. The food was impeccable, flavors amazing. Great food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We went to celebrate my retirement, and St. John's did not disappoint. We were seated promptly with our reservation. Our server, Brian, came to the table to greet us and asked for drink orders. There were no specials the night we were there, but Brian gave full explanations of each item we were interested in. We both ordered the Dungeness Crab Salad which was fabulous. I ordered the Waygu beef medallions with a brisket. It was topped with fried onion straws(angel hair size)and finished with a white asparagus sauce that made the whole dish. While we waited on our entree, the chef sent up two complementary orders of mussels that were prepared and served in a wonderful sauce. Apparently, Brian had told the chef about our celebration. Bread made in house was delicious with each course. No dessert for us, but I know how good their chocolate volcano cake is from previous visits. Great night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

In our top three restaurants in the whole world! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a fantastic meal in the gorgeous space. After wonderful cocktails, we ordered salads, the halibut and rabbit -- everything was delicious. We were on the second floor with nice views, but we were stuck at a corner table by stairs, which wasn't ideal. We'll request a table by the railing next time.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Best dinning experience in Chattanooga. Everything was perfect from begging to end. All the dishes were beautifully presented and tasted as amazing as they looked. From the chef's courtesy appetizer, to the to die for huckleberry pie this place got every flavor combination right. The server was kind, knowledgeable and on top of everything through our time there. Our drinks were craftfully prepared. Must visit when in Chattanooga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our server was very knowledgeable, friendly, and took great care of us. He had a great sense of humor yet remained very professional.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.