Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About St. John's Restaurant

Chattanooga's most acclaimed restaurant, St. John's Restaurant serves inventive Regional American cuisine from Chef Rebecca Barron in a elegant, historic setting. St. John's superb staff will provide you with a warm and remarkable dining experience and delight you with an extensive and eclectic selection of wines.

1278 Market St.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Please note reservations for parties of 11 or more cannot be made online.

Cross Street:
13th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 266-4400

Website:
http://www.stjohnsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available behind the St. John's building and on the King Street side of the building. Limited street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Chattanooga's complimentary electric shuttle has a stop at the St. John's building.

Executive Chef:
Rebecca Barron

Private Party Facilities:
St. John's Restaurant offers two private dining room options. The Thomas Johnson Room accommodates up to 16 guests and the R.H. Hunt Room accommodates up to 50 guests. Food and beverage minimums apply.

Private Party Contact:
Josh Carter: (423) 266-4400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

St. John's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (72)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Good for a Date (68)
See All
Creative Cuisine (57)
Romantic (57)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Local Ingredients (44)
Notable Wine List (42)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Business Meals (38)
Worth the Drive (37)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Cozy (21)
Authentic (20)
Healthy (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Seasonal (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Hot Spot (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Organic (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Fun (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Late-night Find (7)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

This restaurant was amazing. Everything from cocktails to starters to the main course through dessert was perfect. The service was optimal, and the combination of flavors truly unique and delicious. I will recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The food was unique and impeccable. The service was excellent and the wait staff professional. The only negative is the price, however, the old adage "you pay for what you get" is appropriate in this situation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our reception was fantastic even though we were 15 minutes early for our reservation.
Our Server, Brian, did a great job explaining some of the finer points of the menu and the process.
We enjoyed our meals and found both selections to be flavorful with generous portions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best meals I have had. The menu was creative, we had Nickajack cheese with Sorghum covered pecans - oh my, it was delicious. I had the antelope, which was like a tender steak and my husband had the Wagyu beef steak and it was perfect! The price was expensive but the meal did not disappoint. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food took for ever, I ordered the fillet medium well, got two pieces, one was right and the second was well done. Servant was not too friendly. I was pretty disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great Service with an exceptional and unique menu. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The only negative feedback was that our table wasn't ready at our reservation time. We had a show to attend so we were rushed through dinner to be able to leave on time. Ended up being about 25 minutes past our reservation time but the food was amazing and our server was very nice as well. It was our first time here and it was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The restaurant itself was nice and the atmosphere what great. Went with my wife and 12 year old daughter. Only complaint was with the selection of food. I have mild heart disease so pretty much stick with fish. No salmon or tuna options. Had to go with the Grouper which was good, just not what I would have liked to have considering my condition. None of us really liked the deserts. For how much the dinner was, and all of the high ratings, just expected more.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Outstanding meal and service! Thanks Bryan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Dinner was great and, Brian, our server, made dinner even better! He was fabulous and knowledgeable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Awesome place and awesome food! The bison was so tender and the venison had an awesome taste! Great service as well! When we go back to Chattanooga we will definitely eat here again !

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Visiting from Memphis and would drive to Chattanooga just to dine here again! Beautiful ambiance, outstanding server - friendly, accommodating, very knowledgeable about the menu. The food is creative and delicious, from the starters to the deserts; great bread assortment baked in house. Loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Everyone was great, from the hostess when we walked in to the server, those who brought out the main courses, to the owner who greeted us as we were about to leave. Many thanks!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Both the service and food were absolutely superb! Great meal and the best service I can remember. This was perfect choice for out of the ordinary cuisine. Excellent on all fronts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 2, 2017

One of the best restaurants I have ever dined in.
Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I made reservations here for my wife's birthday. Both of our meals were fantastic (chicken and venison). It is a little on the pricey side but we'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking to have a nice night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

This is my second time at this restaurant. I occasionally visit Chattanooga, eating at St. John's is a must

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Fantastic dinner. Staff tailored menu to our Anniversary. Staff was excellent. No, I repeat, no complaints

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

We dined at Saint John's for our Wedding Anniversary and found every detail to be exceptional. There were special touches from the chef; our waitress, Jenny, made us feel like we were her only priority; the atmosphere was subtly elegant and we enjoyed every moment!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Enjoyed a great dinner for our anniversary. Our waiter, Brian, was knowledgeable and most gracious! Our menu and other waitpersons celebrated our anniversary too.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Absolutely Fabulous. They treated us like royalty and the food was out of this world.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants anywhere. Elegant and delicious. Worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

A Great restaurant with excellent service and food that was wonderful. We would recommend this restaurant to all our friends. Having dined all over the Caribbean and Europe I would rate this restaurant in the top two.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Love this restaurant! Excellent service, food and at a reasonable price....shh keep it quiet!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

I had not eaten at St. John's Restaurant in several years and know how good and unique this restaurant is for dinner dining from a local perspective, as recall their famous irresistible homemade breads, especially the daily potato bread (usually two-three types of bread served prior to meals); foods sourced from local/regional farms, appetizers include wonderful homemade soup (soup usually a staple for me), salads, unique entrees and special homemade desserts, as well as an extensive wine list. I took home four bread slices, with remaining butter from meal (two potato, two rosemary bread slices) to eat the next day as part of breakfast and the remainder to eat with lunch at work. All tasted great!

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Service was fantastic here and the menu was creative, lively, and varied and nuanced to our tastes. Thanks to our server for a great wine recommendation (over 400 to choose from) and for the chef and her staff for putting out course after course of adventurous comfort food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Exceeded expectations. Service, food and ambiance was fine dining, and a special place in Chattanooga.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were only in Chattanooga one night arriving at 9 and had been in the road all day. Loved everything about this restaurant and was looking for a great meal; from their in house bakery, specialty butters and food all delish. My only complaint was our martinis were not cold enough

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful meal and our service was great. The portions were ample and again the food was delicious. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and will definitely be back when we're in the area. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food and staff were great but the table next to us with 6 young women needed a lesson in restraunant manners. These women talked and kakkled so loud that half the time we couldn't hear each other at our own table speaking in a normal tone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent restaurant. All aspects of the meal were great. I highly recommend for a business dinner or date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Exceeded expectations. Everything was wonderful. Arrived early for reservation, grabbed a drink next door at Meeting Place. Service was wonderful for dinner. Joy is fabulous. We had the pumpkin/lobster soup, halibut and filet. All cooked to perfection. There is a good wine list as well. Dessert was also delicious - devils food cake and sorbet. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

You can always count on St. John's for outstanding food by Chef Rebecca Barron and impeccable service trained by owner, Josh Carter. Also just learned that they will have Valet service in the next couple weeks. Great step up.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Amazing restaurant with awesome service. We were given a private room for mom's 75th birthday and it could not have been more perfect! Food and service were impeccable!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary whilst visiting Chattanooga for the Ironman 70.3 World Championships in September 2017, and visited this restaurant on 11th September 2017. Our server was Jennie.

The venue were expecting us as I had reserved a 'romantic' table months in advance, and had put 'Happy Anniversary' at the top of our menu's which was a small but amazing touch. It started off a wonderful evening.

The ambiance was quiet but relaxed, whilst the external views aren't great, the place itself has many facets to be looked at, and we both enjoyed people watching.

All staff were attentive, the food was served at adequate intervals, freshly prepared for us, and pipping hot, our water glasses were constantly refreshed, and we were always asked if we required more drinks.

If you are planning on having all 3 courses as we did, I would suggest that you don't eat the bread at the start, otherwise you can't fit in desert. I would highly recommend the carrot cake soufflé with crème anglais.

I think our server, Jennie, was a little surprised at the size of our tip, which was almost 40% of the total bill, but she was amazing, and knew the menu well, able to advise on choices, and what she felt would suit us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent food, very pleasant and helpful staff, an ambiance of Old South charm

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Absolutely amazing .. the service was great the staff gave lots of insights and help with the menu .. food was amazing the lamb was the best I have ever tried and the brisket as well

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Dining experience was relaxing and delicious! Service was especially great.

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great food, service and excellent dining experience. Don't miss out

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

I’ve lived in Chattanooga my entire life, but this was my first visit to St. John’s. I’ve met many tourists raving about it, saying that this restaurant was greater than some of the finest big city establishments they had been to. I had to see it for myself, and it’s true. The service is excellent, the food is amazing, the wine is second to none. If you’re in the mood for quality, this is as good as is gets.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.