About St. John's Restaurant

1278 Market St.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Chattanooga's most acclaimed restaurant, St. John's Restaurant serves inventive Regional American cuisine from Chef Rebecca Barron in a elegant, historic setting. St. John's superb staff will provide you with a warm and remarkable dining experience and delight you with an extensive and eclectic selection of wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Please note reservations for parties of 11 or more cannot be made online.

Cross Street:
13th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 266-4400

Website:
http://www.stjohnsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available behind the St. John's building and on the King Street side of the building. Limited street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Chattanooga's complimentary electric shuttle has a stop at the St. John's building.

Executive Chef:
Rebecca Barron

Private Party Facilities:
St. John's Restaurant offers two private dining room options. The Thomas Johnson Room accommodates up to 16 guests and the R.H. Hunt Room accommodates up to 50 guests. Food and beverage minimums apply.

Private Party Contact:
Josh Carter: (423) 266-4400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

St. John's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (55)
Good for a Date (51)
Special Occasion (51)
See All
Romantic (41)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Notable Wine List (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Local Ingredients (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Cozy (18)
Business Meals (18)
Authentic (17)
Historic (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Seasonal (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Private Room (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fun (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Best in Chattanooga! From appetizers to desserts the food is always consistently delicious and not something you can experience anywhere else.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service. Terrific food menu and wine choices.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Was disappointed in the service, not up to the standards I expect here. Frequently had empty glasses sitting on the table, waiter was inattentive and seemed to disappear near the end of the meal, leaving us without drinks, including empty water glasses. We had to pour our own wine. I was also handed a glass and my bottle of beer to pour myself. Not sure if this is the new standard, but it was not a welcome change.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I loved the formal atmosphere. The one thing we were looking forward to was the main duck course which was not present on Valentine's Day, but we could have also looked at the menu before we went. Regardless, we had Veal and the steak and both were cooked perfectly. St Johns is a tradition for our household and will stay that way.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was a great dinning experience; the service, the piquant dishes, the elegance, made the experience remarkable.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First time visit, everything from the service to the meal was outstanding. Will be going back very soon

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very cold upstairs. Sole dry. risotto not creamy or completely cooked. Desert strange. 1st 2 courses outstanding !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have had excellent service and top-notch food in the past at St. John's. Our recent dinner on 2/13/17 was to celebrate a birthday. We were fortunate that they were offering a special Valentine's tasting in addition to the many regular menu items. I chose the sole served over lobster risotto, one of two special entree offerings. The fish was excellent, but the risotto was gummy and bland. Pretty sure it would have meant a trip home on Top Chef! Service was so-so. The server tried to give sophisticated descriptions of menu items, but lacked the confidence (or knowledge) of an experienced fine dining worker.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were very impressed. I had the pork shoulder and we both got desserts. Fabulous time at St. John's restaurant in lieu of Valentine's night dinner. We both had it the Sunday before: 2/12/2017. We both had a fabulous time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Bartenders not super friendly and front of house staff seemed distant and uninviting. Food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

They took away the best duck in town and replaced it with not so good duck. I understand experimentation, but not at the expense of the best foods.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, People Watching, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Early valentines dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our first visit, for Valentines , we were so pleased with the entire experience . We will definitely

Return and bring friends. An exquisite dining experience from beginning to end!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our server Martin had an exceptional talent for service. Together with the signature cocktails, choice wines & creative cuisine, his knowledge of the menu, superb recommendations & professional demeanor made for the perfect dining experience! And, believe me, I don't use that description lightly. We had a wonderful dining experience. I wish every new dining adventure was this pleasing. Bravo!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A great date-night restaurant. My husband and I loved every minute of our time here and the food was incredible. Our server was extremely attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great service, excellent food, bit overpriced for Chattanooga.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious, the service was stellar, could not have been better; but went home and became extremely ill that evening. I believe it was the lobster in my soup, since that was the only dish we didn't really share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food here is absolutely delicious. You have to have the trout!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Outstanding food, service as close to perfect as I've experienced in some time. Setting was excellent as well

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere were excellent.

Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. Food was fantastic and the presentations were superb. Service from Justin was outstanding. This restaurant ranks as one of the best we've experienced in a very long time. A real find!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

This was our first time to St. John's. Everything about the restaurant was exceptional. The service was impeccable. The food far exceeded expectation. The next time we want to go out for a special dinner we'll definitely go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always, St. John's is the best restaurant in Chattanooga! It's our go-to place for any special occasion and to take our special guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always, the food at St. John's was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed all of our first courses and entrees, as well as our shared dessert. The menu changes frequently, but the quality of the food never falters. The cooking style ranges from classic dishes that are perfectly executed to unexpected and exciting flavor combinations for the more adventurous, so it is a good place to go if your party likes both traditional and more contemporary dishes. Our server answered all our questions in detail and provided great recommendations. The dining area was full and lively, but not crowded or loud. The decor is warm, relaxing, and modern. We have been here a number of times and always find it to be an great spot for a date or special occasion, but would also happily dine there absent a special event. Additionally, they boast a great selection of cocktails, wines, beers, and after dinner drinks (ports, coffees with liquer, etc.).

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our evening couldn't have been better! Thank you St. John's for the personalized menu, impeccable food and presentation; and thank you to the staff, especially Joy, for the wonderful service!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We are always excited about date night to St. John's Restaurant. The staff are always super friendly and helpful and the food is always amazing. Their seasonal menu keeps us going back all year!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent experience and food. This place never disappoints. The food selection is amazing and always prepared perfectly. The service is attentive and very friendly. Highly recommend for a special night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food, top notch service Went with two other couples, we could hear ourselves talk.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

2nd time dinning at St Johns. Service is phenomenal. Food as good as it gets. For my money they are better than a Ruths Chris and not only are you supporting local business, but they also buy local meats, fruit and vegetables. Some of the meals are off the beaten track such as the antelope that was out of this world.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always and enjoyable experience, arrive a little early for a drink at the bar, great bartender.

Nice wine list with wines and prices for most tastes and price range.

Nice place for foodies.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food and service was excellent as always. They made our anniversary very special and made us feel at home.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Delicious food. Inspired menu. Congenial service. Our third visit; we are from our-of-state.

We'll be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Outstanding. Beautifully presented and delicious. A relaxing experience. Well done St. John's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Probably the best restaurant in Chattanooga. It's really fantastic and I always go there when in town. Waitress forgot to bring us our to-go boxes and we forgot them as well so I take 50% of the responsibility.... that was disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent service with a soothing romantic atmosphere. The food will spoil you. Compliments to the Chefs. Quality dining at its best, will leave you more than just satisfied.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

St. John's is the finest restaurant in Chattanooga, hands down. The food is extraordinary, the service well above average, the location and ambience good. I've eaten at St. John's a number of times and I have never been disappointed. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We went to celebrate my husband's birthday. The menus had happy birthday with the date written across the top of it. I had ordered my steak medium but it came more of a well done with very little pink inside of it so it was a little dry but other than that we did enjoy the food. My husband is more adventurous than I am when eating so he was more pleased with the menu options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I took a gal pal to dinner for her birthday and we had a wonderful time. I highly recommend this restaurant for the quality of the food and the wine list, the latter something that's lacking in many Chattanooga restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Modern dining atmosphere. Current and comfort food trends infused. The antelope is amazing. Order it medium. The carrot cake soufflé with creme anglaise is delightfully sinful! For the past 8 years whenever we are in Chattanooga, we make a point to go!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

wonderful as always! thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Really exceeded expectations. Great service and innovative menu. We had several appetizers, the salad and split the ostrich, which should be ordered medium rare. Exceptional choice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were seated immediately upon entering the restaurant; we had reservations. The table had a great second floor street view, but was crowded next to two larger tables. Wishin 7-8 minutes they offered us a different table in a quiet location. The first course was excellent (broccoli and sunchoke soup). I had the Hawaiian sea bass and my wife had the Wiygu filet and roasted brisket. Both dishes were excellent. The chocolate mousse cake was the finishing touch. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Tiny appetizer portions, over priced drinks and service was just ok. They sat us right by the front door and bar so not really the nice quite romantic dinner atmosphere I thought it would be. I was extremely disappointed after spending $120 dollars for two people. I really thought it would be been a lot better. I most likely won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

First off this is the one of the best vegan food experiences I've ever had. Chef Baron's food is a multi dimensional experience beaming with texture and flavor. Ask for the veggie lo mein and the vegan risotto.

I took my wife there and they did a great job. Michelle and Joy took good care of us. Just look at their Sparkling/champagne list and you'll understand how much of an experience the staff has in store for you.

I think the best part of this meal was desert because it was so playful and purposeful at the same time. Food should have a purpose (to nourish) as well as delight your senses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Overall a great 5 star meal and experience. I just wish I could afford to go every week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I really enjoyed everything about this restaurant !!! Great food and service!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great dinner celebrating 30 years of marriage! Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We were on our 36 year anniversary and like before St. John's was a wonder experience and the meal was wonderful. I would and have recommend St. John's to folks in my work and church.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I travel roughly 200 days of the year, as well as eat out in many restaurants in cities large and small. I've been in many restaurants that were relatively expensive and had marginal food and/or service. Likewise, I have been in many restaurants that were very modestly priced and had phenomenal food and service. I was very taken back that a city the size of Chattanooga has such a wonderful restaurant, with fabulous service and food that I would call a very rare find.

This is not a restaurant that I want to eat at every night as it is a bit more highbrow then I traditionally like, but if you are looking for a true dining experience that is equivalent to any fine dining you will find in San Francisco, Washington DC, New York City, etc, this is it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Food was great and service was exceptional. The chef, Rebecca came out and spoke with us and even gave us a tip on where to eat the next night and she was spot on! The roasted filet was probably the best steak I have ever eaten. Misty (our server) was knowledgeable and did a great job. It was our 35th anniversary and they made it very special and we could not have been happier with our choice.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.