Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About St. John's Meeting Place

Open since 2004, Meeting Place has become Chef Rebecca Barron's platform to explore international flavors and ingredients that continue to shape America's melting pot cuisine. An evolving variety of small plates and entrees encourage conversation and stimulate the senses. An open kitchen and warm glow create an energetic ambiance. St John's kitchens have received four nominations for Best Chef Southeast by the James Beard Foundation in 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2013.

1278 Market St.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00-7:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Please note reservations for parties of 11 or more cannot be made online.

Cross Street:
13th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 266-4400

Website:
http://stjohnsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
mp jazz thursday 6-9 p.m.
$5 french 75 and sazeracs

Parking Details:
Parking available behind the St. John's building and on the King Street side of the building. Limited street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Chattanooga's complimentary electric shuttle has a stop at the St. John's building.

Executive Chef:
Chef Rebecca Barron

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
mp "a very happy hour"
mon - fri 5-7 p.m.
$5 craft cocktails
$6 small plates
$8 burger
half price champagne (bottles)
$5 feature red & white wine by the glass

industry night mondays 5-8 p.m.

mp jazz thursday 6-9 p.m.
$5 french 75 and sazeracs

St. John's Meeting Place Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
See All
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Casual (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Business Meals (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (9)
Fun (8)
Healthy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Live Music (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Authentic (5)
Vegan (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Organic (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
505 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was one of the best meals I have had in a long while. Our group of 4 each took a bite of their entrée and were transported to another level! The food was fabulous. The presentation was spectacular. The combinations of foods were very special. I had the bacon wrapped quail which was stuffed with a peach cornbread dressing served over creamy grits- just yummy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We probably hit STMP twice a month if not more often. Food is ALWAYS great! Menu is always changing so there is variety! Abby did a great job taking care of us as usual. Highly recommend the steak tartare! Still our favorite restaurant in Chattanooga.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Our first time here was amazing. Came to celebrate my husband's semi-retirement, and the food, atmoshpere, service, and jazz was outstanding. We are so grateful to have the group of Lindley brother restaurants in Chattanooga that know how to do it all right, especially for those of us who truly appreciate great food, service, and atmosphere. Thank you so much!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Delicious meal handcrafted for us by the chef to accommodate our diet. Wonderful waitstaff helped us celebrate our friends' 50th wedding anniversary. It was a terrific evening out. Thank you!

Tags: Organic, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Good music, great wine list, good food, very friendly service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, People Watching, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was FABULOUS. my husband said his burger was the best burger he ever had (how could it not be with thick cut bacon, pork belly, and delicious beef?) the roasted beet salad was amazing, as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Tasty, creative dishes with interesting ingredients. Same goes for the drinks. Not cheap, but not super expensive either. I like that they don't try to cram you up right next to adjacent tables. Great service as well. We would definitely return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food and excellent service. Celebrating my oldest daughter' birthday. It was just the right atmosphere and great food for a special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 18, 2017

As always, the food was wonderful. The service can be spotty. This particular night, the restaurant was exceptionally crowded which made it noisy. Still one of our favorites.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We visit SJMP several times a year and have never had a bad meal! Abby was our server and she did an awesome job! SJMP regularly changes their menu so it is never the same ole, same ole. Great food! Always willing to accommodate and SJMP continues to be our favorite restaurant in Chattanooga!!!!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was good but for the price, I would expect more. Service was not good. Had to flag down our server many times as she would never come and charcoal on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Awesome

Just go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Based on the 5 star rating here on open table I was expecting much more. The waiter was good but food disappointing. Ordered 4 starters and an entree, each one was reaching but didn't quite make the mark- one was way too sweet, the other had little flavor, the bread on the shrimp rolls was grilled but served cold like it just came out of the fridge, the "flatbread" was thick, doughy, tasteless and dry, etc. Like an attractive date that turns out to be a terrible kisser I have no desire to go back for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent as always. They were alerted it was our anniversary, and the dinner was personalized for us.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food is always delicious, try to come once a month for date night. Love the food for the value,the black wall paint and baby imagery is disturbing. BUT worth.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Authentic, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

St. John's Meeting Place has been one of our favorites for years. We recently visited during Chattanooga Restaurant Week for another great meal. The chef here does a great job of turning local ingredients into creative flavorful dishes. We thoroughly enjoyed the tasting menu for restaurant week. When my heirloom tomato and mozzarella salad came out without mozzarella a second one was brought to our table very quickly. It was a busy night and mistakes can happen, and they handled it beautifully. The featured entrees were quail and pork tenderloin that were both delicious but everyone at our table was blown away by the pig tracks ice cream. (maple bacon ice cream, we had to ask too.). Thank you to Meeting Place for years of great meals.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We enjoyed bringing our two sons out for dinner. It was my oldest son's birthday and they had a Birthday Menu printed and also gave him a desert of his choice. It was a nice gathering for our family to celebrate.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We are semi regulars to SJMP because we love the food! We had friends in from out of town and they loved their meals as well. Abby, our server did a great job taking care of us. There are some great restaurants in Chattanooga for sure but SJMP is our number one favorite!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual, Vegan, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Celebrated our 26th anniversary. Didn't even tell them that and our menu was customized with "Happy Anniversary" across the top. Our server was very helpful with wine and small plate selections. Chef Reed Trimble sent out some special creations to our table that were fantastic. I order the Filet, medium rare and it was cooked to perfection and probably the best filet I've had in Chattanooga. My wife order the pork tenderloin. The flavor was unbelievable. Have never had a pork tenderloin with that much flavor. Truly can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas, Spicy, Romantic, Business Meals, Organic, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Joined friends for happy hour! Everything was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 19, 2017

It was a nice place to have my early bday dinner celebration. Yummy food, great athmosphere. Would definitely be back and recommend to anyone in the area.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Simply the best meal I've had in a really long time. They take fresh ingredients and turn out familiar dishes that are infused with new twists of added flavor. Most excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Awesome
Just go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 13, 2017

A "go to place " for any occasion. Great for out of town guests. The jazz trio provides an added treat!
On any visit, one can expect the constant quality of delicious food and the courteous, quick service .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Bought 7 business associates here and had a great meal and great time together. We had delicious starters in the charcuterie and cheese plate. (but for the "cracklin's" I just don't get those. But all else spot on. Then the seasonal caprese salad for me and the bacon-wrapped quail was just excellent. Flavorful and cooked to perfection. I've eaten here over 20 times and consider it a favorite and a staple. Especially love happy hour pricing on drinks!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Servers were informative and attentive throughout meal. The food was excellent, a very enjoyable meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

this is a favorite go to restaurant. never disappoints

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Drinks were perfect, food was amazing. The fried goat's cheese and street corn were enough to keep me coming back, but the duck fried rice was the bee's knees. So good.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We are traveling about the southeast for a holiday and have eaten in several excellent restaurants in the past week. However, this is the best of them all. We had the heirloom tomato salad and pork belly sliders as appetizers and we're in heaven both were spectacular. Main courses were the trout and house special spaghetti only available on Friday. Both were even better than the appetizers. We will come back again.

Don't miss a chance to try this place out. Only semi- negative comment I could make is that the decor in all blacks and grays is not my preferred style. That was a say to ignore once the food arrived!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Nice meal, service very good. Lamb and Grouper were prepared to our liking. Tables are close and a little noisy. Good place to celebrate birthday. Overall, enjoy our experience and meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great night with friends enjoying great food and drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful! I had a wonderful birthday dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Absolutely perfect. I wanted to treat my lady to a nice, casual dinner and that's exactly what we got. A 5-star restaurant in a relaxed, friendly setting.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The Meeting Place is always a fun place. Enjoy the upstairs bar. Casual seating and love Thursday evening live jazz.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Greated nicely at door, waitress attentive and efficient, food was good to very good with great drinks/music at happy hour. Would definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Healthy, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

St. John's Meeting Place is our favorite restaurant in Chattanooga. We usually eat there twice a month and ALWAYS enjoy it. The steak tartar is excellent as is the rest of the food. Our server Jordan remembers the wine we drink and is very attentive. Always a great dining experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Always a relaxing spot with nice season cocktails. Menu reflects seasonal offerings, but it shows off its regular favorites as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent restaurant. It is the more or less casual side of the St. John's Restaurant, which has the same kitchen but perhaps a different chef. The only problem we had was the noise, which I understand young people don't mind. Food is always well prepared and I noticed it had a good wine list.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food portion were a bit small, but yummy! They need to add a few more things to their menu I feel there was not very many to choose from. Over all it was great service and we had a fun time!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Passing through Chattanooga from Chicago to Ft.Lauderdale could not have been made more memorable than our exceptionally exquisite fine dining experience at St. John's, although we sat at the Meeting Place. While a bit dressed down, attire and menu, from St. John's, the quality remains impressively high, creating one of the truly finest dining experience anywhere, not just in Chattanooga or Tennessee, but really anywhere. Shrimp roll with a creamy dill sauce was a fun starter in a locally bake roll. Beef tartare with lemon aioli was generous with a prefect fat concentration that just let it melt in your mouth. While the greens with the halibut were tasty with an appetizing presentation and a lovely use of the fava bean, the lamb tenderloin (medium rare is preferred) knocked it out the park. Another generous portion shared amongst friends was meet with smiles finding great contrasts between the lamb's natural flavor and pepper with the smooth buttermilk and mint, as well as the fried v sauteed red onions. However, the handsdown winner for savory and natural sweetness were the PREFECTLY prepared scallops. Again, contrasts in texture and flavor were everywhere in the fish and left us wishing we had ordered a second, but we had to leave just a little room for dessert :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.