Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About St. John's Meeting Place

Open since 2004, Meeting Place has become Chef Rebecca Barron's platform to explore international flavors and ingredients that continue to shape America's melting pot cuisine. An evolving variety of small plates and entrees encourage conversation and stimulate the senses. An open kitchen and warm glow create an energetic ambiance. St John's kitchens have received four nominations for Best Chef Southeast by the James Beard Foundation in 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2013.

1278 Market St.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00-7:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Please note reservations for parties of 11 or more cannot be made online.

Cross Street:
13th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 266-4400

Website:
http://stjohnsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
mp jazz thursday 6-9 p.m.
$5 french 75 and sazeracs

Parking Details:
Parking available behind the St. John's building and on the King Street side of the building. Limited street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Chattanooga's complimentary electric shuttle has a stop at the St. John's building.

Executive Chef:
Chef Rebecca Barron

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
mp "a very happy hour"
mon - fri 5-7 p.m.
$5 craft cocktails
$6 small plates
$8 burger
half price champagne (bottles)
$5 feature red & white wine by the glass

industry night mondays 5-8 p.m.

mp jazz thursday 6-9 p.m.
$5 french 75 and sazeracs

St. John's Meeting Place Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Casual (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Romantic (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Cozy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fun (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Seasonal (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Tapas (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Always a relaxing spot with nice season cocktails. Menu reflects seasonal offerings, but it shows off its regular favorites as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent restaurant. It is the more or less casual side of the St. John's Restaurant, which has the same kitchen but perhaps a different chef. The only problem we had was the noise, which I understand young people don't mind. Food is always well prepared and I noticed it had a good wine list.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food portion were a bit small, but yummy! They need to add a few more things to their menu I feel there was not very many to choose from. Over all it was great service and we had a fun time!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Passing through Chattanooga from Chicago to Ft.Lauderdale could not have been made more memorable than our exceptionally exquisite fine dining experience at St. John's, although we sat at the Meeting Place. While a bit dressed down, attire and menu, from St. John's, the quality remains impressively high, creating one of the truly finest dining experience anywhere, not just in Chattanooga or Tennessee, but really anywhere. Shrimp roll with a creamy dill sauce was a fun starter in a locally bake roll. Beef tartare with lemon aioli was generous with a prefect fat concentration that just let it melt in your mouth. While the greens with the halibut were tasty with an appetizing presentation and a lovely use of the fava bean, the lamb tenderloin (medium rare is preferred) knocked it out the park. Another generous portion shared amongst friends was meet with smiles finding great contrasts between the lamb's natural flavor and pepper with the smooth buttermilk and mint, as well as the fried v sauteed red onions. However, the handsdown winner for savory and natural sweetness were the PREFECTLY prepared scallops. Again, contrasts in texture and flavor were everywhere in the fish and left us wishing we had ordered a second, but we had to leave just a little room for dessert :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My husband and I had the best time. The wait staff was knowledgeable and attentive. The food was amazing and we always adore the carrot cake dessert. We make it a point to stop on our trips to Chattanooga.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We stopped in for a quick early dinner. We had small plates and cocktails. Terrific food (probably should have chosen one less plate, or one that wasn't as rich, but everything looked so good).

Service was excellent, decor was great. it was a midweek stop, so it was quiet for a happy hour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The potato-leek soup was amazing and the Bibb lettuce salad was refreshing. The table was split on the monkfish – one person thought it was great, but another felt that the tastes didn't quite mesh. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable."

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Casual, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our first time here and we loved it! I can see it becoming a favorite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Waiter seemed a little overwhelmed but overall was a great dinner. Food is excellent!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

a chattanooga favorite of mine.
tasty food. attentive & friendly service. perfect ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Ha d friends in from out of town so we took them to our favorite restaurant in all of Chattanooga! Food was excellent as always with everyone enjoying their meal. Service was very good and attentive even after I managed to knock over two glasses of wine at the same time! They were on it and got the mess I created all cleaned up with no hassle. We eat at St. John's Meeting Place on a regular basis because the food is ALWYAS great as was the service. You cannot go wrong but best to get reservations as they are usually very busy!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Always solid - food, service, and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We have dined here alone on many occasions & with a group of friends on others. We have always had a very good experience each time. We only sit upstairs because it is loud downstairs & just not as personal. Small plates & desserts are always a hit, but have enjoyed some really good meals as well.
A lot more laid back than St. Johns.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The bar was fun the food was outstanding service was very good and nonrush however when we got home we had $102 error on your bill we were charge for two bottles of wine that we did not order . We call the restaurant and spoke to Michelle the manager she quickly corrected the issue without any hassle. We will definitely return it is a great place with awesome food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Out server Miranda was very good and made our first time experience great

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nice evening. Great food. Outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was good, a 7. My waitress was very nice but was slammed so it took a while to get a drink. Michelle was helpful the next day to split my check for my expense report.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious food. Great experience. Get the MP fried rice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The restaurant was OK, I was expecting better food, my burger was extremely heavy and the biggest problem for me is the smell of the food I had to take a shower when I get home, you get all the greasy smell over you, not good at all. Chattanooga has better places with same price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great evening. Sitting too close to the door on a cold evening gets a little cool but it was worth it. Great old fashion (Bulliet rye not too sweet) and the food was great with a twist. Hats off to the waiting staff, the chef, and the bartender.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great local restaurant, the Duck Fried Rice dish outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We love St. John's Meeting Place! Been going here for over a year and a half! Always an excellent meal no matter what we choose! Service is always good and friendly! They have a very good wine list as well! Probably go once every two months on average and love it. Awesome steak tartare! In our opinion, possibly the best steak in Chattanooga, TN. as well! You will never regret eating at this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I find The Meeting Place to be a comfortable setting with excellent dishes and excellent service. The Happy Hour Monday thru Friday has some wonderful choices for small plates as well as wine and cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Tapas, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great food and service! Very quaint place with little to no noise distractions. Wine list is very extensive. But the Pinot Noir was a great choice.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As always, the Drinks and Food were on point from start to finish. Honestly, one of the best Burgers and Fries in town (if your feeling something a little more straightforward) in town for $10. Great Place!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Meeting Place came through with a wonderful Valentie's Day dinner for my wife and me. We went with the 3-course prix fixe meals at $39, and--as usual at this standby--got excellent meals at more than fair prices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have been here on multiple occasions before and never had an experience like tonight. The waitress kept ignoring us before, during, and after courses so we weren't able to send back the monkfish that was over cooked. She never checked on us to see if we needed more drinks or more food. They sat us upstairs at a table in the middle of the bar area which was basically a happy hour for everyone else. We were really disappointed with what has typically been a very enjoyable restaurant in Chatt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

In town to celebrate my daugher's birthday. This is a place that offers great food without the stuffiness. Our party of six enjoyed all the plates we ordered. The fried rice and duck leg was excellent as were the scallops. The steaks and fish dishes were also very good. It seemed that they were understaffed the night we were there but our waitress and others did their best to accommodate us. We will definitely go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We always enjoy dining at St. John's Meeting Place, and Saturday was no exception! We like the variety on the menu and that the small plates are perfect for sharing so we get to taste more dishes. Already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Puebla)·Dined on February 3, 2017

IT is definitely too loud and the best seats at the front window are not as good as they seem as every minute the front door opens you get a brises of cold air .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Lovely restaurant but off night. The server was very busy and we had some miscommunications on what I ordered. Long story short I got the beet salad which was incredible and timely but my entrée never came. He finally went back to check and when they brought my entrée they brought the wrong one so at that point I told them to just bring me my check and not to worry but that we had obviously miscommunicated. I ordered the blue snapper small plate which I never received but I'm sure it was fabulous as everything the passed by me looked great. All in all I sat there for an hour and a half for a beet salad. I will definitely go back again as I just think it was an off night it will give them a second chance. Also St. John's next-door was a much quieter venue if you don't want noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My partner and I haven't been here in a while due to bad experiences with the roasted chicken, not once but twice. We thought since it had been months we were here, we'd try again. My partner warned me about getting the chicken; to try something else. I really like the gnocchi with the chicken. I had high hopes the chicken would be fully cooked, unlike the past two times. The chicken was cut apart and the top part was fully cooked. The gnocchi and the vegetables were very good. As I got closer to the bone of the chicken, I saw pink. This may be OK for some folks, not for me. The waitress added nothing enjoyable to the dinner. Drink glasses were near empty most of the time with my partner's water glass empty. I still wonder why the tables are so close together. We heard a conversation going on at the table next to ours that we shouldn't have heard. There are so many other terrific food places downtown and the surrounding areas to continue to go to a place where the food and service are so lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great service, wonderful food and a nice atmosphere!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My husband and I went here the other weekend for a date night. The food was cooked perfectly and our server Chase was excellent. We'll definitely be coming back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

LOVE this place. Great experience. Went to St. John's Meeting Place for the first time on this visit. We dined early before a show and were there during the "happy hour" 5-7 pm, which meant many of the most popular entrees / small plates were discounted (smaller portions although), plus $5 cocktail specials and $5 wine options (not full list). Great service. Love the menu, the variety, the quality. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I choose Meeting Place to celebrate my 40th birthday with a friend. We were surprised to have live Jazz music on a Thursday night which added to the elegant ambiance. Chef Rebecca Barron came to our table when she was told it was my 40th birthday. She asked if she could create a special two course meal for me even with all my food allergies, Gluten and lactose Intolerance. Chef Rebecca went above and beyond to make off the menu dishes including a dessert of 3 sorbets with candles to celebrate my big day. She even bought out each course herself. Thank you Chef Rebecca Barron for the incredible food and attention to detail. Amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Tapas, Healthy, Live Music, Happy Hour, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Amazing hostess. Had a special request that she went above and beyond to accommodate. Server made great recommendations on the food and local spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have enjoyed dining at the Meeting Place for years which makes this visit all the more disappointing. Although there seemed to be plenty of staffers on duty it took so long to get our drinks that we actually offered to go to the bar and pick them up ourselves. The menu appeared to be "dumbed down" with more sandwiches and fewer of the good things we've enjoyed in the past, so the five us us had one hamburger, two patty melts, and two beef sandwiches. Nothing was finished except the hamburger; the beef was dry and tasteless, the patty melts just tasteless. The french fries were good. A second round of drinks arrived about the time we determined that the food was a bust, so we gratefully finished those and departed the scene vowing to never return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great ambiance, awkward seating on stools for a business meeting. Food selection was great. My steak was not cooked, but gladly corrected.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Get wine with a delicious diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.