About Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood

Since opening our doors, Spezia has shared it's love of traditional Italian cuisine with friends and family in the Sioux Falls area. Spezia invites you to come enjoy a relaxed atmosphere as you choose items from an award-winning menu. Godere di buona salute!!!

4801 S. Louise Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
57th Street and Louise Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-7491

Website:
http://speziarestaurant.com/spezia/siouxfalls/

Executive Chef:
Owners Dave Thompson and Rick Thompson

Private Party Contact:
Nancy Schmeling: (605) 334-7491

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Romantic (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Phenomenal food. Super expensive but wor ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 4 days ago

Phenomenal food. Super expensive but worth it once a year!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent food, good service overall. I ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food, good service overall. I feel as though they did not know we actually had a reservation, we ended up being seated at a large table for 8, this seemed like an afterthought. I would have liked a 4 person table. Also many people were seated before us after they came in. Nothing was bad st all and it is a great restaurant, we just had the impression based on our experience

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We usually dine here once a month This ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We usually dine here once a month This time was on Valentines Day. The food is normally very good. My husband had gnocchi which he loves. My steak was not hot and it seemed that the meat was old. A little disappointed this time

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire meal was fabulous! Probably t ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The entire meal was fabulous! Probably the most tender filet I've ever had. Our server was attentive and informative. Great dining experience!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for a nice Valentines Day date. Ma ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went for a nice Valentines Day date. Made a reservation quickly and easily. Was seated immediately and severed immediately. While the menu is a bit expensive, but you get what you pay for. They do have a good range in pricing on the menu though.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food for reasonable price. Service ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food for reasonable price. Service and atmosphere are wonderful

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gary was top notch!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Gary was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great service. Good food and peac ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always great service. Good food and peaceful setting.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Steak was AMAZING!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Steak was AMAZING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We waited about 10 min before a waiter c ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We waited about 10 min before a waiter came to our table. It was not busy at all, but still we waited on the main course for 20 min. The food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Our server Stacy was awesome and the foo ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our server Stacy was awesome and the food was awesome. Defiantly coming back

Tags: , Romantic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Sunday brunch with family. Eve ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch with family. Everyone friendly, atmosphere very nice and food wonderfully tasteful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It had been a while since I have been to ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It had been a while since I have been to Spezia but we were not disappointed. The atmosphere, food and service were wonderful. Our server, Tasia, was great. Just the right amount of attention and private time. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, service left a lot to ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Food was amazing, service left a lot to be desired. It was very obvious our waitress didn't want to be there and seemed very annoyed when we asked for something as simple as another drink. Didn't give us any information on menu items or specials. Didn't even know there was a special promotion until we overheard another waitress explaining it to a different table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

Great food, great service, and quiet so ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, great service, and quiet so we could visit with friends!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time in a row I've o ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This was the second time in a row I've ordered the Giglio pasta and had it served without peppers. The menu clearly states that the item contains sliced peppers and it is quite bland without them. The first visit, I mentioned the missing peppers to the server and was brought a COLD bowl of pepper slices. The second, most recent, visit the server said she'd ask the kitchen and never came back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent restaurant , this particular n ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent restaurant , this particular night the service was super slow. It took us two hours to get through our dinner as a result. I believe the restaurant was understaffed this particular night .

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

I enjoyed my birthday brunch at Spezia's ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I enjoyed my birthday brunch at Spezia's. The food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server friendly, helpful and diligent. F ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Server friendly, helpful and diligent. Food was amazing. Always love coming here. A must go to when in Sioux Falls.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous food and fabulous service! a pe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fabulous food and fabulous service!

a perfect place for a family outing for Sunday brunch!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Say hi! to Dave T. The server was excell ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Say hi! to Dave T. The server was excellent, but he made a comment on the tip that was puzzling. I think he meant it as a compliment, but puzzling anyway. However, again, he was excellent for us.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Spezia came highly recommended. We arriv ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Spezia came highly recommended. We arrived 10 minutes late and they gave our table away. We waited and were given a booth in the bar. Service was good, but bit great; the waitress wasn't sure how to open and serve a bottle of wine properly. The wine list was good, the food good, and the meal served at the appropriate pace. I had the ducking which was good and my wife had the lamb sirloin, which was fair. Overall the food and service was good, but not great, for the Midwest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Quick service. Delightful and attentive ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Quick service. Delightful and attentive waitress. Delicious food. Noise level appropriate. Very enjoyable overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good, and what I was expecting. ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good, and what I was expecting. Prices were a little high for me, but not terrible. It was a pleasant night out. Our waitress was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, served at an appropriate pac ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, served at an appropriate pace. Great wine service and options on the wine list. You can enjoy anything from a pizza to a filet. A "go-to" restaurant in Sioux Falls--always a good meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mandy our waitress was excellent!

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Mandy our waitress was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The diver scallops with risotto was deli ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The diver scallops with risotto was delish, the seasonal squash risotto with chicken loved by all 3 that ordered it, good wine choices and an excellent waitress!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was wonderful. After dinner coffee ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was wonderful. After dinner coffee was a disappointment but they did go back to the kitchen and try making it again. Wine list was very good. We noticed that the coziness or intimacy that we had remembered was gone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Seated quickly, slightly before our rese ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Seated quickly, slightly before our reservation time

Featured wine wasn't available

Service a bit slow, but otherwise good

Food was excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and service. Love going t ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food and service. Love going to Spazias.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We decided to try Spezia based upon othe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We decided to try Spezia based upon other online ratings and made the reservation through Open Table. When we arrived, we were greeted by friendly people and taken to our table. The atmosphere reminded us of Macaroni Grill, including the crayons, paper table covers, and wait staff who wrote their name backwards so we could read it. The service and food were very good. They only serve beer and wine, but that was fine for us. When we arrived, there were a lot of empty tables that filled quickly. The noise level was about what one would expect - and not enough to interfere with our conversations. The food was nicely prepared and very good. Our waiter was friendly and professional. He was there whenever we needed anything, but did not hover or make us feel rushed. It was a relaxing and pleasant experience. If I am staying in that area again, I would definitely consider going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was terrible and the service ev ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was terrible and the service even worse. We stopped going to Spezia a while ago for the same reasons but thought we would try again since it's used to be a special place for us. Nothing has changed. The food lacked any presentation -- the formerly delicious tomato basil soup was barely warm and the Italian Beef Burgundy was in s a cereal-like bowl that contained just egg noodles and broth - and no meat -- which the server thunked down unceremoniously on the table. There should have been some kind of charger or plate beneath it -- and even more important, some meat in it. Additionally, the gnocchi was burned. When I showed the server the burned gnocchi she said, 'that's how we serve it here.' Ummm - no, it's not. It's just not. We were ultimately compensated after the manager got involved very late in the process. Spezia should give the servers the authority to make those adjustments rather than argue with the customer about the quality or lack thereof. Just terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

Still wish you served a better balsamic ...

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Still wish you served a better balsamic for dipping!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We used an open table gift award tonight ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We used an open table gift award tonight. Thanks for the yummy meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We went for the Tomato Fest, which has b ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went for the Tomato Fest, which has become a favorite over the years. They truly use excellent tasting, homegrown tomatoes and it can't be beat. We shared the Caprese Classico and the Grouper with heirloom tomatoes and a side of angel hair pasta with tomatoes and ate every bite. LOVE Tomato Fest. The booth for two is not overly comfortable, and lots of families in close proximity, but we were just there to enjoy the food so it was ok.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Private Room, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great dining experience fabulous service ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great dining experience fabulous service. Will recommend Spezia to our friends

Tags: , Paleo Friendly, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was in-attentive; baked potatoes ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Waiter was in-attentive; baked potatoes were not cooked. When we told waiter, he just apologized. He was stretched with too many tables. Poor customer service overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

This restaurant is also able to take car ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 2, 2016

This restaurant is also able to take care of some food sensitivities as well as diabetic diets. This is so nice! Thanks!

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The location was good along with the int ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The location was good along with the interior. The server seemed to have too many tables. Service was slow and he had help bringing the food. Two of the three steaks we ordered weren't cooked the way that we ordered them. One was sent back as a result. Overall it seemed like they were too busy or we caught them on a bad night. We have eaten there before and it was much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Absolutely amazing dining experience. Ou ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Absolutely amazing dining experience. Outstanding service, delicious food and the atmosphere was perfect! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.